PakPassion Cricket League (PPCL) | New Sign Ups and Information (Season 2)

Batman

PPCL Hall of Famer
PPCLea

PakPassion Cricket League is now entering into Second season in a few weeks and we're looking to recruit some new players to play for one of the existing teams. The previous PPCL season were fantastic, and had some extremely fun, joyous, exciting, nail biting moments. The league is looking to expand, and with many exciting features, we want you to be part of the fun, so why should you miss out? Come and join in the fun here.

What is PakPassion Cricket League (PPCL)?

It's simple. It's just like real cricket, but it's online on this forum. You, the members of this forum, will be the players who play for teams. Once you've signed up (see below), you'll be drafted into a team by one of the teams captains and your details will be entered into a simulator (sim). You will be handed contracts by your captain. These contracts decide what average you will receive on the sim as well as what your salary will be (not real money, just virtual). The better the contract, the better the average and salary. Matches are then simulated on the sim, where you can follow how well you and your team are going, how many wickets you've taken or how many runs you've scored. The sim produces ball by ball commentary, just like you see on cricinfo, as well as scorecards. Your real life cricketing ability does not determine how good you are on the sim. Your batting abilities can be as good as Saeed Ajmal's in real life, but in PPCL, you could be as good as Sir Don Bradman!

What next?

Once the sign ups is over (see below), a draft will take place where captains take it in turns to pick players for their teams from the sign up list. Once teams have been picked, contracts will be handed out to the players by their captains (as explained above). From my experience, the most established or more authorative members of the forum receive the higher contracts.

Once this is complete, the season will begin. There will be a First Class (5-day), One Day and Twenty20 competition. Depending on the number of sign ups we receive, we might add more teams.

Tips

If you consider yourself to be a newer member of the forum in comparison to the other players, then I advise that you don't sign up as an All Rounder. Why? Chances are you will receive a low contract and all rounders with low contracts do not perform very well. Only all rounders with higher contracts tend to do well.

In the draft thread, please be enthusiastic but not annoying. By annoying I mean don't constantly say "I want to be picked" "Someone pick me" "I want to be in this team" "Can you pick me please?". It doesn't look good on yourself and the chances are you will be picked towards the end (or not picked at all). That might also be considered as spamming.

To make yourself stand out to being picked, improve your posting quality throughout the forum. Also remain active. If you sign up this competition and then become inactive or are less active, chances are that the captains will be reluctant to pick you.

Once the matches begin, support and cheer your team in the match threads. There will also be a team thread specific to your team to discuss your clubs performances, amongst other things. We also love friendly banter, so don't shy away from ribbing your opposition, but please keep it within limits and don't go overboard.

How do I sign up?

It's simple, just follow the template below:

Name: (Your username)
Player Type: Batsman/Bowler/Wicketkeeper
Bowling Style: Fast/Fast Medium/Medium/Off Spin/Leg Spin/Slow Left Arm (also include which hand you bowl with)
Batting Hand: Right Hand or Left Hand.

For example:

Name: Batman
Player Type: Bowler
Bowling Style: Right Arm Leg Spin
Batting Hand: Right Hand Bat

If you missed to sign up before the draft, you can still sign up, you will go into the draft or post-draft.

Those who already signed up in the previous PPCL season are not required to sign up again.

If you have any questions, please visit the forum in the 'The PPCL 2020 Forum' section below link:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/forumdisplay.php?102-The-PPCL-2020-Forum

How much time we need to spend to play?
any specific timelines?

It’s great! There will be daily matches (or so) and you can tune in whenever you want at your convenience, being as involved (or not) as you want. I was a newcomer two seasons ago and have found the community extremely welcoming and even became a vice captain in both seasons without feeling any pressure to spend a specific amount of time (and have even missed a couple matches on busy days).

The matches themselves are simmed and don’t actually require input aside from deciding beforehand the playing XI and a couple other factors — during the matches themselves, it’s mostly banter and having fun seeing the match unfold. Check out the current PPCL forum to get an idea.

Would highly recommend.

Oh yes!

Can’t wait :)

Thanks a lot [MENTION=40952]Batman[/MENTION] [MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION] [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

Honestly boys if you haven’t signed up - do it asap!

