Azlan Khan
Parveez Khattak: "Wazir-e-Ala kya cheez hai, mere leader per meri jaan bhi qurbaan hai."
Part and parcel of a democracy. There are chief ministers in India who ruled for decades by rigging. Parties which fooled people, who tied up with enemies. As long as these are wounds in democracy, it will heal itself and come back stronger no matter how wounded it is. Will only require more time. On the other hand what Imran is doing is killing democracy all together so that it will have to be reborn and back to square one
people of pakistan have been dealing with us for 67 years and nothing has changed. People have to take their destiny out of the hands of the corrupt...you can't continue to undermine the future of a population in the name of "democracy"...its not an excuse
Have you though? As far as I know the last government was the ONLY one which completed it's term. When we talk about democracy, it is one uninterrupted process. Not the army taking over or Imran taking over after every couple of years.
The very reason democracy has not worked or corrupt were not thrown out was because army took over every few years. So democracy was killed and then had to start all over again. This was like a baby learning to walk. As soon as the baby started crawling someone would kill it and it would have to be reborn and learn to crawl again. If you had uninterrupted democracy for even 30-40 years, I daresay, half of your corruptions and problems would have vanished. Maybe more
What future are you talking about? Yesterday you were reliant on Mushraff, today you have another savior in Imran. Where are the actual people in all this? Wishing on a cult personality to wave a magic wand and wish all problems away, instead of being patient and improving things one by one by your own persistence and vote power?
Have you though? As far as I know the last government was the ONLY one which completed it's term. When we talk about democracy, it is one uninterrupted process. Not the army taking over or Imran taking over after every couple of years.
The very reason democracy has not worked or corrupt were not thrown out was because army took over every few years. So democracy was killed and then had to start all over again. This was like a baby learning to walk. As soon as the baby started crawling someone would kill it and it would have to be reborn and learn to crawl again. If you had uninterrupted democracy for even 30-40 years, I daresay, half of your corruptions and problems would have vanished. Maybe more
What future are you talking about? Yesterday you were reliant on Mushraff, today you have another savior in Imran. Where are the actual people in all this? Wishing on a cult personality to wave a magic wand and wish all problems away, instead of being patient and improving things one by one by your own persistence and vote power?
I don't have nor need a leader to flock behind, unlike the intellectually lazy persons repeating on here the instructions they get from PTI facebook page.
Why oh why do Pakistani people always look for some Messiah to come and save them? Someone who works outside the system to break it and fix it? It is never going to work like that. Whether it is Zia or Mushraff or Imran. If you break democracy it will have to start again from square one and all progress will be lost
Yes I know politicians are corrupt. Yes, I know rigging most probably happened. But that is part and parcel of democracy. That's how people learn. That's how democracy cleanses itself over time. You CANNOT want all the benefits of democracy yet be unwilling to grind and sacrifice and be patient for the results. If you break democracy to fix it, you will only kill it again. And then try again. And then kill it. And then try again
The best thing is to let democracy be. For 20 years, For 30 years, For 50 years. Things will change, systems will improve, more youth will come in
Instead what I am seeing again is another Messiah who wants to break the system in order to be the savior. But he is setting another precedent. Any opponent not happy with results will always try the same tactic in the future. Instead of being of the masses, this is turning out to be a cult following which promises to break democracy again. And then even if there are re-elections, it won't be worth the price of the ballot papers
True democracy includes the right for scoundrels and rascals to be in power if people so will. You cannot break the system anytime an election goes against your wishes. Imran should learn from Modi, who has an equal cult following, but bided his time and used the system to rule, not break it when it didn't fit his agenda. Alas for Pakistan, this seems to be another short term thinking action without any eye on long term repercussions. Pakistan waits for another Messiah to magically solve all corruption with one march and one speech. And with this, once again, Pakistanis forego their power of the vote and the changing and cleansing of the system because they do not have the patience to wait 10 or 20 years and do not feel the need to think long term and for the next generation. Let them worry about their own Messiah then, maybe at that time they will have another cricket player who can March with 20 million men to throw the then elected government out
Great post!
Like someone once said, democracy and elections are a slow and gradual process like water passing through a filter and with time the holes in the filter get smaller and smaller to leave out the corrupt and incompetent elements. Unfortunately in Pakistan, rather than letting the system work and give time for the institutions to be developed, every 10-15 years, we want it to be turned upside down, torn apart and remade once again. Democracy doesn't happen like that. Protesting against rigging is perfectly fine, in fact its important to put pressure on the govt. to make reforms but to ask the govt. to resign and for re-elections to happen under a "technocratic" setup is not legal nor constitutional. The parliament can never become strong like that neither does this strengthens our constitution, it becomes all about street power.
