No call, no warning, just dropped

Saj

The Pakistan selectors to Mohammad Amir.

Some would say it's a taste of his own medicine and what he did regarding Test cricket.

Others would say it's harsh treatment.

Thoughts?

Childish from PCB. Amir makes it to the T20 team on merit and we need him in T20 WC.

Its his choice if he wants to play test cricket or not.

Deserves it. Good stuff from Misbah to show the corrupt fixer where he belongs. Hopefully that's the end of him but it probably isn't.

Besides, a fish never forgets how to swim. :asif

Childish from PCB. Amir makes it to the T20 team on merit and we need him in T20 WC.

Its his choice if he wants to play test cricket or not.

Yeah and it's also the coach's/selectors choice for how they want to build the team.

As I posted in another thread. Amir averaged 30 vs Srl, 66 vs Aus and economy of 7.67 and 8.61 respectively with 4 wickets in 5 matches and 3 coming in one match. Its not good enough for a white ball specialist in my opinion

Misbah behaved like a kid, as he was "naraz" from Amir and dropped him just after Amir gave his best performance in T20 in BPL.

I guess Amir's body is not made for 3 format and I agree with him retiring from tests and concentrating on white ball cricket.

Its ridiculous that a player of Amir's caliber is dropped and a guy like Musa is picked.

Unprofessional and childish act by Misbah, he is not selecting his own Mohallah team, its Pakistan team FGS.

Misbah behaved like a kid, as he was "naraz" from Amir and dropped him just after Amir gave his best performance in T20 in BPL.

I guess Amir's body is not made for 3 format and I agree with him retiring from tests and concentrating on white ball cricket.

Its ridiculous that a player of Amir's caliber is dropped and a guy like Musa is picked.

Unprofessional and childish act by Misbah, he is not selecting his own Mohallah team, its Pakistan team FGS.

Harsh, but true. This particular decision from Misbah was over-emotional.

Amir is a great bowler and is Pakistan’s best white ball player.

Deserving - did he gave prior notice before retiring from Test cricket? I believe, he was still centrally contracted and his offered contract was based on his availability for all 3 formats. Don't think he has any point here, rather Wahab should feel a bit hard done by because at this age guy shouldn't be considered for Tests, but still can be effective in T20s.

He did tell Mickey Arthur. Misbah is being unreasonable here.

If Misbah wanted to drop Amir due to his retirement from test, he would have done it during Srilanka t20 series.

Please stop these allegation.

Amir was dropped for the same reason why Malik/Hafeez was dropped during Srilanka series.

He did tell Mickey Arthur. Misbah is being unreasonable here.

May be, personally Misbah also have told him that he is "rested" for this series, you never know. His performance in last few T20Is definitely doesn't command an automatic selection.

There is no cricketing justification to select Musa Khan over Mohammed Amir.

Yet another bad decision by Misbah who has made a post playing career of bad decisions.

Nothing harsh about it. PCB don't need to call or warm Amir before dropping him, the PCB doesn't work for Amir

Amir deserved a place in the team on merit, but its understandable that the PCB would give younger, upcoming fast bowlers a chance in a T20 series at home, against a relatively weak opposition. If you can't test Amad Husnain, Musa, Rauf, in a series like then, then when else are you going to?

Its ridiculous to critize Misbah for this decision. Selecting Hafeez is stupid, but dropping Amir took real guts.

Correct call, Amir did not give any notice just retired from test cricket, enjoy playing t20 competitions around the world and never be remembered as a legend

I think Amir should have been selected. His experience will be required for sure in T20 world cup.

I will not be surprised to see Amir and Wahab get in to the world Cup Squad at the last minute

He did mention it about a year before retiring
From tests

Correct call, Amir did not give any notice just retired from test cricket, enjoy playing t20 competitions around the world and never be remembered as a legend

Amir did say he wants to retire from test cricket a year before retiring

While Amir is not extra ordinary, he does merit a place in this lineup. This was a wrong call.

You don't always need a call . It's international sport. It is possible you can be dropped when not performing. Amir has been inconsistent. He turns up when he feels like it .

Some would say it's a taste of his own medicine and what he did regarding Test cricket.

Thoughts?

