Parvez Rasool eyes India comeback

Mir jibran

Mumbai: Parvez Rasool has faced everything thrown at him with valour, be it on the field or off it. He broke the ice three and half years ago by becoming the first cricketer from Jammu and Kashmir to be picked in the Indian team, for the Zimbabwe tour under Virat Kohli. However, Rasool couldn’t make it to the XI even though India made a clean sweep in the five-match series.

After an anxious wait for a year, he eventually got his maiden India cap against Bangladesh at Dhaka in 2014. But the J&K cricketer’s stint with the Indian team didn’t last long.

After a stupendous 2016-17 Ranji season in which he has scored 629 runs and taken 38 wickets, Rasool is hoping that his time will come again soon. “I am in good rhythm and also hundred per cent fit to make a comeback. After the last season, I had worked on a few aspects of my bowling and it held me in good stead. I also benefited from NCA’s fitness camp under Anil Kumble,” said Rasool, who represented India Blue in the first ever pink-ball Duleep Trophy tournament.

The BCCI selectors are likely to announce the team for the England ODIs in the first week of January. With a slew of spinners including the likes of R. Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja under a fitness cloud, Rasool could be back in reckoning.

“In the Ranji, except for a game in Baroda we played almost all the matches on flat tracks. There was no turn or help from pitch. Taking 38 wickets has boosted my confidence. It’s only natural to expect a long rope to showcase my ability,” said Rasool who took 2/60 in his only international game.

Recently, Rasool was released from Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL team.

http://www.kashmirmonitor.in/Details/115147/parvez-rasool-eyes-india-comeback

With Amit Mishra being the leg spinner Rasool can be our off spinner in odi, I am not impress with Axar Patel, Rasool is also a good batsman who can bat at 6 or 7

this season he has been the top all rounder of ranji and if ashwin jaddu axar are rested, PR deserves a chance

What are the spin back up options we have?

Kuldeep Yadav
Y Chahal
Axar Patel
Amit Mishra

Abid nabi and samiullah beigh were far superior players who actually were hard done by indian selectors.he is no where near international standard.

What are the spin back up options we have?

Kuldeep Yadav
Y Chahal
Axar Patel
Amit Mishra
He is not competing with chahal or Yadav, we need a second spinner who can bat also , Jadeja not playing means fight is directly between Axar and rasool , with Rasool being better batsman and off spinner who can compliment Mishra leg spin.

Abid nabi and samiullah beigh were far superior players who actually were hard done by indian selectors.he is no where near international standard.

abid nabi killed his career by joining icl and sami's stats are not impressive . he just had a dream season in 07-08

We need pacers from Kashmir yaar, not spinners which they are in abundance all over India.:yk

I regularly follow Kashmir scores in Ranji trophy but the pacers all seem to be above 30 years old.:(

We need pacers from Kashmir yaar, not spinners which they are in abundance all over India.:yk

I regularly follow Kashmir scores in Ranji trophy but the pacers all seem to be above 30 years old.:(

Was about to say the same thing,we should send some scouts to get young kids fast tracked.

mehjoor ali and umar nazir are young fast bowlers

Was about to say the same thing,we should send some scouts to get young kids fast tracked.

for that first parvez should be awarded a spot. He has been toiling very hard since last 4 seasons.
only then youngsters ll take keen interest in cricket.
otherwise football is the most popular sport here

abid nabi killed his career by joining icl and sami's stats are not impressive . he just had a dream season in 07-08

He joined icl only when he saw no hope for him in getting a callup for national side.at his peak india didnt have half a good all rounder as him that time.while samiullah wasnt picked solely bcoz of him being a Kashmiri nationalist who had bold views on Kashmir politics.i have seen him play.used to swing it miles with pace while also being cleanest hitters in the jandk team,he still is.

brother the problem is they were not able to replicate these performances at ranji level
parvez since 2013 has been the top performer from j&k excluding last season

Not international quality.

I think he's a good player, I've watched him play. I didn't want to come across as being biased against him (me being an Indian and him being a Kashmiri and all, which I hardly care about in cricket) but I think he'll find it difficult to break into the first team. Reason is that batsmen and spinners are abundant in India. The Indian spinners will be among the world's best as are the young batsmen purely because there is a batting and spin culture in India and the huge population means you will have a great talent pool to tap into.

