PTI demands thumb impression audit, PML-N says no

Arsal_AK

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) on Friday asked the ruling party, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), to sign an agreement together to determine the level of rigging in seven constituencies and also demanded a thumb impression audit.

The ruling party rejected PTI’s offer.

Speaking in the National Assembly, Federal Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique said that PML-N is ready to recount votes and verify records, but PTI’s request for a thumb impression audit in the constituencies is not acceptable.

Rafique said that the ink used by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for thumb impressions during the elections was of low quality.

He suggested that the PTI, after they conduct their protest, should sit down with the government and decide on a procedure to identify rigging.

Rafique also said that a fact-finding commission should investigate rigging.

“We will appear before the commission as the accused,” he said. “ECP’s mistake cannot be shifted onto our shoulders.”

PTI rejected the suggestion made by PML-N to form a fact-finding committee.

Earlier on Wednesday, Rafique himself had suggested that eight constituencies be investigated.

Vice-Chairperson PTI Shah Mahmood Qureshi said that in the past such committees have failed to move beyond two fruitless meetings.

During the proceedings, Qureshi appealed to the people to take part in PTI’s protest on May 11.

He also said, “We were consulted for the appointment of chief election commissioner but PTI was not consulted on the appointment of four provincial commissioners of the commission.”

He also said that the resignation of former Chief Election Commissioner Fakhruddin G Ibrahim should be investigated.

Qureshi added that despite being provided evidence, ECP was not ready to file a comprehensive reply to the Supreme Court on PTI’s petition regarding rigging.

“We want to know why ECP was not punished for using fake magnetic ink during elections,” Qureshi said.

Some more goods from the PML-N camp.

:))) PTI is an embarrassment. Why on earth did I vote for them?

Didn't know Tabdeeli actually means non stop whinging and crying.

See KPK, if you want to see tabdeeli.They have a lot of things right there.

And how are you supposed to bring change, if you don't speak against the wrongdoings??

By keeping quite so that the same could happen the next time around.

I don't see any massive improvement in KPK.

Well, you can't fix years of trash overnight can you.

The health drive programs, the educational initiatives and the sacking of the corrupt officials do suggest that they are moving in the right directions.

KPK had its most peaceful months in recent times, no drones and very few terror attacks.

That doesn't mean you cry about a rigged election for a whole year. Whatever happened, happened. What now? Imran should focus on implementing his ideology on KPK and bring into practice what he promised for 18 years but rather he's too busy whinging about what happened a year ago.

Drones is federal business. PTI has nothing to do with it.

What happened to that "governor house will be turned into a library"? :)))

He used dramatic effects to sell his campaign and he fooled people in KPK. An utterly naive and buffoon politician. Look at what he's doing with Geo now. Embarrassing.

Okay so he should let the matter be.What happens when the same process is repeated the next time around??

And he i not crying because he lost.He has accepted the results way back.Rather he trying to improve the system so that the same doesn't happen again. See.See the difference.

And he went through the whole process before this really in Isb. The tribunal, the EC, the parliament and the Supreme court.

Oh and by the way it doesn't help when you learn that your PM was elected from an area having only 1500 registered voters yet somehow he manages to get 8000 votes.

Drones is federal business. PTI has nothing to do with it.

He used dramatic effects to sell his campaign and he fooled people in KPK. An utterly naive and buffoon politician. Look at what he's doing with Geo now. Embarrassing.

Was it?? I don't remember federal gov. blocking the NATO pipelines.I don't remember them leading rallies into North Waziristan.

What did Federal Gov do during this whole process??Please enlighten me.
Everything good is because of federal gov but all the bad is done by IK. Nice logic.:)))

That doesn't mean you cry about a rigged election for a whole year. Whatever happened, happened. What now? Imran should focus on implementing his ideology on KPK and bring into practice what he promised for 18 years but rather he's too busy whinging about what happened a year ago.

Yes whatever happened happened. It's OK if cheaters rigged their way to the top. And now will be making the policies.

What a loser mindset. Sorry to hear that people like you voted for PTI.

