PCB still uncertain about boycotting Asia Cup as ICC refuse to remove Andy Pycroft

Naahm, twitter handles are saying it.
Just checked some twitter feeds.

Team bus is standing outside hotel, players kits are loaded in the bus. Now driver is waiting for confirmation where to take the players - ground or airport.

What kind of drama is this man? Surely even Pakistani posters can't support this?

:facepalm

Face saving excercise, probably don't want to lose to minnows or face another embarrassing defeat by india. Careers of hacks become much longer when they would most certainly have been dropped after this tournament.

Naqvi, Hesson, Agha saving their own careers

None of the major sites are reporting a boycott yet but if true, this is absurd.

If you're going to boycott and forfeit a tournament, make it for something big. Not over a petty issue like the Match referee who's basically powerless.
Plz google Mike Denness

Hoping for two steps now -

1) Pycroft ji sueing PCB for mental distress caused by false allegations.

2) ICC/ACC penalising Pakistan heavy to set an example for the next offender.

I hope Jay Shah and Pycroft's legal teams are on it already.

When you perform like that, you deserve to be disrespected.

Disagree. Cricket is just a game.

India brought politics to cricket. I think it now goes beyond cricket.

Naqvi did what any self-respecting person would do after being disrespected.

Pretty illogical stuff from Pakistan. We did your guys dirty, Ill admit. Just play and beat India, and that would have embarrassed us in front of the world. It's T20, not impossible whatsoever

Now, they have basically walked away because of our shenanigans. That too after a pounding on the field. You think Indian fans will care a bit about this "incredible" show of pride from Pakistan?? How does this even make sense?
This only makes sense if Shah-Naqvi are choreographing this whole episode together which I think they are.

I am still unclear what wrong did Andy Pycroft do?

It was SKY that made political statement. So why is PCB is not demanding removal of SKY or team India rather than going after innocent match referee?

PCB is playing victim and crying only because Pakistan got humiliated on the pitch.

Would Pakistan have boycotted if they had won the match? Absolutely not. They would not have made a big issue out of the action of the referee.

Sure, they would have lodged a complaint but they wouldn’t have ran away from the tournament because they would have backed themselves to shut up India and ACC by beating India again and winning the tournament.

Pakistan got beaten so badly by India that they looked for an escape route and found one.

Real statement would have been beating India and then walking out of the tournament. That is a boss move.

What PCB did now is a cowardly move. They will sell the boycott narrative and our gullible fan will lap it up to cover their embarrassment but the reality is there for everyone to see.
again. Issue is with regards to match referee. If Pycroft was not the referee today Pakistan would be playing.

THe ICC rep needs to be neutral instead of favoring a board

It wasnt so much what he said, it was the match referee following instructions from a foreign govt on what can and cant take place on a cricket pitch. Its verging on an apartheid system, sometimes you need to take a stand.

Everything I say is independent of what actually happened on the field of play. I dont think for one second most of the indian players would behave in such a manner unless pressurised to do so by a govt trying to save face.
Apparently they are consulting Raja who isn’t pro boycott. He said in one of his interviews that the match referee couldn’t have done much here, going by his understanding of the rules.

PCB Media Officer AMIR MIR has said that Match hasn’t been cancelled so far, rather it has been delayed by one hour and Negotiations are ongoing

Boycott would be an absolutely stupid decision and give BCCI the exact excuse it needs for the next decade.
They're putting themselves in an absurd position. Will they boycott any Indian game when there is no shake of hands? Or will they boycott any match referee who doesn't enforce a handshake?

Backing yourself into a corner like this makes in very difficult to justify a compromise the next time.

Just checked some twitter feeds.

Team bus is standing outside hotel, players kits are loaded in the bus. Now driver is waiting for confirmation where to take the players - ground or airport.

What kind of drama is this man? Surely even Pakistani posters can't support this?

:facepalm
In all honesty, cricket (the gentlemens game) shouldnt be played under such a cloud. The bad feeling and resentment being sown on both sides is out of hand.

Until things settle down, if they ever do, pak v ind games probably shouldnt go ahead.

PCB Media Officer AMIR MIR has said that Match hasn’t been cancelled so far, rather it has been delayed by one hour and Negotiations are ongoing
Amir Mir and co are career grifters…

I trust this group to choose the worst option for Pak.

I am still unclear what wrong did Andy Pycroft do?

