Pakistan vs Afghanistan | Match 36, World Cup | Leeds | Jun 29, 2019 | Pre-Match Discussion Thread

India is not going to play Hard, am sorry that ‘Hard’ playing India hasn't done since 2011WC , we are going to routinely play and if we win we win if not meh.. Even Kohli somehow is playing thag same
Method game, thats why Test cricket is more interesting to me as an Indian fan nowadays, coz of monotonous playing, which is great for consistency but winning championship not sure..

Nailed it.

Horrible post. I for one am really proud how well Afghanistan have improved in the last 5-6 years, it's great for cricket.

What's horrible about it? They have lost all their matches in this world cup even in the qualifiers Zimbabwe was much better than this horrible team

Horrible post. I for one am really proud how well Afghanistan have improved in the last 5-6 years, it's great for cricket.
Unrelated post, but I hope you stick around till we play Bangladesh.

And keep supporting the team that plays Pakistan. IYKWIM :))

Unrelated post, but I hope you stick around till we play Bangladesh.

And keep supporting the team that plays Pakistan. IYKWIM :))

Depends who they play.

I probably will be cheering for Afghanistan and Bangladesh when they play Pakistan, because those two teams will be underdogs.

I was cheering for Pakistan when they played Australia and India, because Pakistan were the underdogs.

What if pak lose their easiest game???

Nothing is impossible but if there is one wicket where they can do it is than its Rose Bowl. Afghanistan will be quite motivated to beat Pakistan considering the recent turbulent history between the two countries. For BD it doesnt matter whether Pak loses this game or not as even if BD lose to India and they beat Pakistan they will still have to wait for England to lose both to India and NZ

It's called ek teer se do shikaar

Stop being so insecure.

I am not insecure about Pakistan cricket team. Love them winning and love them winning with confidence - when the put fear into the opponents. That's how they look like right now.

It is supporters like you who equate slagging off opponents with being secure that turn me off.

This will be a tough game, recent games between the two always seem to be very competative.

pakistan cant afford to be complacent.

I am not insecure about Pakistan cricket team. Love them winning and love them winning with confidence - when the put fear into the opponents. That's how they look like right now.

It is supporters like you who equate slagging off opponents with being security that turn me off.
I believe Pakistan fans have been rather civil compared to their Bangladeshi and Afghani counterparts. I think you forgot how the Afghan cricket chief trolled our cricketing structure recently. Bangladeshi fans here are insufferable and, on other forums, are downright disrespectful.

The insecurity is when you call out people who rightfully respond to this rubbish and return the favour. If you can't give it back, keep quiet and keep those insecurities to yourself.

Pakistan fans have become kittens, only good enough to bash their own team.

I believe Pakistan fans have been rather civil compared to their Bangladeshi and Afghani counterparts. I think you forgot how the Afghan cricket chief trolled our cricketing structure recently. Bangladeshi fans here are insufferable and, on other forums, are downright disrespectful.

The insecurity is when you call out people who rightfully respond to this rubbish and return the favour. If you can't give it back, keep quiet and keep those insecurities to yourself.

Pakistan fans have become kittens, only good enough to bash their own team.

Thanks for putting me in my place keyboard warrior. The world needed someone like you.

Pakistan shouldn't get fancy thinking about NRR scenarios. The players mind should be focused only on points on the board.

If we're in a position to get a dominating result to boost our NRR then obviously great, but the two points is of most importance.

Keep the same team.

Question is: India is going to play hard against ENG? - I would pay attention to little details in that match.

From Business point of view it makes sense for ENG to qualify. Bad toss decision, couple of slip ups here and there can make big difference.

In current form India is favorite to win, specially if pitch assist spin (which may not be the case, since it’s going to be fresh pitch), but still there will be some assistance in second innings. It has to be bat first wicket, based on what we can see, toss would be vital, question is would it matter 😉😉

I still have not find any good explanation why we bowl first against AUS and IND. If they cannot read pitches, well what they are paid for??

