pakcricketfan

Happy Birthday FAWAD ALAM!

A very Happy Birthday to FAWAD ALAM!
He's turned 25 today. :14:

May ALLAH bless him always. :)

Hope he has an amazing series against SA and forces his way in to the test team soon.

They've already given him a birthday present today by ignoring him for the test series against RSA.

Happy Birthday Fadi

PCB have spoiled his party I'm afraid but he wont be too concerned. He has something going for him in LOIs and I'm sure that'll earn him a test recall soon

Lol..
He's "officially" 25 now.. and today's my brother's 25th birthday, too.
Bhai ki tou original hai..can't say the same for Fawad though!

Happy 25th Birthday to your bro!:36:
Or is your brother Fawad Alam? :p Would explain a LOT..haha just kidding.

aur 30th issliye likha kyun ke pata nahi yaar,inn cricketers ki ages ka kuch nahi pata hota:p

When we're done, I'll move this to the Drinks Carrier Forum

Wah ji wah. Happee Budday, boy. I hope someone gives you a helmet that fits as a birthday present.

Happy 25th Birthday to your bro!:36:
Or is your brother Fawad Alam? :p Would explain a LOT..haha just kidding.

aur 30th issliye likha kyun ke pata nahi yaar,inn cricketers ki ages ka kuch nahi pata hota:p

Lol.. no bhaee.. I'm neither related to Fawad nor to Asad..:D
I know what you meant by 30th birthday..issi liye tou kaha tha k "officially" 25th birthday..original tou ziada hi hogi:p

When we're done, I'll move this to the Drinks Carrier Forum

:47:

Happy Birthday!!!!!! Fawad Alam !!!! Legend who never got a Chance

What a birthday gift.... 141 not out!!!!!

for all the haters!!!!!

Don't Worry Mate...... the Corrupt PCB does not deserve your services....... only National bank of PK is so fortunate..........

Legend!!!! puts a price on his Wicket..... Best player along with HF and U Akmal on Pakistan tour of England but for some reason got dropped.... or i mean.. Ilyas said to kick him out on National Tv..!!!

His record speaks for his self!!!!!

Highest Average in Pakistan Cricket history in Domestic!!!

and you know what Geoff Lawson said..... Fawad Alam The NEXT big thing in Pakistan cricket.....!!!!

but geoff i am afraid its not Australia you are talking about its Corrupistan.... i mean pakistan

Lol Mian Hassan you must be his biggest fan
Anyway Happy birthday Fawad :) Hoping you can get into the test team again as soon as possible Insha Allah

Yes, Fawad is the most deserving batsmen who is unfortunately a victim of politics.

I always though the word 'Legend' was thrown around....but woah, this takes the cake.

P.S: Happy Birthday :asif

Calling him a legend is taking it to far but the guy does deserve to be in the test team

1 - He's not a Legend

2 - Yes he deserves a chance in the team BUT he's NOT a LEGEND. Do not undermine the importance of the word.

3 - Happy Birthday to him :).

happy bday to fawad, hope someone bought him a helmet that fits.

Lol legend? :fawad

Happy Birthday, I'm sure he had a crazy night out with the lads.

Legend?!? Kis angle se bhai? :asif

Anyways Happy Birthday to yet another player who was treated harshly by the cricket board. Still deserves to be a part of our ODI and Test teams.

Happy Birthday to the great man:

title%20i%20am%20legend.jpg

Happy Birthday fawad!

Keep up the big runs! Inshaalah ull be in test team soon!

Happy Bday to Fawad ....

Reminds me that my own Bday is coming in two weeks .... :D

Happy bday to him :) :19:

Legend ? That was too much yaar, word legend is losing it's charm :sachin

only thing legendary about him are his brows :fawad
i keed, i keed. I'm a fan and really happy he performed well on his birthday. It sucks that he isn't given enough chances and the tested and tried failures are brought back in the team time and time again :farhat

Happy birthday to Faddy

BTW who is this "HF" your referring to?

Faddy is looking in great touch in the QE Trophy

I think the OP meant legend in Pakistan domestic circuit

Hppybday Fawad.I hope you get selected for Tests and ODIs.

Hppybday Fawad.I hope you get selected for Tests and ODIs sooner than later.

Happy Birthday Fawad Alam. I wish he would have made the most of the opportunities given to him.

