Pakistan declared the best holiday destination for 2020 by Condé Nast Traveller

Mian

Condé Nast Traveler magazine declared Pakistan the best holiday destination for 2020, Leaving Behind Places like France, UK, China, Japan, Denmark & the World. We are emerging on the world Map.

1. PAKISTAN

The adventure traveller’s must-visit goes from strength to strength

Thwarted by tales of terrorism and Taliban rule, Pakistan’s tourism industry has been stymied for the past two decades. But ancient valleys, relaxed visa restrictions and a high-profile royal visit in the offing mean this remarkable country is finally getting the focus it deserves.

Because this is a place of exquisite landscapes, where green spaces are overlooked by towering mountains. In fact, Pakistan has more peaks taller than 22,965ft than China and Nepal combined, making it an almost magnetic spot for adventure travellers and intrepid hikers. Visitors can follow in Michael Palin’s steps while traversing the 12,250ft Shandur Pass, home to the world’s highest polo field, or meet with the Kalash people of the Hindu Kush, famed for their cowrie-shell headdresses and brighter-than-bright embroidery. In Lahore, the sight of 100,000 worshippers crammed into the sandstone 17th-century Badshahi Mosque will leave you breathless, while Mughal-era architectural masterpieces stand resplendent on bustling street corners.

‘Having operated tours in Pakistan since the late 1990s, I’ve had a ringside seat to its troubled tourism industry, but finally it seems to be improving,’ says Jonny Bealby, founder and CEO of adventure-tour operator Wild Frontiers. ‘A focus on security measures, which saw the British FCO lift its advice against travel to large parts of the north, and the election of Imran Khan, who has vowed to increase international tourist numbers, has already had an impact,’ he says.

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge are also due to visit this Autumn to witness the magic of the mountains first-hand, while many of the frustrating permits previously required to travel here have been dropped. Hardy visitors will find that little has changed since Mughal times – with the peaks’ gemstone mines, fairy meadows and winding trails worn into the ground by heavy-laden yaks – while the Karokoram, stretching upwards from the north-west frontier and carved into the ancient bedrock, is one of the world’s most astonishing highways.

https://www.cntraveller.com/gallery/best-holiday-destinations-2020

This is just totally awesome. Conde Naste Traveller is the strongest endorsement you can possibly get in the world. Pakistan not just among the top 20 it is No.1 recommended travel destination.

Just a few days ago The Independent also declared Pakistan as the second best destination to visit in 2020 after Egypt.

nice, it was only a matter of time, Pakistan is super varied, lots of stuff to do and the food is banging.

if anyone has done anything fun in pak, trekking, hiking, driving, all of that, this thread could be a good reference for people who want to do something similar in the future.

This is just totally awesome. Conde Naste Traveller is the strongest endorsement you can possibly get in the world. Pakistan not just among the top 20 it is No.1 recommended travel destination.

Just a few days ago The Independent also declared Pakistan as the second best destination to visit in 2020 after Egypt.

Substantial amount of efforts are behind all these endorsements so whoever has contributed deserves appreciation. Most of the tourists come for hiking and trekking so there is still huge amount of work required to develop the tourist attractions. Infrastructure is still not good enough in most Northern areas and accommodation options are also limited so I hope we continue to focus on this while we are marketing Pakistan to such level.

But but but GoP is paying all travel vloggers and nobody is coming out of their own free will :sree

Anyone seen the trailer for the upcoming Redbull movie in Pakistan?

Copied : This Summer, two of the world’s best freeriders were in Pakistan to scale and freeride down from the mythical Laila Peak (6,096m). This stunning mountain has a distinctive spear-like shape and its northwest face has a slope of 45 degrees for more than 1500 vertical metres, which has attracted a lot of freeriders over the last four years. Jérémie Heitz (world’s fastest freerider) and Sam Anthamatten (considered as one of the best freerider in the Freeride World Tour) took on this challenge. The Redbull sponsored project took quite some time to organize and was only made possible thanks to administrative & logistical support by ISPR. Redbull has just released the teaser of their upcoming movie « La Liste: Everything or Nothing », which is scheduled to be released by Fall 2020. Laila Peak makes for a major part of this movie.

1. Pakistan
The adventure traveller’s must-visit goes from strength to strength

Thwarted by tales of terrorism and Taliban rule, Pakistan’s tourism industry has been stymied for the past two decades. But ancient valleys, relaxed visa restrictions and a high-profile royal visit in the offing mean this remarkable country is finally getting the focus it deserves.

Because this is a place of exquisite landscapes, where green spaces are overlooked by towering mountains. In fact, Pakistan has more peaks taller than 22,965ft than China and Nepal combined, making it an almost magnetic spot for adventure travellers and intrepid hikers. Visitors can follow in Michael Palin’s steps while traversing the 12,250ft Shandur Pass, home to the world’s highest polo field, or meet with the Kalash people of the Hindu Kush, famed for their cowrie-shell headdresses and brighter-than-bright embroidery. In Lahore, the sight of 100,000 worshippers crammed into the sandstone 17th-century Badshahi Mosque will leave you breathless, while Mughal-era architectural masterpieces stand resplendent on bustling street corners.

