[PICTURES] Imam-ul-Haq named as replacement after Fakhar Zaman ruled out of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 [Post Updated #59]

Is Imam-ul-Haq the right choice as replacement for Fakhar Zaman?

What kind of personality should you have for captaincy? Babar’s? Rizwan’s?
Rizwan yes, Babar no. A player should atleast be somewhat interested in captaincy with proven track record in domestics.

Yeah this CT is over for Pakistan. Team is just loaded now with a bunch of stat-padders and losers.
Once can hope after the CT we start investing in newer players enough of these senior players and what I mean by newer players I don't mean 30 olds.

And Butler has lost 7 out of last 10 ODIs as captain. English team is a mess despite incredible talent.

Fakhar Zaman has never captained at domestic level either so there is no bases to an argument for his captaincy. Rizwan didn't came out of nowhere as captain. KP team won multiple domestic tournaments under his captaincy not to mention success in PSL.

I doubt senior players thing mentioned by Gillespie included Rizwan. Rizwan is probably the fittest in team. As for team selection, clearly this playing XI is not selected by Rizwan. See this link;

Link

I am not sure about external agencies point. You think Babar and Rizwan are raw agents ? Why need external agencies when you have a political appointee (who is also an alleged murderer) as PCB chief ?

In regards to Aus and SA tour, I meant Rizwan's captaincy. His field placements and bowling changes were spot on. We defeated a strong Aus side and decent SA team at their home. That cannot be ignored. In tri series and CT, management had this bright idea of taking away powers from captain (see given link) and results are in front of us.

I agree that Rizwan and Babar have no business in T20Is but calling for their exclusion from ODIs is nonsensical at this point. Maybe Babar if his bad form continues but given our talent pool and quality of domestics, he will be back in no time.

Maybe, but given their robust appointment and structure, they will find a way to move forward through their investment in the future. Even if I ignore the politicking from Rizwan, he got no business being a captaincy candidate on the basis he doesn’t make the team, Fakhar is the first name on the team sheet in any limited overs Pakistani side.

Gary Kisten complained about Rizwan’s behaviour in the past so don’t worry about Gillespie who is more of a diplomat. And it is clear Rizwan played a pivotal role in removing both these guys before being made captain. And why should we overlook the influence of Saya group, they may as well be RAW agents after the way Rizwan got out to Bumrah in the US.

You want to talk about Rizwan’s captaincy, where were these innovative field placings in the tri-series and match yesterday, the charlatan has been exposed, did management take away the power to use his brain cells ? Or are we overlooking that because he doesn’t have any like his most loyal fans.

First give their replacements as many chances as you’ve given the serial failures then we shall see and also defend them with the same energy if they keep choking like Babar/Rizwan have, I can’t fathom the fans who defend their cowardly cricket even when a defeat is so fresh.

Fakhar is an X factor player so can be hit or miss but Imam in Dubai and vs Bangladesh means guaranteed runs on the board which will give Pakistan an edge now because there will be runs on the board to put opposition under pressure.

This might be the boost Pakistan team needs.
Kamran Ghulam is the only remaining X factor player in the whole squad.

If Pakistani team management has any brain cells left, they will put Kamran Ghulam back in, with Usman back in as well. We should have gotten Sufyan instead of Imam. Sigh.

That’s a Glenn Phillips flat bat slap down the wicket to this lot!

These lot are a unique kettle of fish really mental reading the posts since another big defeat in an ICC event, and you been dealing with these jibronis a lot longer. I am watching Dexter now, wish he went after the Bacha Party.

Maybe, but given their robust appointment and structure, they will find a way to move forward through their investment in the future. Even if I ignore the politicking from Rizwan, he got no business being a captaincy candidate on the basis he doesn’t make the team, Fakhar is the first name on the team sheet in any limited overs Pakistani side.

Gary Kisten complained about Rizwan’s behaviour in the past so don’t worry about Gillespie who is more of a diplomat. And it is clear Rizwan played a pivotal role in removing both these guys before being made captain. And why should we overlook the influence of Saya group, they may as well be RAW agents after the way Rizwan got out to Bumrah in the US.

You want to talk about Rizwan’s captaincy, where were these innovative field placings in the tri-series and match yesterday, the charlatan has been exposed, did management take away the power to use his brain cells ? Or are we overlooking that because he doesn’t have any like his most loyal fans.

First give their replacements as many chances as you’ve given the serial failures then we shall see and also defend them with the same energy if they keep choking like Babar/Rizwan have, I can’t fathom the fans who defend their cowardly cricket even when a defeat is so fresh.
what did gary kirstein complained about?

