Pakistan’s 90s Golden Era: How many titles were PCT denied because an ICC Trophy wasn’t up for grabs every year?

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
I saw some people comparing our neighbour’s trophy cabinet with ours.

What many fail to understand is how different the structure of international cricket was in earlier eras. Today, the proliferation of ICC tournaments means teams get far more opportunities to win championships. In the modern game, a dominant side can realistically win three trophies within three years.

That simply wasn’t the case in the past.

Back then, major tournaments were far less frequent. Sometimes only three global championships were played across an entire decade. For many cricketers, that meant the window of their entire peak could pass with only one real shot at a world title.

In earlier eras, even a 4–5 year period of dominance would typically translate into just one trophy, if that.

Compare that with today. India and New Zealand, for instance, reached around five major finals within a span of six or seven years. Teams in the past rarely had that many opportunities at global titles.

Coming to Pakistan: our golden phase began in the late 1980s.

We reached the World Series finals in 1985, won the Nehru Cup in 1989 (which, frankly, should be recognized by the ICC as a Champions Trophy equivalent), and then capped that era by winning the ultimate prize in 1992.

Throughout the 1990s, Pakistan arguably possessed the most exciting and formidable pool of talent in world cricket. Our fast bowlers redefined pace bowling, with the two Ws standing well above the rest.

Records fell one after another. Saeed Anwar broke the world record for the highest ODI score. Shahid Afridi smashed the fastest century. Saqlain Mushtaq became the fastest to 50 and 100 ODI wickets. Ijaz Ahmed produced one of the most brutal centuries ever seen against India. Even our so-called fringe players had the ability to dismantle top bowling attacks.

Had the current frequency of ICC tournaments existed in the late 80s and 90s, Pakistan could very realistically have accumulated four or five major championships during that era.

This is simply ridiculous

2021 - ICC WT20
2022 - ICC WR20
2023 - ICC CWC
2024 - ICC WT20
2025 - ICC CT
2026 - ICC WT20

They literally held 3 ICC WT20s in 5 years :facepalm

Honestly this is getting blown out of proportion because Endians won it twice otherwise it’s nothing but a Lottery trophy happening every year.

Saeed Anwar
Shahid Afridi
Ijaz Ahmed
Inzimam
Azhar Mehmood
Abdul Razzaq
Wasim Akram c
Moin +
Waqar
Saqlain
Akhtar
=========

How about that for a T20 team

Answering my own questions, the overall trophies distributing have looked like this :-

1989 ICC CT - 🇵🇰
1990 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1991 ICC WT20 - 🇯🇲
1992 ICC CWC - 🇵🇰
1992 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
1993 ICC CT - 🇦🇺
1994 Test 🏆 - 🇯🇲
1994 ICC WT20 - 🇵🇰
1996 ICC CWC - 🇱🇰
1996 Test 🏆 - 🇿🇦
1997 ICC WT20 - 🇿🇦
1998 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1998 ICC CT - 🇿🇦
1999 ICC CWC - 🇦🇺
2000 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺

Answering my own questions, the overall trophies distributing have looked like this :-

1989 ICC CT - 🇵🇰
1990 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1991 ICC WT20 - 🇯🇲
1992 ICC CWC - 🇵🇰
1992 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
1993 ICC CT - 🇦🇺
1994 Test 🏆 - 🇯🇲
1994 ICC WT20 - 🇵🇰
1996 ICC CWC - 🇱🇰
1996 Test 🏆 - 🇿🇦
1997 ICC WT20 - 🇿🇦
1998 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1998 ICC CT - 🇿🇦
1999 ICC CWC - 🇦🇺
2000 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
They wouldn't have won any trophy after 1992 because someone was playing politics behind the curtains. Their cricket today is the result of the bad politics played back then.

