[PICTURE] Pakistan squads for Australia and Zimbabwe tours named

Have Pakistan chosen the right squad for the Australia and Zimbabwe tours?

While speaking on his You Tube channel, Former Pakistan cricketer Basit Ali has opened up about the recently announced squads for the upcoming white-ball tours of Australia and Zimbabwe:

"The squads are good, except 3-4 names. Lekin pehli baar nazar aaya ke India ki copy ki gayi hai (for the first time it was seen that India's approach has been copied). It's not a bad thing, it's a good copy."

"I got a call from Australia, they said we won't dismiss Babar Azam in T20Is. I got surprised, and asked 'Why?'. They said Aaqib Javed asked for that."

"How could you select Babar in the T20 squad! The captain (Rizwan) demanded for it; that's the truth. if no, then I won't become the captain."

Rizwan shouldn't have been appointed the captain, but I am already loving the meltdown from the posters here.

According to Abdul Majid Bhatti, Fakhar himself requested a break because he has a knee problem and doesn't want to play when he is not fully fit.
I think people know that by now. Main issue is the central contract. If he has asked PCB for 2 months off. Why would you not even include him in central contract then?

Rizwan shouldn't have been appointed the captain, but I am already loving the meltdown from the posters here.
@Ahmed216 said something like this when Babar was reinstated

He lives to regret his decision, I make sure to remind him to this day.

Your fate will be no different. Believe that.

The seamers they have picked

They are all solid, hit the deck hard seamers for those conditions. Not sure Pakistan have equipped themselves with the right kind of batters to deal with them.

• 7A48D911-9432-4058-84B1-141FA75EBF4D.png
    7A48D911-9432-4058-84B1-141FA75EBF4D.png
    538.8 KB · Views: 6
Nathan Ellis
Spencer Johnson
Aaron Hardie

Proper 145kmh+ seamers

Sean Abbot is what you wish Abbas Afridi would be. Proper bowler who can tonk a few at the back end.

@Ahmed216 said something like this when Babar was reinstated

He lives to regret his decision, I make sure to remind him to this day.

Your fate will be no different. Believe that.
I am sorry but who are you? You really think I care about you and your views? I have read enough of your posts to establish your knowledge of cricket and more than enough to know your creepy obsession with Rizwan.

Aragorn: “You WILL suffer me!”

Let's debate this properly then.

Since Rizwan’s inception into cricket he's basically proven himself to be the modern era Misbah ul Haq in terms of whiteball batting.

Both these 2 are neck and neck in that

A) Both players hide behind an extra clause. For misbah it was, we don't have anyone else to lead the side, For rizzu it's we don't have any other keeper.

B) Both are master and student via SNGPL connections, and convientally, it was Misbah who brought back rizzu into the squad after 2 years of absence. Espncricinfo bio for rizzu even acknowledges that Rizwan’s career was only going to happen in a parrellel universe before he was promoted to open in SNGPL and made his return in 2019 aus series. Guess who was uncharged at the time and promoted him to open

C) Both have only 2 substantial Whiteball innings to note: For rizzu it's India 2021 Moqa Moqa and Sri lanka wc 131 and for Misbah it's 2007 aus vs pak and india vs pak t20 2007 (Group Stage not final)

D) Both have Inflated averages with rubbish sr's for their respective time periods. And coincidentally both start off as slow as molasses. Misbah started off at 20 to 30 sr, Would selfishly pad his way to a 50, irrespective of the rr around him and then would hit a few and get out boosting the sr to 74 but in reality he was 20 to 30 sr starter. Similarly rizwan is a 40 to 50 sr starter and adopts a similar pattern. However Misbah got to his 50's more frequently then Rizzu.

E) Both have major Botch moments. For Misbah it was 2011 Mohali, 2013 sa series, his entire 2011-2012 t20 career where he was forced to retire, Wi ct game, and pretty much majority of 2014 and 2015 including aus and NZ series.

For rizzu ita the entirety of Asia cup 2022 and wc 2022, Followed by aus 2023 wc botch and every game after where he either Botched or failed followed by wc 2024 where he Botched India game and failed against USA.

F) Both are selfish stat padders and hardly care about the rr around them

Their batting is virtually neck and neck and so is their hide behind clause. Only difference between these 2 are

A) Misbah got his 50's more frequently

B) Rizzu has played c string more frequently hence the 200 t20 chase exploits.

