Pakistan's Fawad Khan: India's Heartthrob

ethan hunt

- Shobhaa De

(Shobhaa De is an established writer, columnist, opinion shaper and social commentator, who is considered an authority on popular culture.)

So, who is the real 'khubsoorat' in the movie....Any guesses? You've got it! It's a slim, bearded bloke from across the border. Same chap who has reduced the women on both sides to wobbling blobs of jello...haiiiiii...those eyes, that stare, the reluctant smile, the twisted mouth...and oooof - hair with a life of its own.

So, here's the deal. We are going to seriously 'objectify' the hunk from Lahore by giving him the full royal treatment. He can keep his sherwani on, of course. But no harm in opening the top three gold buttons to display a few chest hairs. Well, in the movie we get to see lots more of the skinny hero who must have been on a low fat diet for most of his adult life. Does anyone care about his patli kamar? Naaah! He's as yummy as those irresistible Lahori kebabs, and desi ladies want him. Jaisey bhi! Afsos ki baat yeh hai, ki he is married and a father to Ayaan... but, in our collective fantasy, we don't bother about such faltu, real life details. We will behave like ... like... Manju (Kirron Kher) in the movie and shamelessly drool each time Fawad takes in his breath and intones the royal "Hum..."

The thing about the 33 year-old singer, actor, model, fashion designer (he runs a clothing brand called Silk, with his wife), is his intensity. We have had enough of our chikna heroes (always 'boys', never men!), squinting into the camera or displaying their wretched, computer generated 6/8 pack bare bods in every second film. Even at close to 50, our chaps refuse to grow up. Please! It's about time they did. Fawad comes to us nicely packaged (compact chap, no abs, no biceps)... and unambiguously adult. Hurrah! Finally, a hero who we can count on to be more responsible than a kindergarten bachcha during a crisis. Perhaps it was the role. Perhaps it's Fawad. But think about it - he plays Yuvraj Vikram Rathore, a tight-assed royal. He is a real pain in the butt to start with, but then stuck with a clumsy, giggly 'physiotherapist' who constantly trips over herself, one can understand his predicament. None of these absurdities matter when Fawad is on screen. His caramel eyes can melt errr.... me, for example! I heard young things in the theatre comparing Fawad to a Magnum (a choco-stick ice cream that has to be slowly licked to ummm...get maximum pleasure). Another girl said, "No no no... Magnum is a commercially produced, mass consumption product. Fawad is more ... is more... let me think... yes, Fawad is like Sucre de Terre - a limited edition artisanal ice cream with an unusual, exotic flavor." Whichever way it goes, fans have decided he is the yummiest, most sinful treat in town...forget calories. And, yes it isn't just his ditsy heroine who harbours 'gandi gandi' thoughts about Fawad - we all do! How disgusting is that?

So, what do we do with Fawad, now that we have fully converted him into a pin-up? Such is the Fawad fever raging across India, the Pakistani actor can easily claim the top spot, if not at the box office, then in our hard hearts. Khoobsurat has collected a respectable Rs. 30 million in 3 days after it was released in Pakistan. The slightly silly movie isn't as big a hit in India... but he is! Now all he has to do to grab headlines is to declare he is feeling 'violated' by the attention. It's okay, Fawad. Be a sport. In India we like carrying top angle shots of our stars... so please don't button up that velvet sherwani just yet. All the Manjus in India will cry with disappointment if you did that. Hang on to the beard, too. It really suits you. Errr.... please don't mind us if a few funny pictures appear here and there, with red circles around your body parts. Trust me, in India those are meant as compliments! In case you still feel upset, you are free to tweet...

http://www.ndtv.com/article/opinion...dia-s-heartthrob-597638?pfrom=home-topstories

Indian women have gone nuts for fawad, not just the average woman , even their journalists have a crush on him , having known him since his E.P and jutt and bond days , i cant feel happier for the guy , he is such a humble and down to earth man , deserves every bit of the success , him being from LGS , a school i also attended helps .

He's very down to eaeth, humble and soft spoken. Interesting to see how he deals with the media circus of India. He had It easy here.

