[PICTURES] Sarfaraz Ahmed squashes rumours of rift with Hasan Ali [Update Post #166]

it's a matter of big concern. What Hassan did today is the tip of the iceberg. If Sarfraz doesn't control himself and Pakistan loses next big series things will get very ugly.

If I say that the incident was a small one based on what I saw, 'I can read minds'.

But you know the future. :))

This is nothing but imagine what Shoaib would have done to Sarfaraz?

Haha, yes he would have chased Sarfraz off the field like the Benny Hill show.

PCB need to strongly advise Sarfraz to watch his words, some of the comments he makes openly in the field of play are embarrasing to hear.

In one of the ODI's against NZ, he shouted at the cover boundary fielder like he was a child. He told him he should be in a lot closer. What he doesn't get is its' his job to make sure the field is set correctly before the ball is bowled.

It's just a matter of time before the players rebel against him. The guy needs to clam down, he was the winning captain of the CT because of Pakistan's brilliant bowling attack, not because of his captaincy. He played one good innings with a lot of help from a Lankan fielder.

Look in the mirror , you are Sarfraz Ahmed not the reincarnation of Imran Khan.

Sarfi and Hasan are probably having chai together and laughing right now

DismalImpishClownanemonefish-max-1mb.gif

TBH you can't really see anything from
pictures. We should stop ghusing into everything.

They're probably joking and laughing with each other right now while you guys are cooking up stories. This is not the first time something like this has happened and it won't be the last. They're over it, you guys should do the same.

This. I do believe Sarfaraz overdoes it sometimes but all his team-mates understand that that's how he is and there's no malice involved.

Except Hasan isn't like any of the ttf's of the past or anything like aamir or Juanid etc etc. He's actually good and if moulded properly he could be a goat. I'd take his attitude anyday if he performs. Reminds me of a young aggressive Kohli. This is what is missing the most with the Pakistan team. Being humble and meek and thinking youre captain is God is an old 70's mentality which is exactly why opposing teams are thinking of pakistan as push overs.

Also if he we're punishing him , then its going to dent his confidence. Leave him be and Sarfaraz needs to chill a little or improve his own game before yelling at Hasan. If youre captain isnt performing then give one good reason why anyone should listen to him.

The way Hasan Ali ran in to bowl that delivery you could tell he was ****** off. I hope it's nothing big and Sarfraz knows pushing certain players buttons helps them perform better.

Sarfraz chides Hasan, after which Hasan takes a wicket? One might be forgiven for thinking this was a case of successful motivational captaincy.

This is what I warned of before. Sarfaraz needs to be wary of whom he's yelling at.

Fast bowlers don't tolerate this. They are a different breed and have a killer instinct that you don't want to trigger. When bowling at 140+ with all the blood rush, they are at their most vulnerable. Kaptaan sahab needs to stay calm and have a conversation instead of telling them what to do.

And lol at dropping Hasan. :)) Sarfaraz will be dropped before Hasan is. Pakistan will go nuts if someone like Hasan is dropped. He's Pakistan's darling right now.

You guys actually got a thread and talking over this? :broad Is say acha tha conspiracies ka bala letay. :amir2

You lot would be frothing at the mouth if somebody did this to Misbah.

Sarfaraz wipes the floor with Misbah and this is something that is not acceptable to you lovers of Misbah. Sarfaraz has more achievements in his one year of captaincy than Misbah ever had.

Sit down and have some respect.

what does this have to do with Misbah?

Actually everything. Ever since Sarfaraz replaced Misbah's poster boy, Azhar he has been on the receiving end of undue criticism from Misbah fans.

You lot are mad that his achievements have already exceeded that of Misbah (lets not even talk about Azhar).... and he is just getting started.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.272%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/uw5z4/alfxwr" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>.

Sarfraz can be so over the top sometimes. Like obviously Hasan Ali knew a wide half volley wasn't a good ball to bowl he's not dumb, he doesn't need someone to come over and tell him to correct it.

Ghusay mein ho jata hai... we all during our playing days have lost our cool during heated moments. I remember I once mouthed off at my best friend after he did a rough tackle on me in soccer. After the match it was as if it never happened.

