Pet Hates thread

Did someone wrote Tharki Buddha. Almost feel like it's my Batman sign.

Speaking of Tharki, am I the only one who finds Mussarat Shaheen back in her "Loong Gawacha" days very attractive.

Did someone wrote Tharki Buddha. Almost feel like it's my Batman sign.

Speaking of Tharki, am I the only one who finds Mussarat Shaheen back in her "Loong Gawacha" days very attractive.

Mussarat Nazir ;)

She really was one of the premier graceful aunties of her day. Not only that, the Laung Gawacha song has risque connotations. The laung, i.e. nose stud, also goes by the name nath in non-respectable circles, and the fact that she lost it, and is asking for someone to find it, speaks volumes.

This theme can be found in much older poetry too. Recall the Fareed Ayaz Coke Studio song "Kangna." The lady is asking for her bangle back. But why does the guy have it? How did he get it? The bangle is actually a metaphor.

Mussarat Nazir ;)

She really was one of the premier graceful aunties of her day. Not only that, the Laung Gawacha song has risque connotations. The laung, i.e. nose stud, also goes by the name nath in non-respectable circles, and the fact that she lost it, and is asking for someone to find it, speaks volumes.

This theme can be found in much older poetry too. Recall the Fareed Ayaz Coke Studio song "Kangna." The lady is asking for her bangle back. But why does the guy have it? How did he get it? The bangle is actually a metaphor.

Nazeer! That's right. Shaheen was the wholesome Pashtun film actress I think, also known for her risqué dance moves.

I love her voice. There was another one by her called Kut kut bajra....lovely tune. I could only get a word here and there but the relationship between food and love, the connotations, the metaphors and analogies are truly remarkable. What a rich heritage we have.

Nazeer! That's right. Shaheen was the wholesome Pashtun film actress I think, also known for her risqué dance moves.

I love her voice. There was another one by her called Kut kut bajra....lovely tune. I could only get a word here and there but the relationship between food and love, the connotations, the metaphors and analogies are truly remarkable. What a rich heritage we have.

She had entire albums of just wedding songs. My Americanized kids loved "Chitta Kukkar." Try saying "Chitta Kukkar" in an American accent. Out of the mouths of babes, as the saying goes.

The late lamented Khalid Hasan was a great admirer of Mussrat Nazir's:

http://www.apnaorg.com/articles/khalid-hassan/khalid-hassan-12/

Anyhow, another theory about Laung Gawacha is that it isn't risque, it is actually racist, and exhorts violence against black people. She is using all her charm to seduce her lover into killing, hence the line "Nigga maarda aiyeen vey."

What is deeply troubling is the nonchalance inherent in the phrasing. Telling him to kill on the way over. Chilling.

Anyhow, another theory about Laung Gawacha is that it isn't risque, it is actually racist, and exhorts violence against black people. She is using all her charm to seduce her lover into killing, hence the line "Nigga maarda aiyeen vey."

What is deeply troubling is the nonchalance inherent in the phrasing. Telling him to kill on the way over. Chilling.

Cool theory. Didn't realize Musarrat Nazeer and TuPac had so much in common.

"N.I.G.G.A. (Never Ignorant About Getting Goals Accomplished)"

He isn't imitating me, I don't think so. Seems like a genuine poster.

Well I have been looking for a new username for a while now, hope the mods will comply because its definitely confusing to have Mamoon and Mamnoon post at the same time.

He isn't imitating me, I don't think so. Seems like a genuine poster.

Well I have been looking for a new username for a while now, hope the mods will comply because its definitely confusing to have Mamoon and Mamnoon post at the same time.

What will your username be?

We should add a poll and let the masses decide!

is this the time pass section bhai?

It is. I was going to tag you, but it's much more fun talking about people behind their backs.

Anyhow, make yourself comfortable. What is your pet hate? Tell all. Spill the beans. Let the cat out of the bag.

It is. I was going to tag you, but it's much more fun talking about people behind their backs.

Anyhow, make yourself comfortable. What is your pet hate? Tell all. Spill the beans. Let the cat out of the bag.

thank you

Well i hate it when i am watching a news channel and all of a sudden bhai altaf speech starts and there you go its going to be like 2-3 hours long without any breaks and every news channel is going to show it so you can't switch news channels and your day and mood is officially ruined

A little confession here:

I really don't want my fiancée to find out that I post on PakPassion, because if she comes across the stuff I posted regarding her and all the AH stuff, I'd be in deep trouble.