It was SKY that made political statement. So why is PCB is not demanding removal of SKY or team India rather than going after innocent match referee?
Nothing, he has a strong legal case against the PCB.

Pakistan would have played today had they not lost to India in spite of the actions of the match referee. That is my point.

Thats hypothetical man, you're trying to normalise behaviour unbecoming of professional cricketers and those who steward the game.

Cricinfo saying - the match has been delayed for an hour for now

Pakistan would have played today had they not lost to India in spite of the actions of the match referee. That is my point.
If Pakistan ends up playing, would you be changing your narrative than?

Oh, so Naqvi didn't walk the talk- the exact premise why this thread was created to chest thump.

What a spectacular mess- superb entertainment. maza aa gaya- sab ulta pad gaya.

I can pay a good amount to witness this clownery.

again. Issue is with regards to match referee. If Pycroft was not the referee today Pakistan would be playing.

THe ICC rep needs to be neutral instead of favoring a board
Why? what wrong did Andy Pycroft do?

So they haven’t boycotted and are still deciding? Deciding now?

It’s one thing disclosing your decision to boycott at the last moment, although that’s unprofessional too. But they are actually deciding right now? When the team is in the bus. No professionalism at all.

Oh, so Naqvi didn't walk the talk- the exact premise why this thread was created to chest thump.

What a spectacular mess- superb entertainment. maza aa gaya- sab ulta pad gaya.

I can pay a good amount to witness this clownery.
Either way, he will either get the match referee removed or the match boycotted. Lets see

Than again, why didnt Pycorft put a fine on Sky for making that statements. He is the ICC rep.

Naqvi
Face saving excercise, probably don't want to lose to minnows or face another embarrassing defeat by india. Careers of hacks become much longer when they would most certainly have been dropped after this tournament.

Naqvi, Hesson, Agha saving their own careers
+1

since Naqvi took over, Pakistan has been almost minnow level in every format. This dramaybaazi is to divert the attention from consistently poor performances.

Can’t make such last moment decisions. You had several business days to decide this. ACC / ICC should just call off the match and ask Pakistan to return to their hotel.

What on earth is Pakistan boycotting a non event game vs the UAE for?

All the more proves that the Asia Cup is about the Ind v Pak fixture and nothing else.

Lol even in boycott pcb is doing pcb things - keeping the crowd, the awaam clueless until the last minute...what an unprofessional bunch of clown!

Than again, why didnt Pycorft put a fine on Sky for making that statements. He is the ICC rep.
Correct but in that leaked letter from PCB to ICC there was no demand on putting a ban on SKY. PCBs complain was why Pycroft didnt inform Pak management about not to shake hands earlier and only done so during the toss? For this, Pycroft even apologised. So why not move on?

Cricbuzz - Latest we are hearing: PCB has requested that the match be postponed by an hour pending further talks. Also hearing that Pakistan team has left the hotel and on the way to the stadium. Not sure if Pycroft will still officiate or not

This seems like a crybaby reaction as of now. You have a chance to give everything back to India but i dont think they are sure that they can.

I d love for agha to win against india and dedicate it to air force who put rafaels down but neither do they have the guts nor potential to pull smth like this off.

This was a chance to make it as political as they could on the base of india starting it byt once again we did nothing on the field and now running like cowards.

I want my nation's pride restored and this isnt the way to go about it. Winning the cup would be the answer.

Correct but in that leaked letter from PCB to ICC there was no demand on putting a ban on SKY. PCBs complain was why Pycroft didnt inform Pak management about not to shake hands earlier and only done so during the toss? For this, Pycroft even apologised. So why not move on?
Nothing official ahs ahppeend, no apologies taken place. PCB wants him remvoed.

PCB making drama out of nothing .... ICC made it clear 2 days back u.pire Pycroft will continue..... this is not PSL, its Asia cup

This seems like a crybaby reaction as of now. You have a chance to give everything back to India but i dont think they are sure that they can.

I d love for agha to win against india and dedicate it to air force who put rafaels down but neither do they have the guts nor potential to pull smth like this off.

This was a chance to make it as political as they could on the base of india starting it byt once again we did nothing on the field and now running like cowards.

I want my nation's pride restored and this isnt the way to go about it. Winning the cup would be the answer.
Pakistan took action and made ICC hold many meetings what else you want, humiliated the refree who was forced to return.

