Prime Minister Narendra Modi acknowledges lack of toilets in India

Fallen King

India's Modi Talks Toilets

"We initiated “Clean INDIA” program – I don’t know whether it’s a big thing or a small thing- but I am determined to build toilets on a large scale, People ask me “what’s your vision, big vision?” I tell them I got to this stage but I started out selling tea……I can think only small things for small people, but these are big things for small people, these will change the future of India"

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Speaking at Madison Square Garden, New York September 29, 2014

Can’t we just make arrangements for toilets for the dignity of our mothers and sisters? Brothers and Sisters, somebody might feel that a big festival like 15th August is an occasion to talk big.....Brothers and sisters, you must be getting shocked to hear the Prime Minister speaking of cleanliness and the need to build toilets from the ramparts of the Red Fort. Brothers and sisters, I do not know how my speech is going to be criticised and how will people take it. But this is my heartfelt conviction. I come from a poor family, I have seen poverty. The poor need respect and it begins with cleanliness. I, therefore, have to launch a ‘clean India’ campaign from 2nd October this year and carry it forward in 4 years. I want to make a beginning today itself and that is – all schools in the country should have toilets with separate toilets for girls. Only then our daughters will not be compelled to leave schools midway. Our parliamentarians utilizing MPLAD fund are there. I appeal to them to spend it for constructing toilets in schools for a year. The government should utilize its budget on providing toilets. I call upon the corporate sector also to give priority to the provision of toilets in schools with your expenditure under Corporate Social Responsibility. This target should be finished within one year with the help of state governments and on the next 15th August, we should be in a firm position to announce that there is no school in India without separate toilets for boys and girls.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Speaking at Red Fort, New Delhi August 15, 2014

After blogging about it (here and here) and suffering nationalistic Indians' slings and arrows for years, it's refreshing for this blogger to see a top Indian leader finally acknowledge the serious problem of the lack of hygiene in India.

How Serious is the Problem?

India's rivers have been turned into open sewers by 638 million Indians without access to toilets, according to rural development minister Jairam Ramesh. He was reacting a UNICEF report that says Indians make up 58% of the world population which still practices open defection, and the sense of public hygiene in India is the worst in South Asia and the world.

India(638m) is followed by Indonesia (58m), China (50m), Ethiopia (49m), Pakistan (48m), Nigeria (33m) and Sudan (17m). In terms of percentage of each country's population resorting to the unhygienic practice, Ethiopia tops the list with 60%, followed by India 54%, Nepal 50%, Pakistan 28%, Indonesia 26%, and China 4%.
9345efa8fb71cd422bf1385d3a6b591a.jpg

18 percent of urban India still defecates in open while the percentage of rural India is as high as 69 percent of the population. It is the key reason why India carries among the highest infectious disease burdens in the world.

The number of open defecators in rural India alone is more than twice those in the whole of sub-Saharan Africa, according to a report by DFID, the UK's Department for International Development.

Impact of the Problem:

The World Bank has estimated that open defecation costs India $54 billion per year or $48 per head. This is more than the Government of India’s entire budget for health.

The UNICEF report says that with only one more years to go until 2015, a major leap in efforts and investments in sanitation is needed to reach the targets of Millennium Development Goals.

New research has found that poor sanitation is a major cause of stunted children in India. These children’s bodies divert energy and nutrients away from growth and brain development to prioritize infection-fighting survival,” said Jean Humphrey, a professor of human nutrition at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, in an interview with New York Times. “When this happens during the first two years of life, children become stunted. What’s particularly disturbing is that the lost height and intelligence are permanent.”

The World Bank child raised in India is far more likely to be malnourished than one from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe or Somalia, the planet’s poorest countries. Stunting affects 65 million Indian children under the age of 5, including a third of children from the country’s richest families.

Summary:

Mr. Modi is going beyond just recognizing the problem of lack of sanitation in his country; he is using his bully pulpit to push for allocating public and private resources to address it. He is setting a good example for other nations in South Asia, including Pakistan, to follow.

Here's a video of Modi speaking at Madison Square Garden in New York:

http://www.riazhaq.com/2014/09/indias-modi-talks-toilets.html

^ Good to see he acknowledges the real problems and is determined to finish the real problems. Only time will tell how this problem can be eradicated. :mv

Top stuff from the Indian PM, good to see India's PM address the problems of hygiene in his country instead of whining about how the country is portrayed as a slumdog wasteland like so many supposed Indian intellectuals. This victim mentality needs to stop and Modi Sahib is finally getting the message across. If you can't wipe your hands of others spilled blood at least wipe your own nether regions properly.

Seems to be quite a big problem in Pakistan as well. 48m people being forced to defecate in the open. That's around 30% of the population. Unbelievable.

source?

as for topic, good job! You can only solve problems by acknowledging them.

Pakistan is a failed state, why would you compare to a superpower? Learn to accept the responsibilities of leadership like Modi ji has done. First fix your own house before crapping on others.

If Bangladesh has managed to wipe out the practice (excuse the pun) there really is no excuse for other countries to have its people take dumps out in the open in 2014. All developing countries should make it a priority. Not only is it degrading (especially for women) it is a serious health risk as well. Kudos to Modi for tackling this issue publicly.

source?

as for topic, good job! You can only solve problems by acknowledging them.