‘Having operated tours in Pakistan since the late 1990s, I’ve had a ringside seat to its troubled tourism industry, but finally it seems to be improving,’ says Jonny Bealby, founder and CEO of adventure-tour operator Wild Frontiers. ‘A focus on security measures, which saw the British FCO lift its advice against travel to large parts of the north, and the election of Imran Khan, who has vowed to increase international tourist numbers, has already had an impact,’ he says.

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge are also due to visit this Autumn to witness the magic of the mountains first-hand, while many of the frustrating permits previously required to travel here have been dropped. Hardy visitors will find that little has changed since Mughal times – with the peaks’ gemstone mines, fairy meadows and winding trails worn into the ground by heavy-laden yaks – while the Karokoram, stretching upwards from the north-west frontier and carved into the ancient bedrock, is one of the world’s most astonishing highways.

https://www.cntraveller.com/gallery...&utm_content=www.instagram.com/p/B5zWHa_Ifh4/

Man this is stunning! Where is it in Pakistan?
Northern Areas of Pakistan. Karakoram range to be specific where K2 the second largest peak in world is located. Northern Areas of Pakistan is the place where three different mountains ranges Karakoram, Himalayas and Hindukush meet each other and most of the world high peak are located here.

Not been there, sounds beautiful.
Just going on the motorway fom lahore to islamabad, when you are approaching islamabad, has some beautiful scenery.

Not been there, sounds beautiful.
Just going on the motorway fom lahore to islamabad, when you are approaching islamabad, has some beautiful scenery.

That's near Chakwal district and that area is called Kakarkahar with beautiful scenery when you get close to Islamabad from Lahore on motorway.

I dont know what the names of the areas are but there are these beautiful red hills/ mountains, truly breathe taking, makes you drift into a diffetent place, away from hate and the troubles of the world. Just left in awe and the wonder of Allah(swt).
Magical!

2020 will be the year when Pakistan will skyrocket to the top.

InshaAllah.

I did that route on a train as a teenager. Still gives me goosebumps when I recall it.

I dont know what the names of the areas are but there are these beautiful red hills/ mountains, truly breathe taking, makes you drift into a diffetent place, away from hate and the troubles of the world. Just left in awe and the wonder of Allah(swt).
Magical!

Watch this video from 1:38 you will get a beautiful aerial view of Kalar Kahar from Lahore-Islamabad motorway.

<iframe width="699" height="393" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_FyjK2CMLKw" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

But but but GoP is paying all travel vloggers and nobody is coming out of their own free will :sree

Recall another thread with similar idiotic comments. Pakistan gov paying vbloggers to make positive comments about Pakistan. Stupid people!

Anyone seen the trailer for the upcoming Redbull movie in Pakistan?

Copied : This Summer, two of the world’s best freeriders were in Pakistan to scale and freeride down from the mythical Laila Peak (6,096m). This stunning mountain has a distinctive spear-like shape and its northwest face has a slope of 45 degrees for more than 1500 vertical metres, which has attracted a lot of freeriders over the last four years. Jérémie Heitz (world’s fastest freerider) and Sam Anthamatten (considered as one of the best freerider in the Freeride World Tour) took on this challenge. The Redbull sponsored project took quite some time to organize and was only made possible thanks to administrative & logistical support by ISPR. Redbull has just released the teaser of their upcoming movie « La Liste: Everything or Nothing », which is scheduled to be released by Fall 2020. Laila Peak makes for a major part of this movie.

Redbul also sponsored this amazing documentary few years ago. 37:00 onwards is pure magic.

Boht jald. Sunna hai Attock ka katwa gosht boht lazeez hota hai.:ashwin:inzi2

Aaho Attock ke Chach area ka but only on weddings and there is one dish rule in Chach so katwa khila khila ker he maar dete hen :P

Another one for ski lovers !

Wow, amazing. Thanks for sharing. I'm going to be skiing in a few weeks time and this just whets the appetite. Can't wait to ski in Pakistan.

As a lot of these places are untouched, I'm guessing that the infrastructure for ski tourism is not in place or lacking? Are there ski resorts there?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Best Holiday Destinations for 2020<br><br>1. Pakistan &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;<br>2. UK &#55356;&#56812;&#55356;&#56807;<br>3. Kyrgyzstan &#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#56812;<br>4. Armenia &#55356;&#56806;&#55356;&#56818;<br>5. Brazil &#55356;&#56807;&#55356;&#56823;<br>6. Australia &#55356;&#56806;&#55356;&#56826;<br>7. Ireland &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56810;<br>8. Philippines &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56813;<br>9. France &#55356;&#56811;&#55356;&#56823;<br>10. Sicily &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56825;<br>11. Senegal&#55356;&#56824;&#55356;&#56819;<br>12. US &#55356;&#56826;&#55356;&#56824;<br>13. Lebanon &#55356;&#56817;&#55356;&#56807;<br>14. China &#55356;&#56808;&#55356;&#56819;<br>15. Denmark &#55356;&#56809;&#55356;&#56816;<br><br>20. Japan &#55356;&#56815;&#55356;&#56821;<br><br>(CN Travellers)</p>— The Pakistan Index (@thepakindex) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepakindex/status/1206594017913458689?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 16, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Aaho Attock ke Chach area ka but only on weddings and there is one dish rule in Chach so katwa khila khila ker he maar dete hen :P

No yaar, I have family roots from chach area in attock, and the katwee dishes there are unique

I like katwa gosht and the katwa gosht from chach is awesome i was just mentioning the fact that you need to be a katwa fan if you are going to attend a wedding in chach area of Attock because chances are high that there will be no other dish except katwa there!

