Pak A V India Warm-Up Match| Official Match Thread (merged) [6/1/06]

cavin420 said:
what??? using ur imagination is a crime :P yay right:P:P if england could be 77 for 8 ?? then why cant india ;)
No, I'm serious! You are. :P
BTW, someone get their arses over to the stadium and report back! Now.

guys/gals seriously these ant no dating or hookup place...read the subject matter of the thread ..the ottwa thread,s in timepass i have just created that for u!!!!

have patients for another 40 odd minutes the pcb website hopefully should be up n running ..and for a change may even have an update!fingers crossed!

inzidabest said:
folks. koi score batao. kya yaar. call up ur friends in Lahore. kch to karo

I've been trying to call my indian friend in Jamaica, they somehow got a scorecard running on TV! The idiot isn't responding!

HAFRIDI said:
haf.jpg

the textures are pretty ugly, entra any way round this
Oye khoye kidhar post kar diya mere laal? :)

What the hell is going on here? People are hooking up, some are making jokes, one fellow is asking about textures! What the heck!?

Zohaib said:
What the hell is going on here? People are hooking up, some are making jokes, one fellow is asking about textures! What the heck!?

What else can we do? there is no way to find the scores at the moment.

Update

India were 39 for no wicket on the first day of their warm-up match against Pakistan A at Lahore. Gautam Gambhir had made 23 and Wasim Jaffer 16 after Rahul Dravid won the toss and chose to bat.

India
Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, VVS Laxman, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rudra Pratap Singh

Pakistan
Imran Farhat, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Zulqarnain Haider, Mohammad Irshad, Iftikhar Anjum, Mohammad Wasim, Hasan Raza, Bazid Khan, Mansoor Amjad, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat

Update score from CricInfo

http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/pakvind/content/story/231952.html

Pakistan A v India, Lahore, 1st day

India win toss and bat

Cricinfo staff

January 7, 2006

India were 39 for no wicket on the first day of their warm-up match against Pakistan A at Lahore. Gautam Gambhir had made 23 and Wasim Jaffer 16 after Rahul Dravid won the toss and chose to bat.

India
Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, VVS Laxman, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rudra Pratap Singh

Pakistan
Imran Farhat, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Zulqarnain Haider, Mohammad Irshad, Iftikhar Anjum, Mohammad Wasim, Hasan Raza, Bazid Khan, Mansoor Amjad, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat

ok jokes apart its raining in lahore! no action sofar>>>duh i better eat my words now :15:

India win toss and bat

Cricinfo staff

January 7, 2006

India

Pakistan

© Cricinfo

haha, well atleast we have two sources now, so if one's outdated, check the other :D, Hopefully we can get an update if it stops raining (is it raining?)

shouldn't be:

Weather Forecast for Lahore:

Saturday
Clear. High: 66° F / 19° C Wind WNW 6 mph / 10 km/h
Saturday Night
Scattered Clouds. Low: 41° F / 5° C Wind NW 4 mph / 7 km/h
Sunday
Clear. High: 68° F / 20° C Wind WNW 4 mph / 7 km/h
Sunday Night
Clear. Low: 41° F / 5° C Wind NW 2 mph / 3 km/h

Khawateen-o-Hazraat:

Mehak-maye-mausamiat ki kharabi kay bias khail ka silsila abhi tuk zor-o-shoor sey jaree hai. Umeed hai kay aglay do dinon tuk mausam khush-gawar rahey gaa.

Shukriya!

Don't you guys feel a bit ticked off that the disorganization of PCB? How can their website go down on a match day! What's even more annoying is that an INDIAN source provided it before a Pakistani when all a Pakistani source has to do in Lahore is take a walk down to the field or drive down with a laptop and mobile phone connection or some sort of system to keep track...

