PPers - What lies were you told growing up?

TM Riddle

My dad to me - Beta just get 90 percent marks in 10th board and you are set for life :(

And also the infamous: "Padhoge likhoge toh banoge nawab, Kheloge koodoge to howoge Kharab" .
:facepalm: I mean look at the amount Jaidev Unadkat makes playing in one season of IPL and compare it to the salary of a scientist working for NASA.

I was told by many relatives that looking at my nails would subdue my urge to laugh uncontrollably. Surely it's a thing?

If you miss three jumma prayers in a row you are expelled from Islam

if this is true then my Muslim career has been a revolving door

My dad to me - Beta just get 90 percent marks in 10th board and you are set for life :(

Same, now they are asking me to MS which I'm not going to just because they want it ,I might regret it but still :P

Other being sab ke peir chuho,aashirwaad milega,sabka aashirwaad lena chahiye, dua milegi lmao.

Oh wait...

It is not true??

:danish

Other being sab ke peir chuho,aashirwaad milega,sabka aashirwaad lena chahiye, dua milegi lmao.

Right, you don't get blessings when elders bless you, but the deceased get to rest in peace when you say RIP. This is the problem with the millennial generation in india..they think it it cool to diss their culture and adopt foreign culture.

Do you eat non veg on Tuesdays?

Don't eat non veg at all. Only try the gravy from chicken curry and the rice in biryani, but no meat pieces.

But there are bound to be some chicken particles in the gravy which you will be ingesting. Isn't that the same thing as eating chicken?

I was told that India-Pak hatred is restricted to governments, but over the years I have realized what a big lie that was. It exists at all levels.

Lol its not true?!?!?!

Nothing wrong with bending down to touch feet for elders, give me lots of warmth and peace.

Back to topic - If you swallow a seed of a fruit, a tree will slowly start growing inside your tummy.

Supaari khao ge toh pait mai pathar ban jayega.I don't eat supari,but I remember that once I at a paan at a wedding and that's what I was told.

Oh and if you play with dogs they will haunt you in nightmares.An uncle once told me that when I was 5.I had an irrational fear of dogs for around 10 years...

If you go to a graveyard to pay respect to elders, don't return directly home, go somewhere else first or some "rooh" may follow you back.

Lol its not true?!?!?!

I tried to find some conclusive statement regarding it online but couldn't do so, so I thought it was just something elders told the kids so that they don't miss jumma.

It definitely worked in my childhood and youth, but now-a-days I find it hard to dip from work in the middle of the day.

I tried to find some conclusive statement regarding it online but couldn't do so, so I thought it was just something elders told the kids so that they don't miss jumma.

It definitely worked in my childhood and youth, but now-a-days I find it hard to dip from work in the middle of the day.

Ahh lmao. I've legit skipped classes to ensure I meet the one Friday prayer in three weeks requirement :)))

I guess it was a good thing I believed that in a way

When was the last time I said RIP ??And not like I stopped touching elders feet ,jus that it was a lie.

[MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] Jaded tryna be like his Punjabi homies from the other side of border these days. Looks like you and me are the only youngesters left to save the honor of Hindustan on PP.

The same old" Beta matric aur fsc me mehnat krlo, zindagi sanwar jayegi" and the other lie told to discourage kids to go into medical school which i wanted to when i was in 9th grade "K Doctori parhte parhte to aadmi ganja hojate he aur shaadi b late hoti he"

That Ricky Ponting used spring in his bat in the finals of 2003 wc.

Hahaha. In the 90's, we pakistanis used to say to each other k jayasuriya k balle me spring he, isiliye woh zida chakke marta he.

The same old" Beta matric aur fsc me mehnat krlo, zindagi sanwar jayegi" and the other lie told to discourage kids to go into medical school which i wanted to when i was in 9th grade "K Doctori parhte parhte to aadmi ganja hojate he aur shaadi b late hoti he"

Actually knew a guy in our group in our group who used to study 22 hours a day every day, apart from attending the compulsory lectures as he already knew more than the professors. A lot of his hair did actually turn white and he lost quite a few but it was also a genetic condition. Have you ever seen the size of a Grays Anatomy book?

wait what?? which parallel universe are Pakistani kids being discouraged from pursuing medicine?

You must have pretty ugly nails!

I think the story behind this, according to what I understood was that it reminded us of "haya" as they grew nails to cover their bare skins or something along the lines of being punished for something. Can't really remember the whole story.