Saw him on KBC with Sonam. Looked very uncomfortable with the Limelight on him. Sonam was doing all the talking.

He resembled Toby Maguire. In fact the same beard and hairstyle.

Saw him on KBC with Sonam. Looked very uncomfortable with the Limelight on him. Sonam was doing all the talking.

KBC still happens? I didn't know.

Who is doing it now. Still Shahrukh?

Still think he's a better singer songwriter than an actor. Understated actor. But a bit overrated by the girls of Pak.

He is very shy in real life , karachi king is right indian media attention will be very alien to him .

Still think he's a better singer songwriter than an actor. Understated actor. But a bit overrated by the girls of Pak.

He actually sang a song on KBC and his voice was very good. Not sure about his acting capabilities. He seems to be very shy and uptight. Hard to survive in Bollywood like that. Either way he needs some strong backing from a big Hero or a Director and some luck to survive in Bollywood.

who is he? is he like the top actor in pakistan? just googled his images and must say, he has a stylish beard.

Can't believe he went from doing nihilistic and dark avant-garde music with Irtiqa to soppy romantic comedies. /facepalm

I am probably one of the few thousand Indians who are even aware of Entity Paradigm and followed them back in mid noughties.

Totally true. Many many girls here are mad after him!!

That said, this article is written by Shobha De :sanga who is far from a real journalist and the article looks like a jazbaati teet for tat reaction to TOI's Deepika Padukone coverage. :inti

The language is quasi erotic, she herself agrees that she is objectifying men, and worst part she talks about his body parts in a downright sadak chaap manner. Can Fawad sue her?

I wonder if a male "journalist" would be allowed to write such an article on any female actress? :srt

He was much better looking before he got influenced by the current macho fashion trends.

The language is quasi erotic, she herself agrees that she is objectifying men, and worst part she talks about his body parts in a downright sadak chaap manner. Can Fawad sue her?

I wonder if a male "journalist" would be allowed to write such an article on any female actress? :srt

When a girl puts her hand on a boys shoulder, it is considered normal.

When a man puts his hand on a girls shoulder, all hell will break lose.

He is average at best both in singing and acting but carries himself around very well and has the personality and looks. Hit the jackpot like few have with Humsafar which truly propelled him to stardom and no doubt both the drama and his acting were top notch.

Can see him leeching it for the rest of his career because it will be difficult for him to topple it. As far as acting is concerned, he is a level below Shaan, Humayun Saeed and Faisal Qureshi. I'd consider Fahad Mustafa a better actor as well.

I had a massive celeb crush on Sonam Kapoor after her debut in Saawariya, she truly has a beautiful face which you can look at all day but she has lost a lot of weight which has affected her. I don't have a thing for very skinny girls anyway but especially with a face like hers, not at all. I remember she had to shed a lot of kilos for Saawariya (was obese as a child) but was still doing fine.

Has completely lost it now.

He is average at best both in singing and acting but carries himself around very well and has the personality and looks. Hit the jackpot like few have with Humsafar which truly propelled him to stardom and no doubt both the drama and his acting were top notch.

Can see him leeching it for the rest of his career because it will be difficult for him to topple it. As far as acting is concerned, he is a level below Shaan, Humayun Saeed and Faisal Qureshi. I'd consider Fahad Mustafa a better actor as well.

Agreed with all those names being better although Humayun tends to overall. Fawad doesn't and this is something that I can respect. Fahad started off really well with Wujood e Lahraib which was a pretty solid drama overall as well actually. But has since been doing the overacting as well.

Haven't seen Humsafar so can't comment on it but his performance in Dastaan was what showed me he can act.

His singing is decent, but I overrate it cuz I thought EP was one of the strongest bands out of Pak since Junoon.

At the end of the day, Talat Hussain is probably the best actor I've ever seen out of Pak.

I had a massive celeb crush on Sonam Kapoor after her debut in Saawariya, she truly has a beautiful face which you can look at all day but she has lost a lot of weight which has affected her. I don't have a thing for very skinny girls anyway but especially with a face like hers, not at all. I remember she had to shed a lot of kilos for Saawariya (was obese as a child) but was still doing fine.

