PCB’s 10-week long 2017 high performance cricket camp at NCA [PICTURES/VIDEOS #219 onwards]

Waseem

Lahore-June 21, 2017: The National Selection Committee has announced 27 players for a 10-week High Performance Camp at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore commencing from July 3, 2017 to September 9, 2017. The camp has been organized keeping in view the future commitments of Pakistan cricket team where the players would train under the supervision of NCA Coaches. The selected players are advised to report at NCA on July 2, 2017 except for Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan who will join the program in the 3rd week. Following are the 27 players for the camp:

Openers

Sami Aslam
Fakhar Zaman
Imam ul Haq
Sahibzada Farhan

Middle Order

Umar Amin
Haris Sohail
Usman Salahuddin
Asif Zakir
Umar Akmal

Fast Bowlers

Usman Shinwari
Sameen Gul
Muhammad Irfan (Right arm Lahore Qalandar bowler)
Mir Hamza
Ruman Raees

Spinners

Muhammad Asghar
Shadab Khan
Bilal Asif
Muhammad Irfan
Usama Mir

Fast Bowling All Rounders

Amir Yamin
Fahim Ashraf
Ammad Butt
Hussain Talat

Spin Bowling All Rounders

Muhammad Nawaz
Agha Salman

Wicket Keepers

Muhammad Rizwan
Muhammad Hassan

Mohammad Irfan and Umer Akmal :facepalm:

The rest are extremely exciting to see !!

This is good - time to get back to work!

Alhumdullilah we won the CT, however, still a lot of work to do and a lot of improvement to be made ahead of the 2019 WC InshAllah.

We already have a pool of very promising young and upcoming players - InshAllah we should look to grow on that and find more players like Fakhar, Shadab, Rauman, Babar, Faheem etc.

10 WEEKS and not days camp, that's crazy. Almost a full uni semester.

Surprisingly good selections, considering Revolutionary past record, hats off to you Inzi, no complaints whatsoever,

The openers are quite a contrast in style.
dour: imam and sami
aggressive: fakhar and farhan

I think it should be 5 week fitness camp in Abbott abad under Army, and 5 weeks skill camp in NCA, that would be killing combo.

It sounds good to the ears. Like the coaches are putting in the work.

I hope these are quality 10 weeks.

10 weeks! Are they being serious?

One full series could be completed in that span.

Where is Zafar Gohar and Ghulam mudassar?

Some Excellent Picks.

I am very pleased to see Agha Salman :)

Agha hope you are reading. Work as hard as you can. Golden oppurtunity.

Quite possibly the best camp selection I've ever seen the PCB pull off. Just about every single name there has been discussed on PakPassion as having serious potential

35 years youngster Asif Zakir, evergreen flop king Umar Akmal and no future for Asif/Nawaz/Rizwan are really poor selection. May be base on TTF quota. Some promising players like Gulam Mudassar, Asad Raza, Zeshan Malik, Saif Badar etc should replace these non-performers

Decent.
Hope they r strict on discipline. Don't want akmal influencing adversely our future selections
I would have gone 5 weeks but there we go

The openers are quite a contrast in style.
dour: imam and sami
aggressive: fakhar and farhan

That's what I used to think of Sami too, but watch some of his pakistan cup performances, and you might change your mind.

Akmal is still there. I guess until we get rid of the complete corrupt system these akmal will find their way to enter in team.

Where are top performer fawad alam, ghulam mudassar, hammad azam, ammad but etc from pakistan cup and psl?.

Btw this camp is for all formats or just limited overs?

Good selections by Inzi, nice to see some young shining stars in there including the five young players from Champions Trophy Squad. I hope players such as Sahibzada Farhan and Agha Salman impress the selectors, they are the future of Pakistan.

How the hell does Umar Akmal keep getting selected?

How this Umar keep getting selected? What is the future of 35 year Asif Zakir?

would have love to see Zafar Gohar love this guy, and Hussian Talat, regardless a good group of players in the camp.

That's what I used to think of Sami too, but watch some of his pakistan cup performances, and you might change your mind.

Sami has a pretty respectable list A. You are right he played very aggressively in the recently concluded domestic one day tournament. I was basing what I said off his test batting and his inability to accelerate in international odis despite big strike rate and average in domestic List A

No issue with anyone selected

Perhaps only nitpick is that I would like to have seen nasir nawaz in but I understand why he isn't there
Also would rather fawad than Zakir if we have tests in mind

They should have included Haris Sohail, not convinced about his fitness

Zeeshan Malik, Saud Shakeel, Umair Masood, Saif Badar, Hasan Mohsin and Atif Jabbar are missing.