Problem with him is that he'll find it difficult to displace Ashwin and Jadeja in the Indian team. And then there are upcoming young spin ARs like Jayant Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav. He's a bit like Uthappa, good enough to play for any other international team but unfortunately will find it difficult in India because of too much competition. I can think of a lot of such players unfortunate not to get enough chances because of high competition in the Ranji. Even in Australia David Hussey had great stats in the shield but was unfortunate not to get a test cap.

In comparison, there is hardly any decent pace bowling AR and the only one looking semi decent in Pandya is being groomed for the future. Other than him, I can't see anybody else in that category. It's more or less the same with pacers. Although there is a decent pool of them now, nobody is of groundbreaking quality like a Rabada or a Hazelwood or Boult. So any promising pace AR or pacer will stand out unlike a spinner or a spin AR.

Still I think he can find a place in the LOI teams as the BCCI has made it a policy to rest the bowlers a lot for the bilateral ODIs and Rasool offers a good package for the spin AR category for the ODI and T20 teams. Also it's not like Ashwin and Jadeja are great with the bat in LOIs, so he will not find too much trouble in breaking into the LOI team atleast for the bilaterals. If he delivers consistently, may become a permanent fixture as well.

I agree samiullah had immense potential. Abid nabi was sheer pace. The way they were ignored was really disheartening.

He is not competing with chahal or Yadav, we need a second spinner who can bat also , Jadeja not playing means fight is directly between Axar and rasool , with Rasool being better batsman and off spinner who can compliment Mishra leg spin.

Axar has been ruled out.

I hear Shabaaz nadeem is in the reckoning. I would be extremely disappointed if Kuldeep isn't picked. It is high time.

As for Rasool, the article is from a Kashmiri site. Although he is an okaish bowler and bats decently, I don't see him playing for India again. I would be happy if he does though!

Rasool needs to develop some variations that can help him pickup wickets in ODI's and T20's.

The flight and extra flight theory he relies on will not work there. He will get destroyed by openers like Gayle, Warner, Sharjeel, Hales etc if he tries that in ODI's or T20's. He needs to get with Ashwin and learn some variations.

I agree that Rasool is a useful batsman. He seems to be consistent in his batting efforts. But I did not see him ever play a Pant like Innings where he imposes his will. He will be an excellent Test batsman. But we have abundance of them right now.

Very hard for Rasool at this point. He seriously needs to improve his bowling to have a chance and get selected in ODI's.

One thing I agree is that Rasool is clearly better than Axar Patel who is mediocre. If Axar can make it to the squad, so should Rasool. At least against teams like Zimbos, Bangladesh or even Lanka.

Jayant Yadav is a better bat than Rasool or any of the other 4 options you quoted. He should be in the squad provided we need another batting allrounder, otherwise that spot is reserved for Pandya &/or Jadeja depending on the track.

Axar has been ruled out.

I hear Shabaaz nadeem is in the reckoning. I would be extremely disappointed if Kuldeep isn't picked. It is high time.

As for Rasool, the article is from a Kashmiri site. Although he is an okaish bowler and bats decently, I don't see him playing for India again. I would be happy if he does though!
You can't play pure five bowlers and start your tail from 7th position, specially when Dhoni is out of form and we are already struggling with no. 6 position.
I am favouring Rasool because of his batting, you can't play kuldeep, Mishra and three fast bowlers and let team batting suffer, we need a handy batsman like Jadeja on 7 th position.
only Rasool fits the given bill or Hardik pandeya but then Hardik is not good enough to bowl 10 overs.

Jayant Yadav is a better bat than Rasool or any of the other 4 options you quoted. He should be in the squad provided we need another batting allrounder, otherwise that spot is reserved for Pandya &/or Jadeja depending on the track.
Lol You want Jayant yadav in odi at 7th position, thank god you are not a selector . Jayant can't accelerate to save his life , do you want our no. 7 to make 20 off 24 odd balls when we need 20off 15 odd balls. He is a old fashioned batsman who is more suitable for test matches but his type of batting is outdated in odi and I want my odi team to go forward not back to 90s

And you want someone like a Rasool, Chahal, Patel to be at 7? In any case if you read what I posted you'll see that I want him as the second allrounder, someone coming after Pandya &/or Jadeja depending on the conditions.

I'm glad people like you aren't selectors either, you must have missed his spin playing ability especially at Mumbai. He outscored Kohli on a turner & IMO can do better (than his Vizag debut) in ODI as well.

And you want someone like a Rasool, Chahal, Patel to be at 7? In any case if you read what I posted you'll see that I want him as the second allrounder, someone coming after Pandya &/or Jadeja depending on the conditions.

