mz123

Tape Ball Star
Yes you read that right, stop crying and think about this:

We just need to fix some issues:

1-change the captain.
2-Include Haris and play him at 4.
3-Make Umar open
5-Use Khalid Latif or shahzaib hassan as a power hitter down the order.

Otherwise we have a good bowling line up in junaid, amir, hassan and imad, and can have a great batting line up if we fix some things mentioned above!

PAKISTAN WILL INSHALLAH WIN THE CHAMPIONS TROPHY AND THE NEXT WORLDCUP !!!!

Kick Azhar, Rizwan, Akmal and one of Malik/Hafeez out and we have a decent line up.

Sharjeel
Sarfaraz
Babar
Haris
Hafeez
Hammad Azam
Amir Yamin
Ammad Butt
Immad Wasim
Amir
Hasan

Bowling line-up:

Amir - Seems to be getting his old self back but has been toothless in the last two ODIs. Perhaps a case of being run into the ground

Junaid - Looked VERY good in his first 2 ODIs back but went for plenty in the last one, but he did have two catches dropped off his bowling. Thank you Sharjeel.

Hassan - A real gem

Imad - One trick pony, will get dispatched all parts by all teams except maybe BD, SL and WI

Wahab - TTF

Rahat - Not good enough

Nawaz - See Rahat

Batting line-up:

Azhar - not good enough for domestic LOI let alone international, and on top of that his atrocious captaincy. Needs to be sent into forced retirement.

Hafeez - TTF

Umar Akmal - TTF

Malik - was a borderline TTF, pulled himself back from the brink, can always go back to it

Asad - TTF

Sharjeel - Breath of fresh air with the bat but far too FAT to be a cricketer

Babar - Only modern bat we have

Sarfaraz - Can only hit spinners

Imad - More hype than substance, hasn't done much with the bat

And you are saying we will win Champion's Trophy?

Why do people keep advocating for Umar Akmal to open?

1) I dont think he himself wants to open

2) He will still slog in the same places so even in first 10 overs, fielding team can put two fielders out at slog and he will throw his wicket away

3) He is unfit and does not have the stamina to construct long innings which is required at the top

4) He is struggling for form and timing

We should change the title whether PAK can win any game or not considering current team composition and team mind set.

Highly unlikely but definitely possible. We could scrape through our group I expect us to beat SL but there could be a three way between us, India and SA. India will obviously beat us but we could beat SA like we do in world tournaments but SA could beat India and we could qualify on NRR hopefully. Then we're just two wins and we did manage to win 1 game against England in England (well actually Wales but you know what I mean) and did manage to win 1 game against Australia in Australia so there is a chance we could win the tournament but I doubt it very highly. Making the semis will satisfy me

1-change the captain.
3-Make Umar open

Otherwise we have a good bowling line up in junaid, amir, hassan and imad, and can have a great batting line up if we fix some things mentioned above!

Why are you setting yourself up for embarrassment because we aren't going to any trophy in the foreseeable future.

1-change the captain.
3-Make Umar open

How many more positions you want him to try? Maybe when he fails at opening people will ask him to play at 10. He has tried every position in the team and he is useless, I'd rather see shahzad in the team than Umar akmal.

Bowling line-up:

Amir - Seems to be getting his old self back but has been toothless in the last two ODIs. Perhaps a case of being run into the ground

Junaid - Looked VERY good in his first 2 ODIs back but went for plenty in the last one, but he did have two catches dropped off his bowling. Thank you Sharjeel.

Hassan - A real gem

Imad - One trick pony, will get dispatched all parts by all teams except maybe BD, SL and WI

Wahab - TTF

Rahat - Not good enough

Nawaz - See Rahat

Batting line-up:

Azhar - not good enough for domestic LOI let alone international, and on top of that his atrocious captaincy. Needs to be sent into forced retirement.