Some very good selection

Good to see no anwar ali and khuram manzoor

[MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] so happy that both of the Irfans made it mashallah !!!!

Excited to see Agha salman

Hafeez should count his days now a young decent part timer offie with good batting is going to replace him soon

Excited to see Agha salman

Hafeez should count his days now a young decent part timer offie with good batting is going to replace him soon

So long as he doesn't turn out to be another Hafeez.

Apart from Asif Zakir and waterboy Akmal, its a decent list.

Would've liked Ahmed Bashir in the fast bowlers category too but you can't have everything.

The excluded players have plenty of opportunities coming up to showcase their talent with the new domestic season and next year's expanded PSL.

Lahore-June 21, 2017: The National Selection Committee has announced 27 players for a 10-week High Performance Camp at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore commencing from July 3, 2017 to September 9, 2017. The camp has been organized keeping in view the future commitments of Pakistan cricket team where the players would train under the supervision of NCA Coaches. The selected players are advised to report at NCA on July 2, 2017 except for Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan who will join the program in the 3rd week. Following are the 27 players for the camp:

Openers

Sami Aslam
Fakhar Zaman
Imam ul Haq
Sahibzada Farhan

Middle Order

Umar Amin
Haris Sohail
Usman Salahuddin
Asif Zakir
Umar Akmal

Fast Bowlers

Usman Shinwari
Sameen Gul
Muhammad Irfan (Right arm Lahore Qalandar bowler)
Mir Hamza
Ruman Raees

Spinners

Muhammad Asghar
Shadab Khan
Bilal Asif
Muhammad Irfan
Usama Mir

Fast Bowling All Rounders

Amir Yamin
Fahim Ashraf
Ammad Butt
Hussain Talat

Spin Bowling All Rounders

Muhammad Nawaz
Agha Salman

Wicket Keepers

Muhammad Rizwan
Muhammad Hassan

Good selections. I guess, inzi copied from pakpassion.

Apart from Asif Zakir and waterboy Akmal, its a decent list.

Would've liked Ahmed Bashir in the fast bowlers category too but you can't have everything.

The excluded players have plenty of opportunities coming up to showcase their talent with the new domestic season and next year's expanded PSL.

Any particular players you are referring to?

Good list. But we seriously need to move on from Umar 'Fatty' Akmal.

Instead of Umar Akmal and Asif Zakir I would've loved to see Saif Badar and Saud Shakeel. Saif Badar is young version of Umar Akmal ( obviously not detailed yet ) and Saud Shakeel is the best young batsman in domestics.

And I would've slotted in Ahmad Bashir or Ehtisham Sultan instead of Hamza or Irfan jnr.

I seriously hope that Shadab is made to work on his batting also. I am concerned because he is listed in spinners not in spin bowling all-rounders.

Some of the picks look quite good except the fact Bilal Asif, Umar Akmal and Asif Zakir are there. Why when you have Shoaib Malik and Azhar Ali in the team to fill the experience quota not to mention Mohammad Hafeez come on man. Would have been nice to see Zafar Gohar and Ghulam Mudassar. Also Saud Shakeel. But overall not bad selection.

I seriously hope that Shadab is made to work on his batting also. I am concerned because he is listed in spinners not in spin bowling all-rounders.

Same here.

All good except Akmal, Maybe they could have added a few youngsta fast bowlers.

Same here.

All good except Akmal, Maybe they could have added a few youngsta fast bowlers.

I hope akmal is invited because they have a strict fitness regime they want to put him on and supervise him.

Though they shouldn't have to babysit him, that's the only way I see him getting fit.

What a chief selector inzi is

In 2015 players were picked after 1 good Tournement these players are really good

10 salutes to INZI PAAJI

What happened to Ehteshaam sultan, the guy that Aqib Javed thinks will be the the next star.

Zeeshan Malik, Saud Shakeel, Umair Masood, Saif Badar, Hasan Mohsin and Atif Jabbar are missing.