I'm glad people like you aren't selectors either, you must have missed his spin playing ability especially at Mumbai. He outscored Kohli on a turner & IMO can do better (than his Vizag debut) in ODI as well.

Have you seen Jayant playing shorter format ? Because if you have then you wouldn't put his name for allrounder position, he can play only as a bowler in odi.

My english is not good so may be you are not getting it, I have cleary said that you can't select Chahal and Kuldeep alongside Mishra. There is only one position for allrounder and fight is between Axar , Pandeya and Rasool untill Jadeja comes back. I am not impressed with Axar, Hardik is not good enough to bowl 10 over regularly with every over giving 2hit me balls.

I have seen Jayant playing shorter format he sucks as batsman in this format , doesn't matter what he do in test just like Younis khan . Rasool can bat and also bowl 10 overs regularly. Another one is Dhawan but I also don't think his bowling is not good enough for tracks in India.

You can play two allrounders only when they both are good like Jadeja , Ashwin not bits and pieces.
For example playing Hardik and let say Jayant will weaken our batting and bowling both in long run because Hardik is not good enough as a bowler and Jayant is not good enough as lower order batsman in shorter format.

Rasool's in the India A 12 man squad for the 2nd warmup match against England. if he gets a game and does well, there's a chance of a call up or at least more opportunities for India A.

It'll not be easy because of the various options India has ahead of him- Ashwin,Jadeja, Mishra, Jayant Yadav(from A team), and on the outside Jadhav, Axar and Chahal( All on the A team/fringes of national team, and all who've done reasonably well at this level or for India- particularly Jadhav). Also, only Mishra and Chahal are what i would call non-all arounders. Rest can all bat. so he faces stiff competition. If he performs though, there's always a chance.

He can however be financially secure( he already is to a large extent) through the IPL. I'm pretty sure he'll find a new team in the upcoming auction.

Don't see an international future for him. India has far better options.

True, he has a lot of competition he needs to overcome. Really, his game needs to go on to the next level if he is to make it. But performances get attention. That at least is in his control.

Rasool's in the India A 12 man squad for the 2nd warmup match against England. if he gets a game and does well, there's a chance of a call up or at least more opportunities for India A.

It'll not be easy because of the various options India has ahead of him- Ashwin,Jadeja, Mishra, Jayant Yadav(from A team), and on the outside Jadhav, Axar and Chahal( All on the A team/fringes of national team, and all who've done reasonably well at this level or for India- particularly Jadhav). Also, only Mishra and Chahal are what i would call non-all arounders. Rest can all bat. so he faces stiff competition. If he performs though, there's always a chance.

He can however be financially secure( he already is to a large extent) through the IPL. I'm pretty sure he'll find a new team in the upcoming auction.

Parvez rasool picked for t20 team

Ashwin, Jadeja rested for England T20s; Mishra and Rasool come in

Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin, India's two premier spinners have been rested for the three-match T20 series against England beginning January 26. In a statement released by BCCI, legspinner Amit Mishra and Jammu and Kashmir allrounder Parvez Rasool have been named in place of them.

Jadeja and Ashwin combined for seven wickets in the three ODIs with the offspinner going wicketless in two matches. Jadeja on the other hand, following a fruitful Test series, could manage only 29 with the bat. Considering the plethora of injuries sustained by the Indian players, the move is understandable on the part of the board as Ashwin and Jadeja have been playing constantly.

Mishra last played an ODI during the fifth game against New Zealand where he took a five-wicket-haul to lead India to a 3-2 series win. He was also named the Man of the Series for picking up 15 wickets at an average of 14.33. Rasool on the other hand, has played only one ODI for India - against Bangladesh in 2014 - where he finished with 2/60.

The three T20I's will be played in Kanpur, Nagpur and Bengaluru.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...a-and-rasool-come-in/articleshow/56731798.cms

Yadav chahal kuldeep ashwin mishra jadeja.
It would be very tough for him to break thr' em

Why not kuldeep and rasool/chahal? Mishraji is not the future. Anyway good decision to rest ashwin and jadeja.Nobody cares of t20's anyway.

yes and competition is tough
hope parvez gets atleast 1 game

Mishra ain't young but then look at what the likes of Tahir has done in LOIs despite his advancing age. Leggies seem to be able to last a bit longer than their counterparts.

Nobody cares for t20.It should be used for experimental purpose.Mishra can be a test backup.