I'm glad Saifi got the team in a huddle and fixed the situation, signs of a true leader. I would have been concerned if they didn't celebrate together.

Sarfi acts like a cartoon network....he needs to stop acting like everyone's dad. The whole shabash beta etc and yelling at players...

Lol, if you watch the clip posted toll end you would notice how initially Hasan was interested in what sarfraz has to say. As sarfraz was running towards he actually walked towards sarfraz. Then he realized that's its just the generic yelling with no constructive advice so he turned around.

Hasan Ali could habe been staring at anyone after the wicket, you can't really tell. But yeah a 5 match ban would be an appropriate punishment.

Lol, if you watch the clip posted toll end you would notice how initially Hasan was interested in what sarfraz has to say. As sarfraz was running towards he actually walked towards sarfraz. Then he realized that's its just the generic yelling with no constructive advice so he turned around.

Hasan Ali could habe been staring at anyone after the wicket, you can't really tell. But yeah a 5 match ban would be an appropriate punishment.

Hasan when he realized what was happening.

nvrmnd.gif

You can't be serious.

You sir are a joke if serious about the 5 match ban..just pathetic!

OP is being a melo-dramtic teenager...yeah, let's give Hassan a life ban or maybe just hang him and be done with the only bowler who has won us a bucket full of matches in the last 1-2 years not to forget one of the biggest ICC trophies Pak has ever won!

Actually everything. Ever since Sarfaraz replaced Misbah's poster boy, Azhar he has been on the receiving end of undue criticism from Misbah fans.

You lot are mad that his achievements have already exceeded that of Misbah (lets not even talk about Azhar).... and he is just getting started.

Exactly what are his achievement besides the Champion's Trophy? I'm now genuinely curious to what you consider as his achievements?

Sarfaraz needs to calm down, most players won't and shouldn't have to put up with his behaviour for too long,

sarfraz is a joke as a captain, dropping catches himself and always losing his cool on the field, no maturity, no planning, changing the batting order for fun, just some of the things our captain is up to

I think he is a gujjar? like shoaib so it comes naturally and he is a premium fast bowler. Captain fatty needs to drop this attitude.If he don't then don't see him lasting long

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.272%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/uw5z4/alfxwr" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>.

Note how Sarfraz doesn't even celebrate when Hasan Ali took the wicket. Instead Sarfraz puts his hands on his hips. Pathetic.

People who are seeing this from Sarfraz haven't seen Imran,Miandad or Akram as captains for Pakistan

You can have professional differences as player and captain, as long as it doesn't affect your personal relationship.

This reminds me of gully cricket matches, I used to get shouted by my captain on consecutive wides, riling the player sometimes gets the best out of them, but it has an ugly side to it as well if it starts affecting the personal relationship.

Sarfraz is treading a fine line here

People who are seeing this from Sarfraz haven't seen Imran,Miandad or Akram as captains for Pakistan

All three of them dealt with in-fighting/groupism because of their behavior.

With Wasim's being the nastiest as it destroyed PAK's chances in 2003.

Had to happen one day. Can't expect professionals being yelled at that too publicly.

If Sarfaraz doesn't chage is attitude, there will soon be a rebellion to oust him.

Learn from CAPT COOL a certain Mr. Dhoni the art of leadership

Does this even deservea thread? They are playing an international game. There will be incidents much worse than this.

Me and my best friend when playing (especially fb ). We fight like enemies. But...But..As soon as match is over we both travel on the same bike and have fun.

And for this Hassan should be dropped..Lol..Are u serious?

Moreover it's Sarfraz's mistake that he keeps yelling. Hassan is a mature bolwer. He doesn't need spoon-feeding.

Look at all the acha bachas ganging up against sarfaraz lol this passion is needed on the field.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] Waisay Jani yea saray comments dekh kar aik cheez achi tarha clear hojati hay, 95/96 kay badh walay saray kafi naram maloom hotay hain :)) :))

Back during our days there used to be interschool Karachi tourneys & on most occasions, team captains would be the biggest danda provider in the side :P - I think it's a cultural thing which is why most blokes being Punjabis cannot align themselves to the street hostility we're used to in a intense cricket game.

