On This Day: March 30, 2011 - India beats Pakistan in the 2011 World Cup semi-final at Mohali

On This Day 30th March 2011: India Beats Pakistan in the WC semi final at Mohali

So he wouldn't hit you because you were best friends yet he would break your $1400 screen because thats just what friends do?

Yep. That's how it is. And of course he would have paid for a new computer as well.

One of my best cricket memories (along with 1996 QF, 2001 Test series win over Aus, 2003 Pak game, 2007 T20 WC final). I was so nervous for so many days before the game and on the day of the game, that I even didn't watch the game. I only looked at the score when my colleagues started discussing the game in the middle of the Pak innings. After that, I enjoyed every Pakistani wicket, specially Afridi's sky scrapper. The thought that gave me sleepless nights before the game was the possibility of Pak playing final in India in front of an Indian crowd and even worse if they won it. That would have given me (and many other Indian fans) a heart attack.

It turned out to be a perfect game in the end. I ordered food for the entire team after the game. I discussed the game over the phone with my friends all over the world. I have a recording of the game and I watch it whenever I need to up my mood.

So he wouldn't hit you because you were best friends yet he would break your $1400 screen because thats just what friends do?

Have you seen people throwing things hard or breaking up things when they are angry to express their frustration?

Yaah, people can beat others also out of frustration but that happens rarely when compared to breaking up stuff out of frustration.

Have you seen people throwing things hard or breaking up things when they are angry to express their frustration?

Yaah, people can beat others also out of frustration but that happens rarely when compared to breaking up stuff out of frustration.

Well there were a lot of loopholes in the guy's story and I had to point it out.

One of my best cricket memories (along with 1996 QF, 2001 Test series win over Aus, 2003 Pak game, 2007 T20 WC final). I was so nervous for so many days before the game and on the day of the game, that I even didn't watch the game. I only looked at the score when my colleagues started discussing the game in the middle of the Pak innings. After that, I enjoyed every Pakistani wicket, specially Afridi's sky scrapper. The thought that gave me sleepless nights before the game was the possibility of Pak playing final in India in front of an Indian crowd and even worse if they won it. That would have given me (and many other Indian fans) a heart attack.

It turned out to be a perfect game in the end. I ordered food for the entire team after the game. I discussed the game over the phone with my friends all over the world. I have a recording of the game and I watch it whenever I need to up my mood.

True. It never gets old. This match, the final, the T20 WC final. I am planning to keep the recent whitewash of Aus in that list too.

This pic sums up that day perfectly!
vfjjo1.jpg

Another match that Pakistan should have won... another one of those "jeete hue" matches we lost

Re: On This Day 30th March 2011: India Beats Pakistan in the WC semi final at Mohali

I am over the defeat but still feel upset over the fact that Misbah ul Haq was rewarded and not punished for that day

Law of average; Pakistan is eventually going to win against Ind in WC. But both teams making to final is not very likely scenario.

8-0

I think the streak is defying law of averages. *gong*

I am over the defeat but still feel upset over the fact that Misbah ul Haq was rewarded and not punished for that day

quite right. horrible batting from him that day. showed no intent what so ever.

2-1 Against India in India.
The most recent encounter.
The humiliation must've been overwhelming.

Pakistan won 11 bilateral ODI series all in all, that was more usual job than humiliation, 5-1 in '86-'87 was probably a better spanking especially when you consider that we won the Test series too, 1-0 (5), first v India in India.

At the End of the day..ppl will remember this match...not all the thrashing INDIA received from our neighbors..... ;)

Wow.. 2 years time flies. I remember being at University. The area was rammed full of Pakistani supporters and a few Indian Supporters. I had such high hopes, I remember being totally devastated after this loss. I almost was in tears. Since that day I have not followed cricket properly.. I went from being a huge cricket fan watching every single game. To someone who just checks the scores now and again.. I think the hurt of loosing that match destroyed my passion for cricket.

Pakistan have 2-0 in Champions Trophy though ;-)
So its not all India in ICC events.

How many fans remember Champ Trophy matches compared to WC ?

I remember one match where Afridi blasted Pathan, which was another ?

How many fans remember Champ Trophy matches compared to WC ?

I remember one match where Afridi blasted Pathan, which was another ?

Sorry to burst your bubble mate but no one remember such matches that is the world cup or CT. Everyone does remember the overall stats and in those pakistan beats india like with a huge margin. So, yeah.

