No one will die: Dean Jones on India’s back-to-back matches in 2018 Asia Cup [Post #154]

Taking part in the tournament and agreeing to the schedule are two different things. The schedule came out couple of days back.

Same thing. India should have known that the schedule may not be to their liking before they agreed to taking part in the tournament.

No need to change the schedule just because one of the Boards wants to.

I'm assuming the schedule was agreed with each of the Boards well in advance.

Same thing. India should have known that the schedule may not be to their liking before they agreed to taking part in the tournament.

India didnot know that scheduling equity will not be maintained and India will be singled out for a special schedule. If all countries had similar schedule of playing on consecutive days then BCCI had no ground to complain. But thats not the case.

No need to change the schedule just because one of the Boards wants to.

I'm assuming the schedule was agreed with each of the Boards well in advance.

So its ok if all teams get atleast 1 one day break while one team doesnt get any breaks? If schedule was agreed then BCCI wont be asking it to be changed now.They would have done so earlier only.

The details are yet to be out.

So its ok if all teams get atleast 1 one day break while one team doesnt get any breaks? If schedule was agreed then BCCI wont be asking it to be changed now.They would have done so earlier only.

The details are yet to be out.

It would be pretty thick to assume that BCCI being the host had no idea about the schedule.

It seems they did not.Atleast by the statements in media. BCCI called the schedule mindless and said that the organiser(ACC) was treating Indian matches as Moneyspinner only.

Indian fans: Bilaterals are NOT meaningless

Also Indian fans: Asia Cup is meaningless

Yup...playing in Canada and playing in the UAE are one and the same...brilliant!

May be not the same as playing 5 games in a row.. But the extremely fit players with YO Yo fitness test can manage 2 games in a row.. Also india can play their bench strength against qualifier , give rest to virat kohli after all Indian team is Kohli, if he scores India wins and if he doesnt India looses. so whats the hype about?

It seems they did not.Atleast by the statements in media. BCCI called the schedule mindless and said that the organiser(ACC) was treating Indian matches as Moneyspinner only.

Very strange. I understand that BCCI was forced to change the venue but that doesnt means rights to even schedule was taken as well.

Viru at it again with statements that'll get him in the limelight. I agree that playing 2 back to back matches is overkill but refusing to take part in the tournament is an overreaction.

People who mocking Viru here...calling him clown etc....should just remember he avgs 96 vs Pak in test cricket. Hardly there has been a bigger nemesis for Pak cricket than Sehwag.

Well the best India can do since their first game is against the qualifying team, they should rest premier players like kohli, dawan etc. That way they wont have any excuses if they do lose to Pakistan

Very strange. I understand that BCCI was forced to change the venue but that doesnt means rights to even schedule was taken as well.

Scheduling is done by ACC and not bcci or the hosts.Like ICC schedules world cup matches.

Well what Sehwag is saying is right. If BCCI decides to send a full strength squad, the Indian team would have just returned from a 5 Test series in England.

But again the selectors will rest majority of the Indian test players. So Kohli, Rahul, Bhuvi, Bumrah, Kuldeep etc might be missing from the Asia cup squad anyways.

I agree that Asia cup should be completely scrapped. It looks like some money scheming gang who takes SC fans for the ride. What's the purpose of this ACC? How many new teams have they developed in Asia?

rok skta hai toh rok le. Agar Teri koi sunta hai. Rubbish.Hate this guy so much.

What's the big deal? Cricketers literally can play for 5 consecutive days and here we're crying about having to play 2?

rok skta hai toh rok le. Agar Teri koi sunta hai. Rubbish.Hate this guy so much.

If only one thing i have regret of india not playing pakistan is tgat india didnt play pakistan when virendra sehwag was in team .
You have no idea how many world records and how many pakistani bowler careers bcci saved during previous era.
This guy is onlg next to viv richards in terms of carnage.
Ypu hardly see any player world 11 team without sehwag featuring in that.

What's the big deal? Cricketers literally can play for 5 consecutive days and here we're crying about having to play 2?

I think it has more to do with the unfair advantage.

India is the only team facing a back-to-back in this tournament. It should be everyone or no one, especially in tournaments.

No one would take kindly to this if it happened to Pakistan in a WC.

