Our next series in South Africa is in 2018/2019

anakwalajinn

Salaam awaam.

Guys, enjoy this away series because our next away series of South Africa is not until December 2018!

Not a big fan of this FTP that we have until 2020. There are a lot of gaps, and I hope The PCB can fill these gaps as a some high profile teams have gaps in the same period, and there is also possible to arrange tri series' with other countries.

I know what would have been on my top priority list if I was The PCB Chairman :zaka

On another note, our next away tour outside The Sub Continent(including UAE) after the away tour of West Indies this summer is...

ICC World Cup 2015 :facepalm: (there is still a short away tour of Zimbabwe before that, insha Allah)

Source: http://static.espncricinfo.com/db/DOWNLOAD/0000/0045/ftp_2011_2020.pdf

Also, very few away tours of England, New Zealand and Australia.

This FTP is way way way lopsided against Pakistan

Any scientific reason why ??

No away tours until the WC? No wonder our players are not used to conditions outside the SC. Hoping that all of our young batsmen play county cricket during this time so that they are ready for the tour to England which happens in 2016, i guess.

So this series is probably the last chance for players like Misbah, Younis and maybe even Hafeez and Irfan to prove their worth outside he subcontinent, in tests.

Even our last SA tour was 6 years ago.

This is not right at all, a tour should be every 4 to 5 Years max. PCB need to sort this out.

The FTP is only against Pakistan, not the West Indies, New Zealand, etc.

In addition to the above, Pakistan's next tour to Australia is in December 2016, and to England is in summer 2017. And they never tour India obviously.

If the pak team performs and stays in the top 4 test rankings I'm pretty sure the gaps can be filled

Well that is very long. Looks like among all the teams we are the most ill prepared for 2015 WC. go 2019 world cup :p :p :p ...

If the pak team performs and stays in the top 4 test rankings I'm pretty sure the gaps can be filled

Number 4 wont cut it. We have to be atleast at 2 or heck 1 to fill the gaps.

best we can do is continue to rise up in the rankings
the FTP will change...
how many marquee series can a country play with india being demolished 8-0

of course its worth remembering that some of these FTP's were decided while Ijaz Butt was at the helm - we know how well that turned out in terms of building bridges

is this a joke? we don't tour australia till the end of 2016? Who exactly has decided this?

I hope something can be done to fix this. We should be tourning australia in 2014 atleast. And the next tour of SA should be in 2017.

Salaam awaam.

Guys, enjoy this away series because our next away series of South Africa is not until December 2018!

Now THIS is the issue that PCB needs to focus on.

Begging Bangladesh and Afghanistan and PSL, and Zimbabwe and Timbaktuu, and inviting retired players to play in Pak etc are useless crap.
PCB Needs divert it's resources to try to schedule more and more tours to SA, Australia and England till the security situation gets better in Pakistan.

Can you imagine Dec 2018 ??????

PCB isn't interested in Test Cricket & tries to play as less Test as possible. FTP is all about Test Tours & PCB Hippocrates though pretend to value Test highest, are most interested to arrange Micky-mouse T20 tours (previously it was ODI) & negotiates as less Test as possible at the excuse of low popularity. In 2001 English summer, an outstanding PAK team agreed for a 2 Test Ashes warm up tour, when 1/2 Test tours were reserved for ZIM & BD.

By mutual understandings, two Boards can decide the number of Test & PCB takes the advantage of that by reducing to 2 Test series. Had they been interested, easily could have played 1 Test more against AUS or SAF in 2010 or ENG in 2012. Also, outside the FTP, 2 country can always play bilateral Test series. However, when top boards like BCCI, ECB, ACB or UCBSA are arranging Test series (under which IND played at least 10 Tests more than FTP between 2008 to 11) I am sure PCB 'll arrange T20 matches in UAE, Malaysia or even in North America.

FTP is nothing, as long as the respective board is interested, any top team like PAK can play 10-12 Tests every year & ICC 'll not restrict that.

