[PICTURES] Danish Kaneria asks for help for minorities during the Covid-19 Pandemic

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I request <a href="https://twitter.com/YUVSTRONG12?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@YUVSTRONG12</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/harbhajan_singh?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@harbhajan_singh</a> to make a video for the minorities living in Pakistan as well. They need your help in this moment of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronacrisis?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronacrisis</a>. People can donate here at: <a href="https://t.co/yDz3i8gZps">https://t.co/yDz3i8gZps</a></p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria61) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria61/status/1245946849355132928?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rubbish?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Rubbish</a> Some people are saying that i am playing minority card. If i am seeking help to save the people from this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CoronaPandemic?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CoronaPandemic</a>, what’s wrong in it? Service to humanity is service to god. And keep in mind that for me ‘Nation is first, society next and self last’.</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria61) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria61/status/1246496745955053568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Distributed grocery kits to the needy families of our minority community at Ranchor Line, Karachi. I am very thankful to all the donors. Please keep donating here at: <a href="https://t.co/yDz3i8gZps">https://t.co/yDz3i8gZps</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> <a href="https://t.co/4TNSmSWjgn">pic.twitter.com/4TNSmSWjgn</a></p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria61) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria61/status/1246407089733304321?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

EUp7cOmUwAI5JP1

EUp7cOmUUAY1S2x

EUp7cOnUcAA0xyL

EUp7cOnUUAA3f5u

5th Gen warfare Drama from Danish kaneria and nothing else, the main fund raiser is sitting in Houston US .....

I don't see anything wrong in his tweet. Unless there is more to the story then the tweets.

It's actually a very good Initiative by him.

I don't see anything wrong in his tweet. Unless there is more to the story then the tweets.

first of all, why he needs to request others (indian) knowing that it will be backlash not from indian side but also from pakistan side,
secondly, he can ask for help from dozens of NGOs in Khi. thre are hundreds of them. i have nothing against his initiative but the main fundraiser is sitting in Houston, whos spewing bullcrap and attaching fake news and sources to gain fund and bad naming pakistan. danish is unknowingly playing in the wrong hands.
and i am sure hes not a pakistani.
for details, check out the fb link.

first of all, why he needs to request others (indian) knowing that it will be backlash not from indian side but also from pakistan side,
secondly, he can ask for help from dozens of NGOs in Khi. thre are hundreds of them. i have nothing against his initiative but the main fundraiser is sitting in Houston, whos spewing bullcrap and attaching fake news and sources to gain fund and bad naming pakistan. danish is unknowingly playing in the wrong hands.
and i am sure hes not a pakistani.
for details, check out the fb link.

Why should there be a backlash from Pakistani side? Yuviraj and Harbajahn are fellow cricketers who supported another fellow cricketer Afridi's charity work. Danish is acting along the same lines.

Though I did check out the FB link and it seems shady, that's true. Regardless of which group the donations are going to help that FB page doesn't seem to be trustworthy and I would not donate there. It's also using the fake news that non-Muslims are being discriminated against to make a case for their cause which needs to be called out.

Perhaps Yuvraj, Harbajahn and Afridi share a much stronger bond and friendship which goes beyond just loving the same sport so Danish can suggest them to promote something but should not be angry if they don't.

Instead of bashing and shaming Danish in their response these social media warriors should tell him that a systematic discrimination of Hindus and other group in charity work is fake news.

who cares money is coming to our people I don't care where its coming from

What's the point of asking Yuvraj and Harbajhan to make a "video for minorities"? It would've made sense if he asked for a donation.

I was about to agree, then I remembered he was a convicted fixer during his time with Essex, and was chucked out of England in disgrace. Now I am wondering whether he is getting paid to run campaigns like this from neighbouring sponsors.

That aside, it's a good cause, other Pakistanis should be pitching in and making sure everyone is well looked after, regardless of religion.

Why isnt he requesting his fellow pakistanis to help his countries minorities?

The way the tweet is worded and to whom hes requesting is suggesting that his countrymen muslims are unwilling to help out minorities in pakistan

Yeah that's how it came across.

What's the point of asking Yuvraj and Harbajhan to make a "video for minorities"? It would've made sense if he asked for a donation.

this.

In India there are a lot of wealthy minorities. There are some Muslims,Parsis or Christians who are probably considered among the wealthiest in the world as well.

Maybe there aren’t any minority role models or rich minorities from Pakistan. I mean besides Kaneria I can’t think of any. Youhana obviously doesn’t count anymore.

So instead of blaming him, May he you can point him towards groups that take care or minority rights in Pak. Out of curiosity Is there any such organization in Pakistan?

Good job kaneria ! Keep it up !

Not also minority communities if needed pls donate to majority community as well if they aren't getting necessary ration. We shouldn't discriminate ppl based on their religion while donating ration.

