Pet Hates thread

Infertile couples (or in the countryside, couples who haven't conceived yet... few if any of them have been to the doctor and declared infertile) go to pray at the shrine, and legend has it that children will be born. The penalty (or tribute to the Pir), however is that they must provide the first child to the shrine.

That child's head is then fitted in a metal bowl that doesn't come off, keeping the head that size forever. A "rat child" is thus born. If you ever see one, the resemblance to a rat is unmistakable.

It isn't Islam, it isn't Sufism, it isn't anything other than child abuse and barbarity and backwardness. There are stories of couples who, after one year of trying for kids, end up at that shrine to pray.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/122670.stm

I've joined Tumblr to spend (waste) time on some quality nerdiness. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy it far more than Twitter... but....

Some people get way, way, way, wayyy too carried away with making their personal fantasies a so-called 'ship' for characters. Take Mortal Kombat for example. Would you ever believe Kenshi and KANO to be a gay couple? Truly, madly, deeply, desperately in love with each other?

FREAKING KANO?! :110:

No guys, no. Respect the damn canon. People who are paid to write video games/movies/comics etc are far more qualified to decide who likes who, and what's in character for these characters, rather than sad little 14-year old kids.
[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] - I miss kobra. I wish he wasn't dead. He could come up and collect his Kano :9:

Waz dat? :sanga

Haha never picked you for a Mortal Kombat fan.

Infertile couples (or in the countryside, couples who haven't conceived yet... few if any of them have been to the doctor and declared infertile) go to pray at the shrine, and legend has it that children will be born. The penalty (or tribute to the Pir), however is that they must provide the first child to the shrine.

That child's head is then fitted in a metal bowl that doesn't come off, keeping the head that size forever. A "rat child" is thus born. If you ever see one, the resemblance to a rat is unmistakable.

It isn't Islam, it isn't Sufism, it isn't anything other than child abuse and barbarity and backwardness. There are stories of couples who, after one year of trying for kids, end up at that shrine to pray.

Ridiculous how this is still being practised in this day and age. Feel really sorry for these children who otherwise would be perfectly normal children.

What about praying there and not paying the penalty ? :ponting

:80:

I feel so ashamed of this. This is madness! Why hasn't anyone put a stop to this?!

Oh, God!

Shah Daula is the infamous one with the "rat children." It's a horrific practice. There is a distant relative in our ancestral village who has one of those kids.

He didn't make a prayer at Golra, he just went there after leaving everyone behind since his wife died of pest. So after some time passed Pir Mer Ali Shah told him to go back, remarry and take back his land and he would pray for him.

Shah Daula is the infamous one with the "rat children." It's a horrific practice. There is a distant relative in our ancestral village who has one of those kids.

I've joined Tumblr to spend (waste) time on some quality nerdiness. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy it far more than Twitter... but....

Some people get way, way, way, wayyy too carried away with making their personal fantasies a so-called 'ship' for characters. Take Mortal Kombat for example. Would you ever believe Kenshi and KANO to be a gay couple? Truly, madly, deeply, desperately in love with each other?

FREAKING KANO?! :110:

No guys, no. Respect the damn canon. People who are paid to write video games/movies/comics etc are far more qualified to decide who likes who, and what's in character for these characters, rather than sad little 14-year old kids.
[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] - I miss kobra. I wish he wasn't dead. He could come up and collect his Kano :9:

Waz dat? :sanga

There are probably thousand pages fanfictions based on those strange couples. It's basically just erotic literature.

The lack of smoking/vaping lounges at airports is deplorable. Washington Dulles seems to be the only major one that has one, that too in just the one concourse.

Ridiculous how this is still being practised in this day and age. Feel really sorry for these children who otherwise would be perfectly normal children.

:80:

I feel so ashamed of this. This is madness! Why hasn't anyone put a stop to this?!

Oh, God!

Incidentally, while the head binding practice may be unique to this one, taking a child for the shrine isn't. There are others that do so. There's a wonderful PTV serial set in Multan that shows the Pir himself giving away his third child to be raised by a malang at the shrine. The boy however finds out, through his elder brother, who is progressive and hasn't followed his father into becoming a Pir.

I'm curious where the entire theory of a tribute of this sort originated from. It probably has to do with the syncretic merging of Islam with Hinduism or indigenous folk practices centuries ago, that ended up being perverted into something so dastardly.

He didn't make a prayer at Golra, he just went there after leaving everyone behind since his wife died of pest. So after some time passed Pir Mer Ali Shah told him to go back, remarry and take back his land and he would pray for him.

So at what stage was your grandfather named?

Mexican mangoes.

Details covered in the mango thread.

Second that.

Also people sharing their location from any airport business class lounge or people updating the hapless FB crowd about any A380 travel they might have undertaken. These FB showoffs suck!!!

Parents of ISIS fighters crying that the government should help their kid once they get injured and go to Turkey or start regretting because it's not as awesome as they thought. Their precious monsters are always victims who got manipulated.

