Potential squad replacements for Pakistan's tour of England

The original squad of 29 was: Abid Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali (captain), Babar Azam (Test vice-captain and T20I captain), Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmad, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Imran Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz, Imad Wasim, Kashif Bhatti, Shadab Khan, Yasir Shah.

Players who tested positive: Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imran Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan and Wahab Riaz.

All these players have tested positive ahead of the Pakistan team's departure for the England tour.

Comments from Wasim Khan on the situation:

"We fully expect the players to be tested again, the players are coming to Lahore tomorrow, the players who were negatively tested before will be tested again in a bio-secure environment in a hotel on 25th, the squad will be announced on the 27th, and the team will leave for England on the 28th"

"Currently Misbah is looking at the plan for reserves - we have 4 players in the reserves and we are looking at whether we need to draw on those reserves to go to England, on top of that we are looking at 3-4 of other reserves who Misbah is identifying at the moment, they will also be tested and on alert if required in England"

"It sounds like a lot of players (who are Covid+) but we planned for this potential scenario; We started planning for this about a month ago about what if this or that happens"

"If these players are tested positive again in 10-12 days time, then further reserves that Misbah is identifying today will come in an join the squad depending on which discipline those players are who cannot make it"

At this rate, Misbah and Younis Khan might need to pad up and Waqar and Mushtaq strengthen the bowling attack.

Wait a minute. Only 3 people were positive yesterday. Now 10 people. Ho kya raha hai?

Sarfraz will snatch his place back from rizwan in the test team :))

His batting will be treat to watch against anderson,broad and woakes with duke ball

His resurgence will be short if he play all 4 test which will also jeopardize his t20 spot and also might end his career

Get Zafar Gohar in for Kashif Bhatti please. Sameen Gul in for Imran Khan. Sharjeel in for Fakhar. Don't know about others.

His batting will be treat to watch against anderson,broad and woakes with duke ball

His resurgence will be short if he play all 4 test which will also jeopardize his t20 spot and also might end his career

i cant imagine him facing archer. i also wonder if sarfraz will ever make another fifty in it20s. he has been okay in the psl though.

PCB is hoping that the players who have currently tested positive will recover in couple of weeks to test negative and then will be sent to England on a commercial flight. If not all atleast some of them should recover in couple of weeks.

Replacements in my opinion for the 10 players in case any of them doesnt recover:

Kashif Bhatti -> Zafar Gohar

Shadab Khan -> Bilal Asif/ Sajid Khan(Classical off spinner who can bat decently)

Haider Ali - > Imran Butt/ Sami Aslam/ Zeeshan Malik/ Omair Yousuf

Mohammad Hafeez -> Umer Amin/ Hussain Talat

Mohammad Hasnain -> Muhammad Musa

Haris Rauf -> Ehsan Adil/ Amad Butt/ Aamir Yamin

Imran Khan -> Ehsan Adil/ Sameen Gul

Wahab Riaz -> Sohail Tanvir (For T20s only)

Fakhar Zaman -> Sharjeel Khan (Depending upon fitness)/ Zeeshan Ashraf

Mohammad Rizwan -> Rohail Nazir (Sarfaraz will play him but to give him exposure)

PCB is hoping that the players who have currently tested positive will recover in couple of weeks to test negative and then will be sent to England on a commercial flight. If not all atleast some of them should recover in couple of weeks.

Replacements in my opinion for the 10 players in case any of them doesnt recover:

Shadab Khan -> Bilal Asif/ Sajid Khan(Classical off spinner who can bat decently)

Mohammad Rizwan -> Rohail Nazir (Sarfaraz will play him but to give him exposure)

Bravo sir! Those are some excellent alternates you have come up with. Fully agree with those replacements.

Great squad. I hope something along these lines comes into being.

Test XI built using players who tested negative:

1. Abid Ali
2. Shan Masood
3. Azhar Ali (c)
4. Babar Azam (vc)
5. Fawad Alam
6. Asad Shafiq
7. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
8. Yasir Shah
9. Shaheen Shah
10. Mohammad Abbas
11. Naseem Shah

T20 XI built using players who tested negative:

1. Babar Azam
4. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
5. Iftikhar Ahmed
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Faheem Ashraf
9. Shaheen Shah

As you can see, our Test XI is perfect. The issue is with our T20 XI — I try to take all situations optimistically, so I think it is a good opportunity to give a chance to a couple youngsters.

Our gaping holes are at number 2 and 3, where we can introduce Sharjeel and Zeeshan Ashraf, followed by one spinner and 2 fast bowlers where we can introduce Umer Khan/Zafar Gohar, Sohail Tanvir, and either Musa/Dilbar.