C) Rizwan does acting and adopts a fake nice personality while Misbah adopts the gentlemen personality but will get sarcastic or shout like a madman when push comes to Shove aka "KYA MEIN CHOKEI NAHI MARTA" or " DID I ASK THE BATTERS TO BAT LEFT? DONT QUESTION MY SELECTION AGAIN"

So unless you forwarded Misbah as a white ball batsmen, which in case kudos to you, Rizzu Is not a good wb batter.

and to top it off, Misbah was a rubbish wb captain and coach/selector? Misbah also followed a similar template. Would dominate domestics and get crapped on in international?

These 2 are so similar in batting and career records. On what basis do you assume they'll be different in captaincy?

What clearout?

Babar and Rizwan are your core issue in T20 batting

Where have they been cleared out?
Well you know my stance on those two in T20s. However realistically wasn't expecting them to disappear when they're the only two awarded Cat A contracts by PCB, and with Rizwan appointed captain.

That said with Aqib Javed as convenor of selectors, his panel now carrying a veto over the playing XI, and his previous public stance on Babar in T20s, let's not assume it'll be business as usual. Babar isn't in the Zimbabwe T20 squad which is a start and hopefully somebody else will seize the opportunity.

Would you rather they play a new team in Australia, get mauled, and the old guard return to pad stats in Zimbabwe ? That's exactly what happened after the Afghanistan series in 2023 when the youngsters were set up to fail on tricky UAE pitches against an Afghan team primed for those conditions - then these two made merry at home vs a weak NZ.

Haris Rauf?

What a fraud.

Even if you’re crap, will you get selected if you’re part of LQ?

A total of 26 players were selected for 4 teams..... here is a list of players and the number of teams they were selected for.
Why some players were selected for 3 and 4 teams and why some players only for 2 teams? For example: why Haris Rauf has been selected for all 4 teams ahead other fast bowlers?

1730120716400.png

Haris Rauf?

What a fraud.

Even if you’re crap, will you get selected if you’re part of LQ?
Yes, just ask Ahmed Daniyal.

Mehran Mumtaz finds himself out of favor while this mediocre cricketer with passable stats gets to don the Pakistan shirt.

Let's debate this properly then.

Since Rizwan’s inception into cricket he's basically proven himself to be the modern era Misbah ul Haq in terms of whiteball batting.

Both these 2 are neck and neck in that

A) Both players hide behind an extra clause. For misbah it was, we don't have anyone else to lead the side, For rizzu it's we don't have any other keeper.

B) Both are master and student via SNGPL connections, and convientally, it was Misbah who brought back rizzu into the squad after 2 years of absence. Espncricinfo bio for rizzu even acknowledges that Rizwan’s career was only going to happen in a parrellel universe before he was promoted to open in SNGPL and made his return in 2019 aus series. Guess who was uncharged at the time and promoted him to open

C) Both have only 2 substantial Whiteball innings to note: For rizzu it's India 2021 Moqa Moqa and Sri lanka wc 131 and for Misbah it's 2007 aus vs pak and india vs pak t20 2007 (Group Stage not final)

D) Both have Inflated averages with rubbish sr's for their respective time periods. And coincidentally both start off as slow as molasses. Misbah started off at 20 to 30 sr, Would selfishly pad his way to a 50, irrespective of the rr around him and then would hit a few and get out boosting the sr to 74 but in reality he was 20 to 30 sr starter. Similarly rizwan is a 40 to 50 sr starter and adopts a similar pattern. However Misbah got to his 50's more frequently then Rizzu.

E) Both have major Botch moments. For Misbah it was 2011 Mohali, 2013 sa series, his entire 2011-2012 t20 career where he was forced to retire, Wi ct game, and pretty much majority of 2014 and 2015 including aus and NZ series.

For rizzu ita the entirety of Asia cup 2022 and wc 2022, Followed by aus 2023 wc botch and every game after where he either Botched or failed followed by wc 2024 where he Botched India game and failed against USA.

F) Both are selfish stat padders and hardly care about the rr around them

Their batting is virtually neck and neck and so is their hide behind clause. Only difference between these 2 are

A) Misbah got his 50's more frequently

B) Rizzu has played c string more frequently hence the 200 t20 chase exploits.

