[PICTURES] National Stadium Karachi undergoing renovation...

Ticket prices are honestly pretty high. Rs 1000 is already too high a price for the common public. I can assure you there is plenty of interest to watch the matches, there was a point when my friends and I were considering going to watch from a different city but the prices deterred us. The normal ticket shouldn't be priced more than Rs 500. Rs 4000 is a ridiculous price price for the tickets and I assure you only the elite amongst the upper class would spend so much money.

It’s no surprise that the lower priced ticket should are sold out already. We have to remember that most of these fans coming into watch the matches are middle class people. A ticket worth 4000-6000 PKR might seem reasonable to people living outside Pakistan, but is too pricey considering transport expenses.

Honestly it is a testament to how much people want to watch live cricket that people paid RS 1000 for a ticket and when through all the hassle of getting one. Anything over RS 500 is over priced.

If the conditions in Pakistan were normal and international cricket was happening regularly you'd see half the stadium empty with these prices.

Ticket prices are honestly pretty high. Rs 1000 is already too high a price for the common public. I can assure you there is plenty of interest to watch the matches, there was a point when my friends and I were considering going to watch from a different city but the prices deterred us. The normal ticket shouldn't be priced more than Rs 500. Rs 4000 is a ridiculous price price for the tickets and I assure you only the elite amongst the upper class would spend so much money.

4000 is a very reasonable for premium seats. It is much more in IPL. Lahore and Karachi are big cities and Iam sure PCB can find enough people to buy tickets at that price point. Either people are not interested or doesn't want to go through the hassle. Only reason I surprised is that some high profile event is happening in Pakistan after a long time and still people don't want to pay 4000 for a ticket. Quite surprised

In Karachi 12,000 is the price for premium seats

hits 1000, 4000, 8000 and 12000

poor journalism and knowledge

MPAs urge ICC to send more cricketers to Pakistan

LAHORE: As the city gears up for Pakistan Super League (PSL) playoff match on Tuesday (today), the treasury benches request the International Cricket Council (ICC) to send more teams to Pakistan as it is a peaceful country. On the other hand, the opposition asked the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to take strict action against those selling tickets in the black market.

The demands were put forward by two legislators Hina Pervez Butt of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Nabila Hakim Ali Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) through their resolutions submitted in the Punjab Assembly on Monday.

Hina, in her resolution, appreciated all law enforcement agencies, including the PCB and the government for organising PSL in the country successfully. Welcoming foreign cricketers, she said: “Pakistan is a peaceful and safe country for everyone.” She applauded the sacrifices of law enforcement agencies and the Pakistan Army for maintaining peace in the country.

“The PSL is a good sign, indicating the resumption of international cricket in Pakistan,” she said. The MPA added that the House requested the ICC to send more international teams to Pakistan to play cricket. “The country will ensure safety and security of the players during their stay in Pakistan.”

Talking to The Express Tribune, Butt said that the PSL was the biggest event of the country which is going to end soon. “In the near future, Pakistan will be the country where cricket teams from all the countries will come to play.”

Khan, in her resolution, complained that the business of selling black tickets is in full swing, while authorities concerned were playing the role of silent spectators.

“Selling tickets in black is not new, but it is a pity that nothing is being done to stop this practice which has truly disappointed cricket lovers. Tickets should be sold at actual prices, she added.

“PCB staff is also involved in black ticket selling. A ticket of Rs1,000 is being sold in Rs4,000, while the one of Rs4,000 is being sold for Rs8,000,” she claimed. She said the House demands the PCB take appropriate measures to stop this business and ensure distribution of tickets on actual cost. “A strict action should be taken against those selling tickets in black.”

Talking to The Express Tribune, Khan claimed that tickets were being distributed to bureaucrats and government officials rather than cricket lovers.

She said strict action should be taken against those who are allegedly involved in distributing tickets to the families of government officers and selling tickets at inflated prices.

Last year, international cricket returned to Pakistan after eight years and enthusiasts from all over the country thronged the Gaddafi Stadium to rejoice over the moment and watch the final faceoff between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators.