I’m not happy with the last fast bowler pick tbvh but other than Naseem (who I don’t want to overplay) and Amir (who doesn’t want to play), no one is coming to mind. Sohail Khan might get a chance honestly, knowing Misbah’s mindset.

But Tanvir and Umer Khan would be exciting.

Final T20 XI might look like this:

1. Babar Azam
2. Sharjeel Khan
3. Zeeshan Ashraf
4. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
5. Iftikhar Ahmed
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Sohail Tanvir
9. Shaheen Shah
10. Dilbar/Musa/Sohail Khan
11. Umer Khan/Zafar Gohar

Test XI built using players who tested negative:

1. Abid Ali
2. Shan Masood
3. Azhar Ali (c)
4. Babar Azam (vc)
5. Fawad Alam
6. Asad Shafiq
7. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
8. Yasir Shah
9. Shaheen Shah
10. Mohammad Abbas
11. Naseem Shah

T20 XI built using players who tested negative:

1. Babar Azam
4. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
5. Iftikhar Ahmed
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Faheem Ashraf
9. Shaheen Shah

As you can see, our Test XI is perfect. The issue is with our T20 XI — I try to take all situations optimistically, so I think it is a good opportunity to give a chance to a couple youngsters.

Our gaping holes are at number 2 and 3, where we can introduce Sharjeel and Zeeshan Ashraf, followed by one spinner and 2 fast bowlers where we can introduce Umer Khan/Zafar Gohar, Sohail Tanvir, and either Musa/Dilbar.

I’m not happy with the last fast bowler pick tbvh but other than Naseem (who I don’t want to overplay) and Amir (who doesn’t want to play), no one is coming to mind. Sohail Khan might get a chance honestly, knowing Misbah’s mindset.

But Tanvir and Umer Khan would be exciting.

Final T20 XI might look like this:

1. Babar Azam
2. Sharjeel Khan
3. Zeeshan Ashraf
4. Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
5. Iftikhar Ahmed
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Sohail Tanvir
9. Shaheen Shah
10. Dilbar/Musa/Sohail Khan
11. Umer Khan/Zafar Gohar

The test XI you mentioned will probably be the most probable.

The t20 XI I'm wondering if Amer Yamin plays, the fast bowling prospects I'm stumped though maybe try Muhammad Amir Khan from U19. The spinner i wouldn't mind seeing either of those but Usman Qadir impressed me in the one game he played. Sohail Akhtar was another player that played pretty gritty in PSL this season so don't know if he merits a return, i don't think Sharjeel comes back as he has been given negative feedback for his fitness.

The test XI you mentioned will probably be the most probable.

The t20 XI I'm wondering if Amer Yamin plays, the fast bowling prospects I'm stumped though maybe try Muhammad Amir Khan from U19. The spinner i wouldn't mind seeing either of those but Usman Qadir impressed me in the one game he played. Sohail Akhtar was another player that played pretty gritty in PSL this season so don't know if he merits a return, i don't think Sharjeel comes back as he has been given negative feedback for his fitness.

t20 probable in my eyes:

1. Babar Azam (c)
2. Shan Masood
3. Umer Amin
4. Iftikhar Ahmed
5. Khushdil Shah
6. Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Imad Wasim
9. Muhammad Nawaz
10. Naseem Shah
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi

t20 probable in my eyes:

1. Babar Azam (c)
2. Shan Masood
3. Umer Amin
4. Iftikhar Ahmed
5. Khushdil Shah
6. Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Imad Wasim
9. Muhammad Nawaz
10. Naseem Shah
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Shan and Amin are unlikely imo. Imad Wasim I forgot tested negative, so you are right that he is the probable spin option.

Rest of the squad looks perfect, with a question mark on Naseem as I want him to only play tests right now.

Shan and Amin are unlikely imo. Imad Wasim I forgot tested negative, so you are right that he is the probable spin option.

Rest of the squad looks perfect, with a question mark on Naseem as I want him to only play tests right now.

I think Naseem did quite well plus he's one of the fittest. Shan i can see getting a go as he played well in the recent PSL, Umar Amin is a fav pick for me as he did well in the recent National t20 cup in Pakistan. However, I'm more concerned about the tests to played well. For the love God please don't play Sohail Khan

Umar Amin
Ehsan Adil
Sameen Gul
Usman Salahuddin
Rohail Nazir
Would like them.

Don't think they'll need replacement player, but if they do, I'd love to see some of these guys get selected

Rohail Nazir
Sharjeel Khan
Saud Shakeel
Mohammad Musa
Zafar Gozar
Rumman Raees

Nice test team for t20 series

t20 probable in my eyes:

1. Babar Azam (c)
2. Shan Masood
3. Umer Amin
4. Iftikhar Ahmed
5. Khushdil Shah
6. Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Imad Wasim
9. Muhammad Nawaz
10. Naseem Shah
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Shan masood babar and amin in top three 100 is about resonable

Not at all. SR will be horrible from overs 1-10 and put too much pressure on middle/lower order.