They should have just told him if he won't play tests, he wont play white ball cricket either. But he qualifies on merit for T20s because he builds pressure by stopping runs and can also take wickets. Not good planning now we have an inexperienced T20 attack as well (minus Wahab, Shinwari, Junaid Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan ali ). Batting line has huge gaps to fill as well. The real reason Pakistan was loosing is the batting line up.
Silly of Amir (he should have known better that he has to do extra for Pakistan considering his past)

Amir retweeted this.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The omission of <a href="https://twitter.com/iamamirofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@iamamirofficial</a> from the Pakistan T20 Team was just the tonic needed for the start of the PSL for <a href="https://twitter.com/KarachiKingsARY?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@KarachiKingsARY</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/thankyou?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#thankyou</a></p>— Dean Jones AM (@ProfDeano) <a href="https://twitter.com/ProfDeano/status/1217777783398526977?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 16, 2020</a></blockquote>

BPL standards are atrocious and no player should be selected at the highest level based on his performances there.

Amir wouldn't be my first choice pacer anymore, Shaheen has overtaken him. But I would still keep him in the squad as we don't want Shaheen to be playing all the time, especially in useless T20Is.

Harsh, but true. This particular decision from Misbah was over-emotional.

Amir is a great bowler and is Pakistan’s best white ball player.

what year has he been consistently great over more than 1 game.go ahead. tell me?

Amir has the body for tests if he ACTUALLY tries to improve his fitness...

Its ridiculous to even think he doesnt have the body lmao how many injuries has he had in his career? ZERO

Hes just money hungry and its obvious.

I've always backed Amir - but it's hard to defend him here.

When we have young promising bowlers who can inshallah give us a strong pace attack across all three formats, why should we pick someone who sat on the side for 5 years because of his own stupidity and then threw away his Test cricket career at the age of 27?

The other pacers have performed when they have been given a chance so it would be harsh to drop them and meanwhile the likes of Rauf deserve a chance so Amir must swallow the bitter pill. Would have been extremely harsh for PCB to not pick Rauf or drop someone like Shaheen Afridi.

This is international cricket - you can't pick and choose when you want to play. I feel AB De Villiers has learned this lesson and now it's Amir's turn.

I also dropped Aamir from T20 squad to try Ammad Butt and Haris Rauf. Perhaps, Misbah thinks the same way.

Aamir is a sure starter in T20s so why not try some new bowlers in a series against Bangladesh? He can always make a comeback when needed.

Amir has not been that good in recent series.

Also dropping him allows other pacers to be tried.

Amir is not a sure starter now- that’s the way it should be.

The abuse Amir gets is disgusting. He was clearly struggling in tests and could not get the same output. So he retired. Better than lingering around like a bad smell like every one of our other seniors.

Amir should just retire from all forms and play country cricket while playing leagues across the globe. Heck if he moved to England he’d easily get an IPL contract.

Let Amir retire and within 3 series and a beating in Australia we’d be crying for his return.

Amir >>>> any Pakistani bowler in gun situations.

I'm not sure who they're kidding here.

He'll be in the WC squad.

Misbah couldn't even keep Hafeez and Malik out for more than 3 months before caving in. :))

He can’t Coach so he needs to do this. He is no different than a wrist slitting Pakistan fan.

Misbah is a horrendous coach and now he’s playing politics.

As soon as Arthur got fired for no reason and Misbah became coach I stopped watching cricket.

Looks like I made the right choice, I don’t always go with my gut but this time it paid off.

Misbah is a horrendous coach and now he’s playing politics.

As soon as Arthur got fired for no reason and Misbah became coach I stopped watching cricket.

Looks like I made the right choice, I don’t always go with my gut but this time it paid off.

Was it really that much fun watching cricket under Mickey? Like we literally won one test series in last 2-3 years, lost every ODI series against every team except Srl, WI and Zim. Yes T20s were fun as well as CT17 but it was a pretty barren period otherwise.

BPL standards are atrocious and no player should be selected at the highest level based on his performances there.

BPL or no BPL, he can walk into this PAK side any day, therefore that’s not the issue. Rather it’s his commitment to the PAK cap that I have questions - LOs are easy meal (PAK mashallah playing 10-12 ODIs this year, with most of those against teams below their ranking), so he has kept that door open.

Shadab is called into this squad and I am sure this BPL heroics had plenty to do for that otherwise ... you know.

Would rather select players that put Pakistan before themselves. Especially after everything the PCB did for Aamir. He deserves this treatment. He can play in BPL rest of his career. Have fun

Was it really that much fun watching cricket under Mickey? Like we literally won one test series in last 2-3 years, lost every ODI series against every team except Srl, WI and Zim. Yes T20s were fun as well as CT17 but it was a pretty barren period otherwise.