Happy birthday Fawad Alam.. Pity you are not Pakistani enough to get into the team.. Still we can have our Farhats and Akmals..

The guardians of the English language should reprimand Mian Hassan bhai for this gross misuse of the word Legend. :yk

Domestic bully, will never be good enough for intl level.

Saalgirah Mubarak though. :fawad

The guardians of the English language should reprimand Mian Hassan bhai for this gross misuse of the word Legend. :yk

Domestic bully, will never be good enough for intl level.

Saalgirah Mubarak though. :fawad

century on debut in seaming conditions where everyone else failed.. hmmm was that made on the flat track of lahore

kaunsi seaming conditions?!

second innings the pitch was dead and had ankle height bounce.

no doubt a good knock, but he's not good enough in the long run.

kaunsi seaming conditions?!

second innings the pitch was dead and had ankle height bounce.

no doubt a good knock, but he's not good enough in the long run.

tuo baqi heeray kyun fail hoye thaay.. i dont really like his batting.. he is a bit like katich but we need sticklers in our team not mental idiots like umar akmal or phattus likes azhar ali

Happy Birthday to Fawad! :fawad:

He turns 27 today.

P.S. He scored 113 a few days ago (also bagged a duck in the second innings, btw)

Dabbay maiN dabba dabbay maiN cake
Hamara Fawad Alam lakhoN maiN aik

Happy Birthday to you . :heart:

I wonder what's the point of these teenage style obsessed birthday threads aimed at players?

Its not like he'll be reading and logging onto reply.

Happy Birthday to Fawad Alam:135:!

Happy Birthday Fawad and i hope you score load of runs and make it impossible for selectors to keep you out of national team.

birthday present is a place on the bench for UVA :fawad

Happy birthday Fawad alam !

May you continue to score loads of runs and force your way back into the team inshallah

Fawad Alam is a prospect who has dominated the Pakistani domestic scene for quite a long time.

Essentially a middle order batsman with an unconventional technique like Shivnarine Chanderpaul, he also bowls slow left-arm spin. In addition to that, he is one of the fittest and most athletic players in the country. He made his First Class debut at the tender age of 17 years old, and has been touted for great things from his peers.

He first came to prominence with the Pakistan Under-19s – he was part of the Pakistan squad for the U-19 World Cup 2004. His unbeaten 43 against India saw Pakistan through to the final which they went on to win. He was then retained in the U-19 squad for the home series against Sri Lanka and South Africa Academy teams. Later, he was invited to join the National Cricket Academy (NCA), a pool of talented individuals to be groomed for international cricket.

Fawad Alam came into national reckoning after an outstanding domestic season in 2006/07. He overshadowed all others by bagging the Man of the Final, Player of the Tournament, Best Batsman and Best Bowler awards at the domestic Twenty20 competition. A good show in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy (Pakistan's premiere four-day competition) soon followed. He was rewarded with captaincy of the Pakistan Academy team that toured Bangladesh where his performance earned him a national call-up.

He made his ODI debut for Pakistan against Sri Lanka at Abu Dhabi in what was the last match of the series. He had a rather forgettable debut as he was not required to bowl at all and bagged a first-ball duck when it was his turn to bat. Considering his immaculate domestic record, the selectors kept their faith in the young all-rounder picking him regularly in the national squad, including the squad for the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 tournament in South Africa. However, he played only one match - the semi-final against New Zealand, where he picked up 2 wickets for 29 runs in his four overs. He was dropped, however, in favour of another all-rounder Yasir Arafat in the team for the final.

Later in November 2007, he was selected in Pakistan's ODI squad for the Indian tour where yet again, he got to play the last match of the series only. Coming in to bat at number 7, he played a little cameo scoring an unbeaten 32 off 23 balls.

Although Fawad was given a limited opportunity to shine, usually batting low down the order towards the end of the innings, or bowling when the ‘slog’ was on, he managed to find a spot in Pakistan's LOI squad almost every time. Meanwhile, he was also a regular in Pakistan A and ended up as the highest run scorer during Pakistan Academy's tour of Africa in 2008 including a marathon 302 not out in a four-day game against Kenya. Such gritty knocks and many others in the domestic level as well as the A team level made Fawad a fan-favourite.

