Politics not your business, go play cricket: Nawaz Sharif tells Imran Khan

<div id="selectorElement" style="width:560px;height:330px;">
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7YqG2pMIIa0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<script data-cfasync="false" id="EboundAd" type="text/javascript" src="//eboundservices.com/ads/ads.js" width="560px" height="330px"></script>
</div>

OKARA: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Saturday lashed out at Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan and said politics was not his business, hence he should go back to play cricket.

“Politics is not your trade. Go play cricket,” he said mockingly, while addressing a public gathering in Okara, and added playing cricket too was not possible for him at this age. He also denied submitting his resignation on Imran’s demand.

Following Supreme Court’s formation of joint investigation team in Panama Leaks case against the PM and his family, Imran has said he should have resigned on ethical grounds so that an unbiased investigation could be conducted in “one of the biggest scandals of this century”.

Nawaz defied the opponents and said he would not resign. He said Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) would continue to construct roads and PTI would just keep measuring them.

He also took a dig at low turn out at PTI’s recent public rally and said PTI’s rally and PML-N’s rally had a huge difference.

While praising dignity of female workers of his own party, the premier spoke ill of the opposition party’s women and said that “you know what those sisters were doing in PTI’s rally”.

PTI leader Shireen Mazari took the PM to task over criticising women workers of PTI and said, “The PML-N government is in utter chaos. PM attacks PTI women in panic.”

https://arynews.tv/en/politics-not-business-go-play-cricket-nawaz-tells-imran/

But today PM sahib not agreeing to slaughter Pervez Rasheed has put him into trouble.

Hope now those with all money laundering evidence show some sharam in JIT, though I guess again they will make compromise because IK doesn't suit them at all. They just want to use him ro press Sharif's and Bhutto's in order to control them.

The idea of either of these men, IK more than NS, holding the highest elected office in the country makes me want to burn my passport.

Don't worry he has learnt and will learn more once in power and won't go Zia's way but

The power houses won't let him in so you need not to worry.

Yeah IK is not financially and morally corrupt hence he cannot be in politics, you have to be pateechar like NS or AZ to be in politics.

You have to start somewhere. Can disagree with IK's policies but he has proved over 20 years that he is a politician. I remember how Amitabh Bachchan fell flat on his face when he tried politics so indeed it is not for everyone. This criticism coming from a man who chooses his own umpire when playing Cricket doesn't sound very nice.

In Pakistan Imran Khan is not wanted in Power by Establishment, Judiciary, Bureaucracy and all Political parties and politician's for a reason. They know if he is in power than " sub ki tajoreeaan khullein geen " everyone will be held accountable.

Yes the whole Pakistan is out to deny the leadership of the country to Imran Khan.

To be honest, had it not been for Imran, the panama paper case would never had happened. He made sure the media covered it, and he took the battle to court.

India has yet to deal with its panama leaks.

He did a freaken Dharna in the place where no man could enter easily. Red Zone of Islamabad isn't just a joke. Entering that place is very damn difficult. That Dharna gave other political parties a taste of their own medicine, like how PMLN or PPP would do jalsas in areas that are not built for and end up destroying the place. Imran did his jalsa in Red Zone.

Whoever is the brains behind this party, sure knows how to lead

So now Zia ka Janasheen Lohar will tell others what to do and what is democracy?

Imran wasn't launched by a dictator and there is a 21 year struggle behind him.

If by being political they mean someone like Zardari or Nawaz than no sir we are happy Imran isn't a politician. He is a leader and leaders think about next generations not next elections with false promises.

The reality that Pakistan PM is corrupt, a liar and maybe even a traitor bother you less than Imran coming in power?

Yes. Religious extremism and gender imbalance are bigger issues than corruption and I'd rather not have IK in power in a country where those issues already exist to the extent that they do in Pakistan.

Do you think that religious extremism will go out of the window and things will get worse than present if Imran comes to power? Why wouldn't you trust Imran Khan and PTI to work towards a more moderate and tolerant society?

Do you think that religious extremism will go out of the window and things will get worse than present if Imran comes to power?

This is what I think will happen: corruption will decrease marginally, women's rights would suffer and extremism would increase.

So [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] please enlighten us how Imran Khan's past behaviour makes you think women's rights would suffer if Imran comes to power.

Off the top of my head, involving CII in women's rights legislation, letting 14 girls colleges shut down on account of a Rs. 280 million funding shortfall the same week his government gave Rs. 300 million to Taliban University, his party opposing forced conversion bill which disproportionately targets women in Sindh.

Wake up people.
These roads they're building only pits up the prices of the land and properties they bought.

