PIA to achieve break-even in 2025 [Post#362]

Rubab20

300px-Pakistan_International_Airlines_Logo.svg.png
Pakistan International Airlines PIA is the national flag carrier and a state-owned enterprise of the Government of Pakistan.
Headquartered at Jinnah International Airport in Karachi it operates scheduled services to 24 domestic destinations and 38 international destinations in 27 countries across Asia, Europe and North America. Its main bases are at Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad/Rawalpindi.
The airline's secondary bases include Peshawar, Faisalabad, Quetta, Sialkot and Multan, from which it connects the metropolitan cities with the main bases, the Middle East, Europe, and the Far East. It is primarily owned by the Government of Pakistan and is regulated by the Ministry of Defence as an autonomous body. It employed 18,043 people as of May 2008.

Pia.b747-367.ap-bfw.750pix.jpg
Boeing 747-300 on finals to London Heathrow Airport, England (Discarded livery)

Pakistan International Airlines Corporation (PIAC) is majority owned by the Government of Pakistan (87%) while the remainder (13%) by private shareholders. The airline is under the administration of Ministry of Defence the chairman of which is Muhammad Mian Nawaz Sharif . The airline is managed by managing director as well as the Board of Directors. The Board consists of nine independent non-executive members and has four sub-committees: an Audit Committee, Brand and Advertising Committee, Finance Committee, and Human Resource Committee each having its own charter and chairman. The MD leads the executive management of staff who run the airline. The airline's main headquarters are located at Karachi Airport while smaller sub head offices are located in several cities within Pakistan.

800px-Pakistan_International_Airlines_Airbus_A310_at_Leeds_Bradford_Airport_(taken_by_Flickr_use.jpg
An Airbus 310 at Leeds Bradford International Airport (2011).

Financial performance

The financial performance for FY 2011 continues to be a challenge with an after tax loss of PKR 26.767 billion. This was preceded by six consecutive loss making years dating back to 2005. The airline did report a reduction of post tax losses of 83% in 2009 (compared to 2008) based on a reduction in fuel cost, comparatively stable exchange rate for the Pakistan Rupee and higher revenues. But in 2011 & 2010, losses again rose sharply compared to the previous years.
The airline faces many challenges to its profitability such as staffing levels and overall management issues. An employee count of 18,014 for a fleet of 40 aircraft is clearly an area that needs to be reviewed.
The report for the first quarter of 2012 does not show any improvement. The after tax losses reported for the first quarter of 2012 are PKR 7.81 billion as compared to PKR 4.24 for Q1 of 2011. Revenue is also pretty much stagnant at PKR 26.44 billion for the first quarter of 2012 compared with PKR 26.18 billion for the first quarter of 2011.

PIA is a lost cause.. Too many unnecessary employees, budgets are eaten up by the govt. , service is poor, planes are outdated.

awesome airline. Easily better than Etihad and Air Canada.

AC was ranked the best airline in North America in 2012.
From my personal experience PIA is better than Etihad and Air Canada but not as good as Emirates.

I didn't had major problems either with the PIA (4 times) either but their entertainment system is the worst. I find their male staff more friendlier than female staff. Their biggest office in Rawalpindi lacks a printer.

As for AC, its millions miles ahead of PIA (comfort, entertainment, customer service, planes, number of destinations). Perhaps you may not have had a good time but it doesn't take away the award they received in 2012.

Its like pakistan.
at the start it was really good and seemed one of the best in the world.

few decades later and its one big mess !

From personal experience, Etihad is definitely the best.

PIA is indeed a terrible airline. I enjoyed Qatar airlines... THere on flight entertainment system and for foods they give you freaken options!!! I dont even get options at home

It's amazing that folks are (rightly) pointing out poor service and unfriendly staff.

And some of you guys may not like it, but fact of the matter is, PIA staff also deals with one of the most unammaned public for the passenger bunch.

Egoistic foreign returned passengers acting like prince Williams - over weight women heavily pasting make up layers with crying babies and opened diapers - everybody making trash and tossing stuff between the isles, no concept of line in front of the rest room or when exiting from the plane - a scene of chaos and panic as if there is an emergency - EVERYONE unbuckling the seat belt soon as the plane touches down and reaching for their overhead luggage without caring about the repeated announcements to remained seated and buckled up.