That doesn't mean you cry about a rigged election for a whole year. Whatever happened, happened. What now?

The purpose of "crying" is to force our federal govt to take steps to remove flaws from our electoral system. If IK doesn't do that, then chances are that there will be same amount of rigging in next General Elections as well.

Imran should focus on implementing his ideology on KPK and bring into practice what he promised for 18 years but rather he's too busy whinging about what happened a year ago.

A lot of work has been done there in KP in last year, especially if you compare it with other provinces' performance during the same period.

Uniform curriculum & education system, mother & child health programs, free dialysis services and kidney transplants, Sehat ka Insaf, Green Growth initiatives, E-Citizens Grievance Redressal System, Online FIR, Civic Hackathon for improving service delivery of govt departments, 200% increase revenue collection compared to ANP era, depoliticization of Police to name a few.

Lots of work is still in progress. This protest will not hurt the performance of KP Govt, they are still doing what they are supposed to do.

Only federal govt can take that kind of decision.

Lol that's crazy but typical Pakistani reaction. Same people cry about "Corrupt System all their lives". My friend, cool down and think about it. PTI has accepted the results but want to ensure election rigging never happens again (minimise it anyway) and demanding different amendments to be made inc possible use of biometric system which may not be easy but not impossible either.
What on earth is wrong with that? In cricket terms, what's wrong with having neutral umpires? You know why were they brought in and who advocated for them? Yes same Imran Khan because EVERYONE used to cry about home umpires cheating.
Kya faishtay ayeingay system change karnay?

:))) PTI is an embarrassment. Why on earth did I vote for them?

Didn't know Tabdeeli actually means non stop whinging and crying.

Change can't come without crying and that too out loud, you even have to yell out sometimes. Anyway how did you expected them to bring change?

I always get the impression that people that say they regret voting for the PTI never actually voted for them in the first place. How about Mian Sahibs promise that he would end the power shortages within a year?

This, ladies and gents, is the Pakistani mind and reason why we are still in the gutter.

Keep holding elections every 5 years. Keep accepting rigged results. Keep crying for country situation. Start preparing for next rigged elections. #Since1947

And then blame attempts to break this vicious cycle as 'useless exercise'. RIP Logic.

I always get the impression that people that say they regret voting for the PTI never actually voted for them in the first place. How about Mian Sahibs promise that he would end the power shortages within a year?

True that.

They are building a mini education city in KPK, international universities like Bradford, Westminster and Harriot Watt are setting up their campuses there. If this isnt amazing tell me what is

Let me give you a doze of your own medicine.

"Whatever happened, happened, what now?" You should focus to do something positive for the future. But you are whining and stuck in the past - doing EXACTLY the same that you are complaining about from IK. Don't you? :))

Let me give you a doze of your own medicine.

"Whatever happened, happened, what now?" You should focus to do something positive for the future. But you are whining and stuck in the past - doing EXACTLY the same that you are complaining about from IK. Don't you? :))

I am simply picking on Imran's failed promises. When you tell the people that you will do something, do it or simply zip it up.

Imran showed what an inexperienced and naive politician he actually is and the dummy that he has sold to people.

I am not doubting his intentions; he indeed an honorable and honest man but clearly not good enough.

^ What failed promises? You cant do anythign with the governor house if you are not in the center. DO you not understand that?

I am not a Nawaz supporter, he's a bogus leader but using his failures to defend Imran's is not the way to go.

All this election rigging hyperbole is nice, but this isn't something Imran should be focused on. He has a tough job at hand in KPK and that should be his priority and not preventing rigging into the distant future.

He hasn't lived up to half of the promises that he made and I don't care if it is in his powers or not; he should have thought that himself before making absurd claims.

Actually I did vote for him and bought his dummy. Do I regret it? No, because what are the alternatives? but that does not mean that Imran is living up to the hype.

I can perfectly understand why some of you have their knickers in a twist. We as a nation are still stuck in the past and continue to bootlick Imran no matter what he does. He is a godly figure in this country and I respect that but it doesn't change what a mediocre politician he is.

His hypocritical approach was obvious the day he signed up people like Sheikh Rasheed, with whom he was at loggerheads for over a decade.