The flip side was if we batted first on those damp wickets in a 10.30AM start with overcast weather, Starc/Cummins or Bumrah/Bhuvi could've made our top order dance and Sarfraz would be blasted for that decision too. As it happened we didn't start those chases well either.

Bowling first wasn't necessarily the problem - it's that our new ball bowlers bar Amir were absolutely incompetent and couldn't even pitch two balls in the same area.

It's like the tosses Root and Sarfraz won in the Lord's and Headingley Tests last year. Both chose to bat and were correct calls on paper but the execution was terrible.

Instead of criticising the execution, some people attacked their decisions at the toss.

I am going to Headingley cricket stadium this Saturday in sha Allah for my 1st CW match. Anyone else from this group coming?

Inko inki auqaat dikhane ka waqt aa gya hai.They are just so arrogant like indians and Bangladeshis.I just want them to be destroyed

Itna Gharoor Acha nahieen... WTH you think is so special about us?? - we were miserable and lost to same AFG in warm ups and in Asia Cup last year... I don’t get this kinds of posters, we lost 11 Odis in a row two weeks ago, this fake bravado does not look good on #7 rank team, couple of wins and fans start thinking we are world champs :facepalm:

That bowling by shahin S A against NZ was sensational.....wow....19 yrs old...what a star with a future....
i saw the AFG CEO said some bakwas about pak leaning from afg...wow.....pak will come out firing...good luck from india...

We need to put our head down and keep the momentum going

How we play Mujeeb and Rashid will decide the match

Let's not take Afghanistan lightly. Can't get complacement. I feel like perhaps Imad could be dropped for Mohammad Hasnain, but Imad also done well against them in the warm up game.

Itna Gharoor Acha nahieen... WTH you think is so special about us?? - we were miserable and lost to same AFG in warm ups and in Asia Cup last year... I don’t get this kinds of posters, we lost 11 Odis in a row two weeks ago, this fake bravado does not look good on #7 rank team, couple of wins and fans start thinking we are world champs :facepalm:

Wait till the match against India again. All these "brave" fans will become ultimate peaceniks, showering roses - like they did before the last India game. Even though Indian fans are way worse in treating Pakistanis.

Real solution is: Pakistan team should focus on doing all basics well and get maximum advantage out of the Afghanistan game.

And Pakistani supporters should focus on supporting their team the way they did in Birmingham - loud, brash, humorous and unflinching.

On the game itself, the same team should play. They know each other and their roles. It is time they gel and get the most out of the game.

Pakistan shouldn't get fancy thinking about NRR scenarios. The players mind should be focused only on points on the board.

If we're in a position to get a dominating result to boost our NRR then obviously great, but the two points is of most importance.

Keep the same team.

Agreed, we don't play spin that well, so NRR fantasies need to be put aside until they've built a solid foundation. Don't think we can dream of scoring 400, unless Fakhar plays a blinder.

Look to score 350+ batting first and bowl them out for around 150 or ensure they chase 150 to 200 max in 20-30 overs.

Every WC game has its own pressure no complacency need to be 100% in all dept.

AFG have no pressure the onus is on us to capitulate

We just have to maintain our disciplines.
Bowl the rights lines and lengths and importantly, field well and take our catches.

Battingwise, show their bowlers respect..

If we play like we did against the South Africa and New Zealand we should win comfortably, its a no contest.

If we come out like we did against the Windies then it becomes a contest.

Pakistan should look to bat first and put a decent total of 300+. It is going to get really hot during afternoon and it will be harder to bat on 2nd innings.

Might sound obnoxious, but still believe what little minuscule chance Afghans have (to win the game, these days anyone can make it close to other team in WC, doesn’t matter much what they did against India), I think it’s in batting 2nd at Leed’s.

As I say, majority of the upsets had been through underdogs winning after batting first - that’s because every such underdogs were/are better in batting than bowling. Batting first, they put a score, then caught their much stronger opponents off guard on the day.

