Pilot project recently happened, now real one has to be done: PM Narendra Modi

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday appeared to be making a reference to India's air strikes on terror camps in Pakistan when he said a "pilot project" was recently carried out and now the "real one" has to be done as the earlier exercise was a practice.

Speaking at an award ceremony for scientists, he said, "You spend your life in laboratories. You have a tradition of first doing a pilot project. It is later scaled up. So recently a pilot project happened", as the audience burst into applause.

Modi continued, "Now the real one has to be done. Earlier one was a practice. And the real is to actually give a standing ovation to today's award winners. We will will give a standing ovation."

These remarks of the prime minister were later tweeted by the ruling BJP.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ne-has-to-be-done-pm/articleshow/68204505.cms

...and our lovely angelic Pakistani peace doves want to negotiate with such people.

This is what happens when you don't think before you act I'm so disappointed in IK decisiom even Shehbaz Sharif was aggressive towards IND

You guys are getting scared for nothing. If India want war let the start it. Do you think one pilot would have stopped a war? They would have come anyway if they have decided that. So Pakistan have to take them on whenever they come. Stop spreading this rubbish agenda of Yours.

Modi needs to act to show that he is no sissy to Indian public. Hopefully someone puts some akal in his brain.
Elections are near. Its a huge deal now as the decisions he is going to take in the next few days will impact the outcome of the Elections.

You guys are getting scared for nothing. If India want war let the start it. Do you think one pilot would have stopped a war? They would have come anyway if they have decided that. So Pakistan have to take them on whenever they come. Stop spreading this rubbish agenda of Yours.

This is the crux.

One pilot is not going to stop India from trying to have a go, if anything holding on to the Pilot was only going to escalate matters.

This was another opportunity to take the high road and to hammer the diplomatic advantage and IK/Pakistan played it brilliantly.

Now if India tries anything, India will look like even bigger idiots.

So PM Modi clearly admitting the first attempt was a project but not the real attack? I thought they had really hit a terrorist camp and killed 300 people?

This is the crux.

One pilot is not going to stop India from trying to have a go, if anything holding on to the Pilot was only going to escalate matters.

This was another opportunity to take the high road and to hammer the diplomatic advantage and IK/Pakistan played it brilliantly.

Now if India tries anything, India will look like even bigger idiots.

Dude...already explained before

IK only release him because he is scared of another retaliation from India which might lead to war. Considering Pak's weak economy, they wont be able to sustain war for more than a week and may eventually lose POK. Hence he is acting all peace and nice. But then again, few posters are too naive.

Listening to losers like you I hope IK does not release him now. You guys do not deserve any peace offering.

And lose Azad Kashmir in a week? We shot down 2 of your jets and you didn't dare reply.. :rp

Now I don't want him released, till India publicly begs.

I thought only at twitter people are illiterate.

:facepalm: Not even an ounce of analytical or critical analysis from you as usual.

Now I don't want him released, till India publicly begs.

Well after hearing Indian gov decision just now, i think we should not release him at all. Modi jii has given clear indications of another attack so we should be ready for this.

Karachi waalo, mayuus mat karna :))

Killed two your personal, shot down planes, hurt your ego, literally destroy everything that you were proud of before this orchestrated aggression by your bhakth leader and yet you do want to avenge it because of one pilot.

who are you trying to fool here?

everyone see through you.

Well after hearing Indian gov decision just now, i think we should not release him at all. Modi jii has given clear indications of another attack so we should be ready for this.

There were video of massive movement of SAMs in Karachi.... if INS Vikrant is coming it will soon be at the bottom of the ocean :wy

Modi is such a sad person.

:facepalm: Not even an ounce of analytical or critical analysis from you as usual.

I'm at a loss.

I just don't understand some people but I suppose in the end everyone gets what they deserve.

Modi JI should challenge Imran for a duel and put a final end to the war. Legend has it that Modi ji used to crush coconuts against his chest when he was a baby and his chest was so massive and muscular that they used to wake him up by striking it with a hammer.

What do the Indian posters have to say about this? I mean I genuinely believe Pakistan is trying to move forward with peace but it seems Indians are the ones who wont let this go.