She doesn't like cricket and won't come anywhere near PakPassion, but there's always a chance.

A little confession here:

I really don't want my fiancée to find out that I post on PakPassion, because if she comes across the stuff I posted regarding her and all the AH stuff, I'd be in deep trouble.

She doesn't like cricket and won't come anywhere near PakPassion, but there's always a chance.

what is AH?

This new poster Mamnoon.

Really now. :facepalm:

why did you change ur avatar same day lol?

atleast that artist avatar made it distinct

right now its looks both of you are from charsee adda with those avatars :))

why did you change ur avatar same day lol?

atleast that artist avatar made it distinct

Did it suit my smug personality better? I felt like changing it, this one is more humble.

this is face painting nothing to do with charas or ganja

funny-timon-paint-face-bodypaint.jpg

When old aunties are driving at 10 km/h in a 50 km/h zone and it is a two-lane street (will have to go infront of opposing traffic to overtake)

Ex lovers that want to stay friends with you. Once you go the distance, you can't just forget it and regress back to friendship. It is all or nothing.

Rude/wannabe-cool shop assistants.

Ex lovers that want to stay friends with you. Once you go the distance, you can't just forget it and regress back to friendship. It is all or nothing.

Ahh.. reminds me of that ballad from Disney's Hercules..

I will find my way, I can go the distance,
I'll be there someday, if I can be strong..
I know every mile, will be worth my while,
I would go most anywhere to feel like I belong..

My personal anthem, especially in days of estrangement from my home..

Speaking of rude/wannabe-cool shop assistants, I remember many years ago when the first Subway opened in Rawalpindi. The kid behind the counter was obviously rich. Why he worked at the Subway was beyond me. Anyhow, the first time I went in, I spent some time looking at that menu board on the wall. He gave me the haughty head-to-toe look, and then, in English, asked me, "is this your first time?"

My reply cannot be printed here. But I mean... it's a Subway, not a Michelin-rated eatery.

Speaking of rude/wannabe-cool shop assistants, I remember many years ago when the first Subway opened in Rawalpindi. The kid behind the counter was obviously rich. Why he worked at the Subway was beyond me. Anyhow, the first time I went in, I spent some time looking at that menu board on the wall. He gave me the haughty head-to-toe look, and then, in English, asked me, "is this your first time?"

My reply cannot be printed here. But I mean... it's a Subway, not a Michelin-rated eatery.

:80: ...... :)))

I can't even... :))

Lost my car official documents, car value is reduced by 4 to 5 lacs or even more :facepalm:

What's with global news channels like CNN, Fox, Al Jazeera etc. that can somehow get away with cutting to people on poor quality Skype calls. It seems like every channel is doing this now. How are they able to get away with such sub-standard transmissions in this day and age?

Really grinds my gears. Especially when you pay a certain sum of money for the latest HD TVs.

What's with Murali Kartik and his commentary? Is he on drugs? Even if he is, it doesn't excuse what he does with a mic in hand. Why all the fake excitement? Why can't he just commentate like a normal human being. Is he subtly making fun of other commentators? If he is, it isn't that subtle anyway. And he still wears that necklace. Why? Why does he still exist?

Police states. I can't stand them.

Also, people who come to foreign lands, and expect the local society to bend to their cultural whims rather than trying to fit in. Whether this is a westerner coming to the Middle East and scoffing at local customs and wearing singlets/bikinis and walking around shopping malls thinking it is normal, or us desi people going abroad and being rigid and not giving ourselves a chance to fit in and integrate/assimilate.

Really grinds my gears.

Did he say it with a French accent?

American accent.

I can't help myself anymore, I must tell you what my response was. He asked, "Is this your first time here?" And I replied, "Yes, but don't worry, I've brought along a wearable contraceptive." I didn't say wearable contraceptive, I said, well you know what the colloquial term is.

Relatives who turn up at Eid just for the food, never see them any other time of the year, apart from the odd occurrence in the street.

If I'm coming to pick you up, you better be ready and outside your house within 5 minutes. I don't want to be waiting half and hour outside your door even though I called you before leaving my place and informed you of my ETA.