Afghans are completely opposite - their batting is poor, fielding is even worse. On a Leeds track, if they bat first, my hunch is they’ll be 5-6 down by the time PAK’s weak overs (for them, 20+ overs of spin) come, Afghans might be already done and a target of 170, may be 200 max. This is quite experienced PAK batting lineup now, might not be eye catching, but they won’t falter against AFG attack for a target that just needs batting out overs.

Expecting a thrashing for AFGs, but their only chance to win is bowl first, Mujeeb knocking both lefties early and then Nabi keeping Babar & Haris check, finally Rashid cleaning the bottom half. May be Afghans can chase 225ish total max. Batting first, they’ll definitely compete better most times, but don’t see them winning - even in Asia Cup at their pomp, on that track they failed to defend a good total against PAK’s experience and their fielding is too ordinary to create any pressure.

I am sure both teams will bat first after winning toss, hence for Afghans, losing toss won’t be that bad. PAK can burry them with 330+ batting first, but still that’s the slimmest chance. Batting first AFG’s won’t score more than ~250 and PAK will chase that every time, doesn't matter how close the game is.

I don't care if we go to Semis or not, I want us to beat Afg silly, too much hatred from them and time to put them in their place.

For those interested in the weather - it will be a blisteringly hot day (by UK standards) with temperatures expected to touch 28 degrees Celsius.

The flip side was if we batted first on those damp wickets in a 10.30AM start with overcast weather, Starc/Cummins or Bumrah/Bhuvi could've made our top order dance and Sarfraz would be blasted for that decision too. As it happened we didn't start those chases well either.

Bowling first wasn't necessarily the problem - it's that our new ball bowlers bar Amir were absolutely incompetent and couldn't even pitch two balls in the same area.

It's like the tosses Root and Sarfraz won in the Lord's and Headingley Tests last year. Both chose to bat and were correct calls on paper but the execution was terrible.

Instead of criticising the execution, some people attacked their decisions at the toss.

Cloudy conditions does not matter much in ODIs in ENG for last 2/3 years. Question was about the wicket, was wicket dryer and had moisture? Almost all wickets have been dryer under the cover(thanks to their drainage and drying system), except ENG Vs AUS, you could see the ball was nipping a lot in first 15-20 overs, even in AUS innings nip was there, Morgan decision was right...

You have to judge hardness and dryness of the surface rather than looking at clouds and rain in last few days, which has little to no barring. 90% of the time in this WC, wickets has been bat first. Even NZ made right call, second time it was way harder to bat...PAK did this twice against top team, which is very unfortunate. These guys are in UK for 2 months, have no idea how to read pitches, I don't know what is point of 5/6 coaches, plus supporting staff. You have to be clinical about conditions, toss has and will play huge role in this WC.

Weather will be dryer and if it get hotter, toss will be even more vital. I am pretty sure, ENG/ICC is not going to start making damp wickets now, that gamble has its down sides :) :)

For those interested in the weather - it will be a blisteringly hot day (by UK standards) with temperatures expected to touch 28 degrees Celsius.

You are talking about Leeds, right? - see change from 71F to 86F, from today and tomorrow. That is very significant, hot weather suites AFG spinners a lot. Batting first would be again important.

Simple formula, Bat first. Play Rashid and Mujeeb sensibly, get to around 240 and watch Afghanistan implode.

Good bowling side but they cannot bat im afraid

Pak bowlers are in form also. If Pakistan bowl first then they should be able to restrict them to under 200. Above 200 would be criminal.

Safaraz needs to come up the order given he is pretty decent against spin. Let Hafeez play the no 6 finisher role.

Cloudy conditions does not matter much in ODIs in ENG for last 2/3 years. Question was about the wicket, was wicket dryer and had moisture? Almost all wickets have been dryer under the cover(thanks to their drainage and drying system), except ENG Vs AUS, you could see the ball was nipping a lot in first 15-20 overs, even in AUS innings nip was there, Morgan decision was right...