And of course the Muslim community who turns on people who seek help of police against their radicalized kids or extremist imams: "They should have come to us instead of the police".

So at what stage was your grandfather named?

After he was born :P

Surprised people don't know about Dolay Shah Kay Choway.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Morons who smoke while driving, making ash fly behind them without a care in the world.

Some of them even have their kids in their car. Utterly disgusting.

Parents of ISIS fighters crying that the government should help their kid once they get injured and go to Turkey or start regretting because it's not as awesome as they thought. Their precious monsters are always victims who got manipulated.

And of course the Muslim community who turns on people who seek help of police against their radicalized kids or extremist imams: "They should have come to us instead of the police".

After he was born :P

Yeap. Muslim communities as institutions are failing at so many levels in this regard. It is down to the constant existential threat that gets preached and inculcated throughout that makes people, by default, mistrust governments. The idea that they are all against us is a romantic idea but it brings with it so much irrelevant cultural baggage that it weighs down any potential progress we as a community in a non Muslim society could actually make.

And I am sick and tired of hearing people say things like these ISIS fighters are just a few extremists, don't paint us all with the same brush blah blah, but do nothing to stop these extremist pockets from flourishing and just turn a blind eye as if nothing is happening, and that the media and Israel is to blame.

/rant

Yeap. Muslim communities as institutions are failing at so many levels in this regard. It is down to the constant existential threat that gets preached and inculcated throughout that makes people, by default, mistrust governments. The idea that they are all against us is a romantic idea but it brings with it so much irrelevant cultural baggage that it weighs down any potential progress we as a community in a non Muslim society could actually make.

And I am sick and tired of hearing people say things like these ISIS fighters are just a few extremists, don't paint us all with the same brush blah blah, but do nothing to stop these extremist pockets from flourishing and just turn a blind eye as if nothing is happening, and that the media and Israel is to blame.

/rant

Exactly. You have already failed when so many of your youth are becoming terrorists. You can't expect muslims to trust you over the police.

Those people who don't pay attention to signs.

You see a speed limit sign, and then all of a sudden a car races past you. :facepalm:

Another one pet hate is nicknames. I hate when people give me cringe-worthy nicknames. Not going to post them, far too embarrassing. :srt

One of the worst things you can do to a person is to give a bad nickname. Have suffered myself and still carry the scars of humiliation. It reduces you to a mere caricature and stunts your growth as a person.

People who are intentionally acting different infront of specific people; ignoring someone infront of a group of so called "cool" people, who you actually know well, but cant engage with him as it could hurt your reputation infront of them - just an example.

My pet hate is when I fall in love with a girl but she gets off at the next station :uakmal

One of the worst things you can do to a person is to give a bad nickname. Have suffered myself and still carry the scars of humiliation. It reduces you to a mere caricature and stunts your growth as a person.

I can understand you bro. It's very bad especially when people you like adopt the name and start using it.

Morons talking in a cinema. Should be taken out back and shot

Make a loud "SHHH" sound it works every time. Make it short, be authoritative and confident in your "SHHH". It pissses them off, people around you will be happy someone took the responsibility and those morons won't have anything to say back. The next time they talk, someone else will confront them.

Same here [MENTION=138836]WC-Passion[/MENTION] .

Specially if you are living in the west (while having a oriental name) and people there by mistake misspeak your name due to the complex pronunciation - from their point of view -, and your environment - mostly friends - takes up the name to ridicule you all the time. :))

Same here [MENTION=138836]WC-Passion[/MENTION] .

Specially if you are living in the west (while having a oriental name) and people there by mistake misspeak your name due to the complex pronunciation - from their point of view -, and your environment - mostly friends - takes up the name to ridicule you all the time. :))

That is exactly my situation. It's heart-breaking when people you like (who don't know you like them) think it's funny and do it themselves. I think that smiley is no appropriate.

When someone barges into your room without knocking, or doesn't close the door upon leaving.

People who accuse you of wrong when you're an honest and noble person.

When you are madly in love with a girl but she didn't want to be with you, then you go and get yourself someone else and now all of a sudden you are the most desirable man out there.

It's funny how nature do dat.. :afridi

When you are madly in love with a girl but she didn't want to be with you, then you go and get yourself someone else and now all of a sudden you are the most desirable man out there.

Having a crush/ lust doesn't mean that you're in love.

That is exactly my situation. It's heart-breaking when people you like (who don't know you like them) think it's funny and do it themselves. I think that smiley is no appropriate.

Sorry, glanced through your response towards CricketCartoons - my mistake :/ .

Yaar, you never told us this part of the story. :misbah

Sorry, glanced through your response towards CricketCartoons - my mistake :/ .

It's all good.

When your favorite scene in movie come and someone accidentally change the channel or switch off tv and when you switch if back the scene is gone. All the person have to say is sorry in a causal way.

I do it myself instead of someone else. :uakmal

Desis.