In Tests you play for 5 consecutive days, why not 2?

In Tests, both teams play five days.

In this situation, only India will be playing back-to-back while Pakistan comes in rested. India will be fatigued, have reduced time to plan against Pakistan, and then carry this fatigue throughout the tournament.

If they lose the game vs. Pakistan then the group is gone. Group A's winner gets to play all of their games in Dubai (where the final is being hosted). A lot of people are posing this as a "dead rubber" when it's not a complete write-off. Winning the group has advantages in preparing for that final.

Sehwag is overreacting as usual but this is a legitimate scheduling concern.

Rubbish scheduling. But the match on the 19th will be a dead rubber. India and Pakistan can afford to field their second XI teams

It's difficult to take anything Viru says seriously.

He's spoken so much garbage over the years, that it's impossible to give his opinion any value or weightage.....

Rubbish scheduling. But the match on the 19th will be a dead rubber. India and Pakistan can afford to field their second XI teams

It's not a proper dead rubber.

Group A's winner = All matches in Dubai (including final)
Group A's runner-up = Split between Dubai and Abu Dhabi

That's a lot of additional game time where the final will be hosted. You get to adjust to the conditions, learn how the pitch plays, and everything else that comes with a specific venue.

Didn’t really focus much on the schedule. Guess it ain’t a dead rubber then

Since Pakistan ravaging victory in the CT final proves that fluke can happen against any cricket team, Pak should send its C team. If we beat them again, or rather thrash them, it will be a fluke or else it's already known that they are capable of beating us 9 out of 10 times. By the way, what is Pak record in the last 10 ODIs against Ind? I am sure it is 9-1 Ind.

By the way the last 10 ODI between Pakistan and India is 6-4 in favor of India learn to count before you post lmao

In two days this thread has gone into its second page and yet some people claim 'aSiA cUp dOeS nOt mAtTeR' :S

It's not about Asia cup even any random series if we get such a schedule,which was done intentionally,will be debated.

India - 6
SL - 5
Pakistan - 2

We have won this tourney so many times its really not a big deal now.I guess only Bangladesh needs to be very serious as this will become biggest cup win in their history.(I don't see them winning WC any time sooner)

It's not about Asia cup even any random series if we get such a schedule,which was done intentionally,will be debated.

India - 6
SL - 5
Pakistan - 2

We have won this tourney so many times its really not a big deal now.I guess only Bangladesh needs to be very serious as this will become biggest cup win in their history.(I don't see them winning WC any time sooner)

Competitive sports does not work like that, because if that was the case Roger Federer wouldn't have revived his career like he did in the last couple of years. He's won 20 Grand Slams yet everytime he competes he goes tooth and nail with the opponent.

If stating that India doesn't really care about Asia cup makes you sleep better then I won't argue anything on that but to paint a competitive multi nation tournament as 'We've won it so many times it doesn't matter' will never fly with anyone having a shred of common sense.

This is the exact same 'Ohh we're so mighty' attitude that got your guys absolutely pummeled last time around. If I were an Indian fan I'd probably keep quite, back my team and hope the boys give their 100% on the field.

Competitive sports does not work like that, because if that was the case Roger Federer wouldn't have revived his career like he did in the last couple of years. He's won 20 Grand Slams yet everytime he competes he goes tooth and nail with the opponent.

If stating that India doesn't really care about Asia cup makes you sleep better then I won't argue anything on that but to paint a competitive multi nation tournament as 'We've won it so many times it doesn't matter' will never fly with anyone having a shred of common sense.

This is the exact same 'Ohh we're so mighty' attitude that got your guys absolutely pummeled last time around. If I were an Indian fan I'd probably keep quite, back my team and hope the boys give their 100% on the field.

I thought we were talking about only this thread.Also when people try to manipulate you some message also need to be sent back.

This is a good point. I hadn't thought of this.

The loser would have to play two games in Abu Dhabi.

In terms of entertainment and quality of cricket, IPL is a level superior to Asia Cup, where we get to watch India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka who anyways keep on facing each other twice in an year in bilaterals on those usual flat Asian pitches in which the fast bowlers are generally averaging over 35.

The only quality match worth watching is when India take on Pakistan in these tournament. Outside that match, it is one of the worst ODI tournament going around.