^^^^rite,,,people remember bilateral'' coca cola cups or videocon cups'' not WC

No, but people do remember certain series. Like recently when junaid did an epic pwnage of kohli. Just because your team sucks in real stats doesnt means that you bring up that lame ass 8-0 to hide it. Sorry bro. Come again.

The same way you must have felt about 4-1 in 2006? :))

But nothing beats 8-0 though, in World cup. :yk

Well at least there weren't any "AANE DO" promos during the WC's.
Losing at home to your arch rivals must've hurt that's why you're talking about the previous results.
Talk about the present.
2-1 comes to mind.
:msd

Pakistan won 11 bilateral ODI series all in all, that was more usual job than humiliation, 5-1 in '86-'87 was probably a better spanking especially when you consider that we won the Test series too, 1-0 (5), first v India in India.

No, but "AANE DO" and "ZIDDI HAI TUFAAN HAI" makes this series special.

^only you seem to remember those ads:viv

Of course i don't expect my neighbor's to remember them.
They stopped playing those after you lost the series.

But it doesn't matter now that you've passed the "ASLI TEST" ?

Match was lost the moment Sachin couldn't hit 100, rest was just formalities.

Hit the nail on the head didn't you? If only Afridi had dropped him... if only he crossed 100. Ever since his 98 in Centurion... we've been jynxed. Too bad the players don't seem to know about this; I thought it was obvious that Afridi should have dropped that catch and taken one for the team. Good going lala.. lost the game singlehandedly by taking the catch

Of course i don't expect my neighbor's to remember them.
They stopped playing those after you lost the series.

But it doesn't matter now that you've passed the "ASLI TEST" ?
What kind of stupid debate is going on here? What has Ads got to do with the outcome of the tournament? Channels do ads to hype up the tournament and Gambhir was just playing as an actor...so whats the connection here?? Pakistan beaten India 3-2 has nothing to do with Ads..LOL
As far as beating India in India is concerned...India also beaten Pakistan in Pakistan twice in the last decade in a bigger margin. Surprisingly, both the teams have better records in away game than in home :)

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=173549

Its rumoured that Misbah is still battling it out there with 65* off 16,876 deliveries.

But he is a gentleman?lol
Despite such a selfish knock him and YK and Shafiq continued to play for Pakistan in the one days.
What an awful era for Pak fans especially in limited overs format. Has to be the worst phase of Pak team ever.

That was Pak game to lose after restricting that Indian batting to a subpar 260 runs. Their bowling was toothless. It was an awful chase. Totally miscalculated and carrying the test match specialists did not help either.

Bitter memories. Sehwag giving epic phainty to our best bowler Gul. Sachin's drops and drs lbw decision. The faint silver of hope with Wahab's epic spell (the Yorker to Yuvraj had me dancing at the time) and a steady opening partnership. And Harbhajan's roar when the last hope fell - Afridi.

Oh well. At least there are some better memories now :sarf2

Pakistan could have won this game if Malik was in the squad. He was truly the best player of spin those days and was really good against Indian bowling.

What a day!

Woke up at 4 am to watch with a group of 20

Watched India batting. Pak did well.

Then Pak were 40 odd for 0. I left for an exam. Came out 2 hours later. Checked score on my old Blackberry.

Disappointment at the max when I saw Pak 100 odd for 5 or 6.

Went to give a second exam which was pretty intense so forgot about the match till late at nigh / tom morning. Yet to see any wicket of how Pakistani batsmen got out apart from Afridi full toss catch..

When I try to think back, I recall misbah going for that six right at the end and getting caught. I also remember the saeed ajmal LBW not given, and us dropping Sachin so many times. So glad we beat them in the CT Final 17, that's a memory that will stay with me.

What a day!

Woke up at 4 am to watch with a group of 20

Watched India batting. Pak did well.

Then Pak were 40 odd for 0. I left for an exam. Came out 2 hours later. Checked score on my old Blackberry.

Disappointment at the max when I saw Pak 100 odd for 5 or 6.

Went to give a second exam which was pretty intense so forgot about the match till late at nigh / tom morning. Yet to see any wicket of how Pakistani batsmen got out apart from Afridi full toss catch..

one of the bitter memories,the disappointment was not that we lost but we lost a match that we should have won easily after restricting them to less than 300,,and indian bowling was toothless except Zaheer Khan.

Pakistan could have won this game if Malik was in the squad. He was truly the best player of spin those days and was really good against Indian bowling.