Hafeez - TTF

Umar Akmal - TTF

Malik - was a borderline TTF, pulled himself back from the brink, can always go back to it

Asad - TTF

Sharjeel - Breath of fresh air with the bat but far too FAT to be a cricketer

Babar - Only modern bat we have

Sarfaraz - Can only hit spinners

Imad - More hype than substance, hasn't done much with the bat

And you are saying we will win Champion's Trophy?

Brother, first of all I am glad u recognised that we have a good bowling line up. Changing captains will hopefully change how we use our bowlers, especially imad.

Let's jump to the batting bit:
1-Sharjeel: you like him, thats good
2-Umar Akmal: He can become a new player if he opens IA, he just needs to lose some of that weight, aur kia hena, aur kia hena TTF ka hona apne paas apna hi meza hai.
3-Babar: you like him
4-Haris: I think you like him as well.
5-Sarfaraz: so you tell me, how did he score a century and 2 fifties(one in 90s) during the odi series in england ? Why do some of the english commentators call him the best wicket-keeper batsman in the world ?
6-Malik: you realise that he isn't a TTF anymore, thats good. Malik has been one of the best batsman in pakistani team after his comeback, he has changed and can now be effective at nb 6 position (yesterday wasn't his day, it happens..)
7-Hafeez/shahzaib/latif: they may be TTF, but can be very effective down the order.

Highly unlikely but definitely possible. We could scrape through our group I expect us to beat SL but there could be a three way between us, India and SA. India will obviously beat us but we could beat SA like we do in world tournaments but SA could beat India and we could qualify on NRR hopefully. Then we're just two wins and we did manage to win 1 game against England in England (well actually Wales but you know what I mean) and did manage to win 1 game against Australia in Australia so there is a chance we could win the tournament but I doubt it very highly. Making the semis will satisfy me

Don't count your chickens. Pakistan are the clear underdogs and will have nothing to lose in that game. The slightest slip up on our part and it's victory for the taking.

Imagine all teams do their own fine tuning :) you seem to assume other teams play at their peak of powers. Not true. There is scope for improvement with all teams.

With Azhar as captain, our flight back to Islamabad will be booked after the 2nd group game.

I have a strong feeling that Inzi and co will not remove Azhar from the captaincy citing the fact that the CT is so close and they don't want to burden a new captain :facepalm:

Lol we'll beat West Indies that will be another reason to keep him :)). Hoping he resigns instead after the 5th odi.

I think he'll definitely be gone by the champions trophy, he'll be sacked or resign because with him as captain it's impossible for us to get through the group.

I don't doubt your good intentions mate, however its threads like these which imply we have a short-term solution to a long term problem.
Pakistan team can win odd matches, but due to lack of international and good competitive domestic T20 cricket, we don't have a team which can put a total of 350 or chase such huge totals, which is becoming a regular feature of modern ODI cricket. To chase 350 practically you need to have at least 3/4 batsmen able to score at a s/r of 150 without taking massive risks and able to play long innings. If you look at your team, you hardly have a single consistent player who fits the bill.

So, can Pakistan win Champions trophy - Sure.
The most important question is, what are the odds? I believe your are more likely to win a lottery than Pakistan winning Champions trophy.

What needs to change ? A whole lot. It has to be a total revamp, and this will take 4/5 years at least. A more realistic target should be the next world-cup.

I am not a pessimistic, not by any stretch of imagination, but I am a realist. I think we as cricket fans need to realise, this team needs to do a lot to play competitive cricket.

A series vs England, India, or Australia would most likely result in a 4-1 loss. That means there is a 20% chance to gain a place in the semi Finals as Pakistan would have to beat one of these teams.

To then further get to the final, the Pakistani team must also beat a team that's of the mentioned ones' quality therefore that reduces the chances to 4%. To win the final, the chances for Pakistan to win would be 20% of 4%

This means to win the Champions trophy, the likelihood is approximately 0.8%
based on relatively straightforward probability.

This is just by looking at trends, feats and current performance tbh. Before you ask on what basis do I include India...well how many times has Pakistani beaten India in an important ICC trophy game compared to how many they've played. I didn't include South Africa because they usually aren't amazing in Champions trophy and there isn't much recent head to head to analyse it off either.

