Pakistan has zero ODI series wins vs top sides at home in the last 8 years!

Surf

Pakistan is certainly not a top side if you set aside the CT. We haven't even won a ODI home series against a decent side (Eng, Aus, SA, NZ) in more than 8 years yes thats 8. Nothing to do with Misbah or anyone else pulling us down. Just that we deserve the ranking. And the humiliation.

Not to forget almost losing to ZIMBOKS twice in ODI series not just the test series.

Truth be told Bangla has won a few series against such teams although at home. In this timeframe Bangladesh has won 3 series 2 vs Kiwis and one was ENgland while we zero.

I really hope the young bunch of players that we have now can change our record for the better and instill the wining mentality which we've been missing for so long.

I'm hoping for the best to win the world cup this but our batting is still too weak.

The individuals that played for Pakistan during that period were downright mediocre. Pakistan is finally a watchable team again, results will definitely improve with these young players.

OP says it has nothing to do with Misbah. Can OP see how many top teams we played under Misbah at home and without Misbah at home in that period?

Why it has nothing to do with Misbah?? It has almost everything to do with Misbah , Waqar, Afrdi, Younis and other seniors.. I refuse to believe a cricket crazy nation like Pak didn't have talent but these seniors never made us prosper. Crap players and crap planners.

Btw just to let u know in an interview last year when asked from Mickey who he thinks is the Godfather of Pak cricket he replied Misbah.. Godfather sahab k pass itni bhi power nahi thi k agr khud mediocre nahi to mediocrity hata detay (if someone think Shehzad and Akmals etc were the reason).

Inka bas chalta to apni 50s mai bhi kheltay.

P.S: Those years were painful as a Pak fan where we were made so mediocre that fans did bhangra on qualification in quarter final of world cup (in a sport where roughly 8 teams seriously take cricket). Such low standards.

A painful era for sure, probably the worst in the majority of PP'ers lifetimes. Now that the likes of Bilawal Bhatti and Anwar Ali are behind us, Pakistani's can look forward to the next 8 years with impunity.

This will only make it all the more sweet when we start beating all comers...

Pakistan is on the rise.
I see them dominating all forms of the game for the next decade.

P.S: Those years were painful as a Pak fan where we were made so mediocre that fans did bhangra on qualification in quarter final of world cup (in a sport where roughly 8 teams seriously take cricket). Such low standards.

Thank you!

I wanted to say this too!

Top 8 is the minimum we should be getting. We've historically been part of the top four to five sides.

But that World Cup was somehow a success :))

Who cares about home series win. I will take a series win in India and SA any day over a series win in the UAE.

Pakistan has been exceptional over the last decade in tests in the UAE.

However, LOIs is a different story. Pakistan has not managed to win very much in UAE in LOIs. Even in tours where Pakistan demolished the opposition in tests, we got rolled over in the ODI portion of the tour.

Its not like Pakistan didnt have some success other places.

Pak won a series against India in India, South Africa in South Africa, Asia Cup in Bangladesh, NZ in NZ (2010), Champions Trophy.

Pakistan just didnt have the batsmen who were able to score freely in the slow conditions of UAE. The batsmen were able to do well in tests matches as they learned to survive which suited their natural game anyways. But when it came to scoring it was another story.

However, things look better now in terms of ODI batting, so I expect this record to improve.

because pakistan is a away track bully,doesn't matter if it gets whitewashed and humiliated at home.
Pakistan takes pride in getting beaten at home because no one will call them a htb.

because pakistan is a away track bully,doesn't matter if it gets whitewashed and humiliated at home.
Pakistan takes pride in getting beaten at home because no one will call them a htb.

Well let’s wait and see how we actually do at home before passing judgment.

Last played odi series at uae against top side

Aus 2012/13
Nz 2014/15
SA 2013
England 2015
From 2014 to 2016 pakistan were rank 9th ìn odi ranking at on time .pretty rich coming from you guys when your odi team have lost their last odi series against nz in nz 4-0.Aus 4-1 england 2-1

Op is pretty much spot on. Pak definitely need to improve themselves, especially in ODIs. They have been pretty mediocre over the past 4/5 and the only positive thing they have mangled to achieve in this period was CT. Can't remember the last time PAKISTAN actually won an odi series against a top side. It must be quite long, otherwise I would've remembered. But obviously they can only go up from here on.

Lol how is it our fault that for the two years the touring teams have been West Indies and Sri Lanka?

Pakistan is certainly not a top side if you set aside the CT. We haven't even won a ODI home series against a decent side (Eng, Aus, SA, NZ) in more than 8 years yes thats 8. Nothing to do with Misbah or anyone else pulling us down. Just that we deserve the ranking. And the humiliation.

Not to forget almost losing to ZIMBOKS twice in ODI series not just the test series.

Truth be told Bangla has won a few series against such teams although at home. In this timeframe Bangladesh has won 3 series 2 vs Kiwis and one was ENgland while we zero.

I really hope the young bunch of players that we have now can change our record for the better and instill the wining mentality which we've been missing for so long.

I'm hoping for the best to win the world cup this but our batting is still too weak.

Pld Don't use 'bangla' for 'Bangladesh '. it's our language and now 'westbengal' is going to be named as 'bangla'. So pls don't call our country name as 'bangla'. It's bangladesh or you can use BD as for short form.