Malik definitely should have been in that WC

He was in UNREAL form. Bradmanesque almost

Definitely deserved to be ahead of one of YK or Misbah or Shafiq

Razzaq was a big passenger in the squad as well

Bhai kya yaad dila diya! I still can't forget those fire crackers. Very heart broken at that day.

Very bad memories :facepalm: i remember a lot of my friends went into depression for a few days. We were young and immature. Took the game way too seriously.

The pain of this defeat stayed with me until 18th June 2017, when the pain was washed away by what transpired at the Oval. At the Oval Pakistan redeemed this heartbreak by winning at a grand stage in a high pressure match.

Come on....World Cup vs CT? Winning the World Cup in 2011 in India would have been HUGE. I don't see a comparison.

Remember this day. Didn't go to school because I was 'ill'. Watched the match and remember the shock when that Tendulkar lbw was overturned. I thought we could win cos we got off to a good start in the chase. Hafeez's dismissal was the turning point. I remember I was so upset I got fish and chips for dinner to cheer myself up :(. Can't believe it's been 7 years already though

Ajmal confirmed after the India match he bowled an arm bowl to Tendulkar that hit him plum infront crashing into off stump and middle and then DRS showed the ball to be a doosra completely missing leg stump.

First picture traction of the Arm Ball
642710-tendulkar-video.jpg
Time of impact of the ball onto the batsmans pad look at it, its crashing plumb into middle and off stump
explain1.jpg
Iwhen the ball pitches it spins past leg stump showing its a doosra even though the bowler had bowled an arm ball.
saeed-ajmal-sachin-lbw759.jpg
Funny thing is Ajmal would never bowl a doosra on that line pitching where it did because either the batsman lets it go past him resulting in a wide or its easy runs for the batsman to flick on the leg side. You dont bowl a doosra on this line and length

I was upset for a few days, mainly because of Misbah, after which didn't really care.

Truth be told CT17 final made up for all loses ever vs India in tournaments anyway. :)

The day India cheated and changed the traction of the ball on the DRS, Ajmal confirmed after the match he bowled an arm bowl to Tendulkar that hit him plum infront crashing into off stump and middle and then DRS showed the ball to be a doosra completely missing leg stump.

View attachment 80452
Time of impact of the ball onto the batsmans pad look at it, its crashing plumb into middle and off stump
View attachment 80453
Indians change the projection of the ball so when it pitches it spins past leg stump showing its a doosra even though the bowler had bowled an arm ball.
View attachment 80454
Funny thing is Ajmal would never bowl a doosra on that line pitching where it did because either the batsman lets it go past him resulting in a wide or its easy runs for the batsman to flick on the leg side. You dont bowl a doosra on this line and length

The real funny thing is you focussing on a conspiracy theory and ignoring 4 dropped catches!!! He was begging to get out

I was upset for a few days, mainly because of Misbah, after which didn't really care.

Truth be told CT17 final made up for all loses ever vs India in tournaments anyway. :)

First of all congrats for CT win, Pak played amazing.

How did it make up? If you had won 96, 03, 11 matches against India, probably you might have ended winning WC. So for now CT>>>WC for you? India literally kicked you out of tournaments in those WCs where as India actually made it to CT final in 2017.

The day India cheated and changed the traction of the ball on the DRS, Ajmal confirmed after the match he bowled an arm bowl to Tendulkar that hit him plum infront crashing into off stump and middle and then DRS showed the ball to be a doosra completely missing leg stump.

View attachment 80452
View attachment 80453
Indians change the projection of the ball so when it pitches it spins past leg stump showing its a doosra even though the bowler had bowled an arm ball.
View attachment 80454

You're so confused bro lol. A doosra would spin away from the batsmen not in to the batsmen down the leg stump.

How did it make up? If you had won 96, 03, 11 matches against India, probably you might have ended winning WC. So for now CT>>>WC for you? India literally kicked you out of tournaments in those WCs where as India actually made it to CT final in 2017.

Beating India in an ODI final trumps WC round elimination all year long. :)

No point pigeon holing 96, 03, and 11 WCs.

The reality is the only way CT17 can be trumped is if Pakistan beat India in WC final (vice versa) too.

A major final win against a much more fancied opponent easily trumps QF or SF or league games in WC. Pak has bragging rights until India beats them in another major final. The chances of that happening in the near future is next to nil. WC 2019 format rewards consistency and the next CT is still doubtful considering there is a fight between BCCI and ICC regarding the format. Other tournaments like Asia CUp or WC T20 aren't so prestigious

Well the nightmares and spirits after this game have finally disappeared following last year's CT win courtesy of a change in mindset and adapting to the modern game from Misbah in Mohali to a more courageous skipper in Sarfraz.