Yesterday when i said that Indian is going to do so some misadventure through water, today it has been proved by Indian Navy also.

Wow Indians are so stupid.

What a shameful loser you are. Peolple like you will make sure people change their mind in all this.

What do the Indian posters have to say about this? I mean I genuinely believe Pakistan is trying to move forward with peace but it seems Indians are the ones who wont let this go.

India wants peace and PAkistan and its politicians like Imran khan want to have peace as well, but you can't achieve that while you are being puppets of army which funds terrorist organisations. This is atleast what many politicians and Indians believe.

Pak is genuinely moving forward with peace. India genuinely doesn't want it. That's because the main issue on the table hasn't even been discussed or acted on. Terrorism.

The downed Jets and POW are all side stories. Imran asked proof, India sent a dossier. Until the dossier has real proof, until Pak takes some actions on that proof, there is no resolution to this.

In the mean time, Imran gave in to save Modi and India's image for unknown reasons. It can be perceived as another step towards peace by Pakistanis but will be considered a desperate move and diplomatic victory for India.

Reports saying Indian PM refused to talk with Pakistan's PM. It was expected earlier that both PMs will talk via phone.

India wants peace and PAkistan and its politicians like Imran khan want to have peace as well, but you can't achieve that while you are being puppets of army which funds terrorist organisations. This is atleast what many politicians and Indians believe.

so you dont want peace then. becasue of you wanted peace you wouldnt really make unsubstantiated claims like the above. you would work with whatever govt was in pakistan. So stop saying youw ant peace. You dont if what you are saying is true. I frankly dont believe what you are saying in the second part. i think after today many in india wnat a de-escalation..

Pak is genuinely moving forward with peace. India genuinely doesn't want it. That's because the main issue on the table hasn't even been discussed or acted on. Terrorism.

The downed Jets and POW are all side stories. Imran asked proof, India sent a dossier. Until the dossier has real proof, until Pak takes some actions on that proof, there is no resolution to this.

In the mean time, Imran gave in to save Modi and India's image for unknown reasons. It can be perceived as another step towards peace by Pakistanis but will be considered a desperate move and diplomatic victory for India.

nobody is seeing it that way. India can bark about terror all it wants and try to paint this as some vicctory but it isnt. they have no options. If we turn around and say your dossier is full of bunkum what is modi going to do? send in the airforce again? surgical strike 3? next time we wont be playing nice!!

Imran khan said to give evidence and we will take action but seems Modi decided to run his own course which will only escalate the situation.

nobody is seeing it that way. India can bark about terror all it wants and try to paint this as some vicctory but it isnt. they have no options. If we turn around and say your dossier is full of bunkum what is modi going to do? send in the airforce again? surgical strike 3? next time we wont be playing nice!!

TBH, I don't think this was supposed to be a military engagement anyway. India entered Pak and then drummed up the rhetoric that it was a non military engagement as no civilians or military establishments were targeted. It became a military engagement when Pak downed the Indian jet. It was asymmetric and POW release was probably part of the realization under pressure. Now will India attack again? Who knows? Will Pak respond if India does? You bet. It's a game of ascendency and one-upmanship at this point. But the real game will be played diplomatically and those will take time to come to fruition.

You're becoming another Joshila. India claimed it had bombed and killed 300 Pakistanis, I don't know what world or universe you live in but that on its own was an act of war. Regardless of it being Jaish or not, India convicted them and blamed them. We did not.

Next time there won't be any foolish misadventures and this surgical attack nonsense will be relegated to Bollywood films where it belongs.

You're turning out to be another Joshila last couple of days.

Pak has won this round of diplomacy.

If anyone to believe this ended without diplomatic pressure on India then they are missing a bigger picture.

And I am almost 100% certain that this episode has ended.

Modi is now just playing for the optics for the bhakths of India and for the election, hence you will continue to see hateful rhetoric against Pakistan.

Pak has won this round of diplomacy.

If anyone to believe this ended without diplomatic pressure on India then they are missing a bigger picture.

And I am almost 100% certain that this episode has ended.

Modi is now just playing for the optics for the bhakths of India and for the election, hence you will continue to see hateful rhetoric against Pakistan.