And then don't even get me started with the herds PIA staff deals with when it hauls from Gulf counties to Pakistan.

It's not only PIA that needs improvement, all of us need it collectively.

It's amazing that folks are (rightly) pointing out poor service and unfriendly staff.

And some of you guys may not like it, but fact of the matter is, PIA staff also deals with one of the most unammaned public for the passenger bunch.

Egoistic foreign returned passengers acting like prince Williams - over weight women heavily pasting make up layers with crying babies and opened diapers - everybody making trash and tossing stuff between the isles, no concept of line in front of the rest room or when exiting from the plane - a scene of chaos and panic as if there is an emergency - EVERYONE unbuckling the seat belt soon as the plane touches down and reaching for their overhead luggage without caring about the repeated announcements to remained seated and buckled up.

And then don't even get me started with the herds PIA staff deals with when it hauls from Gulf counties to Pakistan.

It's not only PIA that needs improvement, all of us need it collectively.
Great post, PIAs service and staff is as only as good as the level and quality of its passengers

The only think matters to me in Airlines is good pilots and PIA have good pilots

mA

So the typical Pakistani delusional mentality hasn't spared the airlines either. Are we living in the 80's?

PIA is garbage now.

It's a great airline. You feel more comfortable as you are in a Pakistani environment. You mad because I didn't say Indian Airline was the best?

Etihad is also very good.

Air India is a lot better.Air_India_2.jpg
Do you guys get such seats, probably not.

PIAs no longer as good as it used to be because Pakistan doesn't get as many tourists and business travelers as it used to get, it's just not safe anymore, also Karachi is no longer the main destination in South Asia + the Gulf, Dubai and the other Gulf cities have shut Karachi out of business + they got more money than Pakistan and back in the 80s, Pakistan was actually ahead of India in many facets but since the late 90s or so, India has surpassed Pakistan in almost every facet, before people would rather travel to karachi than mumbai but that's changed over the past 20 years, so PIA won't really go back to it's golden period cause the circumstances are really different now, it can still be a good airline in the future but it's glory days are over..

Air India is a lot better.View attachment 49208

Come on dude, Air India better than something :O
you must be joking right,

On some routes the food menu is great, makes you feel like home,
but all the delays and general level of service is poor.

I don't think I have ever boarded an Air India flight on time.

Air India. God forbid if i have to travel by it again.Havent travelled by AI in almost 5 years.

Dunno what you chaps complaining AI about- on Intl routes, on most Intl routes into Europe, AI is just as good a service compared to all ME/BA/Virgin/Jet/KFA etc- only place it suks is IFE- but then who watches IFE these days?? Most folks got their tablets/notebooks etc to watch movies.

LHR-DEL flight on AI is damn good, as long as it is not the stopver flight from Toronto- then it suks and suks big time, all the Candian Desis have trashed the plane coming over to London and the stopover isnt long enough to do a proper cleanover.

Havent tried AI for Far East- but then who in their right mind would forego Singapore/Thai to travel to the Far East

It's a great airline. You feel more comfortable as you are in a Pakistani environment. You mad because I didn't say Indian Airline was the best?

There is no Indian Airlines anymore its Air India and its rubbish and we have no reservations about admitting it.As for PIA never travelled in it so don't have much idea regarding the same. IMO Singapore A is pretty decent Etihad has invested in Jet a local one here in India which is pretty decent too but are in losses.

It's a great airline.

Its rubbish.

You feel more comfortable as you are in a Pakistani environment.

So you like to see people cue up in the middle of the plane looking for their seats and taking around 15 minutes to locate and not giving a damn about the less thick people on their heels?

Do you like to see people use the area below the seat as trashcan?

Do you like to see people switching their phones on 5 minutes before landing and calling their families that they've reached safely. They can wait for hours but lack the patience for a further few minutes.

Do you like the midair attempts to change pampers?

Do you like people using the sides of the commode rather than the center?

Do you like people rushing out of the plan as soon as it lands with the flight attendants forcing them to sit back in their seats?

Do you like to see people treating flight attendants as if they are slaves?