Remember, there is still a chance however so don't lose hope pakistanis!

No chance.

Unless there is a total overhaul of the brand of cricket they are playing these days.

Yes Pakistan can win champions trophy, only if are talking about hockey and its early 80s.

1-change the captain.
3-Make Umar open

Most likely we will suffer the same fate as we did in the 2013 CT - i.e. lose all 3 games.

Sharjeel
Shahzaib
Babar
Haris/Hafeez
Sarfaraz
Malik
Yamin/Maqsood
Imad
Hasan
Amir
Junaid/Wahab

that is the best we can muster for the CT.
Imad needs to buckle up his ideas and mix it up and spin a few. The good thing is that teams that face him for the first time struggle. we have sl sa and india in our group and dont think he has played any of them.

Don't count your chickens. Pakistan are the clear underdogs and will have nothing to lose in that game. The slightest slip up on our part and it's victory for the taking.

Dude... Pak can't beat Bangla, Ind is no way!

There is no solution to not being good enough, and with the system in place for youth and onwards only deteriorating further, unless some complete overhaul is done, this will only continue towards us becoming less and less relevant.

People don't want to see what's right in front of their face because we still live in 92 and there is this misonception that oodles of talent is waiting in the wings but this is simply not true.

This isn't me being all doom and gloom, before I get vitriolic attacks of why I watch, it's reality. I watch because this is my team. I know their limitations but I still watch and support. Calling a spade a spade does not make you less of a fan, it just makes you not see things with rosy coloured glasses.

The excuses seem to never end. First it was Misbah hindering players to have offensive outbursts, then it's Azhar who is his disciples fault. It was Misbah who "destroyed Umar" despite the fact that Umar played hyperbolically the other way. I am not Misbah supporter either. I am no fan boy of anyone other than Pakistan.

We don't have talent, and it shows. We have one decent young bat, one who depending on his injury effected him is a question mark, a bunch of tried and tested failures, an opener who would not play for any other team, however with a lack of any dynamic player has a place on or squad, a bowler who five years banned has made him mediocre, which was to be expected, and a team which refuses to focus on fitness and fielding which in the case of yesterday resulted in at least, given all the catches dropped and extra singles given could have been a value between 50-100 runs conceded.

I am a fan of Pakistan cricket, but everyone needs to just realize what we are. We are an inconsistent team in all formats who can have a spark once in a blue moon, but really are in that 7-10 range at best.

We're a decent test squad at home, admittedly, however mediocre everywhere else. Though this is the case for most teams, we are still a step below the top 3-4 and I fear once Misbah and YK leave, I don't think the likes of Azhar and Shafiq can really replace and produce consistently at that level. Azhar has shown it, and I do give him credit, but I still have a jury out on Shafiq, who is great at 6, but will obviously be moving up the order and given more responsibility very soon.

Babar is one player, and as with many players, way too young to really get a grasp of his future. A plethora of players come in and start off with a bang, ironically enough his own cousin is a similar case, but we are still way too premature to think he will be a world class player, and further even if he does, is simply not enough to push an LOI unit to the upper echelon. It simply isn't possible with mediocre bowling and no consistent secondary and tertiary options.

Sure, if he hits in test, with he Azhar and if Shafiq finds that consistency, then we can be a decent test squad, but there is no one really other than him who really instils any confidence in ODIs across the board save for Wasim, who is a good cricketer, but does need the right conditions to succeed and really cannot be a staple of any really good ODI team but more of a secondary piece. This doesn't mean he is bad, far from it, currently those two are the ones I would move forward with, but one is again, not a forefront batsmen or bowler.

I have hope for Hasan Ali though, looks pretty talented, but still, too early to call.

Too many ground up issues, starting with fitness, egos, and focus on training and improvement.

To even think we are in the conversation for the CT (who even knows if we get in) is wishful thinking at best.

