PM Modi writes a letter to the nation listing his government’s achievements.....

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has written a letter to the nation listing his government’s achievements during his second term and said the decisions taken in the last one year were aimed at fulfilling the dream of making India a global leader.

PM Modi also put forward his economic vision for the country and the challenges ahead.

Here are the top quotes from his letter:

* Back in 2014, the people of the country voted for a substantive transformation. In the last five years, the nation saw how the administrative apparatus broke itself free of the status quo and from the swamp of corruption as well as misgovernance. True to the spirit of ‘Antyodaya’ the lives of millions have been transformed.

* From 2014 to 2019, India’s stature rose significantly. The dignity of the poor was enhanced. The nation achieved financial inclusion, free gas and electricity connections, total sanitation coverage, and made progress towards ensuring ‘Housing For All.’ India demonstrated its mettle through the surgical strike and airstrike. At the same time, decades-old demands such as OROP, One Nation One Tax- GST, better MSP for farmers were fulfilled.

* The decision on Article 370 furthered the spirit of national unity and integration. The Ram Mandir judgment, delivered unanimously by the Honourable Supreme Court of India, brought an amicable end to a debate persisting for centuries. The barbaric practise of triple talaq has been confined to the dustbin of history. Amendment to the Citizenship Act was an expression of India’s compassion and spirit of inclusiveness.

A look at significant moments of Modi 2.0

* Many feared that India will become a problem for the world when the coronavirus hits India. But today, through sheer confidence and resilience, you have transformed the way the world looks at us. You have proven that the collective strength and potential of Indians are unparalleled compared even to the powerful and prosperous countries of the world.

* In a crisis of this magnitude, it can certainly not be claimed that no one suffered any inconvenience or discomfort. Our labourers, migrant workers, artisans ad craftsmen in small scale industries, hawkers and such fellow countrymen have undergone tremendous suffering. We are working in a united and determined way to alleviate their troubles.

* In the last few days, a super cyclone has wreaked havoc in parts of West Bengal and Odisha. Here too, the resilience of the people of these states is noteworthy. Their courage inspires the people of India.

* In the economic domain, through their strength, 130 crore Indians cannot only surprise the world but also inspire it. It is the need of the hour that we must become self-reliant. We have to move forward based on our own abilities, in our own way, and there is only one way to do it – Atmanirbhar Bharat or Self-reliant India.

* The fragrance of Indian soil along with the sweat, hard work and talent of our workers will create products that will reduce India’s dependence on imports and will move towards self-reliance.

* It is the strength of your blessings that has made the nation take historic decisions and progress rapidly in the last one year. However, I am also aware that there is a lot that needs to be done. There are many challenges and problems that our country faces. I am working day and night. There could be deficiencies in me but there is nothing that our country lacks. So, I believe in you, your strength and your abilities even more than I believe in myself.

* The source of strength for my resolve is you, your support, blessings and affection. Due to the global pandemic, this is certainly a time of crisis but for us Indians, this is also a time for a firm resolve.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...di-s-letter/story-yoa5VtFXGW8zY8OoTX15HN.html

The emperor patting himself, lol. You won't find a bigger liar in the history.

Surprised that a time of Covid - its business as usual for politicians everywhere.

Nice to see he's had time to write a letter patting himself on the back and telling his countrymen to pat him on the back too :)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday exhorted people not to lower their guard against the coronavirus pandemic and adhere to the protocols of social distancing, wearing masks and washing hands as the major chunk of the economy was opened up.

The PM’s message, broadcast through his monthly radio programme Mann Ki Baat, came a day after the government announced a phased exit from the lockdown imposed since March 25.

Referring to India’s fight against the coronavirus pandemic, the PM said with its diverse challenges and population, the country has been able to contain the spread of infection and the death toll is comparatively lower.

India on Sunday recorded more than 8,000 new cases of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) in a single day for the first time as the tally surged to 182,143 and death toll stood at 5,164. Union health ministry data showed there were 8,380 fresh Covid-19 cases, up from Saturday’s 7,964, and 193 fatalities in the last 24 hours.

