[PICTURES/VIDEOS] A case for Sharjeel Khan: no sense to keep him out of the side

The guys they would probably accept are Haseebullah and Abdullah Shafique for wholesomeness

It’s the average and beautiful run tally, blessed by the one and only Misbah Ul Haq University

This champions tournament is like an exhibition game , yet some people are dying over these performances, merit and accountability has to be restored in Pakistan cricket , picking somebody on popular demand should not be encouraged.

What’s his recent domestic record?
Can’t bring a player due to 8 year old performances, might as well bring Imran Nazir, Afridi etc back
His recent List A record is actually superb.

Highest strike rate in both Pakistan and Presidents Cup at 50 + average.

If he is selected in the ODI team , it'll be on merit.

Pakistan can't afford to have stringent fitness standards considering the talent drought :inti

So we keep going with Babar and Rizwan?
No Babar and Rizwan should be told to go back to Domestics and sort out their game. In case of Babar he even needs to work big time on his fitness. Rizwan is an actor and does not even him self know what he is.

Bhai, what harm is there in trying Sharjeel and Fakhar as your openers?

How is he worth looking at?

does no one care about the prosperity of Pakistan Cricket?

If I was 20/22 years old and grinding it out in domestic with some performances behind me I would be absolutely demoralised if a 30+ year old got selected on that back of zilch and that too in T20 cricket...

Conversely, what sort of example does it set for up and coming youngsters?
I agree with you in principle. Can you please give me examples of any 20/22 year olds out there who have had 2-3 good domestic seasons?

Pakistan can't afford to have stringent fitness standards considering the talent drought :inti

I’ve seen him in far worse shape, he has been putting in the work behind the scenes and this is his ideal condition, he has been spending long periods at the crease to playing some big knocks so the fitness is there. Rohit isn’t exactly a body builder either but his appearance can be deceiving. Neither of these blokes are Azam Khan, but that is being propagated by people who want to keep the Babar Riz gravy train moving.

That was my dream 2-3 years ago.

I will simply ask you a simple question though.

Why is it so hard for Sharjeel to lose 5-8 kg from his body fat? I mean common man, if somebody challenges me, i swear I as an old lazy accountant can do that in 3 weeks.

You are asking us all these questions, but you are not asking Sharjeel to do the most basic thing a sportsperson is supposed to do.

Sharjeel’s sixes were not sixes anywhere? I admit the bowling isn’t international standard but it looks a bit like the bowling against which Babar and Rizwan score 50s against
Bowling was bad bro come on don't stretch things to this extent.

Below club level. Sharjeel should push his agents to get him into the Canada League, SLPL or BPL to make some money and build up his rep if he isn't getting a fair chance in Pakistan.

He has set his sights too low with this retired player thing.

Why is it so hard for Sharjeel to lose 5-8 kg from his body fat? I mean common man, if somebody challenges me, I can do that in 3 weeks.

You are asking us all these questions, but you are not asking Sharjeel to do the most basic thing a sportsperson is supposed to do
But Sharjeel did lose weight? There was a report that he lost 10+ Kg going around a few months ago. It is unfair to say that the guy doesn’t care. He’s doing what he can. Although I am not a big fan of natural batsmen changing the balance of their body+Rhythm by drastically losing weight. It doesn’t suit some players and it can affect their natural game.

Just for the sake of aesthetics, the guy still has put in the hard work.

I feel Pak cricket needs to look ahead and make a new start. No more Babar, Fakhar or any one who was part of that horror show during the T20 WC.

FZ could have achieved so much more, but guess it just never happened for him due to several reasons.

I’ve seen him in far worse shape, he has been putting in the work behind the scenes and this is his ideal condition, he has been spending long periods at the crease to playing some big knocks so the fitness is there. Rohit isn’t exactly a body builder either but his appearance can be deceiving. Neither of these blokes are Azam Khan, but that is being propagated by people who want to keep the Babar Riz gravy train moving.

Yep. Sharjeel is a stand and deliver type batsman like Rohit . His game was never based on building an innings with singles and twos .