Pakistan has thoroughly defeated India in every department after this illegal aggression from bhakths.

I understand why bhakths have to downplay this.

Pakistan has given calculated response militarily and diplomatically with friends in the region.

Yup, we're the naive ones.

Pakistan is scared, yet it crossed LoC and dropped bombs in your territory.

Pakistan is scared, yet it downed 2 of your planes, caused verified casualties and captured your pilot.

Pakistan is scared, it yet continues heavy shelling across the LoC.

Kiss duniya mein rehtay ho, bhai?

I agree. Modi trying to please the masses and it's worked. I can't see anything happening now in a few days it will all die down. Imran Khan has handled it well and any escalation now India will be fully responsible for the consequences. I don't think Pakistan will go down the diplomacy route next time.

At the end of the day, India bombed Balakot, with most news agencies reporting it as a symbolic move with no casualties. Got bombed near its military installments, Lost 3 planes (2 downed by PAF and one technical snag), lost multiple pilots and got 1 captured by Pak.

This is not a happy ending for a country out to seek revenge.

Pakistan has thoroughly defeated India in every department after this illegal aggression from bhakths.

I understand why bhakths have to downplay this.

Pakistan has given calculated response militarily and diplomatically with friends in the region.

Defeated India militarily, yes. By downing the jet. This is a war and Pak won a battle. This will be fought over resources, on diplomatic front and sporadic military overtures in times to come.

Hopefully PM will rethink his decision of releasing that pilot.

Honestly I think Pakistan has made a good choice and if India does something rash again we can say that we tried it diplomatic route... war is gonna hurt india just as much as Pakistan if they dont want peace we have every right to defend ourselves.

Defeated India militarily, yes. By downing the jet. This is a war and Pak won a battle. This will be fought over resources, on diplomatic front and sporadic military overtures in times to come.

diplomatically also.

I see the sane one's are still promoting the hostility between two nations.

You're becoming another Joshila. India claimed it had bombed and killed 300 Pakistanis, I don't know what world or universe you live in but that on its own was an act of war. Regardless of it being Jaish or not, India convicted them and blamed them. We did not.

Next time there won't be any foolish misadventures and this surgical attack nonsense will be relegated to Bollywood films where it belongs.

You're turning out to be another Joshila last couple of days.

Dude, call me anything you want. Doesnt matter to me one bit. Defeat my argument through a debate and I will say you are right. I have no issues with that as I dont have any stakes in it. You can't use the "bombing 300" as you want. You were of the many posters here that claimed that bombing 300 was a fake. I believe you now as I did then. There is no shred of evidence. Pak officially denied it too.

However I said India breaching Pak's airspace is a big deal. Pak did the same to show their strength and that was it. I honestly believe Pak didnt go into India to down a jet. It was a decisive victory for Pak and there was a great speech from Imran right after. However, there is a lot of asymmetry in peace gestures and military fight so far which is true as well. Pak is the only country that's seeking peace. Rest is for every one to see and Ive already said my points about the rest earlier.

Dude, call me anything you want. Doesnt matter to me one bit. Defeat my argument through a debate and I will say you are right. I have no issues with that as I dont have any stakes in it. You can't use the "bombing 300" as you want. You were of the many posters here that claimed that bombing 300 was a fake. I believe you now as I did then. There is no shred of evidence. Pak officially denied it too.

However I said India breaching Pak's airspace is a big deal. Pak did the same to show their strength and that was it. I honestly believe Pak didnt go into India to down a jet. It was a decisive victory for Pak and there was a great speech from Imran right after. However, there is a lot of asymmetry in peace gestures and military fight so far which is true as well. Pak is the only country that's seeking peace. Rest is for every one to see and Ive already said my points about the rest earlier.

Seeking peace does not mean weakness.

Stop with this delusional-ism, you are better than this.

Did anyone expect Modi to back down from this fiasco? He will be burnt alive by the Bakhts if he goes to dialogue now. He is stuck in a very uncomfortable position, where the heat is on him to react. And react strong.

He has truly messed up here. India will need international intervention to get out of this, and I'm not sure the international community will be sympathetic to their plight like they were in 99.

No need to enter in panic mode brothers.

