jamie smith fan
Would be great if they can get those man united owners invest in psl.Surely they can try and get Glazers to invest in PSL?
Babar is already paid way too much for what he offers in terms of impact.Babar the most payed player in psl still receives less payment than a rookie like kwena mapakha
Lol thats not point tbh.Babar is already paid way too much for what he offers in terms of impact.
Rubbish!!! The crowd in Pakistan literally only comes to see Babar. He deserves a pay rise.Babar is already paid way too much for what he offers in terms of impact.
Why don’t you go and offer him extra services if you are so enamoured by himRubbish!!! The crowd in Pakistan literally only comes to see Babar. He deserves a pay rise.
It's a fair point.Does PSL have the talent pool to support 8 teams ?
I am not taking a dig, realistic question.
4 overseas players from each team, so 32 international players, let’s say 1 backup each. So 40 active overseas players not playing the IPL.
On top of that nearly a 100 domestic white ball or all format players as well.
I think well oiled 5-6 teams were ideal. no hate just my assessment.
It’s not just overseas players right, you have to fill squads with pool of local players, even in the IPL due to high volume of the squads, there are some domestic players who are bottom of the barrel in the sense they may never come close to even being part of A-B sides in any format. 8 teams into minimum squads of 15, that’s a pool of 120 players, let’s say even 30 are overseas, then you need to pull together 90 local players domestic + international. Maybe Pakistan has the pool or will have the pool in the future but is it sustainable?It's a fair point.
At times the overseas picks can be quite random and low quality, and they can edge out a better local player.
I'd be happy with 2-3 overseas players. Just because IPL has 4 doesn't mean it has to be the standard for us. However there is demand for fans for overseas regardless whether they are big name or not so if it keeps viewers happy then the number won't change
Quality will start to tail off for sure but there are older players and test pros that could give be a given shot in T20. Guys like Nomi, Sajid, Umar Siddiq, Imran Butt, Hairura, Imam ul HaqIt’s not just overseas players right, you have to fill squads with pool of local players, even in the IPL due to high volume of the squads, there are some domestic players who are bottom of the barrel in the sense they may never come close to even being part of A-B sides in any format. 8 teams into minimum squads of 15, that’s a pool of 120 players, let’s say even 30 are overseas, then you need to pull together 90 local players domestic + international. Maybe Pakistan has the pool or will have the pool in the future but is it sustainable?
There's enough talent for T20.Does PSL have the talent pool to support 8 teams ?
I am not taking a dig, realistic question.
4 overseas players from each team, so 32 international players, let’s say 1 backup each. So 40 active overseas players not playing the IPL.
On top of that nearly a 100 domestic white ball or all format players as well.
I think well oiled 5-6 teams were ideal. no hate just my assessment.
Players missing from IPL auction
England: Brook, Moeen, Wood, Stokes, Root, Adil Rashid, Woakes, Willey, Roy, Hales, Jordan, Mills, Billings, Topley, Smeed, Crawley & TKC
Australia: Maxwell, Zampa, Warner, Hardie, Carey, Lynn & Chris Green
South Africa: Du Plessis, Maharaj, van der Dussen, Rossouw, Baartman & Shamsi
New Zealand: Chapman, Neesham & Sears
West Indies: Seales, Forde, Motie & Allen
Bangladesh: Shakib & Litton
Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Muzarabani
These players could be part of the PSL this season
Because not everyone will get a chance to play IPL… it still has 4 foreign players limit.Lol thats not point tbh.
I am not asking about his performance or else it is just i think psl can never compete with ipl if they follow the same way.
I think they have to involve big money overseas Pakistanis in it now.
Why would a player even come to psl if the hughest u can offer is 1.5 crore inr while even a nobody gets 2 crore in ipl
Players missing from IPL auction
England: Brook, Moeen, Wood, Stokes, Root, Adil Rashid, Woakes, Willey, Roy, Hales, Jordan, Mills, Billings, Topley, Smeed, Crawley & TKC
Australia: Maxwell, Zampa, Warner, Hardie, Carey, Lynn & Chris Green
South Africa: Du Plessis, Maharaj, van der Dussen, Rossouw, Baartman & Shamsi
New Zealand: Chapman, Neesham & Sears
West Indies: Seales, Forde, Motie & Allen
Bangladesh: Shakib & Litton
Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Muzarabani
These players could be part of the PSL this season
Faisalabad or Sialkot would be the one team and the other team would be either Muzaffarabad or Gilgit.
