Pakistan (193/2) demolish Hong Kong (38) by 155 runs and reach the Super 4 stage

zocAOkb.png

Mountain to climb for Hong Kong - Can they spring a surprise on Pakistan?

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

5. Report abuse. If you see any post which is inappropriate, report it. Do not respond to it

Rizwant played a solid innings to build this innings. His last 5 overs should have been better. It was not easy batting on here but in last 5 overs he should have gone for big hits or got out. You should play according to situation. If you want to be best then you should show skills of a great batsman too. Batting at death overs is also an art.

the fact that Rizwan was going for singles and doubles in the 18th over with 8 wickets in hand should be enough for anyone to sit down and not defend his innings. Pathetic cowardly approach by a very timid batsman.

Even the coaches were shaking their heads in the dressing room.

The way Hong Kong batted against India I think it's 60-40 in favour of Pakistan. All depends on their Babar. :inti

the fact that Rizwan was going for singles and doubles in the 18th over with 8 wickets in hand should be enough for anyone to sit down and not defend his innings. Pathetic cowardly approach by a very timid batsman.

Totally agree. Not happy with the way Rizwan played at death overs. With 8 wickets in hand and below par total he should be eying up for big shots. It's good thing Khushdil Shah's batting has hide that weakness of Rizwan for today but it is really unacceptable from a top order batsman to be batting like this in such crucial make or break situations of the game.

I seen that. How embarrassing even the commies at that point were questioning the approach calling it “unconventional”, basically a euphemism.

I guess Hong Kong is not winning this one even with the toss win.
Still, I don't understand being one wicket down with 5 overs to go in a T20.

I seen that. How embarrassing even the commies at that point were questioning the approach calling it “unconventional”, basically a euphemism.

Totally agree. Not happy with the way Rizwan played at death overs. With 8 wickets in hand and below par total he should be eying up for big shots. It's good thing Khushdil Shah's batting has hide that weakness of Rizwan for today but it is really unacceptable from a top order batsman to be batting like this in such crucial make or break situations of the game.

It was just bizarre!

Personally, I think there is no justification for this "play through this innings" approach in a freakin T20 game! It is ONLY 20 overs! Are you telling me that our line-up is incapable of playing out 120 deliveries, so we need a dedicated "bat through the innings" guy; that too an opener?! No, just doesn't make sense.

Rizwan needs to pull up his socks and understand that he can't just play in his comfort zone. This innings was embarrassing.

It was just bizarre!

Personally, I think there is no justification for this "play through this innings" approach in a freakin T20 game! It is ONLY 20 overs! Are you telling me that our line-up is incapable of playing out 120 deliveries, so we need a dedicated "bat through the innings" guy; that too an opener?! No, just doesn't make sense.

Rizwan needs to pull up his socks and understand that he can't just play in his comfort zone. This innings was embarrassing.

The thing is "in his head" he thinks it was a good innings so how can he improve when he already believes it was good.

Not happy with Dhanis bowling. He isn't looking in rhythm and being able to take wickets

Its not just him.

Many fans in Pakistan are in agreement that it was a brilliant innings.

Rizwans polarizes a lot of people.

The thing is "in his head" he thinks it was a good innings so how can he improve when he already believes it was good.

Oh, I agree. That's a very good point - that's why I keep saying that it is the job of the captain/management to set the standards.

That exra fielder there probably why we got that wicket. lol

Can we say that as a certainty?

Either way, it's the mindset that's problematic. Naseem is your wicket taker. You don't want him to bowl tidy overs and not get any wickets. Attack all out with him!

One should accept they've been silly, learning from their mistakes is essential to move forward and have a successful life.

However unable to accept mistakes and doubling down down on it by making stupid arguments is a recipe for failure.

Naseem Shah too good for the opposition.

Excellent bowling.

Indian bowling attack cannot compete with Pakistan’s.. we have the best bowling attack in the subcontinent, wait till shaheen comes back!

Why do they need to compete if they can win games even with an "inferior" attack?

Yaar Asif ko bhi aik dou over karne dou

Woh bhi khelne aaya hai

Babar Hayat is actually better than Babar Azam.

Wasim has zero original thoughts. He'd just agree with whatever the other commentator says.

Should have brought in Rauf finish them off. These associate nations struggle against real pace.

Its not just him.

Many fans in Pakistan are in agreement that it was a brilliant innings.

Rizwans polarizes a lot of people.

People just look at numbers. He socred 70+, highest scorer so yeah he did great but his ability to change gears when needed was not there tonight and he should be criticized for that. His intent in late overs was disappointing. Not denying the part he played great in his first part of the innings but he should be doing better at death overs than what we saw today.

Loool Naseem has 11 dot balls from 2 overs. Basically gave runs just from wides.

We should've tested Hasnain here too. I'm tempted to go 4 seamers. Pace is really doing it here.

Naseem has really taken his chance to become the bowling partner for Shaheen now that Hasan Ali is out of the equation... It's basically a shoot out between Dahani and Rauf for the 3rd seamer spot.

Hassan Ali is on the field to cop abuse by the Pakistan supporters on the boundary

Naseem has really taken his chance to become the bowling partner for Shaheen now that Hasan Ali is out of the equation... It's basically a shoot out between Dahani and Rauf for the 3rd seamer spot.

I think Rauf is pretty clearly ahead of Dahani but its nice to see all this competition though.

Let's not forget Wasim jr. either. I think there's a good chance Pakistan use 4 seamers & Shadab in Australian conditions and still have 2 additional spin options if required (Iftikhar & Khushdil).

Yep. I always rated him but I'm surprised by seeing him look so clearly better than Dahani and Rouf and these 2 are good.