I hope people were not su stupid to vote for him and that the elections were in fact rigged..
M

Off the top of my head, involving CII in women's rights legislation, letting 14 girls colleges shut down on account of a Rs. 280 million funding shortfall the same week his government gave Rs. 300 million to Taliban University, his party opposing forced conversion bill which disproportionately targets women in Sindh.

And how conveniently you missed the news that only female teachers for primary schools in KP a new initiative by PTI govt and also the regular annual games for females under PTI govt where Imran Khan is happy watching female students from conservative districts like di khan and bannu participanting sports. You really need yo remove yoir glasses.

Also then what is Shariffs's definition of a politician?

A corrupt businessman who is capable of corruption of the highest order. Someone who has no care towards the poor and who is out to win votes through bribery and crime.

I think I'll got for the cricketer who has oxford education, set up free cancer hospitals, a new party and has become the official opposition party all within twenty years.

And how conveniently you missed the news that only female teachers for primary schools in KP a new initiative by PTI govt and also the regular annual games for females under PTI govt where Imran Khan is happy watching female students from conservative districts like di khan and bannu participanting sports. You really need yo remove yoir glasses.

I don't ask you to justify your political views to me and I don't see why I need to justify mine to you. I didn't miss out whatever mickey mouse measures you're referring to, I just don't consider them significant compared to the anti women measures they have taken and I have very little patience for his one step forward two step back topi drama. Involving the Islamic Ideology Council in women's rights legislation(a completely arbitrary move not required under the law) is tantamount to having Hitler vet Jewish rights legislation. His party has been complicit in barring women from voting and are currently in an alliance with a party who's last chief went on the record saying women should not report rape. His party was one of the first to oppose the passage of forced conversion bill in Sindh. I hope you'd excuse me for not buying into some second rate measures promoting school girl sports when he's complicit in denying women some of their most fundamental rights as human beings and citizens of Pakistan, perpetuating the scourge of domestic violence that affects an overwhelming majority of Pakistani women by repeatedly opposing women's rights and anti domestic violence legislation going as far back as 2006 and is a known religious conservative, a political position that happens to be anti women by default.

That pop though when he said "Oye Nawaz Sharif tumhare kehne pe isteefa dega". And also when he tells IK to go play kirket. Better than anything in the WWE in recent times. [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

I can see why the masses love him. He has swagger.

That pop though when he said "Oye Nawaz Sharif tumhare kehne pe isteefa dega". And also when he tells IK to go play kirket. Better than anything in the WWE in recent times. [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

I can see why the masses love him. He has swagger.

Agree. Very charismatic leader.

Clutching at straws now, some of your points are not even relevant to how PTI gov is bad for women. For every news story about women schools closing there are hundreds of examples of new women girls schools opening up and 100s rebuilt (destroyed by Talibans). Women teachers were given special bonuses to increase numbers. Read reports on first time ever Female elite police and commandos in KPK.

There are several other examples which i won't even bother posting because nothing is going to satisfy you but i just had to mention this for others reading.

Just a few days ago, you refused to appreciate Imran Khan's strong stance against Mashal Khan's killers saying he did it because everyone did so completely ignoring the fact that this sort of reaction from sitting government has never been seen before. Even PPP leaders refused to come out strongly against Taseer's killers with some statements here and there. PTI/IK reaction was so impressive that even people like Raza Rumi, Marvi Sirmed, Abbas Nasir, Nusrat Javed were full of praise but you still did not think it was good enough. PTI even supported the amendment to blasphemy law which MOST parties will refuse to even discuss but you can still concentrate on some random issues.

There are several other examples which i won't even bother posting because nothing is going to satisfy you but i just had to mention this for others reading.
Basically, this so why even bother? I'm not going to suddenly see the light because people with a known pro-PTI bias tell me he's doing great, nor am I going to lower the standard I hold my elected representatives to. I have my priorities on which various issues, you have yours, so why try to convince me that yours are right and mine aren't? Clutching at straws is quoting some sports event for school girls as an example of efforts for empowerment when the same people have gone out of their way to oppose legislation against domestic violence, honor killing and forced conversions which are much more important to me than some tournament for school girls. I didn't refuse to appreciate IK's statement, I refuse to consider it in isolation while disregarding his past actions and rhetoric, including his continued alliance with JI and a certain terrorist organization N-League gets a lot of flak for being in a similar alliance with. I simply refused to take his condemnation at face value without waiting for follow up, a stance I feel is justified given his checkered history on such matters, at least by my standards.

Also [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] if your concern is about women and not Imran Khan, you would have at least bothered to comment on 3 time Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif's Golden words from just couple of days ago.

"Look at our women, standing in the corner and you must have seen PTI women in their jalsas".
In other words a sitting Prime Minister is saying that women belong to a corner and not mainstream. This is far more shameful than anything i have heard recently from a top politician/leader. In response to that, all Imran Khan said was "At least learn from your own experience when your so called die hards were hiding when Musharaff took over and a WOMAN "Kulsoom Nawaz" stood up for you against the traitor.