Atleast in IPL, we get to watch some of high calibre batters/ bowlers/ all-rounders from all round the world putting up a great show and providing a great source of entertainment. The matches go down the wire and there is a great mix of players from all round the world as well as the mix of young and experienced players which helps younger player to learn a lot, be more competitive and handle the pressure of the tournament a lot better.

The quality of cricket is better when you watch Kagiso Rabada and Trent Boult bowling to Virat Kohli or David Warner in IPL rather than watching Rubel bowling to Sharma or for that matter, watching Perera bowl to Rahim.

In terms of entertainment and quality of cricket, IPL is a level superior to Asia Cup, where we get to watch India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka who anyways keep on facing each other twice in an year in bilaterals on those usual flat Asian pitches in which the fast bowlers are generally averaging over 35.

The only quality match worth watching is when India take on Pakistan in these tournament. Outside that match, it is one of the worst ODI tournament going around.

Atleast in IPL, we get to watch some of high calibre batters/ bowlers/ all-rounders from all round the world putting up a great show and providing a great source of entertainment. The matches go down the wire and there is a great mix of players from all round the world as well as the mix of young and experienced players which helps younger player to learn a lot, be more competitive and handle the pressure of the tournament a lot better.

The quality of cricket is better when you watch Kagiso Rabada and Trent Boult bowling to Virat Kohli or David Warner in IPL rather than watching Rubel bowling to Sharma or for that matter, watching Perera bowl to Rahim.

Actually Asia cup is duopoly between India and Srilanka,together these 2 teams won this tourney 11 times out of 13.

Nobody remembers your Rabada vs Kohli in IPL even if they play against each other 250th time but fans remember Rabada vs Kohli in a bilateral or world cup.

Also you are talking as if Rabada and Boult never played against Kohli or Warner in international cricket and this glorious spectacle is only reserved for IPL fans. :inti

Nobody remembers your Rabada vs Kohli in IPL even if they play against each other 250th time but fans remember Rabada vs Kohli in a bilateral or world cup.

Also you are talking as if Rabada and Boult never played against Kohli or Warner in international cricket and this glorious spectacle is only reserved for IPL fans. :inti

But they never played against each other in Asia cup which is why I consider Asia cup meaningless.

They play each other in bilaterals, Test matches and WC and that is why I dont consider those forms of game meaningless at all. Some of the bilaterals between Asian teams on Asian pitches have happened so much that they have become meaningless now and that is what Asia Cup is all about as well, which is why it is the worst ODI/T20 tournament going around.

On IPL, yes, performance in IPL is not relevant. IPL is not a necessity in life but it indeed is a luxury which people shouldn't or dont want to miss.

Question here, my dear friend, is about frequency.

We should send our younger players for this Asia Cup. Pick only the players from Test Squad in England (like Rahul, Kuldeep) and no Dhoni please. Team from England returns to India only on 12th September. Cannot risk them in another series from 15th Sept.

Try out Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed, Mavi or any other young pacer.

My team will be -
Rohit (c), Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shubman Gill, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj and Khaleel Ahmed

Bench - Kedar Jadhav, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Ankit Rajpoot

To be honest, I find it hard to believe that BCCI didn’t know about the schedule of a tournament that they themselves were/are supposed to host.

ACC handles schedule even if its hosted in India. BCCI may know when it starts and when it ends.What difference it will make to BCCI of specific date that too when tourney running in UAE.

So is it true that BCCI have no representation in ACC?

No idea..ACC is useless organization not sure who benefits from this.

Every major cricketing nation in Asia have a position in ACC. So calling it useless organisation doesn’t make up for a fact that BCCI has been incompetent at best or indifferent at worst regarding the scheduling of the tournament.

Tell me what is the benefit of ACC when hardly 5/6 teams play Cricket professionally?What is the contribution of ACC? BCCI contributes more than ACC to world cricket.

Sure man. You are probably right. But that’s not the topic we are discussing right now, are we?

Topic is why discrimination against India but nobody is answering that.

As I told you, India sits in the governing board of ACC. They could’ve stopped this ‘discrimination’. They didn’t because obviously India is too big a board to even care about Asia Cup scheduling. I mean who cares, right?

stopping comes later,but why discrimination in first place?