Great post!
Like someone once said, democracy and elections are a slow and gradual process like water passing through a filter and with time the holes in the filter get smaller and smaller to leave out the corrupt and incompetent elements. Unfortunately in Pakistan, rather than letting the system work and give time for the institutions to be developed, every 10-15 years, we want it to be turned upside down, torn apart and remade once again. Democracy doesn't happen like that. Protesting against rigging is perfectly fine, in fact its important to put pressure on the govt. to make reforms but to ask the govt. to resign and for re-elections to happen under a "technocratic" setup is not legal nor constitutional. The parliament can never become strong like that neither does this strengthens our constitution, it becomes all about street power.
Come on Saadi. How can democracy be given time when democracy itself is not even implied?! Massive rigging aren't just 'holes that will fill out in time'.
If these guys really wanted democracy then they would've investigated those four constituencies but they didn't.
Imran Khan has retired to a cosy hotel room for a fine dinner followed by a great night's sleep. All the protesters have been left high and dry, hungry and tired waiting for the self proclaimed "Kaptaan" to make his next appearance tomorrow at 3pm if someone is still there to listen to him, what a joke!! Just a few days back IK promised to sleep at the very spot with the protesters until the supposed revolution is realised. Don't know where TUQ is, probably snoring away in his comfortable bed as well.
He traveled 48 hours without sleep, has high fever and gave his speech in rain with it. Just shut up please.
i completely disagree with you. democracy isnt a child and it isnt some magic ethereal potion that will remedy all ills if allowed to persist regardless of context. whatever its benefits or shortfalls, it cant function in a corrupt system. mubarak was democratically elected for 20 odd years - how much did democracy flourish in egypt? the same for assad and syria. there a bunch of other examples. democracy only has utility if its allowed to function as a democracy. in pakistan's case, it hasnt for close to 60 years - how much longer ought people to wait for some unsupported hypothesis of self correction? thats 60 years of proof that a corrupt system does NOT necessarily cleanse itself of corruption. in fact, looking at the developed democracies of the world, there is a very good argument to make for quite the opposite.
its not about a martyr or saviour, every movement has a figure head, but in this case, whether it works or it doesnt, its about a principle of justice. without which democray is not democracy is an oligarchy at best and a dictatorship at worst.
Outsiders should keep their traps shut because they have no idea how things work in pakistan, they can their lectures and baashan giri to themselves. Thank you.
Imran(PTI) is not asking for him to become president. They are asking for a fair, truly democratic election.
I agree with this 100%.The longer this march goes on the more it makes Imran look like a sore loser.You know I really have no idea why Imran Khan went for this. He's got some bad advisors.
Smart thing would've been to fully focus on KPK where they are in power and show the rest of the nation good governance. And then democratically win the next elections via camaigning about the positive things PTI has done in KPK.
I think PML's win was so big that even if you take out election rigging and all that they would've still comfortably won. Basically, IK just comes across as a sore loser and this whole march is starting to look like a giant fail.
Criticisng a 63 year old man who travelled for 35+ hours, made a speech at 4 am, suffering from fever, while sitting on your cosy bed.Even in fever Imran should not have left the place a big tactical blunder![]()
You know I really have no idea why Imran Khan went for this. He's got some bad advisors.
Smart thing would've been to fully focus on KPK where they are in power and show the rest of the nation good governance. And then democratically win the next elections via camaigning about the positive things PTI has done in KPK.
I think PML's win was so big that even if you take out election rigging and all that they would've still comfortably won. Basically, IK just comes across as a sore loser and this whole march is starting to look like a giant fail.
It seems like you have special links in army.Army brokered a deal between all the three parties. Everyone knows what is going to happen. Thats why you dont see Noon league to be too much worried. biggest losers are the novice people who believe in this march and winner is on one.
It seems like you have special links in army.
Criticisng a 63 year old man who travelled for 35+ hours, made a speech at 4 am, suffering from fever, while sitting on your cosy bed.
You should have the guts to criticise after you do something for your country. Doing something for the country doesn't need any responsibility.after he is the leader ain't he
Because pmln was in punjab not ppp.How come the previous ruling party - the PPP - were unable to rig the 2013 elections in their favour? How did the opposition who were last in power in 1999 - the PML (N) get so much power and clout to rig the elections across all provinces?
Curious to know.
I will address your second point first. No, the system has NOT been in place for 60 years. In fact, this was the first time a democratically elected government was allowed to complete it's term. With the army constantly interrupting the process every couple of year, there has not even been a semblance of democracy.