They should also promote the Mekran coastal belt. Endless blue green beaches and Hingol National Park.
There are so many oasis in Baluchistan that have breathtaking beauty.
My only fear is, once Pakistan public starts visiting these, they will turn them to crap with littering and destroying natural resources.

They should also promote the Mekran coastal belt. Endless blue green beaches and Hingol National Park.
There are so many oasis in Baluchistan that have breathtaking beauty.
My only fear is, once Pakistan public starts visiting these, they will turn them to crap with littering and destroying natural resources.

Chatok Moola

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/fRyQfVfp7ao" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I like katwa gosht and the katwa gosht from chach is awesome i was just mentioning the fact that you need to be a katwa fan if you are going to attend a wedding in chach area of Attock because chances are high that there will be no other dish except katwa there!

Checks out. My mouth is watering now.

Which village are you from? My parents are from Jalalia.

Jalalia that's near Ghorghushti in Chach area close to Tarbela Ghazi road and KP. My village is at the other side of Attock District it's in Jand area but i know most of the villages in chach and travel regularly there.

This is how we mostly prepare our food at marriage functions in occupied Kashmir .

Interestingly it's also the tradition here in the villages of Pakistani Punjab and KP.

Jalalia that's near Ghorghushti in Chach area close to Tarbela Ghazi road and KP. My village is at the other side of Attock District it's in Jand area but i know most of the villages in chach and travel regularly there.

Thats so cool to hear bro. Ive family from Ghourghusti and Shinka aswell.

Jand is like 2.5 hours from Jalalia according to Google maps or this another Jand?

Thats so cool to hear bro. Ive family from Ghourghusti and Shinka aswell.

Jand is like 2.5 hours from Jalalia according to Google maps or this another Jand?

Yes that's right Jand Tehsil is at the other end of Attock District. Attock is a very large district by area. It takes nearly 4 hours to travel from one end of Attock District to the other end. New Islamabad Airport is also in Attock (Fateh Jang Tehsil).

Know a few people from gurgushti, behboodi, ghazi etc always hearing bout these areas need to visit..

Ghorghushti is a very modern village and it's called chota England because from every house there at least 1 or 2 persons are settled in UK. You should visit and dont forget to try katwa gosht!

Ghazi is just a few minutes drive from Ghorghushti but interestingly Ghazi is in KP and Ghorghushti is in Punjab.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan is a land of unimaginable beauty, hidden natural wonders and untapped tourism potential. <a href="https://t.co/Zvs5x5aOId">https://t.co/Zvs5x5aOId</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1211175689556287488?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 29, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan declared world’s third highest potential adventure destination for 2020 <a href="https://t.co/IaYw3h0sFJ">https://t.co/IaYw3h0sFJ</a></p>— Gulf News (@gulf_news) <a href="https://twitter.com/gulf_news/status/1211244436837031937?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 29, 2019</a></blockquote>

lets not forget india's contribution to our tourism sector.
#gotopakistan is trending there, free advertising.

The haters saying Pakistan unsafe for bd team are missing in this thread, including our very local mamoon

Pakistan is awesome, beautiful and happening. Inshallah this is just the start now. Darkness is gradually giving way to light, alhumdolillah.

he Pakistan High Commission in the United Kingdom will be running a “Visit Pakistan” video message on London’s New Year’s Day Parade (LNYDP) 2020.

The specially-produced video with the national anthem tune played in the background contains Prime Minister Imran Khan’s brief message, some most beautiful photos and scenes of country’s breathtaking tourist destinations and glimpses of the Royal Couple’s recent visit to Pakistan.

Pakistan would be one of the twelve (12) countries/brands to be showcased on the Giant Screens covering the LNYDP throughout the day.

Screens will be strategically located along the parade route of London at Piccadilly Circus, Pall Mall, Trafalgar Square and Big Ben/Houses of Parliament.

The video message will be played in front of as many as 650,000 Street Spectators in addition to more than 1 million viewing audience throughout the day.

High Commissioner Mohammad Nafees Zakaria commenting on the initiative said: “Presenting Pakistan as the top tourist destination for 2020 on the Giant Screens in London is a unique opportunity. This is the occasion when tourists decide where to visit during the year ahead and ‘Visit Pakistan’ message is perfectly timed, particularly after the successful Royal Visit to Pakistan.

Recently, Conde Nast Traveller, a prestigious travel publication of the US, ranked Pakistan as the top tourist destination.Earlier, British Backpacker Society rated Pakistan the top destination.

https://dailytimes.com.pk/530149/pakistan-tourism-video-to-appear-on-londons-new-year-day-parade/

People from India are burning with jealousy to see Pak being ranked as number one tourist spot for 2020.

Let's face it, we aren't ready yet for any kind of tourism.