You’d have to look up google either around the time Kirsten left or just after the T20 WC, he complained that when he was trying to get players to follow his instructions, they got defensive and said ‘I’ve been playing a long time for Pakistan’, but beyond this his comments after we exited the WC were pretty damning really and said it all, he alluded to diciplonary problems at that time as well, it doesn’t take a genius to work out he had a horrible time with the team and the players failed to raise their standards / were afraid of their little routines which cripple Pakistan being put in jeopardy. Ever since the WC and his report to the PCB, they had been trying to get rid of him.

We are already out. Better give opportunities to parchis and use these matches as farewell matches.

Not entirely over

Bangladesh have played their worst match against India. They should improve. The Pak v Bang game should be rained off by the looks of it. 1 point each

Pakistan can still end with 3….and bang could pull off an upset v NZ…you can’t rule out cricket

Pakistan need to end Sunday with a proper nrr

Imam-ul-Haq joined the Pakistan squad for training in Dubai.

1DWtltg.jpg

xF7nZqQ.jpg

Surely Saud Shakeel and Babar is Pakistan's biggest headache in batting

With the limited choices we have the Squad for match against IND should be :

Imam ul haq
Usman
Babar
Rizwan
Salman
Kamran gulam
Saud sakil
Shaheen Shah
Hasnain
Nasim
Abrar ahmed

Haris Rauf should be kept away else he will leak around 80-100 runs max!

Rizwan doesn't make the team ? He is averaging about 50 as captain. On merit, he is more deserving of a spot in team than Misbah and specialist captain Sarfaraz ever were.
Gary Kisten complained about Rizwan’s behaviour in the past so don’t worry about Gillespie who is more of a diplomat. And it is clear Rizwan played a pivotal role in removing both these guys before being made captain.
What did Gary say in particular about Rizwan ? How is it clear that Rizwan played any role in removing coaches ? You really think that dinosaurs at PCB including dictator Naqvi is taking orders from a little Pashtun guy with a humble family background ? They are not even letting Rizwan select the playing XI.
And why should we overlook the influence of Saya group, they may as well be RAW agents after the way Rizwan got out to Bumrah in the US.
And here I thought I was discussing with a sane poster. At least you used to be many years back.
Rizwan and Babar the raw agents :afridi. Guess they didn't get the memo in 2021.
Can you point out any tactical error made by Rizwan on the field that led to our loss ? A captain can only do so much when a pathetic squad is handed over to him not to mention he is not even allowed to select playing XI.
Name me Babar and Rizwan's replacements that you so want to give chances to ? Lets hear it.

Rizwan doesn't make the team ? He is averaging about 50 as captain. On merit, he is more deserving of a spot in team than Misbah and specialist captain Sarfaraz ever were.

What did Gary say in particular about Rizwan ? How is it clear that Rizwan played any role in removing coaches ? You really think that dinosaurs at PCB including dictator Naqvi is taking orders from a little Pashtun guy with a humble family background ? They are not even letting Rizwan select the playing XI.

And here I thought I was discussing with a sane poster. At least you used to be many years back.
Rizwan and Babar the raw agents :afridi. Guess they didn't get the memo in 2021.

Can you point out any tactical error made by Rizwan on the field that led to our loss ? A captain can only do so much when a pathetic squad is handed over to him not to mention he is not even allowed to select playing XI.

Name me Babar and Rizwan's replacements that you so want to give chances to ? Lets hear it.

I would love to entertain the bacha party further but the mask has slipped off and you’re not on my level, why don’t you just say you want to swallow his gob and therefore grant him immunity from the humiliation he is going go put Pakistan through in their own backyard; because the undisputed leader of the team is not accountable for anything besides the number of rakhats he offers and who he supports politically.

I’m so done with these embarrassing fitness levels of our players. Shame to call these guys athletes.
Is Pakistan so medically backward country they cannot take care of a star cricketer's hypothyroidism , which is a minor problem and extremely easy to manage , is a very common condition.

I dont like Faheem Ashraf, but i wont go around saying and hoping he gets injured, and than try to justify it oh i was saying it as a figure of speech.
Faheem never got injured in his career and will never be , hopefully. When your stay at the wickets is very short and have to bowl only few overs at slow pace, you take no chances to get injured.

Imam has earned his spot which many others could not... If Saud and Kamran can play in the ODI squad, why not him???

Talk to me when Imam plays an innings like Ghulam did against South africa in South africa.

Not entirely over

Bangladesh have played their worst match against India. They should improve. The Pak v Bang game should be rained off by the looks of it. 1 point each

Pakistan can still end with 3….and bang could pull off an upset v NZ…you can’t rule out cricket

Pakistan need to end Sunday with a proper nrr
Jeetna bhi hai or wo bhi big margin se .hmm :kp

What was the strike rate?
He is an opener... 81 strike rate... not extra-ordinary but expecting Shahid afridi type blitz who was a finisher and like Kamran Ghulam played in that inning????

