PTI demands thumb impression audit, PML-N says no

LAHORE: NADRA on Friday submitted its report on NA-118 voter verification to the election tribunal, Express News reported.

The report disclosed that no record was found for 50,000 votes, while 25,000 votes were unverified and 4,000 were bogus votes. However 15,000 votes were verified, the report said.

The election tribunal had earlier asked NADRA to carry out thumb print verification of votes in NA-118 Lahore. Malik Riaz of PML-N had received 1,03346 votes in NA-118.

On Friday, the Lahore High Court adjourned the hearing regarding voter verification in NA-118. The election tribunal will now take a decision on the matter.

After May 11 elections, an application was filed by Hamid Zaman, the PTI candidate who was adjudged to have finished as runner-up to PML-N candidate Malik Riaz at the constituency. The tribunal ruled that the petitioner must pay the cost of the rechecking.

PTI needs to move on. Or else it will set a precedent for questioning results after every elections, even if PTI wins. Will be a huge waste of time and money. Either they should have done this at that time or never.

Baih jaan for example you gave an exam and when result announced you failed and somehow you know you are not awarded marks fairly then what will you do? MOVE ON or you will fight for your right?

I find it incredulous that people are advocating "move-on" policy on here. The foundation of democracy is a free and fair election. If your foundation isn't strong then the building that you build on top of it will crumble, causing more damage than the time you would have wasted setting the foundation right.

Imran Khan showed his sincerity towards democracy by not taking to the roads immediately. He started by seeking the remedies available under the constitution, which says election tribunals should hear petitions and announce its decision no later than 120 days from start of petition. Now when the tribunals are clearly in breach of the constitution and the Supreme Court says that it is an "election tribunal" matter and we cannot get involved then clearly something is wrong.

The struggle now will make sure that a true foundation is laid for the future of democracy in Pakistan.

spot on. Mamoon is really a big mamoon..
Imran is trying is best.. He has to cry.. the election was totally rigged

You get cheated, the nation gets cheated, but you should move on. What a loser mentality.

I find it incredulous that people are advocating "move-on" policy on here. The foundation of democracy is a free and fair election. If your foundation isn't strong then the building that you build on top of it will crumble, causing more damage than the time you would have wasted setting the foundation right.

Imran Khan showed his sincerity towards democracy by not taking to the roads immediately. He started by seeking the remedies available under the constitution, which says election tribunals should hear petitions and announce its decision no later than 120 days from start of petition. Now when the tribunals are clearly in breach of the constitution and the Supreme Court says that it is an "election tribunal" matter and we cannot get involved then clearly something is wrong.

The struggle now will make sure that a true foundation is laid for the future of democracy in Pakistan.
Imran angered a lot of his voters (including me) by accepting the results and not taking to the streets right away. People were protesting on their own coz they knew their votes were stolen. Imran should have led them, but he didnt coz he wanted to give the system a chance to correct itself.

But now, he has to protest. Long march announced on 14th March. Imran saying that time for opening up the 4 halkas has now gone.

You get cheated, the nation gets cheated, but you should move on. What a loser mentality.

Well said.

I salute this man for standing up alone, for OUR rights. Even some of the educated ones don't seem to understand the importance of electoral system, which is the foundation for any true democracy.

People sitting in the comfort of their homes with ACs on full cooling, doing nothing practically for the nation or this cause have the courage to stop Imran Khan from doing what should've been done decades ago.

LAHORE: NADRA on Friday submitted its report on NA-118 voter verification to the election tribunal, Express News reported.

The report disclosed that no record was found for 50,000 votes, while 25,000 votes were unverified and 4,000 were bogus votes. However 15,000 votes were verified, the report said.

The election tribunal had earlier asked NADRA to carry out thumb print verification of votes in NA-118 Lahore. Malik Riaz of PML-N had received 1,03346 votes in NA-118.

On Friday, the Lahore High Court adjourned the hearing regarding voter verification in NA-118. The election tribunal will now take a decision on the matter.

After May 11 elections, an application was filed by Hamid Zaman, the PTI candidate who was adjudged to have finished as runner-up to PML-N candidate Malik Riaz at the constituency. The tribunal ruled that the petitioner must pay the cost of the rechecking.

This is just part of the story. Noora league had even sacked the NADRA chief earlier and now their own stooge is running the show. He's a bit powerless because the biometrics can't be cheated.