Amid tight security, the city wore a festive look with fans wearing shirts of the teams they were supporting.

At the time, Student Umaima Sultan, dressed up in a specially prepared purple dress with purple and golden face paint, had come to Gaddafi Stadium with her family.

“I have a bet with my brother that my team, Quetta Gladiators, will win the match. My father is also supporting me and my team while my mother is with my brother supporting Peshawar Zalmi,” she said smilingly. “There will be two battles today – one among the cricket players in the ground and the other among my family members.”

In 2017, the jubilation of cricket returning to Lahore was evident from the air of festivity. Qamar Zaman, a university scholar, was grateful to the Almighty that cricket had returned to the country after a long wait. “Pakistan has made history by hosting the PSL season II final in Lahore,” he believed. “Today’s event will prove that Pakistanis are a peaceful nation.”

Qamar added the atmosphere in the city was just like on eid day. “Whether Quetta Gladiators or Peshawar Zalmi bag the trophy, everyone is happy as Pakistan will win today,” he said.

Social Media

Last year, social media platforms, like Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, were also abuzz with the PSL final. #CricketComesHome and #PSLFinalLahore were the top trending topics in Pakistan with fans sharing match day tickets and pictures of their favourite cricket stars and cricket teams.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1664268/1-mpas-urge-icc-send-cricketers-pakistan/

Last year I paid 13,000 (25,000 Pakistani rupeees) to watch IPL match between DD and Kings 11. The stand was for about 2000 people and I can tell you every single seat was taken. But oh my god, the food,the service, the lounge was just amazing.

in any case 3,500 out of 54,000 tickets is barely 6%

Hardly will result in empty stands if 94% capacity is filled

also chance of last minute buys would probably make it a sell out

mountain out of a molehill kind of situation

Number of unsold ticket is pretty small to be honest. Don't think it's that much big of a deal. Perhaps some ppl didn't want to go through the hassle.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karachi welcomes the Pakistan Super League <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/JJAGpkzltb">pic.twitter.com/JJAGpkzltb</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/976479239053742080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

There were nice cardboard cutouts and posters of all the local and foreign players on University road(leads to the NSK) today,the road has been rebuilt and lights have been repainted and rebuilt too.

They have blocked almost all the roads coming to NSK already. I was coming to Stadium area today and it took me 45 mins instead of 10-15 and i had to walk as well in the burning heat.

Allah Karachi walon ko sabar day.

There were nice cardboard cutouts and posters of all the local and foreign players on University road(leads to the NSK) today,the road has been rebuilt and lights have been repainted and rebuilt too.

Yeah, these cardboard cutouts are nice touch. I also really liked the Ajrak design on Billboards

They have blocked almost all the roads coming to NSK already. I was coming to Stadium area today and it took me 45 mins instead of 10-15 and i had to walk as well in the burning heat.

Apparently there was a rehearsal from 1pm to 4pm.The situation is going to be really bad until 4th April.

Match is on sunday right? why have they blocked it so early?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karachi prepares for the final of the Pakistan Super League <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/BVboSHFn37">pic.twitter.com/BVboSHFn37</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/976774180078342144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

Any pictures of the stadium please?

29313882_1448080791986281_802576164664115200_n.jpg

29356904_1448080661986294_8879934864044851200_n.jpg

29313598_1448080538652973_432294634505371648_n.jpg

29314937_1448079971986363_8040801741643448320_n.jpg

29511380_2057041744324735_2145403822971813888_n.jpg

29472667_2057041697658073_2486288007091453952_n.jpg

29432990_2001816343404537_3027278290944524288_n.jpg

29511327_2001816313404540_4665896064845348864_n.jpg

By the looks of the pictures, seems an unfinished job. There seem to be no seats in big portions of the stadium. Do they expect people to just sit on concrete for 3-4 hours? Did they run out of time or just poor planning?

I'm pretty sure that is how it's always been (someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but that is how I have always remembered it on TV). Pakistan has a few stadiums where there are just concrete steps where people sit. A bit like how the Romans did it. Need to modernize these stadiums quickly!