You already have two teams in the PSL from Punjab, you don't need to add another right now.
Go for Hyderabad & Muzaffarabad.
After the theft of PIA yesterday, we will have Dirty Harry leading one and General Sharif leading the other.I won't be surprised , if Askari Bank and DHA pick up the two new franchises @Bewal Express

Pindi and Islamabad are twin cities.Any two from Sialkot,Faisalabad and Hyderabad will have lots of fans but since there are only two new teams one of these cities will miss out.if they want geographic spread should be sialkot and hyderabad, if they want largest potential fan followings should be sialkot and rawalpindi, altho pindi might takes a few fans away from islamabad.
Why ?Entertain a bid from Pakistan and another from Australia. Ignore the rest
Bids from 5 continents , amazing The Russian Oligarch missed out , never mind its their loss![]()
So the Fauji team is about to become reality.As per reports, The Arif Habib Group, fresh off its Rs. 135 billion acquisition of Pakistan International Airlines (PIA), is now tipped to enter the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The group is a leading contender to secure one of two new franchises slated to join the league for its 11th season in 2026. Alongside the solar energy firm Inverex, Arif Habib Group is among 12 interested parties vying for the slots as the PSL expands from six to eight teams.
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) reported an "exceptional" response to its tender, with bids arriving from five different countries following international promotional tours. The surge in interest led the PCB to extend its deadline multiple times. A shortlist of qualified bidders based on technical and financial benchmarks will be announced on December 27, followed by an open bidding process to determine the final franchise owners.
Rawalpindi MarkhorsSo the Fauji team is about to become reality.
Better than Qaidi 1000 yearsSo the Fauji team is about to become reality.
Yes off course. We didn't realise the oath breakers are holding him hostage. Thanks for reminding us that you are lab rat with no morals.Better than Qaidi 1000 years
rawalpindi rams, with their light blue kits, awais zia and naved latif opening the batting, what a throwback. the rams were a good t20 team.Rawalpindi Markhors
Rawalpindi Rams vs Sialkot Stallions knockout game with Malik rescuing his team and ending up as winners.rawalpindi rams, with their light blue kits, awais zia and naved latif opening the batting, what a throwback. the rams were a good t20 team.
This would be a perfect name for that team.Rawalpindi Markhors
Dodgy newsRumors are the 10 bidders were:
Jazz
Arif Habib
Inverex
Vgotel
Ali Tareen
Multan Sultans have a base price also set at 1 carore 30 lakhs.
@Rana tareen still in it....
I hope one of the teams goes to Jazz. A very stable company with a proper management.
Anyone can submit a bid and if they clear evaluation only than can participate in auction.Dodgy news
Why are PCB allowing Ali Tareen to rebid and not buy out his team in the first place?
Besides, it’s apparently all fixes anyways. They know who will be the 2 new owners
The PCB rejected 2 companies from bidding. They could make any reason to reject Ali Tareen too. A simple citing of previous altercations and unhealthy relationships with the PcB is enough to reject. Ali Tareen and co can do nothing about it if that’s what the PCB do.Anyone can submit a bid and if they clear evaluation only than can participate in auction.
Pcb cant stop anyone if the bidder meets pee qualification
The pcb didnt reject. According to PPRA rules you need to have a pre-qualification bid. So they short list and eliminate all those do not fulfill the pre qualification.The PCB rejected 2 companies from bidding. They could make any reason to reject Ali Tareen too. A simple citing of previous altercations and unhealthy relationships with the PcB is enough to reject. Ali Tareen and co can do nothing about it if that’s what the PCB do.
It’s all very dodgy, it makes no sense to not allow him to buy back his own team.
Anyways, he will not be one of the 2 new owners
There is no way to force the PCB to sell to someone they do not want to sell to.The pcb didnt reject. According to PPRA rules you need to have a pre-qualification bid. So they short list and eliminate all those do not fulfill the pre qualification.