PCB isn't interested in Test Cricket & tries to play as less Test as possible. FTP is all about Test Tours & PCB Hippocrates though pretend to value Test highest, are most interested to arrange Micky-mouse T20 tours (previously it was ODI) & negotiates as less Test as possible at the excuse of low popularity. In 2001 English summer, an outstanding PAK team agreed for a 2 Test Ashes warm up tour, when 1/2 Test tours were reserved for ZIM & BD.

By mutual understandings, two Boards can decide the number of Test & PCB takes the advantage of that by reducing to 2 Test series. Had they been interested, easily could have played 1 Test more against AUS or SAF in 2010 or ENG in 2012. Also, outside the FTP, 2 country can always play bilateral Test series. However, when top boards like BCCI, ECB, ACB or UCBSA are arranging Test series (under which IND played at least 10 Tests more than FTP between 2008 to 11) I am sure PCB 'll arrange T20 matches in UAE, Malaysia or even in North America.

FTP is nothing, as long as the respective board is interested, any top team like PAK can play 10-12 Tests every year & ICC 'll not restrict that.

+1 top post once again. The cricketing boards can still arrange for tours even if there is no test series in the FTP. For example India and SA were supposed to play 5 ODI's and T20 in 2010 but the Indian board converted it to a 2 test series and SA agreed to it.

We might play our home series in Eng, Aus or even in SA during this period.such as pak vs ind in england is quite possible and has been talked about.

Pakistans ftp is horrendous when it comes to touring aus, eng and sth africa

Its time pcb did something more than arrange series against bangladesh and zimbabwe No way should we be touring the big cricket countries after 6-7 years

hmmm,, I see that you are learning fast and have started to agree with what I usually say. It must be the effects of my good company to you.

MMHS is probably one of THE best posters on PP, and I am sure the majority of the awaam here agreed with me. :ik

Can not recall any of your posts, tbh :farhat

The notion that Pak should continue to rise in the ranking in order to get more tours is as paradoxical a notion as any out there

You have to play more frequently and both home and away in order to get a fair shake at climbing the ranking...

With infrequent tours and less number of tests than even Bangladesh, even the mighty Windies of the 80s or the dominnat Aussies of the 90s/00s would struggle to the climb the test rankings...leave alone the current Pak test XI...

So it's an impossible ask...the only thing we can hope for is for the right gov't to be elected in the next election that can improve the economy which will provide the financial and marketing clout Pak needs to sell it's cricket product abroad...other then that there is no hope...

Sad state of affairs in cricket and points to the rank ineqaulity, discrimination and stratified strcture that is inherent in the cricket's global setup...

The "I" in ICC can very well stand for any of the following: Imperial, Indian, Inequitable, Inconsistent and Indifferent....

Atleast we have a 'home' series against South Africa and Australia after the upcoming series. The PCB has to make each of those a four match series and also try to get that series with India.

The break between 2014, when we last play a top test side and 2016, when we start playing top teams again should give our team time to develop and perform well against Australia, England and South Africa when we tour them.

Sort of like how our current team has developed by playing the weaker teams or the big ones in home conditions after 2010 and has the potential to challenge any side, anywhere.

The "I" in ICC can very well stand for any of the following: Imperial, Indian, Inequitable, Inconsistent and Indifferent....

That's a bit over the top. What has India got to do with your FTP schedule? Are you suggesting this is "BCCI conspiracy"?

If the PCB had sent Pakistan to South Africa three weeks ago, it could have played 3-4 First Class 4 day matches before the First Test. Even if Cricket South Africa didn't cooperate, they could have played 3-4 matches against Pakistan A in South Africa on posh private schools' pitches.

By the time the First Test arrives on 1 February the Pakistani batsmen and bowlers would all have had 8 innings to acclimatise to the greater pace and bounce, and Pakistan might well have won the series, which would have lifted Pakistan to within 1-4 points of the World Number 1 ranking. If they then won the away series in West Indies and the return series v South Africa in UAE they would be clear at the top of the ranking.

