Pakistan Legends vs India Legends at Rogers Center, Toronto.

Gasherbrum said:
sight lines will be restricted to the field of play as the wife will be occupying the seat next to mine.

Would you like to be added to our PP meet? so far it is me, kabo, the game, homer, dotcom...

DotCom said:
I am going and want these Sunday tickets... what do I have to do ...

give me a call and come down to york to get the tickets off me or i am going to be at the match insha Allah. give me a call then and get the tickets off me after the game or during the interval..

about the ppl meet.. im in the first row of section 123(south of the pitch). we will prolly have a york university banner up there, incase we dont.. id be there and wearing a pak t shirt.. so if anyone's around there, we should meet up.

D said:
give me a call and come down to york to get the tickets off me or i am going to be at the match insha Allah. give me a call then and get the tickets off me after the game or during the interval..

about the ppl meet.. im in the first row of section 123(south of the pitch). we will prolly have a york university banner up there, incase we dont.. id be there and wearing a pak t shirt.. so if anyone's around there, we should meet up.

D, I don't play cricket at all (except for time-pass during the summer). Am I still allowed to attend the "Learn from the legends" event or what?

I heard Akram is not coming. Can someone confirm this for me please??

*sigh* I guess you're right...the atmosphere will probably be worth it...here's hoping! By the way, does anyone know what kind of entertainment there will be pre-game, and during half-time??

Best of luck guys, if you folks want to exchange phone numbers or email addresses then please do it through a mod.

if Akram doesnt come ..... I feel bad for the Roger Center Security TEAM

E-mail I got from York U cricket club today:

Hey all,

The Cricket Club at York U is proud to present, and invite you, with Pakistan Student Federation at York University and M+D Community Corp. Learn from Legends.

I believe most of you are already informed about the Legends Cricket Game between India and Pakistan on March 3rd at Rogers Center(Skydome). If you are not, M+D Community Corp.is holding a Legends Cricket game between India and Pakistan on March 3rd at the Rogers Center. The very next day Sunday March 4th, 2007, all the player will come to Tait McKenzie Center main gym - York University to give tips about bowling and batting. We are also trying to finalize the interaction session with the main event organizers.

Break down of event:

Doors Open : 9.30 a.m
Batting Tips : 10:30 a.m. - 11.15 a.m.
Refreshment break 11:15 a.m. - 11.45 a.m.
Bowling Tips 11.45 a.m. - 12.30 p.m.

List of players who are attending and giving tips on the event:

Pakistan
Wasim Akram (C)
Abdul Qadir
Shoaib Mohammad
Misbah-ul-haq
Ijaz Ahmed
Naveed Anjum
Rashid Latif
Aaqib Javed
Mohsin Kamal
Aamir Sohail
Manzoor Elahi
Tauseef Ahmed
Muddasar Nazar (Manager)

India
Ajay Jadeja (C)
Sandeep Patil
Venketesh Prasad
Hament Badani
Amit Bhandari
Robin Singh
Atul Vassan
Harvinder Singh
Nayan Mongia
Narinder Hirwani
Parveen Amre
Sunil Joshi
Ashok Malhotra
Madan lal (Manager)

From that, it seems as if W. Akram will be in the match, because he is taking part in the practice.

i havent heard about the wasim not showing up rumour.

i will hopefully talk to the organizers tomorrow and let you guys know.

Well the guy who is picking up the team is a good frined of mine so I would know tom for sure who is coming and who is not.

The_Cricket_Devil said:
I'll be there too guys in section 116. So where is this PP meet as well

we dotn know yet, but forward me your phone number so we can get in contact and work out a place during the interval at break.

Aamir Sohail isnt playing in the tournament.....

Also, I spoke to Atul Wassan in India today and he was at the airport getting ready to fly to Toronto....

Noddy said:
Aamir Sohail isnt playing in the tournament.....

Also, I spoke to Atul Wassan in India today and he was at the airport getting ready to fly to Toronto....

Noddy bhai, can you please tell Rameez and Waqar to fly to Toronto ASAP :D ? If Atul Wassan is a legend, then Noddy bhai must be Pakistan's Bradman for sure.

Noddy you should come down too! The Ulitmiate PP meet up! I am so exicted I can't even type Ultimate up properly!

No i am preparing to fly to the Windies soon....so that is good enough for me...

This is sounding bigger and smaller each minute ..

one minute Wasim aint coming
another he is confirmed

then Aamir Sohail isnt coming (who I was really hoping to see in action)

tomorrow I am about to call the airport myself !!!

I'll be there! Section 121, right behind the wickets, bad view I know.. look out for me, I'll be wearing the 2005 Pakistan One-Day shirt.

DotCom said:
section 131 row 25 fellas... thats where the party's at !!

I am section 130 row 2.

Matic can yu please forward your cell info to oxy so we can arrange the PP meet.

So far it is...

me, kabo, dotcom, the game, homer...i am hoping to get more!

Amir said:
I am section 130 row 2.

Matic can yu please forward your cell info to oxy so we can arrange the PP meet.

So far it is...

me, kabo, dotcom, the game, homer...i am hoping to get more!