Pcb cannot decide here on its own as PPRA rules governs the bidding aspect. Once they qualify for auction, any team from the passed qualified bidders can participate.
Faisalabad has to get a team. They are a Cricket obsessed people. Deserve a teamIf jazz wins im sensing they will go with Rawalpindi, as the ceo is cricket enthusiasts is from Islamabad, so he would prefer Rawalpindi compared to other cities.
Inverex is a karachi party, so they may go with Hyderabad
Vgotel aswell, they are karachi based, they have in the past also sponsored karachi, so again seems like Hyderabad.
I2c i chcked upon, they have presence in Lahore, so it could mean they could go with either Sialkot or Faisalabad.
Arif Habib is from Karachi.
So from the looks of it, if these ceos go with their personal city/province based that their is highly likely chance Hyderabad might get a psl team.
But if its based on investment decision, where there is highly chances of more footfall, better stadium, security, airport, hotel and better governan than Faisalabad and Rawalpindi would be the better decision.
Lets see, im excited about this. Fingers crossed
Ok, well best of luck to him.@Rana mohsin naqvi has indirecrly confirmed that ali tareen has passed the pre qualification bid
Main points of Mohsin Naqvi’s press conference:
- Wasim Akram has been appointed as the brand ambassador of PSL 2026.
- PCB has officially taken over Multan Sultans.
- Pakistan Cricket Board will manage Multan in PSL 2026, this team would be handed over to a new owner via auction in PSL 2027.
- Ali Tareen will be welcomed, if he wants to buy a new franchise.
- PSL 11 to start on 23rd March (National Day).
So here is my question,- Ali Tareen will be welcomed, if he wants to buy a new franchise.
If jazz wins im sensing they will go with Rawalpindi, as the ceo is cricket enthusiasts is from Islamabad, so he would prefer Rawalpindi compared to other cities.
Inverex is a karachi party, so they may go with Hyderabad
Vgotel aswell, they are karachi based, they have in the past also sponsored karachi, so again seems like Hyderabad.
I2c i chcked upon, they have presence in Lahore, so it could mean they could go with either Sialkot or Faisalabad.
Arif Habib is from Karachi.
So from the looks of it, if these ceos go with their personal city/province based that their is highly likely chance Hyderabad might get a psl team.
But if its based on investment decision, where there is highly chances of more footfall, better stadium, security, airport, hotel and better governan than Faisalabad and Rawalpindi would be the better decision.
Lets see, im excited about this. Fingers crossed
I’m sure they will give Rawalpindi a run for their money for being the dumbest fans in world cricket.Faisalabad, with it’s own ground and passionate fan base, seems like a no brainer.
Because they cant stop anyone from owning a team.So here is my question,
Why can’t he just buy the franchise he has been running for 5 years? If they don’t want him as an owner for the initial 6, why are they happy for him to become the 7th or 8th owner?
Yes, I’m sure a commercial hub of a city willing to spend their own money to support their country’s team are ‘dumb’ whilst you w/ your endless white noise ramblings is the smart one.I’m sure they will give Rawalpindi a run for their money for being the dumbest fans in world cricket.
Bbl is not franchise model, its domestic CA owned teams i thinkWhy doesn’t Sixers buy a franchise and name it Babaristan?
I agree with home ground part. That should be the case when giving out teams.Speaking as an outsider, I believe that the PSL is best served w/ individual teams having their own home grounds (Peshawar in 2027 inshAllah). And I’d accordingly like the new teams to go to cities w/ their own stadium.
I find it weird that Pindi is even an option when you already have an Islamabad team. From a revenue generation perspective you’d just be carving up any existing ISLU fan base.
Faisalabad, with it’s own ground and passionate fan base, seems like a no brainer.
Ideally the next best option is Hyderabad, but Niaz stadium is unusable currently. It could be usable in 2027 though.
It would be very cool to see cricket played in Gilgit or Muzzafarabad, but again neither city has its own international ground.
Lastly Sialkot would be a similar position, but it’s economically a strong enough city to have its own ground developed soon.