At that point, everyone would be seeking extra series v Pakistan for the next few years to boost their own rankings.

The extra three weeks in South Africa would have cost around $80,000 to the PCB, double that if Pakistan A was the opposition.

But the investment would have paid itself off many times over with improved results and rankings making other teams keener to play against Pakistan.

If the PCB had sent Pakistan to South Africa three weeks ago, it could have played 3-4 First Class 4 day matches before the First Test. Even if Cricket South Africa didn't cooperate, they could have played 3-4 matches against Pakistan A in South Africa on posh private schools' pitches.

By the time the First Test arrives on 1 February the Pakistani batsmen and bowlers would all have had 8 innings to acclimatise to the greater pace and bounce, and Pakistan might well have won the series, which would have lifted Pakistan to within 1-4 points of the World Number 1 ranking. If they then won the away series in West Indies and the return series v South Africa in UAE they would be clear at the top of the ranking.

At that point, everyone would be seeking extra series v Pakistan for the next few years to boost their own rankings.

The extra three weeks in South Africa would have cost around $80,000 to the PCB, double that if Pakistan A was the opposition.

But the investment would have paid itself off many times over with improved results and rankings making other teams keener to play against Pakistan.

Yar ab itnee bhi lambi lambi chorrnay ki Nahi ho rahi.

Nah, makes too much sense.

There are 7 major teams to play, home and away so 14 bilateral series'. Is this not possible to fit in 4-5 years. It only around on average 3 series a year. Even with ICC tournaments and T20 leagues, that shouldn't be difficult to schedule?

This is just wrong, do you know what upsets me the most is that between now and 2015 England and Australia would have played each other 15 times. South Africa vs England 0, please keep in mind that we are talking about no.1 and 2 respectively. There should have been a return series between the two sides either this year after the Ashes i.e. February 2014 (which counts as the summer of 2013) or in December 2014.
Teams should play each other at their peak not during one side's decline which will be the case in 2015 when England tours SA (either SA or England, but i think SA will more so than England, Kallis will be gone, Smith will be 35, Steyn might be past his best @32 etc. Disappointing!!

True but we arent the only ones. SL, NZ, and WI are cancelling Tests for IPL. We are following ICC's created FTP. We need more Test tours with top sides and a bit more frequent

There are 7 major teams to play, home and away so 14 bilateral series'. Is this not possible to fit in 4-5 years. It only around on average 3 series a year. Even with ICC tournaments and T20 leagues, that shouldn't be difficult to schedule?

You are wrong, it is possible. For example England could have played SA this summer. England finished their Test series against India on 9/10 of December. Then took a break and returned in January which was stupid in my opinion. A tour should not be a stop and go, it should be done at once. Pakistan should have came here in SA after they returned from Australia and played a test series starting @16 December, then on boxing day etc. England then February 1st after their tour of India. Test playing teams should not be allowed to tour each other just for an ODI series which was the case for pakistan tour to India. And was the case with Australia to England and that denied us fans the 4th test between SA and England which was disappointing. Its all possible common sense just hast to prevail.

Can any one explain to me the point of Australia ODI series against England? I mean they will meet in the Ashes this year twice and thus playing 10 test and 10/14 ODI's against them. That would be 14/18 ODI's in under a year, which is ridiculous. As i said the 4 match ODI series denied us the 4th test. The ICC should have a clause in a bilateral test series? For example the ECB and CSA signed and agreement that SA v Eng would be a 4 match test series. The ICC clause should state: should teams meet while their rankings are 1 and 2 respectively (i.e. prior to the series/before the 1st Test Match), then the series will be incremented by 1 match and thus sacrificing the final ODI if need be i.e. Tickets for the final ODI match should not be advertised or be on sale before the series starts. This is of course provided that teams dont play 5 matches against each other like the Ashes.
Which would mean India vs SA or Pak vs India, or Pak vs SA would be a 4 match series if they are 1 and 2 respectively. What do you guys think?

