[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Babar Azam’s failures against India

Let’s be honest here.

Some of the MoM’s were just default options because there was no clear single performer.

1992 - no standout performance, let’s give it to the kid

2011 - if I was Tendulkar, I’d give that MoM medal back, dropped 5 times and overall a pretty slow and poor innings. Should have gone to one of the bowlers because defending 260 in India is matchwinning (aided obviously by Misbah who should have got an honorable mention)
In my opinion, the MoM for the 2011 game should have been Raina. On paper, 36 isn’t a big score but that cameo was better than most half-centuries.

In spite of Tendulkar’s knock, India were on the ropes at 200/6 when Dhoni was finished and he added vital 60 runs with the tail that proved to be defining in the context of the game.

India could have been bundled for 230-240 without him which Pakistan could have chased in spite of the self-destruction with the bat.

You see when you ask Indian fans for memorable Tendulkar knocks vs Pakistan, all they have is 2003 WC. You can even expand beyond the WC, but 2003 WC is the beginning and end of the list, and Tendulkar was a 'MRF Genius' player. I would say Tendulkar was tamed by Pakistan amd got lucky in 2003. Not even Tendulkar's knock in 2011 Mohali SF makes the list cos he was dropped 5 times.

Babar has the opportunity in this WC, but for you to call him a bottle job, after only 5 ODIs against India, is just remarkable.
If 2003 is all they have for Tendulkar vs Pakistan in ODIs, then Pakistani fans have nothing as far as Babar is concerned.

The 2003 knock is worth a dozen knocks. It was that good. That impactful. Totally owned Pakistani bowlers.

Babar has done nothing in ODIs against India and if we take both ODIs and T20Is into consideration, he has only one significant knock in 11-12 attempts.

Babar is the best batsman in the world and India’s bowling is poor, so if that were true, then the only explanation for the best batsman in the world failing with flying colors over and over.

Surely, the best batsman in the world should not be failing so consistently against a poor attack.

“They cannot play him” should be reintroduced as “he cannot play them” in reference to Babar’s embarrassing record against India.

India showed Shaheen his level in the Asia Cup but let’s see if Babar can respond and show India their level on October 15.

Personally I don’t think it will happen. He will probably get outclassed by Kohli yet again who owns Pakistan.

If 2003 is all they have for Tendulkar vs Pakistan in ODIs, then Pakistani fans have nothing as far as Babar is concerned.

The 2003 knock is worth a dozen knocks. It was that good. That impactful. Totally owned Pakistani bowlers.

Babar has done nothing in ODIs against India and if we take both ODIs and T20Is into consideration, he has only one significant knock in 11-12 attempts.

It gets funnier because the narrative throughout this period has been that Babar is the best batsman in the world and India’s bowling is poor, so if that were true, then the only explanation for the best batsman in the world failing with flying colors over and over again is that he is bottling it.

Surely, the best batsman in the world should not be failing so consistently against a poor attack.

“They cannot play him” should be reintroduced as “he cannot play them” in reference to Babar’s embarrassing record against India.

India showed Shaheen his level in the Asia Cup but let’s see if Babar can respond and show India their level on October 15.

Personally I don’t think it will happen. He will probably get outclassed by Kohli yet again who owns Pakistan.

So it is proven beyond doubt, in a career spanning over 20 years, the only Tendulkar knock worthy of memory vs Pakistan in ODIs, is that one 2003 WC knock. You can claim it is worth a dozen, or a 100, it is 1 knock but multiple bottle jobs.

On to Babar, the best batsmen's ODI average (58) says it all, so you can say this is him consistently failing against a poor attack, like India, but its not even remotely close.

Not sure why you are mentioning Shaheen, but please do come back when find anything other than the 2003 WC knock.

In the meantime, have faith, Babar will deliver vs India.

Pakistan vs India ODIs, let move on to T20s, as the OP mentions.

Babar's 68 in the 2021 T20 WC, vs India, resulted in a humiliating 10 wicket loss for India. One for the ages!

Of course we will hear cries of India had an off day, Pakistan were lucky, the biryani was too spicy.

And we're only talking about 1 out of 4 T20 encounters vs India thus far, but a career T20 average of 41 speaks louder than the collective cries of Babar's haters.

This time Pakistan will face one of the best Indian bowling attacks of all time. All Pakistani greats failed against mediocre Indian bowling attacks but Babar will be facing the best they have ever fielded. If he scores a hundred I see no reason why Babar should not be hailed as the best we have ever produced. Babar has to deliver to prove his mettle as the best Pakistani batsmen.

I think he was okayish against us until the 2021 WC game. Got a few quiet 40s and ofcourse 60 odd in that very game. Maybe Indian bowlers started taking him seriously after that game or maybe the pressure of expectations affected his timid self....I don't know.