You mad because I didn't say Indian Airline was the best?

Haven't traveled in Air India so don't know but yeah, Etihad is definitely one of the best if not the best.

PIA is comfortably one of the worst.

PIA used to be one of the best and now...lets not talk about it...heard weird stories about their services etc

Air travel would be much more comfortable if each traveler had a cabin for themselves but the tickets would be much more expensive then.

Interestingly, both Emirates and Eithad have starting offering this in their A380's.

What is this new story that PMLN Senator Mushahidullah Khan suspended a lady from PIA today. She had stopped him from carrying a bag?

Yes I have just posted it 2 posts above.

He came just 5 min before the flight time so he could not book his luggage. He took a medium sized bag in plane which isn't allowed so the Lady questioned him.

And he suspended her as PIA is his and his brothers and relatives personal Jaageer.

He and his brothers have given jobs to many people in PIA out of merit. His own promotion in PIA is questionable.

Watch Hassan Nisar fight with him (Video) you ll know who He was in PIA and where He stands today.

PIA is overstaffed because of people like him in PML N and PPP.

He came just 5 min before the flight time so he could not book his luggage. He took a medium sized bag in plane which isn't allowed so the Lady questioned him.

And he suspended her as PIA is his and his brothers and relatives personal Jaageer.

He and his brothers have given jobs to many people in PIA out of merit. His own promotion in PIA is questionable.

Watch Hassan Nisar fight with him (Video) you ll know who He was in PIA and where He stands today.

Thats' really sad and you know what's more sad? Nothing will happen and people will forget it within 1 or 2 days and something similar will happen soon.

Fruits of supporting Mian Sahib

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x120kkm" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x120kkm_expose-pml-n-senator-mushahid-ullah-brother-gets-illegal-promotion-in-pia_music" target="_blank">Expose - Pml(n) senator Mushahid Ullah brother...</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/SweetMuslimLeague" target="_blank">SweetMuslimLeague</a></i>

Mian sahab be yaaron ke yaar hen wafadron ke to kuch zyada he yaar hen.

Definitely the worst. Haven't had the misfortune of travelling with this disgraceful airline for a long time. From my experience, Emirates and Qatar airline are the best. PIA is the worst.

Only flew once with them. Vowed never to fly again with them.

It was like being in a zoo, the passengers behaving like animals, the staff rude and confrontational. The service appalling.

politics and corruption has wrecked every institution in Pakistan but someone has to be here standing firm on his principles, wanting nothing in recognition and playing whatever little or big part he can to correct and instruct people.

We also need educated people who go abroad and never really comeback because of the luxuries they become addicted to after lots of hard work they put in the beginning of their stay in foreign land. If they come back it is only because they no longer remain or want to remain a productive member of the society.

We need people to fight for the cause of the betterment of this country, making it look like a normal act and not becoming a person reachable only to few.

What is this new story that PMLN Senator Mushahidullah Khan suspended a lady from PIA today. She had stopped him from carrying a bag?

Mian sahab be yaaron ke yaar hen wafadron ke to kuch zyada he yaar hen.

Directly or Indirectly these are the things which have destroyed PIA in last 3 decades.

British police say PIA jet diverted because of disruptive passenger

A Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) aircraft which was intercepted and escorted by fighter jets to Stansted airport northeast of London was diverted because of reports of a disruptive passenger, British police said on Tuesday.

"This is not believed to be a hijack situation or terror matter," Essex Police said in a statement. "The plane is currently at the airport and officers are making enquiries."

The Ministry of Defence had earlier said Typhoon jets had intercepted the aircraft, which had been en route to London's Heathrow Airport, and escorted it to Stansted.

"The authorities received an anonymous phone call and then followed standard operating procedure by diverting the plane," a PIA spokesman said. "Security clearance is underway and the aircraft will be cleared soon afterwards. All passengers on board are safe."

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-britain-airliner-pakistan-idUSKBN15M1UH

Food is crap and the staff is rude. Once I hear they were the best even helping today's Emirates build themselves. Need to start from scratch again.

A Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) flight from Karachi to Gwadar was stopped from taking-off after a cat was found on board.