Not fair I guess

The only parchi's are babar rizwan shaheen naseem and rauf who have been given every game for years despite any performance should have been sacked after WC23 and WC24 but some how still get in the team. How can you call guys parchi who hardly get a game

Salman Butt during a TV show:

"When we were building up to the tournament, we were already talking about Saim’s loss and saying that we don’t have that flamboyant or aggressive opener at the top. And now, Fakhar, who was considered your biggest weapon, is also not there. So first, how do you see the loss of Fakhar, especially in such a crucial match against India? And then we will also talk about possible replacements."

"Look, at this moment, I would say Fakhar’s loss is the worst that could have happened. He is an impact player who can win you a match single-handedly. And now, he is missing against the very opposition against whom he got injured, the same teams he has won matches against with unbelievable performances. I think within this Pakistan squad, he was the only player you could say could turn the match around from anywhere. He was our biggest X-factor."

"So, losing your X-factor and not having another one available is, in itself, a big blow to the team. And now, you know that whoever you bring in may not have the same effect. Because Saim is still not fit, and now Fakhar is gone. We have not seen a third opener like them, and no one has a name in mind who could fill that role."

Nothing against imam he is a good test opener but he is not a limited overs player in this current pakistani team there are no x factor players all other teams have atleast 3 to 4 players who can take the game on I didn't expect this team to go far now fakhar is out tomorrow maybe the end of the road for this tournament.

Fakhar Zaman in a video posted by PCB:

"This is such a big event, and the 2017 Champions Trophy—I have great memories of that tournament. So in my mind, I was thinking that maybe this tournament is lucky for me. The 50-over format is something I really love to play—it’s my favorite format. So I had planned a lot for it... If you talk about sacrifices, we keep making them, but I had specifically put in a lot of thought and effort for this tournament."

"Even when I was recovering from my thyroid issue, the Champions Trophy was always on my mind. I started training about 10–15 days earlier than advised, even though the doctor had recommended that I take more time. And when something like this happens, especially when the team needs you, and you are unable to contribute despite trying… it becomes an emotional moment."

"I believe I am very strong because I have seen many ups and downs, but I don’t think I have ever felt the way I did in that moment. I know it shouldn’t have happened, but when the team needs you, you have to show that 'nothing is wrong' so that the confidence of others remains intact. But obviously, I couldn’t control my emotions at that time."

"Many people asked me, 'Were you in a lot of pain?' Even my son asked me, 'Were you really in pain?' The truth is, every player plays through a lot of pain. I have played with fractures before, so that’s not the issue. But in that situation, I knew that in the Champions Trophy, even a score of 192 could be difficult to chase. And the moment I got injured, I could tell from the pain that my tournament was over. That’s why it all happened."

"I do feel that if I had opened, things could have been different. Because when you have a big target to chase, the openers have the most important role. If you score well in the first 10 overs…"

"Unfortunately, I couldn’t do it. Even though I tried—I even went to the umpire and said, 'Isn’t there any way? I need some support here.' The umpire just laughed and said, 'These are the rules, we can’t do anything about it.' I said, 'But it’s just 18 minutes…'"

"I was in pain, but still, I went in to bat in the 28th over. I had fielded 22 overs just so I could open. I knew that even if I didn’t field for a single over, I would only get to bat after five wickets fell. That was in my mind. But… what can I say? What was meant to happen, happened."

"Alhamdulillah, there has been a lot of improvement in just one week. I just came from the doctor this morning, and he told me, 'You can start training in three weeks.' So, InshaAllah, I should be back within a month."

"Cricket is such a game that if you haven’t done something, you can’t really say anything. We lost the match, so I can’t say much about it. Because in cricket, sometimes you don’t expect anything, and you end up doing a lot. Other times, people expect a lot from you, but you can’t deliver."

"So, I wouldn’t want to comment on this because it’s already over. Right now, I could say, 'Oh, I would have scored 200–300 runs,' but cricket doesn’t work like that."

"I did focus on red-ball cricket. But the coach didn’t focus on me."

"I still want to play Test cricket. But coaches and captains have their own plans. And honestly, I also feel that Pakistan has better Test players than me."

"If you are chasing 150–200 runs, you play with a different mindset in ODIs. If you are chasing 350, your mindset is completely different. But yes, strike rate matters—especially nowadays, even more so."

"And for that, you have to play risky cricket. The game has become so fast, and the opposition comes with a plan. If you take risks, you can score runs, but at the same time, you can also lose your wicket."

Fakhar Zaman was not considered for either format for the tour of New Zealand on medical advice. He suffered a left lower intercostal muscle sprain during Pakistan’s ICC Champions Trophy 2025 opener against New Zealand. He is expected to be fully fit for the Pakistan Super League 10, starting in Rawalpindi on 11 April 2025.