He continues to make a fool of himself and I don't think he has any chance of becoming future PM with or without rigging.

^ What failed promises? You cant do anythign with the governor house if you are not in the center. DO you not understand that?

I do, but does Imran?

What was the point of making these childish and immature promises when he doesn't have the power and authority to fulfill them?

Do you think converting a governor house into a library will make the country better?

Imran simply sold everyone a dummy with his dramatic and theatrical statements. The young jazbati generation and the poor people are very easy to attract with romantic yet impractical ideologies.

I won't say that PTI has completely failed in KPK, in fact there have been a few upscale improvements such as eradication of high level corruption but has he lived up to the hype? no he hasn't and above everything, he is not helping his case at all by continuing to whine about the elections.

They are building a mini education city in KPK, international universities like Bradford, Westminster and Harriot Watt are setting up their campuses there. If this isnt amazing tell me what is

When it is completed, the campuses are set up and foreign unis start enrolling students we will gloat about and praise Imran and PTI. At the moment, its just castles in the air and Imran is the best at it in the country.

I will not be least surprised if this project gets lost into oblivion.

So he shouldn't challenge fixing like for example Sharif getting 8000 votes when only 1500 were registered to vote.

He should first accomplish the challenge that is in his controls and in his hands. No need of chewing more than you can swallow.

Like I said, as noble as his intentions are, he is going absolutely nowhere with this because Nawaz is an old player and Imran is nothing in front of him.

Its a fruitless exercise.

And who claims there has been no rigging? other than blind Nawaz supporters.

Imran is an idealist and there is no place for idealism in this country.

He should first accomplish the challenge that is in his controls and in his hands. No need of chewing more than you can swallow.

Like I said, as noble as his intentions are, he is going absolutely nowhere with this because Nawaz is an old player and Imran is nothing in front of him.

Its a fruitless exercise.[/QUOTE
obviously it's not otherwise the crooks wouldn't have gone to such lengths to prevent people turning up.

The crooks will always go to lengths Imran can't breach. Which is why I always say there is very little hope for future and therefore, instead of whinging, we should try to do things that are in our control and Imran should focus on KPK for now rather than changing a system which is probably never going to change. Not at least in his life time.

So just because you can't achieve anything you should stop trying?

You should first look to get things out of the way that are in your control. Nothing wrong with lofty ambitions.

5 blasts in Peshawar in the last 4 days but the 4 NA seats are more important for Imran Khan.

I don't have a problem with his vision; I have a problem with the timing.

For the first time in my life, I become part of eletion campign. And realized how much precious my vote is. So Supported and voted for PTI.

But I am very sad that IK did not fullfilled his promises, And most of times did against what was expected from him. He should have done this protest thing in early days. People here in Lahore was ready for a battle at that time, they wanted to know where their votes gone?

Its good to stand up against evil like he did protest today, so that Atlast some day (even after 5-10 years) we may have a clean system. Fully supports him for this protest thing but timing is really wrong, he should have done this immedately after election, at that time Nawaz league was very much in pressure (as I have personally see them, living next street to Mian sb residence), That would have resulted in a fruitfull effort.

Anyway, Now IK should focus on KPK, show some massive progress, so that next time he can get PMship and change the fate of our country.

what does this even mean? whats the point of focussing on an ideology if the premise that underpins everything is fraudulent? how is anything in the country more important than ensuring widespread corruption is investigated and dealt with?

and if going down that path, what other way of doing it is there, other than pursing all legal and official routes, allowing them more than fair time to bear fruit, before elevating it to public protests?

how does it make any sense in even the most vague sense of the word to judge a man by his alleged failure in converting a house to a library rather than being the first in the country to legally, vehemently and peacefully attempt to root out the most significant problem that has plagued the country since its inception? how small minded do you have to be exactly to raise this as a point of argument.

its like knocking down a skyscraper because you suspect one of the windows might be a bit creaky.

one thing is for sure, you make an excellent case for why democracy is flawed; some people dont have the intellectual wherewithal to have their voice recognised as anything other than mindless blithering, let alone a vote that should be counted.