1989 ICC CT - 🇵🇰
1990 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1991 ICC WT20 - 🇯🇲
1992 ICC CWC - 🇵🇰
1992 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
1993 ICC CT - 🇦🇺
1994 Test 🏆 - 🇯🇲
1994 ICC WT20 - 🇵🇰
1996 ICC CWC - 🇱🇰
1996 Test 🏆 - 🇿🇦
1997 ICC WT20 - 🇿🇦
1998 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1998 ICC CT - 🇿🇦
1999 ICC CWC - 🇦🇺
2000 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺

Saqlain bhai would have won all of this as coach

1989 ICC CT - 🇵🇰
1990 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1991 ICC WT20 - 🇯🇲
1992 ICC CWC - 🇵🇰
1992 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
1993 ICC CT - 🇦🇺
1994 Test 🏆 - 🇯🇲
1994 ICC WT20 - 🇵🇰
1996 ICC CWC - 🇱🇰
1996 Test 🏆 - 🇿🇦
1997 ICC WT20 - 🇿🇦
1998 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1998 ICC CT - 🇿🇦
1999 ICC CWC - 🇦🇺
2000 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
Bhai Pakistan 90's mein ek Asia Cup nahi jeet saka aur tu yeh kya imagine kar raha hai🤣🤣🤣🤣

I think Pakistan could've won many ICC trophies if there were more ICC events (like we see now).

Back then, there was 1 WC every 4 years. It was the glorious pre-BCCICC days. :inti

I think it’d have to be same conditions as how we won t20 wc 2009. Yes if it’s early in t20 development and bowling mattered more than batting then yeah attacks of waqar, wasim, saqlain might have given us a shot at some t20 world cups. Though I’m not sure we’d be favourite for any of them.

Don’t think Pak were strongest for tests really at any point. Maybe during misbah’s time there was a short period strongest at home (UAE) but not away.

As I said I think we’ve done very well for a team hardly ever considered favourites. 3 trophies isn’t bad.

I hope at some point in my lifetime we genuinely go into tournaments as favourites. Then we might have a shot and winning multiple consistently.

That 1992 cup is literally the heaviest CWC of all time, to this day. The most recalled World Cup of all time and the most legendary one.

Also 1989 Nehru Cup is arguably the greatest Champions Trophy ever.
1992 ODi WC would be most recalled World cup of all time to you because its the only one you have won.

In 90s as well Pakistan regularly lost many key pressure games. Pakistan's glorious cricket days started and ended with Imran Khan.

The amount of ICC trophies happening right now and Pak not even giving a fight is more shameful.

Forget ICC trophies, Pakistan never even qualified to finals of Asia cup in the 90s, this is the bezatti level of this team

What many fail to understand is how different the structure of international cricket was in earlier eras. Today, the proliferation of ICC tournaments means teams get far more opportunities to win championships. In the modern game, a dominant side can realistically win three trophies within three years.

Back then, major tournaments were far less frequent. Sometimes only three global championships were played across an entire decade. For many cricketers, that meant the window of their entire peak could pass with only one real shot at a world title.

In earlier eras, even a 4–5 year period of dominance would typically translate into just one trophy, if that.

Compare that with today. India and New Zealand, for instance, reached around five major finals within a span of six or seven years. Teams in the past rarely had that many opportunities at global titles.

We reached the World Series finals in 1985, won the Nehru Cup in 1989 (which, frankly, should be recognized by the ICC as a Champions Trophy equivalent), and then capped that era by winning the ultimate prize in 1992.

Throughout the 1990s, Pakistan arguably possessed the most exciting and formidable pool of talent in world cricket. Our fast bowlers redefined pace bowling, with the two Ws standing well above the rest.

Records fell one after another. Saeed Anwar broke the world record for the highest ODI score. Shahid Afridi smashed the fastest century. Saqlain Mushtaq became the fastest to 50 and 100 ODI wickets. Ijaz Ahmed produced one of the most brutal centuries ever seen against India. Even our so-called fringe players had the ability to dismantle top bowling attacks.