Difference in playing environments while coming through the ranks are I guess why this is so alien to a lot people but anyone who's played any competitive cricket in Karachi would be completely ok with this!

All three of them dealt with in-fighting/groupism because of their behavior.

With Wasim's being the nastiest as it destroyed PAK's chances in 2003.

Yes this could happen in Sarfraz's case as well, a disruptive environment.

What was the team's ranking after Misbah left and what is it now?

I asked a genuine question yet you continue to bash Misbah. Misbah is gone and is not coming back. What can happen is that we can give him a bit of respect simply due to his services to Pakistan

As far as his captaincy was concerned, Misbah was not the perfect captain. He has his share of weakness and failures but what he achieved overshadows Sarfraz's one and only achievement up till now.

When Misbah came in, the team had no direction. We had lost, the capain, vice captain and our two best bowlers. Practically, we had no business drawing against SA in 2010 or winning against the Kiwis in 2011 but thanks to you know who, we had something to hold on to. Later in his captaincy, he achieved much more than anyone would have thought after England 2010 and if you wish, I can write it down for you.

And if rankings are what you care about, then let me know when Sarfraz takes Pakistan to #1 ranking and for the sake of Pakistan cricket, I hope it happens soon.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] Waisay Jani yea saray comments dekh kar aik cheez achi tarha clear hojati hay, 95/96 kay badh walay saray kafi naram maloom hotay hain :)) :))

Back during our days there used to be interschool Karachi tourneys & on most occasions, team captains would be the biggest danda provider in the side :P - I think it's a cultural thing which is why most blokes being Punjabis cannot align themselves to the street hostility we're used to in a intense cricket game.

Difference in playing environments while coming through the ranks are I guess why this is so alien to a lot people but anyone who's played any competitive cricket in Karachi would be completely ok with this!

Trust me back in Karachi long time ago, there was this one kid who was better than all of us in cricket, so we all went to his house to beat him with weapons like charre kee gun.

I think you're right, it's about environment on how one reacts. I always played with older kids in sports so they bullied me and I used to cry and eventually I got mentally tougher after all of those years and now I'm tough as nails. It's simiilar to Sarfraz and Hasan because the latter is the younger one so they naturally are aggressive towards him, but I think this helps Hasan's competitive edge because he now has another reason to bowl well. As we saw in the next ball, the extra motivation resulted in a wicket. Sometimes danda treatment helps.

this is very natural from hasan ali, players need respect and Sarfaraz has to do that.

Even though i dont watch cricket anymore, i`m not against Sarfraz being captain.

I think this series loss was his first series loss, and critics have been hard on him. EVery now and then 1 or 2 series losses are expected.

however, i dont like the way he goes shouting after his players every now and then. Needs to treat his players with maturity.

and no his achievements have not exceed misbah`s :)

Petty thread tbh. Talk about making a mountain out of a molehill.

Drop your best fast bowler for showing passion lol

Trek hai bacha , sahey hai bucha , Acha bacha,. This is seniors applauding there team mate's . They are adults and your fellow team members/mates not youre bloody children

This is my issue with seniors and our culture ,. You have to show them respect as lala brother uncle,.

You are not at home playing gully cricket you are playing for your country alongside adults

You must 1st give respect to earn ones respect

Trek hai bacha , sahey hai bucha , Acha bacha,. This is seniors applauding there team mate's . They are adults and your fellow team members/mates not youre bloody children

This is my issue with seniors and our culture ,. You have to show them respect as lala brother uncle,.

You are not at home playing gully cricket you are playing for your country alongside adults

You must 1st give respect to earn ones respect

This giving and taking respect, senior culture is the exact reason for all this mess in Pakistan Cricket Team.

Get over it guys, seriously.

I am pretty sure the players don't care anymore. No need to make a mountain out of a molehill.

Also, if you have played the game yourself competitively you know this is a nothing deal.

Both were wrong in their reaction.

Anyway, I am sure Hasan and Sarfraz would have solved their issues after the match, so we don't need to worry.

It's obviously because straight away Hasan glared at him and did the celebration so Sarfaraz was taken aback.