The girls that do this drive me crazy to no end.

Waiting. In general. Waiting is the worst thing of all time.

Stupid drivers. I've seen so many people who don't understand the purpose of lanes on a road or that the fast lane shouldn't be hogged by slow drivers. Drivers who don't have any idea of how to drive in a round about or the ones who think that their time is more important than everyone else queuing at the exit.

People who just hate you for no reason.

That one guy who always kills the joke.

Hypocrites.

People who have short temper. You do one little thing they don't like and there goes the bomb.

Those people who take forever in the toilet.

Neighbors who blast Jamaican Rap and cringe-worthy pop music at 8:00AM.

Drama Queens and Attention seekers, (Especially bad when it comes to teenage girls) :sigh:

Bad drivers and people who have no idea how to cross a road without taking 30 minutes.

Waiting. In general. Waiting is the worst thing of all time.

This one is really bad. I remember once my final trip was a trip to the theme park. I was with my friends, and waited in line for 2 and a half hours for this hype water ride, only to be called back after getting to the ride. I was so mad after that one.

I thought we agreed that you were the Pir and I the mureed.

#ConfusedInColorado

So in other words [MENTION=1889]Saqs[/MENTION] is your Murshad-e-Azeem can i join the party i am finding a kaamil murshad on PP from a long time.

Welcome. Bas chilla kaatna paray ga. Hope that is ok with you.

Lol. This was never agreed. The hashtag would be a good name for a film though.

It was back when we discussed my grandma being a disciple of Pir Mehr Ali Shah, and we agreed that it was only appropriate that you be the Pir and I the mureed. Besides, you're younger, and as Iqbal said, Jawaanon ko Peeron ka Ustaad kar.

Anyways, the hashtag follows #PakistaniInPennsylvsnia and #MiserableInMinnesota. Autocorrect doesn't underline #MiserableInMinnesota, which means that's a common ailment.

It was back when we discussed my grandma being a disciple of Pir Mehr Ali Shah, and we agreed that it was only appropriate that you be the Pir and I the mureed. Besides, you're younger, and as Iqbal said, Jawaanon ko Peeron ka Ustaad kar.

Anyways, the hashtag follows #PakistaniInPennsylvsnia and #MiserableInMinnesota. Autocorrect doesn't underline #MiserableInMinnesota, which means that's a common ailment.

I was actually named by Pir Mehr Ali Shah. I guess Saqs and me are kind of family.

The Pir Mehr Ali Shah? He passed away in the 30s.

Well, I never said I was young. :P

I'm named after my grandfather who was named from him because my great-gf didn't have children until he made dua for him. Basically everyone had given hope on my grandfather being ever born and then they had 6 children after him.

Terrific. He was truly one of the preeminent saints of the 20th century.

Fortuitous though that your great-grandfather went to Golra, and not to Shah Daula ;)

Ah yes. Now I remember. Chalo theek hai. BTW You misspelt the first hashtag, I am sure that is also trending.

I was actually named by Pir Mehr Ali Shah. I guess Saqs and me are kind of family.

The Pir Mehr Ali Shah? He passed away in the 30s.

Terrific. He was truly one of the preeminent saints of the 20th century.

Fortuitous though that your great-grandfather went to Golra, and not to Shah Daula ;)

Why is that? I don't know about other shrines.

Small world this.

I visited Golra two years ago. Beautiful place. It's probably where I will hang up the gloves and begin my journey into the afterlife.

I've joined Tumblr to spend (waste) time on some quality nerdiness. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy it far more than Twitter... but....

Some people get way, way, way, wayyy too carried away with making their personal fantasies a so-called 'ship' for characters. Take Mortal Kombat for example. Would you ever believe Kenshi and KANO to be a gay couple? Truly, madly, deeply, desperately in love with each other?

FREAKING KANO?! :110:

No guys, no. Respect the damn canon. People who are paid to write video games/movies/comics etc are far more qualified to decide who likes who, and what's in character for these characters, rather than sad little 14-year old kids.
[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] - I miss kobra. I wish he wasn't dead. He could come up and collect his Kano :9:

Shah Daula is the infamous one with the "rat children." It's a horrific practice. There is a distant relative in our ancestral village who has one of those kids.

Waz dat? :sanga