Iftikhar and Khushdil are the only high SR batsmen in this lineup.

Not at all. SR will be horrible from overs 1-10 and put too much pressure on middle/lower order.

Iftikhar and Khushdil are the only high SR batsmen in this lineup.

I meant that's the total score pakistan will get if them there play at the top just give sharjeel ago even thou hes unfit but that's the best Pakistan have

COVID-19 test: Big names under consideration for England tour

Following positive coronavirus tests of 10 squad members, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is considering recalling some experienced and new faces for the tour.

Following first phase of COVID-19 assessment 10 cricketers, from a total of 35, were tested positive for the deadly bug.

The selectors had already named four reserve players, Imran Butt, Bilal Asif, Musa Khan and Mohammad Nawaz, as a cover if any player failed pre-tour COVID-19 test. However, now they are looking at other options as well.

Among those cricketers, Openers Sami Aslam, Zeeshan Malik and wicketkeeper-batsmen Adnan Akmal, Zeeshan Ashraf and Rohail Nazir are being considered as possible replacements.

Meanwhile, for bowlers, pacers Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil and Tabish Khan are topping the list.

Chief selector-cum-head coach Misbahul Haq has been given the authority by the selection committee to take the final call on the replacements.

The 18 players who tested negative will report to a local hotel in Lahore today, where they will be placed in a bio-secure environment ahead of tomorrow's round two of testing.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/40000643/covid-19-test-big-names-under-consideration-for-england-tour

COVID-19 test: Big names under consideration for England tour

Following positive coronavirus tests of 10 squad members, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is considering recalling some experienced and new faces for the tour.

Following first phase of COVID-19 assessment 10 cricketers, from a total of 35, were tested positive for the deadly bug.

The selectors had already named four reserve players, Imran Butt, Bilal Asif, Musa Khan and Mohammad Nawaz, as a cover if any player failed pre-tour COVID-19 test. However, now they are looking at other options as well.

Among those cricketers, Openers Sami Aslam, Zeeshan Malik and wicketkeeper-batsmen Adnan Akmal, Zeeshan Ashraf and Rohail Nazir are being considered as possible replacements.

Meanwhile, for bowlers, pacers Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil and Tabish Khan are topping the list.

Chief selector-cum-head coach Misbahul Haq has been given the authority by the selection committee to take the final call on the replacements.

The 18 players who tested negative will report to a local hotel in Lahore today, where they will be placed in a bio-secure environment ahead of tomorrow's round two of testing.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/40000643/covid-19-test-big-names-under-consideration-for-england-tour

I rather have junaid khan than imran khan and ehsan over imran Khan anyday.

Also semi aslam good choice and rahul nazir dont want adnan akmal anywhere near the squad

Adnan Akmal
Tabish Khan
Junaid Khan

Waiting for his supporters to defend this after musa, imran etc selections.

Junaid,Tabish,Zeeshan among possible replacements for England tour: PCB

The selection committee has started deliberating
over possible replacements for the players who
tested positive for novel coronavirus (Covid-19).
Following the announcement on Monday that
three players had tested positive for Covid-19, the
Pakistan Cricket Board on Tuesday confirmed that
a further seven players and a player support
personnel from a total of 35 have tested positive
for Covid-19.
Earlier, the selectors had named four reserves in
Bilal Asif, Imran Butt, Musa Khan and Mohammad
Nawaz as a cover in case any of the players fail
pre-tour Covid-19 testing. However, now they are
looking at other options as well.Openers Sami Aslam, Zeeshan Malik and
wicketkeeper-batsmen Adnan Akmal, Zeeshan
Ashraf and Rohail Nazir are being considered as
possible replacements.
On the fast-bowling front, pacers Ehsan Adil,
Junaid Khan and Tabish Khan are also under
consideration.
Chief selector-cum-head coach Misbahul Haq has
been given the authority by the selection
committee to take the final call on the
replacements.
The 18 players who tested negative will report to
a local hotel in Lahore today, where they will be
placed in a bio-secure environment ahead of
tomorrow's round two of testing... What you think?is england tour must have tour for PCB?

GOD!!!!

Adnan Akmal, Tabish Khan and Junaid Khan. So Imran Butt, Sameen Gul and Zafar Gohar are just not good enough??

Like the idea of Sami Aslam, Zeeshan Malik, Zeeshan Ashraf and Rohail Nazir. Three poor names but the rest are good.