what does this even mean? whats the point of focussing on an ideology if the premise that underpins everything is fraudulent? how is anything in the country more important than ensuring widespread corruption is investigated and dealt with?

and if going down that path, what other way of doing it is there, other than pursing all legal and official routes, allowing them more than fair time to bear fruit, before elevating it to public protests?

how does it make any sense in even the most vague sense of the word to judge a man by his alleged failure in converting a house to a library rather than being the first in the country to legally, vehemently and peacefully attempt to root out the most significant problem that has plagued the country since its inception? how small minded do you have to be exactly to raise this as a point of argument.

its like knocking down a skyscraper because you suspect one of the windows might be a bit creaky.

one thing is for sure, you make an excellent case for why democracy is flawed; some people dont have the intellectual wherewithal to have their voice recognised as anything other than mindless blithering, let alone a vote that should be counted.

This.Its mindboggling how people want change and want to do something good for the country but when the time comes and someone tries to do something, they sit back on the comfort of their couches and term the whole handwork/struggle as whining.

Missed the point completely.

That was just one example of Imran's buffoonery and what an immature and childish politician he is. I personally couldn't care less about the governor house or the CM house. Thereare bigger cracks in the country than such trivial things.

Once again, I don't have an issue with his intentions. I have a severe problem with the timing of this. Imran and his party's future solely depends on his performance in KPK and so far he hasn't done enough to suggest that the infamously publicized tabdeeli has come or will come.

You are right, democracy is futile in a nation where its incredibly easy to brainwash people and have them bootlick you for your past achievements.

Surely my first and last vote for PTI. Aik subah chala nai saktay and niklay thay pura mulk chalanay.

A childish party with a childish leader.

Once again, I don't have an issue with his intentions. I have a severe problem with the timing of this. Imran and his party's future solely depends on his performance in KPK and so far he hasn't done enough to suggest that the infamously publicized tabdeeli has come or will come.

I want to know what you were expecting for PTI to achieve in first 12 months (Or what they should have achieved in 12 months, but failed to)?

U can term the progress a bit slow (which was expected as it was their 1st time), but they have kept their priorities straight and have done a lot of good work. They have done more work than other provinces in first 12 months. We can discuss their progress in detail if you want?

This protest in Islamabad was organised by PTI Punjab, not by KPK chapter whose main focus is KP Govt. PTI is bigger than you think. They can arrange protests and perform in KPK at the same time. It's not like IK asked his KP Govt ministers to stop all the work in KPK for the sake of Protests.

For the first time in my life, I become part of eletion campign. And realized how much precious my vote is. So Supported and voted for PTI.

But I am very sad that IK did not fullfilled his promises, And most of times did against what was expected from him. He should have done this protest thing in early days. People here in Lahore was ready for a battle at that time, they wanted to know where their votes gone?

Its good to stand up against evil like he did protest today, so that Atlast some day (even after 5-10 years) we may have a clean system. Fully supports him for this protest thing but timing is really wrong, he should have done this immedately after election, at that time Nawaz league was very much in pressure (as I have personally see them, living next street to Mian sb residence), That would have resulted in a fruitfull effort.

Anyway, Now IK should focus on KPK, show some massive progress, so that next time he can get PMship and change the fate of our country.

"Imran Khan has failed".

You know, if you expected him to make a difference without being in power, then yes he has failed. What a stupid post.

From what I know there was something in the constitution which meant that if after a year things like foreign debt haven't come down then the government can be openly challenged to mid term elections.

Which is probably why the date of this was set 12 months after the elections.

Not sure if this is true though.

I love how people on here expect 60+ years of corruption and political illwill to be wiped out in one year of government.

Yes he has lofty ambitions.

But atleast he has them.

You are making the mistake of judging him on the performance of his lofty promises rather than judging him against his peers.

Like it or not he is the best we have.

It's a pity he lost your vote. I hope he doesn't lose the youth vote in time for the next election.

People need to get used to democracy and how the system works if the country is going to experience any sort of stability.

Surely my first and last vote for PTI. Aik subah chala nai saktay and niklay thay pura mulk chalanay.