Seriously guys, for gods sake come on. Do you have any idea how rude it is to be in the company of an English speaking person only to have a full blown conversation in Urdu/Hindi whatever? Went to the intervarsities with the university club and man this happened to not only me but a couple other of us whities on numerous occasions. Such bad manners IMO, just makes everything awkward and wont lie it ticks us off. Speak it amongst yourselves fine but for gods sake we only speak english why use it if we;re in the general conversation :facepalm:

And you're all guilty of it from personal experience.

Desis.

Seriously guys, for gods sake come on. Do you have any idea how rude it is to be in the company of an English speaking person only to have a full blown conversation in Urdu/Hindi whatever? Went to the intervarsities with the university club and man this happened to not only me but a couple other of us whities on numerous occasions. Such bad manners IMO, just makes everything awkward and wont lie it ticks us off. Speak it amongst yourselves fine but for gods sake we only speak english why use it if we;re in the general conversation :facepalm:

Yet another reason why all the whities should learn Gaelic, and speak it only in a group, in the presence of that one desi. Give them a taste of their own medicine.

I've always made it a point in such circumstances to seek out the lone non-desi and engage them in a conversation, because there really is a tendency amongst the South Asian crowd to speak their native tongue, irrespective of how rude it may come across. I remember being invited to an Eid dinner by a Bangladeshi guy. The entire conversation was in Bangla, and every time a new guest would arrive, they would look at me, and then (presumably) ask their host in Bangla who the hell I was. He would mumble something in reply, the only word I would pick up was "Pakistani." I sat through a full three hours of this.

When someone barges into your room without knocking, or doesn't close the door upon leaving.

That's why I just lock it.

But then people get suspicious, so then there's that.

For me it has to be trying to sleep, but then you accidentally take note of the clock ticking, and then you can't fall asleep anymore because the goddamn ticking is now noticeable...

Yet another reason why all the whities should learn Gaelic, and speak it only in a group, in the presence of that one desi. Give them a taste of their own medicine.

I've always made it a point in such circumstances to seek out the lone non-desi and engage them in a conversation, because there really is a tendency amongst the South Asian crowd to speak their native tongue, irrespective of how rude it may come across. I remember being invited to an Eid dinner by a Bangladeshi guy. The entire conversation was in Bangla, and every time a new guest would arrive, they would look at me, and then (presumably) ask their host in Bangla who the hell I was. He would mumble something in reply, the only word I would pick up was "Pakistani." I sat through a full three hours of this.

Sounds like you barged into some event just for free food :afridi

Desis.

Yeh kaun hai or is ko kis Ne bulaya hai? Yeh ghalat forum mein to nai aa gaya? O idr dhekh raha hai... *smile, take a sip of the drink, nod head, continue ignoring*

Desis.

Polish people do this too.

One thing I despise when I see people outside who walk their dog without a leash; especially if the beast is huge. Not afraid of dogs or anything but I certainly wouldn't want anyone elses dog barking at me, I was so close to kicking a small dog because it was barking at me for no reason.

You should be glad you made it out in one piece.

One thing I despise when I see people outside who walk their dog without a leash; especially if the beast is huge. Not afraid of dogs or anything but I certainly wouldn't want anyone elses dog barking at me, I was so close to kicking a small dog because it was barking at me for no reason.

Carry a mace.

Yeh kaun hai or is ko kis Ne bulaya hai? Yeh ghalat forum mein to nai aa gaya? O idr dhekh raha hai... *smile, take a sip of the drink, nod head, continue ignoring*

Aisa na karain is key sath, Saqs bhai. Ek dafa kisi ne in sahab se farmaya ke "shakal achi na ho tou baat achi kar liya karo.." aur Google Translate ne inhen iska tarjuma yeh bataya : "Good guy gets good."

Is liye aap sirf yehi baat likha karein is azeem hasti ko: "Good guy gets good." Angrezi ki angrezi, aur apni baat bhi puri :)

Desis.

Why'd you never say you found it annoying? :))

Aisa na karain is key sath, Saqs bhai. Ek dafa kisi ne in sahab se farmaya ke "shakal achi na ho tou baat achi kar liya karo.." aur Google Translate ne inhen iska tarjuma yeh bataya : "Good guy gets good."

Is liye aap sirf yehi baat likha karein is azeem hasti ko: "Good guy gets good." Angrezi ki angrezi, aur apni baat bhi puri :)

Kya app ise dobarah keh sakte hain? Main samjah nahi. Meri urdu kharab hai

I'm betting he trapped one of the desis and asked them to translate it for him :P

Plausible, but the phrasing was actually quite good, better than what one would expect from the standard-issue desi college kid in Ireland.

Pot bellied men with thin arms - why ? God has enabled us to do physical exercise, so why not make fricking use of it and not have such ungainly physiques ?

Due to some reason, i always become aggressive, when i hear the sound of water or some other liquid getting poured into a glass by a person.

I haven't seen a picture of his that fits the description, so I can't say yes. However, if he does then I feel sorry for him.

Mamoon's pot belly and thin arms are the stuff of legend on the picture thread.