Praveen Kumar announces retirement from all formats [Update Post #122]

He's not eyecatching or all that quick, but has fantastic control of line and length.

Would it be unfair to say that he bowls the best outswinger in international cricket at the moment - perhaps Dale Steyn or Jimmy Anderson might disagree with that ?

Don´t know much about him being the best in any regard, but I must appreciate this for a fact that he bowls his heart out. People won´t hang his posters at walls like they would in case of Brett Lee, Lasith Malinga, Dale Steyn etc., but he is effective.

Still very early in his career but I can't believe someone who bowls so slow is getting such (relative) success.

He's decent with the bat too (when he puts his mind to it) - could just be what India is looking for in a 5th bowler/bat a bit type of player.

He's an artist with the ball if he can mantain even 80mph he will be very successful... He is a better test bowler compared to any bowler in pakistan at the moment

Tell that to the deluded fans who still think Pakistan's fast bowlers are better than India's at present :)))

And the less said about our batting in comparison to India's the better.

Just shows how bad we have become

I'm quite surprised actually with his performance, I always thought though he had swing (a lot) but might still struggle because of lack of pace but he has managed well so far and is working for him as he can bowl long spell without much strain. But I guess in long run, he'll need to add more pace to be threatening.

Surprise surprise

No 'Congratulations Thread' for Praveen's 5fer yesterday. Why so insecure Ppers?

Just because there is a drought of good pace bowlers in Pakistan, why hate on the success of others? :malik

When I saw him bowl for the first time, I thought he will be clobbered around the ground given his pace. Then I saw his figures when reading match summaries and was surprised to see him pick up wickets without going for a lot of runs. And even I believed he wouldn't be that effective in test cricket given his lack of speed and heavy reliance on cutters. But he's again surprised me here. Could be just a honeymoon phase but I hope the honeymoon lasts a good number of years. :p

how so? because this is a first timer

You feel that he is checking through the naked eye, because he uses his wrist a lot for the movement. But, he is not in reality, if you see from back of the angle it shows a clear action. This guy has already played nearly 3 years of international cricket, and if I remember correctly never been reported even once for suspect action.

Anyway, very good display of swing bowling from Praveen in the last few tests. Swinging it both ways, though a major setback for him would be lack of pace, specially in conditions which are not ideal for swing bowling. Initial signs are good for a promising bowler, hope he continues the good work.

Can´t help comparing this guy to Kapil Dev from day one. His style of playing is very similar to him. Their biggest weapon is their own heart.

If only he could add a little more sense to his batting. He has a decent technique for a tail ender.

Surprise surprise

No 'Congratulations Thread' for Praveen's 5fer yesterday. Why so insecure Ppers?

Just because there is a drought of good pace bowlers in Pakistan, why hate on the success of others? :malik

Are you ill in the head? Praveen better than any of our pacers? Praveen's not as good as our 34 year olds running around the county circuit because they're not good enough for the national side. :rana

Bump!

How about that PK folks? I know a lot of Indian PPers don't think highly of him either but I think he deserves an applause. Poor guy got denied two lbws as well. Anyways, out of all the bowlers from the Indian side at the moment, I think I can safely say I am a PK fan. Let's see how he does outside England. However, good prospect for the future I say.

PK is a legend in swinging conditions.
If he bowls little bit faster than afridi or kumble arnd 135 case, then PK = :asif

Respect. PK is the man to partner ZK, what a class act!

pk has lovely outswingers and good line and lenth ...imagine he was a 90mph bowler ..he would be very dangerous ....bowled really well today

PK is lethal when the ball is moving, on most decks he is at best a new ball bowler. Dont think he will have a long test match career. Just my opinion.

Zaheer finally found his partner. But Zaheer's time is up, so now Praveen has a huge burden on his shoulder.

Beautiful bowling. Enjoyed watching him swing that cherry. That lifter to Trott was class.

Made to bowl in english conditions, don't know how he bowls in the subcontinent though. Really impressed by him! I love medium pacers who manage to get wickets, the guile they use is a work of art.