You’ve raised relevant points but youre outlook is too conservative re: the league’s trajectory.The signs for PSL don't look particularly good.
I'm not sure this expansion is the best idea for a couple of reasons.
The per match valuation could decline with the increased number of matches.
From what I understand, the reliance on cable operators is eating into Pakistan cricket's revenues. And I'm not sure that is going to change fast enough.
If you are going H2H with the IPL , the best overseas players would have already gone to the IPL and now you would need another 16 overseas players for 2 more teams.
And is there enough quality in domestic cricket to sustain 2 extra teams? We will see when the season starts but I expect a fair decline in the competitiveness of PSL this season.
I think there is nothing stopping them to sell to who they want and who they don’t want to.Because they cant stop anyone from owning a team.
Pcb is not a private entity. Pcb is a govt organization, and when a govt institution decides to open a tender for selling something or getting a project fulfilled, by law its not allowed to pick and choose whoever they want.I think there is nothing stopping them to sell to who they want and who they don’t want to.
You can’t sell your team/product to an underground, Mafia backed group who can come clean on paper through legal frame work. You won’t allow yourselves to be held hostage by parties that will do so in the long run.
What? What logic is that?Tareen back in bidding process might indicate the lack of investors for PCB, 9f that is its a matter of huge concern and reputation failure
Btw ali tareen isnt the main thing here, its Jazz.I think there is nothing stopping them to sell to who they want and who they don’t want to.
You can’t sell your team/product to an underground, Mafia backed group who can come clean on paper through legal frame work. You won’t allow yourselves to be held hostage by parties that will do so in the long run.
I agree with home ground part. That should be the case when giving out teams.
As for Pindi, you have to look at Pindi not from a city perspective but from a region perspective which includes attock, gujar khan, jehlum etc.
Ideally pindi shpuld had gotten a team before islamabad did.
Yes it would break up the fan base, but both teams should be seperate. A rivalry can be formed and pindi has more marketing potential. Plus being among the urban cities with access to hotels etc makes it a better
had a general question for you.Btw ali tareen isnt the main thing here, it’s Jazz.
If Jazz ends up winning a bid on a team, that is gonna be a huge thing. Professional management, their psl franchise wouĺd have access to Jazzs marketing team and have a bigger budget. Plus, Jazz owning a team would be a company owned team and not à team owned at personal capacity.
PCB would be forced to act professional when dealing with Jazz directors.
Currently, all the psl teams have ownership which seem to be at personal capacity and not at company ownership ( i could be wrong). Company ownership brings more professionals on board and the franchise isnt a one man show.
Arif Habib also is a big name, if the team is ran through arif habibs company and its directors and not through the personal capacity of someone from his family.
Interesting question. Before i answer it let me tell you what jazz has done.had a general question for you.
Do you foresee any of these ownership groups help in funding stadia improvements, if they come in, for a stake in the stadium itself?
E.g. if this Jazz group chooses Hyderabad and pays to fully renovate Niaz stadium.
It would help them w/ revenue generation etc.
Yes, I just remembered that the franchise agreements have a 10 year duration, thus not going these franchises incentive to invest in the stadia. They just need to see what happened to Ali Tareen.Interesting question. Before i answer it let me tell you what jazz has done.
When Sheikh Shakil used to run Islamabad cricket region, what he did was he got all the grounds and clubs of islamabad a sponsor. One of the biggest sponsor was Jazz. Basically Jazz as sponsor would fund a roller to each ground, each ground was shared by 3 to 4 clubs. Jazz maintained the seating area and i assume their sponsorship extended to maybe kits and balls too.
So jazz has done this, this resulted in massive better facilities of club cricket in islamabad compared to rawalpindi.
Now coming to your question. Pcb owns the stadium, so Jazz can do small advertisement on it, but they would never refurbish the stadiums. However such model can exists if PCB decides to sell the stadium to franchise owners aswell, than the franchise owners would have to furnish the stadiums or make its own stadiums.
But such thing only possible with a very proper psl structure. The current struxture where psl teams have to release players due to psl law every year is not beneficial for psl owners.