Had the current frequency of ICC tournaments existed in the late 80s and 90s, Pakistan could very realistically have accumulated four or five major championships during that era.
Why worry, Pakistan have already discovered better ways to increase their trophy count. I’m sure you’ll end up with a lot more trophies.

• IMG_5805.png
    IMG_5805.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 5

1989 ICC CT - 🇵🇰
1990 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1991 ICC WT20 - 🇯🇲
1992 ICC CWC - 🇵🇰
1992 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
1993 ICC CT - 🇦🇺
1994 Test 🏆 - 🇯🇲
1994 ICC WT20 - 🇵🇰
1996 ICC CWC - 🇱🇰
1996 Test 🏆 - 🇿🇦
1997 ICC WT20 - 🇿🇦
1998 Test 🏆 - 🇵🇰
1998 ICC CT - 🇿🇦
1999 ICC CWC - 🇦🇺
2000 Test 🏆 - 🇦🇺
You are giving way too much trophies to our team

We were good but not that exceptional
Couldn't even won a single Asia cup during 90s

Let's not make excuses. That 90's team choked in vital games, tournaments unlike the Indian team from 2024 to 2026.

I don’t know if this a troll post or not, but consider this.

Forget the 1990s. Look at the late 80s and early 90s tournaments

Australasia cup 1986: Pakistan Won
Nehru Cup 1989: Pakistan Won (equivalent of a champions trophy)
1990: Australasia Cup: Pakistan won
1992 World Cup: Pakistan Won

That’s 4 major trophies in 6 years in tournaments that consisted of the majority of world teams (notably with WI absent in the Australasia cups - but they had already started declining in ODIs). The only major tournament they didn’t win was the 1987 World Cup.

The irony is - on paper, Pakistan after 1992 had better names, more match winners. But they chose to squander it all with infighting, politics, captaincy game of thrones, match-fixing. They should have won one of the 96 and 99 world cups if they did justice to their talent.

Even in 1999 when it looked like they got their act together - it was still a mirage. We were notorious for throwing away dead rubbers in the 12 months that preceded that World Cup. The final of 1999 was a harsh lesson in “you cannot just pick and choose what you win”.

I starter watching cricket from late 90’s like the famous Sachin’s Sharjah cup.

Pakistan was always a decent mid-tier team like India in WCs. But they were never the favorites as far as I remember. India performed very well on the other hand particularly in 2023 WC.

I think they always liked the ‘Unpredictable’ tag more than being ‘consistent’ / ‘dominant’ team. If you need to win ICC events, you need to have dominant performances but not those unpredictable ones.

Going into ICC WC2011, India were the favorites to win it and they played like one. Same like WC23. Knockouts may go against them but you should play dominant cricket and thats what Aussies of 2000’s showed.

T20 2024 and 2026 was sweet but not nostalgic to many because we are expected to win them being favorites.

Not sure if Pakistan were favorites to win the 1992 WC even dropping many games. I remember 1999 team was a good team though but again Aussies and South Africans were clear favorites.

Even in 1999 when it looked like they got their act together - it was still a mirage. We were notorious for throwing away dead rubbers in the 12 months that preceded that World Cup. The final of 1999 was a harsh lesson in “you cannot just pick and choose what you win”.
Its not pick and choose. No one throws the game away unless they are fixers.

They lacked the ability to be consistent and for some weird reason, took pride in that ‘unpredictability’ tag. From the late 90’s at-least, Pakistan were never know to deliver under pressure may be lacking ‘Mental toughness’.

And those 80’s and 90’s era were notorious for weird umpiring decisions and unprofessional things.

A lot of kids today
You are giving way too much trophies to our team

We were good but not that exceptional
Couldn't even won a single Asia cup during 90s

Trust me kiddo, we were this good.

Why do you think ex Sena players and even ex Endian players would never stop talkign praises of our late 80s, 90s players? If it wasn't for match fixing, we would have won many trophies in that era. We did win 2. Ideally it should have been 5.