Rasool should be in India's LOI teams. Especially with Ashwin struggling the way he is.

if Jayant Yadav was fit, perhaps he would have been picked ahead of PR who is a bit like Moeen Ali of 2012-2013 an above average batsman and bowler who can score 30-40 runs and bowl 10 tidy overs.

But a great chance for him, hopefully he gets picked for at least one T20. Rewarded for good FC performances, 600+ runs and 38 wickets in the season.

In Valley, a thaw in the dead of winter as Parvez Rasool gets picked for T20 vs England

The call from Indian selectors certainly came as a surprise for Parvez Rasool, especially, after he was snubbed for the ongoing Irani Trophy match where he wasn’t picked for Rest of India (ROI) team. As ever Rasool’s cricketing fate goes beyond him and engulfs the fellow cricketers from his state of Jammu & Kashmir. It’s as if Rasool isn’t playing for himself but for the entire state. His selection and non-selection affects the mood of cricketers in the state.

“Last time when I was picked for India, the ambience completely changed here. Hawa badli for sure. They all felt that this boy from Kashmir can make it to the Indian team then why can’t we. I hope my selection inspires others to take this sport and do hard work,” says Rasool as he rushes to reach Jammu to catch a flight for Delhi and than probably drive down to Kanpur.

“The season was good and, all of the sudden, I got this call. I was at home when call came saying I have to report at Kanpur as I have been selected for the Indian team. I was going to prepare for the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy and our camp was to start soon. I didn’t know that R Ashwin and
Ravindra Jadeja would be rested. It’s very tough to keep motivating ourself especially when you are out of the team. One thing is for sure if you want to keep yourself in reckoning than you have to keep performing in domestic cricket. I was in good nick.”

Hailing from J&K means a cricketer has to face a unique set of issues. Such as who do you turn to improve your game? Who is there to mentor? Rasool has often faced all that and more. “You know the problems that exist in our state. I have no one to look up to. There is no one to say ke Tera hath yahan se aa raha hai, Wahan se raha hai. I wanted someone who can tell me you used to bowl like this, why are you now doing it this way? Help me in the technical side of the game to make sure I do the right things,” Rasool told The Indian Express.

Luckily for him, he bumped into Saqlain Mushtaq recently and the chit-chat helped him in his bowling. The meeting happened on the sidelines of the practice game against England when Rasool turned out for India A. Saqlain was assisting the England team, and Rasool picked his brains there.

Rasool remembers telling his team-mate Shabaaz Nadeem that they should approach the former Pakistan off-spinner to seek out tips. “I told Shahbaz, ‘Aisa mauka kahan milega? Let’s have a chat with him’, and he obliged.”

As it turned out, it wasn’t technical help that he got from Saqlain but more in terms of preparation and how to remain confident. “For example, many a time, you try things in nets and it always clicks. But you don’t necessarily follow it in the match because the situation is obviously different. Saqlain told us to try to achieve that — what we do in nets — in actual games. He didn’t speak much about bowling as he couldn’t get to see our bowling closely. But I was happy to speak to him. Whenever I see a big player, I seek them out for conversations about cricket. You never know what tips they will share,” he says.

Rasool has been picked twice for India — on tours of Zimbabwe and Bangladesh and played one ODI — but has never got a chance to play an international game at home. He is eagerly awaiting for the opportunity this time. “I am hoping that at least I get chance to play in front of our home ground,” he said.

It’s been a tough journey for cricketers from J&K — be it the inclement weather at times that disrupts cricket training, the political climate, and the legal battle that the cricket administration finds itself in. Rasool says him being part of the BCCI system has helped him to keep in touch with the game during off season. A few months ago, he found himself in the spin camp conducted at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore.
“At NCA I worked with (Narendra) Hirwani and Nikhil Chopra. It came handy, especially because I came to know where I stand. Whether mere sar gir raha hai, ke ball jyada pace mein ja raha hai. It helped me a lot in domestic season,” Rasool says.

Unsurprisingly, he has been the pied piper of sorts for cricket in Kashmir, and he says he always strives to help young cricketers in the state. “I choose cricket and worked real hard to get to this stage to play for India. I speak to lot of young cricketers and keep telling them that hard work always pay off. Look at me, everyone is looking at my fame now but no one has seen the amount of hard work I have done. I tell them — Jab bhi koi perform karta hai uska naam aata hi hai.”

http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/parvez-rasool-irani-trophy-rest-of-india-4488440/

Both Jayant Yadav and Rasool are not wicket takers in LOI.