P.S - I have really for well formed nails according to my wife, I also have to exhibit it to her aunts whenever they visit. Sign of a sophisticated man I am told.

wait what?? which parallel universe are Pakistani kids being discouraged from pursuing medicine?

Exactly... I had two choices in front of me doctor or engineer with a strong push towards engineering because father and older brother are both engineers.

Funnily enough my parents allowed my sisters to pursue whichever field they liked. Kya yeh khula taizaad nahi? :danish

I think the story behind this, according to what I understood was that it reminded us of "haya" as they grew nails to cover their bare skins or something along the lines of being punished for something. Can't really remember the whole story.

P.S - I have really for well formed nails according to my wife, I also have to exhibit it to her aunts whenever they visit. Sign of a sophisticated man I am told.

So you go around showing your nails, no wonder people don't laugh at your jokes.

Some of the answers are about superstitions, not lies. Now, superstitions are lies, but lies elevated, until they are folklore, part of your folk heritage, and need to be discussed elsewhere, not in the same breath as lowly, non-superstitious lies.

To paraphrase the old Apple add, “there’s a thread for that.” We have one devoted entirely to Pakistani superstitions. Search and ye shall find.

Same with me..I had posted about my beautiful nails many years ago. http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?164592-What-Inherited-Quality-Are-You-Most-Proud-of

i wasnt really proud of any physical traits, till girls started complimenting my fingers and my nails in particular..they are perfect U shape, and pinkish in colour..and they look manicured even without any polish.. it was then i started getting proud of my fingers. maybe God kept me single, but He gave me fingers of a female. I am sure my daughters will be proud to inherit it from me.. if my son inherits it even then it is fine.

Don't swallow gum or your butt-cheeks will stick together

I dunno about the rest of them but I was. The whole bloody khandan fed me this lie

Do not go near trees at night because of jinns.

If you hear dogs barking at night, they are seeing jinns.

Some of the answers are about superstitions, not lies. Now, superstitions are lies, but lies elevated, until they are folklore, part of your folk heritage, and need to be discussed elsewhere, not in the same breath as lowly, non-superstitious lies.

To paraphrase the old Apple add, “there’s a thread for that.” We have one devoted entirely to Pakistani superstitions. Search and ye shall find.

So the condition is Parents/Elders should be aware of the lies?

Do not go near trees at night because of jinns.

If you hear dogs barking at night, they are seeing jinns.

We were told the same as well. Except that we were warned for specific tree species such as Peepal, Baniyan and a few xerophytic bushes that are common in Rajasthan's countryside. My late great grandmother claimed Churails lived on them.

Djinns are part of Hindu or Sikh belief?

They are not but too much proximity and culture sharing with Muslims (esp in villages where Hindus and Muslims live in harmony) over the centuries has ensured that Hindus picked up a lot of stuff from Islam and the converse is true as well.

My late great grandma used to tell us loads of bedtime stories about Jinns, Peers with supernatural powers and stuff like that.
I don't know if I have mentioned it here before but whenever my mom is visiting our village and if any elderly Muslim lady comes at our home then she sits on the ground for ashirwad with the Muslim auntie on chair and It's only when she's done with this stupid 5 minutes long ritual that she joins her on chair.
Weird but that's how it's been since centuries.

They are not but too much proximity and culture sharing with Muslims (esp in villages where Hindus and Muslims live in harmony) over the centuries has ensured that Hindus picked up a lot of stuff from Islam and the converse is true as well.

My late great grandma used to tell us loads of bedtime stories about Jinns, Peers with supernatural powers and stuff like that.
I don't know if I have mentioned it here before but whenever my mom is visiting our village and if any elderly Muslim lady comes at our home then she sits on the ground for ashirwad with the Muslim auntie on chair and It's only when she's done with this stupid 5 minutes long ritual that she joins her on chair.
Weird but that's how it's been since centuries.

Had a similar thing in our Fireej (neighborhood) in Mankhool, Dubai, albeit it was an Arab area and consisted mostly of villas. The villas were sorted in a circle and on the other side was the Mussalah or Eidgah (Popular for Eid prayers and playing cricket in the parking grounds), which I am sure many Dubaians would know.

Anyway in the middle of the circle was a field of sand where we had made our football field but on the side stood the largest tree imaginable you can see in the desert. That plus the villa directly opposite to it belonged to the oldest woman there, around a 100+ which naturally gave birth to many a rumor of her being a Sahira (witch). In our teenage years after dark, we used to make a grill there by digging a hole in the ground, lighting up some coal and throwing in a chicken wrapped in Aluminium foil and used to dare each other to stay as long as possible under the tree.