We looked like minnows when we played against Sri Lanka at home under shameless misbah. Enough said.

BPL or no BPL, he can walk into this PAK side any day, therefore that’s not the issue. Rather it’s his commitment to the PAK cap that I have questions - LOs are easy meal (PAK mashallah playing 10-12 ODIs this year, with most of those against teams below their ranking), so he has kept that door open.

Shadab is called into this squad and I am sure this BPL heroics had plenty to do for that otherwise ... you know.

Shadab would have been selected with or without BPL performances as dreadful he's been recently he still miles better then that rubbish usman qadir.

We looked like minnows when we played against Sri Lanka at home under shameless misbah. Enough said.

Didnt we lose test series against Srl under Mickey? I didnt remember you and many using the world shameless for him.

We have won our 2nd test series in 2-3 years, looks like people don’t understand the importance or maybe dont rate tests much by the looks of it.

Not saying Misbah is the best thing since sliced bread but then Mickey wasnt as good as many make him out to be like to stop watching cricket when Mickey is gone. Like seriously? :saslam

Didnt we lose test series against Srl under Mickey? I didnt remember you and many using the world shameless for him.

We have won our 2nd test series in 2-3 years, looks like people don’t understand the importance or maybe dont rate tests much by the looks of it.

Not saying Misbah is the best thing since sliced bread but then Mickey wasnt as good as many make him out to be like to stop watching cricket when Mickey is gone. Like seriously? :saslam

Never knew UAE is our home. Mickey drew us 2 test series in England. Let's wait for misbah to do that. He won us the CT. No one said Mickey didn't have his flaws but miles better then this unqualified puppet. Yes we won a test series against Sri Lanka which is bigger then what Mickey achieved in his career with us. We weren't as embarrassing in Australia under Mickey as we were under this unqualified coach.

I am sure you don't need me to explain why they call misbah shameless. It's pretty much his nick name.

Amir has become the next savior-in-villian for Pak cricket now after Younis Khan/Yousuf, Asif/Shoaib, Wasim/Waqar. Damned if selected damned if dropped.

Amir does not perform when we need him to perform also very inconsistent so his exclusion is a good decisions

Thoughts?

I am sorta split on this.

It looks like it’s between “teaching him a lesson with a knee jerk reaction” vs “using a wise diplomacy”.

Amir is our very good T20 bowler and you need him in Australia for the T20 WC.
There is also a factor of "return on the investment" that is done in him.

By kicking him out you will definitely not be able to use his services in the much needed T20 WC.
And you surely have put an end to any possibility of return on investment in him.

Now, whether your “punishing him with a harsh treatment” will set an example and send a strong message to the rest? - you wish!

In modern day cricket, the old saying goes perfectly, "Money talks and ** walks".

No one is going to learn any lesson here.
Matter of fact, Amir has opened up a door for a few others who must be thinking to make a quick buck, have fun and say bye to PCB.

So petty and childish from Misbah.

You can't drop your best bowler with the WC just a few months away.

He'll inevitably be back for the next series.

Maybe there is some element of truth in what Misbah said in the press conference - that they want to test out younger bowlers against Bangladesh.

It will hardly affect the team really in T20 if the bowler is not as good as Hafeez, Afridi, and Ajmal were during the pre-chucking era they can be replaced by a bowling machine.

Times are changing, we are looking at different options amirs declared himself out of tests who knows when he will decide to retire from t20i, pakistan cant rely on him any more and need to plan for life after him so nothing wrong with trying other options. Right now id rather take Rauf then amir based on performance passion, and what hes been saying. And Amir was definately not rested, he sarcastically replied to a question from that Zaynab host who asked why was amir dropped from the t20 team, his answer "test cricket"

They both are probably very tired after playing a hectic season of BPL. LEt them have some rest before PSL.

No big issue. He will be back. When Hafeez and Malik keep getting back surely he will too. And he will perform well in PSL as he knows whole World will be watching. And he is a tournament bowler so only a fool will keep him out.

Did he provide Pakistan any warning before walking away from test cricket?

To be honest, he deserved it.

You don’t dump your national team when it needs you.

A lesson for everyone.

Lala also retired from tests to give youngsters a chance. He still played 10 more years for PCT and was even appointed the captain.

Why is Amir being punished? Is it right to discriminate due to his criminal background after forgiving and giving him special treatment?