You have to judge hardness and dryness of the surface rather than looking at clouds and rain in last few days, which has little to no barring. 90% of the time in this WC, wickets has been bat first. Even NZ made right call, second time it was way harder to bat...PAK did this twice against top team, which is very unfortunate. These guys are in UK for 2 months, have no idea how to read pitches, I don't know what is point of 5/6 coaches, plus supporting staff. You have to be clinical about conditions, toss has and will play huge role in this WC.

Weather will be dryer and if it get hotter, toss will be even more vital. I am pretty sure, ENG/ICC is not going to start making damp wickets now, that gamble has its down sides :) :)

True, Pakistan have been poor at reading pitches for some time but the wisdom of any toss decision depends on execution.

For example, Morgan's decision was understandable to bowl first on a 10:30AM start at Lord's on green tinged wicket given Australia's shambolic playing of swing and seam in ENG in the past 15 years. However English seamers totally failed to pitch the ball fuller which Australia did more consistently and got the ball to move.

From our perspective and it bodes well for rest of World Cup - I was encouraged at how fuller Shaheen was bowling instead of short and back of length rubbish.

This is another curse of UAE wickets which are graveyards for fast bowlers. That means instead of bowling a fuller, attacking length - pacers prefer bowling defensive back of a length and contain. This is why we are one of world's WORST new ball attacks and why nearly every team gets off to flyer against us. In UAE our seamers are trained to wait for ball to reverse.

According to a leading news channel, Hasan Ali or Mohammad Hasnain will replace Imad Wasim to form a 4 prong pace attack.

Simple formula, Bat first. Play Rashid and Mujeeb sensibly, get to around 240 and watch Afghanistan implode.

Good bowling side but they cannot bat im afraid

AFG will probably get bundled out for 150. Their batting is toothless without Shahzad.

Didn’t Hasnain score 28 runs in the last match against England (I cannot remember it exactly...)

He did, but I don't think he can be considered a reliable tailender at this point with only 1 innings to his name. Including him would be a risky proposition.

ECB will roll out a turner i suppose lol They are desperate to bring it home.

Then why did they turn out a turner for NZ vs Pakistan?
Pakistan have had all the luck /favours with the pitches so far and you are still whinging.

Would love to see Afghans win, more so because most pakistani fans are as bad as bangladeshi fans. These 2 set of fans always complain and cry and play the victim.

Just watch the game , not everything is against your "poor victim boys" all the time.

Just praying and hoping that Pakistan turn up with the same kind of enthusiasm, will, and determination as they have in the last 2 games.

Didn’t Hasnain score 28 runs in the last match against England (I cannot remember it exactly...)

Yeah he really bashed them around :))) But that's England they have a horrid bowling attack, and they served up highways in that series.

AFG will probably get bundled out for 150. Their batting is toothless without Shahzad.

Oh Bhai Shahzad is no world beater either. Your out here talking bout him like he's averaging 65 against the top sides in the world. Fact is Afghanistan have no good players they are simply a very good minnow like Zimbabwe was a couple years back. Unlike Zimbabwe however they play all their games against even worse minnows which is why garbage players like Shahzad and Rashid Khan have looked so good in their careers. Brendan Taylor would probably average in the 50's if he played 90% of his career against other minnows. Heck even Greame Cremer would of averaged in the low 20's if he played against associates. Fact is Afghanistan has just gone from being a garbage minnow to a decent minnow. The way Rashid Khan has got thrashed in this tourney has showed what a horrible player he is. You can't even compare him to Shadab who has looked 10x better than him. The Indian spin twins and Imran Tahir also wipe the floor with him.

I never wrote Shahzad was a world beater. It is just that Shahzad is possibly their best batsman. It is like Pakistan playing without Babar Azam.

He did, but I don't think he can be considered a reliable tailender at this point with only 1 innings to his name. Including him would be a risky proposition.

But there is always a chance he can get them out for a cheap score.

Definitely worth a try in my opinion.

Yeah he really bashed them around :))) But that's England they have a horrid bowling attack, and they served up highways in that series.
Yeah I remember him having some fun in the middle.

