Pakistan cannot win the T20 World Cup

Rana

Hall of Famer
Let’s get this straight. We are not winning the tournament. We might fluke a game here and there but the tournament is already gone

No point changing this batting blue print now. Might as well go with it and fail handsomely in the World Cup. It’s not like this stubborn, deluded management and leadership group are going to make the necessary changes. They probably thought it was an off game and nothing is actually wrong.

The real question is, what are they going to do to make things right for the next WC? Are they going to continue to allow these freeloaders to do what they want (without accountability) and hope we fluke a tournament win? Or are they going to open their eyes and do what’s right?

We are walking into a World Cup with Babar and Rizwan as our powerplay hitters. This too shall pass…

What do you want to play, sherjeel please he is not good enough

You know what. Yes. Yes I would

I would much rather open with Fakhar and Sharjeel and be 0-2 in the first over, however I know i have given my best opportunity to Pakistan to be 60-0 in 6 if both openers click, or at least one of them gets going and kicks life into the innings!

who said pak were winning the wt20? literally seen no one saying pak were favs.

Pak bowling will be great in Aus. If they can restrict the opposition to 150, they can win the games with this batting. Bowling looks 🔥 and can do the job.

Lol just because you lost the asia cup to a better side?

One match dont define us. Pakistan is ready, it has never been better. Our bowling attack is fine, just need a bit off twaking with batting.

Rizwan and babar will inshallah win it for us

Better you stopped dreaming....
Brother this Pakistan team is a minnow team,it is a Zimbabwe level team....you have many issues in your team...
Your openers scored just 2 boundaries in whole powerplay.... they don't want to take risk because it will be at the cost of their personal milestones.... which is their top priority...... best example Rizwan's today inning...
You don't have players who can hit boundaries at will.
I can bet your National team canot beat one of our Ranji team....
You even were not comfortable to chase a low total against Afghanistan.....

Brother this Pakistan team is a minnow team,it is a Zimbabwe level team....you have many issues in your team...
Your openers scored just 2 boundaries in whole powerplay.... they don't want to take risk because it will be at the cost of their personal milestones.... which is their top priority...... best example Rizwan's today inning...

Brother please explain to [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]

Yet we beat the mighty indian team. Buddy worry about your own indian team. They didnt even make the finals. You dont even have any proper bowlers. Yes pakistan has some things to work on but so does your overrated indian team as well.

This is true for ODI, not T20. It's T20 and Pakistan is well capable of winning T20 World Cup.

Pakistan bowling is absolutely fine, it's the middle order which is a bit concerning. Can't wait to see our pace machines rolling down thunders on Australian pitches. They better not prepare flat pancake wickets because knowing Pakistan batting, pitch condition makes no difference to us so we will take a good wicket which benefits pacers.

If you are talking about ODI then yes we can't win it but T20, we sure can. They have done really well in shortest format in the past couple of years.

Lol you sound like a typical sore neighbour we see all over social media who speak nonstop against Pakistan, we understand your obsession :) You haven't won a major tournament in years, infact since IPL started if I am not mistaken, so I would suggest worry about your average team. We have throughly enjoyed packing up India early in this tournament :)

Bhai baray shameless troll ho. Asia main bhi 3rd aye ho, world cup main bhi you were kicked out in the first round. Yet still trolling.

If there’s one thing we’ve learned from watching T20s over the years, it’s that anything can happen on a given day. So even a low skilled teams like SL and WI can win the title.

If asia cup finalist is minnow than team india is a domestc team

If there’s one thing we’ve learned from watching T20s over the years, it’s that anything can happen on a given day. So even a low skilled teams like SL and WI can win the title.

It is so true. You just have to be good enough for 3 or 4 overs to change the outcome another way is the opposition being bad for 3 or 4 overs like dropping catches, overthrows, misfields, and wides. Smallest mistakes can hurt you in a big way. Pakistan has as much chance as any other sides. There is no guarantee Australia will win. Who knows it might be New zealand's turn.

It depends on what kind of tournament Babar has to be honest. If he's back to his normal self we have a chance. Hasnain and Rauf tore up the BBL. Shaheen will probably fare quite well in Aussie conditions too. But the batting relies on Babar Azam as the one gun player and if he replicates his form of the Asia cup we are not making the knockouts.

“Pakistan cannot win the T20 World Cup”

That is some smashing insight. Who would have thought. You would make a good partner for Wasim in the commentary box with such captain obvious statements.

“Pakistan cannot win the T20 World Cup”

That is some smashing insight. Who would have thought. You would make a good partner for Wasim in the commentary box with such captain obvious statements.

