Predicting Misbah-ul-Haq's excuses for the ODI loss against Zimbabwe

CricketingMinds

Tape Ball Star
What do you think his excuses will be like?

"They are an international team a professional team and we should treat them with respect" ---> That mindset is just bothersome

"Iftikhar took 5 wickets in previous match - he is a match winner on his day. We need to invest in experienced youngsters like Iftikhar"

Misbah will say, khila lia na talent ko, humne pehle hi kaha tha ke Zimbabwe ko easy nhi lena hai. Ab khushi mil gai hogi.

Right let me take a guess and we'll paste Misbah's words at the press conference to see how much it matches.

"Yeah obviously vee are disappointed. Credit to Zimbabwe, they played good cricket specially Muzarabani."

"Look it's a young team with inexperienced players. They are still learning. We need to be patient."

When asked about the Super Over - "look these things happen...err...credit to Zimbabwe their boys played well."

This guy is the absolute worst thing to ever happen to Pakistan cricket.

"The team is in transition and we need to back them to deliver results later"

"This Zimbabwe is a tough side and their ranking do not justify them"

" We have a young team, this is an experience for them. They will get better in the future".

Whatever the excuses the reality is half this team that played today has played 20 one day matches or less.

It’s about losing the battle and winning the war .
The Young players who are the likes of Haider , khushdil, musa, hasnain are taking their first steps in international cricket .

The more older players who have been performing in the domestics which includes Rizwan and iftikhar also fall under that bracket of having just about playing 20 matches or less.

If Were were to add Zafar gohar and Abdullah shafique who has not even played a single List A game to the starting 12 then it makes for a very inexperienced team .

When you have such a team their are bound to be disappointments and failures and some shocks .

In fact Misbah and the coaching staff really need to be lauded for sticking their necks out and giving players ago .

Building a team is a process and you either stick or twist . There is no need to panic and make wholesale changes . Back these players.

We can’t have it both ways where we want youngsters to be in the team and then blame the coaching staff when that young team loses.

If this loss was with the likes of Malik , Hafeez , Shahzad , etc then I would be much more annoyed . These youngsters inshallah will learn from it.

Whatever the excuses the reality is half this team that played today has played 20 one day matches or less.

It’s about losing the battle and winning the war .
The Young players who are the likes of Haider , khushdil, musa, hasnain are taking their first steps in international cricket .

The more older players who have been performing in the domestics which includes Rizwan and iftikhar also fall under that bracket of having just about played 20 matches or less.

If we were to add Zafar gohar and Abdullah shafique who has not even played a single List A game to the starting 11 then it makes for a very inexperienced team with an inexperienced captain at the helm .

When you have such a team their are bound to be disappointments and failures and some shocks .

In fact Misbah and the coaching staff really need to be lauded for sticking their necks out and giving players ago .

Building a team is a process and you either stick or twist . There is no need to panic and make wholesale changes . Back these players.

We can’t have it both ways where we want youngsters to be in the team and then blame the coaching staff when that young team loses.

If this loss was with the likes of Malik , Hafeez , Shahzad , etc then I would be much more annoyed . These youngsters inshallah will learn from it.

We wanted to send iftikahr in because he can hit sixes but today it just didn't work we wanted to send khushdil in to give youngster a chance in pressure situation
- his comments regarding super over

misbah needs to go , however.. the team that played today should never have lost to zimbabwe, we had enough experience and talent to win regardless, so they have to shoulder the blame, aswell. people have been asking for kushdil, today he didnt perform now all of a sudden its why is misbah putting in inexperienced players like kushdil.

Khushdil did well batting at number 7 in his debut facing immense pressure.

No matter how talented a team, they cannot overcome bad planning. Heck even after we clawed our way to a super over I was still confident we could win.

I seemed to have underestimated how bad Misbah was and he proceeded to send Ifti, Fakhar and Khushdil in the Super Over :facepalm:

Why was Iftikhar sent in during Super Over? That was mindboggling.

Only excuse Misbah may use is the fact some main players were rested (Imad and Shadab).

He will say that the team is in a transition state and we are experimenting for the ODI WC so cut us some slack.
We tried out new players and they were basically ****.
We need Malik and Hafeez back.

Khushdil did well batting at number 7 in his debut facing immense pressure.

No matter how talented a team, they cannot overcome bad planning. Heck even after we clawed our way to a super over I was still confident we could win.

I seemed to have underestimated how bad Misbah was and he proceeded to send Ifti, Fakhar and Khushdil in the Super Over :facepalm:

Matches never go to plan, thats why you need to be versatile on the field,players need to take responsibility, i can guarantee you baber had as much say as misbah did in selecting who would come out in super over but for obvious reasons only misbah will get the stick.

I can guarantee you if hafeez was playing today we would have won, but we have been very vocal on this forum to see him go, problem is we dont have anyone as good as him to replace him .

Matches never go to plan, thats why you need to be versatile on the field,players need to take responsibility, i can guarantee you baber had as much say as misbah did in selecting who would come out in super over but for obvious reasons only misbah will get the stick.

I can guarantee you if hafeez was playing today we would have won, but we have been very vocal on this forum to see him go, problem is we dont have anyone as good as him to replace him .

We would have still won had Babar and Wahab been sent in the super over followed by Haider.

But Babar the captain did not have the mettle to carry on batting, he didnt send himself in, do you think Kohli would have stepped aside after making a 100.

Fact is it shouldn't have even gone o that stage, rizwan was poor again, imam rubbish. zaman rubbish , its all well and good calling for players to be dropped but who comes in to replace them. Safraz should still be in the team, so should hafeez, so should malik judging by these performances.

"Alhamdulillah hum series jeet gaye, aur kya chahiyay... itne experiments k bawajood, series win ka cake ready hai, do enjoy some"...

Can someone put up the match presentation please as the streamed closed straight after the match ?

Misbah is well over a year into his job, so he must have learned to talk by now .... just like Arthur learnt after a year and a bit. Therefore, I am not sure what he’ll tell now. But, same time last year, I would have expected the man to be bold & decisive enough: “ZIM played well, but we played poor, in fact we were pathetic - lucky to win the series because of ZOM’s experience and rustiness for six months complete shut down of their cricket and I am happy for not losing two games directly.

However, this is what it is we have and we’ll have to improve from here, with this players. I have given chances to younger players, they didn’t leave up to the task - either we can keep working to rebuild from this base and move up slowly, for that you have to be patient..... or I can call back Hafeez, Malik, Amir, Shahzad, Sarfraz ..... with their experience, they would have smoked past this ZIM team, just like Wahab has been the best all-rounder of the series. It’s a reality that we will have to accept and move on”.

But, he must have learned his tricks by now - what sells better; so I am not sure what he’ll say this time. I am expecting something in this line after usual excuses / “...... talent, potential, comparison with other players ... like Shaheen bowling like Starc, Hasnain is the next Cummins, Babar has crossed Kohli, Haider is the next AdV, Khusdil can be our Butler.... followed by where this team can reach in a year time ..., how the younger players are going to rock the boat and of course the backups that we have will keep pushing the older players .....”

Let’s wait .....

This guy is the absolute worst thing to ever happen to Pakistan cricket.

According to some, he's a knight in shining armour that rescued Pakistan from oblivion.