According to Express News, the flight was ready to take off when the pilot issued a risk notification.

During a search of the plane, a cat was found in the cockpit. As the staff tried to catch it, the animal left the cockpit and went into the cabin.

After several tries, the cabin staff was able to catch the animal after which it was taken off the plane. The plane then took off for its destination.

Earlier this month, a woman gave birth to a baby girl on an international commercial flight travelling from Madinah, Saudi Arabia, to Multan on Tuesday.

“Miracles happen everyday and we had our little miracle today onboard our flight PK 716 from Madinah to Multan,” the Pakistan International Airlines said in a statement issued on their Facebook page. “A beautiful baby girl was born!”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1590318/1-cat-disrupts-pia-flight/

From personal experience, Etihad is definitely the best.

Etihad, Emirates and the Qatar Airways easily rule the skies right now!

Heard a lot of good things about Cathay Pacific and Singapore Airlines although have never flown on either of them.

Best Airline mA.

I didn't had major problems either with the PIA (4 times) either but their entertainment system is the worst. I find their male staff more friendlier than female staff. Their biggest office in Rawalpindi lacks a printer.

As for AC, its millions miles ahead of PIA (comfort, entertainment, customer service, planes, number of destinations). Perhaps you may not have had a good time but it doesn't take away the award they received in 2012.

Air Canada is one of the best airlines in North America along with United.

PIA ain’t fit to tie their laces and I say this as someone who has flown on all 3 airlines!

Yeah Air Canada is the best air line in the world. Take 6 hour flight from Toronto to Calgary and all they give you is a muffin. Yay

Exactly.

PIA on the other hand gave me 3 meals from Toronto to Karachi. Very blessed.

Maybe in canada, nobody cares about them in America.

Exactly.

Can’t really judge North American Airlines for the quality of their food on domestic airlines. They are all like that....

But AC has a really good check in process and good customer service. Flights are usually on time and also offered to check in hand carry bags once when their fight was full. They also let you bid for Economy Premuim and Business Class Seats which is rare for NA airlines.

Their only downside is their small overhead cabin space and the fact that they charge you for selecting seats ahead of time before you check in.

Exactly.

Other than PIA’s slightly above average food and its non-stop flight to Toronto - it is rubbish by all means.

The do not serve most destinations in North America and Europe, their business class is horrible and aircraft quality is extremely poor too.

Not to mention their frequent flyer program is next to useless too...

Even when they used to serve US destinations they had to make a mandatory security stop in Manchester, UK. This was no fault of their own but it definitely felt diluted the customer experience for those who like direct flights.

Have to admit that I agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]. Air India is a role model for us and they serve more destinations with a high quality service that PIA could only dream of. We should look to follow their example as we are several light years behind Etihad, Emirates, Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines etc. so no point talking about them...

Maybe in canada, nobody cares about them in America.

US passengers have a lot of airlines to choose from.

Personally my favorite is United. Flights are always on-time and don’t have issues and their Polaris Business Class / lounges are truly amazing!

Living close to Chicago and being a Chase credit card customer (who are a partner with a United). I travel with them a lot and accumulate points so that’s pretty cool.

For those Americans who fly to Canada - most have a very favorable opinion of Air Canada so they are doing well in the North American market IMO.

Etihad, Emirates and the Qatar Airways easily rule the skies right now!

Heard a lot of good things about Cathay Pacific and Singapore Airlines although have never flown on either of them.

The great thing about Qatar is that it has achieved parity with the big two at a lower cost.

Btw, I have been interacting with a lot of it Indians over the last year and they have nothing good to say about Air India. Can’t be worse than PIA though.

Etihad was amazing a couple of years ago but haven't had great experiences the last few times. Emirates is the best

The great thing about Qatar is that it has achieved parity with the big two at a lower cost.

Btw, I have been interacting with a lot of it Indians over the last year and they have nothing good to say about Air India. Can’t be worse than PIA though.

Air India is far superior to PIA - they serve direct flights to the US and North America and have more than twice the no. Of destinations than PIA.

Their business class is fantastic and they are also a member of the Star Alliance. Not to mention the superior quality of their aircraft fleet.

The difference between PIA and Air India is night and day...