It is so much fun!

Few suggestions:
I think we should give it a little break before starting the new season, it's ok to start the sign up process but we should wait a bit before starting the draft/league process.

Also, if we can be somewhat innovative with the format, that would be great, last season became a bit boring after the mid season break as it became way too much lengthy and the fading interest was visible towards the end. Maybe we can think about it and come up with something unique.

And we need to have more categories rather than just Diamond and Regular for players.

And last query, do the members who already signed for previous season have to sign again or it's only for new ones?

Few suggestions:
I think we should give it a little break before starting the new season, it's ok to start the sign up process but we should wait a bit before starting the draft/league process.

Also, if we can be somewhat innovative with the format, that would be great, last season became a bit boring after the mid season break as it became way too much lengthy and the fading interest was visible towards the end. Maybe we can think about it and come up with something unique.

And we need to have more categories rather than just Diamond and Regular for players.

And last query, do the members who already signed for previous season have to sign again or it's only for new ones?
From OP :inti

Those who already signed up in the previous PPCL season are not required to sign up again.

Yeah man, that’s a good idea!

Bhai i think it will help in creating a legacy of players and franchises
I don't see myself in no other club than lighting hawks [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION]

Yessir, I agree there should be a rule of retaining a certain number of players - maybe like 6-8. [MENTION=40952]Batman[/MENTION] [MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION]

In which case, you're going nowhere :akhtar :lh

It’s great! There will be daily matches (or so) and you can tune in whenever you want at your convenience, being as involved (or not) as you want. I was a newcomer two seasons ago and have found the community extremely welcoming and even became a vice captain in both seasons without feeling any pressure to spend a specific amount of time (and have even missed a couple matches on busy days).

The matches themselves are simmed and don’t actually require input aside from deciding beforehand the playing XI and a couple other factors — during the matches themselves, it’s mostly banter and having fun seeing the match unfold. Check out the current PPCL forum to get an idea.

Would highly recommend.

Thanks brother!

Indeed! Would make the league also a bit more interesting with a certain history of the clubs!

Me and [MENTION=134789]maddgenius[/MENTION] are going to revive a new team this time - Dhamakedar Dynamites.

Get ready for some fireworks :dd

Come on guys! Sign-up it will be fun and at the end there will even be awards for you! :afridi

Yeah like "PPCL Batsman of the Season" written under your username! Quite fun.

Let's have some Indian posters as well - [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] @Romali Rotti [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION]

Also: the tournament is extremely well managed with heart and hard work by our excellent mods especially [MENTION=40952]Batman[/MENTION] and [MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION]. I highly encourage people to sign up as it is an amazing experience which these guys love to that extent as well. You’ll have the time of your life.

Few suggestions:

Just read this in full.

While I think the format is fine (apart from the knockout format - we should have an FC final and playoffs for LOIs), I do agree that we should have a bit of a break before season 2, else it'll be a bit of an overkill.

[MENTION=53377]jeetu[/MENTION], we need to have the FC/LOI specialists back. Also international players need to be having different skill levels based on their quality and possibly a limit to the number of games they can play as well.

Force the captains to think as much as possible please, both during the international drafts and for coming up with ideal team combinations.

Loose Cannons will like to retain most of players and FC Championship :))

Target for Season 2 is to win The Treble

How about we keep the same squad? And then draft in the new sign-ups?

I like the idea of retaining a core base of 6 or so with the most active players, and then we can add in new signups. This will help make the forum more active overall

I think 6 is too big a number, only one of max two should be allowed to be retained.

Bhai some of us have active teams :)))

I think 5 is a good number tbh. It will still mean teams like Hawks/Tigers will have to let some semi-active players go, but I understand that some teams don't have much activity beyond the C/VC and maybe one more player, so it won't harm them too much either.