Yeah a bit like ‘Ahmad Shahzad is better than DeQock’

I would much rather open with Fakhar and Sharjeel and be 0-2 in the first over, however I know i have given my best opportunity to Pakistan to be 60-0 in 6 if both openers click, or at least one of them gets going and kicks life into the innings!

Rana hasn't done nothing at all in National cup.

What good is this national cup nonsense anyways?!

Khushdil and Iftikhar are the DONs of Pakistan domestic cricket. They are absolute ******* at the international stage!

Shoaib Malik doesn’t even play international cricket and he is better than all of the middle order players in the national side. Hafeez retired last year and even he would do better than Iftikhar and Khushdil in the middle order

That strategy did not work for us, I don't think it's gonna help us again, you gonna lose 8/10 ., With this strategy atleast we win 5/10, yes Babar can go to one down .

I ma feeling depressed by today's loss Srilanka was not a team we should have lost, what do you think going forward, Malik is trolling them on socail media, I hope we don't go back to fixers and zombies.

What good is this national cup nonsense anyways?!

Khushdil and Iftikhar are the DONs of Pakistan domestic cricket. They are absolute ******* at the international stage!

Shoaib Malik doesn’t even play international cricket and he is better than all of the middle order players in the national side. Hafeez retired last year and even he would do better than Iftikhar and Khushdil in the middle order

Stil need to show some kind of form in domestic competitions and Sharjeel hasn't shown 1 inch of that form.

Shan Masood,Tayyab Tahir,Azam Khan and Imad Wasim need to come into the squad Fakhar I was backing but he's been beyond terrible.

Pak historically are one of the worst touring teams to Australia.

They have a horrendous record down under bar the 92 world Cup.

Most teams have more complete batters than pak that can play the short ball better.

Watching batters like Iftikhar in Australia will be good comedy value.

Pakistan should persist with Fakhar and Rizwan with the exception of having fakhar open

They are both backfoot players and that is needed in australia

Other than that there is no point in having your hopes up.

I would bring in haider ali over khushdil.

I would persist with Iftikhar Ahmed simply because he can atleast bat with proper technique

I dont see Asif Ali being successful

Naw just need to get the fielding fixed and also work on rotation of strike(extremely needed in Aus), also PCT is a momentum based team one never knows what happens in the middle of the tournament and the momentum shifts and suddenly Asif Ali is smacking every bowler.

As always the batting and fielding will let us down in Australia. This has always been the case and will continue for the next 100 years because we never do anything about it. A few good wins then we pretend everything is good and well in the team.

Yet we beat the mighty indian team. Buddy worry about your own indian team. They didnt even make the finals. You dont even have any proper bowlers. Yes pakistan has some things to work on but so does your overrated indian team as well.

Lol...
Our 2 players are equal to whole cricketers of Pakistan....
We can play/ make 10 teams at the same time....and you can't even make one playing eleven

Lol you sound like a typical sore neighbour we see all over social media who speak nonstop against Pakistan, we understand your obsession :) You haven't won a major tournament in years, infact since IPL started if I am not mistaken, so I would suggest worry about your average team. We have throughly enjoyed packing up India early in this tournament :)
Hahahaha.......
2011 world Cup...... remember Mohali
2012 Champions trophy
2018 Asia Cup
2021 Runners of inaugural test championship
Beated Australia in their own Home

In whole tournament you dominated only one team that is Hong Kong....
That win against India doesn't make you better than us....it was just a dropped catch which turned game in your favour...
You even almost failed to achieve 129 against Afghanistan...
Your players are just focusing on personal milestones and rankings....so to improve the rankings of your players please organise a 10 match series against Zimbabwe.../Hong Kong/Nitherlands

Lol...
Our 2 players are equal to whole cricketers of Pakistan....
We can play/ make 10 teams at the same time....and you can't even make one playing eleven

Thats why you made the finals right.
That is why you got out in the group stage of world cup
That is from after 2013 india won every icc event

T20 is one format you simply can't call favourites.

SL won Asia Cup, but are they the best Asian team? Hell naw. They're going to be playing qualifiers to be part of main WC.

T20 opens up contest and reduces the significance of gulf in quality between sides. All it needs your team to hit the stride and work as a unit for 18-20 days and you end up with trophy.

While the above may not be the case WTC final berth or 50 over WC. T20 WC is as open as it gets.

