Pakistan refused to give Adnan Sami visa to attend mother’s funeral: ‘India agreed but… I watched her last rites on a WhatsApp call

emranabbas

Adnan Sami opened up about how he wasn't given visa by Pakistan to attend his mother, Begum Naureen's final rites in October 2024.​

Singer Adnan Sami was asked if he had ever tried to visit Pakistan after becoming an Indian citizen in 2016. (Photo: Adnan Sami/Instagram)

Adnan Sami, the Pakistan-born singer and composer, became a citizen of India in 2016, which resulted in a lot of heartburn in the country of his birth. The singer — who was also honored with Padma Shri, has now revealed that Pakistan refused to give him visa in 2024 after his mother passed away and he wanted to attend her funeral.

Speaking to India TV, Adnan said that after his mother, Begum Naureen’s demise, he requested both Indian and Pakistani authorities that he wants to visit the country to attend the funeral. He said that despite India granting him permission to travel, Pakistan refused.

Adding that his mother’s demise came as a shock to everyone because she didn’t had any health concerns, he recalled how Indian authorities immediately understood his situation. “Maine yaha ki sarkaar se pucha main jana chahta hu toh apko koi objection to nahi. Unhone kaha, ‘Zahir hai, aapki maa ka inteqal hua hai, aapko zaroor jana chahiye’. Unki taraf se koi problem nahi tha (When I asked the Indian government that I want to go, do you have any objection? They said, ‘It is obvious, your mother has passed away, you must go’. There was no problem from their side),” shared the singer.

But when Adnan applied for a visa in Pakistan, his request was denied. “Maine visa ke liye apply kiya, par unhone refuse kar diya. Maine kaha, ‘Meri maa ka inteqal hua hai’. Phir bhi unhone mana kar diya. Main nahi ja saka. Maine unka poora janaza Whatsapp ke video pe dekha (I applied for a visa, but they (Pakistan government) refused. I said, ‘My mother has passed away’. But they refused. I could not go. I saw her entire funeral on a WhatsApp video),” shared the singer.

Born in London, Adnan Sami is the son of Pakistani Air Force pilot and diplomat. He took Indian citizenship in 2016 and have time and again talked about how the deteriorating political situation in Pakistan made him take the life-changing decision despite his family and son residing there.

Adnan was also asked whether he took Indian citizenship because he was earning more in India than in Pakistan. In his response, the singer shared how he was fortunate to be born in a wealthy family and also added that he actully left property worth crores in Pakistan and started from scratch in India.

“An artist longs for an audience. An artist’s nourishment is his audience. I received a lot of love in Pakistan, too, but everyone desires growth,” shared Adnan Sami.

I know Pakistanis feel betrayed by Adnan Sami but this is just cruel behaviour.
Not at all, in fact, we actually saved Adnan Sami. Otherwise, he could have ended up in Indian custody, accused of spying for Pakistan and being linked to the Pahalgam attacks, much like the allegations against Jyoti Malhotra.

There is no relationship in the world more sacred than a man’s with his mother. A man can withstand anything in the world but never an insult or hurt to his mother or his daughter. I think on humanitarian ground he should have been granted VISA.

I know Pakistanis feel betrayed by Adnan Sami but this is just cruel behaviour.
I know dozens of Pakistani citizens consistently denied VISA to India for funeral rites of close family members and way before Pehelgam or Pulwama BS. Dozens of Western born (Indian origin) people visit Pakistan while by and large Western born (Pakistani origin) people get denied VISA.

I know dozens of couples who have intermarried in the west and able to visit Pakistan but not India.

This isn't a *** for tat comment but in general it is next to impossible for anyone (with Pakistani) ancestry to get Indian VISA while difficult but not impossible the other way around.

Adnan Sami is washed up celebrity who speaks BS against Pakistan so media is highlighting case, he could just live in India and not say anything about Pakistan but him and Danish Kaneria want to remain in the limelight.

Serves the guy right. A son who abandoned his mother during her life for cheap trolling doesn't deserve the honor of her graveside.

He only requested a visa when she was cold and dead. Did he forget his love when she was alive?

Good. This sack of potatoes should never be allowed to step foot in Pakistan again alive, but India is welcome to send his dead body over so that we can discard him in a dumpster or maybe feed him to stray dogs.

Singer Adnan Sami was asked if he had ever tried to visit Pakistan after becoming an Indian citizen in 2016. (Photo: Adnan Sami/Instagram)

Adnan Sami, the Pakistan-born singer and composer, became a citizen of India in 2016, which resulted in a lot of heartburn in the country of his birth. The singer — who was also honored with Padma Shri, has now revealed that Pakistan refused to give him visa in 2024 after his mother passed away and he wanted to attend her funeral.
Look at the level of journalism in India. This is the kind of “professional” writing you see in published articles. This country and its mentality never ceases to amaze.

Pakistan derangement syndrome that is now widespread in their society.

Lift karadey, but quietly, for ISI

Man pulled the ultimate deep cover op, pretended to cry about his mom, played some piano keys, applied for the visa, got rejected, and still held the cover like a champ.

Honestly, Pakistan should give him a medal, “Tamgha e acting, for services in confusing the Indians."

Modi/RSS in the last 11 years have successfully destroyed the fabric of Indian society. It will take a long time for the stains to wash away, if ever.

It's incredible how delusional the general public are about what's happening in India. Everything they did opposite to Pakistan is being reversed by now trying to model themselves on Pakistan/Taliban of my way or the highway. I think Indians will be too confused about their identity to put it right for a long time. If the west decides to stop pampering their egos they will be lost.