Agreed, Hawks is a hyped and the most active team and most players like to be in Hawks but personally I think the activeness and hype of Hawks is more to do with their captains and not players, who ever joins hawks , their captains seems to make such a atmosphere or communication that most of their players seems to be passionate about the team

On retention I believe if every existing or old PPCL players joins Hawks then there wont be a quality opposition except Hawks, I personally would enjoy and feel satisfied to win if the opposition is something like a Hawks team, but it would really be boring to me if I am in Hawks team with most old existing players in it and a very few in other opposition teams and if hawks win against such boring opposition that would not be more enjoyable from hawks perspective

In my view Hawks dont need existing old PPCL players, in fact a new or debut PPCL player should be drafted by Hawks in their team,as they create such an environment that he will enjoy their PPCL experience the most than being in any other team

To be fair number of retention players should be finalized by making a vote by all the respective team captains when the upcoming season starts

As an experienced PPCL players, [MENTION=55088]Watsupdoc[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] should opt for more newbie"s than existing players to improve the brand value and quality of PPCL and also introduce many players to PPCL

If I would have to decide on number of retention I would say two users and one international player(3 players) considering captain and vice captain will automatically be in the team before the draft picking starts

Agreed, Hawks is a hyped and the most active team and most players like to be in Hawks but personally I think the activeness and hype of Hawks is more to do with their captains and not players, who ever joins hawks , their captains seems to make such a atmosphere or communication that most of their players seems to be passionate about the team

On retention I believe if every existing or old PPCL players joins Hawks then there wont be a quality opposition except Hawks, I personally would enjoy and feel satisfied to win if the opposition is something like a Hawks team, but it would really be boring to me if I am in Hawks team with most old existing players in it and a very few in other opposition teams and if hawks win against such boring opposition that would not be more enjoyable from hawks perspective

In my view Hawks dont need existing old PPCL players, in fact a new or debut PPCL player should be drafted by Hawks in their team,as they create such an environment that he will enjoy their PPCL experience the most than being in any other team

To be fair number of retention players should be finalized by making a vote by all the respective team captains when the upcoming season starts

As an experienced PPCL players, [MENTION=55088]Watsupdoc[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] should opt for more newbie"s than existing players to improve the brand value and quality of PPCL and also introduce many players to PPCL

If I would have to decide on number of retention I would say two users and one international player(3 players) considering captain and vice captain will automatically be in the team before the draft picking starts

Very good points and rationale.

Among all the fun, there is an opportunity to win "Emerging Player of The season" award and other awards as well that will you will get displayed under your PP Name.

For actual match time, it is not very demanding. Few posts for support and jinxing and banter.

:salute
Quality analysis as usual.

Remember fellows Hawks is afraid of Cornered Tigers! :ik

We have beaten them 5 times in our debut season :))

So join our CT family!

We also have virtual party’s after winning a match!

All in all it is a very funny experience - you wouldn’t want to miss it!

So do sign up!

Cornered Tigers can attest to this :afridi 5/6 with the 6th being unboosted vs 3 :gayle

yeah the banter with Hawks is always entertaining , my personal favorite rivalry is with [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] enjoyed that in the last season

Tigers might have won the battle but we won the war. #OD champions!

Hawks is the team to be in guys so do sign-up :afridi

can u please send me the link

This is sign up thread.

For example:

Name: King_Kohli
Player Type: Batsman

For example:

You can chose Player Type what you want. (Batsman,Bowler,AR,Wk)
Bowling Style (Right/Left arm- Fast,Medium,off spin leg spin )
and Batting Hand

yeah the banter with Hawks is always entertaining , my personal favorite rivalry is with [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] enjoyed that in the last season

Likewise buddy - was such an intense battle on the field with you! :stokes:aag

Tigers might have won the battle but we won the war. #OD champions!

Hawks is the team to be in guys so do sign-up :afridi

Yaar i am getting personal texts calls from players that they want to join us kitnu ko accomodate kare aur kitnu ka dil tode ufff :ghalib

I am in for this season also - highest bidder only.

Not much happening here.

Let's make 2 teams and play a 3 match ODI series after Eid Holidays, commentary posted in Cricket forum.

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=60967]Justcrazy[/MENTION] [MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION] sign up please.

Guys also join the PakPassion Fantasy comp for the EngvPak series

Name: London_Lahori
Player Type: Batsman
Batting Hand: Left Hand Bat

Name: Shawaiz
Player Type: Bowler
Bowling Style: Right Arm Fast

Good to have 2 more new sign ups there.

Keep the sign ups coming folks.

Name:Watson