Has completely lost it now.

I could see myself have a crush on her at her peak. My last proper crush was the girl in the movie Rockstar. Don't know why. I look at her now and she just seems average.

Havent seen the work of the guys you mentioned , but i am pretty sure none of them enjoy half the female following that fawad has , and these girls will continue watching his dramas and will drag their boyfriends to watch his movies , he has a way with women . Enitity Paradigm is not overrated , seen mass hysteria at their concerts , fawad being the main reason ofcourse.

I could see myself have a crush on her at her peak. My last proper crush was the girl in the movie Rockstar. Don't know why. I look at her now and she just seems average.

Nargis fakhri i think , she has a pakistani connection , she is pretty but very very very fake , and this is not just for her vital stats

Lol yeah that's the one. I remember googling her after watching that movie and thinking WTH? How is this the same pretty girl (who can't act) that I just had a crush on?

Agreed with all those names being better although Humayun tends to overall. Fawad doesn't and this is something that I can respect. Fahad started off really well with Wujood e Lahraib which was a pretty solid drama overall as well actually. But has since been doing the overacting as well.

Haven't seen Humsafar so can't comment on it but his performance in Dastaan was what showed me he can act.

His singing is decent, but I overrate it cuz I thought EP was one of the strongest bands out of Pak since Junoon.

At the end of the day, Talat Hussain is probably the best actor I've ever seen out of Pak.

I find Fahad more versatile though. Can't see Fawad pulling off roles like Main Abdul Qadir Hoon etc. He has cemented himself as a heart-throb now and I can't see him doing unusual roles that cater the non-female population.

I agree he's a better singer than actor though but his acting and persona are definitely overrated by teenage girls because clearly he isn't the second coming of Waheed Murad.

Humayun and Shaan are the most consistent actors though, yes they can overdo at times but you can expect a 9/10 performance from them every time irrespective of the quality of production.

Talat Hussain and Kavi are definitely ATGs although I was a big fan of Shafi Muhammad's wadera dramas.

Nothing beats a good old PTV feudal lord classic. :jm

Too bad they are non-existent these days, too much focus on the generic love stories and all that nonsense.

Havent seen the work of the guys you mentioned , but i am pretty sure none of them enjoy half the female following that fawad has , and these girls will continue watching his dramas and will drag their boyfriends to watch his movies , he has a way with women . Enitity Paradigm is not overrated , seen mass hysteria at their concerts , fawad being the main reason ofcourse.

Fawad has greater sex appeal and he is taking full advantage of today's social media as well but from an objective POV, I won't rate him as a great artist but yes that doesn't matter anymore, sadly.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] : True, he is not a very good actor but, irl, he seems to have a lot of gravitas and personality which makes him endearing to the spectator. There is nothing wrong with that. Take people like Jason Statham, Dwayne Johnson or even Tom Cruise, who have a very successful career despite not having a lot of range (although you have to take stunt skills in account for them).

Fawad is too humble for an actor. Noticed him in khuda ke liye and then came across humsafar in youtube. Absolutely loved it.

There is a new amul baby, Imran Abbas with bipasha now in Creature. Don't even come close to fawad.

Dwayne Johnson is a joke so better not name him in the same breathe as Fawad, Statham and Tom Cruise. All of them have better acting skills than this muscle head will have in 9 lives.

Tom Cruise is no Brad Pitt acting wise, but I believe he's pretty underrated however its true that he has cashed in on his good looks. Nothing wrong with what Fawad is doing either, but I'm a purist when it comes to acting so I won't rate him. :baelish

All this talk has rekindled my desire to work in a TV series.

I find Fahad more versatile though. Can't see Fawad pulling off roles like Main Abdul Qadir Hoon etc. He has cemented himself as a heart-throb now and I can't see him doing unusual roles that cater the non-female population.

I agree he's a better singer than actor though but his acting and persona are definitely overrated by teenage girls because clearly he isn't the second coming of Waheed Murad.

Humayun and Shaan are the most consistent actors though, yes they can overdo at times but you can expect a 9/10 performance from them every time irrespective of the quality of production.