"Mitti pao" - Causing massive damage to Pakistani economy, politics and social system since 1947. Rather than standing up with Imran Khan, some people are advocating this ideology :O

Absolutely spot on!! I just can't understand mentality of some people especially so called educated people who don't miss an opportunity to call these protests a threat to democracy. What's sad/funny (at the same time) is most of them admit that at least some rigging happened. Pakistan isn't struggling because we haven't got metro buses or motorways but due to lack of system, education, accountability etc. How do you expect ANYTHING to ever change if prime minister himself tries to come to power by rigging? How can system improve when PM himself promotes bribe culture to buy journalists, judges/courts, police etc??
Instead Imran Khan is a cry baby and is derailing democracy, he wants to become PM by short cut, he is immature and greedy for power WOW, what mentality!! Is it even a surprise why we are struggling?

Well said.

I salute this man for standing up alone, for OUR rights. Even some of the educated ones don't seem to understand the importance of electoral system, which is the foundation for any true democracy.

People sitting in the comfort of their homes with ACs on full cooling, doing nothing practically for the nation or this cause have the courage to stop Imran Khan from doing what should've been done decades ago.

THis has nothing to do with being educated or not. It has however, everything to do with being biased and/or dumb.

I know Elections werent free and Fair, and PTI got cheated in a lot of constituencies, but i dont feel this is appropriate time to do "Long March" or "Street Politics" when our Army is busy in operation and whole Nation is facing severe threats from terrorists...

Imran is right in demanding Electoral reforms, but he needs to get the Timing of his Dharnas right Moreover, from what i have listen, People of KPK are not happy with Performance of PTI and they need to worry about that too

And now that Imran is ready to sit with Cartoons like TUQ, i think any sane person will think twice before voting him again

Imran seemed to have gotten a wink from the higher ups. All of a sudden he's threatening to return fire with fire.... mere supporters ko agar police ne mara, main unhe phansi charha doonga. Wow.

Jab ghee seedhi ungli say na niklay tu ungli terhi kerni parti hai :P

Insaafiyans have no answer to the fact that when fanatics like TUQ and ZH side with you, something is definitely wrong and inappropriate.

Waiting for the 14th August circus now, watch all the jobless and useless people join him to have a good time. I don't know any civilised, educated and decent person participating in these dharnas.

Imran seemed to have gotten a wink from the higher ups. All of a sudden he's threatening to return fire with fire.... mere supporters ko agar police ne mara, main unhe phansi charha doonga. Wow.

I was about to post this. What a garbage comment.

He's fuelling unwarranted aggression and fanaticism. If this frustrated and pigheaded clown is what the youth look up to, God save Pakistan.

I know Elections werent free and Fair, and PTI got cheated in a lot of constituencies, but i dont feel this is appropriate time to do "Long March" or "Street Politics" when our Army is busy in operation and whole Nation is facing severe threats from terrorists...

Imran is right in demanding Electoral reforms, but he needs to get the Timing of his Dharnas right Moreover, from what i have listen, People of KPK are not happy with Performance of PTI and they need to worry about that too

I don't even know where to start. How will a dharna or Jalsa have any effect on Zarb-e-azb? Do you understand how big of a deal it is if elections weren't fair? It can't be ignored the way you're talking about it.

Police killed 14 people.. Its fine no hue and cry & " Let the investigation Complete " Brigade

But when Imran Khan said " Kisi per goli chalai tu ulta latka don ga " all started crying :msd

By the way yesterday Imran Khan said " Police nay kisi ko danda mara tu aisi phaintee kerain gay kay yea yaad rakhain gay " :msd :)))

Mamoon is a true reflection of a downtrodden brainwashed member of the public who will never strive for anything. Ever. Goodluck with your moaning. The ent election will come and baby Bhutto will become PM, then Mamoon jee will cry about something else. People like you deserve everything you get, loadshedding, corruption, the lot. A good danda from a thulla too.

Police killed 14 people.. Its fine no hue and cry & " Let the investigation Complete " Brigade

But when Imran Khan said " Kisi per goli chalai tu ulta latka don ga " all started crying :msd

By the way yesterday Imran Khan said " Police nay kisi ko danda mara tu aisi phaintee kerain gay kay yea yaad rakhain gay " :msd :)))

Yes, such immature bakwas is right up his street. A highly frustrated and volatile individual.

Yes, but a person in his position shouldn't make such comments. I question the intellect of people who still follow his lead and mock those who have jumped ship.

All the discussion I removed above can be done using proper and mature words.

Whole heartedly support Imran Khan lets hope he ends this corrupt cronyism regime of :sharif :zardari forever

i think it wasnt appropriate for IK to say such words, it incites violence and if he to set a better example away from traditional politicians then he must not advocate these things. So despite supporting him on other aspects not blindly agreeing with his every statement.. this should be taken back or apologies for it.

On the other hand Shabaz Sharif ne zardari ko sarkon pe ghaseetna tha? uska kya bana? "woh tou siyashi josh-e-khitabat tha" well this isnt?

but looking at it..how many policewalay has he hanged in KPK? he has actually turned them around and they arent killing innocent people. IK and PTI has to offer better and not such remarks or other gimmicks.

we should be able to critically assess things and not blindly agree. he got it wrong with police hanging thing.