This is what i used to think about him and his party 5 years ago.

This is the mindset which is responsible for our decline that people are not ready to stand for their own rights thinking that it is impossible.

A gathering in Islamabad does not stop KP government from working. Some people on the other hand complain that Imran is influencing KP government with a remote control.

So, you are not going to vote them again because you think that this issue is trivial although you agree that they are on the right side. Just because they are are idealists it ruins your vote?
If you don't vote then it will bring even more corrupt people on the front.
What is the difference between you and that person who thinks that a MPA who plunders developmental money is only costing government and not a common man?

And people forget the fact that he does not has even simple majority in KP province which he is ruling. He had to make a coalition with JI and Aftab Sherpao. Although JI's ideology is more for theocratic state than PTI still they are not financially corrupt.
Even then he did not compromise on corruption by taking action against Aftab Sherpao's ministers to which he had good personal relations and also against his own party members.

i am sure Mamoon will vote for PTI next time again. He probably just found himself idle for some time.

IT would actually be better if people who live with "whatever happened happened, now lets move on and accept rigging" mentality dont vote for PTI.

Imran is political but not politic

Anyway, Pakistani politics is a big mess so it is much easier to criticize than get something done.

Missed the point completely.

That was just one example of Imran's buffoonery and what an immature and childish politician he is. I personally couldn't care less about the governor house or the CM house. Thereare bigger cracks in the country than such trivial things.

You are right, democracy is futile in a nation where its incredibly easy to brainwash people and have them bootlick you for your past achievements.

well it was a crap example. but given how vociferous you have been in proclaiming childishness, im sure you have something or several things in mind that are far more important which for some reason youve chosen not to mention in favour of the governor house.

so given that we all know that you think pti and ik are 'childish', since that seems to have been the main substance of your posts, can you let us know what these failed promises are, and why they are more significant than the failings of the other two main parties which presumably one would need in order to single them out for this kind of repeated debasement?

id like to know too how you get to the conclusion that ik is 'an immature and childish politician' as opposed to a bad one. if the reason is that your pocket money comes from your dad who lives in sharif's pocket, thats a very fair answer. but a bit more substance from the ik haters for once would be appreciated for us neutrals.

This attitude will surely take Pakistan a long way. Keep turning to PML and PPP who kick you time and time again and you still wont learn and turn back to the same idiots....

This is why Pakistan is what it is... The attitude needs to change

This attitude will surely take Pakistan a long way. Keep turning to PML and PPP who kick you time and time again and you still wont learn and turn back to the same idiots....

This is why Pakistan is what it is... The attitude needs to change

so if Mamoon isn't happy with their work in KP and doesn't vote for PTI again then Pakistan is doomed?

LOL!

@Mamoon

Just came across this quote on fb and i loved it the moment i saw.

“Only as high as I reach can I grow
Only as far as I seek can I go
Only as deep as I look can I see
Only as much as I dream can I be"

-Karen Ravin

But certainly we can debate what is the fine line between idealism and realism.

so if Mamoon isn't happy with their work in KP and doesn't vote for PTI again then Pakistan is doomed?

LOL!

he wrote 'this attitude', not mamoon. this perverse and desperate failing in logic is starting to go some way to explaining your stance on the whole thing. still patiently waiting for some substance to back your vitriol.

I fail to see how it is illogical if someone who is not happy with a party's work refuses to vote for them in the future.

or is not voting for PTI considered a sin these days?

PML-N challenged PTI on the topic of Metro Bus project, PTI has accepted this challenge as well:
“If Khan sahib takes responsibility of Metro Bus Project, we will offer him Rs8 billion for the purpose”, Pervaiz Rasheed said.

http://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/12-May-2014/pml-n-plays-down-pti-rally-berates-imran-khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>pervaiz rashid sahib aap ka challenge qabool : 8 billion dein aap ko islamabad mein metro bus project kar key dekhatey hain</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/statuses/465897850111401984">May 12, 2014</a></blockquote>

This is the 2nd challenge accepted by PTI in less than a week. No positive response from PML-N so far.