What about Desh?

Pakistan is yet to play a top team on UAE with this new look team.Misbah fielded the worst 0DI cricket team in history of Pak cricket and he was a very ordinery ODI captain too.I am waiting for the Adia cup next month to see actually where this Pakistan team lies actually.

The individuals that played for Pakistan during that period were downright mediocre. Pakistan is finally a watchable team again, results will definitely improve with these young players.

This thread is a LIE. Pakistan IIRC just recently beat Sri Lanka 5-0 in ODIs and if my memory serves me right, they were at that time ranked higher than Pakistan.

and in the last 8 years, Pakistan has also beaten WI at home couple of times by a series. [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

WOW jokes! Thats a bit obvious they have not played top sides at home (PAKISTAN) in last 8 years.

This thread is a LIE. Pakistan IIRC just recently beat Sri Lanka 5-0 in ODIs and if my memory serves me right, they were at that time ranked higher than Pakistan.

and in the last 8 years, Pakistan has also beaten WI at home couple of times by a series. [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

I don't think the OP classifies those two nations as TOP TEAMS!

OP is going on about the top sides, which is true. Pakistan has been woeful against pretty much every top 5 team in the UAE. I have high hopes from this team though

The last time we played against one of these "top" teams at "home" was almost 3 years ago in Nov 2015.

Why are we moaning about this today? :afaq

Is it because the team has been doing well in limited over cricket for the last 12-14 months - including a CT win - mash'Allah and some stereotypical fickle fans felt like wrist slitting?

The last time we played against one of these "top" teams at "home" was almost 3 years ago in Nov 2015.

Why are we moaning about this today? :afaq

Is it because the team has been doing well in limited over cricket for the last 12-14 months - including a CT win - mash'Allah and some stereotypical fickle fans felt like wrist slitting?

When did we play a top side at home 3 years ago? Don't call neutral venue like UAE home. Pitches in Pak are totally different to the once we get in UAE specially for ODIs.

Two different era, two different teams. CT is a big tournament. Don't look down upon.

The new boys both batting and bowling are consistent. Do you understand CONSISTENT and Pakistan was never associated even in 80's or 90's? #9 is #9. Similarly #5 is also #5. Both deserving according to match results.

To be fair, they don't tour much and also, Pakistan has a good excuse in that UAE is basically a neutral venue as it's an alternative to Pakistan.
Anyhow, it is true as most people are saying that phase of ODi cricket was really bad for Pakistan in terms of players and management. The outlook of the team began to change once Mickey and Inzi took over

The team was pretty mediocre for a decade or longer.

It has improved but still a lot of work needs to be done as we saw in NZ 5-0 series.

People have only started rating our ODI team since the 2017 CT victory, due to the emergence of players such as Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan who have no doubt strengthened our team. Before that, in the Azhar Ali/Misbah-ul-Haq era, our team was mediocre. I know we got thrashed in NZ, but if we can win the upcoming series against Australia/NZ at home, that's definitely a sign of progress.

Pakistan is yet to play a top team on UAE with this new look team.Misbah fielded the worst 0DI cricket team in history of Pak cricket and he was a very ordinery ODI captain too.I am waiting for the Adia cup next month to see actually where this Pakistan team lies actually.

Yo G, Misbah with his mediocre team almost delivered a 3-0 phainta to Indians at home and won in SA as well.

Those achievements didn't seem to me as normal or expected.It was kind of flukes amidst of lots of Phainta at UAE by touring teams.Misbah took Pak ODI team to such a pathetic label by playing Shehzad,Shafiq,Azhar,Younis,Anwar,Maqsood....so many ODI hacks in one team.Just unbelievable in modern era.

Touché

The day BD win something in India and SA, you will comprehend.

Didn't Pakistan beat New Zealand 3-2 at home(UAE) in 2014?I am surprised nobody has mentioned that yet.

When did we play a top side at home 3 years ago? Don't call neutral venue like UAE home. Pitches in Pak are totally different to the once we get in UAE specially for ODIs.

Don't tell me - tell the guy in the OP.

There is a reason I put home in quotation marks.

Didn't Pakistan beat New Zealand 3-2 at home(UAE) in 2014?I am surprised nobody has mentioned that yet.

Maybe....because ...that didn't happen :afaq

NZ beat Pak 3-2 in the ODI series and the T20 & Test series were 1-1 draws.

What I still don't understand is why we are discussing games from 3 years ago?

Oh well - unfortunately it's just in the nature of some Pakistani "fans" to be negative, pesimistic wrist slitters who just like to moan whine and complain about the negatives - particularly when things are going will.

Maybe....because ...that didn't happen :afaq

NZ beat Pak 3-2 in the ODI series and the T20 & Test series were 1-1 draws.

What I still don't understand is why we are discussing games from 3 years ago?

Oh well - unfortunately it's just in the nature of some Pakistani "fans" to be negative, pesimistic wrist slitters who just like to moan whine and complain about the negatives - particularly when things are going will.

Think its fashionable to a 'wrist slitter' as it makes you look like an expert. Easy to see through this.

Yup absolutely! Couldn't agree more with this statement bro!

Makes the wrist slitters feel like they know more than "the average fan"