Etihad was amazing a couple of years ago but haven't had great experiences the last few times. Emirates is the best

Emirates is also significantly more expensive the Etihad and Qatar Airways. Esp from North America.

Other than PIA’s slightly above average food and its non-stop flight to Toronto - it is rubbish by all means.

The do not serve most destinations in North America and Europe, their business class is horrible and aircraft quality is extremely poor too.

Not to mention their frequent flyer program is next to useless too...

Even when they used to serve US destinations they had to make a mandatory security stop in Manchester, UK. This was no fault of their own but it definitely felt diluted the customer experience for those who like direct flights.

Have to admit that I agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]. Air India is a role model for us and they serve more destinations with a high quality service that PIA could only dream of. We should look to follow their example as we are several light years behind Etihad, Emirates, Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines etc. so no point talking about them...

Lol I could care less about what it does with Europe.

I only use PIA to go from Toronto to Karachi and back. That too once every few years. It gives me the direct 13.5 hour flight and 3 meals, so I'm happy.

I really could care less about Air India and its vegetarian meals.

Lol I could care less about what it does with Europe.

I only use PIA to go from Toronto to Karachi and back. That too once every few years. It gives me the direct 13.5 hour flight and 3 meals, so I'm happy.

I really could care less about Air India and its vegetarian meals.

You may not given you reside in Toronto but for other passengers - PIA’s routes are extremely limited outside of Asia / Middle East and it is only going to get worse...

Also the Toronto route is also under scrutiny right now as PIA is llamas know no to cut costs. IMO - it will also be cut by the end of 2017.

Use Saudia airlines first time and I was pleasantly surprised. I was not expecting much from them but they were pretty good. Saw lot of Indians taking their flights and they were happy too. I think Saudia airlines is now a major player.

The Saudi airlines flight from NYC to Riyadh non- stop is a very good flight.

Heard their business class is very good as well.

The Saudi airlines flight from NYC to Riyadh non- stop is a very good flight.

Heard their business class is very good as well.
I took the one from Toronto to Jeddah non-stop and it was pretty good. Flight attendants especially the ladies were very courteous and helpful. Remind me how bad AC is in this regard. Heck Saudi airlines gave small water bottle to everyone with every lunch/dinner. I dont remember when it happened to me last time. Plus they had this serve yourself event in kitchen. And finally they have a separate place for prayer which also shows directions to Mecca. Very nice. Highly recommended.

Air India is a lot better.View attachment 49208

Air India. God forbid if i have to travel by it again.Havent travelled by AI in almost 5 years.

Air India is a role model for us and they serve more destinations with a high quality service that PIA could only dream of. We should look to follow their example as we are several light years behind Etihad, Emirates, Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines etc. so no point talking about them...

Like most government run organizations, Air India was quite poorly run (ISRO seems to be an exception). Recently it has been exposed to competition from the newer private India airlines like Indigo and Jet Airways, and has become better. Posters here seem to be assuming that it is the most important or even the only Indian airlines, which is not true.

Revenues:
Jet Airways: $3.6 B
Air India: $3.4 B
Indigo: $2.6 B
Spicejet: $1.7 B
PIA: $0.6 B

I took the one from Toronto to Jeddah non-stop and it was pretty good. Flight attendants especially the ladies were very courteous and helpful. Remind me how bad AC is in this regard. Heck Saudi airlines gave small water bottle to everyone with every lunch/dinner. I dont remember when it happened to me last time. Plus they had this serve yourself event in kitchen. And finally they have a separate place for prayer which also shows directions to Mecca. Very nice. Highly recommended.

Yes my uncle has taken this flight recently. Heard good things too as well but it is not cheap to travel on this route.

I have heard good things about Saudi airlines but have also heard that the airport experience is terrible.

PIA accused of impromptu air safari

GILGIT/RAWALPINDI: Tourists and passengers protested at Skardu airport against a four-hour delay of a PIA Skardu-Islamabad flight on Tuesday, alleging that the airline management had sacrificed customers’ rights to favour Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) officials with an ‘air safari’.