Insaafiyans have no answer to the fact that when fanatics like TUQ and ZH side with you, something is definitely wrong and inappropriate.

Waiting for the 14th August circus now, watch all the jobless and useless people join him to have a good time. I don't know any civilised, educated and decent person participating in these dharnas.

fanaticism? pmln are the ones in bed with ultra right wing sectarians who usually get state protection.

as far as PTI goes yes they are wrong in going with TUQ because right now he has no mandate to do anything and perphaps taking inspiration from fateh gulen or something who tried to topple erdogan or even the agencies. But if PMLN play it right they should address the concerns and not allow this build up, after all 3rd term hai tajarba bi koi cheez hai.

as far as dharnas go thats democratic rights..PMLN did so whilst in punjab government oh and they did a long march too. so lets not play double standards.

PTI should stand alone with its voters and fight for justice n no point in joining the non-entities of pmlq and tuq.

Imran Khan has every right to protect his supporters from Gullu Butt led Punjab Police. They killed 14 people in Model Town and before that they killed 7 month Pregnant woman during baton charge.

I hope Imran Khan will keep on bashing Punjab Police. This is required.

PS. My comment was deleted and I don't know what was wrong in it.

PML-N, PTI leaders want ‘change, not confrontation’

ISLAMABAD: Following the ultimatum issued by Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan, both the government and the PTI are sticking to their guns. But behind the scenes, leaders from both sides are hoping for a solution through negotiations.

The argument is: there is too much at stake and neither the government nor the PTI can afford to stir up a hornets’ nest by going for an all-out confrontation.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1115965/pml-n-pti-leaders-want-change-not-confrontation

Looks interesting, it will be good if all political forces agree on electoral reforms and other agendas through negotiations/table talks rather blocking the whole country in such critical economic/security situation, derailing the system is not in anyone's interest.

I don't even know where to start. How will a dharna or Jalsa have any effect on Zarb-e-azb? Do you understand how big of a deal it is if elections weren't fair? It can't be ignored the way you're talking about it.

Mamoon is a true reflection of a downtrodden brainwashed member of the public who will never strive for anything. Ever. Goodluck with your moaning. The ent election will come and baby Bhutto will become PM, then Mamoon jee will cry about something else. People like you deserve everything you get, loadshedding, corruption, the lot. A good danda from a thulla too.

These people try to be practical, but they are a true reflection of the lazy bums that are part of the pakistani society. No matter what kind of crime is committed, they say "what happened happened, now let's move on" coz they dont want to put in an effort for anything. And then they bad mouth those who want to strive to set things right.

Before the elections - Dont vote for PTI coz that's like voting for zardari
When election results were announced - Yes there was rigging but let's move on for the sake of democracy
Now - It is clear there was rigging but what happened happened. The govt is fake but let's not do anything about it.

Furthermore, they are ok with being slaves of families that are ruling pakistan. Bhuttos, Sharifs, whatever. Instead of being ambitious enough to think of institution building, free elections, etc. their main concern is when to recharge their pre-paid mobile balance, which iphone to buy. As long as such needs are being fulfilled, they are perfectly fine with being ruled by corrupt families. Fortunately, there are people in pakistan who have more self respect than that.

The good thing is that PTI and Imran have mobilized so many common pakistanis and woken them up, that these lazy bums dont really matter anymore. So, it would be ideal if they do not vote for PTI in the next elections. Stay away from the party please. You belong with nooras.

And Today Kaptan said " Ager Punjab Police nay ghalat FIRs, jail main dalay supporters ya firing ki tu akhir sans tak jaon ga in ko phansi per latkanay kay lye " :ik2

^ His Bahawalpur speech was epic.

Agar kisi police walay nei meray workers ko mara, to mei apnay hathon se phansi doon ga.

Great stuff from Kaptaan.

Not to mention, in his interview after that, he said kai agar kisi police walay nei humaray workers per haath uthaya, to in ka aisa phaitnta lagai hai kai kahin chupnay ke jaga nahi mili ge inhain.

This is exactly what the movement needs. An aggressive Imran

^ Zaroorat hai na sultan rahi ke pulsion ko daranay ke liay. :P

Ab gullu butt to hain nahi humaray paas

^ Zaroorat hai na sultan rahi ke pulsion ko daranay ke liay. :P

Ab gullu butt to hain nahi humaray paas

I'm enjoying this. Let PTI and PML-N rip each other apart while PPP will sneak through benefiting from all this. Baby Bhutto zindabad!

PPP has no chance of winning again, hopefully Bhutto and their family are out of politics.