If only one thing i have regret of india not playing pakistan is tgat india didnt play pakistan when virendra sehwag was in team .
You have no idea how many world records and how many pakistani bowler careers bcci saved during previous era.
This guy is onlg next to viv richards in terms of carnage.
Ypu hardly see any player world 11 team without sehwag featuring in that.

I guess Junaid pretty much finished his career in 2012 series in India's home ground :babar

stopping comes later,but why discrimination in first place?

Well if playing two games on a row is a discrimination, then I guess the whole world is out there to get you. If I love doing something, I wouldn’t mind doing it every day, let alone two days on a row. So I think it’s more of a discrimination against Pakistan who will have such a long break, before playing their first game against India.

Nice try.

Oh God. Indian cricket acts like a wanna be teen age girl. If you dont wanna play dont play, dont wanna send main team dont send, whatever it is I guess rest of the boards are least interested in these dramatics and statements from people like Sehwag aka joker who dont have any self respect. :sendoff

How about India give up Int. cricket all together? Seems like every year they want to pull out of a tournament.

I guess Junaid pretty much finished his career in 2012 series in India's home ground :babar

He was well finished even before. In that aane do series ,most of the batsman were failed.
It swung like hell in those matches in early mornings in winters.

I feeling this schedule and the Sehwag strong reaction to it is a manifestation of the BCCI - CoA internal politics playing out. Sehwag is known as very close to Anirudh Chaudhary whose the current face of BCCI and of late he has been on an offensive against CoA and CEO Johri. I m sure this schedule must have been signed off by Johri before it was made Public. The BCCI official being quoted in various news reports who called this scheduling as mindless is none other than Anirudh Chaudhary., [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] bhai what you think on this possible angle?

Does anyone know what time the first game will start between India and Pakistan ( Canada eastern standard time)

No one will die: Dean Jones on India’s back-to-back matches in 2018 Asia Cup

Former Australian cricketer Dean Jones reckons that with the kind of fitness current crop of cricketers have, there it should no be a problem for India to play back-to-back matches in the upcoming 2018 Asia Cup.

The tournament, set to begin on September 15 in the UAE, will see India take on Pakistan on September 19. However, the problem is that India do not have a rest day in between as they play qualifier on September 18. Pakistan, on the other hand play their previous game on September 16 which gives them two days gap to prepare for the big game.

As reported earlier, a BCCI official had called the scheduling mindless, while Virender Sehwag called for the boycott of the tournament in view of the tight schedule.

However, Jones sees no problem with the Asia Cup schedule.

“We used to play a lot of back-to-back one-day matches in our time, so why are the players complaining now? They play five-day Test matches. I remember on an England tour, we played 11 days in a row three times. I know it’s a bit warm, but that’s why they get the big bucks these days,” Jones told IANS.

The 57-year-old also went on to state that even though fatigue might come in to play, but ‘No one will die’.

“I have got no problem (in India playing two days consistently). Fatigue might be a problem, but these guys are athletes and unbelievably fit. They will be fine. I could say this, no one will die.”

India and Pakistan are placed in Group A along with a qualifier while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are in Group B. The one qualifier spot is yet to be decided amongst UAE, Singapore, Oman, Nepal, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Asia Cup 2018 full schedule

Group Stage

15 September – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)

16 September – Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)

17 September – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

18 September – India vs Qualifier (Dubai)

19 September – India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

20 September – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

21 September – Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

23 September – Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

23 September – Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

25 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)

26 September – Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

Final

28 September – Asia Cup 2018 Final (Dubai)

http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/...-back-to-back-matches-in-2018-asia-cup-735383

Have to agree with Deano here. Much ado about nothing

Sure thing but in an ODI tournament like this one, shouldn't all teams have the same conditions and schedules, to make it fair? India have the right complain. Playing in the UAE heat for 200pvers is not a joke.

Its not "a bit warm" but hot with intense humidity, your whole body would get wet within minutes outside air conditioning plus its a high intensity match the very next day, as insignificant as it may be but its an IND VS PAK game, even if it is a charity game you'll get flak from your country men for losing

I have a feeling Indians wouldn't be crying this much if the second match was with a qualifier, or Bangladesh or Sri Lanka.