Got embarassed by a Bhuvi Kumar bouncer on a slow Dubai wicket, got done by a harmless Bishnoi googly, laid golden duck egg to an Arshdeep in-swinger at the G and then got his sticks rearranged by Pandya in a humiliating manner.

These sort of dismissals do a lot of damage to a player's psyche. And I didn't even bring up those two dismissals against Kuldeep Yadav in 2018-19. Poor guy....

So it is proven beyond doubt, in a career spanning over 20 years, the only Tendulkar knock worthy of memory vs Pakistan in ODIs, is that one 2003 WC knock. You can claim it is worth a dozen, or a 100, it is 1 knock but multiple bottle jobs.

On to Babar, the best batsmen's ODI average (58) says it all, so you can say this is him consistently failing against a poor attack, like India, but its not even remotely close.

Not sure why you are mentioning Shaheen, but please do come back when find anything other than the 2003 WC knock.

In the meantime, have faith, Babar will deliver vs India.
Tendulkar was man of the match against Pakistan in 3 different world cups

Facta don't care about feelings.

The hatered towards Babar is just unreal and unwarranted.

First they complain Pakistan has no world class batsman, then along comes Babar, then they claim he is not world class because he's not in the top 10 rankings, then Babar tops the rankings, then they complain he plays against B,C,D teams, then he scores a century vs Australia facing their A team bowlers, then they complain the match was lost, then they want him as captain, but they want him removed - ecetera ecetera.

There is no satisfying hate as hate has no limits.
You won't celebrate today's innings?

I think he was okayish against us until the 2021 WC game. Got a few quiet 40s and ofcourse 60 odd in that very game. Maybe Indian bowlers started taking him seriously after that game or maybe the pressure of expectations affected his timid self....I don't know.

Got embarassed by a Bhuvi Kumar bouncer on a slow Dubai wicket, got done by a harmless Bishnoi googly, laid golden duck egg to an Arshdeep in-swinger at the G and then got his sticks rearranged by Pandya in a humiliating manner.

These sort of dismissals do a lot of damage to a player's psyche. And I didn't even bring up those two dismissals against Kuldeep Yadav in 2018-19. Poor guy....

Ever since India started taking Babar seriously, they have owned him. They know how to keep him quiet

Babar was lucky to born in Pakistan. He would never get selected for national team if he were born in Ind/Aus/Eng. He will not be selected any Ranji team due to his inability to play spin

This time Pakistan will face one of the best Indian bowling attacks of all time. All Pakistani greats failed against mediocre Indian bowling attacks but Babar will be facing the best they have ever fielded. If he scores a hundred I see no reason why Babar should not be hailed as the best we have ever produced. Babar has to deliver to prove his mettle as the best Pakistani batsmen.
No way Babar can score well against decent bowlers. He has big head of his ability and praising.

@Technics 1210 So your counter to people putting Babar down is to put Sachin down?

Most people on PP (at least) who mock Babar are Pakistanis.

Sachin vs Pak:

sach.png

An average of 40 at a SR of 87 for someone who played through 3 decades is pretty good I would say with a sample size of 69 :) games. Just so you know, Babar averages 28 striking at 72 vs India currently in 7 games.

I don't harbor hate or any kind of illwill against Babar, the personality or the cricketer, so let's steer it back to your claim vs Sachin. You have the stats in front of you and any from a choice of 21 (50s+100s). Heck, even some of his 30s and 40s were iconic like his 40 odd little blitz in Dhaka when India chased down a record 300+ score.

But let me tell you what he did for India psychologically. Until he came along, Indian fans were nervous/terrified when Wasim Akram started a spell. Sachin over time blunted that fear.

He made an Ind-Pak encounter an occasion to celebrate and to be entertained as opposed to one to be sitting bundled in nerves.

He single-handedly literally buried Miandad's six.

And that's why the oldschool Pakistani fan can't stand him :dhoni

@Technics 1210 So your counter to people putting Babar down is to put Sachin down?

Most people on PP (at least) who mock Babar are Pakistanis.

Sachin vs Pak:

View attachment 137116

An average of 40 at a SR of 87 for someone who played through 3 decades is pretty good I would say with a sample size of 69 :) games. Just so you know, Babar averages 28 striking at 72 vs India currently in 7 games.

I don't harbor hate or any kind of illwill against Babar, the personality or the cricketer, so let's steer it back to your claim vs Sachin. You have the stats in front of you and any from a choice of 21 (50s+100s). Heck, even some of his 30s and 40s were iconic like his 40 odd little blitz in Dhaka when India chased down a record 300+ score.

But let me tell you what he did for India psychologically. Until he came along, Indian fans were nervous/terrified when Wasim Akram started a spell. Sachin over time blunted that fear.