Between BPL, PSL and T20WC, it's too much cricket for Amir's body to handle. Misbah's just giving him the much needed rest he deserves

Did he provide Pakistan any warning before walking away from test cricket?

Yes it was discussed for at least a year prior. Mickey had to convince him to play in the South Africa series.

Between BPL, PSL and T20WC, it's too much cricket for Amir's body to handle. Misbah's just giving him the much needed rest he deserves

That's what's basically happening. Misbah said he's being rested because they want to try other bowlers as well like Rauf.

No need to make an issue out of it.

The rest that Amir didn't want or request or discuss with PCB.

That's what's basically happening. Misbah said he's being rested because they want to try other bowlers as well like Rauf.

No need to make an issue out of it.

True He said it himself his body cant take the rigours of intnl cricket Its best he saves himself for the tamasha leagues only

If Amir still needs to be rested frequently after retiring from Test cricket, well then it would be better if he is allowed to rest for good.

It is just an excuse - Amir’s deleted tweet said it all. If he was rested PCB would have communicated it to him and he wouldn’t have fired that tweet.

It is very clear that he has been dropped. Now it is not obvious if he was dropped for his recent poor form in T20Is or because he has been punished for retiring from Tests, but Amir seems to believe that it is the latter.

The relationship between him and PCB is toxic. They feel he has been ungrateful and he feels he owes them nothing. They are both heading for a divorce unless Amir has an unlikely change of heart.

He is not 100% committed to play for Pakistan and PCB is not 100% committed in selecting him to play for Pakistan.

The trust with Amir is gone. If he can just walk away from test cricket one day, even though he was in the selectors plans, he can also away from limited overs cricket anytime as well.

He's mediocre anyways. Haris Rauf and Hasnain will perform better than him.

True He said it himself his body cant take the rigours of intnl cricket Its best he saves himself for the tamasha leagues only

If Amir still needs to be rested frequently after retiring from Test cricket, well then it would be better if he is allowed to rest for good.

It is just an excuse - Amir’s deleted tweet said it all. If he was rested PCB would have communicated it to him and he wouldn’t have fired that tweet.

It is very clear that he has been dropped. Now it is not obvious if he was dropped for his recent poor form in T20Is or because he has been punished for retiring from Tests, but Amir seems to believe that it is the latter.

The relationship between him and PCB is toxic. They feel he has been ungrateful and he feels he owes them nothing. They are both heading for a divorce unless Amir has an unlikely change of heart.

He is not 100% committed to play for Pakistan and PCB is not 100% committed in selecting him to play for Pakistan.

I don't think "rested" here means they want to give time for his body to relax.

Rested = dropped, because they want to try other bowlers. And see if they're good enough.

Amir in any case will be back at some point, but he's not a 100% certain in every series - that's the message.

He is not some ATG player that board needs to call him before dropping. Him being potential ATG made PCB backing him after fixing , but hope was misplaced.

Two wrongs don’t make a right. Amir has really no one else to blame but himself for the way his career has gone.

However this episode is highly unprofessional from the PCB. They are well within their rights to not select Amir for t20s because of his sudden Test retirement.

But they should be clear and open about it - ‘we didn’t select Amir because we were unhappy about his Test retirement before a crucial tour after all the effort / time we have invested in him. As such, we are giving an opportunity to some of the younger players to stand up and take his place. If he performs well at PSL / domestic and the young players don’t succeed, we will select him for limited overs when we require his services.’

Blunt but fair. Instead of blatantly lying in press conferences and trying to cover it up.

If, instead, this axing is performance related, a professional cricket board should be contacting a player who is suddenly dropped from the squad. A simple 5 minute call would do.

I think Misbah is going to select players like ahmed shahzad umar akmal kamran akmal malik hafeez or other players who were dropped in the past and then he can drop any player be it new or experienced till Pakistan keeps loosing t20.He seems to experiment with maximum possible combinations until Pakistan is back to winning but then again he is the one who changed the winning team by dropping sarfaraz and i would not be surprised if he goes back to the same combination when pak was winning and was no.1 in t20 if of course Pakistan keeps losing

Two wrongs don’t make a right. Amir has really no one else to blame but himself for the way his career has gone.

However this episode is highly unprofessional from the PCB. They are well within their rights to not select Amir for t20s because of his sudden Test retirement.

But they should be clear and open about it - ‘we didn’t select Amir because we were unhappy about his Test retirement before a crucial tour after all the effort / time we have invested in him. As such, we are giving an opportunity to some of the younger players to stand up and take his place. If he performs well at PSL / domestic and the young players don’t succeed, we will select him for limited overs when we require his services.’