Talat Hussain and Kavi are definitely ATGs although I was a big fan of Shafi Muhammad's wadera dramas.

Nothing beats a good old PTV feudal lord classic. :jm

Too bad they are non-existent these days, too much focus on the generic love stories and all that nonsense.

Agreed man. Throwback PTV productions were close to perfect.

Dwayne Johnson is a joke so better not name him in the same breathe as Fawad, Statham and Tom Cruise. All of them have better acting skills than this muscle head will have in 9 lives.

Tom Cruise is no Brad Pitt acting wise, but I believe he's pretty underrated however its true that he has cashed in on his good looks. Nothing wrong with what Fawad is doing either, but I'm a purist when it comes to acting so I won't rate him. :baelish

I didn't say they have equal acting skills, just examples of actors who have built a career on this.

Tom Cruise is definitely a decent actor (and a very good stuntman), especially in Vanilla Sky and Edge of Tomorrow. But I think he is more about personality and good looks than orthodox acting.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] : True, he is not a very good actor but, irl, he seems to have a lot of gravitas and personality which makes him endearing to the spectator. There is nothing wrong with that. Take people like Jason Statham, Dwayne Johnson or even Tom Cruise, who have a very successful career despite not having a lot of range (although you have to take stunt skills in account for them).

Statham basically does the same role I'm every movie. And good on him if it works.

Dwayne I like as a person from what I have seen and read about him. With his limited skills he does a lot better job than most cross industry actors.

Putting Cruise in there with them is a little unfair on him. The guy is a pretty decent actor. You need to watch Magnolia. Pretty cool film and Cruise steals the show. Just hard to see through his annoying real life persona.

Purely on aesthetic - he is essentially a less attractive version of Arjan Rampal (no homos)

If you are a brilliant actor and have the looks, your name is Christian Bale. :baelish

What a great piece of journalism from Shobhaa De, the best journalist of India! I understand that she wanted to express herself about Deepika incident and boy, she has put down her full repertoire for us. The beautiful expression about the 'Magnum' ice cream epitomizes the erotic side of the 66 year old lady.

Alia Bhatt is the most beautiful actress in Bollywood atm..In fact I would rate her as one of the most beautiful actress in the history of cinema

I'll post a detailed view of his acting abilities when I get home.

But 2 points I'll make:

1) About the skinny bit. It irked me generally, i thought he looks alot older imo. But I read an interview before the release of the movie - it's his health. He's diabetic since his teens, and changed insulin or sth which reacted badly and he lost weight resultantly. I felt the article, as shoddy and creepy (seriously, was that an attempt at satire or sarcasm?) - should refrain from becoming so personal (not even gonna comment on the magnum bit).

2) He was at his poorest in Khuda ke Liye, just saying. I feel he is given similar roles, he does embody the Humsafar ordained cool, cold, dark mysterious but passionate guy to perfection. But just because he's played similar characters does not imply his acting range is limited. There was this play he did immediately after Dastaan - Akbari-Asghari. The guy played a paindoo zameendaar ka beta from some nameless village, whose sole aspiration in life was to entrap and get married to his supposedly rich cousin and spend the rest of his life in London. He was hilarious and nailed that character in the best way possible - even though I felt other actors were pretty weak next to him (Imran Abbas, Sanam baloch).

I'd almost put him in the same category as Humayun Saeed and Faisal Qureishi in terms of potential - far ahead of Fahad Mustafa (who I feel is declining) . But he's still got a long way to go before he cements himself with certainty.

Fawad is too humble for an actor. Noticed him in khuda ke liye and then came across humsafar in youtube. Absolutely loved it.

There is a new amul baby, Imran Abbas with bipasha now in Creature. Don't even come close to fawad.

people often mention humsafar , only saw a few scenes from that drama , found it too melodramatic , i still think zindagi gulzar hai is better than humsafar , but is kinda underrated.

For those mentioning tom cruise , fawad was actually known as th desi cruise back in the school days due to his slight resemblanceLux.jpg
could totally see him play the kind of role cuise did in rain man .

people often mention humsafar , only saw a few scenes from that drama , found it too melodramatic , i still think zindagi gulzar hai is better than humsafar , but is kinda underrated.