C) Rizwan does acting and adopts a fake nice personality while Misbah adopts the gentlemen personality but will get sarcastic or shout like a madman when push comes to Shove aka "KYA MEIN CHOKEI NAHI MARTA" or " DID I ASK THE BATTERS TO BAT LEFT? DONT QUESTION MY SELECTION AGAIN"

So unless you forwarded Misbah as a white ball batsmen, which in case kudos to you, Rizzu Is not a good wb batter.

and to top it off, Misbah was a rubbish wb captain and coach/selector? Misbah also followed a similar template. Would dominate domestics and get crapped on in international?

These 2 are so similar in batting and career records. On what basis do you assume they'll be different in captaincy?
With due respect I can't read all of what you said but let me make it clear. I am against rizwan captaining. In t20s he should be discarded as a player alone. In odis he makes the team but only batting at 6 no higher then that.

Personally I am not a fan of Rizwan, but the hate is unjustified.

On topic on misbah he's the worst thing to happen to Pakistan cricket in recent times. I hope that makes things clear.

With due respect I can't read all of what you said but let me make it clear. I am against rizwan captaining. In t20s he should be discarded as a player alone. In odis he makes the team but only batting at 6 no higher then that.

Personally I am not a fan of Rizwan, but the hate is unjustified.

On topic on misbah he's the worst thing to happen to Pakistan cricket in recent times. I hope that makes things clear.
I agree with this take. That's fine with me.

Salman Ali Agha's selection in T20I cricket is nonsense, and most of the players haven't played enough domestic cricket to be selected. This is a pathetic selection.

T20I selection is just paperwork. Real selection will begin after PSL 2025 and after CT25 when the management (whoever it will be then) will be eyeing up for 2026 WT20

My guess is grooming him to replace rizwan once ct failure happens. Potentially salman could be an all format captain if Shan is unable to bring his average above 30 after few more series

T20I selection is just paperwork. Real selection will begin after PSL 2025 and after CT25 when the management (whoever it will be then) will be eyeing up for 2026 WT20
Real selection? As if they are going to value domestic experience and records? No way. Rizwan should be the captain until the 2029 World Cup.
My guess is grooming him to replace rizwan once ct failure happens. Potentially salman could be an all format captain if Shan is unable to bring his average above 30 after few more series
Salman Ali Agha doesn't even deserve to be in the T20I squad, let alone be its captain.

I would of loved to seen Babar, Shaheen & Naseem to continue their "resting period".

The squad is a decent balance of young players & some experience players. I am hoping Rohail Nazir will over take Haseebullah Khan after a good domestic season.

So the squad is fine. However, they will unlikely win any matches down under whereas against Zimbabwe there is possibility.

Abdullah selected but Fakhar dropped,,, crazy selections. Haseebullah is also selected but Rohai Nazir cannot be there. LOL

What is Shaheen doing in ODIs??? HAve selectors not watched champions cups???

Abdullah selected but Fakhar dropped,,, crazy selections. Haseebullah is also selected but Rohai Nazir cannot be there. LOL

What is Shaheen doing in ODIs??? HAve selectors not watched champions cups???
No, and actually you gave me an intresting thread idea

Tour advisory on Pakistan men's cricket team​

The second group of Pakistan men’s cricket team will depart for Melbourne from Karachi on Tuesday evening. At around 6pm on Tuesday at the Marriott Hotel, Karachi, Pakistan’s white-ball captain Mohammad Rizwan will be available for brief stand-up interviews. Pakistan team media manager Syed Naeem Ahmed will be the contact point.

On Monday morning, seven members of the ODI left for Melbourne. These included: Babar Azam, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Player support personnel (for Australia, Zimbabwe and South Africa): Naveed Akram Cheema (team manager), Jason Gillespie (head coach, for Australia tour), Azhar Mahmood (assistant coach), Tim Nielsen (high-performance coach, for Australia tour), Mohammad Masroor (fielding coach), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Drikus Saiman (strength and conditioning coach), Talha Butt (analyst), Irtiza Komail (security manager), Syed Naeem Ahmad (media and digital manager), Muhammad Imran (masseur, for Australia only) and Sergio Mullins (masseur, for Zimbabwe and South Africa).

Asad Shafiq will be on the three tours as a national selector but will not be part of the support staff.

Jason Gillespie and Tim Nielsen will rejoin the Pakistan side in Johannesburg for the two red-ball matches against South Africa.