That win against India doesn't make you better than us....it was just a dropped catch which turned game in your favour...
Your players are just focusing on personal milestones and rankings....so to improve the rankings of your players please organise a 10 match series against Zimbabwe.../Hong Kong/Nitherlands

India was suppose to win the whole tournament
India is the dream team , india can never lose a match, india is suppose to win every single tournament. Star sports made a out number one team is India, their going to win asia cup of world cup, the only think they won was a one way flight back to mumbai airport

Hahahaha.......
2011 world Cup...... remember Mohali
2012 Champions trophy
2018 Asia Cup
2021 Runners of inaugural test championship
Beated Australia in their own Home

Remember 2014 asia cup
Remember 2014 t20 world cup final
Remember 2015 world cup semi final
Remember 2016 t20 world cup semi final
Remember 2017 champions trophy final
Remember 2019 world cup semi final
Remember 2021 t20 world cup group stage
Remeber 2022 asia cup super 4

Have a seat and take a breath and reflect if India is suppose to be the greatest team of all time, the team that can never ever lose a match, the team that has no flaws or weakness, the team that is perfect than please take a look at these results mister Punjab King

Rizwan fans. Those who cannot see anything wrong with this side. Those who are happy to not fix what is clearly broken.

Rizwan and iftakar took 80balls and scored 87 runs and left 40 balls for other batters to score 83 runs which was impossible infront of quality bowling of Sri Lanka.
And here some people are saying that Rizwan will win them T20 World Cup.....
Joke of the century 🤣🤣

Honestly speaking our team makes you believe in winning a tournament by one off performances against good teams. We suddenly start thinking this is our 'Best' team out of all the teams out there...Have been following PAK since childhood...and in pressure situations we start seeing dropped catches, misfieldings, poor batting, etc. One day it was Hasan Ali, another Fakhar, and today our best fielder Shadab. It brings down morale of our all players and spectators...Just look how that 9 extras over didnt let SL teams morale down..or when they were 58-5. They 'fought' their way back in as a Team..We simply loose it and start 'Panicking'...If no changes are done before WC i dont see myself watching all matches unless they somehow qualify for the Semis/final..

Babar and Rizwan are not going to sacrifice their opening positions as their rankings are at stake...and Fakhar/Middle order will keep playing like lost batsmen...with this approach you are not going to beat the Best teams out there...All the best for WC

Management and Captain should not be afraid to drop poor peformers, like we did (Ahmed Shehzad/Wahab Riaz) and won the CT...not finding weaknesses and working on them will haunt us going forward...

World cup is in Australia and if pak.expect to win wC with Rizwan and Babar opening ,I guess you are living in fool's paradise.There are no strokeplayers but rather sloggers in team.pak may at Max. Win 1-2 games and be satisfied..I guess seeing true nature of pitches which assist stroke making Pakistan should adopt horses for courses approach and team should be like
Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel khan
Haider Ali
Babar
Azam Khan(wk)
Iftikhar
Shahdab
Faheem Ashraf
Rouf
Naseem
Afridi

Remember 2014 asia cup

Have a seat and take a breath and reflect if India is suppose to be the greatest team of all time, the team that can never ever lose a match, the team that has no flaws or weakness, the team that is perfect than please take a look at these results mister Punjab King

Whats wrong with the above results?
We are consistently into Finals/SF except last t20 wc.

We won Asia cup 7 times.
ODI wc two times
CT two times
T20 wc one time

Was india in the final or not? Plz answer this question.

If not, than better to not argue..

I understand the issue indians have with rizwan. The guy has pounded runs against them so thry need to hate him

I personally don't hate him at all. In fact I like him. Him and Babar are extremely likeable guys. Even yesterday after the match, he was showering Sri Lanka with praises. A very humble man. Add to that, he's a good player. So respect for him.

Something feels seriously wrong. Being a country of 220 millions and focussing more or less only one game (cricket) we should be able to find a few decent batsmen. One opener and two middle order batsmen.

This is fundamental problem with Pakistani fans

If u criticize their favorite player bcoz that player won some match against India

Brother learn to have a proper discussion without being so salty and small minded !

Even Indians have strongly criticized Kohli and KL Rahul in r3cent times for scoring runs slowly in T20. The same reason Rizwan is getting criticized now

Its not hate. U cannot win T20s playing so slowly - especially when u chase 170

Check my posts on Kohli. I wanted him out of T20 team bcoz of this reason

Whats wrong with the above results?
We are consistently into Finals/SF except last t20 wc.

We won Asia cup 7 times.
ODI wc two times
CT two times
T20 wc one time

The post is reply to punjab king read previous post and you will understand. As he makes india sound like the worlds greatest team who can never lose a match

Remember 2014 asia cup

India is a super choker at this moment, in any knockout match. It doesn't matter who is the opposition. Probably Zimbabwe would also give them a run for a money. But in Test cricket, India is a solid team, even after occasional set backs.

Rizwan fans. Those who cannot see anything wrong with this side. Those who are happy to not fix what is clearly broken.

No sane Pakistani fan will think they can win it. The thread is created by a Rizwan hater what has rizwan got to do with it. I have answered you in another thread and as usual you have done a runner. Pakistan will happily kick out rizwan when you have someone to replace him but when the options you are coming up with are rubbish Ie fixer sharjeel and fakhar. Give a better suggestion.