He doesn't need that level of fitness and conditioning that a peak Kohli had

If he has performed in domestic 50 overs, I dont see why he shouldn't be selected for the ODI's in Australia.

Forget Bobs and Rizzy. He's bound to be better than Imam ul Fraud at atleast.

Bowling was tuttee bro come on don't stretch things to this extent.

Below club level. Sharjeel should push his agents to get him into the Canada League, SLPL or BPL to make some money and build up his rep if he isn't getting a fair chance in Pakistan.

He has set his sights too low with this retired player thing.

Every ball still takes smacking you need skill to belt the ball that way, and the bowling was about USA levels. Ignoring these tournaments, he has been scoring in domestic cricket and should be considered for ODI’s with the Champions Trophy in mind which is the next big ICC tournament

But Sharjeel did lose weight? There was a report that he lost 10+ Kg going around a few months ago. It is unfair to say that the guy doesn’t care. He’s doing what he can. Although I am not a big fan of natural batsmen changing the balance of their body+Rhythm by drastically losing weight. It doesn’t suit some players and it can affect their natural game.

Just for the sake of aesthetics, the guy still has put in the hard work.
I understand the importance of body weight and links with strength. I was referring to body fat around his belly. With a little bit of hard work & discipline, Sharjeel can replace his fat with muscles and become better and stronger.

I agree with you in principle. Can you please give me examples of any 20/22 year olds out there who have had 2-3 good domestic seasons?
Well we're talking about T20's and have party of time before the next World Cup. Plenty of time to try out youngsters rather then 30+ hasbeens

Bowling was bad bro come on don't stretch things to this extent.
Yes it was. But you have two choices as a batter in any form of cricket:

1. Either let the crap settle down and get the best of what they can offer

2. Or smash the crap straight away and let it remain that way.

Sharjeel was going after these rubbish bowlers from ball 1. He didn’t wait to settle in himself. They were bowling OK to Kamran Akmal initially but Sharjeel was wrecking their bowling figures. That’s the kind of mentality you need, which we all know is lacking in Pakistan as a nation at all levels. They allow all kinds of bowlers to gain the upper hand against them with their timid approach.

I am pretty sure that this bowling attack of Anureet, RP Singh, Negi, Harbajhan etc in an crunch ICC game against the current Pakistan XI would not allow them to score 170 batting first. Can you deny this?

Too bad the Saya Group can’t monopolise the List A domestic tournaments in Pakistan

In this champions tournament regardless off the bowling and being skilful enough to display 360 lofting range, you need good fitness and composure to deliver before a 20k crowd, it’s not anything like other games, you’re going to feel the pace a lot more

I feel Pak cricket needs to look ahead and make a new start. No more Babar, Fakhar or any one who was part of that horror show during the T20 WC.
In essence yes bro.

But I just feel you can give this pair one chance. The World Cup in 2026 will be played in India. You can give yourself the best opportunity with two guys who are capable of hitting 40 ball tons on those wickets from ball 1.

I love Saim and Harris, but just for now I would go with these two (Fakhar and Sharjeel)

Yep. Sharjeel is a stand and deliver type batsman like Rohit . His game was never based on building an innings with singles and twos .

He doesn't need that level of fitness and conditioning that a peak Kohli had

If he has performed in domestic 50 overs, I dont see why he shouldn't be selected for the ODI's in Australia.

Forget Bobs and Rizzy. He's bound to be better than Imam ul Fraud at atleast.
Rohit is a legend of Indian Cricket who has been performing for for his country for over 15 years... an exception to the rule...

Well we're talking about T20's and have party of time before the next World Cup. Plenty of time to try out youngsters rather then 30+ hasbeens

All youngsters like Chacha should be treated equally, no issues with his meal ticket

I think Sharjeel if given a chance can smash the best bowlers all around the park like he did before his ban

In essence yes bro.

But I just feel you can give this pair one chance. The World Cup in 2026 will be played in India. You can give yourself the best opportunity with two guys who are capable of hitting 40 ball tons on those wickets from ball 1.