Schedule of Pakistan’s white-ball matches against Australia and Zimbabwe:

4 November: ODI, MCG, Melbourne

8 November: ODI, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

10 November: ODI, Perth Stadium, Perth

14 November: T20I, The Gabba, Brisbane

16 November: T20I, SCG, Sydney

18 November: T20I, Bellerive Oval, Hobart

24 November – ODI, Bulawayo

26 November – ODI, Bulawayo

28 November – ODI, Bulawayo

1 December – T20I, Bulawayo

3 December – T20I, Bulawayo

5 December – T20I, Bulawayo

Pakistan squads for Australia and Zimbabwe tours:

ODI SQUAD FOR AUSTRALIA: Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Salman Ali Agha (vice-captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Arafat Minhas, Babar Azam, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi

T20I SQUAD FOR AUSTRALIA: Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Salman Ali Agha (vice-captain), Arafat Minhas, Babar Azam, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Omair Bin Yousuf, Sahibzada Farhan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sufyan Moqim, Usman Khan

ODI SQUAD FOR ZIMBABWE: Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Salman Ali Agha (vice-captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Ahmed Daniyal, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Saim Ayub, Shahnawaz Dahani and Tayyab Tahir

T20I SQUAD FOR ZIMBABWE: Salman Ali Agha (captain), Ahmed Daniyal, Arafat Minhas, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Omair bin Yousuf, Qasim Akram, Sahibzada Farhan, Sufyan Moqim, Tayyab Tahir and Usman Khan

However their are a few players in the squad who may have been called up too soon such as Jahandad Khan, Ahmed Daniyal, Faisal Akram & Qasim Akram.

Haseebullah Khan still being persisted with is interesting specially with Usman Khan as a WK batter.

Babar not in the squad for Zimbabwe? He must be feeling really bad about it.

Pretty much rooting for all the young guns in the T20i series in the Zimbabwe tour (Babar and Rizwan will not feature in that)

Besides that,

All the best to Omair bin Yousuf, Kamran Ghulam, Sahibzada Farhan, Aamir Jamal, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Faisal Akram, Jahandad Khan
More than 75% of the cricketers you named are plain trash especially sahibzada.

Only one fixture at Sydney lol

Bounce Billo season!
I might go and watch the game live. Tickets are available.

SCG always hold a special place in ny heart.

Fun fact, I've taken pictures with the Don Bradman and Belinda clarke statues their.

The more I look at the T20 squad, the more I am baffled at the selection. Firstly, Salman being VC for T20's when he's never even played an international T20 match is beyond bonkers. His career T20 numbers are beyond horrific and in PSL, yeah he did ok but he also batted #3. Barring RizBar going back to opening, he won't be batting at 3 internationally... making his position, what exactly? If RizBar does open and he comes in at 3, this would probably the slowest top order in the modern era.

Farhan/Riz/Babar/Salman/Usman/irfan is maybe the top 6 they are planning I suppose? But this is a horrific top 4 and Yousuf looks like another puzzling selection. He's a top order player and the squad is full of top order players and lacking middle order players as usual. Lacks power, no lefty bat in the entire top 6 making it predictable and easy to plan around as well.

Haris went from a breath of fresh air in 2022 WC to not even being able to make the B squad vs Zimbabwe is wild. Saim Ayub unable to make B squad vs Zimbabwe either for unknown reasons. Daniyal over Zaman Khan seems based on...??? Vibes? I dunno. It's almost like this squad is strategically selected to accumulate, not collapse, score around 150-160 and hope the bowlers completely carry you. If the next WC was in UAE, sure, maybe it could work. WC is in India and it will be a complete run fest so this vision & strategy they are planning is a surefire to be a complete failure.

Some baffling selections include Haris rauf (on what from he was recalled??), Haseebullah (based on what). Abdullah??
Saim in ODIs but not in T20s??

LOL

Some baffling selections include Haris rauf (on what from he was recalled??), Haseebullah (based on what). Abdullah??
Saim in ODIs but not in T20s??

LOL
Tbf in same case, He's proven himself to be more of a red ball and List A player then a t20 one

The more I look at the T20 squad, the more I am baffled at the selection. Firstly, Salman being VC for T20's when he's never even played an international T20 match is beyond bonkers. His career T20 numbers are beyond horrific and in PSL, yeah he did ok but he also batted #3. Barring RizBar going back to opening, he won't be batting at 3 internationally... making his position, what exactly? If RizBar does open and he comes in at 3, this would probably the slowest top order in the modern era.