Sources said that the PIA Skardu-bound flight took off from Islamabad airport on Tuesday morning, with top CAA officials and Gilgil-Baltistan senior PML-N member Akbar Taban on board. Usually, when the flight takes off from Islamabad, the boarding passes for the returning flight are issued in Skardu. The normal flight time between the two cities is 45 minutes. On this occasion, however, passengers in Skardu said that it took the aircraft four hours to arrive after they had been issued boarding passes.

Accusing PIA of having delayed the flight to take VIP passengers from Islamabad on an air safari comprising the K2, Nanga Parbat and other mountain peaks, the passengers complained that they were not even allowed to use the washrooms in the PIA waiting room in Skardu.

A video of a woman who had apparently come to Skardu as a tourist started circulating on social media in which she was lashing out at the PIA management. “People are waiting for us in Islamabad,” she is heard saying. “We have been held hostage for the past four hours.”

Meanwhile, a blame game started between CAA Director General Hassan Baig and PIA, with the former denying the use of the aircraft for a ‘private’ tour. He claimed that the air safari had been undertaken at the request of PIA Chief Executive Officer Musharraf Rasool Cyan.

Mr Baig said he had taken notice of the matter and ordered an inquiry, adding that he had written to the PIA CEO a letter seeking clarification on the issue. “If any inconvenience was caused to the passengers, it was PIA’s responsibility,” he said.

On the other hand, PIA spokesperson Mashood Tajwar said that the passengers were basically complaining about basic facilities provided at the airport.

He claimed that flights to Gilgit and Skardu were subject to the weather and this was mentioned on the tickets.

The flight was delayed by two hours from its originating destination and consequently the return flight was delayed, he maintained.

Mr Tajwar said that as per the standard operating procedures, a text message was sent to passengers regarding flight status and this was also sent to the passengers of the returning flight PK-452 Skardu-Islamabad.

The same facts were communicated by PIA staff at the airport, he explained while regretting the inconvenience to the passengers caused by the weather.

The PIA spokesperson said that the airline was committed to expanding tourism in the northern areas, and thus the regular flight time for the Islamabad-Skardu flight had been changed by 15 to 20 minutes; en route, the aircraft flies over the Karakorum range and live commentary is offered on board.

This flight is in no way an inaugural flight, though, as it usually carries guests from travel, entertainment, social and business circles to promote the service, he said.

Referring to the passengers’ complaints regarding the non-availability of facilities such as air-conditioning and washrooms, Mr Tajwar said PIA would work with the authorities concerned.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1420785/pia-accused-of-impromptu-air-safari

Passengers have been delayed for THREE DAYS after their jet was grounded.

Airline passengers at Manchester Airport are 'extremely anxious' after delays to a flight stretched into a THIRD day.

Travellers hoping to get on board Pakistan International Airlines flight PK702 to Islamabad did at least get on the plane ahead of its scheduled departure from Manchester at 9pm on Saturday night.

But the Boeing 777 was still sat on the tarmac on Monday night with engineers still reported to be waiting for necessary parts to arrive from Pakistan, reports the MEN .

An estimated 300-plus passengers, including some families and the elderly, boarded the aircraft at Terminal 2 on Saturday.

The passengers spent about two hours on the stationary aircraft before being told to disembark due to an engine fault.

Engineers tried to fix the problem but by 1.30am on Sunday passengers were told the flight would not be departing.

Some passengers were taken to nearby hotels while others went home. They were told to return to the airport on Sunday night, with the jet due to leave at 9pm.

A spokesman for Manchester Airport told us the flight had not yet set off, but it is "expected to leave today".

Nabila Shabbir, 32, from Bolton , whose 68-year-old mother is booked on the flight, told the M.E.N on Monday evening: “On Sunday night we arrived again, three hours before the flight, and the passengers were issued with updated boarding passes.

"As soon as they got into the terminal they were told about a two-hour delay. They were told there were a number of technical issues on top of the engine problem. We were told it wasn’t just the engine.
“You can imagine my mother and the other passengers were extremely anxious. We were told there’s another plane coming from Pakistan with parts for the plane.

"We haven’t been told when it will be fixed and to wait for further communication. But we haven’t had any clear communication.

"We don’t feel there’s any ownership of this from anyone. I think it will be Tuesday by the time it’s fixed.”