I know some may have a conspiracy theory up their sleeves that Sarfaraz doesn't want Hasan to take wickets and was unhappy. :yk2

An entirely over-hyped incident, promoted by some very well-known figures in the media who have their own nefarious agendas.

If it becomes a recurring them, it might be something to worry about. But for me, it currently isn't.

Am I the only one that thinks that this is a stroke of genius from Sarfraz, who knows how to press Hasan Ali's buttons?

The huddle at the end suggests that there is nothing in it whatsoever. People have made mountains out of a mole-hill...

Hassan should also run up to Sarfaraz and motivate him every time he drops a regulation catch.

Sarfraz looked a bit scared after that wicket. He looked like a kid who got mugged.

Nobody likes being humiliated in public. Sarfraz could have shown his disappointment in a better way.

Its simple actually, if you like being tough and aggressive then you should accept to receive the same in return as well.

Both were wrong to do so on camera. Sarfraz was the first to over react which he always do. But hasan should be careful as he has a long way to go. He is still fairly new and not in a strong position yet to pick up a fight with captain/seniors.

Now to all sarfraz haters:
The guy has been captioning since ages and believe it or not, it only brought success to pak either in under 19, regional, or international.
I can understand akmal fans frustration against sarfraz and can only say that it hurts them whenever he perform or pak team perform under his captaincy.

Both were wrong to do so on camera. Sarfraz was the first to over react which he always do. But hasan should be careful as he has a long way to go. He is still fairly new and not in a strong position yet to pick up a fight with captain/seniors.

Now to all sarfraz haters:
The guy has been captioning since ages and believe it or not, it only brought success to pak either in under 19, regional, or international.
I can understand akmal fans frustration against sarfraz and can only say that it hurts them whenever he perform or pak team perform under his captaincy.

Just because someone criticizes Sarfaraz's actions does not make them Akmal fans. That's kindergarten logic.

Hassan should also run up to Sarfaraz and motivate him every time he drops a regulation catch.

How many catches he dropped on this tour?

Lets go back to Kamran Akmal and his three catch drops per match. We were doing so good with him weren't we.

How many catches he dropped on this tour?

Lets go back to Kamran Akmal and his three catch drops per match. We were doing so good with him weren't we.

Dude, Kamran wasn't going on and berating all the players in the team. I would have personally suffocated him after what he did in the NZ WC match However, as I mentioned before, just because someone was worse doesn't mean we can not criticize someone else. No one is above criticism and there must be checks and balances in place for EVERYONE. Try not to think too emotionally.

I'm not getting emotional.... I just asked how many he dropped in the series and then you went on a whole rant.

I can only think of one catch that Sarfaraz dropped in the first ODI. Even ATG keepers like Dhoni/Gilchrist used to drop from time to time. Yes Sarfaraz's performance has been shoddy and his fitness even worse but you lot are making it seem that Sarfaraz is the worst cricketer we have ever had play for us.

Even if Sarfaraz was wrong, Hasan crossed the line. No captain in any sport would tolerate dirty looks from a team mate that too from a junior player. Managment should talk to him or else he will soon turn into Shoaib Akhtar.

Hassan saw this thread, "injured" himself while playing football and dropped himself from the next game

People complain about seniors being in the team and asking why can't they just be thrown out of the team whilst trying to say Hasan should respect his elders and he is a loose cannon that needs to be controlled after giving a stare to his captain. It is just a fast bowler showing his aggression in the heat of the moment, nothing major.

People saying he should be disciplined for wanting to go back to his mark without being complained at by his captain. He knew he bowled a bad ball and didn't need his captain to come down and tell him what he did wrong. He is young but he is an Intl. Bowler with an incredible 2017 behind him who knows what he is doing. That being said though, Sarfraz's aggression is what makes his captaincy and his passion shouldn't be toned down as he is there to motivate them even though it may come across as a bit annoying. Loved his reaction at the end of the 3rd T20 and the NZ commentators also loved watching him throughout this tour.

Sarfraz is an extremely interesting character for me.

He screams, shouts, throws tantrums, scolds his players as if they are 5 etc. etc. however, he still seems to have the respect and backing of all the players in his team. This is very interesting, and honestly, surprising to see.