These are all still at the grass routes

With INZI around expect them to be in this position next year

I admit Inzi has missed a few

Talat
Badar
Shakeel
Bashir
Sultan
Zeeshan
Atif Jabbar
Hassan mohsin

But if these players put in decent performances over the next 2 seasons and get a chance to express themselves at the PSL I'm sure They will be in the schemes of national selection

The selection of Akmal is very confusing. The guy has been playing international cricket for 8 years now and is a totally mature player, he doesn't fit here at all

I don't know how he will improve here, he would be better off training with a personal coach

I admit Inzi has missed a few

Talat
Badar
Shakeel
Bashir
Sultan
Zeeshan
Atif Jabbar
Hassan mohsin

But if these players put in decent performances over the next 2 seasons and get a chance to express themselves at the PSL I'm sure They will be in the schemes of national selection

Check again, Talat is there.

Decent list, but I don't think this is the final list - few changes/addition will happen over 10 weeks period.

10 weeks is a massive investment for such programs, for which 27 is too low number. I think, they'll add another 10-15 players from emerging category. These are first batch of known face - next batch will join after some sort of scouting, but may be for shorter period.

3 glaring misses I see is in a. fast bowling - should have picked few U21 players performing in last QA instead of Raees; b. off-spin - can't be that in entire PAK there are 2 offies - Arshal Sheihk & this Bilal guy, whose action is not clean c. at least 2 more WK should have been called - the U19 WC kid & Ruhail Nazir.

Asif Zakir probably has made it through some quota, otherwise the middle order pick is solid. 5 lefti out of 9 batsmen, so hopefully some where the bell finally rung. Interestingly, no Babar, which indicates he might be in some sort of County/League contract.

Happy to see Umar there - he should have been the MVP of PAK side for his batting, fielding & keeping. Sarfraz being Captain, for any tournament/series with 5/6 matches, he is vulnerable to match ban for slow over-rate, therefore it's essential that one specialist bat should be able to make starting XI, who can keep - I am sure, this is one main reason to go back to Akmals time & again.

Akmal is still only 26 it seems he's been around forever but if he can mature he can become a good one day batsmen when Malik and Haffez leave

Some good selections. Don't agree with the Zakir and Bilal Asif being selected though

I wanted to see more batsmen who can play fast against pace bowling.

Talat
Faheem
Umar

Yes. These can. But need more!! Can't expext all of them to succeed.

Farhan
Amin
Haris

These are more of strokeplayers which is good. But need brutal hitting vs pace too.

b. off-spin - can't be that in entire PAK there are 2 offies - Arshal Sheihk & this Bilal guy, whose action is not clean

Agha Salman is also an off-spinner.

Waqas and Bashir deserve to be there on merit. Inzi and his crew need to find someone who actually understands fast bowling.

Why is Rumman there? He's already in the team. Kick this trundler out.

What a chief selector inzi is

In 2015 players were picked after 1 good Tournement these players are really good

10 salutes to INZI PAAJI

Indeed. His critics gave him the nickname "the revolutionary"- well that is becoming truer every day!

Umar Akmal, why oh why, will this insanity ever end?

[MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] so happy that both of the Irfans made it mashallah !!!!

If you are being serious, what do you see in Irfan (the LQ fast bowler)? He looks like a right handed version of Sohail Tanvir to me. Didn't really impress me in the PSL. Happy to be corrected.

What I mean is Them same household names were being put in the washing machine time and again.

We had only Babar,Imad and Rizwan who looked decent players after that World Cup,Yamin was picked but wasn't backed

Now Fakhar,Sharjeel,Hassan,Shadab,Junaid,Raees,Fahim,Harris,Usman Khan,Nawaz,

INZI could have easily dropped Fakhar and Fahim but he persisted he has given the garbage time as well like Kami but I doubt he will were a green shirt again,Shehzad also but again he has flopped so INZI has given equal chance to every one and has done a great job with finding the new batch of youngsters,His selections are great with a good mix of policies

Waqas and Bashir deserve to be there on merit. Inzi and his crew need to find someone who actually understands fast bowling.

Why is Rumman there? He's already in the team. Kick this trundler out.

Trundler wiped the floor with your favourite phasst Wahab in the one opportunity he got. Rumman in one match achieved more than what phasst Wahab achieved in his entire career, that is to pick up wicket with a new ball.

Some Excellent Picks.

I am very pleased to see Agha Salman :)

Agha hope you are reading. Work as hard as you can. Golden oppurtunity.

wah kya baat ha,,got happy to see him... i knew he is ur pick and i have seen him,,he is quite good..but very ordinary against short bowling..