As someone who has seen the places before the tourist boom, it pains my heart to see how even local tourism is causing an adverse impact on the flora and fauna and how much litter people are generating.

The mountains are calling, and they are literally calling the people to take their trash back.

The haters saying Pakistan unsafe for bd team are missing in this thread, including our very local mamoon

If Pakistan is safe for touring teams, we should not offer presidential level security. We should have the number of security forces as countries like India, England and Australia when they host teams.

We do take those measures because (a) we cannot convince teams otherwise and (b) we don’t trust our own words when we claim that we are now safe. We know that things can go south at any point.

Now as far as convincing other boards are concerned, we need to accept the reality - PCB and the Govt. of Pakistan have zero credibility, and teams will only tour if they feel comfortable and secure. We cannot bully them into coming by nagging and pestering.

When it comes to tourism, well Pakistan is an attractive option only for people who are interested in the northern areas. Apart from that, we don’t have much to offer and there are hundreds of other countries that you can visit.

I understand why we are doing bhangra over this, but I don’t see regular people making a beeline to visit Pakistan because it is the so-called top travel destination of the year.

When I say regular people I am excluding mountaineers, hippies, vloggers etc.

Pakistan doesn’t have much to offer to people who want to go on honeymoon, have a destination wedding, do some shopping or just visit the country for no particular reason.

At the Karachi airport right now and I'm in the waiting lounge for a regional flight going to a South Asian country.

Two things really stand out:

1. Number of Chinese here waiting for flight
2. Number of normal white people which is a lot more than I expected.

Those who want to bark will keep barking no matter what.

Don’t know about being the best destination but people working at passport control center are far more efficient at Islamabad than lets say Jeddah Airport. The staff at Jeddah just wastes your time with hasi mazaq and thats the last thing somebody wants if they are sitting in plane for 10 hours. Also desis working at Jeddah airport are even worse and have no manners.

Holy Crap.

People are still upset about this?

It isn't like Pakistan declare Pakistan best destination to travel in 2020.

I am sure ISI, Pak government, Pak Army didn't pay multiple media outlet to make this up.

But PP family can count on one, who would, for the remaining of his life, would try to find negative in any positive news pertaining to Pakistan, we would get long essay about same thing over and over, trying to justify negative that he has found, what a sad way to live.

Forbes joins the party...

Forbes includes Pakistan in its best ‘under the radar’ places to visit in 2020 list

Wild Frontiers has been tipping Pakistan as the next big destination for a couple of years now, but with the recent visit and royal seal of approval from the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, they anticipate the destination will continue to be one to watch. “Pakistan is perhaps the ultimate adventure travel destination,” says founder Jonny Bealby. “It offers ancient Indus civilizations stretching back 4,000 years, and exciting cities like Lahore with its forts, mosques and palaces. But most of all, it offers incredible scenery, particularly in the north where the three greatest mountain ranges collide. Pakistan is great for trekking, mountain biking, rafting or just cultural tourism. The infrastructure has also improved, with resurfaced roads and new tunnels cutting down travel time, new luxury hotels are opening up in the region.” Wild Frontiers’ 16-day group tour travels up to the Northwest Frontier taking in mountain scenery, the Kalash people, the Hunza Valley and the Kingdom of Chitral.

Source: https://www.forbes.com/sites/annabe...-under-the-radar-trips-for-2020/#57e3467e2264

Forbes joins the party...

Forbes includes Pakistan in its best ‘under the radar’ places to visit in 2020 list

Wild Frontiers has been tipping Pakistan as the next big destination for a couple of years now, but with the recent visit and royal seal of approval from the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, they anticipate the destination will continue to be one to watch. “Pakistan is perhaps the ultimate adventure travel destination,” says founder Jonny Bealby. “It offers ancient Indus civilizations stretching back 4,000 years, and exciting cities like Lahore with its forts, mosques and palaces. But most of all, it offers incredible scenery, particularly in the north where the three greatest mountain ranges collide. Pakistan is great for trekking, mountain biking, rafting or just cultural tourism. The infrastructure has also improved, with resurfaced roads and new tunnels cutting down travel time, new luxury hotels are opening up in the region.” Wild Frontiers’ 16-day group tour travels up to the Northwest Frontier taking in mountain scenery, the Kalash people, the Hunza Valley and the Kingdom of Chitral.

Source: https://www.forbes.com/sites/annabe...-under-the-radar-trips-for-2020/#57e3467e2264

Let me fetch negative in this news, oh there it is, the word 'Pakistan", where is the knife, I need to slit my wrist. lol

In Lahore, art and cricket are helping to overcome Pakistan’s relative isolation, but in a last-minute clash of dates there was only going to be one winner. With a fortnight to go before the opening of the 2020 Lahore Biennale, its artistic director learned that the venue for the opening day’s performances would be off limits due to increased security for an international cricket match.

Hoor Al-Qasimi, the biennale’s pragmatic artistic director, takes the news in her stride. “So, I am reshuffling the performances for the 28th, the third day of the opening week,” she tells Artnet News. “I keep calm and smiling.”