Pak army, as it just demonstrated, is more than ready to take on any foreign aggression. Have faith in them.

We are not petty like Indians. And I am generalizing here. But that's the way great majority are. Modi is desperate to remain in power and for that purpose he would put his mother in danger. He would say anything and do anything.

No need to panic. We are a sovereign and a capable people. God forbid, if push comes to shove, we will bring the ruckus. India will be sent to 15th century. There will be nothing to rule after that :yk

All that said, Pakistan want to remain in peace and that's the only reason the government is opening a dialogue.

Let Modi bark but this ain't Gujarat and it sure as hell ain't year 2002.

Things that are still mysteries:

-The alleged Pakistani F-16.
-Second Indian pilot.
-That video Pakistan said it will release
but so far hasn't.
-What was the real target of Indian jets on Tuesday morning?Since Modi implies it was just a rehearsal.Rehearsal for what?

Hopefully PM will rethink his decision of releasing that pilot.

I suspect they don’t give a damn about their soldier.
For them it’s become an ego thing and lives don’t seem to matter.
For Modi Tuesday night was a “project”, and if soldiers are sacrificed then so be it.

Because Pak was seeking peace before as well. The only time we have reacted is when India has provoked us, we did not violate Indian air space. India did, we had to retaliate for that. Which we did, and Indian planes then chased us back into our space as well and they had to be shot down.

Had we not wanted peace we would have shot down Indian planes the first time they violated our space.

Did anyone expect Modi to back down from this fiasco? He will be burnt alive by the Bakhts if he goes to dialogue now. He is stuck in a very uncomfortable position, where the heat is on him to react. And react strong.

He has truly messed up here. India will need international intervention to get out of this, and I'm not sure the international community will be sympathetic to their plight like they were in 99.

I could certainly see international pressure being applied to Imran Khan to give Modi some face saving way out, problem is that Imran Khan is not the type to bend on principle like a Nawaz or Zardari would.

On the other hand, Modi has started a course it is very difficult to step back from. His party ethos is on the line here as well as his personal reputation. He's opened the Pandora's box of war triumphalism, to retreat now having got the worst of the initial battle will be suicide for BJP.

It really isn't a big deal.

If you watch the offical response by DG ISPR he explain this very well. When NOT in a state of war, you cannot have your jets in the air all the time. Pakistani air force was ready for any breah of air space but had to scramble the jets which they did and made sure the Indian jets were forced out, which they did.

The Sri Lankan or any other air force could breach Indian airspace if it really wanted to. Russia breaches US and European airspace all the time.

Nothing will happen. All talk for elections. Its a war of words.

“Yeh nahi sudrega.” (imagine SSA nodding his head with his cheeky smile)

It has become visible who is wanting war at this time.

You have no idea who Imran Khan is if you think this man is scared of anyone let alone Indians. He is being a true statement unlike the clown Modi. Ik doesn't want people dead on BOTH sides which is why he is doing everything to calm the situation.

Modi and his extremist friends can say what they like, Pak is more than capable of defending itself and will go all the way if needed.

Modi Ji please make it clear what it actually was.

A Pilot Project?

Or Sar Ji Kal Strike 2?

If india tries anything like that again Pakistan has every right to self defense. We all know now they are more than capable of dishing out the business.

I could certainly see international pressure being applied to Imran Khan to give Modi some face saving way out, problem is that Imran Khan is not the type to bend on principle like a Nawaz or Zardari would.

On the other hand, Modi has started a course it is very difficult to step back from. His party ethos is on the line here as well as his personal reputation. He's opened the Pandora's box of war triumphalism, to retreat now having got the worst of the initial battle will be suicide for BJP.

Nailed it!!

Narendra Modi is bloodthirsty, ready for war

sorry to say but IK peace offer is being rejected by Modi and thre armed forces. no matter you release the pilot or not. war is on its way.

It really isn't a big deal.

If you watch the offical response by DG ISPR he explain this very well. When NOT in a state of war, you cannot have your jets in the air all the time. Pakistani air force was ready for any breah of air space but had to scramble the jets which they did and made sure the Indian jets were forced out, which they did.