This clause should only apply to a full tour not to an impromptu one (i.e. a tour not on the ICC FTP). For example India invited SA to India twice for a 2 match test series to try and contest for the number 1 spot before the April cut of date, which was a good idea. They drew both those series 1-1. So the clause should not apply in this case.
Obviously I dont mind an impromptu Test series, i have a big problem with an impromptu ODI series especialy when test matches start getting cancelled.

You are wrong, it is possible. For example England could have played SA this summer. England finished their Test series against India on 9/10 of December. Then took a break and returned in January which was stupid in my opinion. A tour should not be a stop and go, it should be done at once. Pakistan should have came here in SA after they returned from Australia and played a test series starting @16 December, then on boxing day etc. England then February 1st after their tour of India. Test playing teams should not be allowed to tour each other just for an ODI series which was the case for pakistan tour to India. And was the case with Australia to England and that denied us fans the 4th test between SA and England which was disappointing. Its all possible common sense just hast to prevail.

You misunderstood me. We're on the same page. I believe it's possible. Agree on the odis point.

Coincidentally, the same schedule hit us to New Zealand if you swap it a decade backwards - 2 tests in 2002/3, followed by a 3-test series in 2008/9.

Can't really call that discrimination if it happens to us too, can you?

True but we arent the only ones. SL, NZ, and WI are cancelling Tests for IPL. We are following ICC's created FTP. We need more Test tours with top sides and a bit more frequent

To some extent they are accommodating IPL, but not at the cost of Test only & to some extent they are forced to do so. SLCB, WICB or CNZ is not financially that sound, neither have that competitive Test side, therefore to some extent are bullied by BCCI. But, PCB started the practice long before IPL. I don't think it's very respectful for an elite Test Nation like PAK to play 2 Test Series, when IND is gradually converting 3 Test Series into 4 or 5 Tests.

How come India are going back to s/a with in 3 years and we get called after 6

The last time India when to South Africa was late 2010 early 2011 if im not mistaken,

They seem to play the likes of Australia and South Africa more often and get invited more often,

We went to South Africa after 6 years and at this rate it will be another 4-6 years when we go again,

How can we ever improve if we never tour abroad much

The last time India when to South Africa was late 2010 early 2011 if im not mistaken,

They seem to play the likes of Australia and South Africa more often and get invited more often,

We went to South Africa after 6 years and at this rate it will be another 4-6 years when we go again,

How can we ever improve if we never tour abroad much

Because playing India earns them even morethan double the revenue they earn by hosting any other nation.....thats why AUS-SA-ENG are now hosting India after 3 years than 4 years and the toothless I-Can't-C (ICC) is helpless.......it was our turn to tour Aus this winter but that back to bavk Ashes mean we are behind in the que

It all depends on boards I guess. Have you noticed how many times Sri Lanka tour Australia? Atleast double than any other SC sides.

Curious question - Why on earth you want to tour SAF anytime soon after the recent test matches? :yk

We probably play double the number of games per year too. That is explanation to op. Every other board want to host or be a guest to BCCI.

It all depends on boards I guess. Have you noticed how many times Sri Lanka tour Australia? Atleast double than any other SC sides.

Curious question - Why on earth you want to tour SAF anytime soon after the recent test matches? :yk

Yes we where shiite but hiding away from our faults will never improve us,
We have to face them head on,

TV revenues.

A tour of SA by Pakistan would probably earn CSA 1-2 million dollars or less, a tour by India will earn them 10-12 million dollars. (not sure of the exact figures but the proportion would most likely be around 1:10).

It is all about money. If India go to South Africa now they will be whitewash. Or if SA go to India now they will whitewash the poor Indians. But they will earn money...that is what it all comes down to.

And if given an opportunity mighty lankans will whitewash SA as they are doing it to Bangladesh.

We are not crushing Bangladesh because we dont have Jaya.

