Pakistan v Sri Lanka | 2nd T20I | Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore | 07 October, 2019 | Sri Lanka innings

Pakistanis got swayed by his British accent.... he has just copy pasted a domestic structure from elsewhere and people are hailing him as the saviour, but reality is he is making one stupid decision after another.

I must admit he knows how to convince people with big talk. Don't know how he fooled Imran Khan to get big job doing nothing.

Hasnain and Wahab.. its like having an elephant and a rhino in the field. Forget batting, bowling looks so poor.

Good to see Hasnain improving his consistency of lengths and lines.

I read somewhere when Waqar was the head coach our bowling was the second worse in the world. This Sri Lanka series makes me wonder if the decision to apoint Waqar as the bowling coach was the correct one.

I read somewhere when Waqar was the head coach our bowling was the second worse in the world. This Sri Lanka series makes me wonder if the decision to apoint Waqar as the bowling was the correct one.

When he was the bowling coach we saw the development of Umar Gul and Rana Naveed with their in dipping yorkers. As head coach he would have had a lot more in his mind than just guiding bowlers full time.

Both Misbah, Waqar and Sarfraz are shrewd trio.
Another big win for SL.

Wth is shadab doing he’s bowling with zero intensity coming in like an aunty and literally throwing the ball going the through the motions these guys can hit infact they can annihilate you and they are . Pathetic

Dont worry the legendary trio of akmal shazad and Asif will chase this down easily

Always a pleasure to see Shadab getting smashed. Such a pathetic spinner.

I must admit he knows how to convince people with big talk. Don't know how he fooled Imran Khan to get big job doing nothing.

Half of his 40 lac salary is for his British accent and the “I left UK to help Pakistan” act.

Wasim did a good job with Leicestershire. They were profitable for 3 years running. He's the right man for the job.

BUT I do find this Misbah appointment a very bizarre move. It looks to be a cost saving exercise. Cheap inexperienced coach/selector bundled into one.

It will be disaster no doubt for 2 years, maybe then we will have enough money to hire a proper coach.

Just have to deal with Misbah amateur coaching and selection of dross like Akmal,Shehzad, Wahab, Iftikhar for a while.

Sad turn of events, will probably lose our no 1 ranking in T20s too.

To make matters worse we only have 2 batsmen Fakhar and Babar :facepalm: :facepalm:

When he was the bowling coach we saw the development of Umar Gul and Rana Naveed with their in dipping yorkers. As head coach he would have had a lot more in his mind than just guiding bowlers full time.

When you're the second worse in the world in one aspect of the game, as the head coach, you have to focus on that aspect first and foremost.

As usual Shehzad will waste balls and Akmal will get early with Sarfraz will play test.

I tell you SL bowling is no walkover. They recently won a Test series in SA!! A couple of bowlers capable of bowling in the 140's and moving it. Sandakan's wornguns weren't being read by Pak batsmen, one felt

Srl manager and selector also saying that only drawback was that we could go out of the hotel. Hopefully normality resumes soon so that teams can go outside as well to enjoy other activities.

As usual Shehzad will waste balls and Akmal will get early with Sarfraz will play test.

A T20 batting line up that has Shehzad, Akmal, Sarfaraz and Asif wow wow wow Mashallah all hail saviour Misbah. In just his first series he is showing his true colors.

When you're the second worse in the world in one aspect of the game, as the head coach, you have to focus on that aspect first and foremost.

Agreed and this time he isnt the head coach so we can hope he can focus on his main job.

Their batting was also one of the worst. That was in general one of Paks worst times.

Wasim did a good job with Leicestershire. They were profitable for 3 years running. He's the right man for the job.

BUT I do find this Misbah appointment a very bizarre move. It looks to be a cost saving exercise. Cheap inexperienced coach/selector bundled into one.

It will be disaster no doubt for 2 years, maybe then we will have enough money to hire a proper coach.

Just have to deal with Misbah amateur coaching and selection of dross like Akmal,Shehzad, Wahab, Iftikhar for a while.

Sad turn of events, will probably lose our no 1 ranking in T20s too.

He is getting far more than Arthur plus he has given 3 years not 2 years. I am sure he will get extension 2 years when World Cup is less than a year away.
So most likely he will be in the job for 5-6 years if not until 2027.

Also Wasim Khan cannot do corruption in English system

We spend so much time thinking about and ultimately criticizing selection but very little time talking about philosophy. Before we can make decisions on who should play, why they should play, and where they should play, shouldn't we think about how we want to play. How do we as a bowling unit want to attack the first six overs. Who should bowl? How should they bowl? How should they construct an over? What are the kinds of field placings we should have?

Even though there seems to be no specific blueprint about how we want to play two words do come to mind.

1. Muddled (There is No Clear Strategy)
2. Defensive

Imad is the only decent all-rounder in the national setup and should be the default first choice in both ODIs and T20s. He should be paired with a proper, specialist spinner and not a joker who can only field.