^ PPP will be go down with PMLN if they continue supporting "democracy"

PPP has no chance of winning again, hopefully Bhutto and their family are out of politics.

Never underestimate the political genius of Zardari and the mad passion of the jiyalas. If there has been any ideology that has stood the test of times in Pakistan, it's the ideology of the jiyalas. PPP brand is definitely tarnished but not destroyed. Plus when you have pathetic politicians on the other side, anything is possible. I bet on another army intervention followed by PPP govt. with Baby B as PM.

If there has been any ideology that has stood the test of times in Pakistan, it's the ideology of the jiyalas.

Bunch of village guys with their weird turbans or in sindhi toopis, shouting BB or jiay Bhutto doesn't count or matter much. No wonder PPP is keeping their electoral base illiterate else their time would have been over in 70s.

PPP and PMLN are on a honeymoon together.

Showbaz Sharif nay zardari ko sarko pay ghaseetna tha, we all know what the real back-channel deal was.

PPP isn't going anywhere and the "muk muka" between PMLN/PPP will ensure these crooks keep getting elected via rigging. UNLESS and UNTIL Imran Khan succeeds in bringing true electoral reforms, for which he's fighting alone.

We should salute PTI rather than acting like elite class burgers who never do anything practically for the country and are only keyboard warriors on internet.

PPP and PMLN are on a honeymoon together.

Showbaz Sharif nay zardari ko sarko pay ghaseetna tha, we all know what the real back-channel deal was.

PPP isn't going anywhere and the "muk muka" between PMLN/PPP will ensure these crooks keep getting elected via rigging. UNLESS and UNTIL Imran Khan succeeds in bringing true electoral reforms, for which he's fighting alone.

We should salute PTI rather than acting like elite class burgers who never do anything practically for the country and are only keyboard warriors on internet.

He is now U-Turn Sharif ;-)

These people try to be practical, but they are a true reflection of the lazy bums that are part of the pakistani society. No matter what kind of crime is committed, they say "what happened happened, now let's move on" coz they dont want to put in an effort for anything. And then they bad mouth those who want to strive to set things right.

Before the elections - Dont vote for PTI coz that's like voting for zardari
When election results were announced - Yes there was rigging but let's move on for the sake of democracy
Now - It is clear there was rigging but what happened happened. The govt is fake but let's not do anything about it.

Furthermore, they are ok with being slaves of families that are ruling pakistan. Bhuttos, Sharifs, whatever. Instead of being ambitious enough to think of institution building, free elections, etc. their main concern is when to recharge their pre-paid mobile balance, which iphone to buy. As long as such needs are being fulfilled, they are perfectly fine with being ruled by corrupt families. Fortunately, there are people in pakistan who have more self respect than that.

The good thing is that PTI and Imran have mobilized so many common pakistanis and woken them up, that these lazy bums dont really matter anymore. So, it would be ideal if they do not vote for PTI in the next elections. Stay away from the party please. You belong with nooras.

Nor did i vote for PML-N and i have never voted for PPP either, the only time i voted was for PTI, but presently I am disappointed by Imran, he is more focussed on dismatling the Govt. rather than working for betterment of KPK people where he is in Govt. and for acheiving that he is even ready to unite with dubious People like TUQ, From what i have listen People of KPK arent happy with PTI's performance, so i might not vote for PTI in future, but that doesnt mean i would vote for PMLN or PPP, infact i wont vote for anybody as all are Power hungry Thugs nothing else

^ He has every right to topple the govt. A govt that cheated its way to power has no right to rule. This is why I said that some pakistanis are happy with getting cheated, instead of willing to do something about it. How many rigged elections and govts can we put up with? I cant, may be you can. And if the crowds int he jalsas are a good indicator, then there are many like me who refuse to give these fake govts any more chances to destroy the country. This is a fake govt and it must be toppled.

Who in KP have you been talking to? KP's governance is better than all other provinces. KP's legislation has been top notch. Institution building has been effective. Tax collection increased by over 75% if I recall correctly. Police has been depoliticized. Transparency has been introduced. Now go and compare this to all other provinces and the center and come back with some comparisons.

And where did you get the idea that with the protests and all, PTI has been ignoring KP? KP's cabinet has not been participating much in these protests. They have been in punjab. How many KP cabinet members have you seen in these jalsas? KP's entire machinary is trying to handle the IDP situation which Punjab, SIndh and center are running away from.

And what alliance with Qadri? Have you even listened to anything that Imran has been saying? He has clearly said that he does not agree with some basic points made by Qadri and an alliance is out of the question. If you are talking about the APC that PTI attended, that APC had one point agenda, which was killing if PAT workers. Any sane party would have attended that meeting coz that incident was horrifying! It does not mean Imran is uniting with Qadri.