Patron-in-chief of Pakistan Hindu Council (PHC) Dr Ramesh Kumar Vankwani has expressed anger over fabricated news reports appearing in various Indian media outlets claiming Pakistan is refusing to give food to members of the Hindu community, especially in Indian media.

"News reports claiming that Pakistan refuses to give food to Hindus as COVID-19 rages are baseless and fabricated," Vankwani, who is a prominent Hindu lawmaker, said in a statement on Saturday.

He said that the Pakistan Hindu Council was closely monitoring the situation and had not received any complaint by the local Hindu community regarding discrimination, as claimed by the Indian media.

Vankwani added that the Pakistan Hindu Council, in its nationwide ration distribution drive, was also providing food items to deserving families, without any religious discrimination.

He said that this critical time demands everyone to join hands in the fight against the corona threat.

"However, it is very unfortunate that some elements are trying to fulfil their vested interest by indulging in such negative activities," he noted.

"This is time to promote tolerance, harmony and love to all, rather than spreading hatred and misunderstandings among the society," Dr Vankwani stated.

Dr Vankwani also appealed for taking extreme care while expressing views regarding coronavirus outbreak and other humanitarian crisis.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/281052-pakistan-hindu-council-rejects-propaganda-by-indian-media

^^^
MIG please don’t spread such news it doesn’t fit into our RSS Hindutva friends narrative.

^^^
MIG please don’t spread such news it doesn’t fit into our RSS Hindutva friends narrative.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Day 10 <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> ration drive supporting struggling minorities in this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> pandemic. Ration was distributed amongst the Hindu & Christian communities in Karachi. Truly ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all!<br>Urging everyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> to the cause! <a href="https://t.co/ljjvSzfDX4">pic.twitter.com/ljjvSzfDX4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1244950113249898496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 31, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sorry again.

Pakistani will not ask anyone to go India since that person will actually come here😬 [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION]

Kaneria knows something and he is asking for it indirectly. He Can't make 99% muslim majority country angry.

What he knows is ever since he started on touching hindi muslim subjects, or minority subjects he got a lot more followers and views from across the border, which translates to more money for him.

There would be nothing wrong with what he said regarding requesting donations, however this has now been a year of pandering to padosis, and when you sum it all up he seems like he blames pakistan and him being hindu for deciding to spot fix. Perhaps he is looking to move to india similar to Adnan Sami, as part of the deal he made for citizenship he also has to be very vocal about pakistan

And maybe for a second he has a genuine concern and he saw something which he can't say in open. And asking for things indirectly due to not diverting things in this pandemic environment [MENTION=131506]blackanhyellow[/MENTION]

Utter nonsense and I’ll tell you why.
Forget charities and government officials feeding the minorities...

Private households are going out feeding the poor including people of every faith.
Muslims are feeding their minorities.

So you can continue to believe a convicted fixer over the Pakistan Hindu council but know this, each time you do you expose your Hindu extremism

[MENTION=491]IMMY69[/MENTION] Just like what you believe what is convenient for you? Via Indian media. I will believe the person whom I know instead of random politician who has ulterior motive to praise the masses.

Everyone posting specific tweets about how minorities are being taken care of sounds like damage control to me l. However in the end it worked out well so no complaints.

I mean it’s not like every time Pakistan media says Modi the Hitler is killing Muslims, you don’t see tweets from popular Indian celebrities of Muslim origin to kind of defend the government It is just ignored as just another day.

In the end I am glad it has worked out. I am not a fan but Maybe Indian media deserves some credit here.

Like I said in my post nothing wrong with what he said. However if you combine it with the rubbish he has been posting for months, then it puts him in a bad light.

If he was strictly about standing for minorities then I'd have respect for him.

But he tried to link his treatment post spot fixing as related to him being hindu.

It was ECB that found him guilty. He denied it for 6 years. Then finally confessed. His actions put a young kid in jail. Kaneria got off with a life ban from ECB.

PCB did not want to stir the waters, so they unofficially gave him a life ban as well.

He was not in the same position as amir, Salman, sharjeel as they were all under PCBs authority at the time, so based on icc rules and their own rules they could be as lenient or strict as they wanted.

But in kaneria case he was banned for life from ecb, which again the PCB did not want to challenge and create bad blood between the boards.

It had nothing to do with him being hindu, but he decided to play that card and pander across the border.

This is why people are taking what he says with a grain of salt.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Day 10 <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> ration drive supporting struggling minorities in this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> pandemic. Ration was distributed amongst the Hindu & Christian communities in Karachi. Truly ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all!<br>Urging everyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> to the cause! <a href="https://t.co/ljjvSzfDX4">pic.twitter.com/ljjvSzfDX4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1244950113249898496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 31, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Sorry again.