I fail to see how it is illogical if someone who is not happy with a party's work refuses to vote for them in the future.

or is not voting for PTI considered a sin these days?

what you fail to understand is that if the reasons to label a party and leader childish is those that have been given, it is an indictment on the state of the country if that attitude prevails. its next to impossible finding any reasonable answer as to what the issue with pti is. the answers are constantly 'childish' or 'whining' or some other pointless name calling crap. if it was fraud, corruption, incompetence, even policy, that would be entirely understandable.

so far its been a governors house that apparently hasnt yet been made into a library or something. thats just plain stupid.

is that so hard to understand?

PML-N challenged PTI on the topic of Metro Bus project, PTI has accepted this challenge as well:

http://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/12-May-2014/pml-n-plays-down-pti-rally-berates-imran-khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>pervaiz rashid sahib aap ka challenge qabool : 8 billion dein aap ko islamabad mein metro bus project kar key dekhatey hain</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/statuses/465897850111401984">May 12, 2014</a></blockquote>

This is the 2nd challenge accepted by PTI in less than a week. No positive response from PML-N so far.

This is hilarious. Who ever turns back will be made fun of in upcoming talk shows.

PMLN has been lying in talk shows about this issue consistently. Watch this where Asad Umar takes PMLN as well as their paid lackey Absar Alam to task. It's basically 3 against 1. This should also answer those said PTI should bring resolutions in the parliament. Finally someone put Absar Alam in his place. One of the worst lifafa journalists in the country

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x1uaqmo" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1uaqmo_newseye-12th-may-2014_news" target="_blank">NewsEye - 12th May 2014</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/zemtv" target="_blank">zemtv</a></i>

So the government can apply for more loans for this ?

Why is PTI not saying anything about the crazy amount of money the government is just begging around for ?

And that bearded guy in the video is a typical halwa maulvi .

PTI has brought up the loan issue numerous times. And the whole circular debt drama that dar has been playing.

And yes that was one useless maulvi. No point to raise just bak bak during the whole show

So the government can apply for more loans for this ?

Why is PTI not saying anything about the crazy amount of money the government is just begging around for ?

And that bearded guy in the video is a typical halwa maulvi .

Tehatter kay aaein kat tnazur mien yeh halway ki khusbo kaha say aarahi hai?

ISLAMABAD: The National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) has finally conceded in its verification report that 259 out of the 325 polling bags of constituency NA-118, Lahore, contained bogus ballots, Express Investigation Cell (EIC) learnt on Wednesday.

According to experts, NADRA had submitted its verification report to the election tribunal on June 9, which spoke of unprecedented rigging in NA-118 in last year’s general elections.

Some officials of the database authority partook in adding bogus votes in the constituency’s polling bags during the last week of May to change the result in Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s favour.

NADRA authorities allegedly switched off CCTV cameras of the office where they were carrying out the illegal activity.

After the incident was reported in the media, NADRA authorities reportedly forced officials responsible for security to give a back-dated written statement that CCTV cameras were out of order much before May 22, revealed officials.

Interior minister Chaudhary Nisar summoned Imtiaz Tajwar to his chamber in parliament last week to seek an explanation from him about why NADRA indulged in such dubious activities, they added.

Moreover, it was revealed that the body’s networks director, Shehzad, and his team who were responsible for CCTV cameras were transferred from the headquarters to Nadra Technologies Limited (NTL) in the third week of June.

In response to an EIC questionnaire, NADRA’s spokesperson Faik Ali denied the accusation that acting NADRA chairman had called the security chief and other officials concerned on June 7 (Saturday, a weekly holiday) to force them to give the desired statement of the cameras being out of order before May 22.

He maintained that NADRA has footage of the election material being handed over to officials in the presence of Justice (Retd) Munir Ahmed Mughal and there was no possibility of any change in the result of the constituency.

Officials claim that NADRA has submitted an ambiguous verification report to the election tribunal to intentionally add more confusion in the case. It confirmed that the database authority received election material of NA-118 consisting 325 polling bags from 251 polling stations of the constituency but still said, in the following paragraph, that NADRA needs the complete election material from the constituency for further verification.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 26th, 2014.