RunInzyRun said:
Don't you guys feel a bit ticked off that the disorganization of PCB? How can their website go down on a match day! What's even more annoying is that an INDIAN source provided it before a Pakistani when all a Pakistani source has to do in Lahore is take a walk down to the field or drive down with a laptop and mobile phone connection or some sort of system to keep track...
easier said then done without any incentive i must stress!

cavin420 said:
easier said then done without any incentive i must stress!
Not really, pay a groundskeeper 100 rps or so an hour to call you and update you and there you go, there's a source....:D

In depth report is given on Cricinfo:

India start well in tour opener

Cricinfo staff

January 7, 2006

In abnormally cold conditions at the picturesque Bagh-e-Jinnah ground in Lahore, India began their tour in solid style. Temperatures in Lahore - and the rest of Pakistan - have plummeted to record levels in recent weeks. But that had little effect on the tourists, who having won the toss, elected to bat and after the first hour of play, had negotiated their way comfortably to 39 without loss or alarm against Pakistan A.

Gautam Gambhir and Wasim Jaffer, in effect, batting in a shoot-out for the right to partner Virender Sehwag in the Test line-up opened the innings and after the first hour, Gambhir had compiled an unbeaten 16 and his partner Wasim Jaffer, 23. The warm-up is unlikely to be taken lightly by either side; for India this is the only game before the first Test begins in Lahore from January 13 and there are several players in the Pakistan A side, including captain Hasan Raza and fast bowler Umar Gul, who are looking to make the cut for the Pakistan squad for the first Test. Addtionally, a strong Pakistan A beat England at the same ground in a warm-up match exactly two months ago. Both sides had agreed before the match to pick 12-man teams.

India
Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Pakistan

© Cricinfo

from CricInfo

India start well in tour opener

Cricinfo staff

January 7, 2006

In abnormally cold conditions at the picturesque Bagh-e-Jinnah ground in Lahore, India began their tour in solid style. Temperatures in Lahore - and the rest of Pakistan - have plummeted to record levels in recent weeks. But that had little effect on the tourists, who having won the toss, elected to bat and after the first hour of play, had negotiated their way comfortably to 39 without loss or alarm against Pakistan A.

Gautam Gambhir and Wasim Jaffer, in effect, batting in a shoot-out for the right to partner Virender Sehwag in the Test line-up opened the innings and after the first hour, Gambhir had compiled an unbeaten 16 and his partner Wasim Jaffer, 23. The warm-up is unlikely to be taken lightly by either side; for India this is the only game before the first Test begins in Lahore from January 13 and there are several players in the Pakistan A side, including captain Hasan Raza and fast bowler Umar Gul, who are looking to make the cut for the Pakistan squad for the first Test. Addtionally, a strong Pakistan A beat England at the same ground in a warm-up match exactly two months ago. Both sides had agreed before the match to pick 12-man teams.

India
Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Pakistan

Now that the games up and running, any predictions? Who'll perform? Who'll crash and burn? I think Hasan Raza and Bazid Kahn will probably shine...

RunInzyRun said:
Now that the games up and running, any predictions? Who'll perform? Who'll crash and burn? I think Hasan Raza and Bazid Kahn will probably shine...

umer gul, farhat and raza

Ok, this source is up to date:

India 88/1 at lunch in first Pakistan tour match

LAHORE (Reuters) - Gautam Gambhir scored a half century as India made a strong start to their tour of Pakistan, scoring 88 for one at lunch on the first day of their three-day match against the Pakistan A side on Saturday.

Gambhir and Wasim Jaffer, who are vying for the chance to open with Virender Sehwag in the first test from Jan 13, put on 81 runs after India elected to bat first.

Jaffer with 30 from 69 balls and captain Rahul Dravid (2) were batting at lunch.

Left-handed Gambhir hit nine fours in his 84-ball 53 before he cut pacer Mohammad Irshad straight to Rao Iftikhar at point. He was out first ball after scoring his half-century.

Gambhir and Jaffer faced no problems against a pac

e attack spearheaded by Umar Gul, who is playing his first game for a Pakistan team since April 2004 after being sidelined for more then a year with a stress fracture of the back.