^^ indeed, our brother is getting live updates on how wonderful life in KP has become under PTI all the way in USA/Canada.

surprised he hasn't moved permanently to Peshawar yet.

The next election ahs already been rigged in favour of the PPP with a baby Bhutto the new western puppy. You'll see a massive push in favour of him in the next year or two. Time magazine articles, the economist, interviews with the western media, his attempt to play the secular liberal card. He is already off twitter and is probably being trained in media management etc as we speak. His friend already owns the Daily times and I'm sure Geo will get in line once the orders are given. The sharif family will simply be content with Punjab again and will then return a few years later with Hamza.

and the cycle will simply continue. In the meantime the PTI will continue to fight on but will never go beyond the 36 seats of the last year or so. Cuptaan will retire due to age or die, and that will be that. Pakistan will then simply meander along ruled by dynasties and will probably eventually be broken up after its nukes have been given over to the west or someone else. That is what will happen if everyone sits on their behinds like Mamoon and have a sootha and a few shots of whiskey. That is what awaits Pakistanis.

oh and as for karachites, lol, well your just food for the meat grinder. And with altaf bhai and his terrorists at the helm they'll keep turning and turning , laughing at your complaints while feeding you slogans.

eventually the population will become so brutalised that they'll just react as any brutalised population does, turn inwards and eat themselves. Tear down their own houses with their bare hands and watch the world burn! That is what these dynasties have waiting for you.

I have more faith in baby Bhutto now than I have in Imran.

Did the Bhuttos really own the Rockingham Mansion- i could have sworn that they have denied ever owning the place(Palace). Maybe you should seek answers as to why they denied owning the palace before placing your faith in another corrupt Bhutto.

your putting him on the spot and so he will now disappear or ignore your post. Those who simply have no position do that.

Forget the palace. No need to bring it up again. Whatever happened, happened. Let's move on for the sake of democracy.

^ He has every right to topple the govt. A govt that cheated its way to power has no right to rule. This is why I said that some pakistanis are happy with getting cheated, instead of willing to do something about it. How many rigged elections and govts can we put up with? I cant, may be you can. And if the crowds int he jalsas are a good indicator, then there are many like me who refuse to give these fake govts any more chances to destroy the country. This is a fake govt and it must be toppled.

Who in KP have you been talking to? KP's governance is better than all other provinces. KP's legislation has been top notch. Institution building has been effective. Tax collection increased by over 75% if I recall correctly. Police has been depoliticized. Transparency has been introduced. Now go and compare this to all other provinces and the center and come back with some comparisons.

And where did you get the idea that with the protests and all, PTI has been ignoring KP? KP's cabinet has not been participating much in these protests. They have been in punjab. How many KP cabinet members have you seen in these jalsas? KP's entire machinary is trying to handle the IDP situation which Punjab, SIndh and center are running away from.

And what alliance with Qadri? Have you even listened to anything that Imran has been saying? He has clearly said that he does not agree with some basic points made by Qadri and an alliance is out of the question. If you are talking about the APC that PTI attended, that APC had one point agenda, which was killing if PAT workers. Any sane party would have attended that meeting coz that incident was horrifying! It does not mean Imran is uniting with Qadri.

brother...what he really means is...has there been any motorways, any flyovers, any metro bus...NOPE so therefore people is KPK are NOT happy as the govt there hasn't build anything there yet...lets look at Lahore...they have motorways, flyovers, metro bus...all thanks to the Sharifs

Mamoon seems as fake as the fake democrats like NS and Zardari.

just another sloganist and attention seeker, who when confronted with some simple straight forward statements, runs away, or try's to change the topic.

Mamoon jee your rhetoric is empty and your arguments feeble. The strategy is simple, argue against the prevailing theme of a particular thread to try and look clever.

brother...what he really means is...has there been any motorways, any flyovers, any metro bus...NOPE so therefore people is KPK are NOT happy as the govt there hasn't build anything there yet...lets look at Lahore...they have motorways, flyovers, metro bus...all thanks to the Sharifs
And laptops :))

Mamoon seems as fake as the fake democrats like NS and Zardari.
Remember Shehbaz sharif's speech about dragging and then hanging zardari in the streets of lahore? Whatever happened to that? Right now, Shahbaz is in talks with zardari to make plans for countering the long march. So much for dragging and hanging

The next election ahs already been rigged in favour of the PPP with a baby Bhutto the new western puppy. You'll see a massive push in favour of him in the next year or two. Time magazine articles, the economist, interviews with the western media, his attempt to play the secular liberal card. He is already off twitter and is probably being trained in media management etc as we speak. His friend already owns the Daily times and I'm sure Geo will get in line once the orders are given. The sharif family will simply be content with Punjab again and will then return a few years later with Hamza.