PIA have been contacted for a comment.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/new...airport-passengers-extremely-anxious-14945319

A friend of mine recently flew with PIA.

His comments were not very complimentary - the flight was delayed by an hour with very few details why. The in-flight staff were rude and arrogant. The state of the plane was terrible. The plane itself looked like it had seen better days. The food awful.

Didn't get much sleep before a flight with PIA, wanted to take a nap during the flight against the window only to realise it was one of the dirtiest things I had witnessed within the aviation industry, had hairs and everything stuck to it. The food is not bad but not very good either.

Flew with them last year. Not nearly as bad as people make it seem.

Staff was good. AC was running. My TV was working. Food portions were good with second servings available.

Kids crying and a couple of men having some beef between them for a bit were the only incidents that took place there, both very normal. There was a 30-60 minute delay but the pilot was amazing both ways, so he made up for it by getting us there in 13.5 hours without any stoppages.

Haters, however, will keep hating, simply because it's a Pakistani airline. If any other western airline gave them these problems, they would gladly sit through it all.

Flew with them last year. Not nearly as bad as people make it seem.

Staff was good. AC was running. My TV was working. Food portions were good with second servings available.

Kids crying and a couple of men having some beef between them for a bit were the only incidents that took place there, both very normal. There was a 30-60 minute delay but the pilot was amazing both ways, so he made up for it by getting us there in 13.5 hours without any stoppages.

Haters, however, will keep hating, simply because it's a Pakistani airline. If any other western airline gave them these problems, they would gladly sit through it all.

The crying kids are a problem. Especially, if they are sitting in the seat in front of you which happens to me all the time.

Life Tip:

Always take a direct flight to Pakistan or one that stops at Heathrow.

We took Air China in the winter and it took us 34 hours~ (14-16 flight, 10 stay at airport, 6-7 flight, 4 hour road trip) to get there and 36 hours~ (4 hour road trip, 3-4 hour flight, 11 hour stay, 14-16 hour flight coming back.)

The crying kids are a problem. Especially, if they are sitting in the seat in front of you which happens to me all the time.

Life Tip:

Always take a direct flight to Pakistan or one that stops at Heathrow.

We took Air China in the winter and it took us 34 hours~ (14-16 flight, 10 stay at airport, 6-7 flight, 4 hour road trip) to get there and 36 hours~ (4 hour road trip, 3-4 hour flight, 11 hour stay, 14-16 hour flight coming back.)

And what exactly is PIA is supposed to do about the crying kids? :))

They definitely don't cry more than Pakistanis when talking about PIA :yk :sree

And what exactly is PIA is supposed to do about the crying kids? :))

They definitely don't cry more than Pakistanis when talking about PIA :yk :sree

Stick a pacifier into their mouths for all I care.

When the engine starts running they should give them noise-cancelling earplugs.

Just something as it raises my blood pressure especially if its non-stop for a 14-16 hour flight.

I usually don’t criticise PIA.

But decided to go on PIA this time - no blankets, I could not sleep as I was shaking because of how cold it was.

Food was given without being offered the choice of chicken or lamb.

When I reached at new Islamabad Airport - luggages came after 2.5 hours (2nd day of Eid this was). Had my luggages come on time, I would have been my Grandmother on time in the hospital too. Very unfortunate.

On my way back - the journey was pleasant. The staff was a Peshawar team - very polite and professional and as always landing was soft and smooth.

Stick a pacifier into their mouths for all I care.

When the engine starts running they should give them noise-cancelling earplugs.

Just something as it raises my blood pressure especially if its non-stop for a 14-16 hour flight.

Okay.

You can take another airline as I'm sure babies don't travel on them.

I always tarvel with PIA from Toronto to ISB. And my tv has never worked - and my flight with them last year was missing a tv remote. The wire was there with no remote attached.

I have travelled with numerous airlines and PIA lags behind with them in terms of the number of destinations, old planes and horrible entertainment system. I find their male staff more professional and friendly.

I consider it as a bad airline - if they can’t maintain their basic system.

My sister in law wanted to go to PK as her mother is ill, apparently there are no normal tickets, only Business class costing £1200. Can this be right?