Amir, I swear if you interrupt me during Fakhr-e-Alam's singing in the innings break, I'll kick you!

the_game said:
Amir, I swear if you interrupt me during Fakhr-e-Alam's singing in the innings break, I'll kick you!

IfI see you singing....expect undas on your head.

Matic said:
I'll be there! Section 121, right behind the wickets, bad view I know.. look out for me, I'll be wearing the 2005 Pakistan One-Day shirt.

that isnt a bad view. i am section 123, row 1 myself. i think its an awesome view. south of the pitch!

i cant wait!!! i have an exam tomorrow but this wont let me study!!

D said:
that isnt a bad view. i am section 123, row 1 myself. i think its an awesome view. south of the pitch!

i cant wait!!! i have an exam tomorrow but this wont let me study!!

Looks like I won't be seeing you at the next tournament then because you may not be a student then! :)) :P

Amir said:
Looks like I won't be seeing you at the next tournament then because you may not be a student then! :)) :P

on that note, can you guys come down to York for a cricket tournament on the 10th of March? let me know. its only a day long affair, and only 6 teams. 4 from within York and maybe two from outside. Let me know if you guys are up for it.

The tension is unbearable! 2 days to go. Take some pictures of the game guys!

And get the_game to do the bhangra... and then take pictures/video:P

somebody have a 32x optical camera? I heard there is one out there these days.. imagine the close ups!

the_game said:
Nahi ji, I don't get pictures taken. I am a shareef bacha.

dont worry about the pictures people.
all my friends are carrying cameras to the game, so yes.

D said:
dont worry about the pictures people.
all my friends are carrying cameras to the game, so yes.

D bhai, you still got tickets to the training session?

yes i do. so whoever wants any, give me a call on

wasim akram is here, as are aaqib javed, abdul qadir and mudasser nazar. from the indian side, sunil joshi and robin singh are also here. game starts at 10 tomorrow. the entertainment will be a few local artists.

Game day. Got my hands on a camera so hopefully I will able to take some good pictures. Hope it turns out to be a great event!

(My first live cricket ever by the way, go ahead, laugh at the deprived Canadian.)

I'll be leaving for the stadium in about 20 mins as well. This is so exciting I haven't been able to go to a live cricket match ever since my family moved here from Dubai (boy do I miss those sharjah matches)

kablooee87 said:
(My first live cricket ever by the way, go ahead, laugh at the deprived Canadian.)

Koi nahi jee i also got to go to my first cricket match last year when Pak played Scotland in Edinburgh..now you can also laf at the deprived pakistani who luives in scotland.

kablooee87 said:
Game day. Got my hands on a camera so hopefully I will able to take some good pictures. Hope it turns out to be a great event!

Deprived Canadians??? Yo folks used to get all those Sahara cup matches so it's not our fault that you didn't go!! If anyone is deprived it's US in US.

just got back...man that was depressing

Pakistan 109 all out in 30 overs

Wasim Akram 52

The majority of the damage came from 2 unknown medium fast bowlers in the name of Atul Wassan and some H Singh (sorry don't remember his first name)

India got the score within 20 overs with some Atul Wassan doing the majority of the damage. The bright spot was that Aaqib Javed was bowling brilliantly and got the only 3 wickets to fall for India. However the umpire was quite clearly blind and didn't award two absolutely plumb LBWs to Aaqib at some early crucial junctures.

A fun event however all in all with lots of cheering and support for both sides. The Indian team had a huge advantage in that most of their players were relatively young (no legends whatsoever on their side) and thus they were able to outfield, outbowl and outbat Pakistan. Also many of Pakistan's original roster were not in the game today. People like Aamir Sohail and Rashid Latif were nowhere to be seen.

This could be a better event if more professional organization of it is done in the future

The_Cricket_Devil said:
just got back...man that was depressing

Pakistan 109 all out in 30 overs

Wasim Akram 52

The majority of the damage came from 2 unknown medium fast bowlers in the name of Abdul Wassam and some H Singh (sorry don't remember his first name)

India got the score within 20 overs with some Abdul Wassam doing the majority of the damage. The bright spot was that Aaqib Javed was bowling brilliantly and got the only 3 wickets to fall for India. However the umpire was quite clearly blind and didn't award two absolutely plumb LBWs to Aaqib at some early crucial junctures.

A fun event however all in all with lots of cheering and support for both sides. The Indian team had a huge advantage in that most of their players were relatively young (no legends whatsoever on their side) and thus they were able to outfield, outbowl and outbat Pakistan. Also many of Pakistan's original roster were not in the game today. People like Aamir Sohail and Rashid Latif were nowhere to be seen.

This could be a better event if more professional organization of it is done in the future

And no Saeed Anwar as well!! Btw how did Wasim bowl?

Well Wasim Bhai only bowled like 3 or 4 overs before he went off the field and was never to be seen again :P He did not seem all that effective today for some reason anyway but he was keeping a tight line and length without giving away too many runs. It was Aaqib Javed however who was bowling with all his old fire and looked like he should be contending for the Pakistan squad for the WC instead of jokers like Sami.