and the cycle will simply continue. In the meantime the PTI will continue to fight on but will never go beyond the 36 seats of the last year or so. Cuptaan will retire due to age or die, and that will be that. Pakistan will then simply meander along ruled by dynasties and will probably eventually be broken up after its nukes have been given over to the west or someone else. That is what will happen if everyone sits on their behinds like Mamoon and have a sootha and a few shots of whiskey. That is what awaits Pakistanis.

oh and as for karachites, lol, well your just food for the meat grinder. And with altaf bhai and his terrorists at the helm they'll keep turning and turning , laughing at your complaints while feeding you slogans.

eventually the population will become so brutalised that they'll just react as any brutalised population does, turn inwards and eat themselves. Tear down their own houses with their bare hands and watch the world burn! That is what these dynasties have waiting for you.

http://www.gannett-cdn.com/media/US...09/18/AP_The_Scream_MoMA-x-wide-community.jpg

Cool story. Do you contemplate any role of the Martians?

if it wasn't for Nawaz and Zardari's "co-operation" PTI wouldn't be ruling KP or have 35 seats to their name in the first place.

A fact that always seems to evade our UK/Amreeka based Insaftard true patriots.

bloody United Nations is in on the fix as well!

UNDP refutes Imran’s claim
No computers shut down, no one evicted on polling night, says chief

Waseem Abbasi
Wednesday, July 02, 2014

ISLAMABAD: The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) on Tuesday contradicted PTI chief Imran Khan’s allegations of interruption in its election project on May 11, 2013 polling day, saying that none of its consultants were ejected from the offices of the returning officers.

Country Director UNDP Marc-Andre Franche also insisted that none of its computers was shut down after the victory speech of PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif, as alleged by Imran Khan on May 11.

Earlier, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had also denied Imran’s claim that a UNDP election result gathering project was halted after Nawaz Sharif’s speech.“On May 11, 2013 (election day), six UNDP consultants provided technical assistance to returning officers in relation to the new computerised result management system. None of the consultants reported being ejected from the offices of returning officers or witnessing their computers being shut down,” Marc-Andre Franche said while replying to the queries sent by The News.

Speaking at a public rally in Bahawalpur on Friday, Imran Khan had said that soon after the “victory speech” of PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif, the data operators stopped sending computerised result copies to the ECP. PTI chief had claimed that the operators were told by the returning officers to slow down, and later handwritten results were sent to the ECP to manipulate results and cause the defeat of PTI candidates.

The UNDP country director said the election project titled “Electoral Cycle Support to the Election Commission of Pakistan” supported ECP in holding transparent elections. He said UNDP provided similar technical assistance to election management bodies in over 60 countries.

“Through UNDP support, over 330,000 presiding officers and assistant presiding officers were trained on basic polling procedures, 222 Election Commission of Pakistan district officers were trained to conduct and coordinate district wise voter education campaigns to encourage vulnerable groups including rural women, minorities and people with disabilities to cast their votes,” Marc-Andre Franche said.

He added that 600,000 Tamper Evident Bags were introduced for the first time in Pakistan to safeguard result sheets during their transportation from polling stations to the offices of the returning officer and 1,148 government officials from the districts were trained on the new result management system.

He said the aim of the project was to support the ECP to prepare and conduct the general elections. The support focused on working with the ECP to develop and implement a comprehensive voter education campaign to improve voter turnout, especially among women, youth and other marginalised communities.

UNDP also provided technical assistance to the ECP to develop a computerised election results management system.Earlier, talking to The News, a senior official of the ECP who was involved in the data gathering process claimed that the UNDP project had nothing to do with the announcement of election results as it was an exercise aimed at data gathering for analysis and future reference.According to the officials, ECP still has scanned result of each and every polling station of the country from all 849 constituencies.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-13-31306-UNDP-refutes-Imrans-claim

if it wasn't for Nawaz and Zardari's "co-operation" PTI wouldn't be ruling KP or have 35 seats to their name in the first place.

lets be honest PTI was given KPK so they would stay busy with appeasing the talibans and eventually fade out at next elections once they fail in their promises regarding nato supply, taliban talks and so on. it has been busy in a mess but has managed to do some good but long long way to go. so if it wasnt for zardari/nawaz bit is defo true in avoiding the troubles of KPK.

as far as getting seats well KPK people seem to change at every elections as seen with diff parties in power at every elections so PTI has tough battle on its next election.

If the PML were so confident that they were in the right, the 4 seats would have been verified and when they came out as clean as they claim, the PTI would have lost all credibility but everybody is now convinced that they cheated. I wonder why they won't verify?