One important thing which people are ignoring is relationships with UAE and middle East. Apparently india went ahead with Asia cup because of their bond with the UAE government including match against Pakistan.

If Pakistan pulls such shenanigans, they will be embarrassing UAE government and their relationship will be forever damaged. They might even ban Pakistan from playing on UAE grounds.

Which is why decisions should not he taken in emotional state or haste. Last thing Pakistan needs is to antoginize more countries.

Two former PCB chairpersons Ramiz Raza and Nazam Sethi are currently at PCB headquarters in a meeting with Mohsin Naqvi. If there is even 1% chance to break the impasse .

Pakistan took action and made ICC hold many meetings what else you want, humiliated the refree who was forced to return.
A refree?? Whole nation has a problem with just refree??

Win the tournament boys we are all behind you but dont do this.
Just beat the **** out of these teams and dedicate all the awards to armed forces.

From Cricinfo
5.45pm Mohsin Naqvi, the PCB chair tweets: "We have asked the Pakistan team to depart for the Dubai Cricket Stadium. Further details to follow."

Yeh kya drama chal raha hai?

Imagine now Pak loses against UAE

:klopp

Its not about surya, its about the interference of a match referee under the influence of a foreign govt.
The match referee just informed Pak captain what india was choosing to do because they didn't want Pak players to embarrass themselves by offering handshakes which would be refused .

In typical fashion Pak management misunderstood and threw a tantrum.

A refree?? Whole nation has a problem with just refree??

Win the tournament boys we are all behind you but dont do this.
Just beat the **** out of these teams and dedicate all the awards to armed forces.
Yes if refree treats Pakistan differently to India. Imagine Pakistan making reference to recent war between the two countries.

Easy target because they know they can’t go after bcci or india. I actually think he did this as he wanted to not create an issue of the pakistani cricketer extending his hand out and not getting it shook. Nor a whole meltdown before the match was being played. It was probably a very difficult situation to be in, maybe he didn’t handle it the best but I doubt there was malicious intent from Andy Pycroft. It’s just a face saving exercise to show Pakistan can’t be pushed around.

Yes if refree treats Pakistan differently to India. Imagine Pakistan making reference to recent war between the two countries.
They didn't treat Pakistan different from India. You guys need to stop lying and embarrassing yourself

Easy target because they know they can’t go after bcci or india. I actually think he did this as he wanted to not create an issue of the pakistani cricketer extending his hand out and not getting it shook. Nor a whole meltdown before the match was being played. It was probably a very difficult situation to be in, maybe he didn’t handle it the best but I doubt there was malicious intent from Andy Pycroft. It’s just a face saving exercise to show Pakistan can’t be pushed around.
Exactly , its unfair to him he was trying to do best in the situation.

Imagine after all this drama, pak loses today! Mohsin Naqvi will probably have to resign.

Probably won't be the lowest of the lows for Pak cricket though - nothing can trump the t20 wc exit after losing to usa, and then the humiliation as a host of the ct25

The match referee just informed Pak captain what india was choosing to do because they didn't want Pak players to embarrass themselves by offering handshakes which would be refused .

In typical fashion Pak management misunderstood and threw a tantrum.

I dont think thats the case, I think the match referee lacked a backbone and went against normal protocol because he was scared of the repercussions.

What normal protocols? What protocols is there about handshakes? Show me what protocols say that you can force teams to have handshakes?

Credit where credit is due, PCB actually went ahead with the boycott, instead of buckling in.

Whether it was the right decision to boycott or not is another thing, but after having said they would boycott if match referee isn’t removed and then following up with it is a first for PCB.

Credit where credit is due, PCB actually went ahead with the boycott, instead of buckling in.

Whether it was the right decision to boycott or not is another thing, but after having said they would boycott if match referee isn’t removed and then following up with it is a first for PCB.
Pak team just left for the stadium, so no, they haven't boycotted

From cricinfo -

5.50pm ESPNcricinfo understands that players will prepare to play as scheduled. The match is set to start at 7.30pm local time, with toss at 7pm local time. We still don't know the fate of match referee Andy Pycroft

You are right...we initially planned to boycott. However, didnt realize Sura Kumar Yadav will launch another Operation Sindoor on Pakistan.

:klopp
Its a cricket match, we made India Surrender where it mattered most (insert ASHOK DINDA emoji) hahaha