Security dress rehearsal took place from 1pm to 4pm

oh okay. yeah that makes sense.. I am sure they will have one more on Saturday.. If any of you guys are planning to go anywhere there until Sunday, take care and plan ahead...

Sethi acknowledged that the work on the roof would not be completed on time but the demand for hosting the PSL final in Karachi was so high that they decided to host the PSL final anyways in Karachi

Kaash Karachi mein hota yaar :(
Azaab tha ticket milna.

Lines were so looong so i left and by time I went again they were sold out

If West Indies come then I'll definitely go to that

Hopefully it goes smoothly

people will set on that concrete????????
That's how it used to be in the past. Two stands or so we're just concrete steps and Very cheap tickets

I remember in the 2004 India match tickets for that stand was rs.100 (yes hundred)

That's how it used to be in the past. Two stands or so we're just concrete steps and Very cheap tickets

I remember in the 2004 India match tickets for that stand was rs.100 (yes hundred)

I think it should change now.

Azaab tha ticket milna.

I booked them on the website and saved myself the khwaari of standing in lines.

Azaab tha ticket milna.

Couldn't you get them online? Some Karachi boy was ranting on Twitter about how it took him 6 hours to get the ticket online etc.

Why would you host A Final in an incomplete Stadium. It looks so bad, looks like Zoo Barriers the roof tops.

This is Joke, atleast waited till next yr to host the final. I am against hosting final here, they should have held it in Multan stadium.

Karachi being the biggest City in Pakistan deserves better stadium quality for the fans to enjoy the final.

After the arrival of Pakistan Super League (PSL) in the Karachi, Hyderabad will be the next to host the country’s premier T20 tournament from next year, announced Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah.

“I am satisfied over the arrangements made in connection with the PSL final. I am glad over the hard work put in by the administration, However, let’s also focus on Hyderabad’s Niaz Cricket Stadium. PSL matches will also be played in Hyderabad from next year onwards.” said the CM.

While speaking to the media on the visit of National stadium, he also said law and order situation has improved in Karachi and arrangements for the PSL final have been finalized.

Meanwhile, reigning champions Peshawar Zalmi are all set to clash with Islamabad United for the PSL title on Sunday at Karachi’s National Stadium.

https://arysports.tv/psl-matches-will-also-be-played-in-hyderabad-from-next-year-cm-sindh/

So good to see the great game back in the National stadium. Pakistan's test record in the stadium in nothing short of unbelievable.

But is it just me or is the stadium in a desperate need of a facelift? Probably can afford it once we have a few more editions taking place there.

So good to see the great game back in the National stadium. Pakistan's test record in the stadium in nothing short of unbelievable.

But is it just me or is the stadium in a desperate need of a facelift? Probably can afford it once we have a few more editions taking place there.

My Friend Stadium is already under renovation and its still has 14 months before it is completed. According to Karachi Stadium Maintenance Team, Fans will see a great new stadium in the coming months.

That's great to know man! Thanks for that. Remember watching two of my favourite Pakistan games there :) Hoping it will be a world class stadium

Aray yaar match in my city after a decade and I can't be there :sree

Last time I went to watch a match this happened:

Aray yaar match in my city after a decade and I can't be there :sree

Last time I went to watch a match this happened:

Last time I went

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/KcxWAn0H4DE" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

So in a twist I am going to the match

And best thing is free tickets for the VIP box (or atleast the 12,000 ones) lmao!

Nice!If the VIP seats have a good enough view I might get one for one of the WI matches.What time are you going to the stadium?

I'm guessing leave at 1? It says to be in stadium max 4

Any reason why the roof isn't complete?

Wasn't it announced that the PSL Final would be in Karachi one year ago?

When did renovations begin?

Today was one of the most exciting and exhausting days of my life as a cricket fan.I got home like 15 mins ago.

Lol I reached the the car parking area at 3:15,fearing I would be late for the match.

I was in the stadium at 4:15.4 hour security process,whatta joke.

Dude I reached at bloody 2.30!