Afghanistan have two world class spinners the rest are just decent...

I’d definitely play him against them.

I never wrote Shahzad was a world beater. It is just that Shahzad is possibly their best batsman. It is like Pakistan playing without Babar Azam.

Your comparing one of the most consistent batsman in the world to Shahzad a guy who averages in the 30's even after playing most his cricket against minnows. Against the top sides his average dips to the 20's and it would be even lower if it were not for that fluke innings against India. Shahzad doesn't make a difference to this minnow unless maybe if their playing against a team like Zimbabwe or Ireland like Afghanistan always are.

Yeah I remember him having some fun in the middle.

Afghanistan have two world class spinners the rest are just decent...

I’d definitely play him against them.

No dude nobody in that team is world class. Mujeeb is probabaly their best player. They play 70% of their games against Ire and Zim, Look no further than Rashid Khan's average of 70+ against the top 5 teams for proof of this. They are all just average to poor players who like I've mentioned benefit from playing minnows worse than them. I'm surprised at how many people were calling Rashid Khan the best spinner in the world based on Mickey Mouse leagues and dominating Zimbabwe.

But there is always a chance he can get them out for a cheap score.

Definitely worth a try in my opinion.

For me too, I am willing to try anyone in place of that good for nothing all-rounder Imad Wasim. Let's take some risks against the weakest team in the tournament, might prove to be a masterstroke.

Was initially not even going to bother with the game. Now I am all hooked up and will see ball to ball. InshAllah boys will bring these Afghan kids back to earth with another staggering performance.

Afghans arrogance and big talk has really annoyed me.

No dude nobody in that team is world class. Mujeeb is probabaly their best player. They play 70% of their games against Ire and Zim, Look no further than Rashid Khan's average of 70+ against the top 5 teams for proof of this. They are all just average to poor players who like I've mentioned benefit from playing minnows worse than them. I'm surprised at how many people were calling Rashid Khan the best spinner in the world based on Mickey Mouse leagues and dominating Zimbabwe.

They are weak but don't get too over confident. We must respect them and play sensible

I'm not getting over confident or talking about the match tomorrow. I'm simply stating how idiotic it was of people to call Rashid Khan world class after bashing Zimbabwe and Ireland, who he's played 65% of his matches against.

Wow I saw Rashid’s stats and it doesn’t look world class at all.

The wickets he has taken are mostly of Ireland, Zimbabwe and West Indies.

For me too, I am willing to try anyone in place of that good for nothing all-rounder Imad Wasim. Let's take some risks against the weakest team in the tournament, might prove to be a masterstroke.
He won’t do any worse than Imad who doesn’t take wickets...

He can’t field and bowl and scores soft runs.

Ideally I’d like to see Asif Ali play in this match so that he can gain some confidence but who should he replace?

He can only replace Imad Wasim and to an extent Mohammad Hafeez at best, but I don't think he would get any chance now given how he performed last time and the fact that it disturbs our bowling combination greatly.

Four players in a group performed bad
1. Imam
2. Hafeez
3. Imad wasim
4. Wahan riaz

These are the rolo kata IK talked about add inzi to that list watch their performance these are the guys that get out at the wrong timr give extra runs in the last overs extra runs on the last ball.. watch them tommorow and their body language

If Eoin Morgan can hit 17 sixes against Afghanistan then I expect pak batsmen to get a colossal win.

Dude what the hell? Why would in God's name would you want Asif Ali to play? The worst batsmen to play for Pakistan. He's a hack who averages 20 and is a crap fielder. Imad is 100x better than Asif.

Wow I saw Rashid’s stats and it doesn’t look world class at all.

The wickets he has taken are mostly of Ireland, Zimbabwe and West Indies.

Yes brother and mainly Zim and Ire who he playes 65% of his matches against. I'm telling you Shadab Khan is much better than Rashid. The only team Shadab has struggled against really is India, and that's understandable they play leg-spin like no one else.

pakistan need to have big wins in last two games I think hasnain should be tried this game and hafeez should stay

True, Pakistan have been poor at reading pitches for some time but the wisdom of any toss decision depends on execution.