I love this team as it represents my nation, but we cannot fool ourselves into pretending it will magically turn into something as it that in all likelihood it will not. Again, I could be wrong, but since the 11 WC our team has slowly dwindled away. People forget the only reason we were even good at that time was Afridi has a purple patch of playing as one of the best LOI players in the world, combined with two chuckers in Ajmal and Hafeez. Take the cheating away and even 2011 might have turned out a different way.

That's my two cents. One does not need to agree with me, maybe I'm too realistic/pessimistic, but people like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] and myself truly love Pakistan cricket, but we also see it for what it is.

Its not possible for Pakistan. There level is not good enough.

If they reach semi final , it will be a lot for them. Beyond that is miracle

1-change the captain.
3-Make Umar open

I like your enthusiasm and confidence but it will be a challenge, but not impossible. If we select our best XI available we can make it to the semis, either way I'd be happy with a decent showing because win or lose we are to benefit as far as our preparation for the 2019 WC is concerned because the passengers would be eliminated from our side for good

the 3 games scheduled for Pakistan are against: India, South Africa, and Sri Lanka

we'd be lucky if we could win A GAME - let alone the trophy

India and SA are on pace to give another epic phanty to this team

Umar Akmal and Harris Sohail should bat in the middle. Sarfaraz with his infectious enthusiasm has to be captain. We have a chance for sure. I encourage Pak fans to adopt Liverpool's "you'll never walk alone" anthem:misbah4

Yeah I hope. The team needs to be completely changed after the Aus series tho. The bowling isn't bad. Just need a pace bowling all-rounder and a good leggie in the squad. As for the batting, we need an overhaul. Take out all TTFs.
Just copy England's batting order. As they have the best batting in the world.
Their's is: Hales, Roy, Root, Morgan, Stokes, Buttler, Ali, Woakes
Ours can be: Shahzaib, Sharjeel, Azam, Haris, Maqsood/Ifti (:facepalm: I know, but need a good #5 or #6 hitter), Rizwan (If he can hit), Imad, Tanvir/Sohail/Bhatti/Wahab/Butt/Anwar ( :facepalm: I know, but Amir is a #10 or 11 and so is Hasan.)

We can definitely beat Sri Lanka. After them, an epic bowling performance against the Indians or benefiting from a Proteas choke would see us in the semis.

Once there, two days where most of the team clicks will be enough to win the trophy. It can definitely be done.

Yeah I hope. The team needs to be completely changed after the Aus series tho. The bowling isn't bad. Just need a pace bowling all-rounder and a good leggie in the squad. As for the batting, we need an overhaul. Take out all TTFs.
Ours can be: Shahzaib, Sharjeel, Azam, Haris, Maqsood/Ifti (:facepalm: I know, but need a good #5 or #6 hitter), Rizwan (If he can hit), Imad, Tanvir/Sohail/Bhatti/Wahab/Butt/Anwar ( :facepalm: I know, but Amir is a #10 or 11 and so is Hasan.)

Maqsood is rubbish, nor has he done anything good at FC lately, so no point bringing him back, i would say stick with malik untill we get a batter.
As for Tanno/bhatti/anwar and Wahab.. they are extremely poor bowlers, no point making our bowling weak when they aren't even capable batters.

Maqsood is rubbish, nor has he done anything good at FC lately, so no point bringing him back, i would say stick with malik untill we get a batter.
As for Tanno/bhatti/anwar and Wahab.. they are extremely poor bowlers, no point making our bowling weak when they aren't even capable batters.

Malik is too slow. Notice how England have Stokes at #5.

Why is there so much polarity?

Some people genuinely believe that team can win while others feel there is NO chance team can win.

When there is North Pole and South Pole difference between fans opinions with no middle ground you know the team is usually crap.

Only reason for polarity is extremely optimistic and pessimistic posters.

The problem with Sharjeel is his fitness. That affects his fielding is obvious. But it more importantly affects his batting like running between wickets . Also his shot making power will wane the longer he stays because of lack of fitness thereby explaining lack of long innings. He need to work on fitness to extend his cameos

Why is there so much polarity?