He made an Ind-Pak encounter an occasion to celebrate and to be entertained as opposed to one to be sitting bundled in nerves.

He single-handedly literally buried Miandad's six.

And that's why the oldschool Pakistani fan can't stand him :dhoni
I didn't put Tendulkar down, that's your interpretation, I just stated facts, since this thread is about pressure games between Pakistan and India, and past Indian Players were already mentioned and compared long before I mentioned Tendulkar.

This is the Babar’s chance to prove his hype. if he scores a match winning ton in ahmedabad he will forever be remembered.
If Pakistan bats under lights, he has every chance to score a 100 and win it for Pakistan. The toss is very important for that match.

Pakistan can't chase more than 250 in a WC match. Mark my words we need to bat 1st and get to 300 and hope for a bowling miracle.
Ahmedabad has fast outfield. You get good value for your shots. I have watched a few games and the pitch invariably became easier to bat on under the lights. If the target is less than 300, all you need is to have a decent opening partnership and then you can score plenty in the last 20 overs.

If India wins the toss, I want India to chase.

Ahmedabad has fast outfield. You get good value for your shots. I have watched a few games and the pitch invariably became easier to bat on under the lights. If the target is less than 300, all you need is to have a decent opening partnership and then you can score plenty in the last 20 overs.

If India wins the toss, I want India to chase.

All that's true but I know Pakistan. We are never gonna chase 250+ in a big WC match vs a big team. This team lacks any clutch players to do that.

Perhaps you are nervous about your team. That is understandable. If Fakhar and Imam provide a decent opening stand (need not be spectacular), the middle order of Babar, Saud, Rizwan, and Iftikhar can chase that total in dewy conditions. Nawaz also seems a good lower-order bat. So, if I were you, I would still back Pakistan batting to chase a target of less than 300.

What generic nonsense is that? Bumrah is yet to dismiss Babar in any format.
But he forever gives him a hard time. The point is Bumrah is a much better bowler then Babar is a batter. Bumrah is not an overrated bowler like Babar is a batsman. You are allowed to make your point in a polite manner.

But it has to matter for Pakistan

Babar scored a century against Australia for the first time. Pakistan where chasing 371…Pakistan we’re well short
He also scored a century chasing against Zimbabwe. He fell on the last ball of the 49th over.

The match happened to tie (after crazy efforts from Pakistan tailenders).
A Wahab Riaz 50 and clutch last-over boundaries from Muhammad Musa.

Zimbabwe won the super over. Babar didn’t even come out to bat.

Classic stuff.

He also scored a century chasing against Zimbabwe. He fell on the last ball of the 49th over.

The match happened to tie (after crazy efforts from Pakistan tailenders).
A Wahab Riaz 50 and clutch last-over boundaries from Muhammad Musa.

Zimbabwe won the super over. Babar didn’t even come out to bat.

Classic stuff.
When did this gem happen? I mean he scored a bunch of hundreds against Zim & none of them were memorable or groundbreaking, but I don't remember this bottlejob at all!!

The upcoming matches against big teams in this WC is the best opportunity for Babar to develop his brand & legacy in international cricket and it will remove all doubts about his soft scores or bottling in key situations. He is currently one of best batsman in Pakistan but his emotional fans on social media are making things more difficult for him with unreasonable comparisons with other greats.

There are many active players currently who have built their legacy by performing against big sides in important matches, and the fact is Babar is still far behind.

I don't think any anyone hates Babar but true fans want Babar to accept his shortcomings as a player & captain and improve. Many great players from different countries including Pakistan's WC winning players were criticized whenever they the failed, so Babar is no different.

When did this gem happen? I mean he scored a bunch of hundreds against Zim & none of them were memorable or groundbreaking, but I don't remember this bottlejob at all!!
It happened about 3 years ago.

Search up “One Day International #4264” on Google.

Babar has potential to score century against India. Let's see if he can do .so far he failed against India .

Have a feeling he will score this time. If not a match-winning knock atleast a decent 50 under his name.

This is the best chance for babar to prove all myths wrong after scoring a century against India at their home ground.

Shane Watson said about Babar Azam:

“Look, he’s a class player. Yes, he’s had a bit of a dry spell, Uh, five innings of less than 30 runs. So it’s the first time he’s done that since 2019. You know that things aren’t going that well, if you when that happens. So, um, Babar Azam, even the first couple of balls that he faced, you can see he’s getting in really good positions,” Watson said on Star Sports after Pakistan’s six-wicket win on Tuesday.

“He’s a world class batter. He’s going to absolutely ready to go against India. Sometimes you’re just not so much out of touch because he’s not even more badly you just out of runs.”

I won't mind Babar scoring century but Kohli getting out on ~80 (like he did against Aus) as long as India wins.