First thing first, PTI won majority there and got 3 teams more seats (and that too WITHOUT RIGGING) than PMLN and PPP put together so Zardari and Sharif didn't do any favours to anyone. Secondly, even IF they did any favours, it was a political move knowing well that KPK is facing biggest challenge with law and order situation, economy, development etc.
Don't think this sort of politics is anything to be proud of though, as a person who wants best for my country rather than a party, i would have been extremely disappointed with Imran if he became a politician like Zardari/Nawaz.

First thing first, PTI won majority there and got 3 teams more seats (and that too WITHOUT RIGGING) than PMLN and PPP put together so Zardari and Sharif didn't do any favours to anyone. Secondly, even IF they did any favours, it was a political move knowing well that KPK is facing biggest challenge with law and order situation, economy, development etc.
Don't think this sort of politics is anything to be proud of though, as a person who wants best for my country rather than a party, i would have been extremely disappointed with Imran if he became a politician like Zardari/Nawaz.

oh but of course, there was absolutely no rigging in KP at all, PTI won it fair and square...only the rest of the country where they got pummeled is where rigging took place :asif

and secondly you completely missed my point, if Nawaz or Zardari had taken their parties down the route of the 90s and let the democratic process be sabotaged then IK and PTI would have been sidelined again and perhaps forever.

PTI has clearly said open any halka in kpk as well to check rigging. So stop making excuses as always

oh but of course, there was absolutely no rigging in KP at all, PTI won it fair and square...only the rest of the country where they got pummeled is where rigging took place :asif

Isn't it natural and logical for a winner not to cry rigging? Or are you too thick to expect that PTI should also announce that the seats they won were also rigged? It's the right of looser to question opponent's win and it's upto winner how he/she responds to questions. Has IK denied rigging claims made by nooners if any?

and secondly you completely missed my point, if Nawaz or Zardari had taken their parties down the route of the 90s and let the democratic process be sabotaged then IK and PTI would have been sidelined again and perhaps forever.

I don't think PTI would loose anything by not being allowed to govern KPK (that is if they were minority). You are talking as if PMLN did big favor to PTI.

The stupidity of AZ knows no bounds- to fix elections you need to be able to pay off people and use patronage to get the right people in the right places( Sethi)so that they will do as expected but as stupid as he is, he knows that the PTI didn't have any power to use before the election. He also knows that if no skulduggery took place the Nooras would have quickly resolved the issue by asking for verification.

N-League should comply with PTI's demands.

In other established democracies, the parliament is used as a forum of "continuous election campaign" - the opposition and the govt. of the day would continue making each other accountable in televised encounters to allow the public to make their own opinions about the matter at hand.

One thing I feel IK isn't doing right by any means, is even considering an alliance with TUQ and Q-league, and their claims that this current regime is worse than PPP. The names PTI begins with Pakistan, it should be for Pakistan, not a pure anti-N-league force that it is becoming.

^ In established democracies, govts have a more or less real mandate. This govt doesnt, and that is why they will never comply with PTI's demands which are completely genuine.

If you listen to IK's interviews (I just heard one about 2 days back) he has clearly stated that there will be no alliance with TUQ. I really dont understand why people are constantly bringing this up. Imran clearly said that in order to work together, TUQ will have to accept his ideas and his roadmap first.

Also, if you analyze Qadri's latest statements, you can see that he is frustrated with Imran not joining him. He just gave a statement saying "Revolution doesnt need a Tsunami." Before that, he said "I never mentioned anything about a grand alliance." It's obvious that he came with the idea of having PTI on his side, and he isn't getting that.

The name PTI has Pakistan and Insaaf in it, which is anti corruption, anti fraud, and anti rigging. By default, that makes it anti PMLN

^ In established democracies, govts have a more or less real mandate. This govt doesnt, and that is why they will never comply with PTI's demands which are completely genuine.

If you listen to IK's interviews (I just heard one about 2 days back) he has clearly stated that there will be no alliance with TUQ. I really dont understand why people are constantly bringing this up. Imran clearly said that in order to work together, TUQ will have to accept his ideas and his roadmap first.

Also, if you analyze Qadri's latest statements, you can see that he is frustrated with Imran not joining him. He just gave a statement saying "Revolution doesnt need a Tsunami." Before that, he said "I never mentioned anything about a grand alliance." It's obvious that he came with the idea of having PTI on his side, and he isn't getting that.

The name PTI has Pakistan and Insaaf in it, which is anti corruption, anti fraud, and anti rigging. By default, that makes it anti PMLN

It is crucial to explore the depths of this claim of "stolen mandate". 4 constituents are in question - are they enough to topple a govt? I don't really think so. Fine, open up other areas in Punjab. I've posted something quite similar in the tsunami thread, so won't repeat myself again.

