Pakistan down England in thrilling World Cup encounter to end 11-match losing streak

No, two of the greatest ODI spinners of all time.

Perhaps you were looking at a mirror

Oh, lovely.

Again, Ajmal was banned for cheating.

And Afridi, one of the best of all time? Oh man, the hilarity of some posters. I enjoy personal attacks though, they are a great way of talking cricket.

Hubris is fun if there is anything to have it with, but I digress..

yeh kahan sai rabta ho raha hai bahi jaan ;)

Koi rabta nahi hain bhai jaan. I just like checking the odds, so I have an idea on who's favourite. If the odds are above evens less than 50% chance and if it falls under it is in excess of 50%. Evens is obviously 50/50.

Imad will be missing today. At least he is economical. Malik is neither a bowler nor a hitter.

Why did they expect a bouncy pitch for England match. It was known they were going to roll out a flat pitch. Imad would have been ideal against these right handers.

Oh, lovely.

And Afridi, one of the best of all time? Oh man, the hilarity of some posters. I enjoy personal attacks though, they are a great way of talking cricket.

Afridi wasn't bad at all.

Should have always remained an opener though

Man, Eng actually ahead in terms of runs at this stage.

Afridi wasn't bad at all.

Should have always remained an opener though

He was not a good batsmen, period. If you play the most matches in Pakistan history, you should have either a great bowling average, or a great batting average, and not a performance once every ten matches.

He was a good player overall for two years, and that is it.

Batsmen not having problems with the bowling. School-boy level bowling attack.

Leaking too many runs, need to peg it back so Eng under more pressure.

That was a bad over from Hasan Ali. Just trademark Root with that boundary.

Run rate required creeps up slightly to 7.33

He was not a good batsmen, period. If you play the most matches in Pakistan history, you should have either a great bowling average, or a great batting average, and not a performance once every ten matches.

He was a good player overall for two years, and that is it.

Yeah I can agree with that.

Who do you think should have played in his place back then?

Root is similar to Babar, but better, but he lacks that ability to really score quick. He is going to be the anchor, and those around him will need to score quick.

Need to try and lock them down to pressure them. Done well so far.

Pak fans will talk about this dropped catch even after the world cup ends. Get over it.

Oh, lovely.

Now this is halarious... That trio of spinners was definitely one of the best of recent past

Man that image of Javed and Imran hugging gave me goosebumps.

We were on top, Sarfaraz didn't put second slip for Root (opposition's main batsman). Babar consequentially had to stand much wider, and he had to dive for a tricky catch, which would have been a simple catch for first slip.

Wahab got Bairswtows edge and we are lucky it went straight to Sarfaraz, because by that point we had NO slips.

Eoin Morgan, opposition captain comes in, only a single slip. (To be fair he added a kind of short-leg, but that fielder is there put doubts in batsman's mind, after which he should give an edge. Slip cordon had just one guy. This is the level of hesitation our captain has. Even when he attacks he has to pull his punches, just because.)

Finally, one boundary from Root and Sarfarz to fielders "peeche ho ja aage nahi ana" (hang back, don't come close in). Also, zero slips against root for both Hassan and Wahab (regardless of the angle).

Tl;dr, we can still win this, but Sarfaraz is trying his best to lose with his defensive mentality. If we do lose, I will put the biggest portion of the blame squarely on Sarfaraz.

England still is very ahead to win this match. They still have Butlar, Stokes after Morgan and Root. Micky is very poor with spinner management.

Yeah I can agree with that.

Who do you think should have played in his place back then?

It's tough. I really liked Mansoor Amjad, but for some reason after a great debut, he disappeared into the wilderness.

We never defined Afridi so we could never have a consistent squad as a result.

Was he a batsmen? If so he should be top 4. Wasn't good enough for that obviously.

Was he a bowler? He has a what, 36 average? So clearly that is a no.

Was he an A-rounder? Hard to say. Couldn't rely on him on either side, would be a toss up which of the two he would perform on, and more often than not, it was neither.

Bowled really well overall, especially the first three overs. Deserved a wicket but needs to cut down on the slower balls.

Actually he was denied a wicket more than deserved a wicket.