Got in at 530 or so. 3 freaking hours

How did it just take you one hour? (3:15 you reached car parking and 4:15 your in stadium!!!!)

I ended up going to Wasim Akram stand. 8000 wala I think
Well it was free :D So anything would have worked!

Maza agaya!

Btw from what I noticed even 1000 rs wala would have worked...

Even college football stadiums in America look better than this so called national stadium. I'm pretty sure PCB has more funds than some D1 College in America. They seriously need to build new stadiums.

Do you know how much funds D1 football programs in the US have? How much revenue they generate? Penn State sells out 100,000 plus Beaver every home game and cheapest ticket is around 40 bucks and goes upto several hundred

Did you know how much Texas or Clemson spent last year to refurbish just their locker rooms and gymnasium? Forget National stadium I doubt even Wankhede or Adelaide spend that much. You are very ignorant in this matter it seems and you don't know your stuff

Dude I reached at bloody 2.30!

Got in at 530 or so. 3 freaking hours

How did it just take you one hour? (3:15 you reached car parking and 4:15 your in stadium!!!!)
I took the shuttle service from Urdu university in Gulshan e Iqbal,where a friend resides.
I reached the area at 3:15,was checked by security and stood in line for like 20 mins.I reached University road in 5 mins.The time taken for that walk till the stadium,with security checks and all,took like 15 mins.I was fortunate enough that my gate number and enclosure had like no lines,so I was in the stadium in like 10 mins.I had some Ice cream on the way so that took more time

:rahat1

BTW it was so hot today!one of my friends got a heatstroke and fell unconscious near the food stalls.

I ended up going to Wasim Akram stand. 8000 wala I think
Well it was free :D So anything would have worked!

Maza agaya!

Btw from what I noticed even 1000 rs wala would have worked...

Haan,I was in the Waqar Hasan enclosure,the ticket was for 4k. My seat had an almost perfect view to the pitch so I thoroughly enjoyed.

aur bhai 8 ghantay seerhi pe beth kar haalat aur kharab hojati!!1k wali seats I mean.

I took the shuttle service from Urdu university in Gulshan e Iqbal,where a friend resides.
I reached the area at 3:15,was checked by security and stood in line for like 20 mins.I reached University road in 5 mins.The time taken for that walk till the stadium,with security checks and all,took like 15 mins.I was fortunate enough that my gate number and enclosure had like no lines,so I was in the stadium in like 10 mins.I had some Ice cream on the way so that took more time

BTW it was so hot today!one of my friends got a heatstroke and fell unconscious near the food stalls.

That's sweet! What enclosure?

My enclosures line was very mismanaged.

Like five lines with hundreds of people each were merging into one line at the gate. And they were checking one person at a time

And obviously idiots were breaking the line making it worse

Haan,I was in the Waqar Hasan enclosure,the ticket was for 4k.My seat had an almost perfect view to the pitch so I thoroughly enjoyed.

aur bhai 8 ghantay seerhi pe beth kar haalat aur kharab hojati!!1k wali seats I mean.
Oh ok.

I sat on seerhi for like 5-6 overs too. Since everyone from the last 3-4 rows came up since the screen was blocking tbeir view... I guess 5 overs was fine but yeah 5 hours would have been too much

From what I heard, they weren't even allowing water bottles in the stadium.

Yeo nothing. Was so thirsty when we were in line for almost two hours

Made a beeline for Pepsi stand as soon as we got in. And after having Pepsi went to the fresh juice wala stall lol

Form what I heard, they weren't even allowing water bottles in the stadium.

Yep,even when we purchased from inside the stadium area,we weren't allowed to take them with us to our seats.Jo khaana hai ya peena hai bahr karo.Although people still brought pizza in after a while..

Really no? I brought drinks inside no issues.

Khair it was fun at the end! You got lucky that not much khwari at start

Yeo nothing. Was so thirsty when we were in line for almost two hours

Made a beeline for Pepsi stand as soon as we got in. And after having Pepsi went to the fresh juice wala stall lol

It was all worth it in the end, I guess!

Things will gradually improve as Khi gets more cricket.