Shahid Afridi speaking in an interview:

“I spoke to Babar Azam last night and congratulated him about the win,”

“I told him to be confident since he is a big match player. I backed him to score big in coming matches. When Babar replied to my message, he also seemed positive and eager to do well.

“He was unlucky in the last match but I’m sure he will score a hundred in the big matches.”​

Getting a feeling that Big Bobby B will go on a hit run in the upcoming 4-5 matches.

Such a class player cannot be kept quiet for too long. Law of averages will trigger asap.

India playing at home, familiar conditions . It's more stressful for other teams. Stop making excuses.

Bhai travel is travel. What is home anyway. Delhi is home for Virat, everywhere else in Bharat except maybe Bangalore now for him is being away from home.

It is a fact, no team is travelling as much as Bharat during this World Cup.

Pakistan only play India in tournaments so you can’t judge any of our players against them when the match sample is small!

And as for Babar he has a chance to change the narrative on Saturday!

No one will take a century over a win your talking rubbish.
Why are you always so triggered 🤣🤣, man calm down. This is not the first time you have replied me regarding Babar on condensing manner. There are people here in PP who have tried to champion his not so significant hundred against Aus while chasing some 370. He scored something like 100 from 110 & because I & few others criticized his strike rate rightfully, the fans got angry. You clearly consider Babar as great batsman, I obviously don't since so far he has been all flash nothing substantial. You can't expect everybody to praise him blindly & not call out his mediocrity.

Am triggered because your talking crap.Babar is a class Batter when have I said he's a great batter or you talking rubbish again ?.

A class batter would more than often get the job done for his team against top attacks & on crunch situations. Something captain clueless has rarely done in 8 years despite scoring gazillion of runs & breaking some thousand records. So obviously you & I have different definition of what a class batter is. Quote me if you have any substantial things to say, otherwise don't bother to talk crap with your usual rubbish fanboysim.

He is a class-act and I am hoping him to score big in tomorrow's game. You can't keep a batsman of his class quite for too long.

1697280178676.png
Babar Azam brings up his half-century. What a time to come back into touch after a difficult start to this World Cup.

Nothing innings.

Flat pitch, excellent platform provided by the openers and all he could muster was a 50 in 57 balls.

He should have put his foot down on India’s throat and taken control of the game.

What a tame dismissal. Looked like a completely ordinary batsman.

He hasn’t had 0.1% of the impact Kohli has had on Pakistan-India matches.

#HeCannotPlayThem

ab 50 bhi bad performance hai?

i think thats the quality of babar that people expect him more big innings. good

Big Bobby B delivered today. :ba

A century would have helped more but still a decent knock.

Mixed bag that innings today.

Some lovely shots, but overall not at his best.

Soft dismissal to a nothing ball.

ab 50 bhi bad performance hai?

i think thats the quality of babar that people expect him more big innings. good
It is the other way around.

His fans don’t have faith in him and have low expectations which is why they are satisfied with a 50 (57) from their “King” and so-called number one batsman in the world.

If Pakistan lose this match, Babar will be responsible. He got out to a nothing delivery right when Pakistan were taking complete control.

Big players don’t do that. They run away with the game when they are on top. Kohli has done it so many times against Pakistan and Babar almost never does it against India.

Of all the big name players Pakistan has produced, he has had the least impact against India.

Underwhelming in a big game again.

A slowish fifty would've been fine had he kicked on from there. Instead out to a nothing shot to a nothing ball.

It is the other way around.

His fans don’t have faith in him and have low expectations which is why they are satisfied with a 50 (57) from their “King” and so-called number one batsman in the world.

If Pakistan lose this match, Babar will be responsible. He got out to a nothing delivery right when Pakistan were taking complete control.

Big players don’t do that. They run away with the game when they are on top. Kohli has done it so many times against Pakistan and Babar almost never does it against India.

Of all the big name players Pakistan has produced, he has had the least impact against India.

He looked like a school boy against Kuldeep and Jadeja. He is terrible against quality spinners.

Deluded fan boys will say he averages XYZ against spin so he is great, but eye test doesn’t lie.

He plays spin like a generic non-Asian batsman. Very poor footwork.
Stop criticizing unnecessarily…scoring a 50 against the best bowling attack in a World Cup match in front of an intimidating crowd is not a small thing….babar once again proved why he is an all time great batsman

Nothing innings.

Flat pitch, excellent platform provided by the openers and all he could muster was a 50 in 57 balls.

He should have put his foot down on India’s throat and taken control of the game.

What a tame dismissal. Looked like a completely ordinary batsman.

He hasn’t had 0.1% of the impact Kohli has had on Pakistan-India matches.

#HeCannotPlayThem

The same pitch where Saeed Anwar’s protege batted on, I was hoping to see a post from you on Imam’s performance, but pin drop silence.