Am a South Indian from Kerala. Have not come across much Pakistani dramas to rate them. Even humsafar is my first Pak drama to watch and that too in Urdu which I could understand only because of its connection with hindi (my mother tongue is malayalam btw)..

I was curious what this movie is about and I watched the trailer on youtube. The comments... :azhar

I have always thought of Shobhaa De as this pseudo intellectual writer who by some freak of accident gets to share her ridiculous drivel week in and week out in India's "top" magazines. Very often she has little to talk about, relying solely on titillation, and is not above using obscure sexual references to adorn her writing.

If you dont believe me, here is one article about the new Central Bank Governor Raghuram Rajan calling him the new sex symbol!!!
http://articles.economictimes.india...678_1_raghuram-rajan-rbi-guv-duvvuri-subbarao
http://archives.deccanchronicle.com...a-de-says-rbi-chief-raghuram-rajan-sex-symbol
http://profit.ndtv.com/news/economy...ajan-told-he-makes-hearts-go-dhak-dhak-327131

She is just a senile aunty who salivates over every new kid on the block. No one here takes her seriously.

I have always thought of Shobhaa De as this pseudo intellectual writer who by some freak of accident gets to share her ridiculous drivel week in and week out in India's "top" magazines. Very often she has little to talk about, relying solely on titillation, and is not above using obscure sexual references to adorn her writing.

If you dont believe me, here is one article about the new Central Bank Governor Raghuram Rajan calling him the new sex symbol!!!
http://articles.economictimes.india...678_1_raghuram-rajan-rbi-guv-duvvuri-subbarao
http://archives.deccanchronicle.com...a-de-says-rbi-chief-raghuram-rajan-sex-symbol
http://profit.ndtv.com/news/economy...ajan-told-he-makes-hearts-go-dhak-dhak-327131

She is just a senile aunty who salivates over every new kid on the block. No one here takes her seriously.

Raghuram Rajan is a boss! Ive been his fan since the Michale Moore documentary on the crisis years ago!

He is nothing special. It's just the euphoria of the release of "Khoobsurat" that has so many people doing cartwheels. He will be another Ali Zafar or Mohsin Khan back in Pakistan after no more then perhaps five movies to his name.

We should stop giving the impression as if making it in Bollywood or approval of Indian writers is what we are seeking. This is why I respect Imran Khan so much that despite receiving so many Bollywood offers he never sold his Pakistaniat, ever!! Same applies to Shaan Shahid, with our own industry on the up lets concentrate on that.

He was much better looking before he got influenced by the current macho fashion trends.

Fashion is such a strange thing. Young white guys in Britain have started to sport Taliban style beards these days although probably inspired more by Game of Thrones than Bin Laden.

No idea who this guy is, but I remember reading about Shobha De shocking conservative Indian sensibilities with her racy novels some time back.

He is nothing special. It's just the euphoria of the release of "Khoobsurat" that has so many people doing cartwheels. He will be another Ali Zafar or Mohsin Khan back in Pakistan after no more then perhaps five movies to his name.

We should stop giving the impression as if making it in Bollywood or approval of Indian writers is what we are seeking. This is why I respect Imran Khan so much that despite receiving so many Bollywood offers he never sold his Pakistaniat, ever!! Same applies to Shaan Shahid, with our own industry on the up lets concentrate on that.

I personally, judging from his interviews and all, set him apart from the likes of Ali Zafar at least.

No harm in coming in Indian movies. But he should at least choose a script that's worth 2 cents (not Khoobsurat-esque fazooliat).

But we'll see how it fares.

I personally, judging from his interviews and all, set him apart from the likes of Ali Zafar at least.

No harm in coming in Indian movies. But he should at least choose a script that's worth 2 cents (not Khoobsurat-esque fazooliat).

But we'll see how it fares.

Harm is that he should be trying to improve our industry instead of working in a country with whom we have so many problems with. As Shaan Shahid said to Ali Zafar "lets not pretend working in India is normal". Ali Zafar's supposed craze in India is over as well, serves him right!