[MENTION=139354]TeymurBlake[/MENTION] i think ehsan adil is in the same bucket of sohail khan,we dont know why they choosed a medium pacer but other are good esp. Tabish khan and Rohail Nazir

GOD!!!!

Adnan Akmal, Tabish Khan and Junaid Khan. So Imran Butt, Sameen Gul and Zafar Gohar are just not good enough??

Like the idea of Sami Aslam, Zeeshan Malik, Zeeshan Ashraf and Rohail Nazir. Three poor names but the rest are good.

Sameen gull is good option

[MENTION=139354]TeymurBlake[/MENTION] i think ehsan adil is in the same bucket of sohail khan,we dont know why they choosed a medium pacer but other are good esp. Tabish khan and Rohail Nazir

Is that the 40 year old tabish khan

Assuming that some of the boys who have been tested positive don't make the tour (which i don't think they should) then this is the best playing XI i can come up with.

Is that the 40 year old tabish khan

yes,but not 40 he is 35. He has absolute brilliant FC performance. He deserve a place in int'l team.aur waisy b yar sirf England tour k liye toh probable hai na. I dont think misbah will play him for longer time even if he performed.

THIRD update on players’ Covid-19 tests

Lahore, 25 June 2020:

The Pakistan Cricket Board today confirmed five reserve players and a backup player support personnel have undergone Covid-19 tests.

The five players who were tested are Bilal Asif, Imran Butt, Mohammad Nawaz, Musa Khan and Rohail Nazir along with masseur Mohammad Imran.

Bilal, Imran, Nawaz and Musa were originally named as reserve players on 12 June when the 29-player squad was announced, while Rohail has been added as a backup wicketkeeper.

On Thursday, 18 players and 11 player support personnel underwent second round of tests, while the 10 players and one player support personnel, who had tested positive earlier in the week, will be retested on Friday.

The PCB will announce outcomes of all tests on Saturday and until then will not make any further comment.

– ENDS –

That pseudo bits and pieces allrounder bilal,nawaz are pathetic option .i don't understand misbah liking for both

Why are they not giving zafar gohar much deserves opportunity when he has performed better than these 2

That pseudo bits and pieces allrounder bilal,nawaz are pathetic option .i don't understand misbah liking for both

Why are they not giving zafar gohar much deserves opportunity when he has performed better than these 2

Misbah didn't pick him for Islu team in PSL when they were crying out for his services so I doubt he is going to take him to England.

Ehsan Adil is a good bowler specially for Test Cricket. He might not be pacy but due to his height and accurate line & length makes him a good choice for the series.

Tabish Khan is 35 years old. Much like Sohail Khan has suspicious fitness and is 35 years old whereas Sameen Gul would have been a much wiser choice.

yes,but not 40 he is 35. He has absolute brilliant FC performance. He deserve a place in int'l team.aur waisy b yar sirf England tour k liye toh probable hai na. I dont think misbah will play him for longer time even if he performed.

I rather musa khan than tabish khan.yes he has brilliant fc performance but he wont be able to do the same in international .

So you want between who are in between can you state a few plz

I would like to see Usman Salahuddin in the squad. Can't think of many other batters if I'm honest.

Would be happy to see Sameen Gul and Zafar Gohar selected in the bowling department.

Ehsan Adil is a good bowler specially for Test Cricket. He might not be pacy but due to his height and accurate line & length makes him a good choice for the series.

Tabish Khan is 35 years old. Much like Sohail Khan has suspicious fitness and is 35 years old whereas Sameen Gul would have been a much wiser choice.

I rather musa khan than tabish khan.yes he has brilliant fc performance but he wont be able to do the same in international .

yes Ehsan Adil is alway good option especially for english conditions.
[MENTION=149054]shamaan[/MENTION] musa khan is now in probable if the covid +ve players didn't recovered. Sohail tanveer is another good option For T20Is.

Guys, we are missing another Raw talent, i am talking about Umer khan(karachi kings) leg spinner.he is good in bowling friendly pitches and also read batsman mind well.he always took big wickets in PSL i.e. AB,afridi,hafeez,ronchi,Lynn,watson and few other not mentioned.

Hes similar bowler to imad wasim not the same but similar dont see him playing ahead of imad or playing both in the same team

bro, in which universe are you? They are playing for Karachi kings together since 2019...

I genuinely think Misbah and Younis should replace Azhar and Shafiq in the squad.

bro, in which universe are you? They are playing for Karachi kings together since 2019...

He missed the first 3 matches and in the last 3 games he only bowled 3 overs if he wasnt in the same team as imad he would have played every match.if you fink umer khan is ganna play ahead of imad and shadab u must be crazy in t20s

Let imad finish his career umer will get his chance then

Umar is Slow Left Arm