The system and not worked as you said. But this interruption is part of the system now and you are again making the same mistake
As for your examples of Mubarak, etc, they are far away from democracy and much closer to a cult following which seems to be happening now
Or perhaps sometimes, an outsider is able to see things more clearly and less passionately than people just caught up in the tide of the moment. You are claiming as if Pakistanis are some aliens and do not have normal human reactions. Such problems are common in history and at some point in every country
And he's a human being too![]()
You should have the guts to criticise after you do something for your country. Doing something for the country doesn't need any responsibility.
And this is just a minor thing.
Please change the title of this thread This is not a big march let alone tsunami.
leaders have to act like superhuman sometimes
Pomi Butt's bail approved-ET
leaders have to act like superhuman sometimes
I find it really funny to see Pakistani's raise objections to whatever IK is doing but they just resign and accept things under the phrase "This is how things work in Pakistan" when the likes of NS, Zardari, MQM and co do whatever they want. Jaisay Awaam, Waisay Hukumraan. 60 plus years is a long time for a nation to overthrow its corrupt rulers by violent revolutions for e.g. Iranian Islamic revolution, Phillipines, Indonesia e.t.c. The fact there has never been a single such revolution in our nation's history tells you a lot about our people.
Revolution needs complete devotion. People must be willing to give up everything, even lives, for the common cause. It should be an irresistible force that never gives up. Revolution cannot be brought if people participate thinking it is a 2-3 day affair, a photo-op or rock concert.
The sun sets and khan sahib turns up![]()
While you criticize on Pakpassion from your foreign country...
50 percent of people support this, because they know Imran Khan was a good cricketer.
30 percent support it, so they can update their facebook page.
setter future by supporting such noble and beautiful acts such as marches that are bringing about a revolution.
3 percent oppose it because they are supporters of Nawaz Sharif.
1.5 percent oppose it because they are relatives of Nawaz Sharif.
0nly 0.5 percent oppose it, because they know that nothing changes in Pakistan, and funnily enough they are always lambasted for being pessimistic.
+1.I find it really funny to see Pakistani's raise objections to whatever IK is doing but they just resign and accept things under the phrase "This is how things work in Pakistan" when the likes of NS, Zardari, MQM and co do whatever they want. Jaisay Awaam, Waisay Hukumraan. 60 plus years is a long time for a nation to overthrow its corrupt rulers by violent revolutions for e.g. Iranian Islamic revolution, Phillipines, Indonesia e.t.c. The fact there has never been a single such revolution in our nation's history tells you a lot about our people.
Statistics taken out of where the sun doesn't shine.
I know some people like don't understand cause and effect but the reason the 70% in poverty don't care is that they have been programmed to believe(like you) that nothing can be done and things will stay the way they have always been. The condition of the Pakistani nation is not a genetic problem-its man made by a corrupt elite who have raped the heart and soul of the country and it is through protest that things can change. I take it that you believe we should not do anything and things are great.It's the truth.
You honestly think 70 percent of Pakistan's poverty ridden population cares about your dumb marches...They want food in their stomach, they want food in their homes, they want their children to survive the cold when it's cold, and bear the heat when it's hot with electricity if possible.
You think they want ****** rallies about "New Pakistan" and "Pakistan ki Taraqi ki raah".
Don't include yourself that is the blessed 10 percent of the population in the common majority who want change.
"Jin logon ko yey pata nai next meal kahan sy arai hy , they damn care about your march and who rules the country. They just want to eat food and live their life peacefully"
Stop trying to twist facts to the world, that everyone wants Imran Khan.
Fact is 70 percent of the population is below poverty level, and wants gas food water electricity, chahay wo Madonna hi akay kyun na dey dy...
La La Land....
I know some people like don't understand cause and effect but the reason the 70% in poverty don't care is that they have been programmed to believe(like you) that nothing can be done and things will stay the way they have always been. The condition of the Pakistani nation is not a genetic problem-its man made by a corrupt elite who have raped the heart and soul of the country and it is through protest that things can change. I take it that you believe we should not do anything and things are great.
He did say that he will stand in front and take the first bullet on his chest if someone fires. Then we saw him hiding in his air conditioned container.
Fever is an excuse, why did he stand in rain in this old age. He just needed an excuse to go to his five star hotel. If he can get sick then what about thousands of others. I read a personal account of a eye witness that most of the people gathered were paid demonstrates. 2000 rs + patrol.
Its too hard for some people to understand that this is nothing but another power hungry politician maneuvering to get in to power.
He has done everything what he accuses others for and he has top leaders from their party and yet he managed to poetry himself as a saint.
Instead of working on a system which is long and hard road people are looking for a magic wand type solution. Society is heading for another disappointment. All the other TTF are either sitting in jail, or sitting out of the country.