This must be embarrassing for kaneria...all that effort he goes to and this happens

[MENTION=491]IMMY69[/MENTION] Just like what you believe what is convenient for you? Via Indian media. I will believe the person whom I know instead of random politician who has ulterior motive to praise the masses.

You see Local Dada’s reply?
Straight out of the fascist handbook...

You’re also talking a lot of nonsense.
Pathetic arguments, deflect everything that is not in line with your idiology.

You have to be a complete and utter idiot or a fascist extremist to take the word of a convicted cheat over those that are at the forefront of feeding the poor..

If I look like a extremist to you from my replies in this thread. I don't have anything more to reply to you [MENTION=491]IMMY69[/MENTION]
Instead of shooting a messenger look for a message. Maybe kaneria cheated in past, so as us or so many people in subcontinent.

You see Local Dada’s reply?
Straight out of the fascist handbook...

You’re also talking a lot of nonsense.
Pathetic arguments, deflect everything that is not in line with your idiology.

You have to be a complete and utter idiot or a fascist extremist to take the word of a convicted cheat over those that are at the forefront of feeding the poor..

Well convicted cheater is a convenient dig when there are at least 4 players in the potential current Pakistan squad that have been banned for serious offenses. Some of them have already a red carpet.

Yes I agree that fixers should be banned and I would have agreed with PCB had they used the same level of consistency and benchmark for everything.

You want me to start listing out names here do you?

Karachi, Apr 5 (PTI) Pakistan''s renowned sports personalities Jahangir Khan and Shahid Afridi have started distributing ration and cash to the minorities after a hindu tennis player drew their attention to the plight of the community amid the COVID-19 pandemic.
In a statement, international tennis player Robin Das had appealed to the Shahid Afridi Foundation (SAF) to help the minority communities in the city.

"Jahangir Khan who is president of the foundation called me and spoke to me about Das''s statement and said the minority community members whether christian or hindus must also be helped in these difficult times," Asif Azeem, the secretary of the Karachi Sports Forum, told PTI.

The SAF has teamed up with the Karachi Sports Forum (KSF) to provide ration and cash to the needy people in the city, especially those belonging to the sports fraternity.

"We had a function today at the Roshan Khan Squash Complex where Jahangir and hockey legend Islahuddin were present and they made it clear the forum will use its manpower to distribute ration and cash among the needy minority community families in Karachi," Azeem said.

He said in the first phase they had distributed ration bags to lower caste and poor hindu and christian families in district south area.

The Karachi Sports Forum, Azeem said, was already working to provide ration to the needy players, groundstaff, guards and others associated with different sports.

"But with the Shahid Afridi Foundation now supporting us we are extending our operations and also focussing on minority community families," he said. PTI Cor AH AH

https://www.outlookindia.com/newssc...-help-minorities-in-fighting-pandemic/1792361

Donations nowadays has become a publicity stunt. Even posing before handing out. He can send a private message to yuvraj or give him a whatsapp message, i dont like these kind of show offs.

'A person who practices charity so secretly that his left hand does not know what his right hand has given (i.e. nobody knows how much he has given in charity.' hadith :moyo

Donations nowadays has become a publicity stunt. Even posing before handing out. He can send a private message to yuvraj or give him a whatsapp message, i dont like these kind of show offs.

'A person who practices charity so secretly that his left hand does not know what his right hand has given (i.e. nobody knows how much he has given in charity.' hadith :moyo

Agreed.

I think a lot of people donate in order to show off.

However, celebrities/cricketers can be loud about it because they tend to have more followers.

Pakistan's non-Muslim volunteers join fight against COVID-19

KARACHI, Pakistan

Wearing gloves, and face masks, a group of 15 volunteers huddle at a distance with each other, beside a stash of groceries in a large room in eastern district of Karachi, the country's commercial capital.

Among them is Sunil Harsi, one of the many Hindu volunteers who have joined hands with different relief agencies to provide rations, and sanitation products to low-income masses amid a raging coronavirus outbreak that has put this South Asian nuclear state under a crippling lockdown.

A grinding economic slowdown, a direct result of the global COVID-19 outbreak, has particularly hit nearly 25% of the country's over 200 million population, which lives below poverty line.

The country has reported a total of 58 deaths as the number of coronavirus cases have surpassed 4,070 as of Wednesday.

Harsi, 32, a city councilor for Jamaat-e-Islami, the country's mainstream religious party, has actively been taking part in relief efforts carried out by the party's charity wing Al-Khidmat Foundation in Karachi's eastern district for over a month.

"I come here every day at noon to attend this meeting to chalk out the plan for the day. One day we collect and pack relief goods donated by philanthropists and distribute them on the next day," Harsi told Anadolu Agency.