Issue to me isnt that opposition is doing well but its the fact that whenever opposition gets in a decent position Pakistan's captain mainly and thus most of the players come under unnecessary pressure during the match. They need to be professional and handle these situations well rather than having glimpses of shock on their faces which automatically puts the opposition on top mentally.

I don’t know why y’all are crying it’s just one game and on top of that admit that these Sri lankan batsman are very though they don’t have much international experience I’m pretty sure they would do the same to any other team cause they have the skill to do it.

He is getting far more than Arthur plus he has given 3 years not 2 years. I am sure he will get extension 2 years when World Cup is less than a year away.
So most likely he will be in the job for 5-6 years if not until 2027.

Also Wasim Khan cannot do corruption in English system

Arthur was on $18k a month. Misbah is not getting that much I am sure. Probably $18k combined for all backroom staff.

The head coach needs energy and intensity, its vital for a team like ours which is always looking to not focus on their game.

Misbah has neither of these qualities and he is unable to select a team going by his captaincy track record and ZERO concept of succession planning. Worst is he is a selector too. This will be one epic disaster. He won't last longer than 12 months.

Bowling looks quite flat. Based on last game, I don’t think this is a batting belter, a bit uneven & double paced. Chasing 160+ to save the series won’t be easy here.

Hasnain’s lucky hat-trick notwithstanding, he is not ready for international cricket. Thankfully he didn’t play in the World Cup because his career would have been over.

He has talent but that talent needs to be refined in domestic cricket.

Wowow rajaparska playing his second international match and he’s gonna make some records

i believe all the people predicting a 3 0 win should stand up in shame with the arrogance..

Arthur was on $18k a month. Misbah is not getting that much I am sure. Probably $18k combined for all backroom staff.

The head coach needs energy and intensity, its vital for a team like ours which is always looking to not focus on their game.

Misbah has neither of these qualities and he is unable to select a team going by his captaincy track record and ZERO concept of succession planning. Worst is he is a selector too. This will be one epic disaster. He won't last longer than 12 months.

Misbah is getting the same as Arthur.

Irrespective of the result, after these performances in the field there is no justification to have Sarfaraz as captain in the T20 WC next year.

Looking at the meltdown on this thread , one would think that Sri Lanka are 200/1 in 15 overs. :misbah

I think Pak will chase it down today.

People saying Amir should retire should see right now.There is no bowler with brain in Pakistan

We have been badly exposed already. The “we are the best in T20s” drama is over. South Africa, England and now Sri Lanka have given us a much needed reality check, which we wouldn’t have needed in the first place had BCCI bothered to play us in the last two years.

What I'm mad about is that people are blaming Misbah for these defeats. For God's sake, we lost to SA C team under Mickey and then to England too

Badly lacking in spinner department. Lanka, india, afghan, aus, SA, eng etc all better spinners than pak. Imad and shadab crumble and clueless... Amir variation is good but lacks pace to rake wkts. other pace options simply got no control. Slankan reserve team taking them to the cleaners...

Another myth busted:

“Our players form and stats have suffered because of not playing at home”

:moyo2

His contract is 3 years . If he gets sacked PCB has to pay him 2 years salary doing nothing. Misbah is getting 34 million Rs/year. So PCB has to pay him 68 million Rs.

1. Pakistan is Not the Best Team in the World
2. Babar Azam is Not the Best T20 Batsman in the World
3. Pakistan Was Never the Best Test Team in the World Even When We Were No.1

What I'm mad about is that people are blaming Misbah for these defeats. For God's sake, we lost to SA C team under Mickey and then to England too

There is a world of difference losing to England and South Africa and that too at their home then losing to Sri Lanka at home.

People will always try to target someone just to avoid admitting the fact that we are simply not good enough. That is the only truth.

Yes Misbah is a poor coach, but as a cricket nation we are in the dumps. No coach can do wonders with our current talent pool.

1. Pakistan is Not the Best Team in the World
2. Babar Azam is Not the Best T20 Batsman in the World
3. Pakistan Was Never the Best Test Team in the World Even When We Were No.1

Completely agreed.

Misbah is getting the same as Arthur.

Wow, what a stupid decision by Wasim Khan. Mickey Arthur is an experienced international level coach with
a long resume. Misbah has literally ZERO coaching experience. No organization would ever offer the salary to someone like that. I wish Wasim Khan was my boss then!

Ladies and gentlemen !

Sri Lanka have unearthed an absolute gem !! What a hitting !

Unknown players with talent are difficult to plan against (Not to forget when captain is Sarfaraz) as nobody knows their weaknesses and strenghths. Nothing to take away from Rajapaksa but we will know in an year or so if he can maintain such performances even when teams will work him out.

People will always try to target someone just to avoid admitting the fact that we are simply not good enough. That is the only truth.

Yes Misbah is a poor coach, but as a cricket nation we are in the dumps. No coach can do wonders with our current talent pool.

I think Misbah will do the same good as Arthur in LOIs- so rather mediocre. But I think he will be a good coach for umproving our test team.

SL should declare their innings now. Too much for our TTf brigade.