Farhan/Riz/Babar/Salman/Usman/irfan is maybe the top 6 they are planning I suppose? But this is a horrific top 4 and Yousuf looks like another puzzling selection. He's a top order player and the squad is full of top order players and lacking middle order players as usual. Lacks power, no lefty bat in the entire top 6 making it predictable and easy to plan around as well.

Haris went from a breath of fresh air in 2022 WC to not even being able to make the B squad vs Zimbabwe is wild. Saim Ayub unable to make B squad vs Zimbabwe either for unknown reasons. Daniyal over Zaman Khan seems based on...??? Vibes? I dunno. It's almost like this squad is strategically selected to accumulate, not collapse, score around 150-160 and hope the bowlers completely carry you. If the next WC was in UAE, sure, maybe it could work. WC is in India and it will be a complete run fest so this vision & strategy they are planning is a surefire to be a complete failure.
Pretty elaborate on what should not have been done. What’s the solution? Who should have been selected?

Those are List A and FC games, that too 2nd, 3rd tier domestic. What are his accomolades in T20s where he got selected?
Firstly, he's not suited for T20 cricket, and on top of that, he's an opener. Even if he's given an opportunity in T20, he definitely shouldn't be playing at number 7.

you answered my question by first 7 words. Thanks

At least PCB tried some new faces, though they might have over killed it for AUS tour. At least kudos to them for trying, but can't praise their choice of the occasion - Australia tour isn't for faint hearts.

Nothing much to say about ZIM tour - any given XII should win five out of six games there, at least four; but I think, the AUS squad is too inexperienced and imbalanced.

PAK is going to AUS for ODI, with 2/3 specialist batsmen + couple of WK's who can bat & Aga. Even then, of the batsmen not sure how much Aga & Ghulam can handle raw pace & bounce - Ghulam, doesn't look to be a 135KM+ batsman, and anything above waste line, even 130KM might be challenging; a predominantly front-foot player. There are too many fast bowlers, all-rounders for 3 game and most of them will be carrying drinks for a paid vacation, while those 4-5 batsmen will get all 3 (6) games regardless of performance, because there are no alternates.

Shafiq, Saim
Babar, Riz, Ghulam, Aga - not sure if there is any other batsmen (Haseeb is WK-bat, Minhas & Faisal are bowlers IICRC) - SSA, Naseem, Rauf, Irfan, Hasnain, A Jamal - SIX pacers, then two U21 rookie spinners.

I think, choice of spinner is fine, though I still would have taken Shadab as Leggi & couple of batsmen - Saud & may be Fakhar (but I guess he is excluded for a different reason). Might not have changed result, but still you need balance in the squad.

3 (6) -0 for me, and some of the games will be quite one sided, even considering Aussies are most likely to rest few pacers before a busy summer.

At least PCB tried some new faces, though they might have over killed it for AUS tour. At least kudos to them for trying, but can't praise their choice of the occasion - Australia tour isn't for faint hearts.

Nothing much to say about ZIM tour - any given XII should win five out of six games there, at least four; but I think, the AUS squad is too inexperienced and imbalanced.

PAK is going to AUS for ODI, with 2/3 specialist batsmen + couple of WK's who can bat & Aga. Even then, of the batsmen not sure how much Aga & Ghulam can handle raw pace & bounce - Ghulam, doesn't look to be a 135KM+ batsman, and anything above waste line, even 130KM might be challenging; a predominantly front-foot player. There are too many fast bowlers, all-rounders for 3 game and most of them will be carrying drinks for a paid vacation, while those 4-5 batsmen will get all 3 (6) games regardless of performance, because there are no alternates.

Shafiq, Saim
Babar, Riz, Ghulam, Aga - not sure if there is any other batsmen (Haseeb is WK-bat, Minhas & Faisal are bowlers IICRC) - SSA, Naseem, Rauf, Irfan, Hasnain, A Jamal - SIX pacers, then two U21 rookie spinners.

I think, choice of spinner is fine, though I still would have taken Shadab as Leggi & couple of batsmen - Saud & may be Fakhar (but I guess he is excluded for a different reason). Might not have changed result, but still you need balance in the squad.