Very rarely I have seen a Pakistani XI without at least 2 outdated, out of form ttfs or bits-n-pieces players.

Pakistan do not select an XI we select a IX. So in a way we already give an advantage to the opposition and start our games with unnecessary pressure on our main bowlers/batters.

Just ask yourselves, would any top self-respecting top side for example Aus, Eng or Ind etc. would keep on insisting with deadweight players... series after series, tourney after tourney?

The problem is deeply rooted in bad selection against a certain opposition in certain conditions.

Our dumb thinktank didn't play Haider Ali and paid the price.

I got a feeling they will not learn anything and in the world cup it will be rinse and repeat.

If Pakistan do not drop the deadweight and do not introduce new players in the 7 T20Is against England and the T20I tri-series in New Zealand then they deserve to lose.

Rizwan doesn’t scare us or neither Indians hate him. Firstly he comes across as a humble guy and always smiling. Not like Afridi-Akthar etc back in the day. In fact he reminds me of Younis, Misbah,Hafeez type player who play match winning knocks against us time to time on easy conditions but that’s part of the game.

However his drama of playing like he is fighting from his death bed and injury breaks etc is annoying. Not because we lost but the visuals are funny and cringe when it doesn’t involve us and it’s irritating when it is us at the receiving ends of those water and injury breaks.

Pakistan team has played good cricket in the last T20 world cup and in a couple of matches in the Asia cup 22. However, they choked at the wrong time in both tournaments. If they break that, they are serious contenders for the world cup.

It’s the same pathetic draconian mindset we cling onto in a format that’s seeing more and more positive intent in terms of scoring.

Babar, Rizwan, Khushdil, and Iftikhar. Enough space in the batting for 2 of these guys, and we all know it’s not the latter 2.

Rizwan doesn’t scare us or neither Indians hate him. Firstly he comes across as a humble guy and always smiling. Not like Afridi-Akthar etc back in the day. In fact he reminds me of Younis, Misbah,Hafeez type player who play match winning knocks against us time to time on easy conditions but that’s part of the game.

However his drama of playing like he is fighting from his death bed and injury breaks etc is annoying. Not because we lost but the visuals are funny and cringe when it doesn’t involve us and it’s irritating when it is us at the receiving ends of those water and injury breaks.

Talks about not hating, than goes on to say easy conditions(whole india team fail in same condition)

Than also talks about drama...

He can take as many breaks as he wants. You want him to take less breaks than get him out.......

Technically speaking we can win it. Realistically we don't have a prayer against much better sides then Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. Expect the same tuk, tuk batting showing no urgency or intent at all.

Rizwan and iftakar took 80balls and scored 87 runs and left 40 balls for other batters to score 83 runs which was impossible infront of quality bowling of Sri Lanka.
And here some people are saying that Rizwan will win them T20 World Cup.....
Joke of the century 🤣🤣

Lol you sound like a typical Indian poster we see all over social media with comical analysis and chest thumping of "India is the baast team ever" and "India baast country" etc etc troll rubbish. Your types don't last here long and belong on twitter and subpar Indian forums.

We know you are hurt deep after losing against Pakistan, take it easy it's just a game :)

Pakistan can win the World Cup. We have above average bowling and if they limit the opposition to a below par score we have a chance to win.

Let’s get this straight. We are not winning the tournament. We might fluke a game here and there but the tournament is already gone

No point changing this batting blue print now. Might as well go with it and fail handsomely in the World Cup. It’s not like this stubborn, deluded management and leadership group are going to make the necessary changes. They probably thought it was an off game and nothing is actually wrong.

The real question is, what are they going to do to make things right for the next WC? Are they going to continue to allow these freeloaders to do what they want (without accountability) and hope we fluke a tournament win? Or are they going to open their eyes and do what’s right?

We are walking into a World Cup with Babar and Rizwan as our powerplay hitters. This too shall pass…

They need to start playing the youngsters such as Haider Ali and Haris and leave Sharjeel,Fakhar Malik out of the squad for good :)

Go to sleep.

They need to start playing the youngsters such as Haider Ali and Haris and leave Sharjeel,Fakhar Malik out of the squad for good :)

Ok

Here is an alternative Pakistan XI moving forward

1. Muhammad Harris
2. Saim Ayub
3. Babar Azam
4. Mohammad Nawaz
5. Qasim Akram
6. Shadab Khan
7. Asif Ali
8. Wasim JR
9. Shaheen Afridi (vc)
10. Harris Rauf
11. Naseem Shah

Can you guarantee they will go with this side and build it for 2 years?