“Covid-19 is very much there and we cannot be complacent… The road ahead is a long one. We are fighting a pandemic about which little was previously known,” he said.

Pain of the poor

The Prime Minister said though every section of society has been affected by the pandemic, the pain being felt by the poor cannot be measured in words.

PM Modi appreciated the efforts being made by individuals and organisations in helping those in need and said there is no section in the country that is unaffected by the difficulties caused by the pandemic.

“…However, the worst affected are the poor and the labourers. Their pain, their agony, and their ordeal can’t be expressed in words,” he said.

Even as there has been concern over the movement of migrant workers back to their native states because of limited means of transportation, the PM appreciated the efforts being made by the Indian Railways in helping get workers home.

He said the railway too has become a frontline worker in the fight against the pandemic.

“The Centre, states, local bodies are all working day and night. The way our railway forces are making efforts round-the-clock they are in a way front line corona warriors transporting safely millions of migrant labourers to their homes; arranging for their food, managing quarantine centres in every district and arrangements for testing and treatment for everyone. All these efforts are going on continuously and at a large scale,” he said.

Learn from the past

The PM said the current situation should be a lesson to learn from the past and make provisions for the future.

He cited the situation of workers in the eastern states as a case in point and said the problem suffered by the poor during the crisis has been exacerbated by the lack of development in the region.

Self-reliance

The Prime Minister reiterated his message of Atmanirbhar Bharat or self-reliant India and said many problems being faced now would not have arisen if the villages and towns were self-reliant.

“At some places work in skill mapping of the labourers is taking place, at some places start-ups are being encouraged, migration commission has been commissioned somewhere and the Centre will also help open up opportunities for employment self-employment and small scale industries in villages. These decisions are aimed at resolving the crisis and building a self-reliant India,” he said.

Yoga and Ayurveda

PM Modi urged people to explore the benefits of yoga and said several international leaders had shown interest in knowing more about Ayurveda and yoga.

“During this corona crisis I had a chance to speak to many world leaders I want to share one secret today, they expressed great interest in Yoga and Ayurveda. Some leaders enquired how these can help in these times of Corona,” he said.

“We have to explore yoga for community, immunity and unity,” the PM said.

Pointing out that the International Yoga Day is around the corner, he said that during the lockdown people from Hollywood to Haridwar are paying attention to yoga.

Environment

With the World Environment Day coming up on June 5, the PM said it is imperative to pay attention to the biodiversity and conservation of water.

“In some parts of eastern India, we witnessed the destruction caused by cyclone… I was in Odisha and West Bengal last week to take stock of the situation. The way people of West Bengal and Odisha showed courage in dealing with the situation is commendable. In this hour of crisis the country standing by the side of people of these two states” he said.

He said the lockdown has given an opportunity to understand the rich biodiversity around us.

“Clean environment is directly linked to our life and the future of our children and therefore we have to be concerned about it individually, I request you to plant some trees on this environment day,” he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...on-and-yoga/story-aK9lEFC3k8mFALbAUzSocI.html

The emperor patting himself, lol. You won't find a bigger liar in the history.

I am sure 95% of his bhakhts have already printed this letter and put it in their batuaas(wallets) with Modi's photu(photo). Remaining 5% have saved it as PDF so that they can post it in forums like PP. :inti

Listing your acheivements doesnt make you more impressive but less

If you're doing something worth bragging about others will brag for you

I am sure 95% of his bhakhts have already printed this letter and put it in their batuaas(wallets) with Modi's photu(photo). Remaining 5% have saved it as PDF so that they can post it in forums like PP. :inti
No Modi supporter has yet entered in this thread. Perhaps even they're embarassed to see their Messiah patting himself even in these extraordinary times!

India's Modi urges citizens to stay alert to virus as lockdown eases

India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi warned the country to remain vigilant against the spread of coronavirus as the country prepares a phased re-opening of activities even as daily cases rise to record highs.

India, with the world's longest lockdown, is set to largely lift containment measures in June, except in high-risk zones.