Shocking day it was.

Lots of ******** for Misbah and sleepless nights for a week.

Anyways time flies. :hasan :shadab

Didn't have a good internet connection and bandwidth was used up so had to go to a cafe and watch.

Sat there for several hours and went home depressed. :misbah

Was one of the best days of my life. My college is near by chandigarh.Was punjabi dhols ,punjabi music,celebrations,traffic jams all over mohali. Traffic. it is said to be the world biggest cricket match ever as bollywood stars ,politicians p.m of both countries were present as well.
Pakistan people need to know i swear we would love to loose 100 more champions trophy finals to you if we can just get one more win like that.it is uncomparable.
Champions trophy ,we won 2013 chamiions trophy by winning each and every match where i guess pakistan lost all matches,but it didnt excite that much.And 2017 as well we i guess beat pakistan in league match ?? Anyways....allah kre aap aise or 10 champions trophy bhaarat ko haraaye or india world cup 2003,2011,1996,world cup t20 final jese matches ap logo ko haraaye....ameen...

The biggest India-Pakistan match in history and one of the most satisfying victory ever.

I don’t mind losing another CT to Pakistan as long we beat them in 2019 WC to extend the streak. Also want to keep seeing that big ZERO there.

TBH this defeat still hurts was probably the worst ever defeat was hard to watch cricket after that
CT Final win heals the world t20 Final defeat not this lol on the indians trying to console themselves about CT Final but having said that this will only be healed if we defeat India in a knockout match in 19 WC or latter..
But atleast that painful defeat in Johannesburg doesn't hurt anymore

I had lost all hope from life for the next two weeks. I won't lie my friends and I burnt a couple of Misbah posters while bringing out our Karachi accent. What's even worse this loser went onto captain us for the next five to six years taking all three of our teams to new lows.

CT final heals only world t20 final defeat not this

This SF is till painful because world cup was there for the taking and winning a world cup final in Mumbai would have been the greatest ever day in history of Pakistan Cricket and would probably never be topped similarly India had a golden opportunity to win a world cup at Lahore in 96 but they bottled it , just couldn't conquer Lahore could u?

i couldnt sleep that night and I couldnt sleep well two nights prior to the match due to excitement:(
was in my teens and very upset.6

That was the day I lost all respect for one Pakistani batsman who was playing for "draw" and made it sure that captain won't become hero by beating India in a WC SF. Pakistan had a chance but his batting killed it.

I had lost all hope from life for the next two weeks. I won't lie my friends and I burnt a couple of Misbah posters while bringing out our Karachi accent. What's even worse this loser went onto captain us for the next five to six years taking all three of our teams to new lows.

Most painful loss against India, would have been most joyful win, if Misbah had right intentions. I never had any respect for Misbah since.

What's even worse this loser went onto captain us for the next five to six years taking all three of our teams to new lows.

Yes, number one ranking in tests is certainly a very "low" number. Perhaps 7th or 8th better suits your lofty standards.:misbah

Probably the worst day of my life along with the Champions League final in 2009 (Dunno why that day stands out so much actually in retrospection). I cried for hours and hours and went into quasi-depression for days. Refused to watch cricket for a long time in fact. To be honest, I'd have much preferred to be thrashed than what transpired. It was the hope, and the slow but sure draining of it that hurt even more. Knowing it was all in your hands, and you threw it away under pressure. The CT victory was sweet but for me, nothing compares to this game. Guess cricket just meant more to me as a person back then, than right now.

I saw this with friends at University in Canada, and it was a huge mixed bunch of Indians and Pakistanis watching the game. To be honest, the atmosphere was pretty much electric and we didn't have the kind of animosity in that period like now. Was watching with my best buddy from Chennai, who is an encyclopedic cricket fan. He called the Indian collapse, and that the chase rested on Akmal. Both sadly turned out to be true. Watching all the Indian fans singing songs and celebrating in front of us, was something that really hurt. Don't think I've ever seen cricket the same way after that.

Also Raina, what an absolute clutch player. He single-handedly took India to a decent score from potentially being bowled out.

Most painful loss against India, would have been most joyful win, if Misbah had right intentions. I never had any respect for Misbah since.

India was the better team, pakistani batsmen were simply incapable of chasing that target