Modi/RSS in the last 11 years have successfully destroyed the fabric of Indian society. It will take a long time for the stains to wash away, if ever.
Bizarrely you can see that in behaviour of long time Indian Posters in the recent past. Even long time sensible posters like @AamchiMumbaikar exhibited some of this.

Its actually pretty scary how they have been groomed and the drip feed radicalised propaganda over these years and now its become so ingrained and widespread that they cannot see how ridiculous some of their language and view point is.

According to that article he left his family and son in Pakistan. That is far more cheap and cruel behaviour in my view.
Actually he didn’t leave his family here... they themselves didn’t prefer to leave Pakistan the way Adnan Sami did.

And what’s so cruel about it? according to Pak policy no Ind national is allowed to visit Pakistan under any circumstances...just like how India didn’t allow Pakistani patients to stay for their treatment.

Actually he didn’t leave his family here... they themselves didn’t prefer to leave Pakistan the way Adnan Sami did.

And what’s so cruel about it? according to Pak policy no Ind national is allowed to visit Pakistan under any circumstances...just like how India didn’t allow Pakistani patients to stay for their treatment.
We literally had Indian techies all throughout the PSL. I also know of so many mixed Pakistani/Indian couples where the wife/husband is easily able to come to Pakistan with no issues.

The entitled prat never got over the fact that he didn't win the custody battle for his son after the very public and very acrimonious divorce with Zeba Bakhtiyar. He thought his fame and family political connections would be sufficient, but she too had political connections, after all her farther served as the attorney general of Pakistan.

It’s really tragic how a highly accomplished and dignified individual like his father (and most of his parental ancestors) could give birth to someone like Adnan Sami. The worst part is that he lived long enough to see what he had become of his son.

Modi and the likes of Yogi are pretty Pakistani at heart. Hardcore and unapologetic. They know how to polarize society and garner votes. Every political party does that.

In Pakistan, pretty much every party invokes religion. This includes the so called jolly guy Imran Khan.

In India only BJP and tiny parties like MIM invokes religion to get votes. Many parties use caste lines to break Hindu vote bank. Brahmin and upper caste basing is quite common during elections. The so called liberal parties shamelessly beg for votes based on dalit card or OBC card or Yadav card etc.

Subcontinental society has not evolved much. Religion still has a firm grip on both India and Pakistan. Its just that Hinduism is lot more liberal than Islam. Since Hindus are majority in India, they appear more liberal with more freedom for women compared to Islamic societies. Tribalistic societies do not prosper at the same rate as non-tribalistic Western societies. India has always been pluralistic societies with a plethora of cults and religions. All of those cults for the most part were tolerant of each other. They did not look to wipe out each other to establish their superiority.

So Adnan left his mom back in Pakistan and went to India for money and now he is crying that he was denied visa to just comeback and bury here after she died alone without her son... LOL

He should be thankful he was saved the expense, would have had to book three seats to accomodate his cheek spread.

Serves the guy right. A son who abandoned his mother during her life for cheap trolling doesn't deserve the honor of her graveside.

He only requested a visa when she was cold and dead. Did he forget his love when she was alive?

Adnan Sami On Why He Left Pakistan For India: "Lot Of Problems, Had Reached Out To Even Pervez Musharraf For Help"​

• In a recent interview with India TV, Adnan Sami said he faced a lack of support in the Pakistani music industry after his 1998 songs failed to receive marketing and promotion.
  • "After the songs I released in 1998, people in the Pakistani music industry thought I'm finished. So they didn't provide any marketing for those songs. Nobody got to know when the album released and vanished. I was very dejected. I was in Canada at that time. I knew they'd done that on purpose," he said.
  • Sami recalled discussing his struggles with legendary singer Asha Bhosle, who had worked with him on songs like Kabhi To Nazar Milao.
He shared, "I told Asha ji I'm dejected because people here have decided they don't want to work with me for whatever reason, and that I want to record with her in London."

In response, Bhosle advised him to move to Mumbai, saying, "'Why do you want to record in London?' she asked me. I said I know some people there. So she said, 'See, if you really want to do something new, come to Mumbai. This is the capital of Hindi music. Whatever gets popular here would spread out to the rest of the world. So this is the place to come.'"

"Main boriya bistar le ke pahuch gaya Mumbai," Sami said, recalling how Bhosle and her family supported him during his early days in India. "She made me stay in RD Burman's home. I was very lucky because it was like a music temple," he added.

The songs that had earlier gone unnoticed in Pakistan became hits in India. "The songs that didn't work in Pakistan, like Kabhi To Nazar Milao, Bheegi Bheegi Raaton Mein, Lift Karadey, they were marketed so well that the rest is history. The way people embraced me and loved me, I could've never imagined it."

It’s really tragic how a highly accomplished and dignified individual like his father (and most of his parental ancestors) could give birth to someone like Adnan Sami. The worst part is that he lived long enough to see what he had become of his son.

All he did was call out Pakistan's rogue establishment. You should be praising him for speaking truth.

This is an extremely cruel move , though sadly, not unexpected from a country like Pakistan. Even inmates serving life sentences are often allowed to attend their parents' funerals. Denying this basic human decency speaks volumes about the mindset at play.

What’s more disturbing is seeing posters here supporting such cruelty. These are the same individuals who routinely shed tears for Palestinians in the name of humanity. The hypocrisy is glaring.

:dw

He has lost a lot of weight in India due to the food scarcity situation.
images

Adani Sami is a shameless individual who abandoned his mother and family to go live in India, just so he can bash Pakistan and stay relevant. Screw his overrated and fat backside.

He should have taken her with him to India then. Its quite clear they did not have a too close of a relationship.