For example, Morgan's decision was understandable to bowl first on a 10:30AM start at Lord's on green tinged wicket given Australia's shambolic playing of swing and seam in ENG in the past 15 years. However English seamers totally failed to pitch the ball fuller which Australia did more consistently and got the ball to move.

From our perspective and it bodes well for rest of World Cup - I was encouraged at how fuller Shaheen was bowling instead of short and back of length rubbish.

This is another curse of UAE wickets which are graveyards for fast bowlers. That means instead of bowling a fuller, attacking length - pacers prefer bowling defensive back of a length and contain. This is why we are one of world's WORST new ball attacks and why nearly every team gets off to flyer against us. In UAE our seamers are trained to wait for ball to reverse.

Well in the India game Inzi was seen with Sarf inspecting the pitch:inzi2
Since he’s apparently gone home we may have some hope :moyo2

Considering that Imran Tahir, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mitchel Santner, all delivered impressive spells against Pakistan I wouldn't be surprised if Mujeeb and Rashid perform well against us.

and during india's game. we clearly saw how well your top batsman play quality spin. these are no kane williamson & satner

West Indies have won only one game in this WC & we all know it was aganist who. Afghanistan will like to spoil Pakistan's party & since they beat pak in warm ups. they will like to repeat it.Pakistan needs to be extra cautious or it will be another horror game for them. Expecting a low scoring match with last over finish. May the best team wins.

and during india's game. we clearly saw how well your top batsman play quality spin. these are no kane williamson & satner
Santner is not quality, on a turning track?

Comments like this make me wish Kuldeep and Chahal such a beating, you have no place to hide your face.

santner is garbage. if he was any worthy. he would have taken wickets, the only wicket that was taken by a spinner was williamson & that too was basically thrown away & sure you can " wish " thats not gonna happen tho.

Speaks volumes of the Indian team which got dismantled by this 'garbage' bowler at home in a world tournament not too long ago. Let's see you remember when, unless you're a kid who picked up cricket a year or so ago :yk

Should be an easy win for Pakistan but following Pakistan team for so many years I know that Pakistan will make a mess of it only to win it in the end. :inti

These games are tricky. I hope our players don't relax or put too much pressure on themselves. There is a gulf in skill level between the two teams. What makes this match interesting is that Pakistan some times just lose it mentally against teams like Afghanistan, and try too hard or fall apart.

Need a professional performance today. Afghans will be gunning for this game, for obvious reasons.

Let's do this Pakistan

Then why did they turn out a turner for NZ vs Pakistan?
Pakistan have had all the luck /favours with the pitches so far and you are still whinging.

Would love to see Afghans win, more so because most pakistani fans are as bad as bangladeshi fans. These 2 set of fans always complain and cry and play the victim.

Just watch the game , not everything is against your "poor victim boys" all the time.

Couldn't agree more, same people criticizing Bairstow for whining were whinging themselves not so long ago across multiple threads about BCCI being evil, India's schedule in this wc, color of Batman's underwear and what not!! ICC it seems is bending over backwards making sure Pak doesn't crash out before semi and artificially creating spooky parallels with 1992 just to attract more eyeballs. ICC=PCB.

Pakistan need to go all out and not relax one bit. Keep the same combo. Imad will give you runs because Afghanistan bowlers don’t have the pace and skill to bowl good bouncers and short balls.

Win toss, bat first and score 300. That should be the goal.

Couldn't agree more, same people criticizing Bairstow for whining were whinging themselves not so long ago across multiple threads about BCCI being evil, India's schedule in this wc, color of Batman's underwear and what not!! ICC it seems is bending over backwards making sure Pak doesn't crash out before semi and artificially creating spooky parallels with 1992 just to attract more eyeballs. ICC=PCB.

Getting ready to describe Pakistan's fluke world cup win this year, are we ? :wahab2:sarf