Plus we won a match at Durban ground when we went to South Africa. Also we beat them in 2006 when they came to SL. India has been unable to even beat SA at home in 2008 and 2010 series!!!

not money but management. Give all bccis money to slc and somehow they'l screw up all.

I actually think India will beat South Africa in at least 1 test in the coming tour,

mark my words

Plus we won a match at Durban ground when we went to South Africa. Also we beat them in 2006 when they came to SL. India has been unable to even beat SA at home in 2008 and 2010 series!!!
we were unable to crush RSA
because we didn't have kohli.

Because India is ranked higher than us,the ICC would of course like to keep all the top ranked teams busy all the time as they generate the most revenues.
No one likes to see a game dominated completely by one side.

I actually think India will beat South Africa in at least 1 test in the coming tour,

mark my words

with sehwag, gg, zaheer, bhajji out of the team, the team looks more balance though. Dhawan also improved a little from last time as i see it. Will wait to see if that 187 was fluke.

If you take out the 'home' and 'away' factor of it, I think South Africa tour Pakistan (the UAE) before India tour South Africa - there's a shorter timespan.

Re: How come India are going back to s/a with in 3 years and we get called after 6

I actually think India will beat South Africa in at least 1 test in the coming tour,mark my words

Well if guys like Ishant represents India in SA then we have no hope.

I really do hope India beat SA.
Especially hoping that Bhuvneshwar does very well and wins the series single handedly along with Dhoni.
Also i am hoping that Tendulkar fails so that we finally see an end to his career.

tumblr_m3s4rnOG2O1qcbs8ao1_500.gif

True, Srilanka is there in almost every tri-series in summer. I don't quite understand the reasoning behind Srilanka touring AUS so often.

I dont get it.... Why does RSA make more Money playing them then us. Is it bcz of bad managment on our part or is it the tv ratings.

India are eager to face Dale Steyn while he is still in his prime.

I dont get it.... Why does RSA make more Money playing them then us. Is it bcz of bad managment on our part or is it the tv ratings.

My friend it all comes down to money...India has more money when compared to Sri Lanka and Pakistan...because they have bigger populations...

Also SA team would like to face India more than other teams to increase their chances of whitewash...!!

1). Broadcasters will pay more for the rights because they get more money from ads.
2). In-stadia advertising earnings will be much much higher than when playing other countries.
3). Title sponsorship and such stuff
4). maintain close relationship with the big brother

with sehwag, gg, zaheer, bhajji out of the team, the team looks more balance though. Dhawan also improved a little from last time as i see it. Will wait to see if that 187 was fluke.
Let anyone play, we will not win the series for sure in South Africa. I will be surprise if we can draw the series.
Dont be too excited with Vijay and Dhawan. They will see blackshadow against Steyn, Philander.

If I was Indian selector, I would go with experience.

1). Broadcasters will pay more for the rights because they get more money from ads.
2). In-stadia advertising earnings will be much much higher than when playing other countries.
3). Title sponsorship and such stuff
4). maintain close relationship with the big brother

My friend it all comes down to money...India has more money when compared to Sri Lanka and Pakistan...because they have bigger populations...

Also SA team would like to face India more than other teams to increase their chances of whitewash...!!

Thank you !!

Who has the best chance of playing pace on a swinging pitch in your team?.... Ofcourse you have to take pacers... the likes of ashwin,harbhajan and ojha wont be very effective in those pace havens and remember they play spin very well. They wont fall like the aussies.

Seems Sri Lankans are very happy after beating Bangladesh :)))

Let anyone play, we will not win the series for sure in South Africa. I will be surprise if we can draw the series.
Dont be too excited with Vijay and Dhawan. They will see blackshadow against Steyn, Philander.

Then its a good thing you're not a selector :)

I have a question for you, what happens in tours after the next tour, when all our experienced guys retire?

I would stick with domestic performers until they get sufficient experience over 'I got glasses so I can play well' players.

At least we have called them to our home soils and beat them....you are scared to even do that!!