"The fight against the coronavirus is intense, we cannot drop our guard," Modi said in his national radio address, a day after his government extended the lockdown until June 30 in high-risk zones but permitted restaurants, malls and religious buildings to reopen elsewhere from June 8.

"Wearing a mask, gloves and following social distancing rules is essential as everyone will soon start stepping out of their homes," Modi said.

Not sure what is the issue here. A democratically elected govt is answerable to its people and Modi is giving report card of his work to the people of India. Not sure since when govt being transparent to its citizen being an issue in a democracy. Unless ofcourse we have made our mind to criticize him anything he does.

Unlike previous regimes where govt used to interact with press, then biased media used to add mirch masala and present it to public, Modi directly interacts with people. Also, its not an election year or anything, so its not even a case of blowing his own trumpet.

As a Pakistani public, would you not want Imran Khan to be also transparent like this? Would you not want his report card?

No Modi supporter has yet entered in this thread. Perhaps even they're embarassed to see their Messiah patting himself even in these extraordinary times!

Normal after completion of a year. Nehru awarded himself Bharat Ratna, so showing faux humility is not something that should be expected of our leaders.

Job of the media and opposition to raise questions on the 1 year report card, not the govt.

Not sure what is the issue here. A democratically elected govt is answerable to its people and Modi is giving report card of his work to the people of India. Not sure since when govt being transparent to its citizen being an issue in a democracy. Unless ofcourse we have made our mind to criticize him anything he does.

Unlike previous regimes where govt used to interact with press, then biased media used to add mirch masala and present it to public, Modi directly interacts with people. Also, its not an election year or anything, so its not even a case of blowing his own trumpet.

As a Pakistani public, would you not want Imran Khan to be also transparent like this? Would you not want his report card?

Unfortunately Modi is not capable of addressing a press conference which does not include handpicked questions, that’s probably why he prefers the ‘direct’ interaction.

IK holds press conferences on all the issues on a regular basis, some may actually criticise him for the sheer numbers of pressers he attends, however you wouldn’t be aware of this given the amount of brainwashing you are subjected to.

As for the achievements list, two of the three make mention of Pakistan (air strikes, surgical strikes), discrimination against Muslims (Citizenship act, Ayodhya) & the lockdown in Kashmir (Article 370).

Modi should be ashamed of himself that in the midst of a global pandemic, which his government has not fully got to grips with, he is resorting to the oft used and trusted party messages that centre on the politics of hate and division.

As one poster pointed out this seems satirical rather than legit.

During the lockdown with too much time on hand I was going through the recent Delhi state elections that happened in India. It was shocking where one party was having its rallies and the speech was dominated by development/betterment of state the other party was completely bipolar and their speech (or should I say hate speech) was completely dominated by doctrine of divide and extremism.

Had the party or PM issued a report card before the state elections perhaps they would have won in that state as certainly the state did vote on the back of performance rather than divide.

While the rest of India prepares to reopen, individual states are identifying high-risk zones where lockdowns will stay in place.

Prime minister Narendra Modi’s government has extended lockdown until 30 June in these ‘containment’ zones that continue to report high infection numbers. Outside the zones, restaurants, malls and religious buildings will be allowed to reopen from 8 June, in a relaxation of the world’s longest coronavirus lockdown.

The number of cases confirmed in India has reached a daily record high during the past 48 hours, and critics argue Modi is leaving the responsibility of dealing with the virus up to individual states.

In India’s most populous state, Uttar Pradesh, 1,111 zones have been identified, while in Gujarat, over 400,000 houses were marked as high-risk zones. Officials in the western state of Maharastra said all markets, except malls and congested spaces, will be allowed to function in a staggered manner. The eastern state of West Bengal identified 285 containment zones in its capital, Kolkata.

India has reported 182,000 confirmed cases, with 5,164 deaths.

As one poster pointed out this seems satirical rather than legit.

During the lockdown with too much time on hand I was going through the recent Delhi state elections that happened in India. It was shocking where one party was having its rallies and the speech was dominated by development/betterment of state the other party was completely bipolar and their speech (or should I say hate speech) was completely dominated by doctrine of divide and extremism.