Al-Qasimi, the founder and director of the Sharjah Art Foundation in the United Arab Emirates, has organized a far more international biennale than the inaugural event in the eastern Pakistan city. Work by around 80 artists, including some 20 new commissions, will go on show in venues across Lahore. The British artist Barbara Walker will be creating a large wall drawing in one of its historic markets, for example. “I was very happy she could make it,” Al-Qasimi says, adding: “Of course, I wanted more women. It is around 50-50. I was hoping for 60-40.”

Many artists from the West are reluctant to travel to Pakistan, put off by warnings that foreigners may be targeted, and the threat of terrorist attacks. However, Walker will be joined by fellow British artist John Akomfrah, among others. “They don’t have many artists coming from outside Pakistan because everyone is so afraid to visit,” the curator says. The Pakistan cricket team plays most of its “home” games in the UAE.

The inaugural Lahore Biennale attracted 1.5 million visitors, according to its organizers, a remarkable number for an exhibition that only fran for a fortnight. Al-Qasimi proposed the second edition, which launches at the weekend, and will run for three times longer, through the end of February. She admits that the decision has caused financial headaches, and involved lot of extra fundraising. “The budget is really low for this biennial, and most of it has gone to extending the show,” she says. Participating artists do get a fee, and visiting ones are repaid their expenses.

Connecting the Global South
Having relaunched the Sharjah Biennial in 2003, and put it on the art world map, Al-Qasimi is aware of the pitfalls of showing international contemporary art in a traditional society like Pakistan’s. Religious, moral, and national feelings are easily offended. “There are always sensitivities about the kind of work that you can put in public space but that is the same in Sharjah or anywhere else,” she says.

Lahore and the richness of its cultural history are new to the curator, which is one of the reasons why she accepted the invitation to organize it from Qudsia Rahim, the co-founder and director of the Lahore Biennale Foundation. “I was very interested because there is a long history between Pakistan and the Gulf. My image of Pakistan has always been through Britain, and the UAE,” says Al-Qasimi, who studied at London’s Slade School of Art.

Over a series of flying visits she has discovered a city with a wealth of historic sites, like the colonial-era market, as well as interesting modern buildings. “Originally, I had the whole city but then I had to cut it down,” she says of picking various venues. They include Lahore’s cricket ground, the Gaddafi Stadium, which is named after the former Libyan dictator, and the nearby academy where the players train. However, the city’s planetarium, which is run by Pakistan International Airlines, was her biggest coup.

With Rahim’s help, “and a lot of negotiations,” the curator persuaded the airline to open the planetarium’s doors to a new commission. An immersive project created by the Berlin-based, Kazakhstan-born artist Almagul Menlibayeva was inspired by the astronomical discoveries made by Islamic scholars in ancient Samarkand. It will include site-specific performances by the Amsterdam-based sound artist German Popov and Russian artist Inna Artemova.

The celestial work fits the title of the biennale, “Between the Sun and the Moon,” although the exhibition’s main focus will be on planet earth, in particular the “Global South,” the curator’s longstanding area of interest. “I wanted to do something about identities and connecting cultures because of the diaspora of British Asians, and the South Asians in the Gulf, and how historically we are all connected through migration,” Al-Qasimi explains. Rahim suggested the curator also included the links between Pakistan and Central Asia, hence the reference to Samarkand in Uzbekistan.

Remembering Okwui Enwezor
Another work close to the curator’s heart touches on Pakistan and India’s fraught political relationship, which dates back to the bloody birth of both nations as the British pulled out in 1947, leaving the subcontinent partitioned. The biennale takes place against a backdrop of renewed tension along long-disputed border. A new film by the Kuwaiti-Puerto Rican artist Alia Farid considers the legacy of partition. She focuses on the Indus river and its tributaries in the province of Punjab. After partition exploiting its water became one of many flashpoints between Pakistan and India.

“I have an older film by Amar Kanwar,” Al-Qasimi says. Showing the Indian artist’s poetic meditation on cross border links between the two countries, A Season Outside (1997) is also a tribute to her friend, the late curator Okwui Enwezor. “I was telling him about my project for Lahore and he said you must show this film. So I asked Amar and he said, ‘Of course.’

She will be paying bigger tribute to Enwezor next year when she helps realize the Nigerian curator’s vision for the 2021 Sharjah Biennial, which he agreed to organize before his untimely death in 2019. Including [Kanwar’s] film is so special because of the conversation behind it,” Al-Qasimi says.

“Between the Sun and the Moon,” 2020 Lahore Biennale, January 26 through February 29, various venues, Lahore, Pakistan.

https://news.artnet.com/exhibitions/lahore-biennale-hoor-al-qasimi-1758936

The United Kingdom on Friday changed its travel advice to reflect the improved security situation in Pakistan.

A press release from the British High Commission in Islamabad said that the change in the travel advice "is the result of a comprehensive review based on a wide-ranging assessment of the country’s security situation."

This is the first major update in the travel advice since 2015.

According to the press release, improved security situation has allowed for the return of British Airways to Pakistan in June 2019 and the visit by The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge in October 2019.

Among other changes, the advice now allows for travel by road to the north of Pakistan as well as the Kalash and Bamboret Valleys.

British High Commissioner to Pakistan Dr Christian Turner commented on the matter and said, “Following my arrival in December 2019, I made this review of the travel advice a priority. It is great credit to the hard work of the Pakistan government in delivering improved security over the past five years.