I love Saim and Harris, but just for now I would go with these two (Fakhar and Sharjeel)
Then give them 5 to 10 games together and see how they perform.

Catastrophe, Rohit Sharma and Sharjeel Khan in same sentence. Insanity has no limits

Yes. His innings against Ireland was outstanding as well.
Too bad frauds and cheats have taken over our cricket.
I mean Inzi and Ranatunga were overweight too. Rohit Sharma also
Brother, I understand you are suffering. Sarcasm doesn’t suit you.

Be patient. Wait for a series against NZ b/c side or PSL. Babar and Rizwan will be back as the best batsmen in the world. You can be your natural self by then.

Catastrophe, Rohit Sharma and Sharjeel Khan in same sentence. Insanity has no limits
No you understand how it feels when you compare Babar and Rizwan with Kohli+Sharma

In fact, I can pull up threads where people claim Rizwan is the best keeper+Batter in the world, claiming he is better than DeQock, Klaasen, Butler, Gurbaz, Pant, Salt.

I understand the importance of body weight and links with strength. I was referring to body fat around his belly. With a little bit of hard work & discipline, Sharjeel can replace his fat with muscles and become better and stronger.
He clobbers the ball. How hard do you want him to hit the ball? Smash the ball from Birmingham to Manchester? He belts it the hardest in Pakistan

I want him to run faster when taking singles and doubles, have a better stamina when batting and also on the field. You see I always think big. I dont want to restrict Sharjeel to mickey mouse cricket. I also see him as a potential for 50 over/ red ball cricket.

If David Warner can become a test opener then Sharjeel can too (by Pakistani current standards of course).

Who would you tune in middle of the night playing test cricket. Sharjeel or Imam?

Rohit is a legend of Indian Cricket who has been performing for for his country for over 15 years... an exception to the rule...

Pakistan carried a guy like Imam in the ODI side whose game against pace/short balls was woeful.

Might as well play a guy who actually has quite a bit of ability against pace and does not start bricking it the moment pacers shorten their lengths.

This champions tournament is like an exhibition game , yet some people are dying over these performances, merit and accountability has to be restored in Pakistan cricket , picking somebody on popular demand should not be encouraged.
IKR, i wonder why babar was made captain. It's not like he was popular and being used as a marketing propaganda as pakistan's answer to Kohli.

Are people really taking these performances seriously?! He's playing against guys who retired years ago!
I wish you guys had seen me play football against the old guys at my work. I was running rings around them, granted most of them were nearly two decades older than me but I could imagine you would have been pushing for Barcelona to sign me on the number of goals I scored! 🤣

Are people really taking these performances seriously?! He's playing against guys who retired years ago!
I wish you guys had seen me play football against the old guys at my work. I was running rings around them, granted most of them were nearly two decades older than me but I could imagine you would have been pushing for Barcelona to sign me on the number of goals I scored! 🤣
To be fair Sharjeel was a leading run scorer at domestic level recently as @Rana sahab has reminded us.

But if you noticed all the Pakistan international players didn't play in this tournament and there were a lot of other senior players missing.

I think even Sharjeel realises his career at the top level is over, if he's now playing in retirement leagues. He only played domestic cricket recently so if he wasn't dominating in this league I would be really surprised.

But if you noticed all the Pakistan international players didn't play in this tournament and there were a lot of other senior players missing.

I think even Sharjeel realises his career at the top level is over, if he's now playing in retirement leagues. He only played domestic cricket recently so if he wasn't dominating in this league I would be really surprised.
Would you back Sharjeel if he gives one more good season in domestic cricket though? As I understand the cricket board has finally realised to make it mandatory for seniors to play in domestic cricket.

I want Sharjeel not just to score runs but also be fit enough to pass the yo-yo test which is being mandated going forward.

Would you back Sharjeel if he gives one more good season in domestic cricket though? As I understand the cricket board has finally realised to make it mandatory for seniors to play in domestic cricket.