It should be former Indian Test Seamer, Atul Wassan.

Aquib Javed always do well against Indians.Btw isn't he the bowling coach for Pak youngsters?.

Was there a PP 'get together'??

Yup. Me, Kabolee, the game homer and Adeel met up. We got some pics too which someone will post (I dont have a camera). The PP meet was very enjoyable and so cool to meet em!

The game was a disaster but the atmosphere was so much fun. Just cheering "Pakistan jeeta ga, Pakistan ka jeeta ga!" and then the Indians try to do the same but we were so loud we just out powered them! Good times!

PlanetPakistan said:
Deprived Canadians??? Yo folks used to get all those Sahara cup matches so it's not our fault that you didn't go!! If anyone is deprived it's US in US.
says the man who lives a shouting distance from the world cup.

Finally met a PP'er! It was fantastic. Both kablooee and Amir are top blokes (and we started discussing Pakistan's chances at the World Cup soon after we met. It was like a thread coming to life; poetic :D ). Dot Com also met us. I wish there were more PP'ers there so we could have had a bigger group.

The match itself was poor. None of the stars that were advertised initially managed to show up except for Wasim. Wasim is still fit and should be included in the World Cup squad :D (despite the age and diabetes, he looks in good shape). Shoaib Mohammad was a joke and always has been as a batsman.

And I will post pictures of the PP'ers who met at the Legends match as soon as they are available.

the_game said:
Finally met a PP'er! It was fantastic. Both kablooee and Amir are top blokes (and we started discussing Pakistan's chances at the World Cup soon after we met. It was like a thread coming to life; poetic :D ). Dot Com also met us. I wish there were more PP'ers there so we could have had a bigger group.

The match itself was poor. None of the stars that were advertised initially managed to show up except for Wasim. Wasim is still fit and should be included in the World Cup squad :D (despite the age and diabetes, he looks in good shape). Shoaib Mohammad was a joke and always has been as a batsman.

The highlight of the night as the tind off Tauseef's head.

No but seriosuyl the best was when Aaqib began to bowl bouncers at the Indians and they were getting upset lol.

Anyways, the game wasn't great but I enjoyed myself and that's all I care about in an exhibition match like this.

The Indian team was simply better than the Pakistani team. It seemed like a lot of the Indian team were actually still playing cricket of some sort while the Pak team was a bunch of legends who weren't really in shape to play a serious game.

The highlights of the day for me were Wasim Akram, Aaqib Javed, and Mohsin Kamal.

Wasim for his 50 and the extra adrenaline his sheer presence pumped into the crowd. Aaqib for showing Sami-like aggression while bowling. He was consistently staring down batsman on extended follow throughs, bowling bouncers (which the [indian] umpires farcicly kept calling no balls). I have some clips of him bowling bouncers and even hitting a batsman in the chest with one. Lastly, Mohsin Kamal bowled great. While his grey hair made him seem old, he was probably one of the fittest players on the Pak team. Too bad they didn't have enough runs to work with. It was funny at the end as Ijaz Ahem bowled a maiden over.

P.S. : I will try to upload photos/clips soon.

Kablooee, I'm sure you agree with the "Chacha Ji" chants for Mohsin Kamal! He looked really fit for his age though, you are quite right.

the_game said:
Kablooee, I'm sure you agree with the "Chacha Ji" chants for Mohsin Kamal! He looked really fit for his age though, you are quite right.
yea he was great.

btw, the problem I am facing is the camera I had today is actually borrowed and I don't have the software for my computer to upload pics....

misbah ul haq was there for Pakistan, as was Ijaz Ahmed. Ijaz got a first ball duck, caught in the slips, while misbah only managed a handful.
h. singh is harvinder singh, he has played in toronto before at the sahara cup. yeah, robin singh didn't seem to like aaqib hitting him on the arm.

as i expected really, the quality of the cricket wasn't all that but the fans had a decent enough time.

Here is a picture from the meetup we had during the innings break. It was a good little meeting. We had some good discussion on the World Cup.

p3031546dz8.jpg

From Right to Left
Dotcom (Adeel) , Amir , Kablooee87 (Saqib) , the_game (Zohaib)

Nice work kablooee. I look like an old geezer compared to you guys (and Dotcom was calling himself the budha uncle!).

Gasher I am disappointed we didnt get to meet you! Is it because you felt older than us?

interesting, it seems like i wasn't sitting too far from dotcom (i suppose he isn't difficult to miss).

Nice pic there guys. Amir man how tall are you?!

Shut up! Tendulkar is a small guy and look how much he has accomplisehd as a batsmen! :P BTw I am 5'6 last time I measured myself 6 months ago,.

Amir yar i was with the wife and she isn't in the sort of condition where i can wander off too far ... didn't even utilize my chance to meet with the players.

Amir said:
Shut up! Tendulkar is a small guy and look how much he has accomplisehd as a batsmen! :P BTw I am 5'6 last time I measured myself 6 months ago,.

Ok, one word of advice, if you don't want to make yourself feel shorter than you already are, then you probably won't want to stand next to me. :16: