Pakistan V England, 1st Test Day 1 [13/11/05]

Jive Jive Pakistan said:
62.1 Udal to Inzamam, SIX!!, comes down the track and lofts it over long on, that was big big hit, it went very high

GREAT to see this from Inzi! :D

"Test innings"? Forget about it. The modern game is at Australia's pace.

Nauman said:
Agree with you now that you have gotten him back atleast give the guy a good run before dumping him.

Agree. Lets not start bad mouthing him after just one failure. Give the guy a chance. Inshallah he will come good.

Thanks Kash and Nauman, hopefully Inzi + Akmal playing the role of cornered tigers now :D

DM said:
GREAT to see this from Inzi! :D

"Test innings"? Forget about it. The modern game is at Australia's pace.

I prefer it to be at Afridi pace :D

harmison to inzy
1) nicely punched away again this time for a single
2) defended by akmal no run
3) driven back to the bowler and a bit of agresion by harmison, no run
4) nicely driven again by akmal, great stop by hoggard on boundry saves a run, england showing good comitment in field, 3 runs, 200 comes up!
5) inzy on strike, driven for no run
6) short and outside of stump left alone by inzy, no run, end of over

Marooned said:
I say let Raza play the entire series before passing judgements. That's the only logicial way of finding of whether he's good enough.
That's the ideal mode of backing a player, but if Raza fails again in the 2nd innings, I think the reality is, if they're going to keep to the same standard as how they have shunted players like Asim or Afridi, he's likely to be dropped for either one of Asim or Afridi. Remember this is trigger-happy Pakistan, not England or Australia.

He's contrary is that Stephen Harmison.

Give him a green seamer with plenty of bounce and he doesn't know what to do with it but give him a dust bowl and he suddenly thinks he's Glenn McGrath.

giles back in the attack now, akmal on strike
1) defended on leg stump line by akmal no run
2) same again, no run
3) outside leg stump n paded away by akmal no run
4) ohh! akmal tries cutting it and almost chops it on, very very lucky is akmal there, no run
5) paded away again, no run
6) ohhh! tries cutting it again and mises good over by giles, maiden

One stat seems to favour us though. INzi scores a ton here and we're pretty certain to win the match. Nineteen of his 22 centuries have come in winning causes.

DM said:
Good morning again folks! What a sight to wake up to, MoYo early, Hasan gets a duck!

Cricket is the most ironic sport in the universe

Has the wicket started to play up? What happened bros?

silly wickets.salman chased a wide one.
moyo could not be bothered to lower his bat in time.
raza was just too cocky.trying to drive a yorker before he even got set.

was a nice hook by akmal for 4

then followed up with a nice leg glance for 4

akmal 19* - we need something special, mainly he just needs to stay with inzi

Nauman said:
I cant belive you people Hasan has one failiure and everyone is after his neck, even the best batsmen get out quickly if anyone deserves to be cursed its the top three Butt, Malik and Younis Khan, you get in on a flat track and then throw your wicket away that is where the problem is. Even Dravid gets out on yorkers early in his innings does that mean you kick him out?

The point is Kamal should never have been dropped, I don't care what he does in warmup games as long as he's performing in test matches. If someone is scoring tons and tons of runs in A team matches then it's still not enough to get a test callup UNTIL someone in the test team fails consistently. Until then you wait for your chance, as far as I'm concerned Kamal had done nothing to warrant being dropped and however many runs Raza scores in warmup matches doesn't change that.

harmision to inzy
1) kind of nasty short ball just opened inzys eyes there,no run
2) inzy pulls away for a single
3)Akmal on strike now, another short ball and pulled away for FOUR RUNS, good shot by akmal.
4) leg glance by akmal goes away fine for FOUR RUNS.
5) nicely defended on ofstump by akmal, no run
6) driven on legside for a single by akmal. good over for pakistan

Big Mac said:
The point is Kamal should never have been dropped, I don't care what he does in warmup games as long as he's performing in test matches. If someone is scoring tons and tons of runs in A team matches then it's still not enough to get a test callup UNTIL someone in the test team fails consistently. Until then you wait for your chance, as far as I'm concerned Kamal had done nothing to warrant being dropped and however many runs Raza scores in warmup matches doesn't change that.

Same could be said about Afridi, what did he do at Test level to be dropped?

tahaqureshi said:
Im now more interested in the India vs. Sri Lanka match .....

TO HELL WITH PAKISTAN!!!!!

Yeah I'm also dying to see a one day match between two most exciting teams in the world. Who needs a test match between Pak and Eng , the first international match Pak's playing in 5 months, when you can watch Zoysa bowl to Kaif in what is the only 7th encounter in two weeks. Nevermind the fact that this long, boring series was over by the 4th game yet a billion of users are hogging up cricinfo's bandwidth just to see the scorecard for this borefest.

giles to akmal
1) defended, no run
2) defended, no run
3) swept for, no run
4) defended, no run
5) defended, no run
6) tries getting it away on legside no run, maiden over

Big Mac said:

Fair point but now that you have chosen one player out of those three you have to stick with him, not play a juggling game between the three of them.

adi 101 said:
giles to akmal
1) defended, no run
2) defended, no run
3) swept for, no run
4) defended, no run
5) defended, no run
6) tries getting it away on legside no run, maiden over

This is better and quicker than any commentary on the net. Thanks yaar

anyone planning to release any highlights? Im a bit of a cheapskate you see, didnt order Sky Sports.

HunkyPunky said:
Yeah I'm also dying to see a one day match between two most exciting teams in the world. Who needs a test match between Pak and Eng , the first international match Pak's playing in 5 months, when you can watch Zoysa bowl to Kaif in what is the only 7th encounter in two weeks. Nevermind the fact that this long, boring series was over by the 4th game yet a billion of users are hogging up cricinfo's bandwidth just to see the scorecard for this borefest.

LOL yaar I was only kidding, dont take it seriously. :D

LOL yaar I was only kidding, dont take it seriously
I know Taha. But had to express my frustration at CI and other sites crawling cuz of molesting they're receiving from a billion fans who cant leave chandana alone.

watch what you say RH, that pepsi can would probably hit 0-60 in about 15 minutes (thats only if all 3 of the guys inside move their feet fast enough)

nadeem said:
Pakistan's think tank (yeh right lol) must be regretting the omission of afridi now. THe conditions and pitch were ideal for him to score a 60-ball ton. Had he opened, PAK would have cruised along and all this self-inflicted pressure would have been non-existent. We'll also miss his variety of speed and bag of tricks when we bowl. Only contravention of convention brings about decisive turns in such wars of attrition. And who better to break the will of the opposition than afridi. But there you go, another blunder by our selectors.

Agreed Nadeem, Afridi should have made himself a fixture in the tests after his latest performances - he's certainly earned a place in the team. If dropping him is how we reward a good run in test cricket what must that do to his confidence?

Elan Tedronai said:
silly wickets.salman chased a wide one.
moyo could not be bothered to lower his bat in time.
raza was just too cocky.trying to drive a yorker before he even got set.
Thanks for the update Elan, Inzi and Akmal to rescue use inshallah

Why dont they get Freddie 'Flintoff' to push that Pepsi can; he's expert at driving with those sort of vehicles.

Kamran Akmal is more dependable that Yousef etc.

DM said:
Agreed Nadeem, Afridi should have made himself a fixture in the tests after his latest performances - he's certainly earned a place in the team. If dropping him is how we reward a good run in test cricket what must that do to his confidence?

DM - i can only hope afridi "if" selected for second test goes out and shows his class and put in a blistering performance. Who knows afridi can still make an impact as a substitute fielder!

Marooned said:
come on now guys. Inzi is there Akmal can bat and seems in good touch. Be positive!

A 75 from Akmal today?

What did I tell you good people?

(not my fault if a wicket falls now)

We need atleast 350 here. its such a shame weve wasted away such a solid start for once. inzi or akmal need to get a ton here.

AJ where have you been??

ive been watching game peaceful but thought id come and see how everyone on board is finding the game.

Coping, just about!

Jive Jive Pakistan said:
salaam amjid bahi how r u

i think both req a ton

w/salam how r u? long time no chat.

am good mashallah am just enjoying the game.

Waqar's inswinging yorker said:
DM - i can only hope afridi "if" selected for second test goes out and shows his class and put in a blistering performance. Who knows afridi can still make an impact as a substitute fielder!
I really hope so WIY! Any sort of impact whatsoever, anything to stake a claim, even if it's just a brilliant delivery of drinks!

A mellow AJ!! Are you on meds bro?!

Come on, when are the claws coming out :D

We wait with anticipation :D :D

RH said:
head under a pillow for a while i guess.

nah i actually threw the pillow @ tv when we had mid-inns collapse. moyo and hasan were dissapointing. butt & y khan looked good thou.

DM said:
A mellow AJ!! Are you on meds bro?!

Come on, when are the claws coming out :D

We wait with anticipation :D :D

i was actually quited peed-off like you when i saw afridi wasnt playing. lets hope we get 350 as weve batted as a team below par today.