Not outright harm, but time and effort that could have been better spent at home, yes.

He has starred in Pakistani dramas and 1 film too. But I see your argument - a Fawad Khan-starring Pakistani production would do wonders for our own film industry following his post-Humsafar success.

Ali Zafar always seemed like an opportunist to me. I know someone who studied with him at NCA (was his senior) - he was all about stardom and showbiz and getting attention than performing as an expression of art.

Not outright harm, but time and effort that could have been better spent at home, yes.

He has starred in Pakistani dramas and 1 film too. But I see your argument - a Fawad Khan-starring Pakistani production would do wonders for our own film industry following his post-Humsafar success.

Ali Zafar always seemed like an opportunist to me. I know someone who studied with him at NCA (was his senior) - he was all about stardom and showbiz and getting attention than performing as an expression of art.

It's better to remain at home then do a few movies in India then be declared a flop like Mohsin, Ali or Fawad will be soon. Problem I have with Ali in particular is how he openly sucks up to India then come back to Pakistan crying over so-called partition! Any Pakistani who cries over so-called partition can not be one of us. In the movie "Total sayappa" I believe he was happy to make a few anti-Pak comments as well. India was always using this fool only to later drop him like a bad habit.

Careers in Bollywood are very short these days unless you are really special which none of the aforementioned are.

Fawad may not be a great actor (don't watch dramas much), but he's just too handsome, and has one heck of a sex appeal (for the opposite sex... :P).

His voice is absolutely amazing as well. Enough to melt the heart of them girls! :P

...and I know him since the EP days.. LOVED their music and I still listen to good old EP rock songs.

Waqt and Hamesha are the classic ones!

It's better to remain at home then do a few movies in India then be declared a flop like Mohsin, Ali or Fawad will be soon. Problem I have with Ali in particular is how he openly sucks up to India then come back to Pakistan crying over so-called partition! Any Pakistani who cries over so-called partition can not be one of us. In the movie "Total sayappa" I believe he was happy to make a few anti-Pak comments as well. India was always using this fool only to later drop him like a bad habit.

Careers in Bollywood are very short these days unless you are really special which none of the aforementioned are.

I don't think he'd be a flop like the others. A moderate success in B'wood, perhaps, but not the Ali Zafar route. Pakistani dramas aired on Indian channels have already made him a popular figure there. FK tends to be picky with his projects even in Pakistan, he's a class above the likes of Ali Zafar.

I personally think he shouldn't sell himself too much to Bollywood. Like take of your shirt, get the abs and the muscles, then flaunt them while dancing half-naked in the sunset like a d-bag on some random song. Do maybe 4-5 really good, artsy or socially important movies throughout your career in B'wood, then turn to direction or sth in Pakistan.

Hate the bolded part myself.

Ali Zafar is 'eweein'. Never liked him. Don't know how he even got a chance to play hero? Doesn't look like one, doesn't sound like one.

Fawad may not be a great actor (don't watch dramas much), but he's just too handsome, and has one heck of a sex appeal (for the opposite sex... :P).

His voice is absolutely amazing as well. Enough to melt the heart of them girls! :P

...and I know him since the EP days.. LOVED their music and I still listen to good old EP rock songs.

Waqt and Hamesha are the classic ones!

Never knew you were a female.

No harm in earning money in India and then spending it in Pakistan. helps the economy.

whats this abt him giving anti partition remarks? provide a link plz would certainly like to read.

No harm in earning money in India and then spending it in Pakistan. helps the economy.

whats this abt him giving anti partition remarks? provide a link plz would certainly like to read.

There is harm in earning in a country we are constantly at war with. His few thousands hardly make any inroad in our country. Here he is crying for peace instead of telling the world that it's India's fault for not coming to the table of the core Kashmir issue. We will not compromise on that. He is just making a fool of himself, idiot!

Cinema cannot be restricted by borders , fawad is working on a couple of pakistani projects too , one with none other than Waar director bilal lashari , we are quick to judge others arent we , when infact he has done nothing other than represent pakistan in the most dignified manner possible , as for shan shahid , i think cinema can do without his fake patriotism and outburst against fellow actors , i am sure he will struggle to find an audience anywhere for his gandasa wielding movies.

you are quick to label ali a failure when in fact he is working with yash raj , which is apparently the biggest production house in india , on the contrary he has done quite well for himself , earned some money , got more fan following , as for the afridi comment in that movie , dont we all joke about afridi ??

