PCB still uncertain about boycotting Asia Cup as ICC refuse to remove Andy Pycroft

Disagree. Such shenanigans make you look unprofessional and are harmful in the long term.
And not shaking hands with opposition in front of cameras, but shaking hands behind with Pakistani minister ,and then making political statements makes you look professional.

What normal protocols? What protocols is there about handshakes? Show me what protocols say that you can force teams to have handshakes?

Can you name me the last time a player refused to shake hands with another before the toss in a game of international cricket? and the match referee allowed it? It may not be written in the laws but it is the established practise.

Classic case of trying to shoot the messenger. They can’t do anything to BCCI, so go after that poor referee. All these shenanigans for nothing!

Pak team just left for the stadium, so no, they haven't boycotted
Paise ka khel hai Rajdeep bhaiyya

From sources: Pakistan Cricket team heading towards the stadium in Dubai to play the match with UAE. ICC-PCB engaged in backchannel negotiations. Pakistan would have to pay USD 16 Million if they boycott the match. ICC refuses to change the match referee. Huge embarrassment for Pak.

So there will be no match referee? Or would the tournament organizers arrange a match referee last moment? Do they have a backup?

From Cricinfo
5.45pm Mohsin Naqvi, the PCB chair tweets: "We have asked the Pakistan team to depart for the Dubai Cricket Stadium. Further details to follow."

Yeh kya drama chal raha hai?

Imagine now Pak loses against UAE

:klopp

This is a complete embarrassment..

What happens when you have corrupt and inept people in powerful roles...

Can you name me the last time a player refused to shake hands with another before the toss in a game of international cricket? and the match referee allowed it? It may not be written in the laws but it is the established practise.
Match referee cannot force anyone to shake hands. They are not kids to be forced. Use your common sense. The question of allowance doesn't arise here.
What can referee do? Beat them? Fine them for not shaking hands? Cancel the game? Common sense is severely lacking here.

So ICC will be allowed to make Political statement?
ICC never made any political statement. As I said, you guys need to stop lying.

Indian team informed referee they won't shake hands. Referee informed the same to Pak captain as he didn't want Pak players to offer hands and then be embarassed. Pak players didn't understand the English perhaps and complained to PCB

Pakistan has delayed the game without any reason. This is not the fault of UAE. Surely there must be some penalty?

This whole Fiasco has proven one thing. It is absolutely possible to boycott Tournament Games unlike BCCI and GOI stance that they will boycott Bilateral cricket with Pakistan but somehow thats not possible to do in tournament. We all knew that it was an excuse but real issue was broadcasters who have money on the line and BCCI hid behind govt press release and protected Broadcaster Rights and Interests

PCB’s refusal to send team to Ground Unless Andy Pycroft is removed shows that trivial issue such as removal of match referee is enough reason to pull a fast one of boycott Threat. PCB’s Ego became bigger reason than Jawan’s Blood and Hindu blood that was spilt in Palgham to threaten a boycott.

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag @mominsaigol @BouncerGuy

ESPNcricinfo understands that the players will prepare to play as scheduled. The match is now set to start at 7.30pm local time, with toss at 7pm local time. We still don't know the fate of match referee Andy Pycroft yet.

The fact you had an hour to waste here is the damning thing, go outside breathe some fresh air and touch the green grass
I am super outgoing brother, would have shared my Youtube if I didn't have many haters around, we never know these days. 🔫

But I do appreciate the concern, doesn't sound like hypocrisy coming from you.

This whole Fiasco has proven one thing. It is absolutely possible to boycott Tournament Games unlike BCCI and GOI stance that they will boycott Bilateral cricket with Pakistan but somehow thats not possible to do in tournament. We all knew that it was an excuse but real issue was broadcasters who have money on the line and BCCI hid behind govt press release and protected Broadcaster Rights and Interests

PCB’s refusal to send team to Ground Unless Andy Pycroft is removed shows that trivial issue such as removal of match referee is enough reason to pull a fast one of boycott Threat. PCB’s Ego became bigger reason than Jawan’s Blood and Hindu blood that was spilt in Palgham to threaten a boycott.

