On This Day: March 4, 1992 - Javed Miandad at his cheeky best, mocking Kiran More

Saj

Javed Miandad and Kiran More.......unforgettable scenes at Sydney.

72504.jpg

The start of our jinx- inshallah hope next year in Adelaide we reverse this stupid trend. This pic reminds me of my childhood :)

4 years since you posted and the WC is again with an year to go,good chance this time,considering PCT beat ICT in the finals of CT.

Title of the thread suggests Miandad had the upper hand in this duel. Anyone who watched that match would know that it was exactly the opposite. More irritated the hell out of Miandad by his constant sledging from behind the stumps. The thoroughly irritated JM lost it completely and started jumping like a monkey.

He was eventually dismissed and Pak lost the match comprehensively. It started the streak that 3 generations of Pakistanis haven't been able to overcome.

It was game, set and match to More and India!

Title of the thread suggests Miandad had the upper hand in this duel. Anyone who watched that match would know that it was exactly the opposite. More irritated the hell out of Miandad by his constant sledging from behind the stumps. The thoroughly irritated JM lost it completely and started jumping like a monkey.

He was eventually dismissed and Pak lost the match comprehensively. It started the streak that 3 generations of Pakistanis haven't been able to overcome.

It was game, set and match to More and India!

Pakistan won the world cup but congratulations to you and all of India for winning this very important duel.

I was only commenting on this match, because that's the title of the thread. Take your beef with the guy who started this thread, or start your own thread re. Pak winning the WC.

PS. There would always be an asterisk against that WC win, but that's another subject.

I was only commenting on this match, because that's the title of the thread. Take your beef with the guy who started this thread, or start your own thread re. Pak winning the WC.

PS. There would always be an asterisk against that WC win, but that's another subject.

Why?

<iframe allowFullScreen="allowFullScreen" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/wOLDZigCYzY?ecver=1&iv_load_policy=1&yt:stretch=16:9&autohide=1&color=red&width=560&width=560" width="560" height="315" allowtransparency="true" frameborder="0"><div><a id="vbIIsy4V" href="https://www.sellcompare.co.uk/apple/tablet">selling your ipad</a></div><div><a id="vbIIsy4V" href="https://www.onecompare.com">https://www.onecompare.com</a></div><script type="text/javascript">function execute_YTvideo(){return youtube.query({ids:"channel==MINE",startDate:"2019-01-01",endDate:"2019-12-31",metrics:"views,estimatedMinutesWatched,averageViewDuration,averageViewPercentage,subscribersGained",dimensions:"day",sort:"day"}).then(function(e){},function(e){console.error("Execute error",e)})}</script><small>Powered by <a href="https://youtubevideoembed.com/ ">Embed YouTube Video</a></small></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> 1992. Javed Miandad got a little annoyed with Kiran More. Later, in a television interview, Miandad said "I imitated Kiran More because he kept on appealing as if he was begging for money from the umpire" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/0dgB0jSxmK">pic.twitter.com/0dgB0jSxmK</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1235126113447358464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Jump that went viral &#55357;&#56832;<br>Why I mocked Kiran More..? There was a hidden reason, check out my Jump story vs Kiran More in 1992 World Cup. <br>Watch complete video: <a href="https://t.co/wTJQ9ZLRbp">https://t.co/wTJQ9ZLRbp</a><a href="https://twitter.com/JockMore?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JockMore</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/ESPNcricinfo?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ESPNcricinfo</a><a href="https://twitter.com/InUthdotcom?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@InUthdotcom</a> <a href="https://t.co/ZL7tuUhSuY">pic.twitter.com/ZL7tuUhSuY</a></p>— Javed Miandad (@I_JavedMiandad) <a href="https://twitter.com/I_JavedMiandad/status/1236995686148734978?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 9, 2020</a></blockquote>

What is it that you missed the most about your life as a cricketer? Most former players say it's the camaraderie in the dressing-room.

Believe it or not, my best mate was my fiercest competitor, Chandrakant Pandit who I am on really good terms with even today. He was also my roommate on almost all the Indian tours. Sunil Gavaskar used to joke around saying me and Pandit should have a wrestling match in our room on the morning of a Test match where the last man standing gets to play in the final 11. And the memories. People remember my showdown with Javed Miandad in 1992 but what many don't know is we shared very cordial relations before that incident.

I remember this incident from the 1989 tour which still leaves me in splits. It was his 100th Test and he was determined to get a big one after surviving a couple of plumb LBW shouts. Suddenly out of nowhere Javed hummed a Mehdi Hasan ghazal out of nowhere. Me and Sanjay Manjrekar at short leg cracked up and kept bugging him every now and then saying 'Javed bhai aur ek ho jaaye' until he got out. To our utter surprise 'the Ghalib' had a gem up his sleeve every time we asked for one.

https://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/113001/what-have-i-done-for-my-familys-financial-health

Former Indian wicket-keeper Kiran More talked about the famed India-Pakistan rivalry and how the Miandad run-in in 1992 has overshadowed his playing career.