Had the party or PM issued a report card before the state elections perhaps they would have won in that state as certainly the state did vote on the back of performance rather than divide.

Well, the development/betterment party you refer too was AAP and Kejriwal - if it's of any consolation, he won the election.

The BJP candidate got routed and as of a few days ago, was seen flouting the lockdown/social distancing guidelines and playing cricket.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said on Tuesday India will tide over the coronavirus pandemic and will get back on track with the government’s decisive policies.

PM Modi made the comments while delivering the inaugural address at the Confederation of Indian Industry’s (CII) annual session 2020, Getting Growth Back.

Modi congratulated the industry body on completing 125 years of the organisation as he made his first major speech on the Indian economy since the announcement of Unlock 1.

“We will definitely get our growth back. India will get its growth back,” he said while addressing the session through video conference.

“Corona has pushed us back but India has pushed back as well after the lockdown and entered Unlock Phase 1. As a great part of the economy has been opened up and more will open after June 8,” he said.

He then gave reasons behind his confidence.

“Some people must be thinking about how can I be so confident during this hour of crisis. I have immense trust in India’s capabilities and crisis management. I trust India’s talent and technology. I trust innovation and intellect of India. I trust the farmers of India, MSME’s, entrepreneurs and on industry leaders,” he said.

India has been able to enter Unlock Phase I because as the coronavirus was spreading its tentacles across the world, India was ready.

He was indicating to the government’s slew of policy reforms and a revival package of Rs 20 lakh crore to help India cope with the Covid-19 pandemic and the impact of the lockdown imposed to fight it.

“As industry leaders, you would have questions about the government’s next step. Getting the economy back on track is among one of our highest priorities,” he said.

The government has taken decisions that will help the country in the long term as well, the Prime Minister said.

The Centre had on Saturday released details of the first of a three-phase plan—Unlock 1.0—to lift stringent restrictions imposed over two months ago to stop the spread of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

The Union home ministry said on Saturday places of worship, shopping malls, and hotels and restaurants can open from June 8 as it released details of the first of a three-phase plan aimed at lifting stringent restrictions imposed over two months ago.

The plan also removes restrictions on inter- and intra-state travel.

The Centre has empowered states and Union territories to identify containment zones in accordance with the health ministry’s guidelines.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...growth-back/story-J3s6cmM7DfVW3vBpRshoBN.html

Another achievement in this 'illustrious' list.

Excise Duty on fuel in 2014

Diesel : ₹3.56
Petrol : ₹9.40

Excise Duty on fuel in 2020

Diesel : ₹31.83
Petrol : ₹32.98

Well done, illiterate Sanghis. Even when crude prices are at their lowest, you're fleecing India! Dumb bhakts will be so proud of your actions!

Another achievement in this 'illustrious' list.

Excise Duty on fuel in 2014

Diesel : ₹3.56
Petrol : ₹9.40

Excise Duty on fuel in 2020

Diesel : ₹31.83
Petrol : ₹32.98

Common man be like :inti

33ira3.jpg

Indian govt has decided to increase the excise duty on fuel to fight covid-19

Indian govt has decided to fund the fight against the novel coronavirus by increasing the excise duty on fuels.

The duty will go up by ₹8 per litre (£0.089) for both petrol and diesel to mobilise additional resources required to fight the covid-19 pandemic.

The announcement comes amid falling global oil prices.

According to the amendment tabled in the Finance Bill 2020, the Finance Ministry has proposed to increase special additional excise duty on petrol to ₹18 per litre (£0.20) from a present level of ₹10 per litre (£0.11) and on diesel to ₹12 per litre (£0.13) from the present ₹4 per litre (£0.045).

https://www.energylivenews.com/2020...ease-fuel-excise-duty-to-fund-covid-19-fight/

The above post shared by my beloved countryman is taken from left party leader Sitaram Yechuri's twitter account. Left party is a party which reduced and only exists in Kerala and JNU. The reason I know this because many of my liberal friends (call them aquintances) are sharing the same post and spamming my FB wall. But as they say, half knowledge is more dangerous than being ignorant.