However as [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] pointed out these are more superstitions rather than lies.

Had a similar thing in our Fireej (neighborhood) in Mankhool, Dubai, albeit it was an Arab area and consisted mostly of villas. The villas were sorted in a circle and on the other side was the Mussalah or Eidgah (Popular for Eid prayers and playing cricket in the parking grounds), which I am sure many Dubaians would know.

Anyway in the middle of the circle was a field of sand where we had made our football field but on the side stood the largest tree imaginable you can see in the desert. That plus the villa directly opposite to it belonged to the oldest woman there, around a 100+ which naturally gave birth to many a rumor of her being a Sahira (witch). In our teenage years after dark, we used to make a grill there by digging a hole in the ground, lighting up some coal and throwing in a chicken wrapped in Aluminium foil and used to dare each other to stay as long as possible under the tree.

However as [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] pointed out these are more superstitions rather than lies.
Tbf sometimes it becomes really hard to draw a line between the two since at times elders feed false/scary stories to children to reign them in.
Pretty sure this tree story was invented so that kids don't venture out in the dark on their own or because the fact that plants respiration rate is considerably high in the night time.

Tbf sometimes it becomes really hard to draw a line between the two since at times elders feed false/scary stories to children to reign them in.
Pretty sure this tree story was invented so that kids don't venture out in the dark on their own or because the fact that plants respiration rate is considerably high in the night time.

Yep, also when you believe something your mind translates things to confirm that belief. That is why people come up with all sort of stories and "experiences" at the slightest ruffle of leaves. Our mind is very adept at imagining things and confirming biases. Plus given our history our night life is a very recent phenomenon and the mind hasn't totally adapted to it yet, in the dark, our visual sense vanishes, and we are unable to detect who or what is around us. We rely on our visual system to help protect us from harm and make up things once we can't make sense of something-

True that.

Djinns.

Good and bad Djinns.

Djinns having a sweet tooth.

Djinns visiting... well basically anything to do with our friends the Djinns.

So the condition is Parents/Elders should be aware of the lies?

Perhaps. The point I was trying to make was that once a lie or errant belief lingers long enough to actually be passed down from generation to generation, it is a superstition, and superstitions are of enormous interest anthropologically, and since they are part of folklore, they are precious because folklore is precious.

Wait, let me bump the "official" superstitions thread. It is one of my favorites, alongside the Jinn one.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] I took the first line because its more emphasized normally.

Khair parh likh kar vi kuch nai hoya

I think most of us are forgetting the biggest lie;about how children are born!

I never had this discussion with any of the elders ever.

As kids we were told about a mythical creature called "Waai-woph" in Kashmir. That Waai-woph appears only when it snows heavily and it attacks anybody it finds alone in the vast swathes of land covered in snow. Scared the hell out of me as a kid and made sure i didnt go out in snow.

Mostly religious stuff - existence of god, heaven and hell, that kind of thing. Superstition is not very prevalent in my family so my exposure was limited but a few that I remember were djinns in trees, not leaving shoes or slippers upside down, and how kids are born (when two people get married, god sends a kid down from the heavens which is why only married people have kids).

For a long long time I believed it was when a man kissed a woman on her tummy.
:facepalm: I blame Bollywood.

My mother had me convinced that my brother was delivered in a box by angels outside the door. I was 8 and I remember grilling her about it that where is the box etc she told me to shut up. :))

Always thought it was so illegal to put on lights in car.

I don't recall anyone explaining to me how children are born. I think I read up science and had an 'wow' movement. Unfortunately, reproductive systems are not taught (but we learn in detail though :23: ) in detail, but plant reproductive system are taught in detail. lol

I am talking about 90's. Now everything has changed in India.

When I was little and didn't wanna eat anymore my mom would say "aik aur bite phir done" lol that was never the case

Lol what if they were parathas tho :inzi

Tbh ur right, I would be boutta throw up and still get that "aik aur bite" chit.

Here's a few I grew up with -

If you work hard you will always succeed
It's not the winning that matters but the taking part
Always play fair
There's a "GREAT" in Britain
Brits don't cheat - unlike various devious foreigners, immigrants, aussies etc
And of course - Father Christmas. Though even I admit to passing that on to my son & even convincing him by showing him the "Santa Tracker" page on the NASA website on Xmas eves. He is still to forgive me for that one.

Find it hard to recall all the lies but found out some very harsh realities at an early age

:))) Yeah alright

giphy.gif