I want Sharjeel not just to score runs but also be fit enough to pass the yo-yo test which is being mandated going forward.
Why not. Sharjeel can prove his worth in domestic season and I would back him for one more chance. But Not on the basis of this league having bunch of oldies.

Sharjeel should give a hard push for one last time in domestics and smash all bowlers.

Looking at pictures of him, I doubt he will play much more domestic cricket if fitness is prioritised. If all senior players are forced to play domestic cricket and he gets a chance against them it would be interesting to see if he can perform but TBH, realistically, he will struggle IMHO.

No you understand how it feels when you compare Babar and Rizwan with Kohli+Sharma

In fact, I can pull up threads where people claim Rizwan is the best keeper+Batter in the world, claiming he is better than DeQock, Klaasen, Butler, Gurbaz, Pant, Salt.
If only Sharjeel was as determined as you guys, all will be perfect.

Babar is not at the level of Kohli but still naming them in same breath is not that ludicrous as Rohit and Sharjeel

IKR, i wonder why babar was made captain. It's not like he was popular and being used as a marketing propaganda as pakistan's answer to Kohli.
Babar was made because SSA had fitness issues and that was a hasty decision. Again this debate is about the intricacies of Sharjeel' s career

I suggest to keep your conversation to Sharjeel. Babar, rizwan and captaincy talk is not for this thread.

Why not. Sharjeel can prove his worth in domestic season and I would back him for one more chance. But Not on the basis of this league having bunch of oldies.

Sharjeel should give a hard push for one last time in domestics and smash all bowlers.

Imran Khan sr
Ihsanullah
Abbas Afridi
Arshad Iqbal

Who??

I suggest to keep your conversation to Sharjeel. Babar, rizwan and captaincy talk is not for this thread.
Objection your honour!

How can I build a case for Sharjeel to be back in the national side without comparing or mentioning Babar and Rizwan who are the national team openers?

Imran Khan sr
Ihsanullah
Abbas Afridi
Arshad Iqbal

Who??
The whole argument is about averages.

We want 70 of 60 and get 140 as long as babar and rizwan get their superman 50 so that we can mock the rest of the team and say hahaha the rest of the team failed.

God forbid a 244 total is reached because an entire team plays collectively in a team game.

Objection your honour!

How can I build a case for Sharjeel to be back in the national side without comparing or mentioning Babar and Rizwan who are the national team openers?
By comparing them instead of just talking about Babar and rizwan and who should be captain and why babar was made captain etc.

Hope you got it?

By comparing them instead of just talking about Babar and rizwan and who should be captain and why babar was made captain etc.

Hope you got it?
But the issue is Misbah is the reason why babar and rizwan are opening and not sharjeel and fakhar post 2020.

Misbah in a single series never even bothered to try sharjeel and fakhar opening when both were in the same squad?

After that Babar was made captain and he's a part of the reason sharjeel is kept out and fakhar is at 4.

Talks about misbah, Babar and his captaincy and Rizwan will naturally come on and about.

A balls to six comparison of 4 T20 openers in Pakistan:

1. Babar Azam
-8462 balls faced
-206 sixes hit

@41 balls per six

2. Muhammad Rizwan
-6325 balls faced
-215 sixes hit

@29.4 balls per six

3. Sharjeel Khan
-2683 balls faced
-187 sixes hit

@14.3 balls per six

4. Fakhar Zaman
-4843 balls faced
-252 sixes hit

@19.2 balls per six

Make your own judgement.

Imran Nazir in his short T20 career:

-1707 balls faced
-121 sixes hit

@14 balls per six

Imran Nazir rates Sharjeel as the Imran Nazir of this era.

Imran Khan sr
Ihsanullah
Abbas Afridi
Arshad Iqbal

Who?

A balls to six comparison of 4 T20 openers in Pakistan:

1. Babar Azam
-8462 balls faced
-206 sixes hit

@41 balls per six

2. Muhammad Rizwan
-6325 balls faced
-215 sixes hit

@29.4 balls per six

3. Sharjeel Khan
-2683 balls faced
-187 sixes hit

@14.3 balls per six

4. Fakhar Zaman
-4843 balls faced
-252 sixes hit

@19.2 balls per six

Make your own judgement.
Thankfully cricket does not work this way singling out selective data, overall package Babar Azam still tops this lot.