RunInzyRun said:
He was out first ball after scoring his half-century.
I would have loved to hear Waqar's commentary on this one. Seems like only yesterday where he praised Kamran Akmal throughout his "ton" knock, and criticized straight away after he threw away his wicket, shortly following century.

CricketCommentator said:
lagta hai groundskeeper ko phir sey 100 rupay haath mein pakranay parengey. Scoreboard zamanay sey update nahin hua.

:))) :))) :21:

Shame Gambhir could score a half-century. With the presence of Irshad, Arafat, Gul, Rao this should not have been possible :9:

ohh stop ur whinging, its just a practice match...And its not like those bowlers r a Mcgrath, Lee, Warne etc, those guys can only do so much..

RR u re sooooo jealous of Umer Gul - he is McGraths successor and I know that as my 2 yr old baby told me.... so there !

ab to lagta hai sub kay sub bakray zibah kar kay wapis aayengey......

bhai groundskeeper ko is baar 100 rupay zaada EIDI day dena, bechara, chooti chooti chaar betion ka baap hai.

CricketCommentator said:
ab to lagta hai sub kay sub bakray zibah kar kay wapis aayengey......

bhai groundskeeper ko is baar 100 rupay zaada EIDI day dena, bechara, chooti chooti chaar betion ka baap hai.
eidi wali eid nahin hai ghost wali eid hai ..woh update dey ussey poura bakra dey dainge :P im sure that would be gud enuff for him n his family for 2 days atleast :P

MenInGreen said:
RR u re sooooo jealous of Umer Gul - he is McGraths successor and I know that as my 2 yr old baby told me.... so there !

Neva know Miggy he might be Mcgrath's successor, from an Indian point of view I hope he will never become that good.... :11:

HOW MUCH DID JAFFER MAKE? heard he played a few wonderful coverdrives.

Yes, that is correct:

Half-centuries from top three lift India to 220 for 3

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan at Lahore

January 7, 2006

Tea Indians 220 for 3 (Tendulkar 37*) v Pakistan A
Scorecard

Sachin Tendulkar played some spanking shots and was unbeaten at Tea © Getty Images

In conditions more English than sub-continental, the Indian batsmen, led by half-centuries from the top three, eased themselves into form against Pakistan A in Lahore. Gautam Gambhir and Wasim Jaffer, competing for a Test berth, laid a solid platform before Rahul Dravid consolidated the Indians' position with a composed knock.

Playing at the idyllic Bagh-e-Jinnah ground, a tranquil patch circumscribed with trees with close to 500 spectators watched from behind the pickets, the Indians, expectedly, chose to bat first and gain some batting practice. Faced with an opportunity to stake their claim, Gambhir and Jaffer began cautiously, in abnormally chilly conditions, and cashed in on a flat pitch against a four-pronged medium-pace attack. Umar Gul, staking a claim for a Test recall, was guilty of bowling too short, on a surface not offering too much lift, while Rao Iftikhar Anjum and Yasir Arafat struggled to extract too much seam movement.

Gambhir was the first to turn aggressor, latching on to anything slightly wide, ripping a couple of fierce cuts, and driving with customary verve. With the axe looming, he handled the opening burst without any fuss and soon upped the tempo and raced towards his fifty. Just as he appeared to be setting himself up for a big one, he fell to Mohammad Irshad, slightly similar to Shoaib Akhtar in both action and speed, flaying uppishly straight to Rao at deep point. Jaffer picked up the baton, unfurling some gorgeous cover-drives, and was soon entering the dominant zone, one that has made him such a mighty force in domestic cricket back home. He was confident enough to attempt some cheeky glides, one over the slip cordon, but tried one too many, and nicked a good cutter from Gul.