I think a lot of this comes down to the fact that he does come down hard when something goes wrong, however, he equally appreciates the effort of the guys when they do something right. He will cheer on the bowlers when they are doing well, he will run all the way to the boundary when a fielder puts in a good effort (look at when Nawaz stopped the 6 in the 2nd T20), he will keep the team together (just look at the team huddle he called after the spat with Hassan Ali) etc. etc.

The bottom line is - I’ve always said that he needs to calm down and control his emotions - however, the fact is that if the players are happy with his behaviour and how he is running the team AND they are getting the results, then who are we to sit outside the team and complain?

If at some stage he stops getting results then the fans can complain about his methods or if the team turn on him - well then he’s only got himself to blame.

You should lookup how Wasim gave to Waqar, or how Imran gave to the whole team, Miandad , Rashid latief list goes on even, Afridi shaped Akmal in UAE gave him a black eye after taking wickets. Heat of the moment. Sarfraz trying to create standards we need to stop playing like #10 ranked team.

I firstly I want to say I love Hassan Ali, he is a great character and want him to succeed. We need to look in the background and see does it hurt the player himself who does disciplinary offences and have them ignored?
I feel it would benefit Hassan Ali more than Sarfaraz, that Hassan is dropped and treated strictly by the team management. IT might develop a grudge but it will also increase his hunger to come back in the team and would try to avoid such a behaviour again.

There are 2 prime examples of wasted talent who were ignored by a more meek captain and an unstable adhoc board, Umar Akmal and Shoaib Akhtar.

Shoaib Akhtar had a televised spat with Woolmer in 2007 South Africa in the dressing room, whatever the reason might be board took it lightly and the indecisive captain at the time Inzamam ignored it as excuse as their is no replacement. Shoaib Akhtar later that year got involved in another fight where he hit Asif with the bat and was sent home for doing another disciplinary offence. Akhtar's disciplinary and other issues continued with his failed drugs tests and he could'nt even play 50 tests or take 200 wickets, in his 15 year career.

When Kamran Akmal was dropped for dropping many catches and the Sydney Test in 2009/10, board decided to drop himto replace with a new keeper Sarfaraz Ahmed. Umar Akmal made a fake injury to request unavailability for the game a blackmail in a way to the team management. As the captain was Inzi duplicate Mohammad Yousuf , Umar played the match and got away with it. He repeated his actions and our pathetic Pakistani media started to use his dramas as news reports for ratings. Umar Akmal remained a burden on the team till 2016. Now check where is Sarfaraz and where he is.

Shoaib Malik was banned for a year in 2010 after the revelations surfaced of the revolt he undertook alongwith Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal, Afridi against Younis Khan in 2009 but by that time that damage was done.

3 Pakistani players were caught spotfixing in England series and were jailed. He was brought back in 2014 replacing a better performing player Fawad Alam and one can see over the years how he has performed even being hte oldest player in the side with 18 years experience.

We have a very unstable, corrupt system and a weak adhoc board with a selfish, manipulative media which star players use to their benefit and have given only damage to themselves and Pakistan cricket.
A country that produced Saeed Anwar and Miandad have had no batsman for a decade for any youngster to look upto.

With a biased chief selector Inzamam looking out for senior players interest, Mickey Arthur is actually managing our team.

What ECB did to Stokes was ruthless but the right thing for the 10 other players to give them a lesson and helpedtheir careers, anything can be ignored but disciplinary offenses won't be. Imran Khan is still a great because he threw out much better player than all Akmals combined like Qasim Umar Qadir out of the team as they misbehaved. He threw out his cousin Majid Khan for Mansoor Akhtar as he did'nt perform and set the same precedent ahead to bring Aaqib and Waqar, Aamir Sohail, Mushtaq Ahmed in the side replace with WaseemHaider, Abdul Qadir, etc.. Whereas Miandad is'nt great captain destroyed his own captaincy by keeping his favorite and the one he discovered Wasim Akram in the side.

There is a time and place for over the top discipline, leadership doesn’t come naturally to our captains least of all sarfraz. At 118/6 needing 202 with 5 overs to go (if I am reading it right), it was hardly a dire situation where he needed to mouth of straight away. He continues doing this, the end result will be that people will loose any respect for him.