ISLAMABAD: The National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) has finally conceded in its verification report that 259 out of the 325 polling bags of constituency NA-118, Lahore, contained bogus ballots, Express Investigation Cell (EIC) learnt on Wednesday.

According to experts, NADRA had submitted its verification report to the election tribunal on June 9, which spoke of unprecedented rigging in NA-118 in last year’s general elections.

Some officials of the database authority partook in adding bogus votes in the constituency’s polling bags during the last week of May to change the result in Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s favour.

NADRA authorities allegedly switched off CCTV cameras of the office where they were carrying out the illegal activity.

After the incident was reported in the media, NADRA authorities reportedly forced officials responsible for security to give a back-dated written statement that CCTV cameras were out of order much before May 22, revealed officials.

Interior minister Chaudhary Nisar summoned Imtiaz Tajwar to his chamber in parliament last week to seek an explanation from him about why NADRA indulged in such dubious activities, they added.

Moreover, it was revealed that the body’s networks director, Shehzad, and his team who were responsible for CCTV cameras were transferred from the headquarters to Nadra Technologies Limited (NTL) in the third week of June.

In response to an EIC questionnaire, NADRA’s spokesperson Faik Ali denied the accusation that acting NADRA chairman had called the security chief and other officials concerned on June 7 (Saturday, a weekly holiday) to force them to give the desired statement of the cameras being out of order before May 22.

He maintained that NADRA has footage of the election material being handed over to officials in the presence of Justice (Retd) Munir Ahmed Mughal and there was no possibility of any change in the result of the constituency.

Officials claim that NADRA has submitted an ambiguous verification report to the election tribunal to intentionally add more confusion in the case. It confirmed that the database authority received election material of NA-118 consisting 325 polling bags from 251 polling stations of the constituency but still said, in the following paragraph, that NADRA needs the complete election material from the constituency for further verification.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 26th, 2014.

I await the answer of the Noora lackeys on the forum.

^
Let me try out being in AZ-noora mode:

NADRA is an independent institution that is not controlled by the govt. This act cannot be blamed on the govt. Also, Ch. Nisar is very unhappy with NADRA's ballot stuffing. So it is obvious that PMLN is not involved in this, and the elections were free and fair

PTI needs to move on. Or else it will set a precedent for questioning results after every elections, even if PTI wins. Will be a huge waste of time and money. Either they should have done this at that time or never.

I find it incredulous that people are advocating "move-on" policy on here. The foundation of democracy is a free and fair election. If your foundation isn't strong then the building that you build on top of it will crumble, causing more damage than the time you would have wasted setting the foundation right.

Imran Khan showed his sincerity towards democracy by not taking to the roads immediately. He started by seeking the remedies available under the constitution, which says election tribunals should hear petitions and announce its decision no later than 120 days from start of petition. Now when the tribunals are clearly in breach of the constitution and the Supreme Court says that it is an "election tribunal" matter and we cannot get involved then clearly something is wrong.

The struggle now will make sure that a true foundation is laid for the future of democracy in Pakistan.

I find it incredulous that people are advocating "move-on" policy on here. The foundation of democracy is a free and fair election. If your foundation isn't strong then the building that you build on top of it will crumble, causing more damage than the time you would have wasted setting the foundation right.

Imran Khan showed his sincerity towards democracy by not taking to the roads immediately. He started by seeking the remedies available under the constitution, which says election tribunals should hear petitions and announce its decision no later than 120 days from start of petition. Now when the tribunals are clearly in breach of the constitution and the Supreme Court says that it is an "election tribunal" matter and we cannot get involved then clearly something is wrong.

The struggle now will make sure that a true foundation is laid for the future of democracy in Pakistan.

Exactly. This will happen again and again if the steps aren't taken now to eradicate the problem. I'm no supporter of PTI - their foreign policy is laughable and their leader is a fool, but that's hardly the point.

Those responsible need to be held accountable. Not advocating for a change in governance, perhaps an early election would do... maybe shorten the term by 12-18 months...