The main point is how to get Sharjeel Khan into national team because rest of the guys Babar Rizwan and Fakhar are accomplished players, whereas Sharjeel on the other hand is racing against time and therefore opting for retired leagues

Thankfully cricket does not work this way singling out selective data, overall package Babar Azam still tops this lot.

The main point is how to get Sharjeel Khan into national team because rest of the guys Babar Rizwan and Fakhar are accomplished players, whereas Sharjeel on the other hand is racing against time and therefore opting for retired leagues
Use selective data to discredit it?

I could have used international stats too but that wouldn’t be fair on Sharjeel who hasn’t played 1/4th or the amount of international cricket Fakhar, Babar and Rizwan have.

@Kianig89 why don’t you produce data of singles and doubles taken by Babar and Rizwan in powerplays and death overs to prove Sharjeel isn’t an international T20 batsman?

Does this overall package include 2022 wc and 2024 wc as well?

@Kianig89 why don’t you produce data of singles and doubles taken by Babar and Rizwan in powerplays and death overs to prove Sharjeel isn’t an international T20 batsman?
Rather trying to establish that Sharjeel was given chances by four different captains excluding Misbah but still he failed to grab his opportunity also the spot fixing incident literally ruined his whatever small and futile international career

Not rizwan, Remember everyone knows The standards for people like butler, Quinton are very low.

So rizwan has no standards to compare. He's automatic selection.

Does this overall package include 2022 wc and 2024 wc as well?
Is Babar Azam only responsible for Pakistan WC exit in 2024 , there were 10 more players also ,again you are derailing the thread why not advise Sharjeel to improve his fitness and work on strike rotation and off side game

Not rizwan, Remember everyone knows The standards for people like butler, Quinton are very low.

So rizwan has no standards to compare. He's automatic selection.
Muhammad haris might have dethroned Rizwan but for some unknown reasons selectors did not picked him was it Rizwan fault , Gary Kirsten is a veteran I'm sure he will not have developed any likes or dislikes so early

Is Babar Azam only responsible for Pakistan WC exit in 2024 , there were 10 more players also ,again you are derailing the thread why not advise Sharjeel to improve his fitness and work on strike rotation and off side game
No but he's responsible for selecting this team.

2023 was entirely his team excluding fakhar who he had to take, 2024 was the only team where he had to make compromises for Imad, Amir and Abrar.

But it's not like he really compromised.

Also don't say unknown reason, I'll give you the answer. It's only 2 words

WAHAB RIAZ.

Muhammad haris might have dethroned Rizwan but for some unknown reasons selectors did not picked him was it Rizwan fault , Gary Kirsten is a veteran I'm sure he will not have developed any likes or dislikes so early
When did Rizwan get a crown? Don't you need to be a king to get a throne?

Rizwan is no Adam Gilchrist neither is Sharjeel Matthew Hayden , so why compare Rizwan with QDK or Buttler. The circumstances in Pakistan cricket are different, Rizwan comparison are Azamkhan and Haris and Haseebullah etc.

Whether Rizwan can develop his game like Buttler or Klassen is a different question, yet unlike Sharjeel he did not axed his feet by doing spot fixing and remaining over weight

I'm not from Saya Corp to PR for Rizbar, rather trying to establish that Sharjeel was given chances by four different captains excluding Misbah but still he failed to grab his opportunity also the spot fixing incident literally ruined his whatever small and futile international career
Can you explain what was Mukhtar Ahmed’s mistake?

-6 T20i matches
-2 x 50s
-sr of 143
-Average of 32

What’s wrong with these numbers? Why wasn’t he given a long run? Can you please explain how Pakistan cricket functions?

To be honest bro, you bring in Babar & Rizwan even if the thread was about Shane Warne. 🤣
I would because some clowns here are likely to argue only Babar and Rizwan are capable of tackling Shane Warne in this team.