"I am delighted that British nationals will be able to see more of what Pakistan has to offer," he concluded.

Minister for Foreign Affairs Shah Mahmood Qureshi welcomed UK's decision to change its travel advice. He took to Twitter and said: "Pakistan: Land of peace and progress with incredible natural beauty, warmth & hospitality. This change in travel advice is encouraging, the first major update to the UK’s travel advisory to Pakistan since 2015. This will further strengthen Pak-UK relations. Welcome to Pakistan!"

https://www.dawn.com/news/1530299/p...-now-approves-road-trips-to-northern-pakistan

Tourists have long been drawn to Pakistan to experience a country that boasts rugged natural beauty, cultural richness, and unparalleled hospitality. But Pakistan’s massive tourism potential — touting everything from the world’s second-highest mountain to impressive archeological ruins dating back to the 10th century — has been overshadowed by safety concerns and regional instability.

Yet in recent years the country has been heavily invested in growing its tourism industry. And it’s working; Pakistan has been lauded by publications like Forbes and Condé Nast Traveler as a top destination for 2020, and even received a highly publicized visit from Prince William and Kate Middleton last October.

This past week at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan talked about the rise of tourism, calling it “the great potential of Pakistan.”

Pakistan is eager to tap into that potential. The country is in the process of developing a marketing campaign, “Brand Pakistan” to promote its image abroad and will be hosting the World Tourism Forum Leaders Meeting later this year. Western corporations are paying attention. Radisson Hotel Group last year announced a deal for its first-ever hotel in Pakistan.

Still, tourism officials must deal with some of the nagging realities in Pakistan. The country struggles with a lack of infrastructure and numerous environmental concerns.

HIPPIE TRAIL TO THE RETURN OF BRITISH AIRWAYS

Tourism in Pakistan has fluctuated since the country gained independence from British rule in 1947. Official interest began in the 1960s when Pakistan was part of the legendary “Hippie Trail” from Europe to Asia.

After the Soviet invasion of neighboring Afghanistan and an increase in domestic security issues, tourism experienced a lull throughout the 1980s, only to rise again in the 1990s as Pakistan emerged as a destination for adventure seekers and mountain-climbing aficionados.

However, the tourism industry was virtually decimated following the 9/11 attacks in the U.S. as many Western governments issued severe travel advisories against the country, and it was widely viewed as one of the most dangerous in the world. After Pakistan joined the U.S. in its war on terror, the security situation further deteriorated as the government battled terrorist groups like the Taliban.

After a massive bomb exploded outside of a Marriott Hotel in the country’s capital, Islamabad, in 2008, British Airways ceased flying to the country.

But tourism has bounced back, and in 2019 — more than a decade since its departure — British Airways returned as well.

According to widely circulated data attributed to the Pakistan Tourism Development Corporation, the number of foreigners who visited Pakistan on a tourist visa in 2017 was 10,476. That number jumped 70 percent to 17,823 in 2018. During his talk at the World Economic Forum, Khan said that tourism doubled between 2018 and 2019. Attempts to reach the Pakistan Tourism Development Corporation were unsuccessful.

This rapid growth can be attributed to the Khan government, said Karim Uddin, owner of Active Tours Pakistan.

“Pakistan’s tourism future is very bright and progressive under this leadership,” he added.

Khan has made increasing tourism a cornerstone of his agenda. He’s prioritized improving security and relaxed Pakistan’s infamously arduous visa policy; citizens of 175 countries can now apply for a visa online.

A SOCIAL MEDIA SENSATION

Social media has also played an outsize role in facilitating tourism in Pakistan. Many well-known travel bloggers have visited, helping challenge long-held assumptions about the country.

“Traditional marketing is well and good, but there’s power to actually seeing other travelers like you visiting a country and showing something positive,” said travel blogger Alex Reynolds. ‘Social media legitimizes ideas over time; the more ‘normal’ tourists who visited Pakistan, enjoyed themselves, and shared about it on social media, the more the idea of Pakistan as a destination formed in people’s minds.’

Reynolds, who runs the site Lost With Purpose and first visited the country in 2016, has witnessed the rapid changes firsthand.

“When I first traveled to Pakistan, there was virtually no practical travel information available online,” she said. “Even adventurous travelers questioned my decision to go. I saw a grand total of two foreign tourists in six weeks. These days, foreign tourists are a common sight in popular spots, and I field questions about traveling Pakistan daily.”

MORE THAN JUST ADVENTURE TOURISM

While “the world is obsessed with traveling in the north,” the country is much more than just a destination for adventure tourism, said Muhammad Waleed, co-founder of Destination Pakistan, a platform dedicated to promoting tourism. The country is geographically diverse; in addition to its famous peaks, Pakistan has desert, lakes, forests, and more than 700 miles of coastline, from which the Khan-led government plans to develop beaches of international standards.

“Pakistan has historical tourism, it has the 5,000 year old Indus Valley Civilization, Mohenjo-Daro, which is one of the oldest. Then it has religious tourism; it has some of the most sacred sites for Hinduism, Sikhism, Sufiism and then Buddhism. And then the mountain tourism in Pakistan — almost half the peaks are over 24,000 feet,” Khan said at Davos. “So it is untouched as a concentration for providing jobs to people and improving the growth rate.”