All these ifs and buts are useless... 99 team choked in the final when they should have won the tournament easily, best side by miles.

Present is what matters the most and the present side is under dirt.

It was a great side no doubt

Didn't win a single asia cup in the 90s and didn't cross quarterfinals in the 96 world cup, but sure.

Pakistan 🇵🇰 may not be the Best Team of 90s but Most Exciting Players were in Pakistan Team.

Sharjah was virtually an Asia Cup and we won like a Gazillion of those.
They stopped sending their team to Sharjah after we made it an annual Endian phainty fest.
Sharjah Matches were more popular in those days than Asia Cup as many Arabs used to invest money in Sharjah Cricket and Pakistan was their unofficial team representing Arabs. More Money players earn in playing Sharjah matches than the mediocre Asia Cup.

Exactly.
Sharjah used to be the Asian Wrestlemania and it was always a squash match for Pakistan while playing theirmuch weaker neighbour.

Exactly.
Sharjah used to be the Asian Wrestlemania and it was always a squash match for Pakistan while playing theirmuch weaker neighbour.
Neighbours as Sri Lanka and India both used to struggle against Pakistan.

That 1992 cup is literally the heaviest CWC of all time, to this day. The most recalled World Cup of all time and the most legendary one.

Also 1989 Nehru Cup is arguably the greatest Champions Trophy ever.
And we all know how Pakistan went on to win that World Cup. If there was no washout against England after getting bowled out for 74, Pakistan would have qualified for the semis.

All these ifs and buts are useless... 99 team choked in the final when they should have won the tournament easily, best side by miles.

Nope South Africa was the best side, choked in the semifinal. That 99 World Cup belonged to only one team - South Africa.

And we all know how Pakistan went on to win that World Cup. If there was no washout against England after getting bowled out for 74, Pakistan would have qualified for the semis.

Its all part of life, part of winning.

There's always some dropped catch, misfield or some washout involved in a championship run.

Pakistan might have easily defeated South Africa if there was no rain interruption so it balances the lose to England

South Africa defeated Pakistan easily in Super Six stage even after being 80-5 iirc, nobody can forget Klusner hammering Shoaib, Akram & Saqlain.

Pakistan qualified for semis only because they could beat Zimbabwe in Super Six & 1st round points, lost to India & South Africa in Super Sixes.

South Africa defeated Pakistan easily in Super Six stage even after being 80-5 iirc, nobody can forget Klusner hammering Shoaib, Akram & Saqlain.

Pakistan qualified for semis only because they could beat Zimbabwe in Super Six & 1st round points, lost to India & South Africa in Super Sixes.
I am speaking about 92 World Cup. South Africa in 99 did not defeat Pakistan easily they just survived at one point chasing 220 rsa were 58/5 and Pakistan was looking like winning the match

In 1992, Endia was considered a minnow nation. They couldn't even make semis.

I feel we were king of bilaterals moreso than winning icc events. There is a reason why we have a bad record vs endia in icc events. 17-3 losing record

Don’t think our title count changes at all tbh.

Maybe one extra t20 title at best.

I think Pakistan could've won many ICC trophies if there were more ICC events (like we see now).

Back then, there was 1 WC every 4 years. It was the glorious pre-BCCICC days. :inti
I wish I could go back and re live our glorious days in the 90s

When we used to bully endia.

Now it’s a joke.

Yet they phaintad Pakistan....could beat Pakistan without being good

Started the greatest most epic most beautiful streak of them all
:trump2
Indian 1992 team was not that bad but there were other better teams. 1992 Indian team lacked a true winner. Kapil , Shastri , Srikkant were on last legs. Tendulkar was middle order batsman. Sanjay Manjeraker was middle order mainstay. Also rain rule cost India in some matches.

They would have choked in all the knockouts like India in the 2014-2023 phase.

As talented as they were, there were more mentally strong teams in the 90s who would have dominated ICC trophies.

