NZ "allowed" England to win to exclude Pakistan from World Cup Semi-Finals, claims Rashid Latif

One thing which was strange was Root bowling. Anyway let them enjoy making us suffer this time. Our time will come too.

Root bowls in most matches. Gives Morgan a few overs to play with in case one of his main bowlers has been collared. Gets the over rate up too.

It is same guy who exposed his own team for fixing. And Qayyum report doesn’t lie.

He is one of the straight forward guy who will spade a spade and never hesitate to judge the situation as accordingly.

If he says this, then he has good reasons to do so. But the timing and the circumstances don’t help. Nonetheless, what he says cannot be debunked as conspiracy theory because his previous allegations were not wrong either.

So just because he knew about fixing in his own team while playing, he now magically knows about all other team even after he retired? Yeh kya bakwaas logic hai

But how is Sarfaraz the main culprit here? Didn't you guys notice that team started getting results once Inzi went back?

Disclaimer: I am karachite

If our captain had no authority and was unable to select playing 11 then all the blame goes to him. After winning the champions trophy, he should have focused on leading from the front and build his credibility as a leader instead of spewing rubbish from his mouth. His individual performances were disastrous no wonder he lost the dressing room and respect in the last 2 years. Fans who backed him in 2014 turned their back on him due to his non performance and lethargic attitude. Inzi became big because Sarfraz bhai was busy eating burgers and was found hiding behind rest of the players.

Look at Misbah, he was a pathetic ODI captain and couldn't win anything for more than a year but remained influential in his role and continued to select and drop players he wanted to. You need credibility to enforce your authority. Sarfarz lost his credibility when he decided to come Abu ji (Dictator) of the team without contributing anything himself. Two years of mediocre performance in ODIs and lack of series win is his fault only.

Captains are always blamed for everything and they get all the credit of victories as well. Champions trophy is a classic example.

While I am not a conspiracy theorist and usually avoid such discussions but I think people are looking at it from the wrong angle. There has been a conspiracy I feel but there is no conspiracy AGAINST Pakistan. We seem to be the wrong team at the wrong place in this situation. I feel the conspiracy is actually FOR England.

Everyone agrees this is the BEST England ODI team ever and if they go out of the World cup before the Semis, they have the following consequences:

1. Kiss the popularity of the game goodbye in England. The ratings have already been quite low and this team provides them with some sort of respite (Maybe PPers in UK can confirm this?)

2. Ofcourse a lot of embarassment.

3. Justification of huge sums of money that has been poured into this team and now not getting any results out of it.

I do not understand how ICC decides which sort of pitches to roll out for which matches (And I can be way off in my assessment there) but I have not explanation why the last 2 pitches that england got were EXACTLY tailored to their strengths. Both India and Kiwis being champion sides also treated the matches as foregone conclusions before it started. The body language right since the toss was not what I would see from the Aussie teams of yesteryears who would keep coming at teams regardless of whether they had qualified or not and India for one not putting the nail in the coffin for England was a surprise for me. I would like to think England had luck on their side, but I find it an unworthy explanation so far.

I can assure you that, had England crashed out without qualifying it would have been forgotten by the fans as soon as the Ashes began.

The simpler explanation is that India and NZ had already qualified so took their feet off the gas. Facing stiff targets, India opted to go through the motions once their top three were out instead of risk injury to key players.

Think such theories are really unfair to teams like England who have done a lot of work to get to the number one ODI position.

Why not simply say "Well played England New Zealand", shake hands and move on to fix our problems?

NZ "allowed" England to win to exclude Pakistan from World Cup Semi-Finals, claims Rashid Latif

Rashid bhai is a legend! All that needs to be added to the mix is the injury to New Zealand´s star bowler Ferguson before the match, and also Taylor´s attempt at a suicidal second run which led to him being run out.

All in all, the recipe is there mind you. All that he needs is to let at least 10 people more smoke the stuff that he´s smoking, and we´re on track to arrange a long march. :yk

Absolutely disgusting performance from Rashid Latif.

How does any serious media publication even print this sort of nonsense?

I wonder what the conspiracy theorists Sikander, Basit and Rashid think today. It appears that even Pakistan don’t want Pakistan to qualify because there was no “intent” at all. They had a 0.0000000001% chance and they didn’t seem interested in taking it.

If there is one thing other than the moody English weather and stubborn washouts that has come to dominate the World Cup this time, it is conspiracy theories.

Team Time Machine Pakistan instantly comes to mind. We have all been hearing the ways that their campaign this time was similar to Pakistan’s run to the trophy in 1992 – up till Wednesday – when the ghost of World Cup Past abandoned its efforts midway after England triumphed over New Zealand.

And what a crazy, fateful route it had been for them. So, when all that came to an unexpected end, Pak fans burst into a paroxysm of inexplicable sadness.

One such aggrieved Pakistani is former cricketer Rashid Latif, who opened fire against England and New Zealand, accusing both sides of match-fixing so as to prevent Pakistan from entering the semi-finals of the tournament.

Latif slammed the Kiwis for an extremely unimpressive batting display that saw them get bundled out for 186 against England, after the hosts set a target of 306 runs.

England thus won the game by 119 runs and ensured their place in the knockout stages of the World Cup, while New Zealand slumped down to the fourth spot, two points ahead of Pakistan who has one game remaining.

Speaking at a Pakistani talk show, Game on Hai, Latif admitted that he felt New Zealand “allowed” England to win. “England bowled Joe Root and Adil Rashid for 4 or 5 overs after New Zealand lost 4 wickets, in order to reduce the margin of victory. England intentionally batted slow and avoided scoring 370-odd, so that the margin of victory wouldn’t be big enough,” he said.

According to Latif, the teams conspired to construe a scenario which eliminates any realistic chances for Pakistan to make it to the semis, even as they prepare to face Bangladesh in their final group stage game on Friday.

The former cricketer and the hosts later also discussed the LBW dismissal of Kiwi batsman Henry Nicholls, stating that it was “further evidence” to their theory.

However, Latif is not the first to make such outlandish declarations.

Pakistani cricketer Basit Ali also came out on live TV and declared that India is conspiring to make Pakistan lose. The plot to his prophecy was such: Indian is losing matches on purpose, just like New Zealand did in 1992.

Ali had said that he believed that India will intentionally lose to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka because they ‘never want Pakistan to reach the semifinals’.

“India have played five matches and they will never want Pakistan to reach the semifinals. They are yet to play Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Everyone saw the manner in which they beat Afghanistan…” Ali said on ARY News.

https://www.news18.com/news/buzz/cr...land-new-zealand-of-match-fixing-2216765.html

I saw the segment . And no Rashid latif did not say nz allowed England to win. This is another masala news by the media and as expected gobbled up as fact by people here. Do you believe everything you read on the internet ?

People like these are poison for the team, they're only going to delude them into thinking that they made no mistake. The real enemy is always the one that encourage your mistakes.

The mentality of loosers like Basit Ali is also a reason we are not able to progress in the game. If we see a conspiracy in every match where the result of the game doesn't suit our appetite then its a real problem. One way is to deny these folks, the likes of Basit Ali & Gautam Gambhir a platform and/or totally ignore them.

Media published because they knew we would still be discussing it��

Well if you were not allowed to start a thread on this stupid topic from an ignorant man, you would only be talking about it in the privacy of your home