Blunt but fair. Instead of blatantly lying in press conferences and trying to cover it up.

If, instead, this axing is performance related, a professional cricket board should be contacting a player who is suddenly dropped from the squad. A simple 5 minute call would do.
A professional cricket board will never put out such a statement. Amir has clearly been rebuffed to teach him lesson, and since it's only Bangladesh here, there couldn't have been a better opportunity.

He'll be back soon, but PCB is trying to show Amir his place.

The hype this guy gets. The last T20 series he played , his average pace was similar to friggin shardul thakur. If he can't even motivate himself to bowl quick in T20's even after retiring from tests, does he even deserve to play on merit? Just play haris rauf, hasnain, Shaheen for the world T20 as your pacers. PCB dropped Aamir not Wasim Akram for crying out loud.

On merit, he's the best T20I fast bowler in Pakistan. Effort or no effort, he's still producing better results than the others.

Last Two Seasons (T20Is)

Mohammad Amir - (19.14 AVG/7.09 ECON)
Shaheen Afridi - (20.57 AVG/7.57 ECON)
Mohammad Hasnain - (45.66 AVG/8.56 ECON)
Wahab Riaz - (45.00 AVG/8.18 ECON)
Usman Shinwari - (28.90 AVG/8.25 ECON)

No way can merit be used against Amir in this format. He's right at the top of the charts for pacers both in terms of average and stopping runs.

A professional cricket board will never put out such a statement. Amir has clearly been rebuffed to teach him lesson, and since it's only Bangladesh here, there couldn't have been a better opportunity.

He'll be back soon, but PCB is trying to show Amir his place.

Why would they not? Would you say it is more professional to lie, especially when the truth is blatantly there for anyone to see.

A professional outfit or person would never make these issues public How would you like it if your boss went public about your work issues in front of others?

Whatever the issues there maybe its kept in house and dealt with in private You never throw your players under the bus publicly demoaralising them more than necessary

so misbah has done the right thing covering this up, Amir knows privately why the decision has been made

On merit, he's the best T20I fast bowler in Pakistan. Effort or no effort, he's still producing better results than the others.

Last Two Seasons (T20Is)

No way can merit be used against Amir in this format. He's right at the top of the charts for pacers both in terms of average and stopping runs.

He is one of the best in the world in T20 cricket.

It’s pretty hypocritical for a new Chief Selector to drop an outstanding white ball player - which he proved he is at the World Cup, just ask Australia - for being disloyal and self-centred when LITERALLY the first two “new” players called up by the same Chief Selector three months ago were......

Umar Akmal
Ahmed Shehzad

This reeks of discriminatory treatment, hypocrisy and a weak little man having hurt feelings.

Last Two Seasons (T20Is)

Misnah is like selecting his personal team, can drop anyone he doesn't like even one with the best stats.

It’s pretty hypocritical for a new Chief Selector to drop an outstanding white ball player - which he proved he is at the World Cup, just ask Australia - for being disloyal and self-centred when LITERALLY the first two “new” players called up by the same Chief Selector three months ago were......

Umar Akmal
Ahmed Shehzad

This reeks of discriminatory treatment, hypocrisy and a weak little man having hurt feelings.

The teams you support like England and Australia have dropped talented players based on disciplinary issues or going against the board or not taking longer formats seriously. When it comes to Pakistan all your morality and discipline disappears but when it comes to other teams you have a rigid stance on discipline and corruption. It always seems really weird to me

But that’s not what Amir did.

He gave up Tests to play white ball cricket only. Lots of players do - from England you have Alex Hales, Adil Rashid and previously Jos Buttler too.

Amir had a deal with Inzamam and Mickey Arthur to only get selected for Tests outside Asia, where he would be more useful to the team.

It appears that he already knew that Misbah was to be the new Chief Selector and Head Coach - the process appears likely to have been a sham - and that Misbah was not open to such a deal. So he retired before Misbah was appointed.

Amir had a deal with Inzamam and Mickey Arthur to only get selected for Tests outside Asia, where he would be more useful to the team.

It appears that he already knew that Misbah was to be the new Chief Selector and Head Coach - the process appears likely to have been a sham - and that Misbah was not open to such a deal. So he retired before Misbah was appointed.

How do you know there was such a deal with Inzi / Mickey and that Misbah was against it