Pakistan v Bangladesh | Under 19 World Cup | P'ston North| 20/1/10

14 off 55

Required RR is very close to 6. He's putting a lot of pressure on the batsmen down the order.

checkers.llvllaster said:
This is just sad. If Shehzad can't even keep his SR above 26 in the under-19 team, then how can you put him into the International cricket at this stage? I can't believe he was given a chance at the international level...

oh come on, he's just in bad form right now.. otherwise he is a very talented player
I don't think pakistan are THAT dumb to just give a youngster a chance

Are these two playing different games or something? Babar knows the Target, Shehzad thinks its 150.

iZeeshan said:
Shehzad is playing absolutely pathetically.

Or he's making a statement that he should be in the test team.
Some player recently critisized PCB for putting ODI players in test and test players in ODI. But surely him playing internationally before he should be doing better

6xafridi said:
oh come on, he's just in bad form right now.. otherwise he is a very talented player
I don't think pakistan are THAT dumb to just give a youngster a chance

He's played 56 balls. How many more does he need to get going, this is a limited overs match.

Ahmed Shehzad is hogging the strike and doing nowt with it - need Babar on strike as much as we can

It wont be a bad thing if Shehzad is dismissed, his strike rate is 26.79 whilst Babar's is 86.67

Sledger said:
Are these two playing different games or something? Babar knows the Target, Shehzad thinks its 150.

Shahzad thinks we have a 100 overs.

Khabri420 said:
iZeeshan weren't you guilty of hyping up this snail (Shahzad)? :pissed:
For test matches - yes.

He'll hit a couple of boundaries soon and everyone will be all over him :ahmeds

I don't even think Ahmed Shezad should be playing here as he has graduated already, meaning played international cricket

iZeeshan said:
For test matches - yes.

He'll hit a couple of boundaries soon and everyone will be all over him :ahmeds

He'll need to do a lot of hitting because the difference between runs and balls is about 50.

Geordie Ahmed said:
Ahmed Shehzad is hogging the strike and doing nowt with it - need Babar on strike as much as we can

It wont be a bad thing if Shehzad is dismissed, his strike rate is 26.79 whilst Babar's is 86.67

Mashallah some wise words from such an experienced man.

Let him play yaar.

Pakistan is in Group D and India is in Group A. Winners of both of these groups (A & D) play runner-up in the other group in Quarter-Final. Good chance of Pakistan playing India there.

The much hyped Shehzad, taking a leaf out of the senior' book, has set this up beautifully for Bangladesh. All they need now is one wicket and the rate will quickly soar to beyond managable heightss.

These games aren't being televised as far as I know, only the semi final and final.

This is ridiculous now, hit out or get out moron!

RumiNYC said:
oh Cmon...get a wicket Bangla...

With this run rate Pakistan will get to 134 runs? Why are you complaining?

RumiNYC said:
oh Cmon...get a wicket Bangla...

You don't need to. Just keep Shehzad on strike and your good. You dont have to take a single wicket and you could win this match.

A four and a six by shehzad now! let the lad play please!

Drop everything people, a four and a six for the Usain Bolt of run scoring.

IAJ said:
Mashallah some wise words from such an experienced man.

Let him play yaar.

at what cost? he is wasting way too many deliveries

there is being cautious and then this - its criminal to have a strike rate of 30 in an ODI, especially when you have faced nearly 70 deliveries

he needs to start speeding things up or atleast rotate the strike

I think everyone is overreacting about shehzad. He is one of the most aggressive batsmen and has proved it in many innnings. Bangladesh bowlers are probably bowling well. Shehzad and babar can launch at any time. 250 still isn't a mammoth total as long as no wickets are down.

Guys remember that Pakistan has a very very long batting lineup. Shahzaib Ahmed may be no. 11 on this list but he averages 27 with the bat in first class.

We have good players in Ghumman and Rameez to come and we also have the big hitters like usma qadir, hammad azam and sarmad bhatti. So alot of batting.

All these to at the crease now need to do is to start rotating the strike (ahmed shehzad) and get to a run rate around 4.50.

Could it be they are playing cautiously now as they are not looking at the target of 250, but looking at a lesser target to qualify for the quarter finals? Isn't that main priority first!

Oh great...we ( Bangladesh ) gonna lost this match for sure now...Shahzad go back to ur usual self ;)

One of the worrying thing is that our "fast bowlers" bowled only 10 overs out of the 50.
This reminds med of Indian bowling attack. So expect every team to get to flyer against us.

We really need another fast bowler for the next match.

An another thing I want to stress on is why are we not playing the same eleven as long as we are winning?

Ahmed shehzad didn't bow today, why is that? Maybe he is playing slowly because Ghumman didn't give him the ball today? He has hit another 4 though.

Well we don't know what will happen in the next 27 or so but our senior team would have lost 2-3 wickets by now.

I don't see what you guys are on about this is how normally good players chase down scores by the end of the innings his strike rate would be up. no need to score 30 of 20 ball when the required rate was less than run a ball a t the start.
This is not 2020 cricket you still have to build an innings

It does look like we are moving slow but Bangladesh were 3-121/32 overs. They made 129 runs in the last 18 at an avg of 7.22.

Couch Cricketer said:
I don't see what you guys are on about this is how normally good players chase down scores by the end of the innings his strike rate would be up. no need to score 30 of 20 ball when the required rate was less than run a ball a t the start.
This is not 2020 cricket you still have to build an innings
No, fair enough you don't play your shots but the best sides look to keep the scoreboard going. They take quick singles and run hard to push for opportunities of 2s and 3s. Shehzad had put a lot of pressure on his partner and himself by not getting to the other end. He was luck here to break the shackles with a 4 and 6 but on another day he could have miscued that tension breaking shot.

Babar Azam has scored 206 runs in the tournament so far and guess what his average is at the moment: 206!

50 for Ahmed, he's got through his bad period, it seems.

and Azam on his way to another 50 too, is the kid actually 15?!! :O

50 up for Shehzad! I have a feeling that he will accelrate now InshaAllah.

Sledger said:
50 for Ahmed, he's got through his bad period, it seems.

and Azam on his way to another 50 too, is the kid actually 15?!! :O

He looks like 13 to me. Have you seen his pictures?

IAJ said:
He looks like 13 to me. Have you seen his pictures?
Yeah, I'm not doubting his age but its amazing that he's progressed so quickly- brings up yet another 50.

Another 50 for young Babar. MashaAllah and Ahmed Shehzad gone after a century stand.
Pakistan 104/1 after 26.4 overs.

Promotion for Aziz? or does he normally bat this high. I thought the captain would come out next..

I guess now we will see if Shehzad's tactics were correct. Lets see how the following batsmen handle the pressure. It looks like an easy target at the moment. 23 overs 146 runs ... play it like a 2020 and we should win.

Shehzad was way too slow - now Rameez will take a while to settle, using up deliveries

Its more than a run a ball required

Still, its a challenging chance. 170 is a good score in senior cricket so about 130 is probably pretty decent in U19s.

Bangladesh are putting the strangle on here, rr going down.