They average 36 and 38 in List A.

Last IPL, Jayant averaged 60 with the ball (7.35 economy) in 5 games and Rasool averaged 129 (economy of 9.1) in 4 games.

These 2 have NO chance of becoming our main spinners in ODI or T20 for the main games.

Why not Kuldeep who averaged 16 in last IPL and took a 5fer against Eng in ODI?

Our selectors are mad.

Kuldeep picked 5fer in a pitch where Chahal picked 1.

Rasool picked 3fer in a pitch where Nadeem picked 2.

Nadeem averages 28 in List A.

Rasool has been really doing well in Ranji. Maybe they just want to see how he goes in an international game which is ok. But I am afraid if he fails, they may discard him by judging him in a format where he is objectively not good.

Mishra is an excellent spinner in wicket taking conditions but that dude chokes real bad. I don't know if he has improved in that front. That's why he would never be my first choice spinner for any of the main games. These fun T20s are a different matter.

Both Jayant Yadav and Rasool are not wicket takers in LOI.

They average 36 and 38 in List A.

Last IPL, Jayant averaged 60 with the ball (7.35 economy) in 5 games and Rasool averaged 129 (economy of 9.1) in 4 games.

These 2 have NO chance of becoming our main spinners in ODI or T20 for the main games.

Why not Kuldeep who averaged 16 in last IPL and took a 5fer against Eng in ODI?

Our selectors are mad.
To be fair Rasool played for rcb.How many were at
that ridiculous ground out of 4? Agreed about jayant not a loi bowler. How is kuldeep batting. Haven't seen him bat live much.

To be fair Rasool played for rcb.How many were at
that ridiculous ground out of 4? Agreed about jayant not a loi bowler. How is kuldeep batting. Haven't seen him bat live much.

Don't know. Should be some.

I was very excited to watch him play but felt his loi bowling is not upto the mark like Jayant's.

His List A stats are similar to Jayant too. he has bowled in 58 innings and taken 55 wickets. Unless Rasool had some great seasons in List A recently, I don't see how he is going to succeed in the international arena on these flat tracks.

Kuldeep can bat I heard. Not sure how well but [MENTION=140266]JattMaula[/MENTION] could answer that.

Don't know. Should be some.

I was very excited to watch him play but felt his loi bowling is not upto the mark like Jayant's.

His List A stats are similar to Jayant too. he has bowled in 58 innings and taken 55 wickets. Unless Rasool had some great seasons in List A recently, I don't see how he is going to succeed in the international arena on these flat tracks.

Kuldeep can bat I heard. Not sure how well but [MENTION=140266]JattMaula[/MENTION] could answer that.

u are right parvez is more suited to longer format but now just wait and see how he fares out in a t20

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]

Pervez has earned this. He is better batter than Kuldeep atm and is better bowler than Jayant in LOIs.

Kuldeep is primarily a front driver like Raina with some added improvisational skills but possesses same limitations(short pitch fast).

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION]

Pervez has earned this. He is better batter than Kuldeep atm and is better bowler than Jayant in LOIs.

Kuldeep is primarily a front driver like Raina with some added improvisational skills but possesses same limitations(short pitch fast).

Ok he is a better bat than Kuldeep which is fine.

But how is being a better bowler than Jayant any criteria?

Rasool is there mainly for the bowling as bowlers will hardly get to bat in T20s.

Is he a better ODI/T20 bowler than Nadeem?

Or is he a better bowler than Kuldeep in ODI/T20?

Probably they are rewarding him for a superb Ranji season which is all fine and dandy but these kind of chances are a double edged sword. He may be judged harshly for the performances here.

Also let's say he clicks in the game he gets.

What next?

Will he have the quality to sustain in LOI? Is there any sample set in domestic List A or IPL that points to that?

That's my issue with Rasool. You open up a pandora's box.

You give chance to most deserving candidate and hope for the best. We are not going to risk him in a test.

He is a improved bowler now IMO. And can clear fence reasonably well. Nadeem while is better bowler than him isn't much use elsewhere.

He is playing as a all-rounder. Jadeja type.

You give chance to most deserving candidate and hope for the best. We are not going to risk him in a test.

He is a improved bowler now IMO. And can clear fence reasonably well. Nadeem while is better bowler than him isn't much use elsewhere.

He is playing as a all-rounder. Jadeja type.