Pakistan has six UNESCO World Heritage sites and 26 more on a tentative list. The total number of foreign visitors to cultural sites more than doubled from 7,028 in 2017 to 18,041 in 2018, according to a report conducted by Gallup Pakistan.

The country is also legendary among travelers for its hospitality.

“There’s two simple reasons I keep coming back to Pakistan: people and places. In Pakistan it’s immensely easy to meet and interact with locals,” Reynolds said. “Pakistanis aren’t afraid to strike up a conversation, and English is widespread. A few seconds of conversation can turn into an invitation for chai or a stay at someone’s home more often than I ever could have imagined before.”

The 700-year-old Batit Fort in northern Pakistan has been on the UNESCO World Heritage Tentative list since 2004. Photo: Active Tours Pakistan

DRIVING ECONOMIC GROWTH

The total contribution of travel and tourism to gross domestic product is set to climb from $22 billion in 2017 to nearly $40 billion by 2028, according to a report released by the World Travel and Tourism Council,

The travel industry is taking note. Radisson Hotel Group plans to have 10 hotels and 2,000 rooms in operation and under development across the country by 2025.

“Pakistan is seeing a surge in its economy as the security situation in the country continues to improve,” said Elie Milky, vice president of development for Radisson. “The current tourism infrastructure is still relatively under-developed, which presents itself with massive opportunities to build on.

The country is also experiencing increased economic development thanks to China’s massive —albeit controversial — Belt and Road Initiative, which is creating the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor. The project — which is valued at $62 billion — aims to improve infrastructure and promote tourism and trade between the two countries.

THE IMPORTANCE OF SUSTAINABLE TOURISM

A rapid increase in tourism does not come without complications. Infrastructure is still lacking, and the country needs more hotels and trained hospitality workers, Active Tours’ Uddin stressed.

Also of worry is the environmental impact of tourism. A surge in both foreign and domestic tourists has led to litter accumulating at tourist sites, and single-use plastic is rampant, Waleed said. Some of the more popular regions have seen deforestation increase as locals cut down trees to build more accommodations to meet the demand.

“The country is at an exciting pivotal point right now: because it was so overlooked by tourism for decades, it basically has the opportunity to design a sustainable tourism industry from the ground up,” Reynolds said. “If a strong foundation is laid down now, the country will prosper in the coming years, and can serve as a model to other overlooked developing countries hoping to increase tourism.”

https://skift.com/2020/01/30/pakistan-gets-serious-about-its-tourism-pitch/

Out of interest- how many of those living outside Pakistan have recommended Pakistan as holiday destination to your friends?

I do it every opportunity I get: team lunches, happy hours et al. are great opportunities to do so.

That, and badmouthing India with copious references to Savarkar's work, is the least I can do for my country.

Quite a few of my american classmates have visited Pakistan as a result of my badgering lol

I have been recommending Pakistan for a while to all my colleagues... showed them pics and they love it. One of my colleague is planning to go this year.

Recently had the pleasure to travel on the Lahore-Islamabad highway.

Very impressive with some excellent service stops on the way and some great scenery.

20200226_130719.jpg20200226_115420.jpg20200226_130738.jpg20200226_114552.jpg20200226_114739.jpg

completely random bt i was in croatia a few years ago, and went away from the coastal cities, went and had lunch at a local farm, and the roads, weather, scenery reminded me so much of northern punjab in pakistan. got reminded by the pics [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] posted

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A mountain, resembling to Donald Trump’s face, has been found in Balochistan, Pakistan &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;<br><br>Credits: Asad Mir Baloch &#55357;&#56573;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BeautifulPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BeautifulPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Travel?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Travel</a> <a href="https://t.co/kO2onap9lv">pic.twitter.com/kO2onap9lv</a></p>— Discover Pakistan &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; | پاکستان (@PakistanNature) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakistanNature/status/1249961975695761408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Irony is that the year we were listed as top tourist destination, there is no tourism going on in that year.

Humari kismet ko ikhees toppon ki salaami

:salute

PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has planned the ‘controlled’ reopening of the tourist areas with low coronavirus incidence after Eidul Azha, claim officials.

Officials told Dawn that the plan called ‘bubble tourism’ was conceived by the National Tourism Coordination Board headed by special assistant to the prime minister Zulfi Bukhari.

They said Chief Minister Mahmood Khan, who holds the tourism portfolio, would decide about the tourism reopening after Eid.

The officials said the government would monitor the Covid-19 situation for around a week after Eid in tourist areas before ordering the reopening of those, which were no longer virus hotspots, for ‘controlled tourism’.

“In the first phase, only families will be allowed to visit those areas,” an official said.

Officials say initially, families will get access to such places

He said restaurants and parks would also reopen in such areas as their continued closure would serve no purpose.

The official said the standard operating procedures made by the tourism department for the reopening of tourism had been notified after approval by the cabinet.

According to the SOPs, hotels and restaurants in those areas will display instructions for employees and customers on how to prevent Covid-19.

They will follow the federal government’s guidelines regarding Covid-19 testing and quarantine for international guests and inform domestic tourists about the requirement of adherence to SOPs.