In an exclusive chat with Sportskeeda’s Indranil Basu on Friday, More opened up about the much-hyped India-Pakistan rivalry which, back in the day, used to be just as intense as it is today.

Kiran More talked about his infamous sledging incident with Pakistan great Javed Miandad, which riled the former Pakistan captain so much that he started doing 'bunny jumps' on the pitch.

"Pakistan-India is always on field a big battle. Off the field we have no issues at all. Javed loves to talk, he's an outstanding cricketer. Sledging is always on the field. It happens in all fields. It's become a lot more popular,” said Kiran More.

The wicket-keeper had invited the wrath of Miandad for chirping a tad too much from behind the stumps and for appealing incessantly. Despite the Pakistani taking it to the umpire, More was in no mood to tone down.

More reflected on the incident and said that it often overshadows his other achievements.

“No one talks about my world record 6 dismissals in one Test match. Everyone asks only about the Miandad incident,” added More.

Kiran More, the former Chairman of the Selection Committee, also talked about another contemporary of his playing time, and now the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan.

Kiran More said it is an unbelievable story that Imran Khan had become the PM of a nation.

"He was always full of swag for Pakistan. He kept to himself. He always loved talking cricket, he could talk 24x7. He wanted to do something for Pakistan. It's an unbelievable story. For me it's a beautiful story, hats off to him. We have had lots of cricketers who have been in and out, not easy to handle," said More, heaping praise on Imran Khan.

Kiran More played 94 ODI matches between 1984 and 1993 and kept wickets in 93 of them. More is one of the most successful wicket-keepers India has ever produced in ODIs.

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket...ident-kiran-more-career-overshadowed-incident

First of a very long streak of top Pakistani cricketers choking against India in the world cups.

Miandad is the original Misbah of our rivalrly :yk 1992 and 1996 he could not deliver under pressure.

Kiran More 58 today but for all his efforts for India - that picture of Miandad will always stand out most when he is discussed.

First of a very long streak of top Pakistani cricketers choking against India in the world cups.

Miandad is the original Misbah of our rivalrly :yk 1992 and 1996 he could not deliver under pressure.

Thank you Kiran More.

Original unsung hero of the streak :Kapil

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 1992. Javed Miandad got a little annoyed with Kiran More. Later, in a television interview, Miandad said "I imitated Kiran More because he kept on appealing as if he was begging for money from the umpire" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/wD8BPfpAb2">pic.twitter.com/wD8BPfpAb2</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1367417020438970371?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 4, 2021</a></blockquote>

Former Team India wicket-keeper batsman Kiran More has recalled his epic face-off with legendary Pakistan batsman Javed Miandad during the 1992 edition of the ICC World Cup. More was hilariously mocked by batting legend Miandad when Mohammed Azharuddin-led Indian side locked horns with Imran Khan's Pakistan at the famous at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney.

Miandad wasn’t pleased with the intense appealing done by the Indian wicketkeeper during the high-voltage clash between the two arch-rivals at the grandest stages of them all. After Miandad thwarted More's bid to run him out in one of Sachin Tendulkar's overs, the Pakistan batsman tried poking fun at the Indian wicketkeeper by jumping up and down in a hilarious manner.

The animated celebration of Miandad to mock More still remains one of the most iconic moments in the India-Pakistan World Cup rivalry. Recalling the memorable incident in a YouTube interaction on The Curtly & Karishma Show, More said that Javed is a good friend of his although both cricketers were engaged in a verbal spat in the famous 1992 World Cup encounter.

More revealed that Miandad was carrying a back injury when India played with Pakistan at the SCG. The former Indian cricketer said that he kept telling the Indian bowlers to avoid bowling short to him. Miandad was getting frustrated while trying to drive the ball to mid-off and cover region during Pakistan's chase of 217 at the SCG.

“In Hindi, he was saying that, ‘don’t worry we will win this match easily’. And I said, ‘go to hell, we will win this match’. And there was an appeal down the leg-side off Sachin Tendulkar. I thought he was caught behind. I appealed and Javed swore at me. I told him to shut up, he told me the same. Then, there was a run-out appeal when I jumped and whipped the stumps," More said.

"And he started imitating me. I gave it back to him. I covered my mouth with my gloves. That's the time when the mike was used. Umpire David Shepherd came in and told Javed, if you do it again, I’ll send you out of the ground,” More added. Though Pakistan lost the high-voltage clash by 43 runs, Imran and Co. managed to beat England in the final to clinch their maiden World Cup title at the time.

More, who played 49 Test matches and 94 One Day Internationals (ODIs) for India also revealed that he visited Miandad's house for dinner after the World Cup and both cricketers had a laugh about the incident. “After that, I went to Pakistan. Javed called me. I went to his house for dinner. Till 4 in the morning we had a great time, a great laugh,” he concluded

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...d-miandad-india-vs-pakistan-go-to-hell/764892