Cinema cannot be restricted by borders , fawad is working on a couple of pakistani projects too , one with none other than Waar director bilal lashari , we are quick to judge others arent we , when infact he has done nothing other than represent pakistan in the most dignified manner possible , as for shan shahid , i think cinema can do without his fake patriotism and outburst against fellow actors , i am sure he will struggle to find an audience anywhere for his gandasa wielding movies.

No we don't all joke about Afridi at all but only a failure like Ali Zafar does. the embarrassing gandesa movie culture in Pak died years back. Obviously you have not heard of Pak movies like Khuda Ke Liye, Waar, Mein hoon Shahid Afridi and The System to name a few. There should be no collaborations with enemy countries. Yash Raj also has many flop movies as well, Fawad will be back home after the euphoria is over.

The thing about the 33 year-old singer, actor, model, fashion designer (he runs a clothing brand called Silk, with his wife), is his intensity. We have had enough of our chikna heroes (always 'boys', never men!), squinting into the camera or displaying their wretched, computer generated 6/8 pack bare bods in every second film. Even at close to 50, our chaps refuse to grow up. Please! It's about time they did. Fawad comes to us nicely packaged (compact chap, no abs, no biceps)... and unambiguously adult.Hurrah! Finally, a hero who we can count on to be more responsible than a kindergarten bachcha during a crisis.

Rest of the piece is straight out of some ditsy gossip column from a typical high society cougar Aunty in the image of Begum Nawaazish but the part in quote and especially in bold hits the nail on the head. Even someone like Aamir Khan with his unmatched acting skills and picky nature have continued to behave like a teenage delinquent in every other movie he gets. I can understand the plight of Indian women, tired of looking at the botoxed almost tran appearing faces of 40 year olds playing college kids or idiot cops and in general clowns. They couldn't believe that a real sober adult man with natural charisma and not fake abs and biceps actually exists. Plus, everything from Pakistan appears exotic to them.

I don't think many know him to be honest. Ali Zafar is still the best known Pakistan actor in India.

..Plus, everything from Pakistan appears exotic to them.

that is true..the reason i bought goods with "made in pakistan" label was (despite my extreme hatred for pakistan) because there is an exotic appeal to them. i would secretly sniff the "made in pakistan" towel i bought at the walmart.

Rest of the piece is straight out of some ditsy gossip column from a typical high society cougar Aunty in the image of Begum Nawaazish but the part in quote and especially in bold hits the nail on the head. Even someone like Aamir Khan with his unmatched acting skills and picky nature have continued to behave like a teenage delinquent in every other movie he gets. I can understand the plight of Indian women, tired of looking at the botoxed almost tran appearing faces of 40 year olds playing college kids or idiot cops and in general clowns. They couldn't believe that a real sober adult man with natural charisma and not fake abs and biceps actually exists. Plus, everything from Pakistan appears exotic to them.

True. It was a dose of realism, in a weird, twisted, Disney-way.

absolutely , you look at some of their 40 , 50 year old superstars , prancing around topless with their waxed chests , shaking a leg wearing fitted jeans and romancing college girls ,wonder why they dont age gracefully , now compare these guys to people like leonardo di caprio and george clooney who have moved onto such dignified roles , saw a picture of shahrukh on twitter the other day displaying what looks like 16 pack abs , lets just say i was scarred.:usman

If am not wrong fawad has undergone a nose job. I have seen his old pics with a pumkin nose in PP itself. So much much for the real man nonsense.:P

Fashion is such a strange thing. Young white guys in Britain have started to sport Taliban style beards these days although probably inspired more by Game of Thrones than Bin Laden.

No idea who this guy is, but I remember reading about Shobha De shocking conservative Indian sensibilities with her racy novels some time back.

Fashion is definitely something beyond the understanding of most people. I guess its all about being exotic.