3 (6) -0 for me, and some of the games will be quite one sided, even considering Aussies are most likely to rest few pacers before a busy summer.
I don’t see the issue with selecting a "wicketkeeper-batter." Just because someone can also keep doesn’t mean they aren’t a strong batter. It’s not the 1980s anymore. Players like AB de Villiers, Sangakkara, de Kock, Dhoni, Pant, and others would make many teams solely based on their batting.

Regarding Pakistan’s selection, Rizwan is among the best batters in the country with a List A average of 47, and Haseebullah averages 52 over 50-60 games. Both are good enough to be selected as batters.

As for your concerns about Ghulam and Agha facing pace and bounce, that’s a challenge for almost anyone. Who in the country truly thrives against such conditions? Agha, in fact, looked the most comfortable during the recent Test series in Australia. Saud Shakeel struggled the most but I still reckon he should have been selected so he can develop.

Finally, Shadab hasn’t been a pure leg-spinner in years; he’s become more of an all-rounder without a defined specialty. It’s time to focus on bowlers who can turn the ball with control. I agree that giving rookie spinners a shot may backfire—it seems like the opportunity for consistent performers like Sajid Khan or even Zahid Mahmood was missed.

Shaheen will be benched after the first two odis. Hasnain will be good in aus. Naseem also would be average. Soon the opening bowling combo of pak would be somebody else. Shaheen and naseem will have to work hard

who in T20is as an opener is a walking wicket?
Maybe he is talking about Saim Ayub but he is not in the T20 squad. Maybe Babaz Azam then, he is not a walking wicket though. Abdullah Shafique is one as well, but he is not in T20 as well.

Having high hopes from Jahandad the guy keeps improving at a rapid rate and this is an ideal time for him to represent the national side , he is just one season away from becoming Junaid Khan in his prime or even better as he seems to extract more bounce than Junaid and is faster off the wicket plus he has the potential to become Noman Ali type batter as his technique is pretty solid and can play all round the wicket , definitely a better batter than Umar Gul , Wahab and Shaheen.

He should have been playing ODIs. But selectors named him for T20s only. I think he would have been a great prospect for ODIs as well. Champions trophy is also coming so you need an ODI back up.

Maybe he is talking about Saim Ayub but he is not in the T20 squad. Maybe Babaz Azam then, he is not a walking wicket though. Abdullah Shafique is one as well, but he is not in T20 as well.
Babar azam has been a walking wicket in all formats for a while now.

Rizwan isn't a walking wicket, just a poor t20 and odi batter and very avg test batter who can't bat with the tail even though the guy bats at 6 🤣

He should have been playing ODIs. But selectors named him for T20s only. I think he would have been a great prospect for ODIs as well. Champions trophy is also coming so you need an ODI back up.
Let him perform in any games he get then we will see if he belongs there or not

BTW one can just view the bowler and can say whether he belongs to the national level or not , seeing Zaman and Abbas Afridi you get the vibes that they don't belong there but Jahandad gives you completely opposite vibes.

I think he will do just fine in any games he will get in these two tours.

Both Ubaid Shah and Ali Raza also makes you feel that in future they will play for Pak team.

Exactly, what he said makes no sense at all.

Maybe you should sign an autograph for him and let him know that you are the one who is against him and you are a celebrity on PP.
Tbf, I do wanna meet the aussie and pakistan team if I get the chance. I'm just going for a game so it's highly unlikely I'll get the chance to meet em face to face.

But if I do, Pat Cummins + Rizwan standing side by side with me in the middle will be my new PFP on PP 🤣

fydym9t.png

Pakistan squads for Australia and Zimbabwe tours named

• PCB Chair Mohsin Naqvi will unveil Pakistan’s white-ball captain in a media conference in Lahore on Sunday at 3.30pm

• Babar Azam, Naseem Shah, and Shaheen Shah Afridi return for Australia matches but will be rested for the Zimbabwe tour

• Selectors have recognised standout domestic performers for the two tours as part of their strategy to build towards the ICC Champions Trophy defence

Lahore, 27 October 2024:

The Pakistan cricket selectors have announced 15-member squads for the tours of Australia and Zimbabwe, where the national side will play three ODIs and three T20Is each. The Australia tour will run from 4-18 November, while the matches in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, will be played from 24 November to 5 December.