^^ To fight Covid19 lol? And what exactly are they going to do with this? Feku is going to collect money from people who are already suffering losses? What was the use of PM Cares fund then? :inti

Don't argue with facts with bhakts. They'll first bring you down to their level and then....

Yeah when people are losing income and jobs then the best thing is to make them pay even more on something that they already pay exorbitant amounts on. As of May 2020, Indians pay the highest taxes on fuel in the world. We are being screwed by these people.

Over 72% trust PM Modi on matters of national security: Survey

NEW DELHI: Amid border tensions between India and China, a survey revealed that more than 70 per cent of people across the country trust Prime Minister Narendra Modi on matters of national security.

Trust in Modi was visible across geographies, income and education levels as well as caste and ethnic identities.

According to the latest IANS CVoter snap poll, 72.6 per cent have faith in handling of the situation by the Prime Minister to a "great extent", 16.2 per cent have confidence to "some extent", while 11.2 per cent people have no trust at all.

https://m.timesofindia.com/india/ov...-security-survey/amp_articleshow/76548673.cms

Modi skips Eid in the line-up of Indian festivals. Act of omission or commission?

The Prime Minister of a nation with 172 million Muslims citizens did not mention the festival of Eid, which is in August, in his address to the nation Tuesday. Narendra Modi rattled off the names of all upcoming festivals such as Guru Purnima, Ganesh Chaturthi, Diwali, Durga Puja, Chhath Puja, and Kati Bihu. He even announced an extension of the Centre’s free-ration scheme till the end of November, and detailed how much wheat, rice and chana families would get.

But there was no mention of Eid.

“From July onwards, the atmosphere of festivals begins to develop. Now see, we have Guru Purnima on 5 July. Then Saawan (month of Hindu calendar) will start. We will then have 15 August, Raksha Bandhan, Krishna Janmashtami, Ganesh Chaturthi, Onam. If you move further ahead, we have Bihu, Navaratri, Durga Puja, Dussehra, Diwali, Chhath Puja,” he said in his 15-minute address.

Guru Purnima is the closest upcoming festival, followed by Raksha Bandhan, Ganesh Chaturthi, and Janmashtami, all of which fall in the month of August. But Modi decided to take a convenient leap till Diwali, Durga Puja and Kati Bihu, completely skipping Bakri Eid, which will be on 31 July – 1 August.

This is new India where Muslim festivals can be ignored. But is this an act of omission or commission?

A deliberate slip-up

Asaduddin Owaisi, AIMM president, pointed out that Modi made it a point to mention chana in his address, but failed to mention Eid. Nonetheless, Owaisi wished the PM Eid Mubarak. Activist-scholar Umar Khalid questioned Modi’s popular claim of ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas.

Modi, however, is not someone to miss such details. He often extols the fabric of India. He is well aware that his words, or his omissions, will be noted and analysed — and he wants them to be. It was nothing less than a deliberate skip, a design to hurt Muslim sentiments, and invisibilise them.

Some will say that he tweets on Eid. But that he does because not doing so would invite direct questioning and international attention.

Pick up any of Modi’s addresses, he rarely includes Muslims or Christians. This is a strong signalling to his core constituency that dreams of a ‘Hindu Rashtra’.

Only apathy

Many years ago, Modi refused to wear a skull cap during his sadbhavana fast in Gujarat. Today, he ignores a Muslim festival, even in such grim times of unemployment and widespread morbidity caused by a pandemic.

The only time Modi notices Muslims is when there is a protest on the streets. He recognises them by their clothes, and then his supporters spread Islamophobia identifying Muslims on the basis of their names, beards and burqas.

A Prime Minister who espouses slogans such as ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas’ would have at least shown the humility of acknowledging Muslims, who followed his lockdown call to stay indoors during Ramzan, while mosques remained shut. But Modi only has apathy to show for the community. Clearly, the idea of diversity is just a diplomatic postcard for Prime Minister Modi.

https://theprint.in/opinion/pov/mod...stivals-act-of-omission-or-commission/451911/