Some people genuinely believe that team can win while others feel there is NO chance team can win.

When there is North Pole and South Pole difference between fans opinions with no middle ground you know the team is usually crap.

Only reason for polarity is extremely optimistic and pessimistic posters.

Pakistan's chances dramatically increases when they carry an ace bowler who every teams want to play out. They don't have such fearful trump card in this line up. So they are in an un-chartered territory of out batting the opposition. On the other hand you cannot rule them out totally as you play only one match against most opposition. In a one off encounter anything can happen.

Didn't we have to refuse a series with WI to qualify for CT?

Let's hope that we don't lose all three games.

1-change the captain.
3-Make Umar open

Can u please answer which of the above mentioned batsmen can handle pressure playing against a side like India , england or south africa?

sharjeel is a hit or a miss
Azhar takes too much pressure
hafeez again cant handle a bit of good bowling
Babar he has no experience playing big tourney
Malik not good enough of a player against top sides
umar akmal tullay baaz hit or a miss will play some stupid shot under pressure to get out.
sarfaraz he is the only one who can handle pressure but again not good enough against pace
Imad no experience will fizz out in pressure situation again.

Now please tell me on what basis are you dreaming. The more you guna expect the more hurt you will be..Lower your expectation bro.

Even if Pakistan win a tournament (or even two) there is no escaping the fact that Pakistan Cricket needs an overhaul

No, they can't win. Pakistan should focus on achievable goals, like beating Bangladesh.

no sarfaraz???? what a funny guy

A team of proven failures Akmal, Azhar, Shafiq, Hafeez, Rizwan, Rahat, Sohail, Malik, Wahab, Irfan cannot win any title. It will always fail. It's silly to waste time on this club level team of sifaarshi players.

We can win world cup qualifiers and we should target that.

2) He will still slog in the same places so even in first 10 overs, fielding team can put two fielders out at slog and he will throw his wicket away

3) He is unfit and does not have the stamina to construct long innings which is required at the top

Umar Akmal = Talent

In India,

Talent = Rohit Shamra = Opener

Which comes down to, Talent = Opener

Therefore, Umar Akmal = Opener

If pitches are flat, Pakistan have no shot. Scoring 350 or chasing 300+ scores is not something you can achieve overnight by picking players who do well in PSL. Its something your players have to have done over the years.

You can hope that the conditions and pitch are bowler friendly to keep you in the hunt, otherwise I don't see Pakistan in the top 4, let alone win it.

IMO, Pakistan should use this CT and ODI's next 2 years to select a batting unit that bats at least as deep as no. 8 and all have the capability to score at 100+ S/R at will. And players like Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq don't fit into that.

No chance. Our players have a loser mentality. Just look at Babar Azam the best talent we have. The guy has all the talent , technique and shots but chickens out at tough situations. They just don't believe in themselves.

I love your tricks , works perfectly.

Every pak India game you back us before hand . Back India to win for a change :yk2

Pakistan is very unpredictable team...But ODIs are not their cup of tea....Reaching semis will be big big achievement for them..

I love your tricks , works perfectly.

Every pak India game you back us before hand . Back India to win for a change :yk2

:))) this made me LOL. Don't think he'll change what's working. I think most of pp will be predicting an Indian win when the time comes.

Akmal fans still hoping something works for their super star. He's trash and has proved this countless times, no matter where he bats. Chronic failure. But talent supersedes all words in Pakistan fan dictionary. There's still many out there who expect the elder Akmal to also come good after more than a decade of failures.

A great thread. Was searching for Bilal7's thread and found this beauty.

You had to be special kind of crazy to think we were going to win the champions trophy last year.

But we won in the end, so maybe they weren’t crazy at all:ibutt

Nice bump.Thankfully I never posted on this :)))

OP wanted Umar Akmal to open and Haris at 4.Thankfully Umar was sent home so Fakhar could come in.