There was a statement by IK that he agrees with 80% of what TUQ says, but does not agree wit TUQ's methodology. A pretty heavy statement, if you ask me. But TUQ changes his statements all the time, so we can just wait it all out to see how TUQ fares.

I can bet there is more fraud, corruption, rigging alongisde militarised wings of parties other than PMLN. I want to see IK be more vocal about their injustices at well. Until that happens, PTI will come across as a captured-interest, anti-PMLN force.

It is crucial to explore the depths of this claim of "stolen mandate". 4 constituents are in question - are they enough to topple a govt? I don't really think so. Fine, open up other areas in Punjab. I've posted something quite similar in the tsunami thread, so won't repeat myself again.

There was a statement by IK that he agrees with 80% of what TUQ says, but does not agree wit TUQ's methodology. A pretty heavy statement, if you ask me. But TUQ changes his statements all the time, so we can just wait it all out to see how TUQ fares.

I can bet there is more fraud, corruption, rigging alongisde militarised wings of parties other than PMLN. I want to see IK be more vocal about their injustices at well. Until that happens, PTI will come across as a captured-interest, anti-PMLN force.

4 constituencies are in question coz he wants to use them investigate what exactly happened. Rigging was widespread.

Yes he siad he agrees with 80% of hat Qadri says. Which is that the system is corrupt, elections were rigged, courts were involved, EC was involved, govt is fake. That's what Imran says too. The other 20% is what Qadri keeps changing along the lines of reform provincial structure, parliamentary structure and some other BS.

Imran is talking about rigging, period. Not about who did it. Investigate it and then whoever is involved, punish them. PMLN is criticized more coz they are sitting in the center and in the biggest and most powerful province of the country. They are the govt. Investigate every party, province etc. Who is stopping them?

4 constituencies are in question coz he wants to use them investigate what exactly happened. Rigging was widespread.

Yes he siad he agrees with 80% of hat Qadri says. Which is that the system is corrupt, elections were rigged, courts were involved, EC was involved, govt is fake. That's what Imran says too. The other 20% is what Qadri keeps changing along the lines of reform provincial structure, parliamentary structure and some other BS.

Imran is talking about rigging, period. Not about who did it. Investigate it and then whoever is involved, punish them. PMLN is criticized more coz they are sitting in the center and in the biggest and most powerful province of the country. They are the govt. Investigate every party, province etc. Who is stopping them?

IK is blaming almost all the rigging on PMLN without any investigation to back that claim. He's even claimed PPP's regime was "less corrupt" than this regime.

But I agree with the last point. No matter who is involved, whether the opposition or the govt of the day, the claims must be investigated.

IK is blaming almost all the rigging on PMLN without any investigation to back that claim. He's even claimed PPP's regime was "less corrupt" than this regime.

But I agree with the last point. No matter who is involved, whether the opposition or the govt of the day, the claims must be investigated.

As much as I hate the PML and they are definitely corrupt(did anyone expect any different), they will never reach the levels of PPP. The PPP are a fake party setup to economically rape the poor.

Both are corrupt. Just that their ways of looting and plundering are different. PPP is blatant and shameless. Pmln is more professional about it

As much as I hate the PML and they are definitely corrupt(did anyone expect any different), they will never reach the levels of PPP. The PPP are a fake party setup to economically rape the poor.

Agreed!

Both are corrupt. Just that their ways of looting and plundering are different. PPP is blatant and shameless. Pmln is more professional about it

PMLN is slightly better in the sense that they at least have some sense of shaping up the foreign policy, introducing some sort of economic reform/laws to benefit the business-owners and work a bit on infrastructure.

Name one thing PPP did in their 5 years apart from merely occupying the seat and letting it go when the time came? Oh and apart from the fad, BISP.

What foreign policy? I dont see any improvements

Economic reforms? This entire economic planning of PMLN is based on loans that they cant seem to stop taking. Look at the loan amount in the last year vs. that of PPP's 5 years.

All they do is cosmetic things, like laptops, metro bus etc. Just to show they are doing something. That's why I said PPP is more blatant about it. They dont care what people think.

Isn't it natural and logical for a winner not to cry rigging? Or are you too thick to expect that PTI should also announce that the seats they won were also rigged? It's the right of looser to question opponent's win and it's upto winner how he/she responds to questions. Has IK denied rigging claims made by nooners if any?

I don't think PTI would loose anything by not being allowed to govern KPK (that is if they were minority). You are talking as if PMLN did big favor to PTI.

Am simply replying to Waseem's claim of there being NO RIGGING in KP.

Let's not get into who is or isn't thick, am not the one fervently backing the leader who has accused every man and his dog of having rigged the elections.

If PTI lose KP then what else would they have? They're not even leaders of the Opposition.