Playing XI for India in the 2019 World Cup

Teshi98

I believe team India has selected is a very good squad. The only change should have been pant instead of dk but other than that this is the best possible squad.
As far as the playing 11 is considered i believe this should be the squad for India to maximise its chancesat wc.
1. Shikhar Dhawan- One of the best openers in odi cricket at the moment and proven tournament player.
2. Rohit Sharma - Probably the best odi opener at the monent. Very destructive when set.
3. Virat Kohli(c)- Looking set to be the goat odi batsmen, requires no explanation
4. Kl Rahul - Increddible talent, needs to be persisted with and can definitely win matches with his batting.
5. Ms Dhoni(wk) - Perfect position for him, where he can take a bit of time and hit out at end or anchor innings as per requirement.
6. Vijay Shankar/Kedar Jadhav - Depending upon pitch conditions one of two should play at this position. While Shankar is better hitter, jadhav can stabilize the situatiin and is very handy bowler(better than shankar)
7. Hardik Pandya - All India require is for him to replicate his ipl performances and give those cameos to finish innings with momentum on their side or quick runs in end while chasing to win the game. In bowlibg should be abke to give 7 to 8 decent overs with one odd wicket per match.
8. Bhuvi/Jadeja/Chahal - On seaming wickets, play bhuvi while jadeja on spinning/totally flat tracks. If jadeja totally fails with bat and is not good with biwl should be replaced with chahal.
9. Kuldeep Yadav - Although he is having a terrible ipl, i believe he is going to come back strongly and with only one match against each team, they are going to struggle to pick him. Can be effective with bat as well if ge puts in bit more hard work.
10. Mohammed Shami - Currently in very good form and looking very fit as well. Would be briliiant if he can replicate hia last wc performances.
11. Bumrah - Kohli of Indian bowling. Can perform on any type of wicket and opposition. Needs to have a great wc for us to win the wc.
Dk only comes in if Dhoni is injured.
I feel this squad gives india the perfect balance in both batting and bowling. If they play to their potential this team can sureky win the wc.

Please share your teams and what do you make of this team.

I would have gone with Rayudu over KL Rahul. Not convinced by KL, his ODI numbers are very mediocre and even his List A average and SR is nothing incredible. Pant I believe will improve greatly in ODIs over the next few years and will play a huge role in the 2023 world cup, so I don't think it's a bad thing him missing out here.

Regardless, very solid squad from India.

I would have gone with Rayudu over KL Rahul. Not convinced by KL, his ODI numbers are very mediocre and even his List A average and SR is nothing incredible. Pant I believe will improve greatly in ODIs over the next few years and will play a huge role in the 2023 world cup, so I don't think it's a bad thing him missing out here.

Regardless, very solid squad from India.

I actually never liked rayudu. Maybe it is my bias but i believe Rahul is better than him although your point about his bad numbers is justified. However i believe he has the talent to overcome his odi problems in middle order earlier and have a very solid wc for india at numver 4.
If Rahul clicks and top 3 perform as usual ind would have one of the best ever top 4 in history of odis.

1. Sharma
2. Dhawan
3. Kohli
4. Dhoni
5. Rahul
6. Jadhav
7. Pandya
8. Bhuvi
9. Yadav
10. Shaami
11. Bumrah

Jatta
Sharmaji
King
KL "khaya piya kuch nahi fine diya 20 lakh" Rahul.
Mahi bhai
Vijay 3D Shankar
Hardik "karke aaya" Pandya
Kuli
Chahal
Shami
Bumrah

Rohit
Dhwaan
Kohli
KL
MSD
Jahdav
Pandya
Shami
Bumrah
Kuldeep
Chahal/Jadeja/Bhuvi (dependent on conditions)

1. Sharma
2. Dhawan
3. Kohli
4. Dhoni
5. Rahul
6. Jadhav
7. Pandya
8. Bhuvi
9. Yadav
10. Shaami
11. Bumrah

More or less same squad. But i guess no.5 is too low for rahul l. Although Dhoni has also regressed still the experience of batting at 5 or 6 is there with him and i feel he will be better there .

You need a dynamic batsman at #5 who is able to play run a ball inning from ball 1. Dhoni's accumulator role at #4 will not hurt India.

Maybe they can decide the position depending on match situation. If wicket falls before 10 overs or after 30 rahul would be better. If Ind are 2 down b/w this period, Dhoni can come ahead with Rahul, Shankar/Jadhav and Pandya to up the scoring rate in the death overs

Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
Rahul
Dhoni
Jadhav
Pandya
Bhuvi
Kuldeep
Shami
Bumrah

Shankar for Pandya. Rest will be same. :inti

Pandya is playing at the WC. Shankar isn't 1 of the best 6 batters in India and his bowling is toothless.

You may not like Hardik and want him replaced but Shankar isn't his replacement. Kohli is a fan of Pandya. He will start at the WC.

Dhawan
Rohit
Kohli
Rahul
Dhoni
Shankar (Jadhav in more spin friendly conditions)
Pandya
Bhuvi/Jadeja (Jadeja in more spin friendly conditions and flatter wickets)
Shami
Kuldeep
Bumrah

Really good balanced side which can be easily tailored for pace and spin friendly wickets.

Many posters want Kl Rahul at no 4 however, till now what I have seen of Kl Rahul is that he likes the bowl coming onto bat and prefers batting against the new ball.

His strike rotation and batting style doesnt suit middle overs against older ball in my opinion even his record in the middle order is pretty mediocre. Unless he changes his game big time I dont see him being very effective at no 4.

Shikhar Dhawan
Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli
Vijay Shankar
MSD
Kedar Jadhav
Hardik Pandya
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohd. Shami
Yuz Chahal
4 Pacers and 3 spinners. 7 bowling options for Kohli in this 11.
To begin with
Other combinations include Bringing MSD at 4 and bringing DK in if Vijay fails badly.
Red flags
1. Top 3 should not be changed barring injury and KL should not play down the order.
2.Kulcha should not be broken unless they have more the two horrendous games.Taking wickets in middle overs is key.Any team can get more 100 in last 10 provided they have set batsmen.Even Bumrah won't be able to stop it every time.
3.Try to bowl out Shami before over 45. He will do most damage in beginning and Hardik grnerally do better then him in slog overs.
Bottom line: For. India to win this WC our games should be in 270-320 range.For the first time in a long time our team will be dependent on our bowlers rather then our batsmen to pull us off.

Shikhar, Rohit, Kohli, Dhoni, Shankar, Jhadhav, Pandya, Bhuvi, Kuldeep, Chahal, Bumrah/Shami ( for most of the games)
Rohit/Rahul , Shikhar/Rahul, Kohli, DK, Shankar, Jhadhav, Pandya for others. Use Jadeja mostly for fielding or maybe sometimes you can drop either Kuldeep or Chahal ( basically a rest day & Play him ).

Dhawan
Rohit
Rahul
Kohli
Dhoni
Shankar/Jadhav
Pandya
Jadeja/Chahal
Kuldeep
Shami/BK
Bumrah