He and his colleagues have been assigned to operate in two slums areas in Gulshan-e-Iqbal town, a middle-income bracket locality.

For distribution of relief goods, they mostly use motorbikes or small vehicles to drive through the narrow streets of the slums.

"We do not gather people on the streets to distribute rations in order to observe social distancing. We deliver rations at the doorsteps," Harsi said, adding "I was born and raised in this area. Who's needy and who's not, I know very well".

Interfaith harmony

Adnan Sadiq, a young Christian volunteer, who too is part of the group, counts his involvement in the operation as a pride.

"I am proud to be part of this [relief campaign]. In this way, I am contributing something to the society, and my own community as well," Sadiq, 22, who joined the relief activities two weeks ago, told Anadolu Agency.

He gave credit to his Muslim friends for bringing him in.

"I feel myself proud as I am not the one seeking help but I am helping others. It's all because of my Muslim friends whose selfless efforts for the needy masses inspired me to join them," he said.

Around a dozen Christian and Hindu volunteers from his area, he said, were working with different charities.

Seema Maheshwari, a human rights activist who too has been engaged in rations distribution among needy people in different parts of Karachi, thanked the Muslim community for assisting her efforts.

"I started my efforts in collaboration with my family and some friends with limited resources. But soon, my Muslim friends and philanthropists joined hands with us," Maheshwari, a Hindu by religion, told Anadolu Agency.

"I am really thankful to my Muslim brothers and sisters who have trusted my efforts, and provided us rations, and other essential goods for the poor masses," she went on to say, adding several other Muslim philanthropists have assured her of their support.

So far, Maheshwari has distributed rations among 250 families in different parts of the city.

"We are distributing rations among needy Hindus, Christians, and even Muslims. It's not about religion, race or community. It's all about humanity," she maintained.

Community link

The country's tiny Sikh community is also contributing its share to provide relief to the low-income people, who have been badly hit by the economic meltdown, a direct result of the coronavirus outbreak.

Pakistan Sikh Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee, an organization that deals with religious affairs of the Sikh community in Pakistan, has already allotted portions at scores of gurdwaras -- worship places -- as isolation cells for suspected coronavirus patients.

In addition, according to Charanjeet Singh, a community leader, rations and cooked food were being distributed among needy people irrespective of their religious affiliation, in the gurdwaras in Karachi, Peshawar, Nanakana Sahib -- the birthplace of of Baba Guru Nanak, the founder of their religion -- and other districts.

Haris and Sadiq also act as a link between their foundation and the respective communities.

"I have also been appointed in-charge of rations distribution [by Al-Khidmat Foundation] among needy Hindus as I know my community more than anyone else," Harsi said.

"I have personally handed over rations to around 150 Hindu families at their doorsteps in my locality," he added.

Similarly, Sadiq has been assigned to collect the data and deliver rations to the needy Christian families in his area of operation.

Hindus and Christians make up 4% and 3% of the total population of Muslim-majority Pakistan, respectively, whereas, the number of Sikhs in Pakistan is estimated between 30,000-40,000.

https://www.aa.com.tr/en/asia-pacif...olunteers-join-fight-against-covid-19/1796883

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "The work my foundation is doing in Sindh, 54% of the people we are helping are Hindus. We had a food drive in Karachi for the Hindu community, even for Aga Khanis, Ismailis and Christians in Karachi and we will keep on helping these people" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1249683656278507527?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 13, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The flag of Pakistan to have white colour in it along with green to show the world that we wholeheartedly consider non-Muslim as equal and integral members of the state” <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> with <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> held at Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir,Karachi<br> <br> <a href="https://t.co/7NXx5XQwlv">https://t.co/7NXx5XQwlv</a> <a href="https://t.co/zREPWNgiSw">pic.twitter.com/zREPWNgiSw</a></p>— Jahangir Khan (@JK555squash) <a href="https://twitter.com/JK555squash/status/1259497130743472131?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Prophet (ﷺ) said “I order you to assist any oppressed person, whether he is a Muslim or not.'<br>Global Chairman <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAF</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> recieved a letter of appreciation for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> Ration Drive at Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir, Karachi<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> <a href="https://t.co/4jI8bU07KB">https://t.co/4jI8bU07KB</a> <a href="https://t.co/9Nx7WVlG5I">pic.twitter.com/9Nx7WVlG5I</a></p>— Shahid Afridi Foundation (@SAFoundationN) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN/status/1260111243865546753?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 12, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Yesterday, we distributed Rashan amongst our Transgender community and all I can think of is why have we not taken enough steps so far to make them feel as an equal part of our society? We must break these shackles based on taboos if we want to move on and progress. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid_19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid_19</a> <a href="https://t.co/eecjq3J3qt">https://t.co/eecjq3J3qt</a></p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/1263430867688570882?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>