The Sri Lankan or any other air force could breach Indian airspace if it really wanted to. Russia breaches US and European airspace all the time.

In normal times, yes. But the Indians marketed it similar to what US did when they nailed Bin Laden. That's why Imran responded in the like to show Pak can do it too. The crashed jet complicated the matters as Modi lost face. The return of the pilot helped matters a bit. But the rhetoric remains. Terrorism

I saw this news before but then I saw that the times of India is the only one reporting it, no other media channel is doing the same. So I dismissed it.

Because Pak was seeking peace before as well. The only time we have reacted is when India has provoked us, we did not violate Indian air space. India did, we had to retaliate for that. Which we did, and Indian planes then chased us back into our space as well and they had to be shot down.

Had we not wanted peace we would have shot down Indian planes the first time they violated our space.

Nobody doubts the peace gestures. I never blamed what Pak did militarily as part of the right to defence. The question is "Is that enough?"

Go back to the time before Indians encroached Pak air space. There was a demand on Azhar and Jaish. There is no progress. Diplomatically, India highlighted this issue in the Western world. That's why you see statements from AUS, US, France asking Pak to dismantle terror Network on its soil.
TBF, the crashed jet, the POW are all distractions and with the return of the POW they no longer will be. We will be back to square one on the main issue - terrorism.

In normal times, yes. But the Indians marketed it similar to what US did when they nailed Bin Laden. That's why Imran responded in the like to show Pak can do it too. The crashed jet complicated the matters as Modi lost face. The return of the pilot helped matters a bit. But the rhetoric remains. Terrorism

I dont believe the OBL story but thats for another thread. Sure they can market it how they like but from a operational pov it wasn't a big issue as it's normal procedure to scramble jets once there is a breach.

The rhetoric will remain as Modi is in a desperate position with elections looming.

I dont believe the OBL story but thats for another thread. Sure they can market it how they like but from a operational pov it wasn't a big issue as it's normal procedure to scramble jets once there is a breach.

The rhetoric will remain as Modi is in a desperate position with elections looming.

I think Modi and BJP thought the propaganda machine will take him past the line and there wouldn't be any escalation other than a similar gesture from Pakistan. As I said earlier, the crashed jet and POW pilot comlicated it within 24 years. Now it's back.

We are not fearful of anything from Ind, you have nothing on us. We have won the PR battle- you have been humiliated by the idiot that leads you.

Nobody doubts the peace gestures. I never blamed what Pak did militarily as part of the right to defence. The question is "Is that enough?"

Go back to the time before Indians encroached Pak air space. There was a demand on Azhar and Jaish. There is no progress. Diplomatically, India highlighted this issue in the Western world. That's why you see statements from AUS, US, France asking Pak to dismantle terror Network on its soil.
TBF, the crashed jet, the POW are all distractions and with the return of the POW they no longer will be. We will be back to square one on the main issue - terrorism.

Without any proof.

The attack was done by a local with local materials. You know what you sound like? Those blinkered Pakistanis who used to blame all the trouble on other powers. It makes no difference who is helping who unless the locals stop the ** themselves. Its the reason Iran is not a Syria or hasn't seen catastrophic attacks because Iranians make sure their own people don't sell them out, you think the US wouldn't want to try and meddle and support groups in Iran?

Had you not humiliated, raped and killed Kashmiris then Pakistan wouldn't matter. An example is 1965 where Kashmiris did not rise up and help us. If this was 1965 Kashmir would be resemble Bangladesh.

Did IK knew beforehand that Pak would end up shooting an Indian Jet and capturing an Indian pilot which he could then use as a leverage for peace? If he is so scared why did he allow the military to retaliate in the first place within a day when Indians werent even done enjoying their celebrations? If our military lacks self-believe why did they dare to fire at Indian jets in the first place? If we had not captured any pilot do you really think there wouldn't have been any war if your leader is so war hungry?

According to Indian media pak army should have been busy cleaning balakot and destroying evidence of 300 terrorists killed. Instead Pak army ended up giving Indiana taste of its own medicine.

Wake up from your dream world. A war isnt like a brawl in a bar. A war is nothing but destruction. Especially between two atomic powers, hence it makes sense to avoid it as much as possible.