Unlike the two openers, Dravid didn't take any time to open out. With some delicate drives, in an almost unobtrusive manner, he raced along at close to a run-a-ball. Irshad was pulled with gusto while the two legspinners, Mansoor Amjad and Imran Farhat, hardly ruffled too many feathers. Dravid's half-century turned out to be the fastest of the day so far, coming off 76 balls, and along with Tendulkar, who was beginning to look in spanking form with strokes all around the park, put India in firm control.

Siddhartha Vaidyanathan is staff writer of Cricinfo

© Cricinfo

Indians 298 for 4 (Tendulkar 74, Dravid 63, Jaffer 58, Gambhir 53) v Pakistan A

The Indians made a bright start to the tour with all four top-order batsmen notching half-centuries to take the score to 298 for 4 at the end of the first day's play against Pakistan A at Lahore.

The Indians look in good touch. Lets just see if they'll be able to take it into a real match and against our first string attack. Well at least they wont be a pushover like the English ;-)

Indians 298 for 4 (Tendulkar 74, Dravid 63, Jaffer 58, Gambhir 53) v Pakistan A
Scorecard

The Indians made a bright start to the tour with all four top-order batsmen notching half-centuries to take the score to 298 for 4 at the end of the first day's play against Pakistan A at Lahore. Full report to follow

Seems indian batsmen have stamped their intent on tour straight away!

Azam6380 said:
Scary stuff.........

:13:

Yes indeed, but for the past few years they have taken a more aggressive approach, and why not, with a batting lineup like theres, they should be making full use of it. Like last tour, they took no prisoners, batting with gusto. As far as i see, whoever comes on top clearly from the first test match (India with batting and Pak with bowling) they should win.

Out of the four, either Wasim Jaffer or Gautam Ghambir will be out of the starting 11 for the first match to make way for sehwag..and he is out of form.

tahaqureshi said:
Out of the four, either Wasim Jaffer or Gautam Ghambir will be out of the starting 11 for the first match to make way for sehwag..and he is out of form.

Whatever form Sehwags in, hes still a danger.

tahaqureshi said:
Gambhir has been in crap form too you know. Sehwag is an auto-choice

Code:
India in Pakistan, 2005-06
Pakistan A v Indians
Bagh-e-Jinnah, Lahore
7,8,9 January 2006 (3-day match)

Result:

Toss: Indians
Umpires: Riazuddin and Zamir Haider

Players per side: 12 (11 bat, 11 field) 

Close of Play: 

Day 1: Indians 298/4 (Laxman 25*, Yuvraj Singh 11*; 77 overs) 
Day 2: 

Indians 1st innings
G Gambhir              c Iftikhar Anjum   b Mohammad Irshad     53
W Jaffer             ` c Zulqarnain Haider b Umar Gul           58
*R Dravid           `  c Hasan Raza        b Imran Farhat       63
SR Tendulkar           c Zulqarnain Haider b Yasir Arafat       74
VVS Laxman             not out                                  25
Yuvraj Singh         ` not out                                  11
Extras                (b 0, lb 4, w 0, nb 10)                  14
Total                 (4 wickets, 77 overs)                   298

To bat: Harbhajan Singh, Z Khan, AB Agarkar, IK Pathan,
        +MS Dhoni, RP Singh.

FoW: 1-81, 2-153, 3-220, 4-279.

Bowling                    `` O      M      R      W
Umar Gul                    `13      1     40      1
Iftikhar Anjum               10      2     33      0
Yasir Arafat                `17      3     61      1
Mohammad Irshad              13      2     44      1
Imran Farhat                  8      0     36      1
Mansoor Amjad                16      0     80      0

Pakistan A team:
Imran Farhat, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal,
+Zulqarnain Haider, Mohammad Irshad, Iftikhar Anjum,
Mohammad Wasim, *Hasan Raza, Bazid Khan, Mansoor Amjad,
Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat.

ataullah said:
flat track but we should make a comment after pak A have batted

Sooo let me get this straight. its a batting pitch and pak a have prevented anyone from making a big score......thats not a bad effort!
The proper pitches are gonna be nothing like iot are they?