This alone is enough for anyone to know what sort of mentality our leaders have for women.

And yes this does not make you Nawaz supporter but you are by no means a neutral :)

Basically, this so why even bother? I'm not going to suddenly see the light because people with a known pro-PTI bias tell me he's doing great, nor am I going to lower the standard I hold my elected representatives to. I have my priorities on which various issues, you have yours, so why try to convince me that yours are right and mine aren't? Clutching at straws is quoting some sports event for school girls as an example of efforts for empowerment when the same people have gone out of their way to oppose legislation against domestic violence, honor killing and forced conversions which are much more important to me than some tournament for school girls. I didn't refuse to appreciate IK's statement, I refuse to consider it in isolation while disregarding his past actions and rhetoric, including his continued alliance with JI and a certain terrorist organization N-League gets a lot of flak for being in a similar alliance with. I simply refused to take his condemnation at face value without waiting for follow up, a stance I feel is justified given his checkered history on such matters, at least by my standards.

As i said, i had to post because your biased comments may misguide others reading your posts.

BTW Imran didn't just issue statements, many actions followed that are unprecedented and hence the appreciation from worst critics :)

Also [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] if your concern is about women and not Imran Khan, you would have at least bothered to comment on 3 time Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif's Golden words from just couple of days ago.

"Look at our women, standing in the corner and you must have seen PTI women in their jalsas".
In other words a sitting Prime Minister is saying that women belong to a corner and not mainstream. This is far more shameful than anything i have heard recently from a top politician/leader. In response to that, all Imran Khan said was "At least learn from your own experience when your so called die hards were hiding when Musharaff took over and a WOMAN "Kulsoom Nawaz" stood up for you against the traitor.

This alone is enough for anyone to know what sort of mentality our leaders have for women.

And yes this does not make you Nawaz supporter but you are by no means a neutral :)

What kind of ridiculous line of reasoning is that? Every time I criticize someone I need to qualify that with criticism of his/her competitors? How is this any different from those idiots who go 'haye Kashmir kay musalman', 'haye falasteen', 'what about Rohingyas' and so on every time one brings up the treatment of minorities in Pakistan? NS and is party is a lost cause and not worth the time or effort spent criticizing though my views on them are pretty clear and I don't need to go around qualifying my criticism of IK with equally strong criticism of NS. If the same is done on an N League thread, you have 60 different people scream "deflection".

As i said, i had to post because your biased comments may misguide others reading your posts.

BTW Imran didn't just issue statements, many actions followed that are unprecedented and hence the appreciation from worst critics :)

Those actions may be enough for you, they aren't for me. Why should I adjust my standard to be more in line with someone else's because they don't like my stance on various issues, politicians and parties?

PS. Is the irony of accusing me of having a bias completely lost on you given your own extremely strong pro PTI bias?

Those actions may be enough for you, they aren't for me. Why should I adjust my standard to be more in line with someone else's because they don't like my stance on various issues, politicians and parties?

PS. Is the irony of accusing me of having a bias completely lost on you given your own extremely strong pro PTI bias?

If elections were held tomorrow and you were required to vote, who would you vote for?

Obviously Imran has thousands of issues but he is still the best of a bad bunch. I'd take IK over NS/AZ any day of the week and twice on Sunday.

If elections were held tomorrow and you were required to vote, who would you vote for?

Obviously Imran has thousands of issues but he is still the best of a bad bunch. I'd take IK over NS/AZ any day of the week and twice on Sunday.

Wouldn't vote. Didn't work out too well the last two times. Best of a bad bunch is subjective because it comes down to what issues are most important to you. If corruption is your biggest priority, a case can be made for IK. For me though, corruption is not even on the same planet as women's rights and religious extremism, and as far as I'm concerned, IK is nowhere near the best option even from the crappy ones in Pakistan when it comes to those issues. If there was a gun to my head, would probably vote ANP with great reluctance because for all their other faults, their position on extremism is much firmer and has been far more consistent over the years. In the recent anti blasphemy rally a few days back, they were the only party not to send representatives and this was a rally where mortal enemies like PTI and JUI F had no qualms in rallying for the same cause.

You need to take things in perspective. Lets say if even Ik was an Athiest and if he attended Mashal's funeral out of Humanity and as a matter of respect where would the Society be standing ?

IK might be wrong in many ways but He cannot say and do many things in Pakistan because of where the Majority nation stands. Thanks to Mulaeeat and Zia ul Haq.

You want IK to say and do things whereby He is made another Salman Taseer and Nation sees another 5 lac plus funeral of another Mumtaz Qadri.