Yes true but hey S.L is our Bangladesh :), we will order SLC to send your team whenever BCCI feels they need a win :)))

As for that view point BCCI owns SLC!! When India are playing Sri Lanka SLC asks Sri Lankan team to lose some games to keep BCCI happy...otherwise BCCI wont play Sri Lanka team often...why do you think Sri Lanka team has good records against Pakistan, Australia but not India??

of course buddy all players who lose against India are fixers, its a well known 'fact' in this forum. The reason we picked S.L over Bangladesh & other countries because the fix rates are so cheap :p

You need Lady to help you against Bangladesh? How lame are you guy in your own turf?

You did not beat India but drew against India in the last Test in SL and India won 4-1 two consecutive times in ODIs whereas you are yet to beat India in India and if I'm correct you are yet to beat Pak in UAE or Pak?

India drew against SA the last time and FYI mate Aus beat your guys at home. Currently the lamest in SC compared to Pak & Ind.

Should have read this post before I had replied to other. My bad, sorry. :asif

India drew 2011 series in SA, I don't think any other sub continent team can claim that in the last few years.

Then its a good thing you're not a selector :)

I have a question for you, what happens in tours after the next tour, when all our experienced guys retire?

I would stick with domestic performers until they get sufficient experience over 'I got glasses so I can play well' players.
I would encourage our young cricketers to tour more with Ind A to countries like SA, Aust, Eng. Just because we have to look at the future, dosent mean we surrender the current series for the sake of underprepared young players. In that way their motivation level goes down as well.

Few examples:

Ganguly debut in 1992 in Australia. He was underprepared and did not get a chance. His motivation level was so down that he not play for India in next 5 years. He went back to domestic cricket and return stronger in 1996.

Cricketers like Debang Gandhi, Rohan Gavaskar, Akash Chopra etc. all went down due to given premature chances in alien conditions .

The point I am making is - you need to feature your best XI in South Africa. Players who knows the conditions and performed there.

I would encourage our young cricketers to tour more with Ind A to countries like SA, Aust, Eng. Just because we have to look at the future, dosent mean we surrender the current series for the sake of underprepared young players. In that way their motivation level goes down as well.

Few examples:

Ganguly debut in 1992 in Australia. He was underprepared and did not get a chance. His motivation level was so down that he not play for India in next 5 years. He went back to domestic cricket and return stronger in 1996.

Cricketers like Debang Gandhi, Rohan Gavaskar, Akash Chopra etc. all went down due to given premature chances in alien conditions .

The point I am making is - you need to feature your best XI in South Africa. Players who knows the conditions and performed there.

I understand where you're coming from but our selectors didn't chop Sehwag or Gambhir over a homework, they have been given ample opportunities to get back in form yet they failed to perform even in our own backyard, how do you expect them to perform in S.A?
This is Sehwags record since 2011:
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0
18 32 0 916 117 28.62 1108 82.67 1 5 4

This is Gambhirs record since 2011:
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0
17 30 0 944 93 31.46 2116 44.61 0 7 1

They will be sitting ducks in S.A, at-least our new players may gain experience for the next tour.

My point is, if you don't give chance(s) to new players, how will you know whether they perform or not? V.Kohli would have been a nobody if we had stuck with experienced players, VVS & R.Dravid would still be playing and India would have lost against Australia.

Ganguly wouldn't be the player he was if he had not been dropped. Dropping is not banishing, its just a message to the players to get their act together.

Shouldn't the ICC enforce tours fairly (on a frequent basis)?

Looking at the future tours program, Pakistan will play tests in SA, Eng and Aus every 5-6 years where as SA, Eng, Aus, Ind will tour eachother much more frequently.

If we are playing on bouncy tracks every 5-6 years, what hope do we have of ever winning a test series in SA and Aus? How are our batsman expected to cope after playing on slow, low tracks 80-90% of the time. Its a recipe for disaster.

What also irks me is that Pakistan play 6-8 tests a year, where as SA, Aus, Eng, Ind play twice as many.