Since they all took one wicket Eco rates are...

3.1 Eco - Gul
3.3 Eco - Rao
3.4 Eco - Irshad
3.6 Eco - Arafat
4.5 Eco - Farhat
5.0 Eco - Mansoor

Good to see that Gul was very economical despite the Indians scoring 300 runs in a day, seems most of the damage was done against the spinners!

This might be reverse tactics being used from the ones used against england. For england we put them on green seamers in practioce then bunged them on flat pancakes in the tests. Cos india is a diffrenet sort of batting line up, we reverse this by giving them pancakes first, then making green bouncy pitches which should shock them. Its only a theory but it sounds like the work of mastermind bob woolmer.

Pakistan A may have softened up England but against a quality batting team like India it's a different story - isn't it?

According to reports this is just the kind of wicket the Pakistan management want ie something with a little pace and movement.

Frankly apart from Shoaib your other test pace bowlers are not much different in speed or quality to what the Indians faced in Lahore today.

India can challenge Pakistan on any surfaces they prepare.

Great start by India. Actually more on expected line since there was hardly any depth in Pak A bowling line. Also most of the batsman threw there wickets away rather than they being earned by the bowlers. Something which wont happen in tests apart from Sehwags.

Now all i want to see is how Pak A bats tomorrow, that would tell us exactly how the pitch is. Its not a bad batting line up so it would be a nice challenge for the Indian bowlers.

Earlier in the post someone spoke about India being 44 for 8. Surprisingly, Pak A bowls couldnt even restrict a single batsman yesterday below that score. Maybe on second day. Hope this batting display was good enough a warning not to expect a week England type batting line up. Just wait till english come to India in March and what we do to them.

raunaq said:
Pakistan A may have softened up England but against a quality batting team like India it's a different story - isn't it?

According to reports this is just the kind of wicket the Pakistan management want ie something with a little pace and movement.

Frankly apart from Shoaib your other test pace bowlers are not much different in speed or quality to what the Indians faced in Lahore today.

India can challenge Pakistan on any surfaces they prepare.

where did you read this? The Daily Pakhana?

Mr.jf1gp_1 were you present at the match? If not, then how do you know that none of the wickets were earned? And if you were, tell us some details....

P.S. And please stop being cocky thank you :D

Raunaq:

With all due respect to the capabilities of Indian Batsmen, I think it would be extremely silly of them to draw any conclusions from BagheJinnah pitch - England lost on that pitch but they didnt lose by a huge margin - in other words, there performance in the test matches was pretty different from the what we saw in the warm up games.

What you can say, is that those who did not perform well arent lookig good - you cannot draw any inferences from the performances of those who did well.

Also. pls recall that the Indian team was beaten on their tour opener in their last visit ...

MenInGreen said:
Raunaq:

With all due respect to the capabilities of Indian Batsmen, I think it would be extremely silly of them to draw any conclusions from BagheJinnah pitch - England lost on that pitch but they didnt lose by a huge margin - in other words, there performance in the test matches was pretty different from the what we saw in the warm up games.

What you can say, is that those who did not perform well arent lookig good - you cannot draw any inferences from the performances of those who did well.

Also. pls recall that the Indian team was beaten on their tour opener in their last visit ...
Well for me the warm up game is an indication that the all the batters look in reasonable touch.

And I maintain that apart from Akhtar, Pakistan don't have a single world class pace bowler.

People keep saying that Pakistan have a superior attack but I don't buy that, and Pakistan's test results also back that up.

raunaq said:
Well for me the warm up game is an indication that the all the batters look in reasonable touch.

And I maintain that apart from Akhtar, Pakistan don't have a single world class pace bowler.

People keep saying that Pakistan have a superior attack but I don't buy that, and Pakistan's test results also back that up.

thats not true, pakistan line up is the very good as it has alot of variation and one more thing at least we have a world class bowler where as india and less than average!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!