India(638m) is followed by Indonesia (58m), China (50m), Ethiopia (49m), Pakistan (48m), Nigeria (33m) and Sudan (17m). In terms of percentage of each country's population resorting to the unhygienic practice, Ethiopia tops the list with 60%, followed by India 54%, Nepal 50%, Pakistan 28%, Indonesia 26%, and China 4%

Here it is. Pakistan (48)

He actually admitted a problem never thought he had that quality :O and thanks Malik Mohsin for posting it atleast u didn't criticize India this time (for all i know its a troll thread).

Modi talking about this at the biggest world stage. :14:

Apni khaamiyon ko samajhna is the first step towards growing stronger.

rule number 1: never talk about your flaws in front of others. lost any respect for modi, never had any in the first place.

Pakistan is a failed state, why would you compare to a superpower? Learn to accept the responsibilities of leadership like Modi ji has done. First fix your own house before crapping on others.

When you gonna learn from Modiji Captaan Saab??

Good to see he has priorities right

But I believe, this has got to do with people too... i know people in Villages who can afford a toilet and have pucca houses still not opt for it, just coz they are used to the fields. The problem as much about education as it is about infrastructure. Public Toilets, for sure should get much much much better ...both in number and in maintenance.

PM Modi orders bureaucrats to clean Public toilets on national holiday

India: Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has ordered his bureaucrats to come in to work to clean up their offices — including toilets — on this week’s national holiday to celebrate Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday.

The move is part of a nationwide cleanliness drive to be launched by Modi on the holiday Thursday, with the premier himself expected to take a broom to the capital’s notoriously dirty streets.

The initiative has sparked grumblings by officials from India’s infamously slow and vast bureaucracy who say the request to work, although theoretically voluntary, cannot be ignored.

Modi has cracked down on officials since storming to power in May elections, demanding they turn up to work at 9 am and paying unannounced visits to government offices.

“We have already been turning up on time and working till late (since Modi took office). Now we have been asked to wield the broom and we might as well do so,” one reluctant official told AFP in New Delhi on Tuesday.

http://www.thenewsinfo.com/2014/09/...-to-clean-public-toilets-on-national-holiday/

yes, a lot of people have been complaining since Modi came to power. when i was traveling in a train, i asked the food catering guys about usual stuff, and they said since Modi has come, there are regular vigilance raids in the trains, and it has become difficult to do corruption.
another official (ironically a modi supporter) was complaining too about his hours and surprise checks.

All these sounds similar to when Naidu was in power. When he was the CM of Andhra he used to do all these things. Anybody from andhra here? i swear Modi is using doing exactly what naidu was doing as the CM.

India is sending literally billions every year on improving sanitation and hygiene and toilets so it is not like we have not already acknowledged the pronlem

What about the loss of natural fertilizers so important for the growth and life of plants. Am I the only one worried about that.

World’s biggest toilet-building spree is under way in India

India is on the greatest toilet-building spree in human history, and it’s a windfall for companies.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s $20 billion “Clean India” mission aims to construct 111 million latrines in five years. Besides promising to improve the health, safety and dignity of hundreds of millions of Indians, the national hygiene drive has spurred an 81 percent jump in sales of concrete building materials and 48 percent increase in bathroom and sanitaryware sales, according to Euromonitor International. That’s benefiting firms from Tata Group, the nation’s largest conglomerate, to cleaning products maker Reckitt Benckiser Group Plc.

Almost 80 million household toilets are estimated to have been built since Modi’s 2014 pledge to ensure universal sanitation coverage by October 2019, which will mark 150 years since the birth of independence leader Mahatma Gandhi. The scale-up of latrines and a nationwide campaign to encourage their use is driving a market for toilet-related products and services that’s predicted to double to $62 billion by 2021.

“It’s the biggest, most successful behavior-change campaign in the world, said Val Curtis, director of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine’s Environmental Health Group, who has worked on the program in India. “Every time I go there, I feel like I can’t sit down for weeks after because I’m excited about what they’re doing. It’s incredible.”

Master.jpg

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...s-under-way-in-india/articleshow/65206911.cms

To give people an idea Toilet coverage in rural areas has went from 39 percent to more than 85% ever since the scheme was announced in 2014.

Well done to him, a plan which clearly has worked really well.

Will he now clean up the ganges?

How many are actually using the newly built toilets.

Hope those toilets are properly maintained.

Well done to him, a plan which clearly has worked really well.

Will he now clean up the ganges?

The plan to clean Ganges is underway with millions already poured in by the Union Govt under Modi but sad to see it hasn't seen the same progress as the clean Indian mission.

Good to hear bro. I would have thought this would have been an even bigger priority, as it's a holy river. Perhaps also come laws need to be upheld when some people simply throw bodys in the river. It would be sad if efforts take place to clean it and then it goes back to before.

Which part of the river is most used by worshippers?

IK should also show goodwill and donate the many various lotas we have to this cause.

Health and safety, which includes hygiene of course, is one of the distinguishing features of a first world country, and Modi ji should be commended on recognising this. Soon Pakistanis will find it difficult to mock Indian slum standards, and that can only be a good thing. Nothing raises standards at home quicker than peeping over the fence and seeing the neighbours well tended garden.

Impressive but its hard to believe these numbers. Maybe they are saying this to make modi look good. There needs to be an independent investigation into the accuracy of these numbers.