Ok I see.

Kuldeep deserved a chance ahead of Rasool. But maybe in 2019 wc team we see him...

People throughout J and K should be able to play for Pakistan or India; just like Northern Ireland footballers can play for NI or Republic of Ireland.

Then they can end this farce of Rasool playing for India when I'm sure he and his people would prefer for him to play for Pakistan.

People throughout J and K should be able to play for Pakistan or India; just like Northern Ireland footballers can play for NI or Republic of Ireland.

Then they can end this farce of Rasool playing for India when I'm sure he and his people would prefer for him to play for Pakistan.

I very much doubt that. Maybe his people, but definitely not him or his family because he will be able to get a much more lucrative contract playing for India and that is even without going to the IPL..

Heck first class cricketers in India are well earned unlike in Pakistan where the PCB pays them a pittance and loots the rest.

He is financially secure in India even without playing for national team.

u are right parvez is more suited to longer format but now just wait and see how he fares out in a t20

Rasool might get smashed by Roy/Ali/Butler if he flights the ball too much.

Radial seems to be an old school bowler. Fit for Tests.

As much as i hate to say it, he is just about an okay cricketer at best. The ones who have high hopes from him will be disappointed. Especially in LOI cricket he will be exposed.

He can be a decent addition to indian test side in subcontinent conditions. Thats about it.

I hope he scores a hundered and takes a 5for on debut but these are just my good wishes for him.

I think he can be a spin all rounder in the tests, not sure he's suited to the shorter format. But he will find it very difficult to break into the first team ahead of Ashwin, Jadeja and Jayant.

Think him, Kuldeep and Gopal can be back ups.

I think even if we field a second string spin attack, Aussies may lose in the tests.

Kuldeep, Nadeem and Rasool should be enough to take them down if the tracks turn normal.

I very much doubt that. Maybe his people, but definitely not him or his family because he will be able to get a much more lucrative contract playing for India and that is even without going to the IPL..

Heck first class cricketers in India are well earned unlike in Pakistan where the PCB pays them a pittance and loots the rest.

The true extent of his decision would be if he played against Pakistan. In Kashmir valley there would be chaos.

Money isn't everything. Guy is a sellout. I'm from Kashmir. Very disappointed. Hope he never plays for India again.

Without look into stats and his ability to take wickets, I was impressed when I watched him bowl in the IPL few seasons back. He had lovely flight and a smooth, clean action. Reminded me of Swann.

The true extent of his decision would be if he played against Pakistan. In Kashmir valley there would be chaos.

Money isn't everything. Guy is a sellout. I'm from Kashmir. Very disappointed. Hope he never plays for India again.

Ya Allah reham plz dont mix sports with politics

Kashmiri struggle isn't so small that it would get affected by a guy who opts to work for an Indian company.

Its just a sport.

No you are not from Kashmir. You are a guy based in the UK with familial links to POK. Pay heed to the words of the guys from Indian Kashmir, they dont want to mix politics and sports. Keep your hate at home.

Not sure why you see him as a traitor. I see him as a kashmiri icon. Just like the many kashmiris who get selected for IAS every year. Or the girl who acted in the Dangal film. And many other people successful in Kashmir or outside it.

Different povs I guess. I would consider them the same even if they support kashmiri freedom struggle. I just see them as icons of inspiration for the youth in a region affected by violence and strife due to unfortunate circumstances. Would you rather them not be successful so that they remain loyal to the cause?

Firstly you have nothing to do with J and K.So please dont even try to tell people of J and K what to do what not to.They are mature enough.

What will happen in Kashmir valley let it remain with Kashmir valley people.People from Kashmir are representing India in various sports and they are welcomed with open arms.

As an Indian i am extremely proud of what Parvez Rasool or Mehrazzuddin Wadoo have done.

Let there be no doubt that he will play for India ans againist Pakistan some day and he we will give his best to win the match for his team.When he wins the match Kashmir valley will celebrate the success of its son.

I met him in Jammu science college ground. He is very humble & down to earth guy. All r requested to please pray for him

Kashmiris have fought for India in Indo-Pak wars and there was never chaos because of this. Even now, the numbers from J&K who turn up to army recruitment rallies are very big.

If people don't care about Kashmiris joining the Indian army why would they be bothered about a Kashmiri playing for India against Pakistan.

Nevertheless, Rasool representing India on June 4th at Edgbaston vs Pakistan would certainly add some spice to the tie.