No but he's responsible for selecting this team.

2023 was entirely his team excluding fakhar who he had to take, 2024 was the only team where he had to make compromises for Imad, Amir and Abrar.

But it's not like he really compromised.

Also don't say unknown reason, I'll give you the answer. It's only 2 words

WAHAB RIAZ.
What were replacements for Shadab Iftikhar etc now don't throw in 4 or 5 random rookies, nobody takes 4 or 5 rookies to WC.
Thread getting derailed but it is very difficult for you to understand why Germany still went with Kroos in euros when they had alot of talented players because it was team composition and maximising output which matters
Pepe played Euros at 41

What were replacements for Shadab Iftikhar etc now don't throw in 4 or 5 random rookies, nobody takes 4 or 5 rookies to WC.
Thread getting derailed but it is very difficult for you to understand why Germany still went with Kroos in euros when they had alot of talented players because it was team composition and maximising output which matters
Pepe played Euros at 41
Oh bhai Shadab=Kroos?

Kya Kar raha hai yaar!

Using your own analogies , Rohit = Sharjeel
My analogies? I didn’t say Rohit=Sharjeel. It was @Nikhil_cric who used Sharjeel’s batting approach as a comparison with Rohit’s stand and deliver style. It’s a fair comparison. Every team has a player/opener like this.

India: Rohit
England: Salt/Butler
SA: QDQ
NZ: Fin Allen
SL: Kusal Perera
AFG: Gurbaz
West Indies: Johnson Charles
Ireland: Stirling
USA: Steven Taylor
Canada: Aaron Johnson
Scotland: George Munsey

It’s a very fair comment. On the other hand, what made you compare Kroos with Shadab? How are the two similar?

My analogies? I didn’t say Rohit=Sharjeel. It was @Nikhil_cric who used Sharjeel’s batting approach as a comparison with Rohit’s stand and deliver style. It’s a fair comparison. Every team has a player/opener like this.

India: Rohit
England: Salt/Butler
SA: QDQ
NZ: Fin Allen
SL: Kusal Perera
AFG: Gurbaz
West Indies: Johnson Charles
Ireland: Stirling
USA: Steven Taylor
Canada: Aaron Johnson
Scotland: George Munsey

It’s a very fair comment. On the other hand, what made you compare Kroos with Shadab? How are the two similar?
Selectors has no choice the other option was Nawaz

Every ball still takes smacking you need skill to belt the ball that way, and the bowling was about USA levels. Ignoring these tournaments, he has been scoring in domestic cricket and should be considered for ODI’s with the Champions Trophy in mind which is the next big ICC tournament
Bowling was very very poor. 3rd XI club cricket level.

But yeah if he scores in domestic he shouldn't be ignored for the upcoming trophy.

If the selectors think he is good enough they should start to include him now in camps and matches so he isn't burdened with pressure.

This current era of Eugene fans deserve humiliation after humiliation for not learning. How many more embarassing defeats will you take before you change your BabarRiz wiring.

@Rana Is right, the current team doesn’t deserve support and especially with its toxic fans who blindly worship it.

Bowling was very very poor. 3rd XI club cricket level.

But yeah if he scores in domestic he shouldn't be ignored for the upcoming trophy.

If the selectors think he is good enough they should start to include him now in camps and matches so he isn't burdened with pressure.

Yeah plus can’t have him there and the cake cutting gang giving him dirties constantly

Your other post got deleted in which you claimed Pakistan management had no choice but to resort back to Nawaz instead of Shadab if it came to it.

You did say that right?

Pepe played Euros at 41
Shadab replacements = Salman Agha who can bat and bowl better.

For Chacha: Tayyab Tahir

If he’s the best performing opener in domestics then might as well give him a chance.

He is the 6th highest run scorer. Husain Talat and Kamran Ghulam deserve more than Sharjeel according to this cup.

a4xFp1m.png

3rd highest scorer after Saim and Shan and also check the strike rates.
TztywSN.png
You are ignoring his strike rate.