He vastly depends on overcast condition,grassy kinda pitch and new ball.Don't see him doing any good on flat tracks unlike Asif he is not good at Reverse swing.He needs to develop that.

Look when he has been brought into the team, he has to be given a fair chance, he might look stupid, but the fact is that not too many players are good at handling the swing, so fair chace should be given, he is also handy with the bat.

5 tests, 23 wickets so far..What else do you want from a young bowler early in his career. Yes the pitches have been helpful but he has outbowled many other bigger names on either side.

As he plays more, hopefully he can add more pace as well. But as long as he keeps getting that swing, pace would not matter much. Will get hit on flat wickets but then who doesn't get hit on flat wickets?

CIF, kisko uloo bana rahe ho?

Indian pacer adding on pace?! :yk

Praveen Kumar got his career best of 25 :yahoo

and then got out the next ball with Jimmy's yorker.

Jinxing commentators ruining India's chances.

Gotta give credit to this guy. Has no pace, relies only on swing. Has been bowling lots of overs and long spell when the captain needed him and bowled so economically, has put Ishant and Sreesant to shame who have much more pace.

"Cricket cannot be played without junoon" : Praveen Kumar

Trust Uttar Pradesh and Sunrisers Hyderabad seamer Praveen Kumar to speak from his heart. At a time when there are calls by former players to cut down on the on-field aggression by cricketers, the seamer, who likes to get the aggressive juices flowing, said the game would become boring if that happens.

"If I won't be aggressive, how will it work? As a fast bowler you have to be passionate and aggressive to bring the best out of yourself," the 28-year-old told dna from Vizag.

"It will become boring. There won't be fun in the game if I don't give a stare or tell a batsman anything. Not only does it give us an extra boost, but people also get to enjoy the contest. If I run in, bowl, get hit for a boundary, go back again to my run-up, showing my back, the game will become boring. You won't get to see the junoon (passion). Cricket cannot be played without junoon," he added.

PK, as he is fondly called by his friends, however said the aggression should not go beyond a limit.

"People get to see an interesting contest between batsman and bowler. However, it should not go beyond a point. The same players who fight it out have coffee after the match. We don't take it home. It shouldn't be an issue," he said.

Kumar, who was bought by SRH for Rs 2.2 crore in the IPL auction in February, said he is excited to play alongside Dale Steyn and Ishant Sharma.

"I am really excited. Last year there was an unfortunate injury that forced me to miss out (on the IPL). This is a nice and simple franchise and I am looking forward to playing for them," he said.

"We have different bowlers, some who can hit the deck hard, some who can swing, someone who can swing and bowl fast. We will get to learn a lot from each other. I have played with Dale Steyn before. We have a strong combination and I'm keen to start with the new ball," he said.

IPL helps players get into the radar of the Indian selectors, but Kumar, who last played for India in 2012, said he is not thinking on those lines.

"Every player is different and everyone has different perceptions. Some think of impressing selectors by performing in IPL while some choose Ranji Trophy. I have done well in Ranji this season and produced some good performances. I would like to take one match at a time and try to do well. Rest, leave it to God," he said.

Kumar made a great impact in his first year of international cricket before fading out due to an ankle injury, But he said he doesn't look back at it.

"It happens in cricket. Injuries are a part and parcel of the game. You will be really lucky if you don't get injured. I don't think too much about it. I rather focus on the future. I have been bowling a lot and am positive. There is a lot of hunger in me," he said.

Does he see swing bowler Bhuvneshar Kumar as a competition in the Indian team?

"I don't believe in competition. I try to do my own stuff. As far as Bhuvi is concerned, he is my kid. I have taught him the game," he said.

Kumar knows his role precisely for SRH. "My role is to get wickets in the beginning, then keep it tight in the death overs. Stay positive. This is the plan and this is what I want to do," he said.

Source: http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report-cricket-cannot-be-played-without-junoon-praveen-kumar-2075300

Agree with kumar , aggressiveness is a key weapon in the fast bowler's arsenal as a cricket fan I relish seeing players fired up like wahab riaz or starc.

I really like his bowling. Can swing it both ways. I still think he can be a very handy bowler for India especially in Tests.