No it's not that's why they asked another 1 hour . Bolna asan hai but real m karte tab pta chalega.

Penalty pe penalty lagti or ICC se revenue sab kuch ni milta.

:klopp :kp

BCCI thinks of long term effects like relationship with UAE. Pak is like an emotional child who never think of long term consequences. UAE government is not going to be happy with what happened today and it's going to have a long term effect.

Which is why mature people need to lead a country, not emotional guys.

After all this drama, now if PCB agrees to play the tournament without the match referee being removed, PCB will go down as the most inept organisation in history of modern civilisation.
They already are the most inept cricketing board, now this will make them the most inept in sporting history.

Pakistani fans should come on streets and protest against these guys, this is so embarrassing for you guys.

BCCI thinks of long term effects like relationship with UAE. Pak is like an emotional child who never think of long term consequences. UAE government is not going to be happy with what happened today and it's going to have a long term effect.

Which is why mature people need to lead a country, not emotional guys.
Lol

UAE Govt has nothing to do with this. They are just providing facilities. They are nt even official Hosts

After all this drama, now if PCB agrees to play the tournament without the match referee being removed, PCB will go down as the most inept organisation in history of modern civilisation.
They already are the most inept cricketing board, now this will make them the most inept in sporting history.

Pakistani fans should come on streets and protest against these guys, this is so embarrassing for you guys.
So match will be delayed by 1.5 hours. Dont you think PCB must be fined? There are broadcasters slot and everything to account for. More importantly, what is the fault if UAE team for making them wait extra time?

ja tu fine kar aa

Lol

UAE Govt has nothing to do with this. They are just providing facilities. They are nt even official Hosts

Doesn't matter when it comes to relationships. UAE goverment is very strict on anything which makes their country look bad or unprofessional. There is a reason they offer to host these matches. Plus it's against their own team and in front of their own crowd.

These things have a long lasting effect.

They're putting themselves in an absurd position. Will they boycott any Indian game when there is no shake of hands? Or will they boycott any match referee who doesn't enforce a handshake?

Backing yourself into a corner like this makes in very difficult to justify a compromise the next time.

It’s all that you’ve outlined and more. Boycott will mean that BCCI will use it as an excuse to pretty much do anything in the future.

Example: BCCI doesn’t want Pakistan in a tournament? BCCI says we are justified in boycotting it with great reluctance, because you see they did it first, oh dear me, BCCI’s purer than the driven snow, it’s nasty PCB that was responsible for it

And so on.

I’d go so far to say it’s criminal stupidity, strategic madness to boycott, you’re just giving BCCI an excuse on top of it’s massive financial advantage

PCB should be banned by ICC. So indecisiveness, were they sleeping before

Had they boycott it would have been a somewhat respectable decision that they followed what they preached.

But after threatening to boycott, then telling everyone we have boycotted the match, then agreeing to play the match 1 hour before it starts with the same match referee, makes PCB a joke.

I know you have the urge to troll Pakistani fans about this but hold your horses, it must be so embarrassing for Pakistani fans that it wouldn’t be nice to kick someone while they are this deep down in the trenches.

You can boycott only as long as you are willing to give up all the $$$ incoming from BCCI. If not, you have to stay put.

So, it's all about the willingness to get or reject $$$.

And if match referee is indeed removed, what happens when Indians refuse to shake hands next Sunday? Will they boycott the new refree and ask them to be removed too?

Indian fans have been crying for the last 15 years for BCCI to boycott a game and what not.

And guess what, today PCB is the one that will not only boycott but pull out of the tournament, not caring about elimination.

Well done PCB, they walked the talk.

Pakistan nay hee boycott kerdia???
Chest thumping backfired major time 😂

Doesn't matter when it comes to relationships. UAE goverment is very strict on anything which makes their country look bad or unprofessional. There is a reason they offer to host these matches. Plus it's against their own team and in front of their own crowd.