Political Leaders just don't have to see whether they themselves are liberal, secular, moderate whatever. They have to read the Public pulse.

If Today IK says in a 50,000 gathering that if He comes in power He will repeal Blasphemy Law aswell as 84 ordinance. You and I will be very happy. We will clap. We will appreciate. Wow. What a brave, bold leader. And tommorow there will be no IK breathing on Plannet Earth.

It's right to criticise IK. Even I have agreed with you on many things here and have criticised PTI government but be subjective. They are Millions deadly Saamp around and one has to be vary of them.

Extremism is a huge problem in Pakistan but even if we take right course which even I doubt ANP will do than it would take 40 years to reverse it. But since you Alhamdoulillah are from an Elite class so it bothers you most but the Major problem faced by Majority Pakistani's is still poverty, roti, kaprha, makaan, school, haspataal waghera waghera.

Nobody knows more than me here of how Injurious this Blasphemy Law is. We have suffered massively. But even what IK has said is although right but very dangerous and he must beef up his security. Did you see the video I posted of Mardan today ? And what that Islamic Scholar was saying in a massive Mardan rally ? I would rather want a conscious subdued IK than a dead IK.

K-P to only hire women as primary school teachers

PESHAWAR: Acting on a proposal made earlier this year, the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) government has approved that only female teachers will be hired in government-run primary schools across the province.

The provincial cabinet this week approved the proposal that the K-P Elementary and Secondary Education Department had made in January. From now on, only women will be hired on new vacancies for primary schoolteachers.

At the moment, there are 72,110 schoolteachers in province’s more than 23,000 primary schools, according to the elementary education department’s annual statistics report. Of these, 45,525 teachers are male, and 26,585 are female.
The education department’s media adviser Najiullah Khattak confirmed to The Express Tribune that the provincial cabinet led by Chief Minister Pervez Khattak had accepted its proposal.

For modern education: K-P govt to employ 14,000 teachers

According to Khattak, the new academic year began this month and the department will now begin to hire female teachers.

“In all developed countries mostly women teach on the primary level,” he said. “Psychologically, children feel more comfortable with a woman than with a man.”

Because women provide a more caring and loving environment, children’s interest in school increases, he added.

Citing the United Kingdom as an example, Khattak said 88 per cent of primary school teachers there are women, men account for only 12 per cent. At nursery level, 97 per cent of teachers are women, he said.

The education department official further said that with the new policy in place dropout rates in K-P schools would decrease and more women will be added to the workforce.

However, educationists and experts have had mixed reactions to the new policy.

Former schoolteacher and education expert Fazal Hanif was of the view that the decision will disproportionally affect men.

“K-P already has few job opportunities for men. Teaching is a profession where a large number of men are employed,” he said.

Hanif said that instead of just hiring women, the government should provide opportunities for both genders to work in public schools.

For female teachers, promotions come at a price

On the other hand, Khwendo Kor, a non-profit that works to address women’s issues, welcomed the government’s decision but suggested it should first be observed as a model in some districts, and if it is successful, it should be extended to the province.

Khwendo Kor Regional Manager Nazra Syed wondered how the policy would be implemented in far-flung rural areas where women tend to stay out of the public and professional sphere.

“The government would need to resolve these issues before implementing the decision,” she said.

When questioned about what would happen to male teachers who are already working in primary schools, Elementary and Secondary Education Minister Muhammad Atif Khan told The Express Tribune that they would remain in service till they retire. The vacant positions will then be filled by women teachers.

The minister claimed with women teaching in primary schools, instances of corporal punishment which have been reported in the past few months will be eliminated.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1397688/k-p-hire-women-primary-school-teachers/

Yet another article (from this week) that proves PTI gov is bad for the women ;-)

I rest my case :)

Yet another article (from this week) that proves PTI gov is bad for the women ;-)

I rest my case :)

Curious to know about the representation of women as teachers in secondary and higher education.

Long story. It's temporary. Only here till my paperwork for a place that is actually fit for human habitation(Aus) comes through. Coercion and an offer I couldn't refuse were involved, not helped by the fact that the company I was working for left Pakistan recently and jobs that pay anywhere near what they did for what I do are pretty much non existent.

Imran Khan is pro-Taliban. That makes him the enemy of humanity. So Nawaz Sharif is right.

So you are unaware of the fact that Imran Khan wants to negotiate with the Taliban ?

At one point yes he said negotiate with Taliban, but so did Nawaz Sharif.

Like I said, don't show your ignorance..

At one point yes he said negotiate with Taliban, but so did Nawaz Sharif.

Like I said, don't show your ignorance..

Nawaz Sharif dallying with terrorists is well known. that doesn't negate his statement that IK is ill-suited and unqualified for politics. Those who deal with terrorists and want to make a deal with terrorists, should be 'droned' by the CIA.