He's too slow to contribute anything at the top level now. His peak was when India won the CB series in '08, and he was absolutely tremendous.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">its been a great jounery.<br>Its been a great life.<br>With a heavy heart I want to say gud bye to my 1st love <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CricketMeriJaan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CricketMeriJaan</a> <br>But the test cap no 268 nd ODI 170 will be mine till indian cricket era will continue... Thankyou <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BCCI</a> nd <a href="https://twitter.com/UPCACricket?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@UPCACricket</a> for helping me to live up my dream.&#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819;</p>— praveen kumar (@praveenkumar) <a href="https://twitter.com/praveenkumar/status/1053524445933883392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

Has announced retirement from all forms of Cricket.

Thanks for the memories Praveen bhai. Everyone knew he wasn't a freak athlete but he could swing the ball prodigiously and was a threat under such conditions.

He won India the CB series i will say that. He wrecked the Aussie top order they had no clue who was this guy and how he bowled in 2008. His mystery factor totally swung that series in India's way. Point to be noted India were thrashed in most games by Aussies before the finals.

I am shocked why the Indian's didn't utlize praveen kumar and buveshnwar kumar together especially in England. These guys are masters of swing bowling conditions.

His swing bowling exhibition in our train-wreck 2011 England tour was masterful. He was overshadowed by Dravid's 3 100s, else it would have been talked about more often.

I am shocked why the Indian's didn't utlize praveen kumar and buveshnwar kumar together especially in England. These guys are masters of swing bowling conditions.

Their careers didn't overlap, PK was done by the time BK came into the team. PK's official age is a joke, his real age must be above 40 now.

My memories when i was kid he won mom during 2008 CB series in Australia and he wasn't able to speak in English and Dhoni was translating for him. Good old days. Congrats and all the best for future.

I remember him being touted as the next Kapil Dev after a couple of decent knocks with the bat early in his career. He should have worked more on his hitting skills, it would have fetched him few more years in the IPL.

Lalit Modi threatened to end my career’: Ex-India star's bombshell remark, former pacer wanted to play for DC in IPL​

Recalling his stint with the Virat Kohli-starrer side in the world's richest T20 league, pacer Praveen claimed that he was threatened by former IPL commissioner Lalit Modi. Praveen made his IPL debut as RCB's frontline bowler, although the former Indian pacer had reservations about playing for the Bangalore heavyweights at the time. The former RCB pacer initially wanted to represent Delhi Capitals (DC) in the celebrated T20 league.

'Lalit Modi called me and threatened to end my career'

"I did not want to play for RCB because Bangalore was quite far away from my place, I didn't know English, and the food was not to my liking. Delhi is quite close to Meerut, which would have allowed me to travel to my home once in a while. However, there was a person who made me sign a paper. I did not know it was the contract. I told them I wanted to play for Delhi and not Bangalore. Lalit Modi called me and threatened to end my career," Praveen told The Lallantop.

‘He is a pathetic umpire’: Praveen Kumar on Marais Erasmus

During the same interaction, Praveen also lashed out at veteran official Marais Erasmus. The former India pacer asserted that the 'pathetic umpire' made 'horrible' decisions in India's Nottingham Test match against England. "He is a pathetic umpire. His decisions are horrible; he gives out when it is not out and gives not out when it is out. We were playing a Test match in Nottingham. I had bowled a lot of overs. Kevin Pietersen was hit on the pads off my bowling, and it was plumb in front. Erasmus adjudged it not out. I told him, 'Tu andha vandha hai kya?' (Are you blind or what?)," he added.

What happened to Praveen Kumar?
The former India fast bowler played the inaugural game of the IPL back in 2008. Praveen went wicketless in his IPL debut game against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. The former RCB fast bowler picked up 90 wickets in the IPL. The 37-year-old played 119 matches in the IPL. Praveen also represented India in 6 Tests, 68 One Day International (ODIs) and 10 T20Is. The medium pacer also plied trade with Punjab Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Gujarat Lions in the cash-rich league. He was unsold at the 2014 auction.

Source : The Hindustan Times