Indian 1992 team was not that bad but there were other better teams. 1992 Indian team lacked a true winner. Kapil , Shastri , Srikkant were on last legs. Tendulkar was middle order batsman. Sanjay Manjeraker was middle order mainstay. Also rain rule cost India in some matches.
Yet we beat Pakistan and it started the most beautiful streak of them all.
:trump2

Not by miles, South Africa was equally as good, if not better. Pakistan lost to Bangladesh in group stages which was inconsequential.

During super six Pakistan lost to South Africa and then later India.

Australia was thought to be a strong team but SA and Pak were considered stronger.

No team was “miles” better than any other. That’s just rewriting history/being unaware of that time.

The 1999 WC format was flawed - Pakistan were within a stone's throw of winning it despite losing to Bangladesh, India, South Africa, etc.

They fluked their way to finals and were exposed by Australia. Pakistan’s 1999 World Cup run is the definition of overrated. They lost to Bangladesh in the league stages. They only reached the knockouts because the carry-forward system masked their poor form in the Super Sixes, where they lost to both India and South Africa and only managed a win against Zimbabwe. A true "best side" doesn't lose to its biggest rivals and then get completely blown away by Australia in the final.

Calm down.
We were the BEST team in the group games and manhandled every major opponent.

Bangladesh game is largely believed to be fixed, it was an inconsequential game and we had already reached the next stage with a Bonus point lol. That win paved ay for Bangladesh becoming a test nation.

We might have been bit laid back during Super 6s as we had the comfort of carry forward points.

Beat NZ fair and square in the semis.

The final is also believed to be fixed.

Calm down.
We were the BEST team in the group games and manhandled every major opponent.

Bangladesh game is largely believed to be fixed, it was an inconsequential game and we had already reached the next stage with a Bonus point lol. That win paved ay for Bangladesh becoming a test nation.

We might have been bit laid back during Super 6s as we had the comfort of carry forward points.

Beat NZ fair and square in the semis.

The final is also believed to be fixed.

Dil ke khush rakhne ko, Ghalib, yeh khayaal achha hai

How many centuries was Bradman denied because they didn’t play ODIs and T20s in his day?

Justice for Bradders!

#Cricket #TheRosyPast #RoseMaryMarlow

How many centuries was Bradman denied because they didn’t play ODIs and T20s in his day?

Justice for Bradders!

#Cricket #TheRosyPast #RoseMaryMarlow

Bradman is never judged for his international stats alone.

He has a 95+ batting average in his overall first class career scoring 25,000+ runs. That's an exceptional career.

Bradman is never judged for his international stats alone.

He has a 95+ batting average in his overall first class career scoring 25,000+ runs. That's an exceptional career.

But he would have had so many more had he played T20 and ODIs.

ICC missed a trick there. Should have held a few white ball tournaments, surely?

And it is so unfair for Bradman!

But he would have had so many more had he played T20 and ODIs.

ICC missed a trick there. Should have held a few white ball tournaments, surely?

And it is so unfair for Bradman!

That was because of the wars.

Nothing could be done about that.

The issue is, that specific team also had a serious corruption issue with major players constantly match fixing.

The more opportunities they had to earn mega bucks from selling their country the more they would have done it.

Wasim Akram and Ijaz Ahmed in particular

Pakistan would have won this joke T20 WC multiple times with our team of the 90s. 99 WC should have been ours. We won the Asian Test Championship.
One thing is for sure Aussies won’t have won t20 WC even back then

But we don’t even win Asian cups. How will we win a icc t20 WC?

I think we may have won once at best. We would never win the wtc

And odi we already know about 1992.

1999 was one of our strongest if not the best Side ever but we still got belted by Aussies who weren’t even peaking.

1992 World Cup India vs Pakistan
1996 World Cup India vs Pakistan
1999 World Cup India vs Pakistan

India 3-0 Pakistan

The big hearted men deliver in big stages. The weak hearted have history of crumbling in big games.