These things have a long lasting effect.

Reason to play Pak in tournaments according to GOI is not long term strategy or relations with UAE. You dnt need to make something up. we know thats not the reason. Quote me when UAE Govt makes any statement about this lol

You can boycott only as long as you are willing to give up all the $$$ incoming from BCCI. If not, you have to stay put.

So, it's all about the willingness to get or reject $$$.
$$$ Incoming from BCCI? Why BCCI is giving $$$ to Enemy country Board in first place?

We didn't see you show this much concern for broadcasters and other issues during the India vs Pakistan WCL match, when it was India that boycotted. And here you are crying about 1.5 hours delay? And it wasn't even Pakistan's fault in the WCL, yet they didn't get 2 points. Hypocrisy ki bhi seema hoti hai. :yk :inti

#RajuBanGayaKaju

And if match referee is indeed removed, what happens when Indians refuse to shake hands next Sunday? Will they boycott the new refree and ask them to be removed too?

You are going off tangent.

1. PCB officially complained against match referee and not against Indian players. Whatever their reasons for complaint, it wasn’t fully disclosed to public so we couldn’t say whether they were right or wrong.
2. PCB officially said they will boycott if match referee isn’t changed.
3. PCB officially stopped their team from going to ground and more or less officially declared they have boycotted.
4. 1 hour before match they flip flop and are ready to play.

If you see in above scenario, the official issue isn’t against Indian team but match referee, unless they tell what exactly the match referee did for them to demand him stepping down we can only speculate.
But Indian team refusing to shake hands isn’t the reason of boycott, so even if Indian team refuses to shake hands again it should be expected and PCB should be fine with it.

ICC / ACC or whoever is running this tournament is showing their lack of professionalism too. If PCB is unable to take a decision, just call off the match. Removing the match referee at the last moment in these circumstances also shows a lack of spine.

Andy Pycroft is still the match referee between Pakistan and UAE match 🤣🤣🤣

Epic humiliation for Pakistan :klopp :kp
If this is true, what did the PCB achieve from the drama?

They did not boycott the match and the match referee remains the same. What was the drama for?

Chal Pycroft fine us for coming late to the stadium and we will fight again on Sunday.

The fight is delayed till Sunday.

Reason to play Pak in tournaments according to GOI is not long term strategy or relations with UAE. You dnt need to make something up. we know thats not the reason. Quote me when UAE Govt makes any statement about this lol
the reason is well known and mentioned by India many times. India considers all issues with Pakistan as strictly bilateral. It doesn't want to bring up any bilateral issues in multilateral forums including but not limited to Sports, UN, Third party intervention in talks, mediation, etc.. so bilateral games are a no no whereas multilateral tournaments are fine.. bilateral talks are a no too, whereas India participates in multilateral forums like UN, SCO, etc where Pak is present

What a load of BS from PCB! You had 2 days to make a decision but you chose to take it to the last hour and delayed the game only to play it in the end. You inconvenienced the UAE team who had nothing to do with either the handshake fiasco or the referee and all spectators including Pakistanis. Meanwhile the rest of the world is laughing with popcorn in hand. Inconsistent both on and off the field. Shameful!

Multiple sources have told ESPNcricinfo that Andy Pycroft remains match referee for the game - as we had reported earlier in the day. The Pakistan team, meanwhile, has arrived at the ground.

And PCT loses to UAE. I’m hosting a party if that happens

I would rather have the storyline where PCT win, but Pycroft fines PCT for being late.

Then PCB gets outraged and complains against Pycroft to ICC and threatens to boycott the India game if he isn’t removed.

ICC refuses and we have this same drama all over again.

That would be a killer storyline and will give so much masala to ex players sitting on TV channels to throw vitriol.

In a way I used to be more excited about post match meltdown from a Ind-Pak game more than the boring game itself.

However recently got burned out by the same old rhetoric “India bahut badi team hai” “Hume system theek karna hai” etc etc nonsense.

Thank you PCB 😁🙏