Fawad was later selected for the Twenty20 quadrangular tournament held in Canada in October 2008, where he showed sparks of brilliance, clinching victory from the jaws of defeat against Sri Lanka in a round match. In a 50-run partnership with the then-captain Shoaib Malik, he scored 23 not out from just 8 balls, ensuring a thrilling victory for Pakistan.

Fawad finally made it into Pakistan's Test squad in February 2008 but failed to get a game. He was also part of the victorious Pakistani team for the ICC World Twenty20 2009 held in England. He was always highly rated by the then-captain Younis Khan, who finally awarded him a Test cap against Sri Lanka in Colombo in July 2009. Opening the innings for the first time in his career, Fawad could only manage a paltry 16 runs in the first innings. However, he repaid his captain's faith and bounced back in the second innings - he scored mammoth 168 runs becoming the first Pakistani to score a century on debut overseas. Although a shocking batting collapse thereafter led Pakistan to yet another defeat on the tour, Fawad was awarded a shared Man of the Match award.

However, a couple of low scores in the next two Tests saw him out - not only from the playing XI, but also from the selection commitee's future plans with regards to Pakistan's Test squad. He was sent back to Pakistan in the middle of the Australian tour.

Fawad remained on the selectors' radar for the LOIs. He played three matches against Australia, scoring 117 runs at an average of 39.00 in what was a horrible series for Pakistan as they ended up getting whitewashed down under. Despite being one of the few successful batsmen on the tour, Fawad was ignored for Pakistan's next ODI assignment - Asia Cup 2010 as well as the next Test assignment - the tour of England even though veteran batsmen, Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf were unavailable for the tour. His omission raged a debate amongst experts and fans who argued that the youngster deserved a call-up ahead of the newcomers like Umar Amin and Azhar Ali.

Fawad then made a comeback to Pakistan's ODI squad, getting picked for the ODI series against England in September 2010. He scored 153 runs at an average of 38.25 in what was the first full series that he got to play in his ODI career thus far. His performance was deemed adequate for persisting with him for the ODI series against South Africa in the UAE in October-November 2010, where he scored 123 runs in 5 matches, including a gutsy 59 not out in the third ODI where Pakistan fell short by two runs. However, his performances failed to satisfy the selectors, particularly Mohammad Ilyas and he was subsequently dropped from the ODI squad for the New Zealand tour. The first and only T20I against New Zealand later that year proved to be his last international appearance for Pakistan till date. He failed to earn a spot even in the 30-member preliminary squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in spite of ending 2010 as Pakistan's third highest run scorer in ODIs. His surprise omission was attributed to a "lack of form" by the Chief selector Mohsin Khan.

1165.jpg

Fawad maintains that he is determined to earn a recall by proving his mettle in the domestic circuit once again. He has been putting up consistent performances for his domestic teams, National Bank of Pakistan, Sindh Dolphins and Karachi Dolphins. He finished as the highest run scorer at the Pentangular Cup but failed to catch the eye of the selectors who did not pick him for the Caribbean tour in April 2011.

In the recent past, Fawad Alam's selection has been the subject of contentious debate amongst cricket fans and pundits, and even the decision-makers at the PCB. Whilst some believe he lacks the basic ingredients required to become a permanent fixture in the Pakistan side, others maintain that he brings in much needed stability to the team’s otherwise fragile batting line up.

It remains to be seen whether Fawad will bounce back and stage a comeback to the international arena or end up as another unfulfilled talent.

Profile:
http://www.pakpassion.net/9

It's a real shame, when he is not even getting a chance at Pakistan A level after doing so well in domestic. cricket. It sickens me even more when he got ignored for CT 30 probables . It like they are treating him as he doesn't exist.

On This Day October 8, 1985: Fawad Alam was born

Really sad to read all that. Definately a deserving squad member of both the test and odi squads.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Very sad to read this post. The most consistent batsman is being ignored, just because he does not have any influential backing to make it into the team. Averaging 38 in English conditions (first full series he played), where we just saw how pathetic the likes of Malik and Hafeez were in this Champions trophy this year. Such a shame.

On This Day October 8, 1985: Fawad Alam was born

Happy Birthday! Kind of liked to read Shivnarine Chanderpaul´s name in the opening post, because I am usually bit of an experting in spotting the similarities in the batting styles etc., but missed this one:).