Pakistan’s white-ball captain will be unveiled by PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi in a media conference in Lahore on Sunday at 3.30pm.

Babar Azam, Naseem Shah and Shaheen Shah Afridi, who were given a break from the last two Tests against England, return for the Australia matches but will be rested for the Zimbabwe tour. Similarly, Mohammad Rizwan will be available for the Australia matches and Zimbabwe ODIs, but will be rested from the Zimbabwe T20Is.

This approach follows the selectors’ rotation policy and provides opportunities to domestic performers, aligning with the team’s strategy for the ICC Champions Trophy and beyond.

Uncapped players in the ODI squad include Aamir Jamal, Arafat Minhas, Faisal Akram, Haseebullah, Muhammad Irfan Khan, and Saim Ayub. Jahandad Khan and Salman Ali Agha join the T20I squad for the first time.

Kamran Ghulam, Omair Bin Yousuf and Sufyan Moqim make their national side debut, having previously played limited-overs internationals. Kamran served as a concussion substitute for Haris Sohail against New Zealand in an ODI in January 2023, while Omair and Sufyan debuted in the T20I format against Hong Kong during the Asian Games men’s cricket competition.

Fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain, player of the Champions One-Day Cup in Faisalabad last month with 17 wickets, also returns to the ODI side, having last represented Pakistan in an ODI against New Zealand in January 2023.

Apart from Babar, Naseem, Rizwan, Salman, and Shaheen, four other players have been selected in both the ODI and T20I squads. They are: Arafat Minhas, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah and Muhammad Irfan Khan.

Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Faisal Akram, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, and Saim Ayub are selected solely for the ODIs and will be replaced by Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Omair Bin Yousuf, Sahibzada Farhan, Sufyan Moqim, and Usman Khan for the T20Is.

Seven ODI squad members – Babar Azam, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, and Shaheen Shah Afridi – will depart for Melbourne on Monday, 28 October, with the remaining ODI players leaving on Tuesday, 29 October. Pakistan’s white-ball coach, Gary Kirsten, will join the squad in Melbourne on 28 October.

ODI SQUAD: Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Arafat Minhas, Babar Azam, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi

T20I SQUAD: Arafat Minhas, Babar Azam, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah, Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Omair Bin Yousuf, Sahibzada Farhan, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sufyan Moqim, Usman Khan

Domestic performers dominate Pakistan squads for Zimbabwe ODIs and T20Is

Ahmed Daniyal, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan and Tayyab Tahir are the other players apart from Salman Ali Agha who have been selected for both the formats.

Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Faisal Akram, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub and Shahnawaz Dahani have been picked in the ODI side and will be replaced by Arafat Minhas, Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Omair Bin Yousuf, Qasim Akram, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi and Usman Khan for the shortest format of the game.

Haseebullah, Haris Rauf, Muhammad Irfan Khan and Salman Ali Agha are the four players who will be part of the squads from the start of the Australia tour to the end of Zimbabwe tour.

ODI SQUAD: Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Ahmed Daniyal, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Muhammad Irfan Khan, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani and Tayyab Tahir

T20I SQUAD: Ahmed Daniyal, Arafat Minhas, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (WK), Jahandad Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Omair bin Yousuf, Qasim Akram, Sahibzada Farhan, Salman Ali Agha, Sufyan Moqim, Tayyab Tahir and Usman Khan

Schedule of Pakistan’s white-ball matches against Australia and Zimbabwe:

4 November: ODI, MCG, Melbourne

8 November: ODI, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

10 November: ODI, Perth Stadium, Perth

14 November: T20I, The Gabba, Brisbane

16 November: T20I, SCG, Sydney

18 November: T20I, Bellerive Oval, Hobart

24 November – ODI, Bulawayo

26 November – ODI, Bulawayo

28 November – ODI, Bulawayo

1 December – T20I, Bulawayo

3 December – T20I, Bulawayo

5 December – T20I, Bulawayo
Does anyone know why Wasim Jnr is being neglected repeatedly? Is he injured or is there any other reason? He bowled well in whatever matches he played in 2023 WC.

Am extremely confused. I know what happened to fakhar. But why are Usman and Saud out? Usman has been the best performer in limited overs domestic. Deserves a run at a permanent spot.

Saud yes he’s done badly but he has got starts consistently before throwing it away and looked comfortable at the crease. You persist with those type of players especially since he’s doing well in tests with big scores.