In addition, the eateries and hotels will record information about general health needs of a guest for assistance from local health authorities if required.

“For the guest transport provided by the hotels, the drivers will have to wear masks and gloves and vehicles, the guest travelling should be reasonably disinfected after every arrival/departure. The hotels should also ensure to keep guest instructions at backseats and the booklet must cover all steps being taken by hotel for safety and sanitisation.”

According to SOPs, the hotels also ensure temperature checks at the entrance and if possible disinfectant walkthrough gate must be placed at the entrance.

For all pre-booked guests, check-in formalities will be completed online to reduce contact and time at the front desk, while the desk staff should wear face masks and gloves.

The hotels will also ensure that no more than two people in single occupancy room and four people in double occupancy room and where possible separate check-out counters be established.

Depending on the size of elevator not more than two people would be allowed to take a ride at the same time.

For restaurants, it will mandatory to make all serving staff wearing gloves and masks, while the number of tables will be reduced to maintain social distancing. The SOPs declare that if possible, disposable plates and cutlery should be used and disposable napkins should be used.

The relevant district administration in coordination with the police and directorate of tourist services will ensure SOP implementation, while the area-specific implementation committee will be notified by the respective deputy commissioners.

An official said the provincial government had also planned to open sporting activities in three phases and a proposal had been shared with the inter-provincial coordination department for the purpose.

He said individual practice would be allowed in the first phase, group practice in in the second and sporting events in the last.

The official said SOPs had been drafted for the opening of sporting events.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1572225/tourist-areas-with-low-covid-19-incidence-to-be-opened-after-eid

Good for Pakistan and its economy.

Sad though, that this award must come at a time when the tourism industry worldwide is in the toilet due to corona.

ISLAMABAD: After the government lifted coronavirus restrictions across the country, the tourism sector is seen coming out of the lurch after a hiatus of five months.

Tourist destinations all over the country — including the federal capital — are slowly reopening and gearing to welcome visitors under the safety measures outlined by the government.

The step has been taken to revive an economy buckled under the weight of coronavirus pandemic.

According to visitors, cultural spots have also begun to reopen their doors with fewer crowds and new rules with a large number of visitors seen wearing protective masks.

A number of tourists on Sunday flocked to Naran, Kaghan, Nathiagali, Murree, Swat, and other tourist destinations in the Hazara division where police along with officials of health departments were on the road to facilitate the guests, visitors added.

While speaking to APP, Sami Shabir, a visitor in Murree, expressed his happiness saying: "After lockdown restrictions eased around the country, our favorite places are reopening their doors to welcome us once again."

A group of youngsters in Murree regretted that a large number of people flocked to popular tourist sites and major cities over the weekend, despite warnings from health authorities that the risk posed by the coronavirus pandemic remains far from over.

Read more: COVID-19: Tourists can enter Gilgit tomorrow after showing medical reports

Another tourist, Bilal Malik, while travelling to Naran and Kaghan commented that the reopening of the tourism sector is vital to the country’s economy and this would help compensate businesses for the lost income and would help the country’s economy recover faster.

Many of the country’s restaurants that were shuttered only days ago also appeared to be doing a brisk trade, with several requiring reservations to enter, he added.

He further said that the country "needs tourism", and with safety measures enforced at both the traveller's origin and place of destination, the government can ensure that tourists are safe and that they do not bring “any risk to these places".

A 50-year-old citizen, Suleman Javed, said that the health department in a notification had already directed visitors to ensure the use of sanitiser while visiting parks, museums, historical and other places to avoid contracting COVID-19.

He said people should prefer online booking of rooms and tickets to minimise the risk of exposure to the coronavirus.

COVID-19 risk stands far from over, warn medical experts
As the government announced the lifting of curbs, medical experts warned that it would cause another spike in cases, Arab News reported.

The varying restrictions, imposed in March, including the closure of schools, marriage halls, cinemas, international and domestic flights, helped the country bring down the death toll and the recovery rate to over 85%.

Read more: Medical experts warn of spike in COVID-19 cases as Pakistan lifts curbs

Following this, the government, on Thursday, had decided to lift these curbs beginning next week and reopen educational institutions next month on September 15.

Head of infectious diseases at the Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences (PIMS) Islamabad, Dr Nasim Akhtar, talking to Arab News, had said that patients had started coming into his facility's coronavirus ward after Eid-ul-Adha which was observed last week.

“Cases registered a sharp increase after Eid-ul-Fitr, and this can happen now again with the lifting of the lockdowns,” she said.

Akhtar was of the opinion that the government should have halted the reopening of restaurants and other public spaces for at least another two weeks.

“This is a bit early, and may worsen the situation again,” Akhtar said.

Dr Qaiser Sajjad, secretary-general of the Pakistan Medical Association said that the next week was pivotal as only a week had passed since the Eid holidays.

It is pertinent to note here that the incubation period of the coronavirus is 14 days.

Echoing Dr Akhtar's concerns, Dr Sajjad said that the move taken was in a "hurry".

The medical expert said that Spain and the United States have seen a record increase in deaths and infections after lifting the restrictions imposed to curb the pandemic.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/301975-country-welcomes-tourists-as-coronavirus-emergency-ends